• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2010
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2346 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    God Of War III is the only game i have played more then 7 times non stop.The graphic in the game blow me away,the smooth gameplay,gore,violence,EPIC opening.All you need in an action game.This might be the Game Of The Year for the PS3 System.If you have been following God Of War franchise since the 1st God Of War.There is no point in saying "pass" to this game.
  2. KratosLoverX
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    If there was an infinity and beyond rating... i would give it to this game... within the first 5 seconds of playing I had to pause to game to think about what just happened to my brain... it was blown away and re-arranged and I didn't know what to do exept marvel with my mouth wide open at this insanely beautiful game.. if you dont have it... buy it, if you dont have a ps3.. now u If there was an infinity and beyond rating... i would give it to this game... within the first 5 seconds of playing I had to pause to game to think about what just happened to my brain... it was blown away and re-arranged and I didn't know what to do exept marvel with my mouth wide open at this insanely beautiful game.. if you dont have it... buy it, if you dont have a ps3.. now u have a reason to buy one. HOWEVER i dont like the new 'O' finishing moves thing.... why didnt they keep it simple and keep the button executions in the middle of the screen like GOW Chains, GOW 1 and GOW 2... why put the circle, square, triangle and X on the very far sides of the screen... how am i supposed to know which one to press when they are all so small and at the same time so far away from eachother... also the basic infantry are alot more nastier and attack more... ME LIKE!!!!! The graphics blew my face off... the cinematics blew my private parts and my brain off.... kratos, the bosses, enemies, titans and the levels made my liver move to my shoulder, my spleen rupture and my right lung liquadise so it is now circulating my blood stream... BUY THE GAME.. ITS BEAUTIFUL! NOT 100% PERFECT BUT 99.99999% PERFECT!!!! AHHHHHHHH *head explodes*. Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    The best game i've played on this generation. The most beautiful graphics on PS3 history. Amazing, compelling, instigative, with a tremendous ending to the history of one of the greatest characters i've ever known or seen in any games, on any platforms. In my opinion, a piece of art.
  4. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This is a no-brainer- GoW 3 is a must-have game. The visual are phenomenal. I enjoyed the story, was very satisfied with the ending. The gameplay is varied and fun. The boss battles are really good. The best thing I like about this game is the pacing. There's never a dull moment. The puzzle were fun. For someone who hasn't played the previous GoW games, GoW 3 is a good place to start,This is a no-brainer- GoW 3 is a must-have game. The visual are phenomenal. I enjoyed the story, was very satisfied with the ending. The gameplay is varied and fun. The boss battles are really good. The best thing I like about this game is the pacing. There's never a dull moment. The puzzle were fun. For someone who hasn't played the previous GoW games, GoW 3 is a good place to start, unless you want to follow the storyline. Buy it!! Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    The franchise that saved the hack 'n' slash action-adventure genre from it's impending doom has concluded, with one of the best games ever made! I fell in love with God of War since the first game, every game in the franchise is better than it's predecessor, God of War III is a masterpiece, can't wait for the next game from Sony Santa Monica a.k.a the best developers ever.
  6. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are several reasons why the God of War games are successful: Gore, smooth combat, amazing voice acting/overall sound quality/score, Kratos, graphics, and difficulty. Now what do they do for the sequels? They advance the story (on the psp games backstory), improve graphics, and fix any problems while adding some improvements, and this leads to one of the greatest single-player games of all time in God of War 3. The most a game on max difficulty has killed me is around 30 times (original God of War), when I played THIS game on max difficulty, I died 300 times (no seriously, I counted) on the first boss. THE FIRST BOSS. I loved it. I freaking cheered when I finally beat the first boss, and that's the thing that games should strive for: the feeling of achievement. This game also stepped up in the combat department, with new weapons, improved controls to get your weapons out (the first two games frustrated me whenever I changed the weapons), and changing the locations of quick-timer buttons, as well as adding a BEAUTIFUL abundance of gore. The graphics are jaw-dropping. This is beyond a shadow of a doubt one of the best looking games of all time (behind only Heavy Rain and, based on the trailers, Battlefield 3). The puzzles are complex but one puzzle in particular is just annoying in the musical puzzle. The game only steps it up in the cinematic feel, with the graphics, the always stellar voice acting, and now, scaling the bodies of Titans themselves, especially the Cronus battle, undoubtedly among the greatest boss battles of all time, if for nothing else scale and lack of anticipation, no one saw that coming. So overall, this is, in my opinion, the best game available on the PlayStation 3, one of the best of all time. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    God of War 3 One of the best game of this generation although it has its problems here and there, but not enough to ruin the fantastic experienced with this game.
  8. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    An amazing finale to an amzing series .All XBOX users must be jealous of this game .all ps3 users must own this game .Great combat System and gameplay .totally deserves a 10/10
  9. JasonG
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    A wise man once said that 'Time heals everything.' While that statement may hold true for many, it most certainly does not apply to Kratos. It has been 3 years since Kratos began his ascent of Mount Olympus, which is more than enough time for the Greek warrior turned God turned man to cool off and go back to his Toga washing business. However, not only has Kratos' rage A wise man once said that 'Time heals everything.' While that statement may hold true for many, it most certainly does not apply to Kratos. It has been 3 years since Kratos began his ascent of Mount Olympus, which is more than enough time for the Greek warrior turned God turned man to cool off and go back to his Toga washing business. However, not only has Kratos' rage persevered the test of time; it has intensified into a typhoon of anger and hatred that only the blood of Olympus can quench. Expand
  10. christopherM.
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    Top top game worth all the high praise!
  11. RichardB
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it! This game went by that rule and stuck to it. I only would -.02 for Kratos talking too much. It just sound weird hearing him talk in full fledged conversation. Kinda like in The Dark Knight where you don't want to hear Batman talk. You just want him to be badass. Wonderful graphics. Music is magnificent. Character animation is gorgeous. If it ain't broke, don't fix it! This game went by that rule and stuck to it. I only would -.02 for Kratos talking too much. It just sound weird hearing him talk in full fledged conversation. Kinda like in The Dark Knight where you don't want to hear Batman talk. You just want him to be badass. Wonderful graphics. Music is magnificent. Character animation is gorgeous. Can't believe my eyes when I play. 9.8/10 By far. Beat it once and plan on playing it at least 5 times + all the bonus stuff that is about 40 hours gameplay logged in. Worth your money. Expand
  12. TrafalgarL
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    This game sparks pure creativity and artistic flare. Santa Monica Studio's GoW really sets the new standard for next/current-gen gaming on the Playstation 3. Besides the awe-inspiring visuals of the game, the brutal combat gameplay, like we all know from the previous GoW games is still present. The new weapons, attack-animations and finishing-moves work very well. The new This game sparks pure creativity and artistic flare. Santa Monica Studio's GoW really sets the new standard for next/current-gen gaming on the Playstation 3. Besides the awe-inspiring visuals of the game, the brutal combat gameplay, like we all know from the previous GoW games is still present. The new weapons, attack-animations and finishing-moves work very well. The new 'R1+X' weapon switch mechanic allows you to switch to another weapon in midcombo. All this combined with the great bombastic music score and a divine story line will leave you hanging on the edge of your seat. Do you self a favor as a gamer and buy this game. Why? Because one thing that this game does very well is reminding you why you are a gamer in the first place. Expand
