User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 242

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexeiS
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    Flower is truly one of the most unique experiences I have ever had on any platform. When I first saw the trailers, I thought that this was a game that merited some looking into. When I finally downloaded it, I was shocked at how well polished it was. The graphics look amazing, whether on a 480i 30-inch or a 1080p 52-inch. The music track is absolutely beautiful, and even the XMB music Flower is truly one of the most unique experiences I have ever had on any platform. When I first saw the trailers, I thought that this was a game that merited some looking into. When I finally downloaded it, I was shocked at how well polished it was. The graphics look amazing, whether on a 480i 30-inch or a 1080p 52-inch. The music track is absolutely beautiful, and even the XMB music that comes on when you hover over the games icon is a wonderful loop that I like to just leave on while working. I was also surprised to see how well flOw's SIXAXIS controls translated fro a 2D environment to a 3D environment. The gameplay is relaxing, the visuals astounding, and the music soothing. With the slight exception of the 5th level of the game, which was such a contrast with the rest of the levels that it sort of put me off the game, I have enjoyed every minute that I have spent and continue to spend with this game. This is absolutely something that anyone should download, and II hope thatgamecompany continues to churn out more beautiful experiences like this one. Expand
  2. JoelF
    Feb 18, 2009
    10
    Flower sets the new bar for intuitive synesthesia game art experiences.
  3. JoseR
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    Flower is an unforgettable experience & one day will be called one of the best games ever made. Mark my words, no game has ever been so powerfully moving.
  4. AlexD
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    As everyone who played the game for fun (and not as part of the their job) seems to agree, this game is a masterpiece.
  5. AlexE
    Mar 15, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece in the videogame medium. A work of art. I could sling words and descriptions at you left and right, but with regards to this game, I will do nothing but a disservice. It's bordering on a cliche, but you HAVE to experience this game for yourself. The visuals are vibrant and varied, and at times breathtaking. The concept is simple, the controls are intuitive (Seriously, A masterpiece in the videogame medium. A work of art. I could sling words and descriptions at you left and right, but with regards to this game, I will do nothing but a disservice. It's bordering on a cliche, but you HAVE to experience this game for yourself. The visuals are vibrant and varied, and at times breathtaking. The concept is simple, the controls are intuitive (Seriously, take note PS3 developers - this is how you use SixAxis). I could go on, but to sum up Flower in one word: experience. It's the experience of this game that you will remember, even revisit. It's a completely unique entity, you haven't played this, watched this or read this anywhere before. The ability of a $9.99 PSN game to flicker through your emotions like the very remote you are carry is incredible, but it's ability to convey messages and their overarching themes, with not a single word spoken, is perhaps its greatest and most rewarding achievement. Don't miss this game. Expand
  6. VampyreJ
    Feb 13, 2009
    9
    Was truly a breathe of fresh air. More than i expected, relaxing, free flowing, great controls. Fun. I was even surprised at some of the eerie parts of the game...was not expecting that. The best PSN download i've purchased. Get this...even if you don't care for flowers or botany (i know i don't lol)
  7. AW
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    This really is an amazing game, it's true that it's short, but it's stunning all the same, certainly quality not quantity, and the first level in particular is very beautiful. Just like flOw, you'll find yourself coming back to play the levels again when you're done, especially to get all of the hidden flowers. Everyone should buy this game, it needs to This really is an amazing game, it's true that it's short, but it's stunning all the same, certainly quality not quantity, and the first level in particular is very beautiful. Just like flOw, you'll find yourself coming back to play the levels again when you're done, especially to get all of the hidden flowers. Everyone should buy this game, it needs to experienced, and it's very hard to dislike. It's very hard to actually understand why this game is so good just from watching the videos of it, so cough up your $10 / £6.29 and go see for yourself. Expand
  8. Sam
