Game of Thrones PlayStation 3

Game of Thrones Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Written in conjunction with author George R. R. Martin, the famed A Song of Ice and Fire universe opens further to reveal a new chapter of the story! Play as two former soldiers of Robert’s Rebellion who, despite divergent paths, must reunite to face a new and deadly threat to the SevenWritten in conjunction with author George R. R. Martin, the famed A Song of Ice and Fire universe opens further to reveal a new chapter of the story! Play as two former soldiers of Robert’s Rebellion who, despite divergent paths, must reunite to face a new and deadly threat to the Seven Kingdoms. Travel a parallel course with the original series, interacting with familiar faces along the way, including Cersei Lannister, Lord Commander Mormont, and Varys the Spider. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. May 18, 2012
    87
    Confined exploration and entertaining bouts of shallow combat are adequate enough, but are hardly a draw on their own. Thankfully, Game of Thrones pushes its story to the forefront, creating a flawed though memorable addition to the Song of Ice and Fire universe.
  2. May 15, 2012
    60
    You must be a forgiving and devoted fan to enjoy the best that this game can offer. Otherwise, you're better off following the words of Genna Lannister: "Better to mock the game than to play and lose."
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jul 2, 2012
    60
    You can't blame a game for favouring fighting over politics, but you can blame it for making the fighting so boring. [Aug 2012, p.105]
  4. Give me the option of a night in with the first season's Blu-ray boxset or this mostly shabby spin-off and I'd go HD Sean Bean chivalry every time.
  5. 50
    Game of Thrones is a distinctly average affair plagued by poor visuals and monotonous combat.
  6. Jun 22, 2012
    40
    A Song of Ice and Fire is a series begging for a good, in depth RPG. This just isn't it. The story may be of interest to some, but most will not want to have to slog through the game to see how it ends. Go watch the first two seasons of Game of Thrones, or read the books and forget Mors and Alester ever existed.
  7. Jun 11, 2012
    30
    Fans of the novels or the TV show will do best in staying away from this game. Winter is coming and the Game of Thrones video game will not survive.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 3 out of 16
  1. May 21, 2012
    10
    Erf .......... another RPG. My gosh ....... it's ugly. But wait .... it's old school RPG ? Hard fights ? All based on skill ....... hey wait,Erf .......... another RPG. My gosh ....... it's ugly. But wait .... it's old school RPG ? Hard fights ? All based on skill ....... hey wait, you have to build your player ? Even the carac ? It's slow, tought, harsh ? It's so 90' ......... hey wait .... the scenario is for adults? for real adults ? Not juste boobs and easy murder ? But really about "real" trahison , about politics, about wondering for real adults ? My gosh !!!! these guys are crasy !!! they don't know that Mass Effect and Dragon Age 2 are the actual standards ? ...................... Ok , time to punish .... i'll give you a 9, you'll cry your mama

