User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 73
  2. Negative: 31 out of 73

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2012
    7
    This game is for fans of the books and HBO show. The story is what's amazing about this game. If you can look past the minor graphics/gameplay issues, you give yourself the opportunity to enjoy an intricate, twisting, well-written story.
    I haven't read the books, but I watch the show. As I'm now a third through the game, I can really see similarities between the
    writing/presentation/dialogue of the show and game. Every chapter has ended leaving you eager to get to the next.
    That being said, this game should not and doesn't feel like an open world RPG. Which is good for me, because I really don't enjoy RPGs. I never can put the time necessary into them. But if you're looking for Skyrim or Mass Effect, it ain't here. Any areas I've "explored" I just end up being directed to later as part of an objective. There's really no point exploring.
    I'm probably among the minority when I say I enjoy the combat system. Each enemy encounter is different. Sometimes they're easy or just easy enough you shouldn't have used any health potion because you'll need them for the hard encounters. Save often.
    But the AI can really take you out of the moment sometimes, like when your archer ally keeps shooting your soldier ally in the back.
    This game would have been a 10 if they added 2 more characters and copied Heavy Rain's gameplay.
    If your a Game of Thrones fan, you will enjoy this game!
    Expand
  2. May 21, 2012
    10
    Erf .......... another RPG. My gosh ....... it's ugly. But wait .... it's old school RPG ? Hard fights ? All based on skill ....... hey wait, you have to build your player ? Even the carac ? It's slow, tought, harsh ? It's so 90' ......... hey wait .... the scenario is for adults? for real adults ? Not juste boobs and easy murder ? But really about "real" trahison , about politics, about wondering for real adults ? My gosh !!!! these guys are crasy !!! they don't know that Mass Effect and Dragon Age 2 are the actual standards ? ...................... Ok , time to punish .... i'll give you a 9, you'll cry your mama

    troll mode off /

    Graphic : 4
    Gameplay 7
    Story 10
    Style 9
    Value 9 ( if you're older than 25, i mean )
    Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    8
    Well to be honest, if your going into this game and expect it to look and play like a AAA game that had a huge budget behind it you are going to be disappointed. The graphics look dated - but the art direction and designs are good. If you are a fan of the books and looking for a story based RPG you will NOT be disappointed. If you've read the books and enjoy them, the story of this game will suck you right in. In the same fashion as the books you will be experiencing a story that gives you different character perspectives chapter to chapter as the story progresses. The story splits between Mors Westward, a fierce and honorable Ranger of the Night's Watch who took the Black after fighting beside Jon Arryn during Robert's Rebellion against King Areys II Targaryen. You also play as Alester Sarwyck (also a veteran of Robert's Rebellion) who has returned to his failing lands a Red priest of R'hllor, after 15 long years of refuge in the free cities looking for a purpose while trying to come to terms with the acts he committed in the war. The pacing of the story is good. The way these two characters have been place into George R. R. Martin's world is very well done. If you're familiar with the books you already have a connection with world and the events that are taking place. This allows you to experience two new perspectives and still be shocked by the twist and turns the story takes. It's very well written and this is it's biggest strength for me. I am able to look past the dated graphics and average sound when the story is this gripping. Mature and dark with hard choices to make as anything set in a song of fire and ice saga should be. So, the story is great and the graphics aren't going to win any awards. But does it play well? When you start the game you are asked to set attributes and skills to Mors and Alester in typical RPG fashion. You can selected from 3 fighting styles and set special skills tied to your style that you level up as you play. One interesting part of this process I like and found a little unique was the option to set special traits if you wish, there is a catch though - for every special trait you set you also have to set a trait that hinders you. So if you pick something like talented (which gives you two extra skill points per level), you'll have to balance it out by giving your character something like asthma (which hinders his attack time) or make him afraid of fire (which greatly enhances the damage you take from fire). Interesting and not something I've seen in very many RPG's outside of a few on PC. The character controls well, never had any frustration with the game being unresponsive. The only thing that might bother some people is control is pressure sensitive, meaning if press forward all the way to move in a direction your character will always be running. The menus are very well organized and fonts are a visible colour and easy to read. Loading time are short and auto saving only makes the game lag for a second of two. The codex is very well organized and written when you find information, though I don't see you using it a lot other than for character specific information if you are familiar with the books. The Combat features a fair amount of options. Most of your battles will begin with hitting the L1 or R1 button to slow down the action. During this enemies slowly move keeping the danger of the moment alive and lets you plan your attack. You do this by switching between characters and setting them to use a certain set of attacks before exiting the slow-down mode and returning to normal speed while you wait for your energy to recharge. You can hit X to speed up the recovery time. Victories against a large group feel intense and make you feel satisfied that you planned it out. All in all I think this is a solid game that is clearly intended for and made by fans of the books. Would I recommend it if your a fan of the books and need a fix until the next book comes out? YES. Without a doubt you will not be disappointed, defiantly a purchase. Would I recommend it if your a fan of the TV show and haven't read the books? Maybe. You might be turned of by the graphics and lower budget compared to most console games, you also might not have enough of an invested interest in the world and lore. Rent it first to be on the safe side. As a fan of the books and show, I give this a solid 8. It's not perfect and it wont blow your mind with game-play innovations or graphics. But the story is great and the feeling of being in Westeros is there. Compared to alot of games published on consoles, this had a small budget. It's a Great effort and well worth supporting if your a fan of books, maybe if the fans support this enough the next game made will have a bigger budget and will be flashy enough to draw more people into a song of fire and ice. Expand
  4. May 22, 2012
    10
    Great game. The story is great. The fighting is pretty good. The choices have actual consequences and the game flows from your decisions. The graphics are a bit dated, though why that should matter to a great gaming experience I am not entirely certain. There are also some very minor bugs that do not appear to affect quests but are a bit annoying, nothing as terrible as what most modern games launch with.

