God of War III PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2010
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2555 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    God Of War III is the only game i have played more then 7 times non stop.The graphic in the game blow me away,the smooth gameplay,gore,violence,EPIC opening.All you need in an action game.This might be the Game Of The Year for the PS3 System.If you have been following God Of War franchise since the 1st God Of War.There is no point in saying "pass" to this game.
  2. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    The best game i've played on this generation. The most beautiful graphics on PS3 history. Amazing, compelling, instigative, with a tremendous ending to the history of one of the greatest characters i've ever known or seen in any games, on any platforms. In my opinion, a piece of art.
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This is a no-brainer- GoW 3 is a must-have game. The visual are phenomenal. I enjoyed the story, was very satisfied with the ending. The gameplay is varied and fun. The boss battles are really good. The best thing I like about this game is the pacing. There's never a dull moment. The puzzle were fun. For someone who hasn't played the previous GoW games, GoW 3 is a good place to start,This is a no-brainer- GoW 3 is a must-have game. The visual are phenomenal. I enjoyed the story, was very satisfied with the ending. The gameplay is varied and fun. The boss battles are really good. The best thing I like about this game is the pacing. There's never a dull moment. The puzzle were fun. For someone who hasn't played the previous GoW games, GoW 3 is a good place to start, unless you want to follow the storyline. Buy it!! Expand
  4. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    The franchise that saved the hack 'n' slash action-adventure genre from it's impending doom has concluded, with one of the best games ever made! I fell in love with God of War since the first game, every game in the franchise is better than it's predecessor, God of War III is a masterpiece, can't wait for the next game from Sony Santa Monica a.k.a the best developers ever.
  5. KratosLoverX
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    If there was an infinity and beyond rating... i would give it to this game... within the first 5 seconds of playing I had to pause to game to think about what just happened to my brain... it was blown away and re-arranged and I didn't know what to do exept marvel with my mouth wide open at this insanely beautiful game.. if you dont have it... buy it, if you dont have a ps3.. now u If there was an infinity and beyond rating... i would give it to this game... within the first 5 seconds of playing I had to pause to game to think about what just happened to my brain... it was blown away and re-arranged and I didn't know what to do exept marvel with my mouth wide open at this insanely beautiful game.. if you dont have it... buy it, if you dont have a ps3.. now u have a reason to buy one. HOWEVER i dont like the new 'O' finishing moves thing.... why didnt they keep it simple and keep the button executions in the middle of the screen like GOW Chains, GOW 1 and GOW 2... why put the circle, square, triangle and X on the very far sides of the screen... how am i supposed to know which one to press when they are all so small and at the same time so far away from eachother... also the basic infantry are alot more nastier and attack more... ME LIKE!!!!! The graphics blew my face off... the cinematics blew my private parts and my brain off.... kratos, the bosses, enemies, titans and the levels made my liver move to my shoulder, my spleen rupture and my right lung liquadise so it is now circulating my blood stream... BUY THE GAME.. ITS BEAUTIFUL! NOT 100% PERFECT BUT 99.99999% PERFECT!!!! AHHHHHHHH *head explodes*. Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There are several reasons why the God of War games are successful: Gore, smooth combat, amazing voice acting/overall sound quality/score, Kratos, graphics, and difficulty. Now what do they do for the sequels? They advance the story (on the psp games backstory), improve graphics, and fix any problems while adding some improvements, and this leads to one of the greatest single-player games of all time in God of War 3. The most a game on max difficulty has killed me is around 30 times (original God of War), when I played THIS game on max difficulty, I died 300 times (no seriously, I counted) on the first boss. THE FIRST BOSS. I loved it. I freaking cheered when I finally beat the first boss, and that's the thing that games should strive for: the feeling of achievement. This game also stepped up in the combat department, with new weapons, improved controls to get your weapons out (the first two games frustrated me whenever I changed the weapons), and changing the locations of quick-timer buttons, as well as adding a BEAUTIFUL abundance of gore. The graphics are jaw-dropping. This is beyond a shadow of a doubt one of the best looking games of all time (behind only Heavy Rain and, based on the trailers, Battlefield 3). The puzzles are complex but one puzzle in particular is just annoying in the musical puzzle. The game only steps it up in the cinematic feel, with the graphics, the always stellar voice acting, and now, scaling the bodies of Titans themselves, especially the Cronus battle, undoubtedly among the greatest boss battles of all time, if for nothing else scale and lack of anticipation, no one saw that coming. So overall, this is, in my opinion, the best game available on the PlayStation 3, one of the best of all time. Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    God of War 3 One of the best game of this generation although it has its problems here and there, but not enough to ruin the fantastic experienced with this game.
  8. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    An amazing finale to an amzing series .All XBOX users must be jealous of this game .all ps3 users must own this game .Great combat System and gameplay .totally deserves a 10/10
  9. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Melhor jogo que já joguei até hoje,do começo ao fim empolgante,gráficos de ponta,trilha sonora perfeita,jogabilidade idem,chefes dignos da grandiosidade do jogo,derrotar Chronos foi uma das lutas mais épicas que já vi em um jogo,valeu cada centavo,a cada jogo novo do espartano Kratos ele se supera ,só(Translate from Portuguese into English)Melhor jogo que já joguei até hoje,do começo ao fim empolgante,gráficos de ponta,trilha sonora perfeita,jogabilidade idem,chefes dignos da grandiosidade do jogo,derrotar Chronos foi uma das lutas mais épicas que já vi em um jogo,valeu cada centavo,a cada jogo novo do espartano Kratos ele se supera ,só poderia ser um pouco maior o jogo,mas mesmo assim ele compensa em muitos outros aspectos.Kratos neste jogo não perdoa nada que entre em seu caminho.Épico o define. Expand
  10. Sep 22, 2010
    10
    This game is a spectacular example of the power of the PS3. It is incredibly detailed in every way and the cut scenes are breathtaking. The scale of the game is huge and is a tough challenge for the best of gamers. The action is none stop and as violent as you like! Contrary to Ironwoody's review, it takes considerable skill to actually play the game and not just "mash" the pad. If you areThis game is a spectacular example of the power of the PS3. It is incredibly detailed in every way and the cut scenes are breathtaking. The scale of the game is huge and is a tough challenge for the best of gamers. The action is none stop and as violent as you like! Contrary to Ironwoody's review, it takes considerable skill to actually play the game and not just "mash" the pad. If you are interested in completing games right through, there is plenty of random trophies to keep you going before you reach Platinum. The bosses range massively and present a whole load of challenges and provide satisfyingly gruesome endings. All in all, I can highly recommend this game but would encourage you to play the first and second games first so you know the story and how it unfolds. The graphics are clearly early PS2 type but they are great games nevertheless. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did Expand
  11. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    Epic. That's the one word I would use to describe God of War III. While all of the past games have succeeded in being great adventures on their own, none of them come close to the sheer scale of the look and battles of God of War III (nor have any looked this good)!
  12. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    The games perfect. I don't understand why some idiots are complaining that it's too similar to GOW2... IT'S PART OF THE SAME GODDAMN SERIES, WHY WOULD THEY DRASTICALLY CHANGE IT FOR NO REASON, IDIOTS!
  13. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    This is definitely the best God of War in the series! I loved everything about this game! It is brutal and extremely entertaining! The story concludes the trilogy and it was amazing! The graphics and game play is great! After beating the story I highly recommend beating the challenges!
  14. JasonG
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    A wise man once said that 'Time heals everything.' While that statement may hold true for many, it most certainly does not apply to Kratos. It has been 3 years since Kratos began his ascent of Mount Olympus, which is more than enough time for the Greek warrior turned God turned man to cool off and go back to his Toga washing business. However, not only has Kratos' rage A wise man once said that 'Time heals everything.' While that statement may hold true for many, it most certainly does not apply to Kratos. It has been 3 years since Kratos began his ascent of Mount Olympus, which is more than enough time for the Greek warrior turned God turned man to cool off and go back to his Toga washing business. However, not only has Kratos' rage persevered the test of time; it has intensified into a typhoon of anger and hatred that only the blood of Olympus can quench. Expand
  15. christopherM.
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    Top top game worth all the high praise!
  16. RichardB
