User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 57
  3. Negative: 5 out of 57
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesJensen
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    The reason the "professional" game reviews are relatively low is because this game is HARD. Guess what? So is driving an F1 car. This game appeals to die hards like me who enjoy having to run an error free race just to barely win by 2 seconds. Career mode is fun, but full of conceptual errors, such as when you are promoted to first driver, the original first driver is relegated to testThe reason the "professional" game reviews are relatively low is because this game is HARD. Guess what? So is driving an F1 car. This game appeals to die hards like me who enjoy having to run an error free race just to barely win by 2 seconds. Career mode is fun, but full of conceptual errors, such as when you are promoted to first driver, the original first driver is relegated to test driver (why would Renault bench Alonso rather than Fisichella???). During the race, it's also annoying how you are the only one who will ever spin on oil. And in the rain, it's aggravating how all the other drivers are only a few seconds off the dry pace while remaining on the dry racing line. But all in all, this is a great driving game, and a must have for anyone who takes their driving seriously. Expand
  2. ScottR.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    I wasn't totally sure what to expect from this game as I had never played an F1 racing game before. I chose to ignore the critics reviews and base my decision to purchase the game on the user reviews which scored the game 8.9. I am very glad I made that decision. I am practically obsessed with this game. I love the realistic driving physics and damage. The visuals are incredible and I wasn't totally sure what to expect from this game as I had never played an F1 racing game before. I chose to ignore the critics reviews and base my decision to purchase the game on the user reviews which scored the game 8.9. I am very glad I made that decision. I am practically obsessed with this game. I love the realistic driving physics and damage. The visuals are incredible and the difficulty has so much customization that you can keep turning off the driving aids as you get better at the game so the challenge is always relative to your skill level. This is the best driving I have ever played. Expand
  3. DennisU.
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    This is probably the best racing game I have ever played. And i have played many games(Gran Turismo,Toca Car Racer and Forza 2) it just love formula one so much, and this game is just perfect:-) This game is hard to, so you need to now the track to follow the other formula one drivers. The grafic is just awesome, just beutiful. Best Fomula one game ever.
  4. Andyman
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    It took nearly five years, but someone finally made an F1 game that surpasses the often-overlooked-but-superb Grand Prix Challenge (PS2). There are so many incredible aspects to F1 Championship Edition, I'll just boil it down to this: BEST. F1 GAME. EVER. If you don't like F1CE, it's because you simply don't like F1. The lowest six or so "professional" reviews above It took nearly five years, but someone finally made an F1 game that surpasses the often-overlooked-but-superb Grand Prix Challenge (PS2). There are so many incredible aspects to F1 Championship Edition, I'll just boil it down to this: BEST. F1 GAME. EVER. If you don't like F1CE, it's because you simply don't like F1. The lowest six or so "professional" reviews above clearly aren't into F1, and clearly didn't give F1CE more than an hour or two before passing an (vastly undeserved) negative judgment. F1CE is anything but boring, and you can tweak its options to perfectly suit your style of gameplay. How many games can make that claim? Expand
  5. JamesD
    Apr 1, 2010
    7
    Really the only demographic that'll get anything from this are either the people who have not played 06 on PSP or PS2, or those who love F1 (like me). The worst thing about the game in my opinion is that it really ought to have been based on the 07 season. There are also problems with difficulty and the mediocre handling. The graphics though are great.
  6. ChristopherS.
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    Quality product. If you own a PS3 and your a motorsport fan then this is a must have. Certainly the finest looking F1 game ever made. How's the handling? Sim-nuts will gripe but I found it to be enjoyably realistic and sophisticated in an approachable and relaxed way. The AI is very tough and a joy to race. Framerate is rock solid and the sense of speed is amazing. The long wait is Quality product. If you own a PS3 and your a motorsport fan then this is a must have. Certainly the finest looking F1 game ever made. How's the handling? Sim-nuts will gripe but I found it to be enjoyably realistic and sophisticated in an approachable and relaxed way. The AI is very tough and a joy to race. Framerate is rock solid and the sense of speed is amazing. The long wait is over. F1 is back in America and I couldn't be happier. Expand
  7. RobertoG.
    Apr 17, 2007
    9
    Definitely one of the best F1 games ever. A couple of things that could be different but overall a damn good experience.