  13. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    This game is a spectacular example of the power of the PS3. It is incredibly detailed in every way and the cut scenes are breathtaking. The scale of the game is huge and is a tough challenge for the best of gamers. The action is none stop and as violent as you like! Contrary to Ironwoody's review, it takes considerable skill to actually play the game and not just "mash" the pad. If you areThis game is a spectacular example of the power of the PS3. It is incredibly detailed in every way and the cut scenes are breathtaking. The scale of the game is huge and is a tough challenge for the best of gamers. The action is none stop and as violent as you like! Contrary to Ironwoody's review, it takes considerable skill to actually play the game and not just "mash" the pad. If you are interested in completing games right through, there is plenty of random trophies to keep you going before you reach Platinum. The bosses range massively and present a whole load of challenges and provide satisfyingly gruesome endings. All in all, I can highly recommend this game but would encourage you to play the first and second games first so you know the story and how it unfolds. The graphics are clearly early PS2 type but they are great games nevertheless. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did Expand
  14. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    Epic. That's the one word I would use to describe God of War III. While all of the past games have succeeded in being great adventures on their own, none of them come close to the sheer scale of the look and battles of God of War III (nor have any looked this good)!
  15. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    Calling this game a huge disappointment is putting it mildly. As someone who's a big fan of all the previous God of War games I went into this game fully expecting to love it. It's the same formula the series has been using since the first game, just without all of the awesomeness that made those games so great to play. There are some thrills here and there and the combat is suitablyCalling this game a huge disappointment is putting it mildly. As someone who's a big fan of all the previous God of War games I went into this game fully expecting to love it. It's the same formula the series has been using since the first game, just without all of the awesomeness that made those games so great to play. There are some thrills here and there and the combat is suitably entertaining, but what makes GOW 3 so disappointing is that where the previous games were epic and raised the bar for action games, GOW 3 is just average and feels like another face in the crowd. The game looks gorgeous, three years later and this is still one of the PS3's best looking titles, and the soundtrack is fantastic. The story takes a hit this time around by making Kratos a much less likable character. I was able to sympathize and support Kratos' motives in previous GOW games, but after watching Kratos butcher innocent people who had nothing to do with his conflict I began to like the character less and less. He manages to have a few redeeming moments near the end, but I still wouldn't call him a likable character after this game. The story still has some cool moments, especially when it references all the other GOW games (even the PSP titles!). It's not a bad game, just a dull one. It's a disappointing conclusion to a fantastic series because while the other games are amazing this one manages to just be passable experience because it lacks the fun that previous GOW titles have brought. Expand
  16. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    The games perfect. I don't understand why some idiots are complaining that it's too similar to GOW2... IT'S PART OF THE SAME GODDAMN SERIES, WHY WOULD THEY DRASTICALLY CHANGE IT FOR NO REASON, IDIOTS!
  17. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    Flawless, epic, beautiful, fun, exciting, entertaining, immersive etc, all words that come to mind when talking about this game. If you own a PS3 get this game, if not then get a PS3 then get this game! I did and it was worth it!
  18. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time, my personal favourite. It's just so well made, gameplay/graphics/sound are 10/10, and the story is very well written and executed, I love every bit of this 12 hour masterpiece, I shall play it again when I get the time! :P
  19. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    just one thing to say if u hv a ps3 go to the market and buy it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  20. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    I did not play the previous games, but I did like this game. It's not really those games that make you think, its those games make you escape from thinking, and focus on killings. Everything is good and well made in the game, but it may not be people who dislikes violence.
  21. May 7, 2012
    10
    God of War III is easily one of the best looking games of all time. The amount of detail in the environment and on Kratos is unbelievable. If you own a PS3, this game is a must buy for any casual gamer.
  22. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    God of War III the name itself has great meaning inside that how it would be from inside. I bought my play station 3 recently, about one month ago and this is my first game. I have no words for this it is extremely good. I didn't feel anything wrong. Game play, graphics, story line, camera views, dialogs, characters, expressions while talking, fighting..... every thing is just perfect. IGod of War III the name itself has great meaning inside that how it would be from inside. I bought my play station 3 recently, about one month ago and this is my first game. I have no words for this it is extremely good. I didn't feel anything wrong. Game play, graphics, story line, camera views, dialogs, characters, expressions while talking, fighting..... every thing is just perfect. I cant give more than 10 least I would give it 100 out of 10. This is my most favorite games. Top of the list. Expand
  23. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Best first 15 minutes of a game I ever had im my life was in God of War 3, the game is like the predecessors, with astonishing visuals and a lot of brutality and gore, lots of gods to get killing, new perspectives and camera changes in some fights brought the game even closer to the best game i ever played, I just don't give it a 10 because its similar to the predecessors in many ways,Best first 15 minutes of a game I ever had im my life was in God of War 3, the game is like the predecessors, with astonishing visuals and a lot of brutality and gore, lots of gods to get killing, new perspectives and camera changes in some fights brought the game even closer to the best game i ever played, I just don't give it a 10 because its similar to the predecessors in many ways, but, GoW 1 and 2 were rate 10 games in its times so its well deserved 9. A must have if you own a PS3, and now 2012 you can buy it very cheap, you will not regret it. Expand
  24. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    The graphics are very beautiful, like a pixar job. The history is interesting, but little infant for me. I don´t like this kind of gameplay (only fast hands, don´t think), but its efficient. If you liked Gow 1 and 2, its a great choice.
  25. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    This game is a marvelous masterpiece, the graphics are the best ive ever seen. The gameplay is better than ever, the new combos and new weapons are awesome. Kratos just brutalises all of the gods, one by one they all fall. This is the most brutal, dark, action packed game youll find in the market and it is one of the best games of all time.
  26. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    "God of War III" es totalmente bienvenido a mi lista de juegos preferidos: peleas impresionantes, GRAN diseño de personajes, gráficos de la alta élite, banda sonora épica para prenderte de la mano de Kratos y, de su mano luchar contra sus rotundos y poderosos enemigos que se oponen a su violenta venganza. Un juego que satisface todos tus sentidos, con unas de las imágenes más"God of War III" es totalmente bienvenido a mi lista de juegos preferidos: peleas impresionantes, GRAN diseño de personajes, gráficos de la alta élite, banda sonora épica para prenderte de la mano de Kratos y, de su mano luchar contra sus rotundos y poderosos enemigos que se oponen a su violenta venganza. Un juego que satisface todos tus sentidos, con unas de las imágenes más impresionantes de todos los tiempos en la historia de los videojuegos. Expand
  27. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    This is definitely the best God of War in the series! I loved everything about this game! It is brutal and extremely entertaining! The story concludes the trilogy and it was amazing! The graphics and game play is great! After beating the story I highly recommend beating the challenges!
  28. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    God of war III is the game for the brutal greek in all of us. Its graphics are beyond belief. The bosses are each evicerated with ethusiasm and creativity. Though Kratos may not be the most dynamic of characters... the gameplay overides this fact and allows the player to feel ultimately satisfied by the end of the game.
  29. May 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Perfect gameplay with brilliant graphics and sound. You'll have very good time going with Kratos arm by arm, sword by sword through mitological world.
  30. MichealJF
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Set in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game that allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who have betrayed him. Armed with double-chained blades, and an array of new weapons and magic for this Set in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game that allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who have betrayed him. Armed with double-chained blades, and an array of new weapons and magic for this iteration of the trilogy, Kratos must take on mythology's darkest creatures while solving intricate puzzles throughout his merciless quest to destroy Olympus. Expand
  31. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This game is simply a masterpiece. Anyone who thinks this game is anything less than at least brilliant is a complete simpleton.