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it! This game went by that rule and stuck to it. I only would -.02 for Kratos talking too much. It just sound weird hearing him talk in full fledged conversation. Kinda like in The Dark Knight where you don't want to hear Batman talk. You just want him to be badass. Wonderful graphics. Music is magnificent. Character animation is gorgeous. If it ain't broke, don't fix it! This game went by that rule and stuck to it. I only would -.02 for Kratos talking too much. It just sound weird hearing him talk in full fledged conversation. Kinda like in The Dark Knight where you don't want to hear Batman talk. You just want him to be badass. Wonderful graphics. Music is magnificent. Character animation is gorgeous. Can't believe my eyes when I play. 9.8/10 By far. Beat it once and plan on playing it at least 5 times + all the bonus stuff that is about 40 hours gameplay logged in. Worth your money. Expand
  17. TrafalgarL
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    This game sparks pure creativity and artistic flare. Santa Monica Studio's GoW really sets the new standard for next/current-gen gaming on the Playstation 3. Besides the awe-inspiring visuals of the game, the brutal combat gameplay, like we all know from the previous GoW games is still present. The new weapons, attack-animations and finishing-moves work very well. The new This game sparks pure creativity and artistic flare. Santa Monica Studio's GoW really sets the new standard for next/current-gen gaming on the Playstation 3. Besides the awe-inspiring visuals of the game, the brutal combat gameplay, like we all know from the previous GoW games is still present. The new weapons, attack-animations and finishing-moves work very well. The new 'R1+X' weapon switch mechanic allows you to switch to another weapon in midcombo. All this combined with the great bombastic music score and a divine story line will leave you hanging on the edge of your seat. Do you self a favor as a gamer and buy this game. Why? Because one thing that this game does very well is reminding you why you are a gamer in the first place. Expand
  18. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    There isn't much more I can say about this game that hasn't already been said. The graphics are phenomenal, the sense of scale is staggering. There are so many moments where you just sit and say "That is the coolest thing I've ever done in a video game". The gameplay is nothing new compared to God of War I and II, but it is refined so well here that it is perfectly smooth and flawless.There isn't much more I can say about this game that hasn't already been said. The graphics are phenomenal, the sense of scale is staggering. There are so many moments where you just sit and say "That is the coolest thing I've ever done in a video game". The gameplay is nothing new compared to God of War I and II, but it is refined so well here that it is perfectly smooth and flawless. This was definitely my favourite game of the series because I think that it got the pacing best. This game will go down as one of the showpieces of this console generation. It is a thrilling game, very entertaining to play, and definitely worthy of a perfect 10 score. Expand
  19. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    Flawless, epic, beautiful, fun, exciting, entertaining, immersive etc, all words that come to mind when talking about this game. If you own a PS3 get this game, if not then get a PS3 then get this game! I did and it was worth it!
  20. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time, my personal favourite. It's just so well made, gameplay/graphics/sound are 10/10, and the story is very well written and executed, I love every bit of this 12 hour masterpiece, I shall play it again when I get the time! :P
  21. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    just one thing to say if u hv a ps3 go to the market and buy it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
  22. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    I did not play the previous games, but I did like this game. It's not really those games that make you think, its those games make you escape from thinking, and focus on killings. Everything is good and well made in the game, but it may not be people who dislikes violence.
  23. May 7, 2012
    10
    God of War III is easily one of the best looking games of all time. The amount of detail in the environment and on Kratos is unbelievable. If you own a PS3, this game is a must buy for any casual gamer.
  24. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    God of War III the name itself has great meaning inside that how it would be from inside. I bought my play station 3 recently, about one month ago and this is my first game. I have no words for this it is extremely good. I didn't feel anything wrong. Game play, graphics, story line, camera views, dialogs, characters, expressions while talking, fighting..... every thing is just perfect. IGod of War III the name itself has great meaning inside that how it would be from inside. I bought my play station 3 recently, about one month ago and this is my first game. I have no words for this it is extremely good. I didn't feel anything wrong. Game play, graphics, story line, camera views, dialogs, characters, expressions while talking, fighting..... every thing is just perfect. I cant give more than 10 least I would give it 100 out of 10. This is my most favorite games. Top of the list. Expand
  25. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Best first 15 minutes of a game I ever had im my life was in God of War 3, the game is like the predecessors, with astonishing visuals and a lot of brutality and gore, lots of gods to get killing, new perspectives and camera changes in some fights brought the game even closer to the best game i ever played, I just don't give it a 10 because its similar to the predecessors in many ways,Best first 15 minutes of a game I ever had im my life was in God of War 3, the game is like the predecessors, with astonishing visuals and a lot of brutality and gore, lots of gods to get killing, new perspectives and camera changes in some fights brought the game even closer to the best game i ever played, I just don't give it a 10 because its similar to the predecessors in many ways, but, GoW 1 and 2 were rate 10 games in its times so its well deserved 9. A must have if you own a PS3, and now 2012 you can buy it very cheap, you will not regret it. Expand
  26. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    The graphics are very beautiful, like a pixar job. The history is interesting, but little infant for me. I don´t like this kind of gameplay (only fast hands, don´t think), but its efficient. If you liked Gow 1 and 2, its a great choice.
  27. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    This game is a marvelous masterpiece, the graphics are the best ive ever seen. The gameplay is better than ever, the new combos and new weapons are awesome. Kratos just brutalises all of the gods, one by one they all fall. This is the most brutal, dark, action packed game youll find in the market and it is one of the best games of all time.
  28. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    "God of War III" es totalmente bienvenido a mi lista de juegos preferidos: peleas impresionantes, GRAN diseño de personajes, gráficos de la alta élite, banda sonora épica para prenderte de la mano de Kratos y, de su mano luchar contra sus rotundos y poderosos enemigos que se oponen a su violenta venganza. Un juego que satisface todos tus sentidos, con unas de las imágenes más"God of War III" es totalmente bienvenido a mi lista de juegos preferidos: peleas impresionantes, GRAN diseño de personajes, gráficos de la alta élite, banda sonora épica para prenderte de la mano de Kratos y, de su mano luchar contra sus rotundos y poderosos enemigos que se oponen a su violenta venganza. Un juego que satisface todos tus sentidos, con unas de las imágenes más impresionantes de todos los tiempos en la historia de los videojuegos. Expand
  29. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    in terms of graphics and detailing God of War III is the best ever game i had ever played. felt like i'm indeed fighting in a spartan war. the introduction of new mythical creatures new combat system was expected. the only downfall titan mode was the easiest as they left 1 move which made you untouchable which made titan mode easy. and the challenges was real easy based on graphics cutin terms of graphics and detailing God of War III is the best ever game i had ever played. felt like i'm indeed fighting in a spartan war. the introduction of new mythical creatures new combat system was expected. the only downfall titan mode was the easiest as they left 1 move which made you untouchable which made titan mode easy. and the challenges was real easy based on graphics cut scenes and game play it lived upto my expectation so 9 is prefect Expand
  30. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    i am happy in play this game continuously. game shows awesome graphic, and gives cool hitting sense. the only flaw of this game is the storyline. but i do not care a snap.
  31. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    God of war III is the game for the brutal greek in all of us. Its graphics are beyond belief. The bosses are each evicerated with ethusiasm and creativity. Though Kratos may not be the most dynamic of characters... the gameplay overides this fact and allows the player to feel ultimately satisfied by the end of the game.
  32. May 20, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Perfect gameplay with brilliant graphics and sound. You'll have very good time going with Kratos arm by arm, sword by sword through mitological world.
  33. MichealJF
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Set in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game that allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who have betrayed him. Armed with double-chained blades, and an array of new weapons and magic for this Set in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game that allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who have betrayed him. Armed with double-chained blades, and an array of new weapons and magic for this iteration of the trilogy, Kratos must take on mythology's darkest creatures while solving intricate puzzles throughout his merciless quest to destroy Olympus. Expand
  34. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This game is simply a masterpiece. Anyone who thinks this game is anything less than at least brilliant is a complete simpleton.