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    Flower is a game that has you controlling a flowerpetal blowing around in the wind. That is it. You cannot die, there are no aliens or steroid pumped army commandos ready to pop your body full of holes. You blow off a flower and fly around in the wind, touching other flowers. Doing that opens them and you'll get a flowerpetal from that flower to follow you. The music is soothing and Flower is a game that has you controlling a flowerpetal blowing around in the wind. That is it. You cannot die, there are no aliens or steroid pumped army commandos ready to pop your body full of holes. You blow off a flower and fly around in the wind, touching other flowers. Doing that opens them and you'll get a flowerpetal from that flower to follow you. The music is soothing and touching a flower makes a noise, and that's it. Tilt the controller up or down and hold X to blow the wind, and go where you want. The early levels which have you blowing through gorgeous meadows makes you smile, and while the later levels are not as good as the early ones, don't let that fool you into thinking they are bad. They aren't, and the ending is incredible. Its got trophies too for you to unlock, the graphics are incredible for a DL title, and if you are looking for a gentle, soothing experience then buy this game. Its cheap, worth the price, and one of the best games on PSN. I highly recommend this game to anyone who owns a PlayStation 3. Expand
  9. JonasS
    Feb 16, 2009
    10
    An absolute Masterpiece. Of course, it is short (recent first person shooters anyone?), and it is "restrictive" (in that you don't have absolute 100percent freedom of movement in some areas, but in which game do you have that?), and it may not be the most varied experience in terms of gameplay (you collect stuff, to spawn more stuff, to collect stuff, that surely is really lame An absolute Masterpiece. Of course, it is short (recent first person shooters anyone?), and it is "restrictive" (in that you don't have absolute 100percent freedom of movement in some areas, but in which game do you have that?), and it may not be the most varied experience in terms of gameplay (you collect stuff, to spawn more stuff, to collect stuff, that surely is really lame compared to running straight for 5 hours while firing at anything that moves) BUT, and here is whats important: It plays awesome. Its simple and yet the thought of "man, this is tedious, i'm gonna do something else" never even crosses your mind. The experience as a whole is just so fantastic from quite a few point of views. Art is simplistic but gorgeous, Sound is simplistic but great, Gameplay is simplistic but .. you get the idea. The ones who wrote its almost a Zen kind of experience have it spot on. Its simply more than the sum of its parts, in that it captivates and fascinates you even as you just fly around the lush and radiant environments. You heard that right, even just flying around and doing basically nothing is fun enough to keep doing it, so imagine how actually playing is. As many have written before, that you actually do something else in a game for a change than you usually do (blow up stuff, kill stuff, build stuff) is an added bonus. And, a word about the controls, because they're that brilliant. You just use one button. Granted, you tilt your controller, but apart from that the whole game is played with only one button, and that, i think, is genius. Especially because it is not only as simple as it gets, but because it _works_. It couldn't be controlled any better, or more intuitive. Oh and not to forget, its 10 dollars. thats about a fifth of most current titles, which is more than a bargain if you ask me. My bottom line is, with flower, you get more than just a brilliant game, you get a work of art, you get an almost dreamlike experience, and you get sort of a meditative interactive screensaver that isn't boring in the slightest. So: Buy it. Support this kind of out-of-the-box thinking and hope that the team will make something like this again. Or maybe once more something just different from about anything but totally awesome. Innovation is after all a rare resource in pc gaming. Expand
  10. driver01z
    Apr 17, 2009
    9
    You should enjoy this game if you have an open mind and don
  11. KyleG
    Feb 12, 2009
    10
    I have to admit that since i finished up with Little Big Planet, my PS3 has basically been another surface i have to dust. But today was different. Today was the day Flower was coming out on PSN and i was excited. I had been looking forward to this "experimental" game since I started reading about the concept late last year. After seeing a few videos of it in motion i was both sold and I have to admit that since i finished up with Little Big Planet, my PS3 has basically been another surface i have to dust. But today was different. Today was the day Flower was coming out on PSN and i was excited. I had been looking forward to this "experimental" game since I started reading about the concept late last year. After seeing a few videos of it in motion i was both sold and curious about how the gameplay would flow. After finishing the game this evening i can say that Flower has far exceeded each and every expectation i had. There is just no way i can review this game without gushing endlessly so i apologize in advance. You know that wondrous feeling you have when you wake up at 9am on a Saturday morning in the springtime after leaving the bedroom window open all night? The morning light dancing across the ceiling while a cool breeze blows the scent of fresh cut grass and honeysuckle into the room (all to the sound of birds chirping and trees rustling in wind.) You know how alive you feel when all is right with the world in