Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage 2 continues the storyline of the entire manga and offers players a variety of modes, epic battles and new features.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Feb 6, 2013
    70
    The second installment of the Hokuto no Ken universe for PS3 follows the path of its predecessor, and fixes some of its issues. With a deeper storyline, more characters and an online mode that will increase its lifespan, this game won't disappoint those who are looking for long battles against endless enemies.
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    62
    The audience for this game is clear: fans of the manga/anime, the first game, or maybe Dynasty Warriors should definitely check this out. I think those folks will be able to more easily overlook the game's flaws. For everyone else, you could do worse with your money and time, and if you do try it, give it a few hours to grow on you before you cast it aside.
  3. Feb 14, 2013
    60
    Aside from an exhaustion that I’m still trying to shake, I walk away from Ken’s Rage 2 with the realization that us fans probably won’t be graced with a well deserved adaptation anytime soon and that realization already has my eyes shedding streaks of sorrowful man seed.
  4. Feb 6, 2013
    50
    Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage 2 is a kick to Hokuto no Ken fans' dream. Despite an accurate Story Mode, mediocre graphics, poor sound and a clumsy gameplay, transform this Tecmo Koei game into a sad nightmare.
  5. Nauseatingly basic. [March 2013, p.114]
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    50
    Fist of the North Star: Ken’s Rage 2 convinced me that a Dynasty Warriors–style trip through one of manga’s more infamous worlds wasn’t as good an idea as I once thought. While I still see a lot of potential in the concept—and in this game itself—this effort’s underdeveloped and disappointingly average.
  7. Feb 14, 2013
    20
    Koei’s scraping of the Dynasty Warriors barrel breaks through the bottom and into the floor below, with a cheap, lazy sequel to an already sub-par game.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    10
    Whether or not you've played the first Ken's Rage, this sort-of-sequel has plenty to offer if you're actually interested in the source material. The original story is followed very closely, even into its not-stellar final acts, and the plethora of playable characters kind of give you a chance to mess around with your favorite or even curiosity-piquing fighters.

    The gameplay is pretty simple, but that only serves to make the massive casualties at the fingertips of your dreaded martial arts all the more satisfying. Cut scenes can get tedious, but like I said, if you're interested in the source material, it's kind of nice. Dream mode, the free play mode for all of the characters you can unlock is fun co-op on the couch if you have a dynasty warrior loving friend nearby, but don't expect anyone to be online for online team play. This kind of robs you of that Platinum trophy, but oh well. Mindless fun, fanboy fave.
    Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    Waited a lot to buy this title, finally at the age of 30 I managed to play the perfect title for my favourite manga/anime ever. I wanted this to come 21 years ago, but I'm glad that I could totally play this game. If you are not a fan of the saga do not bother purchasing it, this is a fantastic game but you must be a fan of the manga/anime to fully appreciate it. Being a fan of dynasty warriors will not cover that part. The game also offer different options to play along the dream mode that allow you to get to know the side characters and many of the enemies in a better way. 10/10 again, if you are not a Kenshiro's saga fan do not bother, you would get a game you may not enjoy that much. Expand
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I bought this game yesterday, and played near from 8h. It is awesome. I don't get why people put an average score to this game. It is excellent! If you like the manga, you will definitely like the game. The cinematics are good and the gameplay is really fun. Maybe people are too young for know the anime serie and don't understand the Ken's philosophy... Well 10/10 for me! Expand
  4. May 31, 2013
    7
    this game gets a bad rep which it doesn't deserve its never going to win any awards but for fans of fist of the north star its a gem I just wish there were more moves other than that its a good game with a long story and enough characters to sink your teeth into Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2013
    7
    This game is not for everyone. It is vitally important to know that before you decide to try it. From other reviews I've read, I get the feeling that this is a "love it or hate it" title, much like most other "Dynasty Warriors"-style games. If you enjoy the "DW" formula (facing hundreds of enemies at the same time) and/or are a fan of the "Fist of the North Star" franchise, then you're going to love this. If not, then I'd say give it a shot, but be prepared to be disappointed. Personally, I certainly don't mind the old formula, even if I was never a "DW" fan. I also never knew much about "Fist of the North Star", so this was my first exposure to the franchise. And I have to say that Koei did a spectacular job recreating the original story in game form while still remaining most of its emotional impact, if not all of it. What's even more impressive they recreated the ENTIRE story, from chapter one all the way to the grand finale, including every single moment, every single major or minor character, every single encounter, and then some. I've never seen an adaptation be even close to this level of faithfulness, and Koei deserves mad props just for this. Unfortunately, I have to say that most encounters DO tend to play out quite similarly, even if the change of playable characters tends to keep things fresh. Regardless, the battles are very entertaining, and I've certainly played games that are a lot more repetitive in nature, so if you don't mind that, I'd say at least give it a chance! Collapse
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    1
    Wow! I decided to treat myself and buy Ken's Rage 2. I enjoy most Koei games. Being a huge fan of Dynasty Warriors, I thought this game couldn't be too different. I was way off. The mechanics of this game are very similar to dynasty warriors, however it feels like a broken and dumbed down version. Comparing the graphics and gameplay alone to Dynasty Warriors 7 or Warriors Orochi 3, the graphics feel very dated and the gameplay does not flow. The game's pace is very slow and the campaign is terrible. Also as a warning, this game is not in english but does have english subtitles. Don't expect to find an online game, because nobody is ever on. There is no online community which makes completing the achievements impossible. Please do not buy. If you are interested in the series, purchase Ken's Rage 1 and try that first. Expand