    Graphics = Stunningly beautiful, amazing lighting, amazing textures, amazing art-style, amazing scale, amazing animations and amazing attention to detail. All that and the use of proper object-based motion-blur, depth of field and fantastic volumetric lighting
    This game is simply a masterpiece. Anyone who thinks this game is anything less than at least brilliant is a complete simpleton.

    Graphics = Stunningly beautiful, amazing lighting, amazing textures, amazing art-style, amazing scale, amazing animations and amazing attention to detail. All that and the use of proper object-based motion-blur, depth of field and fantastic volumetric lighting makes this undoubtedly still the best looking console game out now, in fact in my opinion it's the best looking game I've ever seen and I've played all the top rated 'best graphics' games.

    Gameplay = The gameplay has been tweaked and perfected from previous games in the GOW series. There's four excellent weapons at your disposal, each with it's own unique combat style to prevent the game feeling repetitive. Gameplay is smooth and responsive and extremely satisfying. GoW III is an astounding gaming experience.

    Sound = The orchestral score throughout the game is phenomenal, voice-acting is top notch, enemies/ weapons/ environment all sounds incredible.

    God of War III will take around 12 hours to complete, once the single player is done you have the combat arena challenges to play through and you can play custom combat arena games. Theres also hours of videos to watch 'The making of God of War III'. In terms of replayability I've completed it 7 times now, I just can't get enough of this masterpiece of a game. My advice to anyone who owns a PS3 is to get the God of War Collection and God of War III, even if you don't particularly like action adventure/ hack 'n' slash games you will not regret it. The God of War series is some of the best gaming has to offer, God of War III is a mind-blowing masterpiece of a game.
    Expand
  35. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    God of War III is a absolute masterpiece. Everything about the game is flawless, graphics, sound, story, gameplay, pacing, art style, boss fights are all stunningly amazing... I bought a PS3 just for this game and it was totally worth it. My favourite game of all time.
  36. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. The graphics, gameplay, characters, sound, environments, art-style, set-pieces, pacing, boss-fights, story and pure epicness are all masterfully done which makes for one of the best, most memorable gaming experiences ever. If you have a PS3 buy this game, it's as simple as that.
  37. PaulJ
    Mar 31, 2010
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played and one of the best looking games, I have ever seen. It looks better than Uncharted 2 def should be up there with uncharted 2 on metacritic.
  38. May 28, 2011
    10
    Without question one of, if not the most defining moments on PS3. The climax to the greatest video game character and boy does he go out in style. This is an epic game. Since the first God of War very few games have ever really reached the heights and for me this game exceeded every expectation I had and is without doubt one of the greatest games ever to grace the playstation. Visually itWithout question one of, if not the most defining moments on PS3. The climax to the greatest video game character and boy does he go out in style. This is an epic game. Since the first God of War very few games have ever really reached the heights and for me this game exceeded every expectation I had and is without doubt one of the greatest games ever to grace the playstation. Visually it still remains a stellar and sublime achievement as its easily one of the best looking games out there its just beautiful. Gameplay. Do I really need to say much? You know exactly what your getting. The best there is to offer with your Blades of Exile and new weapons like Claws of Hades and Nemesis whip its so easy to come to terms and addictive as hell. Very few games can draw you in from word go and continue to deliver such a high quality experience but God of War does does with effortlessly. The story is a fitting end for one of gamings ultimate protagonists. Picking up from where GoWII left off Kratos and his initals allies - The Titans storm Mount Olympus in attempt to destroy Zeus and the Olympic Gods. Bloody, gory and violent as hell theres nothing like this out there its in a league of its own. Its a game that very simply deserves to be played by any and every PS3 owner because its a masterpiece and a game that you cannot afford to miss out on. One of the defining moments in what is without question one of the finest gaming achievements to date, probably as closs to perfection you will get if it is to be the final outing for the God of War series. Epic in every sence of the word! Expand
  39. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time. It's a game where you can tell the developers have passion for it, there's so much heart and soul oozing from this game, everything was done so perfectly that any faults trolls and idiots go on about are just a made up excuse to troll on this game. Anyone rating it below 9.5 is a retarded troll.
  40. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    God of War 3 is bloody fantastic! The graphics are easily the best on console, the musical score and voice acting is pitch perfect, the gameplay is the best in a hack 'n' slash game, story is brilliant. The game took me 13 hours to complete first time, since then i've played through it 7 times, putting over 70 hours into this game! Never gets boring! If you haven't already, go buy thisGod of War 3 is bloody fantastic! The graphics are easily the best on console, the musical score and voice acting is pitch perfect, the gameplay is the best in a hack 'n' slash game, story is brilliant. The game took me 13 hours to complete first time, since then i've played through it 7 times, putting over 70 hours into this game! Never gets boring! If you haven't already, go buy this masterpiece! Expand
  41. DRUNKCANADIAN
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    So I have been playing since around 30 minutes after midnight and I have covered a sizable amount of this game. In short, it is everything we would expect from a finale, great game play and graphics and a truly epic feel to it. Some reviewers gripe about no new "features" however I believe that adding anything more would only not make sense (in terms of features) but slow the game pace So I have been playing since around 30 minutes after midnight and I have covered a sizable amount of this game. In short, it is everything we would expect from a finale, great game play and graphics and a truly epic feel to it. Some reviewers gripe about no new "features" however I believe that adding anything more would only not make sense (in terms of features) but slow the game pace down. Now if you will excuse me, I have to finish this masterpiece. Expand
  42. May 1, 2011
    10
    God of War 3 is the best game I ever played in my life, epic! The opening already shows us the greatness that the title é.Battles against bosses that are a highlight of the game, kill Cronos is something you will be impressed with the perfection of the game, a great boss you get beat by a Kratos is so small his.Gameplay near perfect, the best graphics this generation for meGod of War 3 is the best game I ever played in my life, epic! The opening already shows us the greatness that the title é.Battles against bosses that are a highlight of the game, kill Cronos is something you will be impressed with the perfection of the game, a great boss you get beat by a Kratos is so small his.Gameplay near perfect, the best graphics this generation for me will top Uncharted 2, the extreme brutality, frenetic action from beginning to end, the character Kratos most perfect ever made in detail in a game or games the PC has a character so well mounted so.worth every penny. Expand
  43. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    this game is perfect. 'nuff said.
  44. JonathanK
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    I honestly couldn't believe my eyes. The graphics are not like anything I've ever seen. You really just can't appreciate how technically advanced this title is without playing it. Saying the graphics and scale are amazing simply doesn't do any justice to what the Santa Monica studio has been able to accomplish. You're would be foolish to pass this title up, even I honestly couldn't believe my eyes. The graphics are not like anything I've ever seen. You really just can't appreciate how technically advanced this title is without playing it. Saying the graphics and scale are amazing simply doesn't do any justice to what the Santa Monica studio has been able to accomplish. You're would be foolish to pass this title up, even if you haven't played the first 2. Expand
  45. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    One of the best games of all time. Also, the Metascrore should be 93 because Machinima gave GOW3 a 10/10 which is enough to bump it up a point, why wasn't that score added in the first place?!
  46. AngelosL
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    The perfect conclusion to the best gaming trilogy ever made.The visuals are awesome,the music is as always perfect,the gameplay remains the same as it should be,replay value is unique for a game of its genre,and the story is even better than I thought it would be.Not to mention my favorite game intro ever made.Well done Santa Monica!
  47. TacoBell
