God of War III PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
God of War III Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 101 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2682 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game which allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who haveSet in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game which allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who have betrayed him. Armed with double-chained blades, and an array of new weapons and magic for this iteration of the trilogy, Kratos must take on mythology’s darkest creatures while solving intricate puzzles throughout his merciless quest to destroy Olympus. [SCEA] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 101
  2. Negative: 0 out of 101
  1. 100
    Kratos slices himself amazingly through Gods and their Minions. God of War 3 is the Olympus of action games.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    100
    God of War III is beautiful. It's bloody. It's brilliant. But it's not perfect. [Apr 2010, p.44]
  3. Both an amazing technological achievement and an exuberant gaming experience, God of War III deserves a place in your game collection. If you've been asking yourself what the Playstation 3 is really capable of and thought Uncharted 2 was as good as it gets, wait until you pop this bad boy in your PS3.
  4. God of War III is an exhilarating tale, and one which showcases just what a good development team can do with some predictable mechanics. Most of the other games that exist in the genre have been blasted if not into obscurity, then certainly into irrelevance. Although God of War III remains unapologetically a hack 'n' slash title, just about everything has been improved, tweaked, expanded, polished, and refined.
  5. The return of Kratos is a powerful one, and the years Sony Santa Monica have spent on polishing every segment of the game have really paid off.
  6. It takes everything that made the previous game so awesome and refines it. It continues the story, but it makes the effort to give more meaning to Kratos's journey and its eventual ending. It takes the previous established combat mechanics and makes them faster, tighter, and more fun than ever.
  7. The strength of the game's opening sequences and some of the bosses really stuck with me, but some of the later levels just felt kind of...bleh. As far as being the show-stopper that blows the rest of the series away, it falls short.

See all 101 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 250
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    God Of War III is the only game i have played more then 7 times non stop.The graphic in the game blow me away,the smoothGod Of War III is the only game i have played more then 7 times non stop.The graphic in the game blow me away,the smooth gameplay,gore,violence,EPIC opening.All you need in an action game.This might be the Game Of The Year for the PS3 System.If you have been following God Of War franchise since the 1st God Of War.There is no point in saying "pass" to this game. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2016
    10
    When i played God of War III 2 years ago i thought it was a very abridge game, but when i sat down, put the controller in my hands and playedWhen i played God of War III 2 years ago i thought it was a very abridge game, but when i sat down, put the controller in my hands and played it from beginning to end 2 years after that...i think i was too quick in my decision...THIS is the BEST God of War game there has ever been.

    STORY: God of War III begins right where God of War II left off, with the Titans climbing Mount of Olympus (And no that is not a Spoiler at this point because ,c'mon, it's been almost 10 years since God of War II launched). When the God's notice this, they all go attack the Titans. Poseidon ,specifically, goes for Gaia, which is the one holding Kratos. After a very cool boss battle and epic tutorial. Poseidon gets killed by Kratos and from there on out your journey to Zeus begins.

    PRESENTATION: The jump from the PS2 to the PS3 is incredibly clear. This game competes with Uncharted 2 for best looking game on the console and it definitely shows what the PS3 is capable of.

    Not only has the Models and animations have improved, but this time the focus where on the lightning effects. Everything projects light in here. From the Blades of Kratos, to the orbs, to even the chests themselves.

    The environments are incredible to look at and the music, once again, helps the atmosphere of the game and when things get tense the music follows.

    My only 2 nitpicks with the presentation is that for one, the game runs at 720p instead of 1080p (probably to get a smooth frame rate without sacrificing the graphics) and 2 of the models look..off to me. And those two are both Gaia and Pandora. Gaia is good for the most part, but i don't like her baby eyes and puppet mouth and Pandora just look derpy as all ****. But aside from those nitpicks the presentation is pretty sweet.

    GAMEPLAY: God of War III doesn't reinvent the wheel for the God of War formula or anything, but it does take everything that made God of War II so incredibly fun and adds some little improvements that just make it overall more strong.

    Little things like making the walls fights and pushing stuff more faster just removes some little annoyingness from the previous games. The ability to rotate stuff at will, dropping to the bottom of ledges, collect 3 eyes, phoenix feathers and the new miniatur horns instead of 5, or being able to approach your enemies with your blades make the game just a lot more fluid.

    And speaking of fluid, the combat system ,for the most part, has remain untouched. You still have your light and heavy attacks, the block button, the magic button and this time they added a new element, the items. Which leads me to:

    Main weapon:

    Blades of Exile: The weapon that you will use all the time. You do combos with it and it contains The Army of Sparta.