    Graphics = Stunningly beautiful, amazing lighting, amazing textures, amazing art-style, amazing scale, amazing animations and amazing attention to detail. All that and the use of proper object-based motion-blur, depth of field and fantastic volumetric lighting
    This game is simply a masterpiece. Anyone who thinks this game is anything less than at least brilliant is a complete simpleton.

    Graphics = Stunningly beautiful, amazing lighting, amazing textures, amazing art-style, amazing scale, amazing animations and amazing attention to detail. All that and the use of proper object-based motion-blur, depth of field and fantastic volumetric lighting makes this undoubtedly still the best looking console game out now, in fact in my opinion it's the best looking game I've ever seen and I've played all the top rated 'best graphics' games.

    Gameplay = The gameplay has been tweaked and perfected from previous games in the GOW series. There's four excellent weapons at your disposal, each with it's own unique combat style to prevent the game feeling repetitive. Gameplay is smooth and responsive and extremely satisfying. GoW III is an astounding gaming experience.

    Sound = The orchestral score throughout the game is phenomenal, voice-acting is top notch, enemies/ weapons/ environment all sounds incredible.

    God of War III will take around 12 hours to complete, once the single player is done you have the combat arena challenges to play through and you can play custom combat arena games. Theres also hours of videos to watch 'The making of God of War III'. In terms of replayability I've completed it 7 times now, I just can't get enough of this masterpiece of a game. My advice to anyone who owns a PS3 is to get the God of War Collection and God of War III, even if you don't particularly like action adventure/ hack 'n' slash games you will not regret it. The God of War series is some of the best gaming has to offer, God of War III is a mind-blowing masterpiece of a game.
    Expand
  32. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    God of War III is a absolute masterpiece. Everything about the game is flawless, graphics, sound, story, gameplay, pacing, art style, boss fights are all stunningly amazing... I bought a PS3 just for this game and it was totally worth it. My favourite game of all time.
  33. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. The graphics, gameplay, characters, sound, environments, art-style, set-pieces, pacing, boss-fights, story and pure epicness are all masterfully done which makes for one of the best, most memorable gaming experiences ever. If you have a PS3 buy this game, it's as simple as that.
  34. PaulJ
    Mar 31, 2010
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played and one of the best looking games, I have ever seen. It looks better than Uncharted 2 def should be up there with uncharted 2 on metacritic.
  35. May 28, 2011
    10
    Without question one of, if not the most defining moments on PS3. The climax to the greatest video game character and boy does he go out in style. This is an epic game. Since the first God of War very few games have ever really reached the heights and for me this game exceeded every expectation I had and is without doubt one of the greatest games ever to grace the playstation. Visually itWithout question one of, if not the most defining moments on PS3. The climax to the greatest video game character and boy does he go out in style. This is an epic game. Since the first God of War very few games have ever really reached the heights and for me this game exceeded every expectation I had and is without doubt one of the greatest games ever to grace the playstation. Visually it still remains a stellar and sublime achievement as its easily one of the best looking games out there its just beautiful. Gameplay. Do I really need to say much? You know exactly what your getting. The best there is to offer with your Blades of Exile and new weapons like Claws of Hades and Nemesis whip its so easy to come to terms and addictive as hell. Very few games can draw you in from word go and continue to deliver such a high quality experience but God of War does does with effortlessly. The story is a fitting end for one of gamings ultimate protagonists. Picking up from where GoWII left off Kratos and his initals allies - The Titans storm Mount Olympus in attempt to destroy Zeus and the Olympic Gods. Bloody, gory and violent as hell theres nothing like this out there its in a league of its own. Its a game that very simply deserves to be played by any and every PS3 owner because its a masterpiece and a game that you cannot afford to miss out on. One of the defining moments in what is without question one of the finest gaming achievements to date, probably as closs to perfection you will get if it is to be the final outing for the God of War series. Epic in every sence of the word! Expand
  36. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time. It's a game where you can tell the developers have passion for it, there's so much heart and soul oozing from this game, everything was done so perfectly that any faults trolls and idiots go on about are just a made up excuse to troll on this game. Anyone rating it below 9.5 is a retarded troll.
  37. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    God of War 3 is bloody fantastic! The graphics are easily the best on console, the musical score and voice acting is pitch perfect, the gameplay is the best in a hack 'n' slash game, story is brilliant. The game took me 13 hours to complete first time, since then i've played through it 7 times, putting over 70 hours into this game! Never gets boring! If you haven't already, go buy thisGod of War 3 is bloody fantastic! The graphics are easily the best on console, the musical score and voice acting is pitch perfect, the gameplay is the best in a hack 'n' slash game, story is brilliant. The game took me 13 hours to complete first time, since then i've played through it 7 times, putting over 70 hours into this game! Never gets boring! If you haven't already, go buy this masterpiece! Expand
  38. DRUNKCANADIAN
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    So I have been playing since around 30 minutes after midnight and I have covered a sizable amount of this game. In short, it is everything we would expect from a finale, great game play and graphics and a truly epic feel to it. Some reviewers gripe about no new "features" however I believe that adding anything more would only not make sense (in terms of features) but slow the game pace So I have been playing since around 30 minutes after midnight and I have covered a sizable amount of this game. In short, it is everything we would expect from a finale, great game play and graphics and a truly epic feel to it. Some reviewers gripe about no new "features" however I believe that adding anything more would only not make sense (in terms of features) but slow the game pace down. Now if you will excuse me, I have to finish this masterpiece. Expand
  39. May 1, 2011
    10
    God of War 3 is the best game I ever played in my life, epic! The opening already shows us the greatness that the title é.Battles against bosses that are a highlight of the game, kill Cronos is something you will be impressed with the perfection of the game, a great boss you get beat by a Kratos is so small his.Gameplay near perfect, the best graphics this generation for meGod of War 3 is the best game I ever played in my life, epic! The opening already shows us the greatness that the title é.Battles against bosses that are a highlight of the game, kill Cronos is something you will be impressed with the perfection of the game, a great boss you get beat by a Kratos is so small his.Gameplay near perfect, the best graphics this generation for me will top Uncharted 2, the extreme brutality, frenetic action from beginning to end, the character Kratos most perfect ever made in detail in a game or games the PC has a character so well mounted so.worth every penny. Expand
  40. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    this game is perfect. 'nuff said.
  41. JonathanK
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    I honestly couldn't believe my eyes. The graphics are not like anything I've ever seen. You really just can't appreciate how technically advanced this title is without playing it. Saying the graphics and scale are amazing simply doesn't do any justice to what the Santa Monica studio has been able to accomplish. You're would be foolish to pass this title up, even I honestly couldn't believe my eyes. The graphics are not like anything I've ever seen. You really just can't appreciate how technically advanced this title is without playing it. Saying the graphics and scale are amazing simply doesn't do any justice to what the Santa Monica studio has been able to accomplish. You're would be foolish to pass this title up, even if you haven't played the first 2. Expand
  42. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    One of the best games of all time. Also, the Metascrore should be 93 because Machinima gave GOW3 a 10/10 which is enough to bump it up a point, why wasn't that score added in the first place?!
  43. AngelosL
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    The perfect conclusion to the best gaming trilogy ever made.The visuals are awesome,the music is as always perfect,the gameplay remains the same as it should be,replay value is unique for a game of its genre,and the story is even better than I thought it would be.Not to mention my favorite game intro ever made.Well done Santa Monica!
  44. TacoBell
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    If you've played previous God of War games and are looking for more, look no further. GoW3 features the same core gameplay mechanics from its predecessors with added depth and speed. You can real-time weapon switch in-between combos, adding more combo variations, cancellations, and air juggles. Everything runs fairly smooth in the game, thanks to the variable 40-60 If you've played previous God of War games and are looking for more, look no further. GoW3 features the same core gameplay mechanics from its predecessors with added depth and speed. You can real-time weapon switch in-between combos, adding more combo variations, cancellations, and air juggles. Everything runs fairly smooth in the game, thanks to the variable 40-60 frames-per-seconds. This is what makes combat much more fluid and responsive. The combat is just as visceral as ever, with grotesque context-sensitive finishers from Kratos, and lots of blood spillage all over the place - a neat technology employed by Santa Monica is a dynamic blood stain effect that not only affects enemies and your surroundings, but can smear all over Kratos as well. Expand
  45. DanielH.
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    This marvelous game just knocked Uncharted 2 off the top spot of my list of my favorite games. My top 5 games: 5. Metal Gear Solid 4 4. God of War 3. Bioshock 2. Uncharted 2 and for #1.... GOD OF WAR 3!! what a beautiful game with terrific boss fights, massive environments and a truly phenomenal conclusion. Nothing short of EPIC.
  46. MatthewL
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    It is simply amazing. I could never get into the other GoW games because the hero and the power of the PS2 just didn't do it for me. Now on the PS3 Kratos seems to be as powerful as the PS2 only wished it could deliver. The cinematic feel alone is enough for people to buy GoW lll. Within the first 15 minutes of the game you're fighting monsters that don't even fit on the It is simply amazing. I could never get into the other GoW games because the hero and the power of the PS2 just didn't do it for me. Now on the PS3 Kratos seems to be as powerful as the PS2 only wished it could deliver. The cinematic feel alone is enough for people to buy GoW lll. Within the first 15 minutes of the game you're fighting monsters that don't even fit on the screen! When watching this on a 47" beast of a TV, I almost feel compelled to donate money to Santa Monica studios just for justifying the purchase of the $2,000+ HDTV. Expand