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    If you've played previous God of War games and are looking for more, look no further. GoW3 features the same core gameplay mechanics from its predecessors with added depth and speed. You can real-time weapon switch in-between combos, adding more combo variations, cancellations, and air juggles. Everything runs fairly smooth in the game, thanks to the variable 40-60 If you've played previous God of War games and are looking for more, look no further. GoW3 features the same core gameplay mechanics from its predecessors with added depth and speed. You can real-time weapon switch in-between combos, adding more combo variations, cancellations, and air juggles. Everything runs fairly smooth in the game, thanks to the variable 40-60 frames-per-seconds. This is what makes combat much more fluid and responsive. The combat is just as visceral as ever, with grotesque context-sensitive finishers from Kratos, and lots of blood spillage all over the place - a neat technology employed by Santa Monica is a dynamic blood stain effect that not only affects enemies and your surroundings, but can smear all over Kratos as well. Expand
  48. DanielH.
    Mar 30, 2010
    10
    This marvelous game just knocked Uncharted 2 off the top spot of my list of my favorite games. My top 5 games: 5. Metal Gear Solid 4 4. God of War 3. Bioshock 2. Uncharted 2 and for #1.... GOD OF WAR 3!! what a beautiful game with terrific boss fights, massive environments and a truly phenomenal conclusion. Nothing short of EPIC.
  49. MatthewL
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    It is simply amazing. I could never get into the other GoW games because the hero and the power of the PS2 just didn't do it for me. Now on the PS3 Kratos seems to be as powerful as the PS2 only wished it could deliver. The cinematic feel alone is enough for people to buy GoW lll. Within the first 15 minutes of the game you're fighting monsters that don't even fit on the It is simply amazing. I could never get into the other GoW games because the hero and the power of the PS2 just didn't do it for me. Now on the PS3 Kratos seems to be as powerful as the PS2 only wished it could deliver. The cinematic feel alone is enough for people to buy GoW lll. Within the first 15 minutes of the game you're fighting monsters that don't even fit on the screen! When watching this on a 47" beast of a TV, I almost feel compelled to donate money to Santa Monica studios just for justifying the purchase of the $2,000+ HDTV. Expand
  50. Mutantclown
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    This is just a word to every fanboy out there who will come in here to rate the game ZERO when even a 6 or 7 is ridiculous : Everybody who does this has just as well signed his GAY confession.
  51. DENBAR
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Blowing away any compitition in spectacular fashion. The ghost of Sparta is tenacious and relentless in this latest installment of Da franchise known as Kratos. This game has it all and is not for the faint of heart, as Kratos rips his way through the crevices if Olympus .If you own a ps3 get this on day 1. Ifvyou dont well then either you're azzed out and missing th best game of Blowing away any compitition in spectacular fashion. The ghost of Sparta is tenacious and relentless in this latest installment of Da franchise known as Kratos. This game has it all and is not for the faint of heart, as Kratos rips his way through the crevices if Olympus .If you own a ps3 get this on day 1. Ifvyou dont well then either you're azzed out and missing th best game of this generation! Expand
  52. DylanB
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    The scale is immeasurable. The boss battles are some of the most stunning in the series, with an epic conclusion that will close the door to one of the biggest series in gaming. A challenging and rewarding fast paced ride that never lets go.
  53. StevenA
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    HOLY CRAP! This is (to me) the BEST 1-player PS3 game yet, one of (if not THE) best action game ever created and these ARE some of the best graphics you have ever seen on a home console. It's brutal, it's epic, it's Kratos! An amazing final part in the God of War Trilogy. This is how a sequel SHOULD be made. It's filled with eye candy and the scope is absolutely HOLY CRAP! This is (to me) the BEST 1-player PS3 game yet, one of (if not THE) best action game ever created and these ARE some of the best graphics you have ever seen on a home console. It's brutal, it's epic, it's Kratos! An amazing final part in the God of War Trilogy. This is how a sequel SHOULD be made. It's filled with eye candy and the scope is absolutely incredible. As always, the music is fantastic and puts you in the right mood and the game is so cinematically presented, it is hard to contain without geeking out. The gameplay of the past God of War games was already perfect, but Sony Santa Monica has managed to push the envelope EVEN FURTHER, with all new weapons, all new spells, all new items, all new (and exciting) platforming events and some of the coolest bosses ever, in gaming. And to top it all off, it's a 12-hour long quest with plenty of reasons to come back. God of War III is a non-stop thrilling ride of excitement and the story of vengeance/redemption will have you see it until the end. One of my favourite games for the Playstation 3 and that is saying a lot, considering the fact that I have been gaming for over 13 years and own most of the greatest PS3 exclusives out there (Uncharted 1 & 2, Heavy Rain, Ratchet and Clank Future, Metal Gear Solid 4, littleBIGplanet, inFamous). If I had to have anything negative to say about this game, it would have to be the fact that the game's box cover art sucks. All the God of War games have awesome box arts of Kratos holding his blades and looking out into the distance. This cover however, is just Kratos' angry eye. That's lame. Other than that, its a very satisfying game and to me, its even better than Bayonetta. Way to go, Sony! Thank you for (probably) the BEST linear, action game of all time. Expand
  54. BezoB
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Wow. First 5 minutes and I am already amazed by the games story, gameplay and gore. goriest game by far, but gloriest game by far too. Hands down best PS3 game you can get. So much additional content. 10/10
  55. IvanA
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    An epic conclusion to a great series. Overall the biggest 'awesome' factor of this game is the presentation. The graphics are amazing and can be said to be above those of Heavy Rain or Uncharted 2. The gameplay is typical God of War-style with the light and heavy attacks. Different weapons add for more variety in the series and the boss battles are nothing short of what is An epic conclusion to a great series. Overall the biggest 'awesome' factor of this game is the presentation. The graphics are amazing and can be said to be above those of Heavy Rain or Uncharted 2. The gameplay is typical God of War-style with the light and heavy attacks. Different weapons add for more variety in the series and the boss battles are nothing short of what is expected: pure action. Though it is a bummer to see this being the final chapter in the series, it is a great final chapter. Yet another great title to the growing list of PS3 exclusives. Expand
  56. SteveK
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    This game is BEYOND stellar! The art is without compare to any other PS3 I've seen. Collision is great, texures are amazing. The animation, real-time and cinematics, are phenomenal. The gameplay all MAKES SENSE! Nothing feels contrived or just there to keep you busy. The Santa Monica Studios team did am outstanding job on this! Well done!!
  57. Nakiam
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    So as i look, to my right i see games like, Uncharted, Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, Modern Warefare 2, Call of Duty 4, Grand Theft Auto 4, Assassin's Creed 1&2 MSG 4, Batman Asylum and a lot of other great games. Well my fellow gamers God Of War 3 Blows away the compitition with Superior Graphics, Storyline and a No nonsense Badazz God Kratos destroying everythign in his path. I'm So as i look, to my right i see games like, Uncharted, Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, Modern Warefare 2, Call of Duty 4, Grand Theft Auto 4, Assassin's Creed 1&2 MSG 4, Batman Asylum and a lot of other great games. Well my fellow gamers God Of War 3 Blows away the compitition with Superior Graphics, Storyline and a No nonsense Badazz God Kratos destroying everythign in his path. I'm telling you now that anyone who gives this game anything less than a 10 is an idiot. It's the best of everything a true Gamer would like in a game and the very best for this Generation. So my local Gamestop opens at 10am and i got there at 9:50am and there was a line out the door (about 30 people) I guess they all called out sick from work like i did lol. Of course I pre ordered the Ultimate Edition and If you didnt well, You're an idiot because Pandora's Box looks awesome and is bigger than I thpught it would be.(great place to keep my God of War collection:) Remember If you're thinking of getting this game you're an Idiot! If you're running out the door, tripping on that banana peel and end up in the hospital on the way to Gamestop you're an half idiot. If you make it there get the game and then go have Lunch afterwards before heading home to play, you're a Moran!. If you make it there in one piece , get the game, and come straight home and Play the Greatest Game to this point in time, well you're a Genius:) Hey just to let you in on a little secret! Even Fanboys were on line to pick up a Ps3 and the game lmao. Never thought I'd see the day. I'd like to give a Shoutout to Telegraph who scored Bayonatta above this Game lmao. (look for them on Metacritic reviews at the bottom) where they belong in the basement. Seemed they had to close there comment thread because real gamers caught on to their Bias and called them out! Guess they couldnt handle the pressure. The pressure of seeing GOW take flight and they didn' t have a boarding pass! Expand
  58. Nakiam
