Genji: Days of the Blade PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 11 out of 32
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkK.
    Dec 29, 2007
    6
    Quiet dated for a PS3 game. So dated it may as wel have been on PS2. The terrible camera Still, if you get a good handle on the combat you may enjoy this 12th centuary Japanese slasher.
  2. ErichS.
    Jan 14, 2007
    8
    I am a fairly demanding gamer and own all the major systems except a Wii (can't find one). I have to say that the reviewers got this one wrong. This is a great game, especially if you like the Devil May Cry series. The graphics are stunning (I'm not sure the 8800GTX in my PC could equal this game) and the game play is incredibly fun. Buy it -- you'll be amazed I think.
  3. RezA.
    Jan 4, 2007
    9
    I will be honest, the camera angles may not be the best but thats one thing I like about it. Even on normal its challenging, which I like. Tthe visuals are amazing and I personally find gameplay not bad. The story and graphics already have me, so what if the camera angles aren't that great.
  4. IanI.
    Jan 29, 2007
    6
    You REALLY need to fight hard to like this game. Its sad because under the horrible controls, camera system and mini map the combat is actualy quite fun. Slapping the analog stick to quickly dart out of the way of an incoming atack and then flipping backwards to attack an enemy behind you in mid air is extremely fun. Unfortunately...very rarely do you see a player behind you or an enemy You REALLY need to fight hard to like this game. Its sad because under the horrible controls, camera system and mini map the combat is actualy quite fun. Slapping the analog stick to quickly dart out of the way of an incoming atack and then flipping backwards to attack an enemy behind you in mid air is extremely fun. Unfortunately...very rarely do you see a player behind you or an enemy about to strike because the camera system is in my opinion the worst I have EVER seen on any game on any platform. The game has other minor glitches and could use a quick save and mission log feature as the instructions given on screen are not always the best. How can a company poor soo much money into the graphical side of a game and then never play it to see what problems hide good game under the surface. I'm tempted to score this a 0 because of how horribly they messed up a game that was good underneath...but it seems everyone did score it low so I will say there are some enjoyable aspects here...its actually quite fun if you can take the camera system in stride. Expand
  5. ThomasM.
    Feb 11, 2008
    6
    I really wanted to like this game, I mean I REALLY wanted to like it, but the developers make you crawl through the dirt before you can even remotely start to like it. The Camera angle is absolutely horrible, it craps out on you in the most precious of times which are of course boss battles. Most of the time you find yourself hitting into the camera just swinging away and the only thing I really wanted to like this game, I mean I REALLY wanted to like it, but the developers make you crawl through the dirt before you can even remotely start to like it. The Camera angle is absolutely horrible, it craps out on you in the most precious of times which are of course boss battles. Most of the time you find yourself hitting into the camera just swinging away and the only thing guiding you is your minimap/radar which is still pretty useless as it only tracks movements and attacks it seems. What I did like about Genji, is the beautiful graphics and being a launch title, extremely impressive graphics show casing the PS3, the dodge system is impressive (rotating R3 to perform dodges). Long story short, your not missing much if you choose to avoid this title, other than crabs. Expand
  6. ChocoboSandwich
    Sep 18, 2009
    3
    For a launch PS3 game, this game is absolutely atrocious on many levels. For one, all those people lauding about the visuals, there are many PS2 games that beat this game to a pulp (Final Fantasy X, Final Fantasy XII, God of War, Resident Evil 4, Shadow of the Colossus). There is absolutely nothing HD about the graphics. The textures are blurry as well as the character models, maybe due toFor a launch PS3 game, this game is absolutely atrocious on many levels. For one, all those people lauding about the visuals, there are many PS2 games that beat this game to a pulp (Final Fantasy X, Final Fantasy XII, God of War, Resident Evil 4, Shadow of the Colossus). There is absolutely nothing HD about the graphics. The textures are blurry as well as the character models, maybe due to them trying to give it a "dream-like" feel, or to hide how low-res their textures are. On one occasion I got frustrated trying to find a place to a put a certain object to activate something, when it turns out that blurry thing on the side of a platform (with 3 other identical ones around it) was where I was suppose to put it in, and it was basically a flat ugly texture. Unlike later PS3 games, this being a launch title, many of the games cutscenes are not fully rendered on the PS3 but instead are pre-rendered video with jarring visual differences between in-game and cutscene graphics. This was the norm last gen, but even basing the cutscenes off the pre-rendered videos, older games like Dynasty Warriors and Onimusha are much better looking. The enemies and bosses are mostly uninspired demon possessed samurai with glowing eyes and mouths and have a nasty, grimy look to them that mask any real detail. Overall, this game really looks like a PS2 port more than anything. The game also borrows heavy from Legacy of Kain: Defiance in visual cues, game mechanics, and other things. There Expand
  7. May 24, 2012
    0