  47. Mutantclown
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    This is just a word to every fanboy out there who will come in here to rate the game ZERO when even a 6 or 7 is ridiculous : Everybody who does this has just as well signed his GAY confession.
  48. DENBAR
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Blowing away any compitition in spectacular fashion. The ghost of Sparta is tenacious and relentless in this latest installment of Da franchise known as Kratos. This game has it all and is not for the faint of heart, as Kratos rips his way through the crevices if Olympus .If you own a ps3 get this on day 1. Ifvyou dont well then either you're azzed out and missing th best game of Blowing away any compitition in spectacular fashion. The ghost of Sparta is tenacious and relentless in this latest installment of Da franchise known as Kratos. This game has it all and is not for the faint of heart, as Kratos rips his way through the crevices if Olympus .If you own a ps3 get this on day 1. Ifvyou dont well then either you're azzed out and missing th best game of this generation! Expand
  49. DylanB
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    The scale is immeasurable. The boss battles are some of the most stunning in the series, with an epic conclusion that will close the door to one of the biggest series in gaming. A challenging and rewarding fast paced ride that never lets go.
  50. StevenA
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    HOLY CRAP! This is (to me) the BEST 1-player PS3 game yet, one of (if not THE) best action game ever created and these ARE some of the best graphics you have ever seen on a home console. It's brutal, it's epic, it's Kratos! An amazing final part in the God of War Trilogy. This is how a sequel SHOULD be made. It's filled with eye candy and the scope is absolutely HOLY CRAP! This is (to me) the BEST 1-player PS3 game yet, one of (if not THE) best action game ever created and these ARE some of the best graphics you have ever seen on a home console. It's brutal, it's epic, it's Kratos! An amazing final part in the God of War Trilogy. This is how a sequel SHOULD be made. It's filled with eye candy and the scope is absolutely incredible. As always, the music is fantastic and puts you in the right mood and the game is so cinematically presented, it is hard to contain without geeking out. The gameplay of the past God of War games was already perfect, but Sony Santa Monica has managed to push the envelope EVEN FURTHER, with all new weapons, all new spells, all new items, all new (and exciting) platforming events and some of the coolest bosses ever, in gaming. And to top it all off, it's a 12-hour long quest with plenty of reasons to come back. God of War III is a non-stop thrilling ride of excitement and the story of vengeance/redemption will have you see it until the end. One of my favourite games for the Playstation 3 and that is saying a lot, considering the fact that I have been gaming for over 13 years and own most of the greatest PS3 exclusives out there (Uncharted 1 & 2, Heavy Rain, Ratchet and Clank Future, Metal Gear Solid 4, littleBIGplanet, inFamous). If I had to have anything negative to say about this game, it would have to be the fact that the game's box cover art sucks. All the God of War games have awesome box arts of Kratos holding his blades and looking out into the distance. This cover however, is just Kratos' angry eye. That's lame. Other than that, its a very satisfying game and to me, its even better than Bayonetta. Way to go, Sony! Thank you for (probably) the BEST linear, action game of all time. Expand
  51. BezoB
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Wow. First 5 minutes and I am already amazed by the games story, gameplay and gore. goriest game by far, but gloriest game by far too. Hands down best PS3 game you can get. So much additional content. 10/10
  52. IvanA
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    An epic conclusion to a great series. Overall the biggest 'awesome' factor of this game is the presentation. The graphics are amazing and can be said to be above those of Heavy Rain or Uncharted 2. The gameplay is typical God of War-style with the light and heavy attacks. Different weapons add for more variety in the series and the boss battles are nothing short of what is An epic conclusion to a great series. Overall the biggest 'awesome' factor of this game is the presentation. The graphics are amazing and can be said to be above those of Heavy Rain or Uncharted 2. The gameplay is typical God of War-style with the light and heavy attacks. Different weapons add for more variety in the series and the boss battles are nothing short of what is expected: pure action. Though it is a bummer to see this being the final chapter in the series, it is a great final chapter. Yet another great title to the growing list of PS3 exclusives. Expand
  53. SteveK
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    This game is BEYOND stellar! The art is without compare to any other PS3 I've seen. Collision is great, texures are amazing. The animation, real-time and cinematics, are phenomenal. The gameplay all MAKES SENSE! Nothing feels contrived or just there to keep you busy. The Santa Monica Studios team did am outstanding job on this! Well done!!
  54. Nakiam
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    So as i look, to my right i see games like, Uncharted, Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, Modern Warefare 2, Call of Duty 4, Grand Theft Auto 4, Assassin's Creed 1&2 MSG 4, Batman Asylum and a lot of other great games. Well my fellow gamers God Of War 3 Blows away the compitition with Superior Graphics, Storyline and a No nonsense Badazz God Kratos destroying everythign in his path. I'm So as i look, to my right i see games like, Uncharted, Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, Modern Warefare 2, Call of Duty 4, Grand Theft Auto 4, Assassin's Creed 1&2 MSG 4, Batman Asylum and a lot of other great games. Well my fellow gamers God Of War 3 Blows away the compitition with Superior Graphics, Storyline and a No nonsense Badazz God Kratos destroying everythign in his path. I'm telling you now that anyone who gives this game anything less than a 10 is an idiot. It's the best of everything a true Gamer would like in a game and the very best for this Generation. So my local Gamestop opens at 10am and i got there at 9:50am and there was a line out the door (about 30 people) I guess they all called out sick from work like i did lol. Of course I pre ordered the Ultimate Edition and If you didnt well, You're an idiot because Pandora's Box looks awesome and is bigger than I thpught it would be.(great place to keep my God of War collection:) Remember If you're thinking of getting this game you're an Idiot! If you're running out the door, tripping on that banana peel and end up in the hospital on the way to Gamestop you're an half idiot. If you make it there get the game and then go have Lunch afterwards before heading home to play, you're a Moran!. If you make it there in one piece , get the game, and come straight home and Play the Greatest Game to this point in time, well you're a Genius:) Hey just to let you in on a little secret! Even Fanboys were on line to pick up a Ps3 and the game lmao. Never thought I'd see the day. I'd like to give a Shoutout to Telegraph who scored Bayonatta above this Game lmao. (look for them on Metacritic reviews at the bottom) where they belong in the basement. Seemed they had to close there comment thread because real gamers caught on to their Bias and called them out! Guess they couldnt handle the pressure. The pressure of seeing GOW take flight and they didn' t have a boarding pass! Expand
  55. Nakiam
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    So as i look, to my right i see games like, Uncharted, Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, Modern Warefare 2, Call of Duty 4, Grand Theft Auto 4, Assassin's Creed 1&2 MSG 4, Batman Asylum and a lot of other great games. Well my fellow gamers God Of War 3 Blows away the compitition with Superior Graphics, Storyline and a No nonsense Badazz God Kratos destroying everythign in his path. I'm So as i look, to my right i see games like, Uncharted, Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, Modern Warefare 2, Call of Duty 4, Grand Theft Auto 4, Assassin's Creed 1&2 MSG 4, Batman Asylum and a lot of other great games. Well my fellow gamers God Of War 3 Blows away the compitition with Superior Graphics, Storyline and a No nonsense Badazz God Kratos destroying everythign in his path. I'm telling you now that anyone who gives this game anything less than a 10 is an idiot. It's the best of everything a true Gamer would like in a game and the very best for this Generation. So my local Gamestop opens at 10am and i got there at 9:50am and there was a line out the door (about 30 people) I guess they all called out sick from work like i did lol. Of course I pre ordered the Ultimate Edition and If you didnt well, You're an idiot because Pandora's Box looks awesome and is bigger than I thpught it would be.(great place to keep my God of War collection:) Remember If you're thinking of getting this game you're an Idiot! If you're running out the door, tripping on that banana peel and end up in the hospital on the way to Gamestop you're an half idiot. If you make it there get the game and then go have Lunch afterwards before heading home to play, you're a Moran!. If you make it there in one piece , get the game, and come straight home and Play the Greatest Game to this point in time, well you're a Genius:) Hey just to let you in on a little secret! Even Fanboys were on line to pick up a Ps3 and the game lmao. Never thought I'd see the day. I'd like to give a Shoutout to Telegraph who scored Bayonatta above this Game lmao. (look for them on Metacritic reviews at the bottom) where they belong in the basement. Seemed they had to close there comment thread because real gamers caught on to their Bias and called them out! Guess they couldnt handle the pressure. The pressure of seeing GOW take flight and they didn' t have a boarding pass! Expand
  56. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    Ended it yesterday. What a game! Brutal, gory and completely satisfying! Never the less it's a linear adventure not much to my liking. The linearity not the adventure. The quick time events are also a pain in the a.. but all the rest is just to good and satisfying so who cares? God of War III rocks and Kratos is the ultimate bad ass.
  57. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    The scope and scale of this game is unprecedented with one of the most memorable openings to a video game ever. The combat is fluid the graphics are extraordinary and the bosses are some of the best.
  58. Mar 19, 2013
    4
    Everyone loves God of War III. Everyone but me. Sure, the game looks beautiful and has a fairly interesting tale to tell, so I can partially understand why people rave about it. Unfortunately, the simplistic button mashing gameplay, ultra-linear environments and truly awful jumping mechanics are harder to lend praise to. God of War III was a game that I just couldn't muster much passionEveryone loves God of War III. Everyone but me. Sure, the game looks beautiful and has a fairly interesting tale to tell, so I can partially understand why people rave about it. Unfortunately, the simplistic button mashing gameplay, ultra-linear environments and truly awful jumping mechanics are harder to lend praise to. God of War III was a game that I just couldn't muster much passion for and ultimately had no fun with. Despite an entire decade separating the two titles, I would still much rather play the original Soul Reaver than God of War III. Expand
