God of War III PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2010
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2398 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 28, 2013
    6
    Calling this game a huge disappointment is putting it mildly. As someone who's a big fan of all the previous God of War games I went into this game fully expecting to love it. It's the same formula the series has been using since the first game, just without all of the awesomeness that made those games so great to play. There are some thrills here and there and the combat is suitablyCalling this game a huge disappointment is putting it mildly. As someone who's a big fan of all the previous God of War games I went into this game fully expecting to love it. It's the same formula the series has been using since the first game, just without all of the awesomeness that made those games so great to play. There are some thrills here and there and the combat is suitably entertaining, but what makes GOW 3 so disappointing is that where the previous games were epic and raised the bar for action games, GOW 3 is just average and feels like another face in the crowd. The game looks gorgeous, three years later and this is still one of the PS3's best looking titles, and the soundtrack is fantastic. The story takes a hit this time around by making Kratos a much less likable character. I was able to sympathize and support Kratos' motives in previous GOW games, but after watching Kratos butcher innocent people who had nothing to do with his conflict I began to like the character less and less. He manages to have a few redeeming moments near the end, but I still wouldn't call him a likable character after this game. The story still has some cool moments, especially when it references all the other GOW games (even the PSP titles!). It's not a bad game, just a dull one. It's a disappointing conclusion to a fantastic series because while the other games are amazing this one manages to just be passable experience because it lacks the fun that previous GOW titles have brought. Expand
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    6
    Sure, it looks and sounds amazing but I just think this is a really poor action game. The combat is dull, no matter how amazing it looks. The camera is really quite frustrating and I just don't care for the story. A very overhyped, but very mediocre action game.
  3. PhilosF
    Mar 18, 2010
    5
    I simply do not understand why this game is getting 100s from the majority of critics. yeah, it's a great game, it's very pretty, and very fun. But the fact still remains that there is almost no difference between all 4 god of war games, besides some graphical up grades.
  4. Oct 20, 2011
    5
    Now that the dust has setlled since the release of GOWIII, let's have some Emperor's New Clothes moments and state the unspoken obvious... it's a well-crafted technical experience marred by awful voice-acting and a boring story. The first 45 minutes of the game are a lot of fun, but by the time you get to the Malcolm McDowell puzzle scenes, it's seriously boring and graphicallyNow that the dust has setlled since the release of GOWIII, let's have some Emperor's New Clothes moments and state the unspoken obvious... it's a well-crafted technical experience marred by awful voice-acting and a boring story. The first 45 minutes of the game are a lot of fun, but by the time you get to the Malcolm McDowell puzzle scenes, it's seriously boring and graphically unimpressive. And the plot? Kratos wants to save a young girl who reminds him of his daughter, but he has no problem moments later grinding another young woman in the cogs of a machine? Okaaay. That scene is actually made even worse by the fact that Santa Monica Studios chose to have her titillatingly bare-breasted - so gamers get to whack-off to her **** just before they get to mutilate her. Yay? Gross. And speaking of Kratos, T.C. Carson's one-note portrayal of the character may have been okay in the days of the Playstation 2, but with titles like Heavy Rain and LA Noire having pushed the acting in video games far beyond their last-gen ghetto, this kind of D-grade voice acting just doesbn't fly anymore. HE'S TERRIBLE. This is made all the clearer when put beside actual talents like Rip Torn - the difference is night and douche.The plot itself doesn't fare much better - are we seriously going BACK to Pandora's Box? Uhhgh... didn't we do this already? Oh, I see, it was empty but wait! - there was something ELSE yet super-secret and invisible inside. Please no. I'd love to see a reboot with a higher quality of voice talent and story writing that at last mactches the awesome level of craftmanship that Santa Monica Studios puts into it's technical game development. Obviously the developer has an incredibly talented team of artists and gaming talent working there, but it all falls apart in the cut scenes when the script is laughable and the voice talent barely B-movie. Just finding a new voice for Kratos alone would automatically boost the series one point, but you still have issues like Kratos' origin itself... which is as silly as it is nonsensical. Um, don't be mad at the gods because you can't control your temper. Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2011