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    So as i look, to my right i see games like, Uncharted, Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, Modern Warefare 2, Call of Duty 4, Grand Theft Auto 4, Assassin's Creed 1&2 MSG 4, Batman Asylum and a lot of other great games. Well my fellow gamers God Of War 3 Blows away the compitition with Superior Graphics, Storyline and a No nonsense Badazz God Kratos destroying everythign in his path. I'm So as i look, to my right i see games like, Uncharted, Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, Modern Warefare 2, Call of Duty 4, Grand Theft Auto 4, Assassin's Creed 1&2 MSG 4, Batman Asylum and a lot of other great games. Well my fellow gamers God Of War 3 Blows away the compitition with Superior Graphics, Storyline and a No nonsense Badazz God Kratos destroying everythign in his path. I'm telling you now that anyone who gives this game anything less than a 10 is an idiot. It's the best of everything a true Gamer would like in a game and the very best for this Generation. So my local Gamestop opens at 10am and i got there at 9:50am and there was a line out the door (about 30 people) I guess they all called out sick from work like i did lol. Of course I pre ordered the Ultimate Edition and If you didnt well, You're an idiot because Pandora's Box looks awesome and is bigger than I thpught it would be.(great place to keep my God of War collection:) Remember If you're thinking of getting this game you're an Idiot! If you're running out the door, tripping on that banana peel and end up in the hospital on the way to Gamestop you're an half idiot. If you make it there get the game and then go have Lunch afterwards before heading home to play, you're a Moran!. If you make it there in one piece , get the game, and come straight home and Play the Greatest Game to this point in time, well you're a Genius:) Hey just to let you in on a little secret! Even Fanboys were on line to pick up a Ps3 and the game lmao. Never thought I'd see the day. I'd like to give a Shoutout to Telegraph who scored Bayonatta above this Game lmao. (look for them on Metacritic reviews at the bottom) where they belong in the basement. Seemed they had to close there comment thread because real gamers caught on to their Bias and called them out! Guess they couldnt handle the pressure. The pressure of seeing GOW take flight and they didn' t have a boarding pass! Expand
  59. Oct 28, 2012
    8
    Ended it yesterday. What a game! Brutal, gory and completely satisfying! Never the less it's a linear adventure not much to my liking. The linearity not the adventure. The quick time events are also a pain in the a.. but all the rest is just to good and satisfying so who cares? God of War III rocks and Kratos is the ultimate bad ass.
  60. Mar 29, 2014
    9
    The scope and scale of this game is unprecedented with one of the most memorable openings to a video game ever. The combat is fluid the graphics are extraordinary and the bosses are some of the best.
  61. Aug 11, 2010
    9
    The vast majority of modern games continually strive for an immersive, interactive-movie experience and with this in mind God of War III is essentially flawless. It is far and away the best action game of this console generation, matching and besting its predecessors for brutal, primeval beauty.
  62. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = Pacing issues don't affect the fact that this is one of the greatest action titles to date. One of the best looking as well.
  63. JoshW
    Mar 20, 2010
    10
    A shamelessly exploitative game, EA have made no effort to accommodate for what was already a significant fan-base, it wouldn't surprise me if the direction they've taken C&C4 succeeds in alienating more people than it attracts. I can understand that the format was getting old (even though I personally still enjoyed it) and that some went so far as to consider it A shamelessly exploitative game, EA have made no effort to accommodate for what was already a significant fan-base, it wouldn't surprise me if the direction they've taken C&C4 succeeds in alienating more people than it attracts. I can understand that the format was getting old (even though I personally still enjoyed it) and that some went so far as to consider it 'dated' - I could even understand it if they had changed the 'old' format in a way which was original and corresponded with the rest of the series. However, the way in which they have so blatantly ripped off Dawn of War and other RTS 'rivals' is unbelievable. I don't even really think that those sort of games are rivals, most of the people I know into strategy games play both, and for different reasons! To make things worse, the only redeeming features that this game actually has are the ones robbed from these other games, which leaves not much to praise in C&C4. I'm sorry Ea, but you've murdered and raped (in that order) a wonderful game. Be ashamed of yourselves. Expand
  64. DavidC
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Absolutely EPIC!!!! It hits on all the emotion, excitement, and lust you could possibly want from a game such as God of War. It exceeds expectations and gives yet more reason why Playstation 3 has caught up to the 360 as far as exclusive classics that sell systems.
  65. mediaes
    Mar 17, 2010
    10
    It really delivers with extremely upgraded graphics, a quality soundtrack, easy-to-learn controls, varied weapons and powers, challenging battles, enemy diversity, plenty of boss battles, immersive puzzles, a story that ties up the loose ends, and much more. My only gripe is the lack of innovation.
  66. Mark
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Production like a Hollywood blockbuster this really cant be touched. Love the combat-almost as much as the cut-scenes which play off each other nicely. Like the subtle changes in gameplay, like after you floor Helios you raise and lower your hand to block out the blinding light. Or when you take out the God with the Icarus boots, you walk towards him at snails pace Absolutely incredible. Production like a Hollywood blockbuster this really cant be touched. Love the combat-almost as much as the cut-scenes which play off each other nicely. Like the subtle changes in gameplay, like after you floor Helios you raise and lower your hand to block out the blinding light. Or when you take out the God with the Icarus boots, you walk towards him at snails pace before ripping his limbs off. Genius. Sad that the trilogy seems to have been concluded but sure this won't be the last we hear from this mangod! Simply incredible!!!! Expand
  67. JohnA
    Mar 30, 2010
    8
    Basically, your regular God of War formula- this time with better graphics. Thats about all that's changed and I guess for most that is enough to spend $59.99 on 10 hours of gameplay. As usual, this is a rent and should not be bought unless you are trading games in for store credit or something like that. Repetative, overly challenging in some parts, and a cheap way to steal your Basically, your regular God of War formula- this time with better graphics. Thats about all that's changed and I guess for most that is enough to spend $59.99 on 10 hours of gameplay. As usual, this is a rent and should not be bought unless you are trading games in for store credit or something like that. Repetative, overly challenging in some parts, and a cheap way to steal your money. I pretty sure we all know how the whole thing ends considering the Santa Monica developers work.....which is why this game has no story, suspense, or any elements of a "Game of the Year" title. Just buckets and buckets of blood...pointless killing. Just mashing your x , triangle, circle and square buttons will be the whole game. I regret buying this game, don't make the same mistake. This game is all hype and has not assets other than HD graphics. Expand
  68. WillC
    Apr 1, 2010
    8
    Great game. Epic boss battles and a fun story. Battle mechanics are as deep as you want them to be but in fairness the whole game can be completed using the Square, Square, Triangle combo. It's a short campaign clocking in at around 7 hours, I did however play through it twice so I'd estimate about a 20 hour game here to see everything with no replayability once you've seen Great game. Epic boss battles and a fun story. Battle mechanics are as deep as you want them to be but in fairness the whole game can be completed using the Square, Square, Triangle combo. It's a short campaign clocking in at around 7 hours, I did however play through it twice so I'd estimate about a 20 hour game here to see everything with no replayability once you've seen everything and gotten all the trophies. Rent this and enjoy it, a purchase may leave a sour taste in your mouth when in a few days you see it gathering dust in a corner somewhere. Expand
  69. WilliamH
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Although it's nigh-on perfect, and a real showcase for the Playstation 3, the game's let down by using the same horrible old quick-time events, button mashing and annoying analogue stick gestural stuff that have, to be fair, been stock in trade of the series since game one. It just feels a little disappointing that for a game this utterly fantastic, the developers couldn't Although it's nigh-on perfect, and a real showcase for the Playstation 3, the game's let down by using the same horrible old quick-time events, button mashing and annoying analogue stick gestural stuff that have, to be fair, been stock in trade of the series since game one. It just feels a little disappointing that for a game this utterly fantastic, the developers couldn't come up with a better way of delivering the set-piece action that's so vital to the title's success. Expand
  70. TylerH
