• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
God of War III Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 101 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2729 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game which allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who haveSet in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game which allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who have betrayed him. Armed with double-chained blades, and an array of new weapons and magic for this iteration of the trilogy, Kratos must take on mythology’s darkest creatures while solving intricate puzzles throughout his merciless quest to destroy Olympus. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
God of War III Remastered - PS4 Announcement Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 101
  2. Negative: 0 out of 101
  1. 100
    Kratos slices himself amazingly through Gods and their Minions. God of War 3 is the Olympus of action games.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    God of War III is beautiful. It's bloody. It's brilliant. But it's not perfect. [Apr 2010, p.44]
  3. Both an amazing technological achievement and an exuberant gaming experience, God of War III deserves a place in your game collection. If you've been asking yourself what the Playstation 3 is really capable of and thought Uncharted 2 was as good as it gets, wait until you pop this bad boy in your PS3.
  4. God of War III is an exhilarating tale, and one which showcases just what a good development team can do with some predictable mechanics. Most of the other games that exist in the genre have been blasted if not into obscurity, then certainly into irrelevance. Although God of War III remains unapologetically a hack 'n' slash title, just about everything has been improved, tweaked, expanded, polished, and refined.
  5. The return of Kratos is a powerful one, and the years Sony Santa Monica have spent on polishing every segment of the game have really paid off.
  6. It takes everything that made the previous game so awesome and refines it. It continues the story, but it makes the effort to give more meaning to Kratos's journey and its eventual ending. It takes the previous established combat mechanics and makes them faster, tighter, and more fun than ever.
  7. The strength of the game's opening sequences and some of the bosses really stuck with me, but some of the later levels just felt kind of...bleh. As far as being the show-stopper that blows the rest of the series away, it falls short.

See all 101 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 252
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    God Of War III is the only game i have played more then 7 times non stop.The graphic in the game blow me away,the smoothGod Of War III is the only game i have played more then 7 times non stop.The graphic in the game blow me away,the smooth gameplay,gore,violence,EPIC opening.All you need in an action game.This might be the Game Of The Year for the PS3 System.If you have been following God Of War franchise since the 1st God Of War.There is no point in saying "pass" to this game. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2016
    10
    God of War III ao meu ver é um dos melhores jogo de todos os tempos, eu lembro que comprei esse jogo no lançamento, e foram as melhores horasGod of War III ao meu ver é um dos melhores jogo de todos os tempos, eu lembro que comprei esse jogo no lançamento, e foram as melhores horas gasta da minha vida no video game, Kratos perto de terminar a sua vingança, um começo épico, Poseidon um dos chefes mais incrivel que eu ja vi, visualmente impecavel, e morte dele é brutal, a cada chefe mais incrivel, Hades, Apolo (que tem uma morte brutal tambem), Hermes (como eu odeio esse cara, foi muito bom ver a morte dele), Hercules (bem dificil, mais vale muito apena pegar a sua arma) e Zeus (muito dificil vencer ele no começo, mais depois voce consegue com mais facilidade), temos quebra-cabeça dificeis, mais os do primeiro jogo é mais complicado, o quebra-cabeça do Labirinto nao é dificil de resolver, o complicado é os inimigos que aparece, e o final é excelente. Nota 10. que venha God of War na mitologia Nordica. Nota 10 Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Hugely cinematic, excellent combat, and the highest production values I've seen. There is some need for innovation to keep this franchiseHugely cinematic, excellent combat, and the highest production values I've seen. There is some need for innovation to keep this franchise fresh, but it doesn't spoil the experience. If you're an action game fan, get it & love it. Collapse
  4. MatthewL
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    It is simply amazing. I could never get into the other GoW games because the hero and the power of the PS2 just didn't do it for me. Now It is simply amazing. I could never get into the other GoW games because the hero and the power of the PS2 just didn't do it for me. Now on the PS3 Kratos seems to be as powerful as the PS2 only wished it could deliver. The cinematic feel alone is enough for people to buy GoW lll. Within the first 15 minutes of the game you're fighting monsters that don't even fit on the screen! When watching this on a 47" beast of a TV, I almost feel compelled to donate money to Santa Monica studios just for justifying the purchase of the $2,000+ HDTV. Expand
  5. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    Stig Asmussen did what no one else dared do - he made God of War fun to play. GOW 1 and 2 suffered from tedious set pieces, poor placement ofStig Asmussen did what no one else dared do - he made God of War fun to play. GOW 1 and 2 suffered from tedious set pieces, poor placement of checkpoints, and puzzles that ground the fun and action to a halt. Amsussen did the most obvious thing and removed aspects of the previous games that made them an aggravation. What's left is a title that is a joy to play through and through. Incredible set pieces - check. Outstanding graphics - check. Compelling story - check. Puzzles that don't ruin the flow of the game - check. GOW3 is a celebration of the action-adventure genre. Eagerly awaiting Asmussen's next projects. A remarkable achievement. Expand
  6. Dec 9, 2014
    9
    An epic blood-fuelled (presumable) finale to the Kratos saga. The plot may be a little thin compared to previous installments - it's basicallyAn epic blood-fuelled (presumable) finale to the Kratos saga. The plot may be a little thin compared to previous installments - it's basically kill all the gods - but the gorgeous graphics and unequalled set pieces are a joy to behold. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2017
    0
    This is a fricken emberisment. The story Ending is soo sTUPID. All God of War fans have been writing the fanfiction for what was going to beThis is a fricken emberisment. The story Ending is soo sTUPID. All God of War fans have been writing the fanfiction for what was going to be next game since GoW tow!! and the FANFICTION IS BEETER. The developers friked up and made stupid game. Expand

See all 252 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. God of War III: Inside the Reviews

    God of War III: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: March 16, 2010
    The third installment in the "God of War" series is one of the best-looking games ever released, and the year's top title for the PS3. Here's why.