that one perfect moment? This game gave me approximately 3 consecutive hours of that moment. Flower takes you on a journey so unique and special that you will literally gaze in wonder at what spectacular concept, gameplay mechanic or jaw dropping vista the developers are going to throw at you next. Every time i thought they had hit the absolute pinnacle of what was possible, the next stage would make me completely rethink my own grasp on what a PSN game could be. It Wowed me. Flower is a short game as most games go taking me about 3 hours to complete, but the length felt right to me and i believe i got my 10 dollars worth in the first hour. It tells a story (without words mind you) that will baffle some but resonate with most. The gameplay is hard to describe. You play the wind and control is handled solely with the 6-axis with one button for acceleration. For the first time since the PS3 was released, someone has perfectly implemented the motion control and it works marvelously! The visuals are stunning to say the very least and i have to wonder how long it took to get an engine to render the thousands and thousands of blades of grass without so much as a hiccup. The audio is yet another area where perfect implementation is obvious from the very start. From the tranquil and beautiful soundtrack to the spot on audio cues you get when you open a flower adding another layer of sound to get lost in as you explore the diverse landscapes. My hat is off Thegamecompany for having the cajones to develop a game that obviously fits into no existing category and not compromising their vision during the development process. My hat is also off the Sony for supporting such innovation during a time when their console is in such a slump and the economy is even worse. Let's hope that enough appreciation is shown for this game that this type of forward thinking innovation is something we see a lot of from now on. Some words i would use to describe Flower: Art, flight, nature, poetry, color, emotion, relaxation, joy, exhilaration, wind, transformation and magical. Expand
  12. AaronG
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    This is the first game ever to cause me to tear up. (Not in the way ET: The Extra Terrestrial caused people to cry.) Flower is definitely the best PSN game ever made, and may even be the best game made download ever made. By buying Flower, you get an experience that you never have experienced before. The only way that Flower can be explained is by playing the game itself. So go, buy it!
  13. SamS
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    Flower is one of those games I thought about after putting down the controller, but it was unique in the sense that I couldn't quite figure out why. During the game I had a pretty strong visceral reaction to one of the levels, an inexplicable feeling of sadness that once again I couldn't quite out my finger on. It's this unique sense of gestalt that flower brings to the Flower is one of those games I thought about after putting down the controller, but it was unique in the sense that I couldn't quite figure out why. During the game I had a pretty strong visceral reaction to one of the levels, an inexplicable feeling of sadness that once again I couldn't quite out my finger on. It's this unique sense of gestalt that flower brings to the table, where the sum has achieved a significance greater than the sum of its parts, and it may or may not have an emotional wallop in store for the gamer. This is the reason it will probably be divisive among gamers. Not to say some "get it" and some "don't", but I think some people will connect with this game on a level that is rarely achieved by the medium and if said connection is made, it elevates this title to stand on a well-deserved pedestal. Expand
  14. BrentA
    May 29, 2009
    10
    I absolutely love this game. This is more of an experience then a game. An experience that will make you go into a state of flower-full shock and have you drooling for more. It can be compared to being addicted to tobacco except you DON'T want to stop. Pick this up as soon as possible.
  15. Beguiler
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    This really is not a game. It is... relaxation in motion. Flying around the environment, I am captivated by the sights and the sounds. Play can be as slow, fast, clumsy, or elegant as I want it to be. Flower is an experience that lets me be idle, curious, and focused all at the same time. A very nice title!
  16. Cheniquac
    Jul 31, 2009
    10
    really the best game i've ever seen, admittedly i'm a "non-gamer" but that's mostly because I am both uncoordinated and do not like all the violence to be found in most main stream video games flower is different, it allows me to play as my uncoordinated self and also just have fun and fly around, it is truely an escape from the outside world and i love it
  17. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    An amazing experience. This game is all about relaxing and just letting the game take you where ever it goes. The graphics and music give this game a soothing presentation and that is what this game is all about.
  18. ScottS
    May 13, 2009
    9
    I loved this game (it is a game, no matter what some may say.) I feel like rushing through the grass right now, in fact.