    This game is flat out awful. One of the worst games I've ever played. Bad graphics. Terrible voice acting, so atrociously bad and goes along perfectly with the incredibly bad story. It's your basic action game with a slight RPG-eqsue system to build up your characters. The camera angle sucks sometimes you can be off screen with your character. This is a game you recommend to someone toThis game is flat out awful. One of the worst games I've ever played. Bad graphics. Terrible voice acting, so atrociously bad and goes along perfectly with the incredibly bad story. It's your basic action game with a slight RPG-eqsue system to build up your characters. The camera angle sucks sometimes you can be off screen with your character. This is a game you recommend to someone to torture them. It's repetitive gameplay mixed with graphics that I don't even believe are in true HD form the perfect pile of awfulness within this bad title. Expand
  8. Sep 3, 2012
    2
    This was my first ever game on the PS3 and I tried my best to enjoy it, I really did. The upside was that the graphics were awesome. The downside was everything else. Level design was pretty atrocious. Weapons felt pretty useless. Camera angles were terrible and responsible for so many unnecessary deaths. This is possibly the only game I can remember that I did not finish. I wasn't evenThis was my first ever game on the PS3 and I tried my best to enjoy it, I really did. The upside was that the graphics were awesome. The downside was everything else. Level design was pretty atrocious. Weapons felt pretty useless. Camera angles were terrible and responsible for so many unnecessary deaths. This is possibly the only game I can remember that I did not finish. I wasn't even close. I even booted it up multiple times after my initial attempts at it, but I still had no luck with it. The game is rampant with artificial difficulty and probably not worth your time. Expand
  9. Jul 19, 2014
    4
    This is truly a bad game, its a looker alright, but the fixed camera makes it almost unplayable. the enemies you fight are often out of your sight , only the mini-map is your enemy designator to show you where to punch, kick or swipe your weapon. worse than that is, that the developers tried to implement platforming elements. Bad camera and super-bad platforming combined with bad characterThis is truly a bad game, its a looker alright, but the fixed camera makes it almost unplayable. the enemies you fight are often out of your sight , only the mini-map is your enemy designator to show you where to punch, kick or swipe your weapon. worse than that is, that the developers tried to implement platforming elements. Bad camera and super-bad platforming combined with bad character movement is a nice mixture of sh*t. The save point locations are terrible. Sometimes you can save way too often, and sometimes you cant save for an entire 40 minute progress which contains multiple mini-boss-fights and boss-fights, simply because the game wants to make you go nuts. So your only chance is to use up your power-ups during these long sections. And this is where you screw up!: even on normal difficulty , the games final boss is unbeatable, unless you spared some of those power-ups, but the game doesnt tell you this. I dare you to find someone, who doesnt use at least 5 power-ups during the final battle. So if you kept one savefile at the end where you used up your powerups, well you cant finish the final boss. That happened to me, but thank God I could download a save-game for the final boss. BTW the story of the game is so incredibly simple, that a toddler could write a better one. the character leveling is extremely bad, you have to find 4 stone shards to improve health or special ability meter, but the stones are scattered trough-out the world in such a stupid way that you will end up hitting the level walls and anything you see (ANYTHING) to find them. stay away from this game, or if you really interested, find a walktrough or video compilation . the game-play just doesnt worth it. Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2014
    8
    This game is based on REAL Japanese history in which you fight a giant enemy crab and attack it's weakpoint for massive damage. The graphics are phenomenal, as the crab looks extremely realistic. The gameplay is alright. I fell as though they could have focused a little less on being historically accurate. The giant enemy crab seemed like a step too far. I mean, if they're going to go thatThis game is based on REAL Japanese history in which you fight a giant enemy crab and attack it's weakpoint for massive damage. The graphics are phenomenal, as the crab looks extremely realistic. The gameplay is alright. I fell as though they could have focused a little less on being historically accurate. The giant enemy crab seemed like a step too far. I mean, if they're going to go that far they may as well add Hiroshima. Overall, the game was extremely good. My favorite part was attacking the giant enemy crab's weakpoint for massive damage. Expand
  11. Apr 11, 2017
    2
    Du classique japoniais, balance des coups de sabre à droite à gauche et recommence, des fois donne des coups de katana en avant ou en arrière, saute, fais des pirouettes avec le stick droit... mais du coup impossible de contrôler la caméra qui reste fixe et mal placée la plupart du temps puisque c'est le jeu qui décide.

    Pas vraiment ouvert, c'est un gros couloir entrecoupé de
    Du classique japoniais, balance des coups de sabre à droite à gauche et recommence, des fois donne des coups de katana en avant ou en arrière, saute, fais des pirouettes avec le stick droit... mais du coup impossible de contrôler la caméra qui reste fixe et mal placée la plupart du temps puisque c'est le jeu qui décide.

    Pas vraiment ouvert, c'est un gros couloir entrecoupé de cinématiques bien niaises impossibles à zapper. Cela étant c'est assez joli, si, si, et on peut avoir les voix en japonais (toujours un grand moment de détente), c'est pour ça je lui mets 2 quand même.
    Expand
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 46
  2. Negative: 8 out of 46
  1. 65
    Next-gen looks that plays like a last-gen title.
  2. Play Magazine
    60
    Genji is best played, and possibly enjoyed with patience, in chunks. [Jan. 2007, p.72]
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    52
    Finally, the vague puzzles and unhelpful map also had me questioning whether this was next-gen. [Jan. 2007, p.78]