    6
    I went into God of War III with big expectations, and in terms of environmental scale and overall level design, I wasnâ
  6. StuW
    Mar 28, 2010
    7
    I sort of disliked the last 20% of this game. Santa Monica should have restructured it and had the Cronos fight be the ending because everything else after paled in comparison. From having to escort Pandora around, which was an annoying contrivance, to the Zeus fight, which was challenging but visually and setting-wise was outdone by most of the areas in the game, to the ending, which had I sort of disliked the last 20% of this game. Santa Monica should have restructured it and had the Cronos fight be the ending because everything else after paled in comparison. From having to escort Pandora around, which was an annoying contrivance, to the Zeus fight, which was challenging but visually and setting-wise was outdone by most of the areas in the game, to the ending, which had poorly-executed cinemas and didn't feel nearly as epic or have an 'end of a trilogy' level of awesomeness that earlier parts of the game had, the latter parts of the game were a let down. All of that said, it's still God of War. It's fast-paced (usually), bloody and operates on a MASSIVE scale for most of the game. I'd go with an 8 but this game does next-to-nothing new at all, aside from some new weapons and small combat improvements. Expand
  7. PaladinLady
    Apr 1, 2010
    7
    Disapointing(not stunning I mean) and GREATLY lower than expected graphics. They promised near movie like graphics, but this is another example of PS3 game reducing its promised graphics while its released. All the power has been used to create large scale and scenery can still look impressive. The game is not as diverse as the second God of War, which makes this even more repetitive and Disapointing(not stunning I mean) and GREATLY lower than expected graphics. They promised near movie like graphics, but this is another example of PS3 game reducing its promised graphics while its released. All the power has been used to create large scale and scenery can still look impressive. The game is not as diverse as the second God of War, which makes this even more repetitive and not as fun! Greatest, most acclaimed and most expensive mediocre game ever! Very numbing game! I think, that 2 player should be standard in brawlers, and I thought it was like that ever since 80's...that makes modern game evolution stupid! Only improvement in game has been used to make the american wrestler looking guy's bald even rounder(and in vain too!). Expand
  8. Aug 12, 2010
    7
    A game filled with brute force and gore fights. The production is amazing (graphics, music) and the game is full of clever ideas, but the action is repetitive and becomes boring at times.
  9. RobbyS
    Mar 16, 2010
    6
    This is essentially a game like Manhunt with a greek mythology story-line and magic powers. In other words, none but the most deranged of us could possibly enjoy many of the gruelsome, snuff-like gore-fests that SCE Studios Santa Monica wants to serve on a silver platter. Violence doesn't deserve to be glorified like this and i sincerely wonder how the ones who planned and created This is essentially a game like Manhunt with a greek mythology story-line and magic powers. In other words, none but the most deranged of us could possibly enjoy many of the gruelsome, snuff-like gore-fests that SCE Studios Santa Monica wants to serve on a silver platter. Violence doesn't deserve to be glorified like this and i sincerely wonder how the ones who planned and created some of the scenes in this game can be allowed to work anywhere but in a cage. I'd be scared to sit near anyone who does this for a living! Expand
  10. Jun 14, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I've played all the bigger God of War games, but none is like God of War III... That is in a bad way. The gameplay's basically what you expect; Hack 'n' Slash. It's more fluid than before, but it's still not very revolutionary. Then again, there is no problem with that. There are 3 more weapons, but you'll probably stick with the Blades of Athena (I know they are the Blades of Exile). The graphics, well, haven't improved really. Think about it; God of War II had by far the best graphics on the PS2. Characters were all greatly animated and so was the environment. In GoW III it seems they focused WAAAY too much on Kratos, who basically looks fantastic (Except for his feet), but all other characters and very often the environment just look, compared to Kratos, crappy. The music's awesome, the voice acting solid, but lip-syncing sometimes didn't fit. Now that that's covered, let's get to the most important subject: The Story. I don't understand why so many reviews state the story is great and a superb ending, it's simply not. First of all, the length of it: How is it that the