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    Simply epic. CGI like graphics during gameplay, smooth, fast, and furious action... this is the game to get if you've got a ps3, and if not, a system seller. Word of warning, play on normal, you get to experience the game in all its glory. Any higher of a difficulty just makes it unbearable and an annoyance to even try. While it has its knocks, it does what it does so well that all Simply epic. CGI like graphics during gameplay, smooth, fast, and furious action... this is the game to get if you've got a ps3, and if not, a system seller. Word of warning, play on normal, you get to experience the game in all its glory. Any higher of a difficulty just makes it unbearable and an annoyance to even try. While it has its knocks, it does what it does so well that all can be forgiven. Hopefully this isn't the end for Kratos, maybe another game in the future or a movie. Expand
  71. AndrewNartey
    Mar 17, 2010
    10
    After reading many reviews and finally getting my hands on this game - I can honestly say that this game deserves a perfect 10. It's just so fun to play AND that's what Intend to do - over and over again! Did I mention the graphics... there's no other game that looks as good as this!
  72. MIKEW
    Mar 17, 2010
    10
    Great game with amazing graphics,gameplay and Boss battles if your a fan of the series this game is a must buy. if youve never heard of Kratos I suggest you pick up the GOW collection and start an INCREDIBLE journey. GOW3 is by far the best in the series and Im very sad to see the story end. If you havent picked this game up and you like games I dont know whats wrong with you.
  73. SaketK
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    Amazing.... Very intense.. I like the story telling aspect of this game. In GOW 3, it seems like the game starts from climax from very beginning and the action is really ruthless. Its the stuff fantasies are made of. Superb Gore and blood splattering action Go get it .
  74. MacksenT
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    There's a lot to be said about God of War, some of it good and some of it bad. The game is nonetheless a hit that now spans 2 generations of the Sony console. Starting just 5 years ago, players were introduced to Kratos, the Spartan warrior who would challenge the Gods. At first, Kratos finds himself a tool of the Gods sent on what is later revealed as a fool's errand to kill There's a lot to be said about God of War, some of it good and some of it bad. The game is nonetheless a hit that now spans 2 generations of the Sony console. Starting just 5 years ago, players were introduced to Kratos, the Spartan warrior who would challenge the Gods. At first, Kratos finds himself a tool of the Gods sent on what is later revealed as a fool's errand to kill Ares, the former god of war who overstepped his bounds in the eyes of Kratos. In the second installment, Kratos does as he pleases resulting in being stripped of power and put to death by Zeus only to find within himself the resolve for vengeance which lets him claw his way from Hades fueled by revenge and with the support of the Titans locked away by the gods. Expand
  75. RandyB
    Mar 19, 2010
    10
    Kratos really brings the destruction of olympus! god of war 3 is finally here and it comes packed with combat of titanic proportions and thats not a pun. Kratos is back, this time to finish his journey and get his revenge on all who betrayed him which increases in scale as the game progresses, Everything this series does right returns more polished and refined then before. However thats Kratos really brings the destruction of olympus! god of war 3 is finally here and it comes packed with combat of titanic proportions and thats not a pun. Kratos is back, this time to finish his journey and get his revenge on all who betrayed him which increases in scale as the game progresses, Everything this series does right returns more polished and refined then before. However thats not to say that gow3 doesnt have its faults, in particular i found the flight sequences the worst part of the third installment, but for the majority of the game is gifted with amazing gameplay, exciting new mechanics and graphics that make even this final fantasy fan go wow. Everything is masterfully told from the story to the puzzles and everything in between. The enviroments are loads of fun to venture through and the character animations are top notch, and yes theres a sex mini-game. If your a fan of the series iam sure your all ready heads over heels in love with god of war 3 but it still needs to be said that this game is a fitting conclusion to the legendary reign of kratos. Expand
  76. deanw
    Mar 23, 2010
    10
    ok 1st this game is utterly violent and should not be played by children, those that are squeemish also should steer clear of this game. Yes it is a god snuff fest and if your not familiar with the prior gow series it is a tale of how there are no more greek gods coz the man whos anger knows knows bounds ended their lives. this genre of game isnt for everyone, much like fps or mmo's ok 1st this game is utterly violent and should not be played by children, those that are squeemish also should steer clear of this game. Yes it is a god snuff fest and if your not familiar with the prior gow series it is a tale of how there are no more greek gods coz the man whos anger knows knows bounds ended their lives. this genre of game isnt for everyone, much like fps or mmo's arent for everyone, i can understand that. Undeniably the gow franchise done for this game genre what gta or wow or modern warefare did for theirs, defined and set the standard. this is a genre with epic boss battles and is a button mash fest with great, no an epic story that many contenders have tried to emulate, conan, darkiders dantes inferno and gow 1 and 2 pushed the envalope on ps2 graphically as did chains of olympus on psp now that kratos has made his way to the next gen consoles graphics and the immense scale of boss fights has again been redefined. Mrking a game down because it plays like its predessessors is like saying gta 4 should be marked down because it plays like prior gta games, this is a pathetic excuse to mark a game down, mark it down for gfx, sound or story or bugs fair enough. Everyone will now be demanding better quality games from their respective xbox360's and playstation 3's. Kratos is back and glorious violently stunning hd. Hail to the king baby, he is back. Expand
  77. JakeJ
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    The trilogy of God of War now spans the two latest PlayStation consoles, the first being a smash success and the second having people declaring that there was still plenty of life left in the PS2. Episode three comes to us in full HD with the grunt of a few cell processors behind the technology in the black box. You'd be among good company if you already had high expectations for God The trilogy of God of War now spans the two latest PlayStation consoles, the first being a smash success and the second having people declaring that there was still plenty of life left in the PS2. Episode three comes to us in full HD with the grunt of a few cell processors behind the technology in the black box. You'd be among good company if you already had high expectations for God of War 3, most people that seem to be drawn to this particular action hack and slash game like flies to the proverbial. So the scene is set for a rather monumental release, expectations to be dashed or dreams to be fulfilled? Expand
  78. DallasB
    Mar 21, 2010
    8
    First off, if your a reviewer, don't give a game a perfect score but then say it is almost perfect, give it a 9. To rate and compare this game one must look at other games of this type, Hack and Slash Platformer! Comparisons should be done with similar games such as the very under developed Dante. If only Dante would have been done on this Grand of a scale!! Most of the game is First off, if your a reviewer, don't give a game a perfect score but then say it is almost perfect, give it a 9. To rate and compare this game one must look at other games of this type, Hack and Slash Platformer! Comparisons should be done with similar games such as the very under developed Dante. If only Dante would have been done on this Grand of a scale!! Most of the game is action platforming with very few moments of just holding the controller and doing nothing. The cut scenes feel like they are in the appropriate places and don't interrupt the flow of the game. The quick time events seem appropriate with keying together the right button pushes at the right time. I did find myself wishing that someone else could do the quick time events so I could focus on watching the gorgeous gore and mayhem. One Quick time event involved a Rock Band or GH comparison as you had to press buttons in a musical order to accomplish a task, I felt this was a poor attempt to be like Rock Band and did not need to be in the game. The Biggest issue I have with the game was the Camera! This seems to be a problem in all 3D spaced Platformers! I died more then a few times due to a poor camera placement, but this is something I am accustomed to in these types of games, but until developers get this fixed a perfect score is out of the question...and should be for all reviewers. Settling for poor camera and giving a game a perfect score is telling developers it is ok to accept bad camera angles because it will be ignored. If you enjoy Hack and Slash platforming then this game is for you. Replay is very low, as it is on all platformers, unless your a Trophy or Achievement hunter. DLC would be a welcome infusion to this type of game, giving it life long after shelf birthing and would keep people from rushing to trade in this game and flooding the market with used copies! So Camera Angle -1 Assumed no DLC or very little -1 8 out of 10...a definite must buy! Expand
  79. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Hugely cinematic, excellent combat, and the highest production values I've seen. There is some need for innovation to keep this franchise fresh, but it doesn't spoil the experience. If you're an action game fan, get it & love it.
  80. Sep 12, 2010
    8
    A very Reasonable, fun game.