  8. JamesJ.
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    I can't give anything a perfect score, but this game would get a 9.75 if it was on the pull-down menu. I agree with Andyman that some of the above reviews look to have been made by people who don't even like racing games. It ONLY HAS F1 CARS. It doesn't have a huge list of cars to buy and tweak, like GT, so don't buy it thinking that you will unlock new cars and fancy I can't give anything a perfect score, but this game would get a 9.75 if it was on the pull-down menu. I agree with Andyman that some of the above reviews look to have been made by people who don't even like racing games. It ONLY HAS F1 CARS. It doesn't have a huge list of cars to buy and tweak, like GT, so don't buy it thinking that you will unlock new cars and fancy decals. If you want to do a lot of driving, then this title is right up your alley. I've been disappointed in the last several years of F1 games because they have been "dumbed down" to be accessible to casual players, at the cost of challenging game play. This game has a wide spectrum of settings that let you go from arcade style action all the way to "hardcore racer". Someone who plays a lot of NASCAR games and reviews this game is going to go off the track when they realize they have to turn right half the time. This can quickly lead to a bad review. Most of the lower review scores keep saying that this game appeals to those who like a good simulation, which makes me wonder why the game wasn't reviewed by someone who likes a good simulation. I want that person to tell me if it's a good simulation or not. It's like a Final Fantasy guru giving me a review of Tiger Woods 2007. So they don't like it.... OK, that doesn't help me make my decision to buy the game. Expand
  9. KossK.
    May 23, 2007
    9
    Awesome game. Seems like the people who review games nowadays for the professional mags and sites have lost the touch to what simulation means: Exaclty that - simulation. Please look it up in the dictionary... If your cup of tea in a game is not simulation then look elsewhere, but for goodness sake, do not take GTA3 driving as the yardstick for basing simulation reviews on.
  10. SteveD.
    Jan 23, 2008
    9
    As a big F1 fan, it was extremely satisfying to finally get my hands on a game that actually put some effort into making a good overall package. The last few I've played were very disappointing. Honestly, don't pay attention to the "professional" reviews by magazines and gamesites. With any football or soccer game, they give more points for being realistic and technical. With F1 As a big F1 fan, it was extremely satisfying to finally get my hands on a game that actually put some effort into making a good overall package. The last few I've played were very disappointing. Honestly, don't pay attention to the "professional" reviews by magazines and gamesites. With any football or soccer game, they give more points for being realistic and technical. With F1 CE, they take points away. This is frustrating because IT MAKES NO SENSE. It's also sad because if they continue to make poor reviews, developers won't bother putting effort into creating a truly good F1 game. Not that we hardly see any at all in the first place. Anyway, this game has several singleplayer settings, from a single time trial, to a grand prix weekend, to a full-blown, several-year career mode. I've found the career mode to be the most rewarding. There are 3 difficulty settings for the AI, and wow, they can be tough. Easy is where almost every non-superhuman will have to start (Medium is almost impossible to even qualify for in career mode if you haven't gotten the hang of things in Easy, and Hard is basically true F1 level). Don't get me wrong though, there are a myriad of aids and assists to help even the newest of beginners to get around on the track, and it shouldn't take long to get the hang of it enough to start turning them off. The AI players themselves are excellent, and will never hit you unless you make a mistake. If you're driving a lot fast than them they will even wave you by! The online is pretty nice, though I've noticed some recurring lag here and there (usually 1-2 skips in a 5 lap race) but sometimes it got pretty bad. Ultimately the problem is with a lack of players though. When reviewed, I usually found only about 40 people online. Ouch. Not to mention most of those people are extremely talented. You might want to try winning a Grand Prix championship before taking the online guys on. The graphics are pretty good, with great effects for rain (especially in-car) and great HDR for sunset races. I play this on a plasma and the 1080p works flawlessly and is beautiful. The sound is even better, with by far the best F1 engine sounds I've ever heard in a video game. The pit crew talking to you on the radio is also a nice touch. I do, of course, have some complaints. For the time trial mode, you cannot change the time of day you race, meaning it's perpetually sunset. It's very pretty, but it makes it hard to see the track and hard to get good lap times. Also think they could have tweaked the penalties, mostly concerning the "corner-cut" penalty. Several times I found that I would be penalized for making a mistake that slowed me down (like spinning out and going off the side) rather than sped me up, even if I drove back onto the track at a place FURTHER BACK from where i initially drove off, and thereby making no corner-cut at all. However, this problem faded when I got better and figured out the "nuances" of the system. If you like sim racing, or just Formula One, this game will not likely disappoint. It's not quite as hardcore as some sims will get, but I'm satisfied. If you prefer arcade racers like Project Gotham, Need For Speed, Burnout, etc., you might want to rent this one before you buy it (by the way, the latest Burnout iteration, Paradise, is excellent in an arcadey-way). Gameplay - 8.5 Graphics - 8 Sound - 9.5 Interface - 9 Online - 7 Overall - 9. Expand
  11. SimonB.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Whomever wrote this game off should be shot because it's a great game.