Titans, these huge creatures, had to fight for decades to be defeated by the Gods and Kratos kills a bunch of them in about half a day? Now to the main plot: How come Kratos being a jerk suddenly, instead of that guy from God of War II, who actually cared about his family? He destroys the entire world, which means he destroyed Hades, which means he destroyed Elysium, which means he destroyed his daughter... again. Why is through the destruction of the Sisters of Fate and Kratos bringing the Titans to the "present" no influence at all? I mean, how come nobody noticing that the Titans suddenly aren't in Tartarus anymore? Plus, why the heck is Cronus in Tartar-sauce and where is Atlas? C'mon, even if Atlas got his soul or something ripped out, he could still be in the present and after destroying Hades he would've reclaimed his soul. Moving on, Athena. Why? Or better, why is she a greedy ghost, who wants to rule the earth and suddenly has huge breasts? If Ares can't return from the dead, hell, if DEATH can't return from death, how can Athena? It would've been more logical if Kratos had just descended to Hades (without dying) and found Athena, Ares, Thanatos, Deimos, Lysandra (his wife) and Calliope there. That would've been pretty awesome. Alright then, why are the Gods mortal? Seriously, the only Gods, or rather creatures, that were killed by the Blade of Olympus were Cronus, Gaia and Zeus, it didn't exactly kill him, but, oh, well. Hephaestus didn't have anything to do with Pandora's Box. He created Padora, but only on the bidding of Zeus and he wasn't like her father. She was "born" as a grown up woman. Pandora's Boy, yeah it did contain the evils of the world, but they would've only been released upon the mortal world. I know that God of War isn't that true on Greek Myth (Check GoW I & II) but at least do somethings right. Daedalus didn't have anything to do with Zeus either. Why Icarus wanted to go to the Sisters of Fate isn't very clear, but at least he had some reason for existence. The Titans, too, were as important as Kratos' butthole. SCE Santa Monica promised there would be entire levels, built on the back of Titans. Where are they? The only real level on an entire Titan was the fight with Cronus and the battle against Poseidon on Gaia. (They were the two most spectaculare battles, too, but killing a God by pushing your thumbs into his eyes is nonsense.) Okay, now what the hell did they want to achieve with the crap about Pandora? "Hope makes us strong, it is why we are here. It is what we fight with when all else is lost." WTF? So, basically, what this is supposed to mean is; Hope destroys the earth. Yeah, that makes total sense, right? When the game starts, Kratos is repeating his awesome line from GoW II in a boring way, daylight has returned and, for some reason, the Gods were prepared for the battle. How come? I'll tell you how! During the three years of development Kratos, Gaia and Zeus made a deal. Zeus "Can you please come back later, we got here some business to do, you know. Reparing this place, getting an army to fight you." Kratos "Oh, yeah sure. we'll wait three years for you. I think the weather'll be much better then, too. I got to pump my muscles anyway. I'll say that sentence again, so you can remember better, pops." Zeus "Alright, son. See you in three years. Oh, by the way, Hermes is gonna be replaced." Well, that's probably the only reasonable explanation for the **** start of a **** story which a **** douche-bag created. My verdict: If you want a great and epic Hack 'n' Slash/Action game, buy God of War III, but if you want a great story, pass. Expand
  11. May 13, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For all of of the great things that can be said for the closing game of the series like gameplay that is as smooth as it is brutal, intuitive controls, glorious presentation and aesthetics, cool flying sequences, all of that's great. However there is one thing, just one thing that completes neutralizes all of this. The story is not only crap-tacular and bland, it also completely betrays who Kratos is as a character, and the themes of God of War. The true catalyst and possibly the anti-christ of the God of War universe is Pandora, a character who for all intents and purposes, makes no sense. Beyond the constant message i am about to quote from the game "Hope is what makes us strong. It is why we are here, it is what we fight with when all else is lost." Seriously, this is the kind of garbage that should be thrown into a second rate Disney movie. Now i know what you're thinking: it's just a video game. True, but this is God of War, a game series that has always been ardently praised for being the pinnacle of storytelling trough Kratos's actions and (gasp!) character development. A story like Kratos's (i.e. Greek tragedy) should not be touting themes of hope and forgiveness. Also that awesome gameplay i mentioned takes a complete nosedive at the end by, and I'm dead serious, GOING INTO FIRST PERSON POV!. Why? Exactly, no reason, and this is after the fifteen minute dream sequence where Kratos FINDS FORGIVENESS and that HOPE WAS INSIDE HIM THE ENTIRE TIME(sorry for using full caps) . Why? the plot said so. I'm not even going to mention when Athena's ghost shows up for the last time because i could write a whole new rant on the idiocy on that nonsense. Honestly i needed to write this. Aside from the awful writing of the story and resolution, the game is great really, sorry to say that this will forever stain my opinion of this game and of lesser extent the series. Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2010
