Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: What happens when human beings access powerful alien technology they were never meant to have been exposed to? When a volatile energy source they call Fuse falls into the wrong hands, the CIA calls upon an elite contact team to retrieve it, known as Overstrike 9. Huddle with up to 3 friendsWhat happens when human beings access powerful alien technology they were never meant to have been exposed to? When a volatile energy source they call Fuse falls into the wrong hands, the CIA calls upon an elite contact team to retrieve it, known as Overstrike 9. Huddle with up to 3 friends in team-based co-op play as you take down the rogue paramilitary corporation behind the theft. Use lethal teamwork, orchestrate devastating attacks, and provide cover for one another with fringe-tech weapons and gadgets. The unique LEAP feature lets you instantly shift from agent to agent during combat, allowing you to take advantage of each one’s special arsenal. You will need your partners and their arsenal to stop a global arms race from spinning out of control. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. May 28, 2013
    85
    Even with a few shortcomings, Fuse is a terrific game and hopefully it gives rise to a franchise.
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    73
    A wonderful co-op game, but only an average one on your own. [Issue#232, p.72]
  3. Jun 28, 2013
    70
    Insomniac has tried to create something different compared to their previous games. But in doing so, they created a third person shooter that lacks personality, and therefore looks and feels like every other game in the genre. It still offers a lot of fun, though.
  4. Jun 23, 2013
    64
    FUSE could have been awesome, but it's not. Graphics and sound are fine. Firefights are intense and you can take out enemies with stealth and melee kills. At times the story tries to give the characters some emotion and depth, but fails, and generally ends up half baked and confused.
  5. May 30, 2013
    60
    Repetitive and rather poor, FUSE is a failed experiment by Insomniac, which produces a TPS like many others.
  6. 55
    Fuse is an exercise in mediocrity, pure and simple.
  7. Jun 30, 2013
    20
    My final thoughts of the game are... Pick up something better. There are way better titles that do this sort of gameplay all day long even in the bargain bin.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. May 30, 2013
    10
    Pros:Cool story,Great cinematics,Cool characters,Cool great gameplay Cons:Graphics a bit outdated,no pro logic II support for PS3Pros:Cool story,Great cinematics,Cool characters,Cool great gameplay Cons:Graphics a bit outdated,no pro logic II support for PS3 version.Thisis much better than Resistance series. especially Failed Resistance3. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    love this game! characters are diverse, the weapons are awesome, coop is so so much fun!! i don't understand all the hate, the graphics arelove this game! characters are diverse, the weapons are awesome, coop is so so much fun!! i don't understand all the hate, the graphics are decent and though the story is not the best, it's definitely not the worst either and it's not a short game!! Expand
  3. May 29, 2013
    9
    This game is not generic, boring, glitchy, or difficult as it's mad out to be. The characters can be interesting for humor and back-story butThis game is not generic, boring, glitchy, or difficult as it's mad out to be. The characters can be interesting for humor and back-story but are definitely not the most developed, but you can learn to care for them and their personalities.
    Gameplay is tight, addictive, fun, and well-polished. It feels great and the character specific weapons are incredibly fun to use, especially when you combine them. The weaker standard weapons that can be used by everyone aren't as pleasing and you will have to use them quite a bit as ammo runs out for the Fuse weapons. Some either don't have kick or enough damage. Besides the Daybreaker I tried to stay away from them as much as possible. The horde mode is only fun with friends and provides a little more replay value.
    Graphics aren't everything and Fuse isn't going to blow you away, I do prefer the new change over the original since it allows for a cartoony theme and some serious emotion.
    The Story is not gritty or over the top emotional, and it isn't something your going to remember for years to come.
    This is a pretty good that I seriously recommend buying if you looking to have a good time. I hope they release DLC that adds a new multiplayer game mode or story addition. I really hope this game gets sequel and people aren't blinded by the fact that EA published the game. They aren't evil!
    I would give this an 8.5 but there are no half points.
    Expand
  4. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    Best way I found to describe this game is: this is a ps2 game with ps3 graphics.
    In my opinion, that is awesome. but I see why some people
    Best way I found to describe this game is: this is a ps2 game with ps3 graphics.
    In my opinion, that is awesome. but I see why some people and gaming sites are giving this a low score.
    The game has splitscreen coop and is very fun to enjoy with friends. classes are cool and gameplay is very arcadish, if that makes any sense. horde mode is awesome.
    Story is just a tool to keep gameplay going forward, and is filled with clichés and predictable characters.
    Bottom line is: do you miss the good ol' ps2 days? if you do, you will like Fuse.
    Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    I really wanted to like this game but it is just too generic. The single player campaign is dull at times and extremely frustrating at otherI really wanted to like this game but it is just too generic. The single player campaign is dull at times and extremely frustrating at other times. The controls are very intuitive and work well, the sound is good enough and the visuals are decent enough. The negatives are: 1)player leveling is very limited and in most cases useless, 2) AI teammates are great for healing you in battle but that's about it, 3) basically no real story. I couldn't help but think of Resident Evil:Operation Raccoon City while playing this title. Although Fuse is way better than than RE:ORC that's not saying much. This game is best played in multiplayer and as much as I like insomniac games, I think this is a rental at best. I give it a 7 for the multiplayer and with a few friends it is entertaining for a short while. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2013
    5
    When Fuse was Overstrike, I was excited for it. Then EA took a sh*t on it's face and made it Fuse, a generic third person shooter withWhen Fuse was Overstrike, I was excited for it. Then EA took a sh*t on it's face and made it Fuse, a generic third person shooter with literally no flare or unique qualities. It works, but there is nothing here that isn't recycled. Expand
  7. Jun 6, 2013
    0
    This game is bad like it was created with no vision and passion. Insomniac lost it a while back this is why they went multi-platform... andThis game is bad like it was created with no vision and passion. Insomniac lost it a while back this is why they went multi-platform... and I'm kinda happy they are failing since they back-stabbed PlayStation fans all over. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews

Trailers