  19. ShaunC
    Feb 14, 2009
    10
    This is zen gaming at it's finest, not only is it a peaceful journey, it is something which is actually qutie enjoyable at the same time. It is not for everyone, but if you have any interest based off of some of the reviews/the idea, you will not be disappointed
  20. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    one best $10 games i ever buy
  21. May 14, 2011
    10
    Wonderful. Atmospheric , addictive , fluid and mesmerising. This game must have been thought of in a dream or a transient state. Indeed I wish I'd thought of it. Doctors should prescribe Flower to people with high blood pressure. Gamers should play it to experience the ultimate chillout. Everyone else should play it just because its a unique unforgettable experience. Beautiful.
  22. Oct 1, 2011
    10
    One of the greatest and most relaxing down loadable games you'll ever play. Don't hear those who say it's too short and not worth the money. This is one of the few games (if not the only) that will make you feel sad for what we are doing to nature. It's a most buy and it will remain one of the most unique games on your game library for a long time.
  23. Oct 7, 2011
    9
    Most stunning game you'll play in your life. It's beautiful and extremely unique.
    The only downsides is the short campaign, although the prise is rightly chosen. As well as the rather dark level toward the end.
    All and all a great game!
  24. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    This is a game everyone should play. It's also a game that everyone CAN play since the controls are simple and intuitive. Some might find Flower boring and short, but the rest will find it relaxing and wonderful. One could beat the game in a couple hours, but I find it has excellent replay value when you just need to relax and take your mind off something. The music is beautiful andThis is a game everyone should play. It's also a game that everyone CAN play since the controls are simple and intuitive. Some might find Flower boring and short, but the rest will find it relaxing and wonderful. One could beat the game in a couple hours, but I find it has excellent replay value when you just need to relax and take your mind off something. The music is beautiful and changes with your surroundings, and the graphics are incredible as well. You can't compare Flower to any other game, and in my mind, that alone makes it worth buying. Expand
  25. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Flower isn't so much of a game in a traditional sense though it does have a "goal" for each level but more so just an... Experience. I can't really think of how else to put it as there is just nothing else around that is really like it. Visually stunning with soothing music and simplicity in its approach it really is just a matter of simply letting go of yourself.
  26. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, some days before I play the boring Journey, I decide play flower, and the result is completely different than the other SCEA game, is addictive, interesting a masterpiece.
  27. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    This games sounds awful on paper: you control some petals by tilting your controller and holding down X to run into flowers. Despite this, the gameplay is tricky enough to keep your interest and the atmosphere and wordless story, at once deceptively simple and yet compellingly intangible, is possibly one of the most moving games I've ever played. If you can't see past shooters andThis games sounds awful on paper: you control some petals by tilting your controller and holding down X to run into flowers. Despite this, the gameplay is tricky enough to keep your interest and the atmosphere and wordless story, at once deceptively simple and yet compellingly intangible, is possibly one of the most moving games I've ever played. If you can't see past shooters and bouncing on creatures heads, then this may not float your boat, but for those looking for a genuinely different experience in gaming, that isn't lodged squarely up its own backside, this is it. Worth the money and dismiss this as a 'girly game' because of the flora. Just try it. Expand
  28. Viorel800022
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    FLOWER is a game with no words, no written objectives, no bosses, no M16
  29. MT
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    Flower is one of the most relaxing games I've ever played. I had a rough day and went home and browsed the PS Store and came upon Flower. After spending 3 hours with it, all of my stress was gone. This is no mere game, this is an experience.
  30. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    This game might seem simple, but the originality and creativity is solid and shines. Glad to see a quality and enjoyable game which does not rely on guns or repetitiveness to carry on the product as a whole. The elegance and relaxation is immersible and for $10, it does seem you do get your money's worth.
  31. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    Epic, perhaps you never heard of the creators and the title may sound a little bit lame, but anyone should be able to look past that and see a truly beautiful game waiting to be discovered. The wind blowing with and eerie yet beautiful sound to top this game off a 'living art'.