  59. Aug 11, 2010
    9
    The vast majority of modern games continually strive for an immersive, interactive-movie experience and with this in mind God of War III is essentially flawless. It is far and away the best action game of this console generation, matching and besting its predecessors for brutal, primeval beauty.
  60. Jul 23, 2012
    4
    This review is written by somebody that has played GOW 1 and 2 and I'm being 100 truthful in this review.
    This game is dated, it's everything we hate in game today, button mashing, quick time events and lots of just stupid mini puzzles and confusing level design + fixed camera.
    Yes it is epic at times, but in the end you'll just spend most of the game mad at all the problems, and most
    This review is written by somebody that has played GOW 1 and 2 and I'm being 100 truthful in this review.
    This game is dated, it's everything we hate in game today, button mashing, quick time events and lots of just stupid mini puzzles and confusing level design + fixed camera.
    Yes it is epic at times, but in the end you'll just spend most of the game mad at all the problems, and most epic moment you wont even be able to enjoy because they are quick time events, so you'll just be looking at the little markers on the extremes of the screen.
    I wish I'd never bought it, I only got it to see how it ended.
    For me this was a true Greek tragedy. 4/10
    Expand
  61. Oct 1, 2012
    6
    Sure, it looks and sounds amazing but I just think this is a really poor action game. The combat is dull, no matter how amazing it looks. The camera is really quite frustrating and I just don't care for the story. A very overhyped, but very mediocre action game.
  62. Apr 27, 2013
    4
    Perhaps one of the most over-priced games. Let's start with the pros: Excellent graphics; Excellent management. It is a pity, because this end pros and cons of starting: The game is incredibly dull and boring; No action, all the action is very slow (it slashers!) The story is idiotic, like her characters, trying to understand someone's motives and seek logic useless. Fixed camera is just aPerhaps one of the most over-priced games. Let's start with the pros: Excellent graphics; Excellent management. It is a pity, because this end pros and cons of starting: The game is incredibly dull and boring; No action, all the action is very slow (it slashers!) The story is idiotic, like her characters, trying to understand someone's motives and seek logic useless. Fixed camera is just a shame; Quick Time Events is only hatred, in heavy rain, and it's done to the place and a lot to think over. Game from Santa Monica for kids who like violence in games, because the game has nothing more to offer.
    Prior to DmC, Bayonetta, Blades of Time and others, it has still a long way, it is unlikely Santa Monica ever be able to make a quality slashers.
    Expand
  63. JoshW
    Mar 20, 2010
    10
    A shamelessly exploitative game, EA have made no effort to accommodate for what was already a significant fan-base, it wouldn't surprise me if the direction they've taken C&C4 succeeds in alienating more people than it attracts. I can understand that the format was getting old (even though I personally still enjoyed it) and that some went so far as to consider it A shamelessly exploitative game, EA have made no effort to accommodate for what was already a significant fan-base, it wouldn't surprise me if the direction they've taken C&C4 succeeds in alienating more people than it attracts. I can understand that the format was getting old (even though I personally still enjoyed it) and that some went so far as to consider it 'dated' - I could even understand it if they had changed the 'old' format in a way which was original and corresponded with the rest of the series. However, the way in which they have so blatantly ripped off Dawn of War and other RTS 'rivals' is unbelievable. I don't even really think that those sort of games are rivals, most of the people I know into strategy games play both, and for different reasons! To make things worse, the only redeeming features that this game actually has are the ones robbed from these other games, which leaves not much to praise in C&C4. I'm sorry Ea, but you've murdered and raped (in that order) a wonderful game. Be ashamed of yourselves. Expand
  64. Jul 15, 2011
    6
    I went into God of War III with big expectations, and in terms of environmental scale and overall level design, I wasnâ
  65. Oct 20, 2011
    5
    Now that the dust has setlled since the release of GOWIII, let's have some Emperor's New Clothes moments and state the unspoken obvious... it's a well-crafted technical experience marred by awful voice-acting and a boring story. The first 45 minutes of the game are a lot of fun, but by the time you get to the Malcolm McDowell puzzle scenes, it's seriously boring and graphicallyNow that the dust has setlled since the release of GOWIII, let's have some Emperor's New Clothes moments and state the unspoken obvious... it's a well-crafted technical experience marred by awful voice-acting and a boring story. The first 45 minutes of the game are a lot of fun, but by the time you get to the Malcolm McDowell puzzle scenes, it's seriously boring and graphically unimpressive. And the plot? Kratos wants to save a young girl who reminds him of his daughter, but he has no problem moments later grinding another young woman in the cogs of a machine? Okaaay. That scene is actually made even worse by the fact that Santa Monica Studios chose to have her titillatingly bare-breasted - so gamers get to whack-off to her **** just before they get to mutilate her. Yay? Gross. And speaking of Kratos, T.C. Carson's one-note portrayal of the character may have been okay in the days of the Playstation 2, but with titles like Heavy Rain and LA Noire having pushed the acting in video games far beyond their last-gen ghetto, this kind of D-grade voice acting just doesbn't fly anymore. HE'S TERRIBLE. This is made all the clearer when put beside actual talents like Rip Torn - the difference is night and douche.The plot itself doesn't fare much better - are we seriously going BACK to Pandora's Box? Uhhgh... didn't we do this already? Oh, I see, it was empty but wait! - there was something ELSE yet super-secret and invisible inside. Please no. I'd love to see a reboot with a higher quality of voice talent and story writing that at last mactches the awesome level of craftmanship that Santa Monica Studios puts into it's technical game development. Obviously the developer has an incredibly talented team of artists and gaming talent working there, but it all falls apart in the cut scenes when the script is laughable and the voice talent barely B-movie. Just finding a new voice for Kratos alone would automatically boost the series one point, but you still have issues like Kratos' origin itself... which is as silly as it is nonsensical. Um, don't be mad at the gods because you can't control your temper. Expand
  66. PhilosF
    Mar 18, 2010
    5
    I simply do not understand why this game is getting 100s from the majority of critics. yeah, it's a great game, it's very pretty, and very fun. But the fact still remains that there is almost no difference between all 4 god of war games, besides some graphical up grades.
  67. Jan 31, 2014
    4
    Before I start I have to say that God of War and God of War 2 were and probably still are action games of their time. They had just the right mix of simplistic action thrown into a great setting. If God of War 3 would have came out in PS2 days instead of 2010 while I probably would be more likely to overlook glaring issues that are present in this game. The first and foremost of them isBefore I start I have to say that God of War and God of War 2 were and probably still are action games of their time. They had just the right mix of simplistic action thrown into a great setting. If God of War 3 would have came out in PS2 days instead of 2010 while I probably would be more likely to overlook glaring issues that are present in this game. The first and foremost of them is that apart from graphics the game has not evolved from previous titles and even may have been simplified further in GoW3. The combat itself feel very unresponsive when comparing it with other hack and slash games even not of AAA category like Conan, Sengoku Basara Samurai heroes and Afro Samurai. Not only is it unresponsive but its flow is constantly interrupted by quicklime connected to finishers, counter moves and all the bosses are littered with them instead just letting player fight bosses with weapons of their choice. Since this is a boss heavy title lets talk about bosses. Depending on the difficulty level you can just button mash through all of their attacks or on higher difficulty levels due to inability to cancel combos you can only do 1-2 hits and then wait for boss to do its thing and hope bad camera angle doesn't make you take a hit. Neither of the approaches is very fun. Apart from combat there is platforming and it is terribly executed with atrocious camera angles and jumping technique.
    This GoW game also lacks a story or interesting characters that in some way enhance the experience.
    To me it feels like this game was all about graphic and no substance.
    Expand
  68. StuW
    Mar 28, 2010
    7
    I sort of disliked the last 20% of this game. Santa Monica should have restructured it and had the Cronos fight be the ending because everything else after paled in comparison. From having to escort Pandora around, which was an annoying contrivance, to the Zeus fight, which was challenging but visually and setting-wise was outdone by most of the areas in the game, to the ending, which had I sort of disliked the last 20% of this game. Santa Monica should have restructured it and had the Cronos fight be the ending because everything else after paled in comparison. From having to escort Pandora around, which was an annoying contrivance, to the Zeus fight, which was challenging but visually and setting-wise was outdone by most of the areas in the game, to the ending, which had poorly-executed cinemas and didn't feel nearly as epic or have an 'end of a trilogy' level of awesomeness that earlier parts of the game had, the latter parts of the game were a let down. All of that said, it's still God of War. It's fast-paced (usually), bloody and operates on a MASSIVE scale for most of the game. I'd go with an 8 but this game does next-to-nothing new at all, aside from some new weapons and small combat improvements. Expand
  69. Aug 12, 2010
    7
    A game filled with brute force and gore fights. The production is amazing (graphics, music) and the game is full of clever ideas, but the action is repetitive and becomes boring at times.
  70. PaladinLady
    Apr 1, 2010
    7
    Disapointing(not stunning I mean) and GREATLY lower than expected graphics. They promised near movie like graphics, but this is another example of PS3 game reducing its promised graphics while its released. All the power has been used to create large scale and scenery can still look impressive. The game is not as diverse as the second God of War, which makes this even more repetitive and Disapointing(not stunning I mean) and GREATLY lower than expected graphics. They promised near movie like graphics, but this is another example of PS3 game reducing its promised graphics while its released. All the power has been used to create large scale and scenery can still look impressive. The game is not as diverse as the second God of War, which makes this even more repetitive and not as fun! Greatest, most acclaimed and most expensive mediocre game ever! Very numbing game! I think, that 2 player should be standard in brawlers, and I thought it was like that ever since 80's...that makes modern game evolution stupid! Only improvement in game has been used to make the american wrestler looking guy's bald even rounder(and in vain too!). Expand