    Doesn't really suit my tastes though, and the Aesthetics and premise of the game are kinda a turn off. The graphics, violence and other miscellaneous things in the game are phenomenal, but again, not my style.

    A very solid, enjoyable game with few flaws, worth the price.
  81. Oct 10, 2010
    9
    Graphic, best of the best, damn, first game I have play that have no jaggy at all. Characters model look phenomenal with great details.

    Gameplay is better than GoW2 and GoW1, but still lack a few things that could have make it much better. Sound and musics, perfect, great voices acting too. The pace isn't that good that was all. I would have give this a 10/10, but its almost the same
    Graphic, best of the best, damn, first game I have play that have no jaggy at all. Characters model look phenomenal with great details.

    Gameplay is better than GoW2 and GoW1, but still lack a few things that could have make it much better.

    Sound and musics, perfect, great voices acting too.

    The pace isn't that good that was all.
    I would have give this a 10/10, but its almost the same thing as GoW2.
    9/10.
    Expand
  82. Dec 25, 2010
    8
    Fantastic game. Though I was very let down by the ending as you can tell Sony Santa Monica cut alot of corners just to appease SCEE.

    Very short game also and I played on the normal setting. Also includes bonus rounds at the end to unlock additional content. Probably if you really push and do all the bonus content up to 20hours of gameplay. If you can pick it up for under
    Fantastic game. Though I was very let down by the ending as you can tell Sony Santa Monica cut alot of corners just to appease SCEE.

    Very short game also and I played on the normal setting. Also includes bonus rounds at the end to unlock additional content.

    Probably if you really push and do all the bonus content up to 20hours of gameplay.

    If you can pick it up for under £20 buy it if not I recommend a definite rental.
    Expand
  83. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best games I've played on the PS3 and it doesn't require you to be a fan to enjoy all of which the game has to offer. Graphics, sound, and controls are all top notch and with an impressive story the player will enjoy. The only thing keeping me from giving it a ten is the last five minutes of the game I felt did not fit. But as to the 18 hours prior, I was engulfed andThis is one of the best games I've played on the PS3 and it doesn't require you to be a fan to enjoy all of which the game has to offer. Graphics, sound, and controls are all top notch and with an impressive story the player will enjoy. The only thing keeping me from giving it a ten is the last five minutes of the game I felt did not fit. But as to the 18 hours prior, I was engulfed and didn't want out. Expand
  84. Mar 6, 2011
    8
    Absolutely phenomenal. It kept me engaged the entire time. Rarely did it get boring, though (for me) it got a bit difficult at times fighting. Good story, brutal fighting, memorable moments, great score, etc.
  85. Apr 14, 2011
    8
    Smooth gameplay, and lots of gore a great finale to a great title.. I do not have anything bad to say except that it's just like the other god of war games, except with better graphics.
  86. Feb 3, 2012
    10
    So immersing. The soundtrack is just amazing. The graphics are the best i have seen on PS3. Gameplay still the same as God of War II but it feels more redefined. Story isn't the best of the franchise. A must play for PS3 haters.
  87. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    Absolutely amazing visuals, music and blood fighting make this game one of the most intensive and thrilling adventure in all history. of course, it's the end story of Kratos, but i hope there will be next games in this brutal universe.
  88. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    All these 360 fanboys need to get off these PS3 reviews. This is truly the best game in the series and it was a graphical beast. With nice 60 fps, this game was among the best looking games ever made. The blood and gore explodes on the screen, and it wraps up the series on a really high note. Lots of diversity in game play and made me not want to stop playing it. GOW3 was the best game ofAll these 360 fanboys need to get off these PS3 reviews. This is truly the best game in the series and it was a graphical beast. With nice 60 fps, this game was among the best looking games ever made. The blood and gore explodes on the screen, and it wraps up the series on a really high note. Lots of diversity in game play and made me not want to stop playing it. GOW3 was the best game of 2010 in my opinion. The long journey was extremely rewarding the farther you went through the game, and the ending was amazing. The only thing i had a problem with was the replay value, but im glad it didn't turn into some lame COD freak out session for n00bs. If you want to get this game, ignore these bad reviews, because they're just a bunch of 360 trolls that are mad that their games can't get higher. Amazing. 10/10 Expand
  89. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    i know this review is a little late but i picked up god of war 3(me being a ps3 owner just had to pick it up a give it a shot) first thing that im gonna say is that this game is probably one of the best ps3 exclusives Ive played. god of war3 has a great storyline which i thoroughly enjoyed along with over the top action and buckets of blood and gore. i would also like to point out that thei know this review is a little late but i picked up god of war 3(me being a ps3 owner just had to pick it up a give it a shot) first thing that im gonna say is that this game is probably one of the best ps3 exclusives Ive played. god of war3 has a great storyline which i thoroughly enjoyed along with over the top action and buckets of blood and gore. i would also like to point out that the bosses in the game are epic and massive on a huge scale. so if you like mythology tons of blood and gore and epic fights by all means pick this game up now. this game gets a 10/10 in my scale for just being so dam fun Expand
  90. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Kratos is even more angry this time around and he's ready to make Mount Olympus pay. This game is one of the definitive reasons to own a PS3. It's also one of the best games this generation. The story is great and the gameplay is packed with the insane amount of violence that God of War is known for. Some of the best boss battles of all time are found within this game as well. Don'tKratos is even more angry this time around and he's ready to make Mount Olympus pay. This game is one of the definitive reasons to own a PS3. It's also one of the best games this generation. The story is great and the gameplay is packed with the insane amount of violence that God of War is known for. Some of the best boss battles of all time are found within this game as well. Don't call this a button-masher. Try it on Chaos mode and you'll change your mind. If you haven't played this yet, do yourself a favor and pick it up along with the God of War HD Collection. Expand
  91. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    This is a hard one to review. It has been a while since I have played it, I think I beat it in December 2010, but I remember being disappointed. Now, I am a huge God of War fan, I remember following the first one before it ever came out watching all the videos from e3, and loved twisted metal, so I had high hope for the first game, and it absolutely blew me away, The second game was theThis is a hard one to review. It has been a while since I have played it, I think I beat it in December 2010, but I remember being disappointed. Now, I am a huge God of War fan, I remember following the first one before it ever came out watching all the videos from e3, and loved twisted metal, so I had high hope for the first game, and it absolutely blew me away, The second game was the first game I actually beat completely and It exceeded my even higher exceptions that I had had from playing the first game. Then I played the PSP chains of olympus and loved it, and was amazed at how well it was for the limitation of the PSP, but still thought it was an enjoyable game.

