• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 101 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2376 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game which allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who haveSet in the realm of brutal Greek mythology, God of War III is a single-player game which allows players to take on the climatic role of the ex-Spartan warrior, Kratos, as he scales through the intimidating heights of Mt. Olympus and the dark depths of Hell to seek revenge on those who have betrayed him. Armed with double-chained blades, and an array of new weapons and magic for this iteration of the trilogy, Kratos must take on mythology’s darkest creatures while solving intricate puzzles throughout his merciless quest to destroy Olympus. [SCEA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 101
  2. Negative: 0 out of 101
  1. 100
    Kratos slices himself amazingly through Gods and their Minions. God of War 3 is the Olympus of action games.
  2. God of War III is beautiful. It's bloody. It's brilliant. But it's not perfect. [Apr 2010, p.44]
  3. Both an amazing technological achievement and an exuberant gaming experience, God of War III deserves a place in your game collection. If you've been asking yourself what the Playstation 3 is really capable of and thought Uncharted 2 was as good as it gets, wait until you pop this bad boy in your PS3.
  4. God of War III is an exhilarating tale, and one which showcases just what a good development team can do with some predictable mechanics. Most of the other games that exist in the genre have been blasted if not into obscurity, then certainly into irrelevance. Although God of War III remains unapologetically a hack 'n' slash title, just about everything has been improved, tweaked, expanded, polished, and refined.
  5. The return of Kratos is a powerful one, and the years Sony Santa Monica have spent on polishing every segment of the game have really paid off.
  6. It takes everything that made the previous game so awesome and refines it. It continues the story, but it makes the effort to give more meaning to Kratos's journey and its eventual ending. It takes the previous established combat mechanics and makes them faster, tighter, and more fun than ever.
  7. The strength of the game's opening sequences and some of the bosses really stuck with me, but some of the later levels just felt kind of...bleh. As far as being the show-stopper that blows the rest of the series away, it falls short.

See all 101 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 231
  1. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    God Of War III is the only game i have played more then 7 times non stop.The graphic in the game blow me away,the smoothGod Of War III is the only game i have played more then 7 times non stop.The graphic in the game blow me away,the smooth gameplay,gore,violence,EPIC opening.All you need in an action game.This might be the Game Of The Year for the PS3 System.If you have been following God Of War franchise since the 1st God Of War.There is no point in saying "pass" to this game. Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    Perfect game. Can't seem to find any cons except the ending. Game play is awesome. weapons are much more deadlier then previous GOW games.Perfect game. Can't seem to find any cons except the ending. Game play is awesome. weapons are much more deadlier then previous GOW games. Awesome boss fights. You get to fight Titan and kill him while he begs for mercy. Simply the BEST Hash and Slash game ever made. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    Hugely cinematic, excellent combat, and the highest production values I've seen. There is some need for innovation to keep this franchiseHugely cinematic, excellent combat, and the highest production values I've seen. There is some need for innovation to keep this franchise fresh, but it doesn't spoil the experience. If you're an action game fan, get it & love it. Expand
  4. Mutantclown
    Mar 16, 2010
    10
    This is just a word to every fanboy out there who will come in here to rate the game ZERO when even a 6 or 7 is ridiculous : Everybody who This is just a word to every fanboy out there who will come in here to rate the game ZERO when even a 6 or 7 is ridiculous : Everybody who does this has just as well signed his GAY confession. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best game I've ever played. Graphics and animations are beyond your imagination. Battles are amazing. Brutal, gore game.This is one of the best game I've ever played. Graphics and animations are beyond your imagination. Battles are amazing. Brutal, gore game. Story was nice. Not a difficult game in normal mode. Definitely, you must add it to your collection. I didn't play yet the previous games but I'll definitely get them too. Expand
  6. Dec 1, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game, great history, excellent graphics
    I liked the story, although I felt shorter than the previous two, that if there was a lot more action.The battle against some gods felt very easy, even in hard mode is easy the moment, just need to protect yourself well from the blows. Something that looks very silly, was the ease of movement to get to meet the other gods of Olympus, compared with earlier took forever to get to meet a senior chief.
    The game looks great graphically, detailed scenarios are very beautiful I like the brightness of the scenarios. In the action scenes it shows exactly what was done by Santa Monica, killing any enemies all the blood left in the body of Kratos, as there is nothing remarkable graphics to criticize, and they did a great job.
    Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2014
    4
    Before I start I have to say that God of War and God of War 2 were and probably still are action games of their time. They had just the rightBefore I start I have to say that God of War and God of War 2 were and probably still are action games of their time. They had just the right mix of simplistic action thrown into a great setting. If God of War 3 would have came out in PS2 days instead of 2010 while I probably would be more likely to overlook glaring issues that are present in this game. The first and foremost of them is that apart from graphics the game has not evolved from previous titles and even may have been simplified further in GoW3. The combat itself feel very unresponsive when comparing it with other hack and slash games even not of AAA category like Conan, Sengoku Basara Samurai heroes and Afro Samurai. Not only is it unresponsive but its flow is constantly interrupted by quicklime connected to finishers, counter moves and all the bosses are littered with them instead just letting player fight bosses with weapons of their choice. Since this is a boss heavy title lets talk about bosses. Depending on the difficulty level you can just button mash through all of their attacks or on higher difficulty levels due to inability to cancel combos you can only do 1-2 hits and then wait for boss to do its thing and hope bad camera angle doesn't make you take a hit. Neither of the approaches is very fun. Apart from combat there is platforming and it is terribly executed with atrocious camera angles and jumping technique.
    This GoW game also lacks a story or interesting characters that in some way enhance the experience.
    To me it feels like this game was all about graphic and no substance.
    Expand

See all 231 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. God of War III: Inside the Reviews

    God of War III: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: March 16, 2010
    The third installment in the "God of War" series is one of the best-looking games ever released, and the year's top title for the PS3. Here's why.