Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 42
  2. Negative: 9 out of 42
  1. Front Mission Evolved ditches the previous entries' turn-based tactical gameplay in favor of third-person action. While a few signature series staples remain, such as a convoluted political storyline and tons of customization options, the fast-paced mech combat makes blowing the crap out of stuff far more accessible and fun.
  2. It's a solid shooter, but its story is served too blatantly and boldly. Fans of robots will have a good time with the game for the next weeks, but the average shooter guy should test it before buying it.
  3. Helix accomplishes a lot in appealing to Western gamers while still sticking to the themes Front Mission has established through its 15-year history.
  4. Long time fans might not enjoy the changes and will probably want a return to their roots but every other mech-combat fan should find some enjoyment in it.
  5. Evolved's fun but you'll feel little attachment to it and once the campaign's over you won't ache to go back through. [November 2010 p78]
  6. These problems aside, there is a genuinely good time to be had with portions of Front Mission Evolved, provided you bring with you a certain love for mechs. It's probably not the high point of the series, but fans of the Front Mission universe and/or giant robots might find something to like here.
  7. 70
    It's only the poor provision for mech-fans in recent years that hold this game's score up to a respectable level so if you don't count yourself in their number, you're probably best advised to avoid this one.
  8. For all its shortcomings, we still quite like Front Mission Evolved, especially as it manages to imbue a feeling of power in the player with its well made shooting mechanics better than many other shooters. While it is unlikely to be remembered for having any particularly remarkable features, it does what it does mostly very well.
  9. Front Mission: Evolved uses the undeniable charm of giant robots, and offers an interesting action experience. But as an action title fails in some important aspects, and its multiplayer doesn't have enough modes.
  10. Jan 12, 2011
    66
    This game is in a lot of ways very simple. The graphics aren't really special and the gameplay is relative easy and simple. The audio is nice, but has a few problems while playing, so that means Front Mission Evolved is a nice game for fans, but for the most of us it isn't interesting.
  11. I really do understand the intention behind the franchise's overhaul but sadly, it just doesn't work as well as it could've. I'm just not sure who they're going to satisfy. The strategy/RPG fans won't touch it with a ten-foot cattle prod and the action fans don't usually flock to mech titles, which dominate the Japanese culture but aren't as big here.
  12. Jan 13, 2011
    65
    While Evolved may not be a game of the year contender and definitely has some faults, it is also probably the most fun I have had in a mech game since the original MechAssault on Xbox.
  13. Oct 28, 2010
    65
    Square Enix has taken a step back from the usual RPG-themed games and manages to deliver an above average third-person shooter. Especially the graphics and the sound aren't up to today's standards.
  14. Front Mission Evolved is not what we all expected, but it has its strong points. Despite it's flaws, it has some fun to deliver and an interesting multiplayer. Unfortunately, it's not a game fit for fans of the Front Mission series, and it doesn't appeal to the huge new audiece Square Enix had in mind.
  15. Front Mission Evolved is competent but average. The good ideas were here but they couldn't translate into the execution.
  16. Front Mission Evolved has potential and fans of big-bot wars will enjoy it, but it feels like a flat experience.
  17. Oct 26, 2010
    62
    Front Mission Evolved is a standard product, without any particular ideas worthy of note. You can't find nor a very negative aspect of the game, neither any feature that differentiate it.
  18. Jan 13, 2011
    60
    In the end, Front Mission Evolved is not the disaster that many fans feared it to be, delivering an overall decent campaign and customizations for robot junkies to mull over. However, it is also an unnecessary diversion for the series, attempting to increase its mainstream appeal but ultimately having the opposite effect.
  19. Jan 13, 2011
    60
    "Quotation Forthcoming"
  20. Front Mission Evolved is an interesting experiment from Square Enix. It is far from a success and at times feels far too removed from the key components that made the series popular. Double Helix Games have attempted something new, which is commendable, albeit considerably flawed.
  21. With the strategising gone, all that's left is a poor narrative and mediocre shooting.
  22. Fold in an uncomplicated multiplayer mode and lots of silly cutscenes awkwardly trying to tell a sentimental war story, and Evolved is pleasant, accessible junk food for mecha fans. [Nov 2010, p.81]
  23. Front Mission Evolved is a bold risk, a gamble, and a new direction for the series. Unfortunately the negatives outweigh the positives making a purchase a tough decision when games are expensive.
  24. 60
    There are emblems to collect in the story and ranks to crawl through in multiplayer, but Front Mission Evolved just feels like a flat experience.