  32. joeh
    Feb 20, 2009
    9
    Building on the simple yet emersive game flow, flower takes everything to the next level. I would say you are missing out if youchoose not to download this gem
  33. GeorgeB
    Feb 12, 2009
    10
    This truly is a mesmerising experience that everyone should play. I have never seen such an original, beautiful, tranquil game in all my years as a gamer. The first time you soar high above the green fields radiating in the brilliant sun light above, it will leave you breathless, speechless, and stress-free! Another hit from 'thatgamecompany' that everyone should play, whether This truly is a mesmerising experience that everyone should play. I have never seen such an original, beautiful, tranquil game in all my years as a gamer. The first time you soar high above the green fields radiating in the brilliant sun light above, it will leave you breathless, speechless, and stress-free! Another hit from 'thatgamecompany' that everyone should play, whether it's your kind of 'game' or not. Collapse
  34. GassalR
    Feb 13, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. Quite obviously PS Universe and Edge just don't get the concept of a downloadable title. Would they prefer to spend 50 dollars for 6 hours of mind-numbing by the numbers fodder??.. Bravo TGC!! Here's to more content like this.
  35. Apr 11, 2012
    5
    Flower... original and very beautiful game i ever seen, but besides that, very boring, you can play only 1 hour before falling asleep. I think it is just an excuse to show the potential of the PS3.
  36. Dec 22, 2010
    7
    This is a relaxing game... So relaxing I almost fell asleep every time I played it, the game provides a novel and minimalistic but powerful meaning, somehow they managed to awaken me at the later levels when I started to understand the context of the subtle story it intends to show, so I can say that this game is special somehow but it has some issues, first of all the gameplay isThis is a relaxing game... So relaxing I almost fell asleep every time I played it, the game provides a novel and minimalistic but powerful meaning, somehow they managed to awaken me at the later levels when I started to understand the context of the subtle story it intends to show, so I can say that this game is special somehow but it has some issues, first of all the gameplay is controlled entirely with the sixasis feature on the ps3 controllers, making it very interesting but ultimately annoying, I hated how difficult it was forthe wind to follow my commands so every level I spent more time going back to the same areas multiple times untill I got all the flowers up, and second the music is almost too boring to actually realize the game has music going on. At the end I'm not sure if the game is worth the price I payed for it. Expand
  37. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    How does playing as a bunch of flower petals moving through the wind sound? Not that great. My thoughts afterwards: YES PLEASE. Having no clue what the game was when I started playing it I was really great experience to build my own opinion of the game entirely free of outside influence. I was confused at first as to why I was a petal and moving around with motion controls. After havingHow does playing as a bunch of flower petals moving through the wind sound? Not that great. My thoughts afterwards: YES PLEASE. Having no clue what the game was when I started playing it I was really great experience to build my own opinion of the game entirely free of outside influence. I was confused at first as to why I was a petal and moving around with motion controls. After having set down the game for 15 minutes to take a break I found myself wanting to pick it right back up and keep floating around. It had a level of relaxation, visual awe, and awesome interactive sound track that really tied it together as an "experience" game. It's hard for me to understand why I enjoyed this so much, because conceptually this sounds like an incredibly boring and pointless game. Once you get going it rapidly grew on me and I really appreciated what Flower is. Definitely on the short side but in retrospect I wouldn't have wanted it to be any longer. For those who haven't played, I absolutely think you should: the last level is incredibly fulfilling. Expand
  38. May 23, 2011
    6
    Stunning graphics and vibrant colors does not make up for shallow gameplay. Too much of flower is just comprised of guiding a flower pedal in the air and gathering more flower pedals. It was definitely stunning to see all of them rendered so lifelike but it's something I would be amazed to see as an E3 tech demo, not as a video game.
  39. JackK.
    Jan 27, 2010
    6
    If you're in need of some relaxing after something like Call of Duty, then you may wan't to try it out. But as it stands as a simple PSN download, it's ultimately a disappointment.
  40. Mar 5, 2014
    0
    Bought this because everyone says it's a 9/10. I was disappointed. Gameplay: You move flower petals around over other flowers to accumulate more. There is no words to read, no story at all. Just you moving your controller and not understanding why you have to collect more petals. Story:None Replayabllity: None Controls: You have to use the six axis which no game ever uses, and it shouldn'tBought this because everyone says it's a 9/10. I was disappointed. Gameplay: You move flower petals around over other flowers to accumulate more. There is no words to read, no story at all. Just you moving your controller and not understanding why you have to collect more petals. Story:None Replayabllity: None Controls: You have to use the six axis which no game ever uses, and it shouldn't because it feels clunky. And since there is literally no words in this entire game there is no way to learn the controls other than fumbling your way through trying to figure out what any of the 14 buttons do.