  12. MarcusE.
    Feb 23, 2007
    9
    Great simulated game, everything an F1 fan wants. If you don't like this game, maybe you should stick to playing your arcade style games like burnout or need for speed.
  13. Sep 12, 2010
    10
    This is one my all-time favorite racing games. In fact, I had never even watched an F1 race prior to getting this game. I enjoyed it so much, I actually now follow the F1 series in real-life and enjoy it.

    If you are into "simulation" type racing you will not be disappointed with this one. I would recommend that you definitely use a racing wheel however as that is much better than
    This is one my all-time favorite racing games. In fact, I had never even watched an F1 race prior to getting this game. I enjoyed it so much, I actually now follow the F1 series in real-life and enjoy it.

    If you are into "simulation" type racing you will not be disappointed with this one. I would recommend that you definitely use a racing wheel however as that is much better than trying to control your car with a regular controller.
    Expand
  14. SteveM.
    Apr 2, 2007
    8
    I really don't understand the position that EDGE have taken on this title, I really expected a 7+ from them given their knowledge of videogames. Games like this are enjoyed by fans of the sport and fans of simulation. Sure there are some problems with the title and the presentation is a bit dry (nearly as bad as ITV's F1 presentation!) but overall, it's a great simulation I really don't understand the position that EDGE have taken on this title, I really expected a 7+ from them given their knowledge of videogames. Games like this are enjoyed by fans of the sport and fans of simulation. Sure there are some problems with the title and the presentation is a bit dry (nearly as bad as ITV's F1 presentation!) but overall, it's a great simulation in the spirit of Geoff Crammond's excellent Formula One titles. Don't buy this game if you're after an arcade fix or a Gran Turismo equivalent, you'll hate it. Expand
  15. MarcM.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    This is probably the best racing game I have ever played. It is so much fun all around. I love playing on the hard difficulty because it makes me feel like I am racing real F1 drivers. I am kind of disappointed with some of the reviews by the "experts", especially the guy from the Detroit Free Press who beefs on the game. I thought an "expert" would know how to change a difficulty level, This is probably the best racing game I have ever played. It is so much fun all around. I love playing on the hard difficulty because it makes me feel like I am racing real F1 drivers. I am kind of disappointed with some of the reviews by the "experts", especially the guy from the Detroit Free Press who beefs on the game. I thought an "expert" would know how to change a difficulty level, but I guess not. Expand
  16. HelenA.
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Incredibly deep and satisfying gameplay for true technical racing fans.