  71. RobbyS
    Mar 16, 2010
    6
    This is essentially a game like Manhunt with a greek mythology story-line and magic powers. In other words, none but the most deranged of us could possibly enjoy many of the gruelsome, snuff-like gore-fests that SCE Studios Santa Monica wants to serve on a silver platter. Violence doesn't deserve to be glorified like this and i sincerely wonder how the ones who planned and created This is essentially a game like Manhunt with a greek mythology story-line and magic powers. In other words, none but the most deranged of us could possibly enjoy many of the gruelsome, snuff-like gore-fests that SCE Studios Santa Monica wants to serve on a silver platter. Violence doesn't deserve to be glorified like this and i sincerely wonder how the ones who planned and created some of the scenes in this game can be allowed to work anywhere but in a cage. I'd be scared to sit near anyone who does this for a living! Expand
  72. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've played all the bigger God of War games, but none is like God of War III... That is in a bad way. The gameplay's basically what you expect; Hack 'n' Slash. It's more fluid than before, but it's still not very revolutionary. Then again, there is no problem with that. There are 3 more weapons, but you'll probably stick with the Blades of Athena (I know they are the Blades of Exile). The graphics, well, haven't improved really. Think about it; God of War II had by far the best graphics on the PS2. Characters were all greatly animated and so was the environment. In GoW III it seems they focused WAAAY too much on Kratos, who basically looks fantastic (Except for his feet), but all other characters and very often the environment just look, compared to Kratos, crappy. The music's awesome, the voice acting solid, but lip-syncing sometimes didn't fit. Now that that's covered, let's get to the most important subject: The Story. I don't understand why so many reviews state the story is great and a superb ending, it's simply not. First of all, the length of it: How is it that the Titans, these huge creatures, had to fight for decades to be defeated by the Gods and Kratos kills a bunch of them in about half a day? Now to the main plot: How come Kratos being a jerk suddenly, instead of that guy from God of War II, who actually cared about his family? He destroys the entire world, which means he destroyed Hades, which means he destroyed Elysium, which means he destroyed his daughter... again. Why is through the destruction of the Sisters of Fate and Kratos bringing the Titans to the "present" no influence at all? I mean, how come nobody noticing that the Titans suddenly aren't in Tartarus anymore? Plus, why the heck is Cronus in Tartar-sauce and where is Atlas? C'mon, even if Atlas got his soul or something ripped out, he could still be in the present and after destroying Hades he would've reclaimed his soul. Moving on, Athena. Why? Or better, why is she a greedy ghost, who wants to rule the earth and suddenly has huge breasts? If Ares can't return from the dead, hell, if DEATH can't return from death, how can Athena? It would've been more logical if Kratos had just descended to Hades (without dying) and found Athena, Ares, Thanatos, Deimos, Lysandra (his wife) and Calliope there. That would've been pretty awesome. Alright then, why are the Gods mortal? Seriously, the only Gods, or rather creatures, that were killed by the Blade of Olympus were Cronus, Gaia and Zeus, it didn't exactly kill him, but, oh, well. Hephaestus didn't have anything to do with Pandora's Box. He created Padora, but only on the bidding of Zeus and he wasn't like her father. She was "born" as a grown up woman. Pandora's Boy, yeah it did contain the evils of the world, but they would've only been released upon the mortal world. I know that God of War isn't that true on Greek Myth (Check GoW I & II) but at least do somethings right. Daedalus didn't have anything to do with Zeus either. Why Icarus wanted to go to the Sisters of Fate isn't very clear, but at least he had some reason for existence. The Titans, too, were as important as Kratos' butthole. SCE Santa Monica promised there would be entire levels, built on the back of Titans. Where are they? The only real level on an entire Titan was the fight with Cronus and the battle against Poseidon on Gaia. (They were the two most spectaculare battles, too, but killing a God by pushing your thumbs into his eyes is nonsense.) Okay, now what the hell did they want to achieve with the crap about Pandora? "Hope makes us strong, it is why we are here. It is what we fight with when all else is lost." WTF? So, basically, what this is supposed to mean is; Hope destroys the earth. Yeah, that makes total sense, right? When the game starts, Kratos is repeating his awesome line from GoW II in a boring way, daylight has returned and, for some reason, the Gods were prepared for the battle. How come? I'll tell you how! During the three years of development Kratos, Gaia and Zeus made a deal. Zeus "Can you please come back later, we got here some business to do, you know. Reparing this place, getting an army to fight you." Kratos "Oh, yeah sure. we'll wait three years for you. I think the weather'll be much better then, too. I got to pump my muscles anyway. I'll say that sentence again, so you can remember better, pops." Zeus "Alright, son. See you in three years. Oh, by the way, Hermes is gonna be replaced." Well, that's probably the only reasonable explanation for the **** start of a **** story which a **** douche-bag created. My verdict: If you want a great and epic Hack 'n' Slash/Action game, buy God of War III, but if you want a great story, pass. Expand
  73. May 13, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For all of of the great things that can be said for the closing game of the series like gameplay that is as smooth as it is brutal, intuitive controls, glorious presentation and aesthetics, cool flying sequences, all of that's great. However there is one thing, just one thing that completes neutralizes all of this. The story is not only crap-tacular and bland, it also completely betrays who Kratos is as a character, and the themes of God of War. The true catalyst and possibly the anti-christ of the God of War universe is Pandora, a character who for all intents and purposes, makes no sense. Beyond the constant message i am about to quote from the game "Hope is what makes us strong. It is why we are here, it is what we fight with when all else is lost." Seriously, this is the kind of garbage that should be thrown into a second rate Disney movie. Now i know what you're thinking: it's just a video game. True, but this is God of War, a game series that has always been ardently praised for being the pinnacle of storytelling trough Kratos's actions and (gasp!) character development. A story like Kratos's (i.e. Greek tragedy) should not be touting themes of hope and forgiveness. Also that awesome gameplay i mentioned takes a complete nosedive at the end by, and I'm dead serious, GOING INTO FIRST PERSON POV!. Why? Exactly, no reason, and this is after the fifteen minute dream sequence where Kratos FINDS FORGIVENESS and that HOPE WAS INSIDE HIM THE ENTIRE TIME(sorry for using full caps) . Why? the plot said so. I'm not even going to mention when Athena's ghost shows up for the last time because i could write a whole new rant on the idiocy on that nonsense. Honestly i needed to write this. Aside from the awful writing of the story and resolution, the game is great really, sorry to say that this will forever stain my opinion of this game and of lesser extent the series. Expand
  74. DavidC
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Absolutely EPIC!!!! It hits on all the emotion, excitement, and lust you could possibly want from a game such as God of War. It exceeds expectations and gives yet more reason why Playstation 3 has caught up to the 360 as far as exclusive classics that sell systems.
  75. mediaes
    Mar 17, 2010
    10
    It really delivers with extremely upgraded graphics, a quality soundtrack, easy-to-learn controls, varied weapons and powers, challenging battles, enemy diversity, plenty of boss battles, immersive puzzles, a story that ties up the loose ends, and much more. My only gripe is the lack of innovation.
  76. Mark
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Production like a Hollywood blockbuster this really cant be touched. Love the combat-almost as much as the cut-scenes which play off each other nicely. Like the subtle changes in gameplay, like after you floor Helios you raise and lower your hand to block out the blinding light. Or when you take out the God with the Icarus boots, you walk towards him at snails pace Absolutely incredible. Production like a Hollywood blockbuster this really cant be touched. Love the combat-almost as much as the cut-scenes which play off each other nicely. Like the subtle changes in gameplay, like after you floor Helios you raise and lower your hand to block out the blinding light. Or when you take out the God with the Icarus boots, you walk towards him at snails pace before ripping his limbs off. Genius. Sad that the trilogy seems to have been concluded but sure this won't be the last we hear from this mangod! Simply incredible!!!! Expand
  77. JohnA
    Mar 30, 2010
    8
    Basically, your regular God of War formula- this time with better graphics. Thats about all that's changed and I guess for most that is enough to spend $59.99 on 10 hours of gameplay. As usual, this is a rent and should not be bought unless you are trading games in for store credit or something like that. Repetative, overly challenging in some parts, and a cheap way to steal your Basically, your regular God of War formula- this time with better graphics. Thats about all that's changed and I guess for most that is enough to spend $59.99 on 10 hours of gameplay. As usual, this is a rent and should not be bought unless you are trading games in for store credit or something like that. Repetative, overly challenging in some parts, and a cheap way to steal your money. I pretty sure we all know how the whole thing ends considering the Santa Monica developers work.....which is why this game has no story, suspense, or any elements of a "Game of the Year" title. Just buckets and buckets of blood...pointless killing. Just mashing your x , triangle, circle and square buttons will be the whole game. I regret buying this game, don't make the same mistake. This game is all hype and has not assets other than HD graphics. Expand
  78. WillC
    Apr 1, 2010
    8
    Great game. Epic boss battles and a fun story. Battle mechanics are as deep as you want them to be but in fairness the whole game can be completed using the Square, Square, Triangle combo. It's a short campaign clocking in at around 7 hours, I did however play through it twice so I'd estimate about a 20 hour game here to see everything with no replayability once you've seen Great game. Epic boss battles and a fun story. Battle mechanics are as deep as you want them to be but in fairness the whole game can be completed using the Square, Square, Triangle combo. It's a short campaign clocking in at around 7 hours, I did however play through it twice so I'd estimate about a 20 hour game here to see everything with no replayability once you've seen everything and gotten all the trophies. Rent this and enjoy it, a purchase may leave a sour taste in your mouth when in a few days you see it gathering dust in a corner somewhere. Expand
  79. WilliamH