    7
    I don't know why people love the God of War series to me it's merely a pretty good action game who has stolen the best gameplay elements from Prince of Persia. Once again the third title has nothing significantly more to offer than the previous. Sure the graphics are awesome, but the fact that once again you start off the game by losing all your abilities that you earned in the lastI don't know why people love the God of War series to me it's merely a pretty good action game who has stolen the best gameplay elements from Prince of Persia. Once again the third title has nothing significantly more to offer than the previous. Sure the graphics are awesome, but the fact that once again you start off the game by losing all your abilities that you earned in the last game, is frustrating and to me feels cheap. Don't get me wrong the game is definitely fun to play; however, I don't think it's worth owning you can beat it in a few hours and there is not much replay value unless you are a die hard fan. Expand
  13. Nov 19, 2010
    7
    Amazing game with some huge backdrops.
    Graphics, story, music, fights, gore are excellent but....
    extremely short, way too many backtracking and after defeating Poseidon with a superb battle you expect to see more, but nope. and the boring ending made the things worst.
    It looks like they rushed it out after some point.
  14. Nov 19, 2014
    7
    It should be better. Story line is reduced to the end and a shadow like Athena compare to the previous products. But product play is still amazing and even more.
  15. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In the original God of War, there was a puzzle in which you were asked to take a caged man and shove him into the path of fire in order to move on to the next area. I don't remember the exact circumstances, but what I do remember is slowly coming to the realization that I had to kill an innocent person for selfish reasons. An absolutely magnificent moment in gaming that makes you question morals and motives more than any game that includes "choice". In the third installment, there are plenty puzzles like this, but here they seem tired and exploitative rather than ground-breaking. It's fun, sure, and you can get a giddy, sick enjoyment from some of the more gruesome deaths, but it highlights the fact that, hopefully, this is the final GoW installment. They have exhausted their creativity and it's time to move on.

    That said, this is still a terrific game. The graphics are breath-taking and a few boss battles really stand out as some of the best in the series (or any game)! It's still fun as ever to cut your way through hordes of enemies and, every once-in-a-while, throw your controller. The mechanics and gameplay are as good as, even better, than ever, but Kratos himself has become a cartoon, much removed from the tortured character he was in the first game.
    Expand
  16. May 5, 2014
    6
    God of War 3.
    *NOTE* Theres not much I can say about this game that has not already been said, so I'm just going to give you my feelings on the game. So if you want more in depth information on the game, their are many other reviews out there.
    So just to get it out of the way the game looks amazing, even today (2014). But as your mom would tell you, looks aren't everything, it's whats
    God of War 3.
    *NOTE* Theres not much I can say about this game that has not already been said, so I'm just going to give you my feelings on the game. So if you want more in depth information on the game, their are many other reviews out there.

    So just to get it out of the way the game looks amazing, even today (2014). But as your mom would tell you, looks aren't everything, it's whats inside that counts. So... other then the great production values what does this game have to offer? Well in case you so how didn't know this is a hack and slash game with puzzles mixed in. Their are also quite-a-few quick-time events that happen in boss battles and such which look cool, but you aren't really doing anything. It's more like a somewhat interactive movie which some are quick to criticize but I don't mind it too much. The puzzles are simple for the most part but from time to time you will be going around wondering what your supposed to do. And last but not least the combat. I know I'II get some hate for this but I found the combat rather repetitive. I know theirs "4" different wepions but, their really only variations on the chain-blades. Though the story is half decent, but I wont spoil that for you.
