• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 89 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 781 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ascension is a prequel to the initial God of War. 6 months have elapsed since Kratos stood before the bodies of his wife and child, his hands stained with their blood - duped by Ares into killing the only people he ever loved. Vowing to avenge them, Kratos shattered the blood oath that bound him to Ares. Sentenced to an eternity chained within a prison for the living damned, Kratos battles insanity at the hands of the Furies. He will be tested as he seeks freedom, redemption for his sins, and the clarity to avenge his family. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 89
  2. Negative: 0 out of 89
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    96
    Ascension is another 'instant classic' entry into the amazing God of War series.
  2. Mar 7, 2013
    90
    God of War Ascension is one of the most beautiful, brutal and funny action games you can play these days. This prequel definitely lives up to its predecessor, proposing an astounding adventure, and a climax of action and brutality with no equals. On the top of that there is a new multiplayer mode that brings over the character of the series.
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    85
    God of War: Ascension does exactly what you would expect from a God of War title.The sheer amount of violence and tension is simply breathtaking, especially when taking place right on top of a giant creature. The entire experience is accompanied by stunning graphics and an impressive soundtrack. While the multiplayer is somewhat disappointing, it is apparent that Kratos is still this generation's most fearsome warrior.
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    80
    Ascension isn’t a reinvention of God of War; it’s a refinement. It plays on its strengths – exciting combat, great visuals, and huge levels — even when those strengths might overshadow some of the new things it tries to accomplish (like adding emotional depth to its lead hero).
  5. Mar 14, 2013
    80
    Ascension is exactly the God of War you'd expect: colossal in its scale, technically majestic, insanely gruesome and fun to play. A huge production that shows the brute horsepower of the PS3, while denoting the weaknesses of a series that has reached its peak and needs a breathe of fresh air.
  6. Apr 10, 2013
    75
    Despite some incredible set-pieces, the single-player is God of War on autopilot. [May 2013, p.72]
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    60
    God of War III introduced the scale and spectacle capable on modern hardware with a massive budget, but without the same wads of cash and sense of purpose Ascension feels like a step back. A safe bet that’s simply going through the motions, padding out the end of the PlayStation 3s lifespan with one last hurrah for its angriest protagonist.

See all 89 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 215
  1. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    So i wasn't expecting too much out of this game as it wasn't getting the best "pre-release" feedback, which did have me worried. But after playing through the story mode, (i got an early copy) i came to realize that the ONLY thing this game does wrong, is that it has to be compared to god of war 3. Thats it. The multiplayer is original (for the most part) and fun to play, and the story mode offers a new side of kratos which i'm very happy to see. This game in my opinion though is the second best in the series, with GOW3 still being the best. Ascension was screwed right from the beginning for being a prequel about the furies... That will, no matter what, ALWAYS be less entertaining than scaling mt. Olympus in order to kill zeus an the other gods, which is the only reason i can't/won't score this game any higher than it's well deserved 9/10. Very well done *clapping* Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Loved it!.
    Best looking game to date.
    Yes it's not going to have all the weapons and epic moments like god of war 3 but its a prequel.
    People need to understand this.
    God of war ascension is as brutal as ever and by god it does it well.

    Multiplayer is also brilliant!.
    Many reviews say how weak it is but actual people playing it tell a different story. Maybe these reviewers are just crap at this game?.
    I and from my research on the feedback on gowa multiplayer has all been extremely positive. Fun and addictive is the most used words when it comes to multiplayer, I totally agree. this game gets a full 10 from me.
    Collapse
  3. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. god of war Ascension is the coolest game ever seems to be don't have big difference from the god of war 3 and the battle strategy but actually are significant differences game is very sensible and no end is an amazing game no less dynamic battle in the final same time as meaningful Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    This game looks and plays great, but it really just feels like more God of War with a less interesting story than usual. If you're a longtime GoW fan, you'll still have plenty of fun with this game. If you're thinking about jumping into the series now, try the older games first. Expand
  5. Mar 16, 2013
    8
    Pretty much the same game as the previous GOWs, with the addition of the multiplayer and some little details here and there. The campaign is very good (epic, fun and with sweet graphics) and the multiplayer, even being a bit confusing in the start, it's fun. However, the game has some negative points. First, the story of this game is lame. Simply because it isn't powerful or engaging, at least not anymore. The whole plot of the series already reached the high climax in GOW 3. When i played GOW Ascension i enjoyed the plot but i didn't get excited with it in the same way i did with GOW 1,2 and 3. Second, the great things of the GOW series, in this game, aren't impressive like they used to be. The barbarian soundtrack, sweet combat system, QTEs, level design, all that feels like "commonplace" at this point of the saga. Overall, a good game but it's disappointing for me to realize that i'm playing, essencially, the same game i played in 2007. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    Still a good God of War entry, but I felt that Ascension will never be Game of the Year. The commercial was alright, not that much with no gameplay on it. The reason why I'm almost disappointed at the game is that I'd wished it was God of War IV, but the prequel is sorta like a storytelling reboot of the original God of War where Kratos starts to raise hell and kick the living crap out of Zeus. But the rest of the story just not gonna cut it in Ascension. God of War fans doesn't need multiplayer. If it weren't for the game itself, they should've announced it for the Playstation 4 this holiday season. I like it in single--player campaigns because I've already beaten Chains of Olympus and Ghosts of Sparta. I'm almost beat God of War III with a whole stack of trophies that I've collected (I'm now on the Hard difficulty, as usual). I wonder if the new God of War still has some new sex scenes. I would love to see them in action (hot damn, I love naked lesbians). I'd say Ascension is a bit average, not the best in the series. But it's a good game and I think I'll rent it on Redbox. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    The problem whit God of War is that it's always the same game copypasted over and over, and now it's really flame, too much easy and the gameplay doesn't change from the other titles... Expand

See all 215 User Reviews