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Although it's nigh-on perfect, and a real showcase for the Playstation 3, the game's let down by using the same horrible old quick-time events, button mashing and annoying analogue stick gestural stuff that have, to be fair, been stock in trade of the series since game one. It just feels a little disappointing that for a game this utterly fantastic, the developers couldn't Although it's nigh-on perfect, and a real showcase for the Playstation 3, the game's let down by using the same horrible old quick-time events, button mashing and annoying analogue stick gestural stuff that have, to be fair, been stock in trade of the series since game one. It just feels a little disappointing that for a game this utterly fantastic, the developers couldn't come up with a better way of delivering the set-piece action that's so vital to the title's success. Expand
  80. TylerH
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Simply epic. CGI like graphics during gameplay, smooth, fast, and furious action... this is the game to get if you've got a ps3, and if not, a system seller. Word of warning, play on normal, you get to experience the game in all its glory. Any higher of a difficulty just makes it unbearable and an annoyance to even try. While it has its knocks, it does what it does so well that all Simply epic. CGI like graphics during gameplay, smooth, fast, and furious action... this is the game to get if you've got a ps3, and if not, a system seller. Word of warning, play on normal, you get to experience the game in all its glory. Any higher of a difficulty just makes it unbearable and an annoyance to even try. While it has its knocks, it does what it does so well that all can be forgiven. Hopefully this isn't the end for Kratos, maybe another game in the future or a movie. Expand
  81. AndrewNartey
    Mar 17, 2010
    10
    After reading many reviews and finally getting my hands on this game - I can honestly say that this game deserves a perfect 10. It's just so fun to play AND that's what Intend to do - over and over again! Did I mention the graphics... there's no other game that looks as good as this!
  82. MIKEW
    Mar 17, 2010
    10
    Great game with amazing graphics,gameplay and Boss battles if your a fan of the series this game is a must buy. if youve never heard of Kratos I suggest you pick up the GOW collection and start an INCREDIBLE journey. GOW3 is by far the best in the series and Im very sad to see the story end. If you havent picked this game up and you like games I dont know whats wrong with you.
  83. SaketK
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    Amazing.... Very intense.. I like the story telling aspect of this game. In GOW 3, it seems like the game starts from climax from very beginning and the action is really ruthless. Its the stuff fantasies are made of. Superb Gore and blood splattering action Go get it .
  84. MacksenT
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    There's a lot to be said about God of War, some of it good and some of it bad. The game is nonetheless a hit that now spans 2 generations of the Sony console. Starting just 5 years ago, players were introduced to Kratos, the Spartan warrior who would challenge the Gods. At first, Kratos finds himself a tool of the Gods sent on what is later revealed as a fool's errand to kill There's a lot to be said about God of War, some of it good and some of it bad. The game is nonetheless a hit that now spans 2 generations of the Sony console. Starting just 5 years ago, players were introduced to Kratos, the Spartan warrior who would challenge the Gods. At first, Kratos finds himself a tool of the Gods sent on what is later revealed as a fool's errand to kill Ares, the former god of war who overstepped his bounds in the eyes of Kratos. In the second installment, Kratos does as he pleases resulting in being stripped of power and put to death by Zeus only to find within himself the resolve for vengeance which lets him claw his way from Hades fueled by revenge and with the support of the Titans locked away by the gods. Expand
  85. RandyB
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    Kratos really brings the destruction of olympus! god of war 3 is finally here and it comes packed with combat of titanic proportions and thats not a pun. Kratos is back, this time to finish his journey and get his revenge on all who betrayed him which increases in scale as the game progresses, Everything this series does right returns more polished and refined then before. However thats Kratos really brings the destruction of olympus! god of war 3 is finally here and it comes packed with combat of titanic proportions and thats not a pun. Kratos is back, this time to finish his journey and get his revenge on all who betrayed him which increases in scale as the game progresses, Everything this series does right returns more polished and refined then before. However thats not to say that gow3 doesnt have its faults, in particular i found the flight sequences the worst part of the third installment, but for the majority of the game is gifted with amazing gameplay, exciting new mechanics and graphics that make even this final fantasy fan go wow. Everything is masterfully told from the story to the puzzles and everything in between. The enviroments are loads of fun to venture through and the character animations are top notch, and yes theres a sex mini-game. If your a fan of the series iam sure your all ready heads over heels in love with god of war 3 but it still needs to be said that this game is a fitting conclusion to the legendary reign of kratos. Expand
  86. deanw
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    ok 1st this game is utterly violent and should not be played by children, those that are squeemish also should steer clear of this game. Yes it is a god snuff fest and if your not familiar with the prior gow series it is a tale of how there are no more greek gods coz the man whos anger knows knows bounds ended their lives. this genre of game isnt for everyone, much like fps or mmo's ok 1st this game is utterly violent and should not be played by children, those that are squeemish also should steer clear of this game. Yes it is a god snuff fest and if your not familiar with the prior gow series it is a tale of how there are no more greek gods coz the man whos anger knows knows bounds ended their lives. this genre of game isnt for everyone, much like fps or mmo's arent for everyone, i can understand that. Undeniably the gow franchise done for this game genre what gta or wow or modern warefare did for theirs, defined and set the standard. this is a genre with epic boss battles and is a button mash fest with great, no an epic story that many contenders have tried to emulate, conan, darkiders dantes inferno and gow 1 and 2 pushed the envalope on ps2 graphically as did chains of olympus on psp now that kratos has made his way to the next gen consoles graphics and the immense scale of boss fights has again been redefined. Mrking a game down because it plays like its predessessors is like saying gta 4 should be marked down because it plays like prior gta games, this is a pathetic excuse to mark a game down, mark it down for gfx, sound or story or bugs fair enough. Everyone will now be demanding better quality games from their respective xbox360's and playstation 3's. Kratos is back and glorious violently stunning hd. Hail to the king baby, he is back. Expand
  87. JakeJ
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    The trilogy of God of War now spans the two latest PlayStation consoles, the first being a smash success and the second having people declaring that there was still plenty of life left in the PS2. Episode three comes to us in full HD with the grunt of a few cell processors behind the technology in the black box. You'd be among good company if you already had high expectations for God The trilogy of God of War now spans the two latest PlayStation consoles, the first being a smash success and the second having people declaring that there was still plenty of life left in the PS2. Episode three comes to us in full HD with the grunt of a few cell processors behind the technology in the black box. You'd be among good company if you already had high expectations for God of War 3, most people that seem to be drawn to this particular action hack and slash game like flies to the proverbial. So the scene is set for a rather monumental release, expectations to be dashed or dreams to be fulfilled? Expand
  88. DallasB
    Mar 21, 2010
    8
    First off, if your a reviewer, don't give a game a perfect score but then say it is almost perfect, give it a 9. To rate and compare this game one must look at other games of this type, Hack and Slash Platformer! Comparisons should be done with similar games such as the very under developed Dante. If only Dante would have been done on this Grand of a scale!! Most of the game is First off, if your a reviewer, don't give a game a perfect score but then say it is almost perfect, give it a 9. To rate and compare this game one must look at other games of this type, Hack and Slash Platformer! Comparisons should be done with similar games such as the very under developed Dante. If only Dante would have been done on this Grand of a scale!! Most of the game is action platforming with very few moments of just holding the controller and doing nothing. The cut scenes feel like they are in the appropriate places and don't interrupt the flow of the game. The quick time events seem appropriate with keying together the right button pushes at the right time. I did find myself wishing that someone else could do the quick time events so I could focus on watching the gorgeous gore and mayhem. One Quick time event involved a Rock Band or GH comparison as you had to press buttons in a musical order to accomplish a task, I felt this was a poor attempt to be like Rock Band and did not need to be in the game. The Biggest issue I have with the game was the Camera! This seems to be a problem in all 3D spaced Platformers! I died more then a few times due to a poor camera placement, but this is something I am accustomed to in these types of games, but until developers get this fixed a perfect score is out of the question...and should be for all reviewers. Settling for poor camera and giving a game a perfect score is telling developers it is ok to accept bad camera angles because it will be ignored. If you enjoy Hack and Slash platforming then this game is for you. Replay is very low, as it is on all platformers, unless your a Trophy or Achievement hunter. DLC would be a welcome infusion to this type of game, giving it life long after shelf birthing and would keep people from rushing to trade in this game and flooding the market with used copies! So Camera Angle -1 Assumed no DLC or very little -1 8 out of 10...a definite must buy! Expand
  89. Oct 31, 2010
    7
    I don't know why people love the God of War series to me it's merely a pretty good action game who has stolen the best gameplay elements from Prince of Persia. Once again the third title has nothing significantly more to offer than the previous. Sure the graphics are awesome, but the fact that once again you start off the game by losing all your abilities that you earned in the lastI don't know why people love the God of War series to me it's merely a pretty good action game who has stolen the best gameplay elements from Prince of Persia. Once again the third title has nothing significantly more to offer than the previous. Sure the graphics are awesome, but the fact that once again you start off the game by losing all your abilities that you earned in the last game, is frustrating and to me feels cheap. Don't get me wrong the game is definitely fun to play; however, I don't think it's worth owning you can beat it in a few hours and there is not much replay value unless you are a die hard fan. Expand
  90. Sep 12, 2010
    8
    A very Reasonable, fun game.