    I paid 7 dollars for this game, and I feel it was a waste of 6 of those dollars. Even after reading these good reviews, I don't understand how people can call this a form of entertainment.
    0/10
    Expand
  41. Jun 1, 2011
    0
    Seeing all those good reviews makes me wonder why I still look to reviews ... if I want to relaxe, I'll watch TV, play to a game with a lot of cinematics (not a FPS), play to a game like Little Big Planet ... but never I'll play this boring game, yes it's beautiful but just go outside if you want to see flowers ... top 10 of the worst game I've played.
  42. AnonymousMC
    Feb 15, 2009
    10
    I went out on a limb and bought this game and trust me it was worth every penny. its an incredibly unique title thats gameplay is perfectly balanced and very simple. this great gameplay is helped by beautiful graphics and a robust physics engine (that renders 200,000 blades of grass on the screen at the same time). definately worth checking out. 10/10
  43. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    Not much to say about Flower. It's a nice relaxing game that feels like a painting come to life. It has a certain type of sleepy catharsis about it that helps me unwind after a busy day. It's not the most challenging or deepest game ever created.. But then again, what do you expect from a game based around flowers? The question is: Do you want to win the "Games as art" argument? Look no further.
  44. Dec 17, 2013
    9
    About the best and most original game I've played this generation. You have to control the wind and make one leaf into a wide colored beautiful group of leaves. More importantly, the world because more beautiful and opens up as you open flowers, make dying grass green again and essentially create life. One of the most beautiful graphics I've ever seen, couldn't get enough off this game.About the best and most original game I've played this generation. You have to control the wind and make one leaf into a wide colored beautiful group of leaves. More importantly, the world because more beautiful and opens up as you open flowers, make dying grass green again and essentially create life. One of the most beautiful graphics I've ever seen, couldn't get enough off this game.
    Why only a 9? Because the game is too short, for some reason replaying it feels wrong (the second playthough will never be as good as the first) so after a 2,5 hours that's it. And lastly, it's nice to control the wind with the sixaxis but moving the controller like that is not always that comfortable and doesn't always work perfectly.
    Expand
  45. Apr 8, 2012
    8
    Truly a beautiful, mesmerizing game. If I were to explain this to someone that has no idea about it, it would sound like the lamest thing in the world. It even took me like 2 years to play it because it's like you are a flower? That floats in the wind? That certainly is all there is too it but at the same time it's so much more. You seriously cannot be mad playing this game, it has aTruly a beautiful, mesmerizing game. If I were to explain this to someone that has no idea about it, it would sound like the lamest thing in the world. It even took me like 2 years to play it because it's like you are a flower? That floats in the wind? That certainly is all there is too it but at the same time it's so much more. You seriously cannot be mad playing this game, it has a strange soothing quality to it. I recommend this to any gamer. Expand
  46. Feb 3, 2014
    5
    What the...! 8.8 in user score average! To me, Flower should be more intense to be a good action game, more tricky to be a good puzzle game, more imaginative to be a good adventure game, more impressive to be a good hardware showoff, longer to be a good retail game. The campaign ends very abruptly, just as it's about to get interesting, so half the game feels like the beginning levels ofWhat the...! 8.8 in user score average! To me, Flower should be more intense to be a good action game, more tricky to be a good puzzle game, more imaginative to be a good adventure game, more impressive to be a good hardware showoff, longer to be a good retail game. The campaign ends very abruptly, just as it's about to get interesting, so half the game feels like the beginning levels of any other game... like a tutorial basically.

    I LOVE the concept and the subtle environmentalist message, but at the same time I have a problem with that as well: it preaches nature, but it demands a piece of consumer technology in order to be heard. Its depiction of nature is very simplistic and romantic. Where are the bacteria? Where are the fungi and all the natural stuff that messes up beauty? It's not in the game. Just as there are no explanations for the flowers or anything that could enlighten people now that the attention is there. All it shows is beautiful nature versus the factories and cities where WE sit consuming the message. I guess it's a subversive approach to the medium, but as simplistic as we see it here, I expect the constructive message to be lost on most gamers.
