Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Buy On
  1. Oct 9, 2013
    70
    There's a lot to like about Final Fantasy 14, but it really is reliant on your ability to overcome a lot of the issues the MMO has had for years. Final Fantasy fans will need to know what they're getting into, but once they do there's a thoroughly engrossing game to absorb yourself in.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Oct 7, 2013
    70
    It’s still far from perfect – main menu freezes abound and the EU and NA servers will frequently fail to even show up, so you’ll probs find yourself on a JP one – but when it works, it really works. Finally. [November 2013, p84]
  3. Sep 8, 2013
    70
    It isn't destined to reinvent the MMORPG, but rather, to suitably rearrange the hallmarks of the genre within the confines of the celebrated Final Fantasy franchise.
  4. games(TM)
    Oct 23, 2013
    60
    As its own beast though, it's simply okay. [Issue#140, p.98]
  5. Apr 25, 2014
    50
    This is definitely a title that fans of MMOs and Final Fantasy should give a shot, just not on the Playstation 3.
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    50
    Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn is an excellent game, but it's a bit too much for the aging PS3 to handle at times. While it's impressive that Square Enix managed to get the title to run on the ancient hardware at all, it's difficult to justify the monthly fee if you plan to play solely on Sony's console.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 330 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 50
  2. Negative: 11 out of 50
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    A marvelous game. As someone new to MMOs, I expected to be overwhelmed by features and interface elements. Thankfully the tutorial was helpfulA marvelous game. As someone new to MMOs, I expected to be overwhelmed by features and interface elements. Thankfully the tutorial was helpful and clear; I felt comfortable using the different features.

    Gameplay is not difficult but battles are enjoyable. Monster models, true to the series, offer entertaining art styles and names.

    Graphics are superb. This is simply an astoundingly beautiful game. I find myself stopping regularly to take screenshots of the landscape.

    The crafting system is intuitive and fun yet deep and useful. It's certainly more involved and richer than in any console RPG that I've played. You have so many opportunities to craft what you want and to approach it from so many different classes.

    The user interface can be a bit clunky at times, but it offers a good amount of information through various menus.

    I'm incredibly satisfied with the game and have enjoyed my time in Eorzea. I hope you will take a spin too.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    9
    One of the best MMOs out there.

    The Good: Story. Lore. Class/Job system. Music. Battle System. Basically overall gameplay. Design.
    One of the best MMOs out there.

    The Good:
    Story.
    Lore.
    Class/Job system.
    Music.
    Battle System.
    Basically overall gameplay.
    Design.

    Only downside:
    Targeting system.
    Map.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    This is my first time playing an MMORPG and i really do think it was the perfect game to start with. the lighting and the over all gameplayThis is my first time playing an MMORPG and i really do think it was the perfect game to start with. the lighting and the over all gameplay are miles ahead of the original XIV. Full Review »