    Doesn't really suit my tastes though, and the Aesthetics and premise of the game are kinda a turn off. The graphics, violence and other miscellaneous things in the game are phenomenal, but again, not my style.

    A very solid, enjoyable game with few flaws, worth the price.
  91. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    Graphic, best of the best, damn, first game I have play that have no jaggy at all. Characters model look phenomenal with great details.

    Gameplay is better than GoW2 and GoW1, but still lack a few things that could have make it much better. Sound and musics, perfect, great voices acting too. The pace isn't that good that was all. I would have give this a 10/10, but its almost the same
    Graphic, best of the best, damn, first game I have play that have no jaggy at all. Characters model look phenomenal with great details.

    Gameplay is better than GoW2 and GoW1, but still lack a few things that could have make it much better.

    Sound and musics, perfect, great voices acting too.

    The pace isn't that good that was all.
    I would have give this a 10/10, but its almost the same thing as GoW2.
    9/10.
    Expand
  92. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = Pacing issues don't affect the fact that this is one of the greatest action titles to date. One of the best looking as well.
  93. Nov 19, 2010
    7
    Amazing game with some huge backdrops.
    Graphics, story, music, fights, gore are excellent but....
    extremely short, way too many backtracking and after defeating Poseidon with a superb battle you expect to see more, but nope. and the boring ending made the things worst.
    It looks like they rushed it out after some point.
  94. Dec 25, 2010
    8
    Fantastic game. Though I was very let down by the ending as you can tell Sony Santa Monica cut alot of corners just to appease SCEE.

    Very short game also and I played on the normal setting. Also includes bonus rounds at the end to unlock additional content. Probably if you really push and do all the bonus content up to 20hours of gameplay. If you can pick it up for under
    Fantastic game. Though I was very let down by the ending as you can tell Sony Santa Monica cut alot of corners just to appease SCEE.

    Very short game also and I played on the normal setting. Also includes bonus rounds at the end to unlock additional content.

    Probably if you really push and do all the bonus content up to 20hours of gameplay.

    If you can pick it up for under £20 buy it if not I recommend a definite rental.
    Expand
  95. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best games I've played on the PS3 and it doesn't require you to be a fan to enjoy all of which the game has to offer. Graphics, sound, and controls are all top notch and with an impressive story the player will enjoy. The only thing keeping me from giving it a ten is the last five minutes of the game I felt did not fit. But as to the 18 hours prior, I was engulfed andThis is one of the best games I've played on the PS3 and it doesn't require you to be a fan to enjoy all of which the game has to offer. Graphics, sound, and controls are all top notch and with an impressive story the player will enjoy. The only thing keeping me from giving it a ten is the last five minutes of the game I felt did not fit. But as to the 18 hours prior, I was engulfed and didn't want out. Expand
  96. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Absolutely phenomenal. It kept me engaged the entire time. Rarely did it get boring, though (for me) it got a bit difficult at times fighting. Good story, brutal fighting, memorable moments, great score, etc.
  97. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the original God of War, there was a puzzle in which you were asked to take a caged man and shove him into the path of fire in order to move on to the next area. I don't remember the exact circumstances, but what I do remember is slowly coming to the realization that I had to kill an innocent person for selfish reasons. An absolutely magnificent moment in gaming that makes you question morals and motives more than any game that includes "choice". In the third installment, there are plenty puzzles like this, but here they seem tired and exploitative rather than ground-breaking. It's fun, sure, and you can get a giddy, sick enjoyment from some of the more gruesome deaths, but it highlights the fact that, hopefully, this is the final GoW installment. They have exhausted their creativity and it's time to move on.

    That said, this is still a terrific game. The graphics are breath-taking and a few boss battles really stand out as some of the best in the series (or any game)! It's still fun as ever to cut your way through hordes of enemies and, every once-in-a-while, throw your controller. The mechanics and gameplay are as good as, even better, than ever, but Kratos himself has become a cartoon, much removed from the tortured character he was in the first game.
    Expand
  98. Apr 14, 2011
    8
    Smooth gameplay, and lots of gore a great finale to a great title.. I do not have anything bad to say except that it's just like the other god of war games, except with better graphics.
  99. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    So immersing. The soundtrack is just amazing. The graphics are the best i have seen on PS3. Gameplay still the same as God of War II but it feels more redefined. Story isn't the best of the franchise. A must play for PS3 haters.
  100. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Absolutely amazing visuals, music and blood fighting make this game one of the most intensive and thrilling adventure in all history. of course, it's the end story of Kratos, but i hope there will be next games in this brutal universe.
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 101 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 101
  2. Negative: 0 out of 101
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    If you liked the previous God of War titles, you're going to feel right at home with this one.
  2. But despite God of War III being afraid of flying too close to the sun -lest those carefully crafted wings should melt- the journey is relentlessly exciting; a blistering spectacle told in blood and thunder. Truly epic, then. And I defy anyone to argue with the definition this time around.
  3. God of War 3 is fantastic, and has at least three scenes that are utterly magnificent. Design and gameplay-wise, it's absolutely stunning. The downside is that it doesn't have that clear cut perfection that its predecessor had; the polish shine that brilliantly lit up our eyes when we first enjoyed God of War 2.