Final Fantasy XIII Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2617 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolvedIn Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolved Active Time Battle system. Experience seamless transitions between real time gameplay and in-game cinematics. Do you have the courage to face your destiny? Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Final Fantasy Record Keeper - Announcement Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 83
  2. Negative: 1 out of 83
  1. The streamlined, focused structure eliminates potential tedium without dumbing anything down, and the battle system strikes an elegant balance between strategy and fast-paced action. Stunningly beautiful graphics and a pervasively meticulous level of polish throughout only add to the experience.
  2. Final Fantasy XIII isn't just a game you merely enjoy. You fall in love with it. It's gorgeous worlds have you stopping to admire them in complete awe, while a graceful soundtrack massages your brain (despite the unfortunate replacement of the original Japanese theme with a song from Leona Lewis).
  3. 90
    Square Enix has brought some RPG elements to the forefront, while putting some away in the back. This might offend some gamers, but with a mix of tactics, a deep battle system and action-filled battles Final Fantasy XIII will entice plenty of players. The interaction between the characters and the gradual revelations within the story are placed within a wonderful audio-visual jacket and manage to grab the gamer without letting them go. The linear aspect shouldn’t bother anyone in this thirteenth step of one of the most popular franchises out there.
  4. A game that impresses easily – merely looking at this game will have eyes popping and jaws dropping. However, get beyond that and there is a very linear game with many prototypical J-RPG elements in place. While there is some latitude for how battles are fought, for the most part, the game holds the player’s hand and escorts them through this fantastical land that is part fantasy and part sci-fi.
  5. PSM3 Magazine UK
    81
    Linear and needs patience, but tells an epic, emotive story with rare polish. [Apr 2010, p.92]
  6. Yes this game is very linear and you can wonder why you’ve paid £40 to wander in pretty much a straight line. But don’t forget what you’re playing Final Fantasy for; the story and battles. And Final Fantasy XIII delivers big time.
  7. It takes more than graphics to make a game, and Final Fantasy XIII offers very little else other than eye candy. Ultimately, this latest addition to the Final Fantasy series is a pompous and masturbatory affair, created seemingly to promote the developer's ego first, and the player's enjoyment second.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    While still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will findWhile still playing this game, I can assure you that Square-enix took one step in the right direction. In Final Fantasy XIII you will find everything a game should have: Great story, well-developed and compelling characters, stunning enviroments, one of the best musical scores of the series, entertaining battle system, and DIFFICULTY. Every role is vital, and strategies are key for some battles. For those who like to compare FFXIII to other FFS just remember how great were FFVIII & FFVII, but how easy they were as well. I found that FFXIII is the oppossite of FFXII. Whereas FFXII gave you the freedom you 'need', tons of quests, it offered, IMO, the weakest story and character development of the series. In contrast, FFXIII is brilliantly developed, as characters and story is concerned. Sure, some things can be improved, some towns and quest can be added, but I, for one, cannot complain, as this game exceeded my expectations and I can't wait for its sequel. It's not a 10, as I gave. I would probably rate it as a 9.5, but hey, some put 0s and 1s so I wanted to raise the user score. Expand
  2. SidMan
    Mar 11, 2010
    10
    Its an amazing game period. It has questionably one of the best graphics ever made. The story is ok, the battle system is fun and Its an amazing game period. It has questionably one of the best graphics ever made. The story is ok, the battle system is fun and challenging. Many people don't appreciate the game due to their expectations from previous games, but IMO, it exceeded it. I also like the linear gameplay, but sometimes you do feel like you want more freedom. Aside from that, this game will keep you occupied for 60 hours +. In other words, you pay 1 $ for an hour of gameplay. Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    This game has me split into two. One part of me hates the corny story and mostly lame cast. The other part of me is addicted to the combatThis game has me split into two. One part of me hates the corny story and mostly lame cast. The other part of me is addicted to the combat mechanics of the game and is only thinking about getting that platinum trophy. I think the combat is good enough for me to forget the lame story and just enjoy the game when I can. Oh and by the way this game looks insanely amazing, I still don't know how they pulled this graphics on a PS3, you would need a massive PC to replicate them. Expand
  4. Feb 6, 2015
    7
    The battle system is great, but the world is lifeless. My first FF was FFVII, and I keep going back to it because you have so much freedom inThe battle system is great, but the world is lifeless. My first FF was FFVII, and I keep going back to it because you have so much freedom in it. You can travel almost anywhere whenever you like, you can enter houses and talk to NPCs, and many of them not only have interesting things to say but their dialogue also changes depending on where you are in the game's story.

    From FFX onward, not only have the worlds become increasingly less accessible beyond the scripted track, but Square has increased the recycling of assets: less different NPC designs, and just copy and paste the same ones everywhere. Both of these factors, in my opinion, do more injury to immersion than an incoherent story.
    Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    5
    Meh, not terrible game but not too good either, fighting system kinda fails even if I have seen worse in jrpgs but basically it doesn't do itsMeh, not terrible game but not too good either, fighting system kinda fails even if I have seen worse in jrpgs but basically it doesn't do its job well enough. I didn't really feel it game either, I don't like characters too much, story was OK. first half of game is just really dull as you don't have much freedom :x... Expand
  6. JimmyC
    Mar 15, 2010
    3
    Most of the reviewers have already narrowed it down but I needed to vent my frustrations for the game to more than just my wife who could Most of the reviewers have already narrowed it down but I needed to vent my frustrations for the game to more than just my wife who could care less about my video games so here it goes. The exploration is a joke. You run down corridors fighting packs of monsters trying to get in a pre-emptive strike over and over again. Battles consist of figuring out the right tactic for the right monster and switching up your healer when your health is low. Eidolons are outrageously hideous but they are fun to use and fight with. The characters in the game are so insanely over-the-top anime cliche that I couldn't play the game after Vanille joined my party. I only played a few hours but I have never been so disappointed in my life at a video game besides possibly Fable 2. Anyway, trading it in today on God of War 3. The whole game was awful. Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2017
    0
    As a big fan of the FF saga, I must say that this game made me feel bad. Horrible. The worst FF game to me. It was disappointing, gameplay isAs a big fan of the FF saga, I must say that this game made me feel bad. Horrible. The worst FF game to me. It was disappointing, gameplay is an insult, the combat system is a joke. I've played almost the entire FF saga, and I can say that this is the worst one. Characters look incredible, but the maps? the environment looks dead and horribly made. This is an insult to all the FF fans. And the story is so bad and confusing. Exploration is non-existing because you walk through straight paths! Characters are cliches and forgettable, and the main character is the worst main character ever I hate her I cannot stand her. And I mean, I really really tried to play this, I really did but this game made me angry. I regret buying it. Where's the exploration? Where's the customization? This game don't deserve to be called a "Final Fantasy". So disappointing. If you are a fan of FF saga, buy it under your own risk.
    Bad story, bad combat system, boring characters... and a boring experience in general. Soundtrack is good and graphics are ok too. But as a FF this is the worst one I've ever played.
    Expand

See all 427 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.
  2. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?