    Overall, a great gaming experience with a few minor flaws.
    Expand
  5. May 23, 2012
    9
    This game is seriously underrated. Sure, from a purely technical standpoint it doesn't stand up to titles like Dragon Age 2. The graphics and control functionality certainly aren't at that level. But the real lithmus test of a game is how fun it is. For me, as a fan of the Game of Thrones universe, this game is a blast. At this point I am about 5 chapters in, and I find myself thinking about the developing storylines of Mors and Alester in my free time, something I couldn't say for the throw away storyline of either dragon age title. The character builds for Alester and Mors are also very interesting and different, with sharp contrasts in battle style between the two of them (at least with the way I'm constructing the characters). Obviously, hack n slash fans will hate the battle system, as this is more of a "battle management" than actual fighting game. Personally, though, I prefer the GOT system to the herky jerky pause screen fighting in Dragon Age. Bottom line: if you're a fan of non-hack n slash RPGs and of the Game of Thrones universe, this title is definitely worth a look. Expand
  6. May 15, 2012
    0
    Don't waste your money this game is horrible!! The combat is awful, you have no movement u literally stand in one place and hit a button. It got so boring in the first ten mins I wanted to scream! It won't let you jump over obstacles. The main characters voice sounds like my gps in my car. I loved all the game of thrones books but Unfortunetly this game doesn't live up to that in the least bit! It's a 60 dollar absolute waste of money!!! Expand
  7. Aug 24, 2012
    8
    Its a decent game. However the storyline is amazing. if you enjoy the books then do yourself a favor and play this game. Yes, it looks like and ffeels like a game from the last decade - the company bought the rights before HBO made the show so they didnt have the money to throw into this which completely sucks because with the TV show top shelf developers should of had the chance to snatch the rights up. The storyline is very fun, which was guided by George RR Martin himself.

    Bottomline: If you are a fan, play it. If you aren't stay far far away.
    Expand
  8. Jun 27, 2012
    7
    The strongest aspect about this game is the story, no question about it. The rest is, indeed, a bit bland and occasionally sub-par. The gameplay works in a very traditional way (reminded me of Dragon Age), the voice acting is quite good, but the graphics are nothing to write home about. This is, in fact, a game for fans (both the books and the show), but this does not mean other players won't enjoy it. It's not a 10, definitely; it's not a 5, either. It owns a solid 7 in my opinion. It has flaws, but the great story makes up for it. Anyone slightly interested should give this game a chance. Expand
  9. Sep 19, 2012
    8
    dont mind the haters, if you are a huge song of ice and fire fan then this game is a must play. The game really focuses on story, and if you like the song of ice and fire series then you like a good story. this game delivers. It is awesome to run around in the places from the novel, including the wall and kings landing. I really like playing as 2 different characters, each with special abilities and intertwining stories. The character development is great, you get to choose what kind of warrior you want your character to be and then you get to flesh them out with multiple skill/ability trees. The combat is a lot of fun and reminds me of the combat from knights of the old republic. you queue up the moves you want to execute but the combat never fully pauses, only slows down. also at the end of the game there are big revelations and decisions to be made, and is probably the first time in a game where i felt a dilemma choosing my path. The only problems i have with the game is that it is quite ugly and that it could be more polished. But if you play games for more than just good graphics then it shouldnt be a problem. overall a fun rpg with some unique ideas, and a great story. again, if you must have everything song of ice and fire, and are on the fence about this because of the negative reviews, just give it a try. i think you will be pleasantly surprised. Expand
  10. Jun 12, 2012
    0
    This is such a terrible game nothing about this game stands out for me. The graphics is terrible, the combat is awful, the story is lame. Cannot believe I just spend $65 on this game looked so forward to playing it know I cannot wait to give it back and get a refund.This cannot be called an RPG because it just does not come close to any other RPG that has been released before this one. Don't know how people can give this game a good review. If you one of those people who like playing RPG's I recommend not to play this game it is truly TERRIBLE don't even hire it just forget about it Expand
  11. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    Don't listen to the zero's, they are all players that need the press x for awesome combat. If you liked the combat in Dragon Age: origins you will like the combat in this game. Story is great. If you enjoy the books/show you will enjoy this game. A great rpg.
  12. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    The graphics are very bad and the gameplay may be broken and sometimes boring, but, if you read the book and watched the series, you will like this game, the story is as awesome as the book/series.
  13. Jun 3, 2014
    6
    Clumsy controls ruin an otherwise decent game. It's missing the polish that would do justice to the GoT franchise, but if you're a fan, it's worthwhile. The story is intriguing and has the usual Fire and Ice horribleness. The character development is fair, though the controls aren't good enough to make using the skills really fun in combat. I really think this game is either heavily under- or slightly overrated. It's playable and enjoyable, but like a lot of other Atlus published titles, doesn't really compete with the Bioware/Bethesda/SquEnix competition. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    39
    Lacking. [Issue#220, p.76]
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    55
    The story is worthy of the name, but unfortunately the rest of the game is nowhere near as good as the series it is based on. This could and should have been much better.
  3. Combat is turn-based stuff that's a hasty facsimilie of Dragon Age: Origins. It's hard to get a kick out of any of these battles when your enemies are clones with all the guile of Hodor the village idiot. Expect no thrill from the grind, either, as the skill trees unlock stat 'boosts' more miniscule than Tyrion. Likewise, rare items are ridiculously so and the purchasable gear is so unattainably priced, not even a Lannister could pay their debts. [July 2012, p83]