    Sub Weapons:

    Claws of Hades: This functions just like the Blades of Exile, aldo i do feel like they are a bit faster. However it does give a Magic ability named "Soul Summon" that i will explain on the magic abilities part.

    Nemean Cestus: You get this things from Hercule and man they hit HARD, you can punch the **** out of your enemies and you can break certain blue rocks with it.

    Nemesis Whip: Just like the Blades of Exile, but you can hold down the button to do multiple hits.

    Magic abilities:

    The Army of Sparta: Your new ability. A bunch of shields come in and trust the enemies with a bunch of spears.

    Blade of Olympus: This time is not used as a weapon, this time is the replacement of the rage of the titans, this time being the Rage of Sparta, and it functions in a very similar way with Kratos getting a boost of speed and strength under a time limit that you refill by hitting enemies and collecting "yellow orbs".

    Soul Summon: When you get the Claws of Hades, you'll get this ability that allows you to spawn Souls from creatures that will fight for you.

    Nemean Roar: You punch the ground and a big wave hurts everyone in range.

    Items:

    Bow of Apollo: It's a bow...you shoot things, but this time you can charge it to burn stuff and it has its own bar so it doesn't take magic away...that's nice.

    Head of Helios: This will allow you to illuminate certain areas to see better and find secrets. Oh! and it also uses the same bar of Apollo's Bow.

    Boots of Hermes: This Boots will allow you to dash into enemies, run on walls and dash in the air. And it also uses the same bar as the Bow and Helios head

    Like you read, the items have a different bar from the magic and each magic is now locked to a specific weapon, but let's be honest, you will use the Blades of Exile and Nemean Cestus and nothing more.

    In previous games, sub-weapons weren't really useful, however here they putted some extra functionalities to them like burn plant with the Bow of Apollo or break blue rocks with Nemean Cestus to make them more useful and have better creativite with the Puzzles (and they do). Overall God of War III deserves that 92 metacritic score and i definitely recommended it to any PS3 user. I'll give it a 10/10.
    Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2010
    10
    Amazing!This game is so unbelievable.I have a backwards compatible ps3 just to play all of the god of wars.These games really speak forAmazing!This game is so unbelievable.I have a backwards compatible ps3 just to play all of the god of wars.These games really speak for themselves.From the get go it's amazing,no waiting for incredible just the minute you start you say WOW.I'm for great games,I've played all of the Halo's and If I had to chose then I would pick the God of war's.Halo is awsome and They had a good run for 10 years but look what this franchise did in just 5 years.I can't get enough,and I will be playing these 3 games for a long time! Expand
  4. MatthewL
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    It is simply amazing. I could never get into the other GoW games because the hero and the power of the PS2 just didn't do it for me. Now It is simply amazing. I could never get into the other GoW games because the hero and the power of the PS2 just didn't do it for me. Now on the PS3 Kratos seems to be as powerful as the PS2 only wished it could deliver. The cinematic feel alone is enough for people to buy GoW lll. Within the first 15 minutes of the game you're fighting monsters that don't even fit on the screen! When watching this on a 47" beast of a TV, I almost feel compelled to donate money to Santa Monica studios just for justifying the purchase of the $2,000+ HDTV. Expand
  5. Jun 13, 2011
    9
    Wow...Just wow.Having been a fan from the beginning I can say that this is the best and most ambitious GOW.Though the gameplay is identical toWow...Just wow.Having been a fan from the beginning I can say that this is the best and most ambitious GOW.Though the gameplay is identical to the previous titles,that matters little when blown away by the scope of this game.Face melting graphics,brutal hack and slash and pure sexyness make this one to remember. Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2015
    9
    Excellent game. Polished.Challenging on harder difficulties. Usually seems fair. Love greek mythology, even though this is their own version.Excellent game. Polished.Challenging on harder difficulties. Usually seems fair. Love greek mythology, even though this is their own version. Controls great.Graphics great.Played though It many times. Beaten all difficulties exept easier 1. 1 of the best of its kind. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2017
    2
    Bon bah un BTA clairement bien réalisé, très joli, bonne VF mais toujours la caméra fixe et les esquives avec le stick droit (c'est débile).Bon bah un BTA clairement bien réalisé, très joli, bonne VF mais toujours la caméra fixe et les esquives avec le stick droit (c'est débile). Cela reste également un gros couloir bourré de scripts et de QTE en tous genres et en tant que BTA, c'est très vite lassant et répétitif : mon pouce a dit non. Un pseudo-jeu tout dans l'esbroufe, le strass et les paillettes. Expand

See all 250 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. God of War III: Inside the Reviews

    God of War III: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: March 16, 2010
    The third installment in the "God of War" series is one of the best-looking games ever released, and the year's top title for the PS3. Here's why.