    Now finally for GOW 3, this game is epic, and is GOW, but some where some things that should out to me that kept this game from being what the other ones are. First off I loved how they made changes to the basic formula, the magic for instance is better used and the addition of an action bar for ranged weapons like the bow was a smart move because I hardly ever used it in GOW 2 because it used my magic and I preferred other things. There are numerous other small additions as well like charging into solders and grabbing them while running, and climbing a cyclops attacking, it is all additions to help perfect the combat. Now what I felt disappointed about was the color scheme, which was dark the whole way through, which granted did fit the story but to me I got kind of old. The aerial Labyrinth: the prison of Pandora and Daedalus was especially dark I thought and just could have been more impressive with more color to the art. The vistas were limited or the same one was used, ( the one where the option to look ), and the whole game felt kinda small. This is hard to describe but it was felt especially since that is a lot of backtracking in the game it became more of an almost open world game of sorts where you had one big level and smaller levels in between that you would go to and would eventually go back to. Now this will be misleading to those who haven't played the game but it makes sense to me. Anyways so to me it made the whole game feel smaller and one part in particular that I thought would have been awesome was when you are climbing from the bottom of the chain to get to the top you start climbing and then it blacks out and you appear on top, This makes sense because you probably would have spent like 1 hour climbing the dang thing, But to me it would have been absolutely amazing and probably would have fixed the Epic feel for me to see the camera zoom all the way out so you could see the levels at the bottom of the chain, and the levels that are above the chain and then the camera zoom in and you would be on he top. That would have been epic, but I guess that is a technical impossibility. All in all this is a great game, I also loved how there were times where it was slower and you finally got to really meet different characters like the blacksmith for example, and this game is an obvious for anyone who is on the fence but I wanted to be a little more picky to help those thinking about making a new one.

    All in all the graphics are amazing, the combat is truly perfect now, but the overall darkness of it all, and I don't even mean just the dark feeling but lack of lighting along with the use of it all being felt like it was all in the same level, didn't help me feel like I was in another kratos adventure like the others.
    Expand
  92. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Excellent game. It has a very good story, great gameplay, it's challenging, and it exceeds expectations for a hack and slash game. The only problem I had with the game is so few boss fights. I thought the minotaur and Ares fights were great and after watching what the studio had to cut out of the game, I kinda feel that they wanted to add more but they didn't have the budget. :(
  93. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    This game is oh so close to a 10. If I had to put an extra decimal in there I'd have it as a 9.4, so just not quite enough to round up to that next number. Either way, this is a plain awesome game. It looks great, especially if you play it right after playing the first two in the series, the difference really shows what the PS3 is capable of over the PS2, as it very well should. It's stillThis game is oh so close to a 10. If I had to put an extra decimal in there I'd have it as a 9.4, so just not quite enough to round up to that next number. Either way, this is a plain awesome game. It looks great, especially if you play it right after playing the first two in the series, the difference really shows what the PS3 is capable of over the PS2, as it very well should. It's still a fun thing to do. The controls and overall gameplay for this game are not much different than the rest of the series. It's easy to play, and the difficulty levels are actually very well done. If you're more of a person who just wants to mash, the easy level is right for you. If you're someone who likes to incorporate more strategy, then playing on a higher difficulty will make you happy. The story for this game is nothing short of epic as well. As for the gore and nudity, I'm not someone who will be swung either way by that stuff, I've been out of high school for over a decade, I don't automatically associate either of those things with coolness anymore.

    As a whole this is a great game. I had a lot of fun throughout playing this game. There was not a single dull moment throughout. This is a game that will clearly be seen as one of the better games throughout this generation, if not an all time great itself.
    Expand
  94. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    Perfect game. Can't seem to find any cons except the ending. Game play is awesome. weapons are much more deadlier then previous GOW games. Awesome boss fights. You get to fight Titan and kill him while he begs for mercy. Simply the BEST Hash and Slash game ever made.
  95. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Just perfect in every way.
    Especially like the dynamic and dimensional battle stages on the huge thearchy, which is so epic, so exciting, so fast and so diverse. Controlling Kratos to fleet in these stages makes you fully appreciate his great vigor and god power although he is physically tiny.
    Masterpiece does not need words to boast. Just enjoy.
    A must-play PS3 exclusive.
  96. TroyR
    Mar 24, 2010
    9
    All the positives in all the reviews are valid, and I shall refrain from simply repeating them. Major PRO: The extra weapons you receive are all useful and fun. They do not stray too far in technique from the default Blades, but they have various attack strengths and effectiveness, particularly against different enemies--allowing for a lot of depth and tactical approaches to battles. Why All the positives in all the reviews are valid, and I shall refrain from simply repeating them. Major PRO: The extra weapons you receive are all useful and fun. They do not stray too far in technique from the default Blades, but they have various attack strengths and effectiveness, particularly against different enemies--allowing for a lot of depth and tactical approaches to battles. Why not a 10? Well, the last weapon you get comes late in the game, so there's not a ton of time to play with it. Also, the overall structure of the game may strike gamers as a bit less fulfilling than previous entries. Before, Kratos embarked on true journeys--traveling from one exotic locale to the next in true 'questing' fashion. GoW III plays a little more like Symphony of the Night--where Kratos must discover the various nooks, crannies, pathways, and puzzles throughout Mt. Olympus in order to reach the summit. From a story standpoint, it allows characters to be revisited and allows the plot to weave around--a bit more sophisticated than just, meet new character, kill, new character, repeat. The downside is that you cannot have GoW II-style bonus playthroughs with all your weapons and items from the get-go--if you have played Symphony of the Night or similar games, you know why that is. Expand
  97. Conrads
    Mar 17, 2010
    10
    An undeniable amazing gaming experience that will be remembered for many years to come. Gameplay is fun and addictive. Graphics are better than any other game on the market. Sound and presentation is extremely engaging. Violent, badass fun.
  98. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    God of War 3 is pretty good game. It does most of the stuff pretty good and boss battles are awesome. Unfortunely the ending is absolutely annoying and bad, feels like trying to make the game longer with really useless means. I recommend Ninja Gaiden games over this, even though they are difficult.
  99. Nov 3, 2010
    9
    this game looks amazing the graphics are some of the best ive seen . every thing is extremely well detailed . this game is simply brutal in the blood and gore department i dont think ive seen voilance this over the top . i found myself asking myself at the end of this game " is there any one Kratos wont kill?" the boss fights are fantastic . i did find the final battle abit of a let downthis game looks amazing the graphics are some of the best ive seen . every thing is extremely well detailed . this game is simply brutal in the blood and gore department i dont think ive seen voilance this over the top . i found myself asking myself at the end of this game " is there any one Kratos wont kill?" the boss fights are fantastic . i did find the final battle abit of a let down . it doesnt suck or any thing but compared to some of the other epic boss fights just isnt as good . id also wish they would get rid of the QTE in this game and all others . i like to sit , wach and enjoy some of theese amazing sceens but instead i have to look for button pressing events which are not hard to do but i just wana admire whats going on with out looking for buttons to hit. the combat is just as good as prevous GOW games . the only real anoying parts where when you are flying through the tunnels . if you hit one object expect to hit abunch more because you get blinded abit and have virtauly 0 time to react to dodging the nexts obstical. all in all though its a great game dont think GOW fans will be disapointed . Expand
  100. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Amazing!This game is so unbelievable.I have a backwards compatible ps3 just to play all of the god of wars.These games really speak for themselves.From the get go it's amazing,no waiting for incredible just the minute you start you say WOW.I'm for great games,I've played all of the Halo's and If I had to chose then I would pick the God of war's.Halo is awsome and They had a good run for 10Amazing!This game is so unbelievable.I have a backwards compatible ps3 just to play all of the god of wars.These games really speak for themselves.From the get go it's amazing,no waiting for incredible just the minute you start you say WOW.I'm for great games,I've played all of the Halo's and If I had to chose then I would pick the God of war's.Halo is awsome and They had a good run for 10 years but look what this franchise did in just 5 years.I can't get enough,and I will be playing these 3 games for a long time! Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 101 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 101
  2. Negative: 0 out of 101
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    90
    If you liked the previous God of War titles, you're going to feel right at home with this one.
  2. But despite God of War III being afraid of flying too close to the sun -lest those carefully crafted wings should melt- the journey is relentlessly exciting; a blistering spectacle told in blood and thunder. Truly epic, then. And I defy anyone to argue with the definition this time around.
  3. God of War 3 is fantastic, and has at least three scenes that are utterly magnificent. Design and gameplay-wise, it's absolutely stunning. The downside is that it doesn't have that clear cut perfection that its predecessor had; the polish shine that brilliantly lit up our eyes when we first enjoyed God of War 2.