  17. TonyC.
    Mar 5, 2007
    8
    Excellent Sim, but also accessible with all the driving aids that even my 7 year old boy can drive these rockets around the track (you can turn them all on and floor it all the way around the course without even braking due to brake assist, steering assist, etc. - it's actually a pretty good way to learn a new course if you're lazy LOL).These cars are difficult to drive without Excellent Sim, but also accessible with all the driving aids that even my 7 year old boy can drive these rockets around the track (you can turn them all on and floor it all the way around the course without even braking due to brake assist, steering assist, etc. - it's actually a pretty good way to learn a new course if you're lazy LOL).These cars are difficult to drive without aids, as they should be (you can't floor it on a sharp turn without spinning out, you can't brake while you're in a turn, you need to brake BEFORE you turn, etc.), so any reviewer that says these cars handle poorly simply can't drive. The sixaxis controller works great (although the lack of rumble stinks), the l/r directionals have pressure sensitivity (and you can use the stick too) and so do the X and O buttoms for gas and brakes.The evolution tuning is very nice, sort of having your own pit crew tuning your car for you instead of micro managing everything myself. I like the timer for practice sessions, 1 hour max on Thu for tuning, 1 hour on Fri for tuning, 1 hour on Sat for practice, then qualifying, If you're not ready by then, tough. What was very cool was my thu-sat practice sessions were in dry weather and then it rained on Sunday for the big race (and I was not prepared for that). Try driving these little rockets on a wet track, and you can't even see if you're behind one of those rooster tails (graphics are amazing). This game pushes you and you really need to concentrate just to stay in the race and not crash. Patience is the key here, this is not an arcade game. If you can appreciate the difference between a pole position start and starting in 8th place when there's only a .2 second difference in lap times over a 3 mile course, this game is for you. I give it an 8 because the lighting in Time Trial mode is terrible. There's a spot on each course that you're practically blinded due to a low rising sun. Ok, the PS3 has power and can generate some great effects, but I want to drive fast without having to worry about visiting my optometrist. Expand
  18. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    I don't get why certain reviews rate a game low even though It's a masterpiece. The last time I played an F1 game is on my PS1. I got the game when I bought my PS3 years ago. The graphics are amazing, the driving is very enjoyable. It really isn't as hard as most people say it is, even without braking, steering or visual aid. To me, It had tons of replay value. I always set myself aI don't get why certain reviews rate a game low even though It's a masterpiece. The last time I played an F1 game is on my PS1. I got the game when I bought my PS3 years ago. The graphics are amazing, the driving is very enjoyable. It really isn't as hard as most people say it is, even without braking, steering or visual aid. To me, It had tons of replay value. I always set myself a challenge to wreck every other driver without damaging mine too much in quick race. You also unlock old formula 1 cars by playing the Career Mode. The game to me did not have a single flaw.

    Will we ever again see a game as good as this? Maybe. Just hope that in Next Gen developers don't cater every game to casuals and cry babies.
    Expand
  19. Oct 23, 2013
    10
    This is by far the best racing game I have ever played. It is a vast improvement over its predecessors (F1 05, F1 06, etc), with improved graphics and more realistic driving. I'm not the best at it (I have only finished three out of ten races so far in Career Mode for Super Aguri), but I'm slowly learning my potential on it, and I even qualified on pole and finished in 3rd in the EuropeanThis is by far the best racing game I have ever played. It is a vast improvement over its predecessors (F1 05, F1 06, etc), with improved graphics and more realistic driving. I'm not the best at it (I have only finished three out of ten races so far in Career Mode for Super Aguri), but I'm slowly learning my potential on it, and I even qualified on pole and finished in 3rd in the European GP!

    What I would say is that this game is hard at first, but once you do a couple of races (finish them at least!) you'll be fine.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 55
  2. Negative: 2 out of 55
  1. Championship Edition is super-realistic. Perhaps too much for its own good. For F1 buffs that's ideal, but if you want an adrenaline-pumping ride on PS3, there's another game, with a big desert and mad vehicles, which does it far better.
  2. This really very attractive game is hand-wringingly dull. Here's why: the handling is terrible. In fact, it's so flawed there's simply never a time when it's fun, or even satisfying, to drive these cars.
  3. Edge Magazine
    40
    As far as either an authentic simulation or a fun re-imagining goes, it’s like some strange negative of the emperor’s new clothes; the pretty wrapping is there but the body is not. [Mar 2007, p.83]