User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 4 out of 15

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    1
    Wow! I decided to treat myself and buy Ken's Rage 2. I enjoy most Koei games. Being a huge fan of Dynasty Warriors, I thought this game couldn't be too different. I was way off. The mechanics of this game are very similar to dynasty warriors, however it feels like a broken and dumbed down version. Comparing the graphics and gameplay alone to Dynasty Warriors 7 or Warriors Orochi 3, the graphics feel very dated and the gameplay does not flow. The game's pace is very slow and the campaign is terrible. Also as a warning, this game is not in english but does have english subtitles. Don't expect to find an online game, because nobody is ever on. There is no online community which makes completing the achievements impossible. Please do not buy. If you are interested in the series, purchase Ken's Rage 1 and try that first. Collapse
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I bought this game yesterday, and played near from 8h. It is awesome. I don't get why people put an average score to this game. It is excellent! If you like the manga, you will definitely like the game. The cinematics are good and the gameplay is really fun. Maybe people are too young for know the anime serie and don't understand the Ken's philosophy... Well 10/10 for me!
  3. May 31, 2013
    7
    this game gets a bad rep which it doesn't deserve its never going to win any awards but for fans of fist of the north star its a gem I just wish there were more moves other than that its a good game with a long story and enough characters to sink your teeth into
  4. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    Whether or not you've played the first Ken's Rage, this sort-of-sequel has plenty to offer if you're actually interested in the source material. The original story is followed very closely, even into its not-stellar final acts, and the plethora of playable characters kind of give you a chance to mess around with your favorite or even curiosity-piquing fighters.

    The gameplay is pretty
    simple, but that only serves to make the massive casualties at the fingertips of your dreaded martial arts all the more satisfying. Cut scenes can get tedious, but like I said, if you're interested in the source material, it's kind of nice. Dream mode, the free play mode for all of the characters you can unlock is fun co-op on the couch if you have a dynasty warrior loving friend nearby, but don't expect anyone to be online for online team play. This kind of robs you of that Platinum trophy, but oh well. Mindless fun, fanboy fave. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    This game is not for everyone. It is vitally important to know that before you decide to try it. From other reviews I've read, I get the feeling that this is a "love it or hate it" title, much like most other "Dynasty Warriors"-style games. If you enjoy the "DW" formula (facing hundreds of enemies at the same time) and/or are a fan of the "Fist of the North Star" franchise, then you're going to love this. If not, then I'd say give it a shot, but be prepared to be disappointed. Personally, I certainly don't mind the old formula, even if I was never a "DW" fan. I also never knew much about "Fist of the North Star", so this was my first exposure to the franchise. And I have to say that Koei did a spectacular job recreating the original story in game form while still remaining most of its emotional impact, if not all of it. What's even more impressive they recreated the ENTIRE story, from chapter one all the way to the grand finale, including every single moment, every single major or minor character, every single encounter, and then some. I've never seen an adaptation be even close to this level of faithfulness, and Koei deserves mad props just for this. Unfortunately, I have to say that most encounters DO tend to play out quite similarly, even if the change of playable characters tends to keep things fresh. Regardless, the battles are very entertaining, and I've certainly played games that are a lot more repetitive in nature, so if you don't mind that, I'd say at least give it a chance! Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Waited a lot to buy this title, finally at the age of 30 I managed to play the perfect title for my favourite manga/anime ever. I wanted this to come 21 years ago, but I'm glad that I could totally play this game. If you are not a fan of the saga do not bother purchasing it, this is a fantastic game but you must be a fan of the manga/anime to fully appreciate it. Being a fan of dynasty warriors will not cover that part. The game also offer different options to play along the dream mode that allow you to get to know the side characters and many of the enemies in a better way. 10/10 again, if you are not a Kenshiro's saga fan do not bother, you would get a game you may not enjoy that much. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2013
    0
    Wow! I decided to treat myself and buy Ken's Rage 2. I enjoy most Koei games. Being a huge fan of Dynasty Warriors, I thought this game couldn't be too different. I was way off. The mechanics of this game are very similar to dynasty warriors, however it feels like a broken and dumbed down version. Comparing the graphics and gameplay alone to Dynasty Warriors 7 or Warriors Orochi 3, the graphics feel very dated and the gameplay does not flow. The game's pace is very slow and the campaign is terrible. Also as a warning, this game is not in english but does have english subtitles. Don't expect to find an online game, because nobody is ever on. There is no online community which makes completing the achievements impossible. Please do not buy. If you are interested in the series, purchase Ken's Rage 1 and try that first. Collapse
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. If you’re a fan of the manga, maybe that’s enough to lure you towards Ken’s Rage 2. With a whole bunch of episodes (both based on the classic tale and new stories) to work through, you’ll certainly get a bang for your buck. The question is whether you’ll want to spend it in the first place. [April 2013, p75]
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    58
    No real progression means this one is for the hardcore fans only but the staggering amount of content plus online co-op does help make up for disappointing changes elsewhere. [Issue#229, p.78]
  3. Nauseatingly basic. [March 2013, p.114]