  25. Front Mission Evolved has some interesting ideas, but none of them are polished.
  26. Front Mission Evolved can sit well with mech game fans especially with its multiplayer. However as a third-person action shooter not very much stands out unless you quite enjoy boss battles with lots and lots of strafing, reloading, repairing and firing volley after volley of missiles, rockets and bullets.
  27. Blowing stuff up is the only enjoyable part of Front Mission Evolved, a mediocre third-person shooter featuring giant mechs.
  28. Dec 25, 2010
    52
    Hamstrung by a long list of issues, Front Mission Evolved is just not a very good game. [Issue#198, p.93]
  29. Jan 8, 2011
    50
    Front Mission Evolved offers one of the worst single player experience of the entire series, but multiplayer saves the day. Bring some friends, take the fight online or leave it on the shelf.
  30. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    Ultimately, Front Mission Evolved isn't a particularly satisfying title for those who are fans of the series, mech games or even third-person shooters in general. It might be worth a rental if you're a fan of pyrotechnics, but other than that, expect an utterly mediocre title.
  31. Oct 25, 2010
    50
    With sluggish controls and tedious gameplay it's hard to recommend Front Mission Evolved to anyone.
  32. A lackluster third person action game that doesn't respect the name of this cult franchise.
  33. In the end, Front Mission Evolved feels like more of a lateral step. As a mech shooter, it's functional, but unremarkable.
  34. Jan 13, 2011
    45
    In the end, Front Mission Evolved took the concept of third-person mech combat and took all the fun out of it. It is hard to not compare it to other games like it because the other ones got the core of it right. If Square Enix decides to take the series back to being a tactical RPG, I wouldn't blame them.
  35. Jan 3, 2011
    45
    One of the worst games to come out of Sqaure Enix. An all-round blotchy job.
  36. 42
    Double Helix obviously had good intentions, but, as a whole, Front Mission Evolved is completely unnecessary.
  37. The odd firefight generates some excitement, but this is all too rare considering that you're piloting a 30ft tall walking tank of death. [Issue#51, p.111]
  38. You don't need to be a Front Mission fan to get upset about the wasted potential in this lifeless, one-dimensional shooter.
  39. I like giant robots, I even like shooting giant robots, but Front Mission doesn't do much other than deliver that concept. The single player is uninspired, does nothing to build upon the franchise it's based off of, and the multiplayer isn't particularly fun unless you're willing to devote an inordinate amount of time to getting equipment that will make you a viable threat.
  40. The only fun you will find in Front Mission Evolved is using your fully equipped Wanzer to control a ridiculous spread of weaponry.
  41. Jan 5, 2011
    30
    Front Mission Evolved is anything but an evolution. There is no room for tactics in this sleep inducing and frustrating third person shooter. The end bosses are a pain in the ass, customizing your robot useless and the campaign is way too easy.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    Yup i was so scared to have preordered and spent 65 bucks for this game i almost cancelled it the day before it released. Boy, am i glad iYup i was so scared to have preordered and spent 65 bucks for this game i almost cancelled it the day before it released. Boy, am i glad i didnt do that. I didnt by into the its not strategy game anymore crap i just wanted to see what would become of front mission. Lets see...I have played its campaign mode more than mw2, bfbc2, cod war at war campaigns. Maybe because this game explains its controls in the manual (something the bigboys need to do) reexplains it in the game and allows you to gain your trophies on the easy mode which helps you develop confidence in what you are doing while exploring its world. Maybe because wanzers are slower which allowed me to understand how to play before the difficulty kicked in. The graphics were very nice with rich detail in the explosions and the music is movie soundtrack worthy in its pacing and the way it fits into the game. The customization of the wanzers is so open depending upon what you want and how you want to play, can a human change his legs to move faster, or his arms for better accuracy no, but a wanzer can. I am sorry but the on foot missions didnt bother me it felt mw2ish but thats not a complaint mw2 is a great great game. Yes there where moments in the game were i felt confused but i really got the feeling square enix wants you to try the game and complete it as mission objectives were easily mapped out and located i never got the where am i suppose to go? and what do i do next? feeling...The online mode is straight call of duty world at war. yes there is only a few modes the genius lies in the fact that when you rank a game you get matched with people around your skill level. So no noobs i cant beat yuu down. You get killstreaks, clan tags, etc. ala mw2...plus customization over your wanzer arms, legs, torso, guns, shields, backpacks, and even colors and camaflouge. its a thing of beauty. The explosions, people talking junk, hey that is part of the genre but everybody gets smacked around Everybody. This is a dudes game and for girls who like to just hang out with the dudes (but get your game face on) and please no sex talk. This is square enix first try at this and I have enjoyed everything about it. Is it perfect no...NO game is...but is it right up there with the best i feel good about saying yes especially if you like mech warriors (wanzers) and mw2. I would like to see a few more modes to play but until i get to level 70 a few times and unlock all my stuff i am happy. Square Enix please downloadable content. Not now mind you the game is new to all of us but 4 months maybe? Think about it.....Also we do need a strategy rpg front mission how about running both, you cant give me this and take it away but i aslo have luv for its heritage. P.S. no you can not rank your friends in a game because if you if you are sergeant and he noob you beat him always and he cant level himself up an you get cheap kills..... but you can create rooms and play them...Pros an Cons to everything, you can thank my buddies who got about a 1000 kills off me as i learned mw2 for that. Full Review »
  2. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    First Off... Most of the people who have issues with this game are coming-in with a biased approach. simply because the game strays from it'sFirst Off... Most of the people who have issues with this game are coming-in with a biased approach. simply because the game strays from it's turn-based origins. Don't get me wrong, the old Front Mission games were awesome, for what they were. Now, this new take on wanzer combat should be taken for what it is, and not judged on it's origins.