    Expand
  47. May 19, 2013
    9
    Very beautiful and relaxing this game is, the graphics and music and the way the sixaxis controller is so well done is amazing! All 3 of this developers games are great to play if you like flower try journey and flow, you wont be disappointed.
  48. May 9, 2012
    10
    Perhaps one of the best video games I've ever played! It is more of an interactive experience than it is a game. I will try not to spoil anything. You will need a DualShock 3/SIXAXIS controller to play this experience. You guide a swarm of flower pedals and tilt the controller to bloom all of the flowers with your swarm. This game is also educational of human impact on the environment. IfPerhaps one of the best video games I've ever played! It is more of an interactive experience than it is a game. I will try not to spoil anything. You will need a DualShock 3/SIXAXIS controller to play this experience. You guide a swarm of flower pedals and tilt the controller to bloom all of the flowers with your swarm. This game is also educational of human impact on the environment. If you are looking for a safe online game for your children of any age to play, look no further! Expand
  49. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    While not generally suited to the action and first-person shooter audience, Flower gives players a flowing (no pun intended), minimalistic, and overall powerful meaning, and for the duration of the game (2-5 hours, not counting extra time not playing it), it's well worth the money if you want a visual story not told from text or speech.
  50. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    Game is perfect. Gameplay is intresting, graphics are good and style is wonderfool! Many features ingame is revolutionary, like as credits for separate level with mini-levels from all game it's great.

    Game release for many years earlier as it need to be, but despite of it game take 8.8. I like to think, that if game release today it will take 10 of 10. And you could buy game that
    Game is perfect. Gameplay is intresting, graphics are good and style is wonderfool! Many features ingame is revolutionary, like as credits for separate level with mini-levels from all game it's great.

    Game release for many years earlier as it need to be, but despite of it game take 8.8. I like to think, that if game release today it will take 10 of 10. And you could buy game that deserves 10 of 10 for $10. Don't you think that it's a gift?
    Expand
  51. Feb 6, 2013
    9
    This game is beauty. Some could think it's boring, but I think it's poetic. You are the wind, you can fly over hills and ponds, you drag behind you a long trail of petals, you can turn all the ugly human structures into colorful plants. It's just beautiful.
  52. Dec 8, 2013
    9
    Flower is a game people hated, as it wasn't an action packed game, full of pre-determined explosions and linearity. This is a game that gives you freedom to explore each new level, it is visually stunning, the storyline is beautiful, well told and slightly dark and the game (while having frustrating motion controls) is fairly relaxing. This is a very good indie game, that I strongly recommend.
  53. Feb 4, 2015
    9
    Thatgamecompany have a solid reputation for developing video games that aren’t actually conventionally video games, however, more than 5 years later, Flower evokes emotions throughout its stunning visuals, lush colors, and joyous soundtrack. It’s not a surprise that it’s not for everyone and the motion controls can still be frustrating if you’re not adapted to them—and since very, very fewThatgamecompany have a solid reputation for developing video games that aren’t actually conventionally video games, however, more than 5 years later, Flower evokes emotions throughout its stunning visuals, lush colors, and joyous soundtrack. It’s not a surprise that it’s not for everyone and the motion controls can still be frustrating if you’re not adapted to them—and since very, very few games have taken advantage of this feature, that frustration is warranted for a lot of gamers—it’s still a must-play for anyone willing to spend their 7 bucks on it, whether it’s the PS3 or PS4. Expand
  54. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    Flower is the most aesthetically-pleasing, calming, serene game I've played. I thoroughly enjoyed the tilt-control gameplay that puts you in the part of the wind, opening flowers as you fly along with each flower playing a musical notation upon opening. Easily my favorite game; and definitely my favorite to play to de-stress.
  55. Jul 30, 2014
    8
    Breathtaking life of the petal of a flower. There is an amazing flow of harmony here, where with your own moves you control the nature itself and fight for the harmony of nature against civilization. Extremely simple, really relaxed feel and a slow pace, but the entire eco message goes beyond videogame and it can really open many children's eyes. 8/10
  56. Jan 29, 2015
    9
    A peaceful & enchanted game. Really original & fun to play (but also watch!)