    troll mode off /

    Graphic : 4
    Gameplay 7
    Story 10
    Style 9
    Value 9 ( if you're older than 25, i mean )
    Expand
  2. May 23, 2012
    9
    This game is seriously underrated. Sure, from a purely technical standpoint it doesn't stand up to titles like Dragon Age 2. The graphicsThis game is seriously underrated. Sure, from a purely technical standpoint it doesn't stand up to titles like Dragon Age 2. The graphics and control functionality certainly aren't at that level. But the real lithmus test of a game is how fun it is. For me, as a fan of the Game of Thrones universe, this game is a blast. At this point I am about 5 chapters in, and I find myself thinking about the developing storylines of Mors and Alester in my free time, something I couldn't say for the throw away storyline of either dragon age title. The character builds for Alester and Mors are also very interesting and different, with sharp contrasts in battle style between the two of them (at least with the way I'm constructing the characters). Obviously, hack n slash fans will hate the battle system, as this is more of a "battle management" than actual fighting game. Personally, though, I prefer the GOT system to the herky jerky pause screen fighting in Dragon Age. Bottom line: if you're a fan of non-hack n slash RPGs and of the Game of Thrones universe, this title is definitely worth a look. Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    The graphics are very bad and the gameplay may be broken and sometimes boring, but, if you read the book and watched the series, you willThe graphics are very bad and the gameplay may be broken and sometimes boring, but, if you read the book and watched the series, you will like this game, the story is as awesome as the book/series. Collapse
  4. May 15, 2012
    8
    Well to be honest, if your going into this game and expect it to look and play like a AAA game that had a huge budget behind it you are goingWell to be honest, if your going into this game and expect it to look and play like a AAA game that had a huge budget behind it you are going to be disappointed. The graphics look dated - but the art direction and designs are good. If you are a fan of the books and looking for a story based RPG you will NOT be disappointed. If you've read the books and enjoy them, the story of this game will suck you right in. In the same fashion as the books you will be experiencing a story that gives you different character perspectives chapter to chapter as the story progresses. The story splits between Mors Westward, a fierce and honorable Ranger of the Night's Watch who took the Black after fighting beside Jon Arryn during Robert's Rebellion against King Areys II Targaryen. You also play as Alester Sarwyck (also a veteran of Robert's Rebellion) who has returned to his failing lands a Red priest of R'hllor, after 15 long years of refuge in the free cities looking for a purpose while trying to come to terms with the acts he committed in the war. The pacing of the story is good. The way these two characters have been place into George R. R. Martin's world is very well done. If you're familiar with the books you already have a connection with world and the events that are taking place. This allows you to experience two new perspectives and still be shocked by the twist and turns the story takes. It's very well written and this is it's biggest strength for me. I am able to look past the dated graphics and average sound when the story is this gripping. Mature and dark with hard choices to make as anything set in a song of fire and ice saga should be. So, the story is great and the graphics aren't going to win any awards. But does it play well? When you start the game you are asked to set attributes and skills to Mors and Alester in typical RPG fashion. You can selected from 3 fighting styles and set special skills tied to your style that you level up as you play. One interesting part of this process I like and found a little unique was the option to set special traits if you wish, there is a catch though - for every special trait you set you also have to set a trait that hinders you. So if you pick something like talented (which gives you two extra skill points per level), you'll have to balance it out by giving your character something like asthma (which hinders his attack time) or make him afraid of fire (which greatly enhances the damage you take from fire). Interesting and not something I've seen in very many RPG's outside of a few on PC. The character controls well, never had any frustration with the game being unresponsive. The only thing that might bother some people is control is pressure sensitive, meaning if press forward all the way to move in a direction your character will always be running. The menus are very well organized and fonts are a visible colour and easy to read. Loading time are short and auto saving only makes the game lag for a second of two. The codex is very well organized and written when you find information, though I don't see you using it a lot other than for character specific information if you are familiar with the books. The Combat features a fair amount of options. Most of your battles will begin with hitting the L1 or R1 button to slow down the action. During this enemies slowly move keeping the danger of the moment alive and lets you plan your attack. You do this by switching between characters and setting them to use a certain set of attacks before exiting the slow-down mode and returning to normal speed while you wait for your energy to recharge. You can hit X to speed up the recovery time. Victories against a large group feel intense and make you feel satisfied that you planned it out. All in all I think this is a solid game that is clearly intended for and made by fans of the books. Would I recommend it if your a fan of the books and need a fix until the next book comes out? YES. Without a doubt you will not be disappointed, defiantly a purchase. Would I recommend it if your a fan of the TV show and haven't read the books? Maybe. You might be turned of by the graphics and lower budget compared to most console games, you also might not have enough of an invested interest in the world and lore. Rent it first to be on the safe side. As a fan of the books and show, I give this a solid 8. It's not perfect and it wont blow your mind with game-play innovations or graphics. But the story is great and the feeling of being in Westeros is there. Compared to alot of games published on consoles, this had a small budget. It's a Great effort and well worth supporting if your a fan of books, maybe if the fans support this enough the next game made will have a bigger budget and will be flashy enough to draw more people into a song of fire and ice. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2012
    7
    The strongest aspect about this game is the story, no question about it. The rest is, indeed, a bit bland and occasionally sub-par. TheThe strongest aspect about this game is the story, no question about it. The rest is, indeed, a bit bland and occasionally sub-par. The gameplay works in a very traditional way (reminded me of Dragon Age), the voice acting is quite good, but the graphics are nothing to write home about. This is, in fact, a game for fans (both the books and the show), but this does not mean other players won't enjoy it. It's not a 10, definitely; it's not a 5, either. It owns a solid 7 in my opinion. It has flaws, but the great story makes up for it. Anyone slightly interested should give this game a chance. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2017
    5
    Follows a bit the same scheme and mechanics as the first TWD series games, at least it's a bit better than "Batman the Telltale Series" (thatFollows a bit the same scheme and mechanics as the first TWD series games, at least it's a bit better than "Batman the Telltale Series" (that one SUCKS big time). The graphics are okayish, at least nor as cartoonish as other games, but still these look more proper to a PS2 system. Which once more brings us to the typical problem with Telltale games, these are all the time loading between scenes or angles, and damn... this game must have the longest loading screens, specially after you press start in the title screen... other than this, well, like usual you can beat these games with closed eyes, but compared to other telltale games this one seems that the decisions really matter... but still. I'm not a big fan of Game of Thrones but I guess those who are, will get dissapointed. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    0
    This is such a terrible game nothing about this game stands out for me. The graphics is terrible, the combat is awful, the story is lame.This is such a terrible game nothing about this game stands out for me. The graphics is terrible, the combat is awful, the story is lame. Cannot believe I just spend $65 on this game looked so forward to playing it know I cannot wait to give it back and get a refund.This cannot be called an RPG because it just does not come close to any other RPG that has been released before this one. Don't know how people can give this game a good review. If you one of those people who like playing RPG's I recommend not to play this game it is truly TERRIBLE don't even hire it just forget about it Expand

See all 16 User Reviews