    Taking the game for what it is, it should easily receive a 7.5/10 score from the critics. It's seems to me that Gamespot, 1UP, and IGN simply don't "Get" mech simulations. Just look at their scores for the Armored Core series... Armored Core 4 gets a 5.9 IGN??? Really??? You can't just pickup Armored Core games and expect to be proficient at them instantly. They require practice and skilled piloting. That's part of what makes these games so incredible. They require that you actually have piloting skills. Unlike the dumbed-down garbage that most game studios put out these days. So, back to Front Mission Evolved. Basically, it's an Arcade-Style mech combat simulation game. The combat is exciting and action-packed., while being much easier to grasp than AC series. Even in Normal mode, I was challenged during some battles. This game avoids all the long cutscenes, and RPG-like elements of some other mech combat games. Personally, I can spend hours customizing my mech to perfection. But Front Mission Evolved simplifies the process., which is good for most people. You still get to completely customize your mech, but there are way less parts, specs and options than the AC series.

    Great Graphics - the wanzers and the environment are bright, and detailed. Explosions look awesome. Great Sound - You can hear your wanzer's servos spinning and torquing as you move around. Weapons and the environment surround you with HD quality ambience.
    Decent Missions - Nothing too immersive. The story is basic and cliche, but who cares?!? It's about building a cool robot and killing stuff.
    Boss Battles - Some people complain that the later boss battles become tedious. Hasn't bothered me yet.
    On-Foot Scenes - Provides a nice change of pace, but about half-way through the foot missions, i wish I was back in my mech. I would have preferred the ability to Jump out of your Wanzer by choice, go into a building/bunker to explore and complete an objective, and then pop back into your killing machine. That would have been an incredible addition. Sucks that it's a linear requirement of the story.



    In conclusion:
    Fun to Play, Excellent combat mechanics. Great Graphics, Lots of good Ambient Sounds and Music
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2010
    8
    I was worried that this game might not live up to what it could be, but it didn't dissatisfy, FME comes out into the market with force. TheI was worried that this game might not live up to what it could be, but it didn't dissatisfy, FME comes out into the market with force. The campaign will take you longer than you would expect, but never feels like your just grinding on the same enemies all the way through, it always has a new/interesting challenge in store. The core game-play consists of a third person shooter, coupled with customization out the wazoo. You can expect to be able to customize your very own Wanzer, and take it into battle with you as you wreak havoc on your seemingly occupied enemies. The on-foot sections aren't bad, but can get boring at times, and the story isn't much, but when you are in a mech with missiles, rockets, bazooka rounds, grenades, and several thousand bullets coming at you, you tend to forget there is a story. the game is surprisingly colorful, and while this would normally add to a game, it seems just a bit too bright and unreal for the subject. The multi-player in the game is where it really shines. The CoD ranking setup ensures you will have your hands full for a while, and the customization becomes exponentially more important. Strategies like stunning an opponents before unleashing a flurry of bullets, and healing your team in times of crisis become incredibly more important. With only four game modes, and five maps, the multi-player can be a bit underwhelming, but the customization ensures each battle is different. There are some balance issues, mainly involving lag, and if you want to play with your friends, your on you own, as there is no party system. (There is however, a private match system for no exp.) However the game remains strong, and the ridiculously fast-paced game-play keeps you coming back. Overall, this game is very entertaining, and the multi-player is great with a few kinks, which may-or-may-not be ironed out in the future. If your a mech/customization fan, this game is a definite buy, it should hold you over until the much-anticipated Armored Core 5. Full Review »