Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 18 out of 27
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    46
    The Ghostbusters team are in need of new recruits and you will play one of them. You have to hunt down different ghosts in twelve levels on your own or in co-op with a few friends. Unfortunately the AI is crap, the controls don't work and the gameplay is repetitive.
  2. May 16, 2011
    45
    In the end, referring to Ghostbusters: Sanctum of Slime by its abbreviated name, Ghostbusters: S.O.S., is probably the most appropriate thing to do. Even without the license, this is a game that's on life support. Coming in at 800 MSP ($10), it may seem like a fun impulse purchase, but your money is better spent by tracking down a used copy of Ghostbusters: The Video Game. Even for the hardcore fans, there really isn't much to see here.
  3. Apr 14, 2011
    45
    All in all I'm really disappointed! Ghostbusters: Sanctum of Slime paves a perfect path to kill that cool franchise.
  4. Apr 11, 2011
    45
    If you play Ghostbusters: Sanctum of Slime, you will be haunted with a dull presentation combined with ordinary gameplay with no differentiation whatsoever.
  5. Mar 23, 2011
    45
    For the most part, the game is just boring with lackluster gameplay and reused environments, and then it gets frustrating. Toss in issues I didn't even mention such as unresponsive weapons and repetitive music, and I know I wouldn't want to suit up for this one.
  6. May 16, 2011
    40
    Worst deal ever for the Busters fan out there: no classic movie team, lame new characters and the worst gathering of ghosts ever seen.
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    40
    Just a shame really. The curse of the boring game.
  8. Apr 4, 2011
    40
    Outside of climbing up the leaderboards or finding every hidden item, there's little reason to return to the game once you've played through it once.
  9. Mar 30, 2011
    40
    The idea that looked good on paper translated into unfair challenge and highly monotonous gameplay on the screen. Sanctum of Slime will have you reminiscing about the days when the Ghostbusters franchise meant good films, not lousy video games.
  10. Mar 28, 2011
    40
    It isn't an awful game, by any measure – just a terminally dull one.
  11. Mar 25, 2011
    40
    With the mood alternating between boredom and exasperation, Sanctum Of Slime is a spirit-crushing exercise that only a committed masochist could appreciate.
  12. As diehard Ghostbusters fans, we can honestly say this is the first time that busting absolutely did not make us feel good. [July 2011, p.83]
  13. Apr 27, 2011
    30
    Sanctum of Slime is ultimately a missed opportunity that deserves to be missed.
  14. Apr 6, 2011
    30
    Ghostbusters: Sanctum of Slime doesn't deserve the name 'Ghostbusters'. It's simply a terrible product that drops everything that makes Ghostbusters such an iconic franchise: the humour, characters and the ghosts. Even Ecto-1 has been replaced. What remains is an empty shell that doesn't contain a single drop of fun.
  15. 30
    The only really enjoyable thing in this game is the Ghostbusters orginal theme song in the menues. Yup, it's that bad.
  16. Mar 28, 2011
    25
    The difficulty ramps up so much by the game's finale that I'm not convinced it's even possible for a solo player to finish this thing. And even if you could, I'm not sure why you'd want to; Sanctum of Slime has little to offer the die-hard Ghostbusters fan, and even less for the twin-stick shooter crowd.
  17. May 10, 2011
    22
    Completely lame. [June 2011, p.92]
  18. Mar 27, 2011
    16
    You'll find Ghostbusters: SoS to be more of a matter of endurance than enjoyment, even if you and the three biggest fans of Ghostbusters sat down to play while drunk. It's a huge fumble and an exercise in lazy game development in almost every facet of the game, with heavy repetition, very little content, and a not anything else to do after you've played through it once...Listen to the advertising: Ghostbusters: Sanctum of Slime sucks.
User Score
3.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 3 out of 3
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    3
    Older gamers will instantly notice the similarity in gameplay this has to Acclaim's 1990 arcade game "Smash TV." Players move from room toOlder gamers will instantly notice the similarity in gameplay this has to Acclaim's 1990 arcade game "Smash TV." Players move from room to room eliminating ghosts with different guns and traps, including the proton pack from the films. You are one of four new recruits to the Ghostbuster business and are charged with cleaning out the supernatural elements of an old mental hospital. It is a very simple game that lost my interest very quickly. Not unplayable by an means, but even as a fan of the franchise I really couldn't get into it. Full Review »
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    3
    it not as bad as everyone say but it not the best it ok shot them up and i think it ok game but not for everyone
  3. Mar 24, 2011
    4
    Extremely simple gameplay with a really bad camera that moves on it own. The weapons do not exactly work all the time, and I found theExtremely simple gameplay with a really bad camera that moves on it own. The weapons do not exactly work all the time, and I found the controls to be unresponsive at times (like throwing the trap). The comic book cut scenes are also badly timed. They either have a slide up with a picture for a very long time, or too much text for a short amount of time. In the end, spend the extra $10 and buy a copy of the excellent first person shooter released over a year ago. Full Review »