    Overall this is an above adverge game that's enjoyably while it last. Did I forget to mention that the game is only around 7 hours (even thought thats normal now-in-days).
    I give it a 6.5/10, its worth playing through but it in my opinion is not the 9/10 game so people say it is.
    Expand
  17. Feb 3, 2014
    7
    Story: 5 out of 10, Graphics: 9 out of 10, Fun: 7 out of 10, Controls: 5 out of 10, Difficulty: 9 out of 10, Length: 9 out of 10, Re-play: 3 out of 10, Value: 5 out of 10
  18. Aug 14, 2015
    5
    This game froze my entire console during the same scene, again and again. The problem persisted across standard and 'Essentials' editions, and both with patch and with no patch. Needless to say, this was a game-breaking experience that cut off my access to an otherwise polished action game. The issue seems to be rare, though, and I only subtract one point from my "decent game" score. WhyThis game froze my entire console during the same scene, again and again. The problem persisted across standard and 'Essentials' editions, and both with patch and with no patch. Needless to say, this was a game-breaking experience that cut off my access to an otherwise polished action game. The issue seems to be rare, though, and I only subtract one point from my "decent game" score. Why not a higher score? 6/10 means that the game delivers on your expectations, but it does nothing really mindblowing or new or necessary for you. It's a game that no one has to play.

    God Of War III pulls off similar tricks to the Devil May Cry series, Dark Souls, Bayonetta and similar action games. It's often as linear as Uncharted, so if you want to figure things out, this is not the most appealing game. I did enjoy the puzzles and not knowing what to expect from the epic but very gory campaign.
    Expand
  19. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    I don't know what exactly, but something is missing from this game. But still, if you've played the first two games than this is worth playing. Whatever is missing (or repeated from the previous games), it makes up for it with some epic scenes and nice graphics. Word of advice, don't start the game at hard level.
  20. Aug 25, 2015
    6
    God of War 3.
    *NOTE* Theres not much I can say about this game that has not already been said, so I'm just going to give you my feelings on the game. So if you want more in depth information on the game, their are many other reviews out there.
    So just to get it out of the way the game looks amazing, even today (2014). But as your mom would tell you, looks aren't everything, it's whats
    God of War 3.
    *NOTE* Theres not much I can say about this game that has not already been said, so I'm just going to give you my feelings on the game. So if you want more in depth information on the game, their are many other reviews out there.

    So just to get it out of the way the game looks amazing, even today (2014). But as your mom would tell you, looks aren't everything, it's whats inside that counts. So... other then the great production values what does this game have to offer? Well in case you so how didn't know this is a hack and slash game with puzzles mixed in. Their are also quite-a-few quick-time events that happen in boss battles and such which look cool, but you aren't really doing anything. It's more like a somewhat interactive movie which some are quick to criticize but I don't mind it too much. The puzzles are simple for the most part but from time to time you will be going around wondering what your supposed to do. And last but not least the combat. I know I'II get some hate for this but I found the combat rather repetitive. I know theirs "4" different wepions but, their really only variations on the chain-blades. Though the story is half decent, but I wont spoil that for you.
    Overall this is an above adverge game that's enjoyably while it last. Did I forget to mention that the game is only around 7 hours (even thought thats normal now-in-days).
    I give it a 6.5/10, its worth playing through but it in my opinion is not the 9/10 game so people say it is.
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 101 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 101
  2. Negative: 0 out of 101
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    If you liked the previous God of War titles, you're going to feel right at home with this one.
  2. But despite God of War III being afraid of flying too close to the sun -lest those carefully crafted wings should melt- the journey is relentlessly exciting; a blistering spectacle told in blood and thunder. Truly epic, then. And I defy anyone to argue with the definition this time around.
  3. God of War 3 is fantastic, and has at least three scenes that are utterly magnificent. Design and gameplay-wise, it's absolutely stunning. The downside is that it doesn't have that clear cut perfection that its predecessor had; the polish shine that brilliantly lit up our eyes when we first enjoyed God of War 2.