    There is something here....that could be grown for other kind of games ! Thanks
  57. Jan 16, 2015
    10
    Flower isn't necessarily a game, but it is definitely worth playing by all means.

    Pros: The visuals look astounding. It may not be the most impressive game in terms of graphics, but the art direction is phenomenal. The soundtrack is stunning. It is very peaceful, calm and it fits the tone of the game perfectly. The controls may seem a bit fiddly at first, but when you get used to it,
    Flower isn't necessarily a game, but it is definitely worth playing by all means.

    Pros:
    The visuals look astounding. It may not be the most impressive game in terms of graphics, but the art direction is phenomenal.
    The soundtrack is stunning. It is very peaceful, calm and it fits the tone of the game perfectly.
    The controls may seem a bit fiddly at first, but when you get used to it, the control is really smooth and swift.
    Flower feels like a silent film, but it has less emphasis on the story and more on the relaxing gameplay. I did feel like there was a message Flower was trying to get across, but i'll leave that to you to find out (or look up on the internet).

    Cons (More like a drawback for some people):
    Aside from possibly wanting to find all the secrets and gain all trophies, there is no real replay value for Flower.

    Overall, Flower is one of the purest games I have ever played. I would say it is more of an experience rather than a fully fledged game, but it is still worth picking up.

    10/10
    Expand
  58. May 12, 2014
    8
    Simple and Beautiful. Just press a button and move your controller. This game is not going to be for everyone but it is definitely worth a try. The PS4 version of the game only delivers a better experience of this piece of art.
  59. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is absolutely amazing. It makes good use of the 6-axis controls on the PS3 remotes (finally something that does) and challenges traditional gaming conventions with simple gameplay, easy controls and a way to explore emotional chords not only visually but auditorily. The surrounding environment and background, which is usually paid little attention in games, is pulled to the forefront and actually made to be important. And as you journey through a beautifully vivid and changing landscape you find there is a story, a message: the tension between urban bustle and natural serenity is present as humans destroy the environment and taint the natural beauty around them. But as you gather flower petals you find that everything you pick up, every flower you bloom, causes the environment to change. The more flowers you bloom, the more petals you get in your swarm and in the end, you find that humans can be in harmony with nature and all its beauty and peace. This game is a wonderful interactive escape on PS3.... no matter how many times you play, you'll never get tired of just how beautiful and peaceful it is. It's perhaps the most non-stressful game I've ever played and it's great to unwind with and it sort of restores my faith in the gaming industry (It's not a first person shooter, YAY!) and what is going on within it. I love this game and continue to be breathless with how amazing it is. Expand
  60. Nov 6, 2014
    8
    Another extremely short game from Thatgamecompany, but another highly unique and calming experience. A rare game that makes great usage of the sixaxis and perfect if you've had enough of shooting zombies for one day.
  61. Sep 15, 2014
    5
    some people say "whoo this game is mind blowing" and some say "wow the visuals are beautiful". but i say "what the **** is wrong with these people??" i mean this game is damn overrated. this is not a bad game but it is not as good as people and critics say. it is a mediocre game. you control a flower petal and you have to just travel with motion control. no challenge at all. i give it a 5/10.
  62. Dec 3, 2014
    9
    amazing visuals and an amazing soundtrack. My only issue is one certain level that seems to be either too difficult or impossible to pass.

    Solid game and should be played.
  63. Jan 31, 2015
    8
    Far from a traditional game, but rather a chance to relax. You literally play as flower petals soaring through the wind. Plenty of emotional impact, short, cheap, easy trophies.
  64. May 12, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. The only rewards here are visual, and challenge is virtually non-existent. Yet thanks to elegance and lyricism, Flower made us feel slightly richer after putting down the pad. [Apr 2009, p.123]
  2. 100
    While the game is only six levels long, equating to about two to three hours of gameplay if you don't rush, Flower is well worth the money and you'll find yourself coming back just to go through the same levels over and over again.
  3. Flower is a shock to the gamer's system because it reminds us that games aren't about fanboy allegiances, media hype, and quarterly earnings. Good games—like good art—can simply be food for the soul. Flower is the kind of soulful nourishment we need more of.