Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. If you’re a fan of the manga, maybe that’s enough to lure you towards Ken’s Rage 2. With a whole bunch of episodes (both based on the classic tale and new stories) to work through, you’ll certainly get a bang for your buck. The question is whether you’ll want to spend it in the first place. [April 2013, p75]
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    58
    No real progression means this one is for the hardcore fans only but the staggering amount of content plus online co-op does help make up for disappointing changes elsewhere. [Issue#229, p.78]
  3. Nauseatingly basic. [March 2013, p.114]
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    40
    There is really nothing astonishing about this game. The anime (and the manga) does it all so much better – go spend a couple of hours watching that instead.
  5. Feb 18, 2013
    61
    In conclusion, Fist of the North Star Ken's Rage 2 is a game that would have been better if it was released several years ago. It suffers from dated graphics and gameplay that is not only repetitive but hampered by the fiddle some camera.
  6. Feb 15, 2013
    37
    Ken's Rage 2 doesn't just exhibit poor execution, but poor understanding of what it's attempting to accomplish. Simple does not have to mean shallow, but that's precisely what it boils down to here.
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    50
    This is a generic brawler that feels like it was rushed to market, and is a huge disappointment considering it's a sequel to an already lacklustre game.
  8. Feb 15, 2013
    30
    As usual, all objectives revolve around causing mass genocide and protecting painfully annoying innocents. If you were looking to buy this game for the online multiplayer experience, don't bother. At the time of writing, it seems nobody across the world wants to punch with friends.
  9. Feb 14, 2013
    20
    Koei’s scraping of the Dynasty Warriors barrel breaks through the bottom and into the floor below, with a cheap, lazy sequel to an already sub-par game.
  10. Feb 14, 2013
    60
    Aside from an exhaustion that I’m still trying to shake, I walk away from Ken’s Rage 2 with the realization that us fans probably won’t be graced with a well deserved adaptation anytime soon and that realization already has my eyes shedding streaks of sorrowful man seed.
  11. Feb 13, 2013
    62
    The audience for this game is clear: fans of the manga/anime, the first game, or maybe Dynasty Warriors should definitely check this out. I think those folks will be able to more easily overlook the game's flaws. For everyone else, you could do worse with your money and time, and if you do try it, give it a few hours to grow on you before you cast it aside.
  12. Feb 11, 2013
    50
    Fist of the North Star: Ken’s Rage 2 convinced me that a Dynasty Warriors–style trip through one of manga’s more infamous worlds wasn’t as good an idea as I once thought. While I still see a lot of potential in the concept—and in this game itself—this effort’s underdeveloped and disappointingly average.
  13. Feb 11, 2013
    66
    A pure and decent beat´em up that offers hundreds of combatants and a good variety of playable characters.
  14. Feb 6, 2013
    50
    Ken’s Rage 2 feels like it was developed by Koei’s B-team thanks to performance issues, subpar graphics, a shallow character development system and fighting mechanics that are only as fun as the game’s limited combat engine allows. For the price, there are so many better alternatives out there that it would feel irresponsible of us to recommend this to anyone who’s not a diehard fan.
  15. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    The second installment of the Hokuto no Ken universe for PS3 follows the path of its predecessor, and fixes some of its issues. With a deeper storyline, more characters and an online mode that will increase its lifespan, this game won't disappoint those who are looking for long battles against endless enemies.
  16. Feb 6, 2013
    50
    Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage 2 is a kick to Hokuto no Ken fans' dream. Despite an accurate Story Mode, mediocre graphics, poor sound and a clumsy gameplay, transform this Tecmo Koei game into a sad nightmare.
  17. 50
    Fist of the North Star fans will probably like this game just because there hasn’t been a whole lot of love for the franchise in the gaming world recently, and Dynasty Warriors fans may like the game just as a short beat em’ up fix. However, the general gaming populace likely won’t fall in love with Fist of the North Star: Ken’s Rage 2.
  18. Feb 6, 2013
    60
    Challenging and difficult, Ken's Rage 2 will put us on the ropes on many occasions, forcing us to give the best of ourselves. The epic battles against bosses are definitely the best thing in a game where the engine is lacking and some concepts are oversimplified.
  19. Jan 18, 2013
    60
    A better attempt at adapting the infamous manga than the original, but still not the killer brawler we could have hoped for.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    1
    Wow! I decided to treat myself and buy Ken's Rage 2. I enjoy most Koei games. Being a huge fan of Dynasty Warriors, I thought this game couldn't be too different. I was way off. The mechanics of this game are very similar to dynasty warriors, however it feels like a broken and dumbed down version. Comparing the graphics and gameplay alone to Dynasty Warriors 7 or Warriors Orochi 3, the graphics feel very dated and the gameplay does not flow. The game's pace is very slow and the campaign is terrible. Also as a warning, this game is not in english but does have english subtitles. Don't expect to find an online game, because nobody is ever on. There is no online community which makes completing the achievements impossible. Please do not buy. If you are interested in the series, purchase Ken's Rage 1 and try that first. Full Review »
  2. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    This game is not for everyone. It is vitally important to know that before you decide to try it. From other reviews I've read, I get the feeling that this is a "love it or hate it" title, much like most other "Dynasty Warriors"-style games. If you enjoy the "DW" formula (facing hundreds of enemies at the same time) and/or are a fan of the "Fist of the North Star" franchise, then you're going to love this. If not, then I'd say give it a shot, but be prepared to be disappointed. Personally, I certainly don't mind the old formula, even if I was never a "DW" fan. I also never knew much about "Fist of the North Star", so this was my first exposure to the franchise. And I have to say that Koei did a spectacular job recreating the original story in game form while still remaining most of its emotional impact, if not all of it. What's even more impressive they recreated the ENTIRE story, from chapter one all the way to the grand finale, including every single moment, every single major or minor character, every single encounter, and then some. I've never seen an adaptation be even close to this level of faithfulness, and Koei deserves mad props just for this. Unfortunately, I have to say that most encounters DO tend to play out quite similarly, even if the change of playable characters tends to keep things fresh. Regardless, the battles are very entertaining, and I've certainly played games that are a lot more repetitive in nature, so if you don't mind that, I'd say at least give it a chance! Full Review »
  3. May 31, 2013
    7
    this game gets a bad rep which it doesn't deserve its never going to win any awards but for fans of fist of the north star its a gem I just wish there were more moves other than that its a good game with a long story and enough characters to sink your teeth into Full Review »