• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 184 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: God of War Origins Collection contains both PSP God of War games and upgrades them with HD visuals for play on the PlayStation 3.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Sep 13, 2011
    100
    With enhanced anti-aliased visuals running at 60 fps and 1080p, both games on the PlayStation 3 look about as fantastic as you would expect them to when making the transition from a 480x272 pixel portable screen.
  2. Aug 29, 2011
    91
    It can look a little too dark in places and there's a strange halt or pause at particular points, but overall, this is a package that absolutely cannot be missed. If you never got a chance to play either title on the PSP, you have no choice; get it now.
  3. Sep 18, 2011
    90
    Hopefully this is a sign of things to come. For those of us who aren't into portables it's always deflating to miss out on a part of a series. Thankfully we can now enjoy both of these games at their absolute best.
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    85
    This second collection of ports is an ode to the growth of developer Ready at Dawn. Chains of Olympus feels like good practise, but Ghost of Sparta can stand tall next to the console God of War-games. Together they form a lovely, if not always consistent collection of adventures for Kratos to fight through.
  5. 80
    If only all HD remakes looked like the God of War Collection. Two perfect stories await you for the price of one – what are you waiting for? [Oct 2011]
  6. Sep 20, 2011
    80
    As a HD re-imagining, God of War Collection: Volume 2 does exactly what it should. With excellent controls, trophies and a solid 10 hour action blast split over two games this compilation really excels. Chains of Olympus may be a little outdated, but Ghost of Sparta is well worth your while, especially if you haven't played the PSP versions previously.
  7. Aug 31, 2011
    60
    Would it have made more sense to truly re-make each episode to have them on par with other PS3 productions? The question remains. That being said, the transition to HD and 3D and the addition of the dodge mechanic on the right analog stick will be enough for the fans, or those who didn't have the opportunity to play the PSP originals. If you're among those who actually did, you can ignore this release. Let's take note, as well, that the technical gap between Chains of Olympus and Ghost of Sparta is pretty obvious, this last one being by far the better port of the two.

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Two great games bumped up to HD doesn't get any better. Don't expect GOW3 graphics because remember these are psp games that said its allTwo great games bumped up to HD doesn't get any better. Don't expect GOW3 graphics because remember these are psp games that said its all worth while and a great play for fans or anyone looking to just rip some heads off with a great soundtrack and voice acting. A must own even if you played em on the psp as I did. Collapse
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    (Translate from Portuguese into English)Os dois melhores jogos do PSP no PS3 :) recomendo a todso que gostaram dos jogos anteriores,os(Translate from Portuguese into English)Os dois melhores jogos do PSP no PS3 :) recomendo a todso que gostaram dos jogos anteriores,os fão não vão se decepcionar,gráficos muito bons se levarmos em conta que se trata apenas de uma versão HD de 2 jogos feitos para o PSP Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Two of the best games on the PSP have been made better for the PS3. Now with improved visuals, performance and controls these games areTwo of the best games on the PSP have been made better for the PS3. Now with improved visuals, performance and controls these games are perfect. Gameplay in both games in just as great as you'd expect from a God of War game, the graphics a great especially when considering that these are remastered PSP games, the musical score and voice acting is flawless and the stories are amazing. Buy this collection, it's a bargain price for two very high quality games. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    AWSOME. I never played the originals on the PSP so this was a great opportunity for me. The games look AMAZING and I could not believe aAWSOME. I never played the originals on the PSP so this was a great opportunity for me. The games look AMAZING and I could not believe a handheld could offer such mature and complete experiences. Great HD overhaul, congrats, Sony! MUST NOT BE MISSED. Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2015
    9
    I loved ths 2 games (exept the part u are at helio's temple) and i was happy to play them on ps3.They suit flowless with Kratos' main storyI loved ths 2 games (exept the part u are at helio's temple) and i was happy to play them on ps3.They suit flowless with Kratos' main story but they go any further(but i didn't really care abou this) .The gameplay is awesome although they are psp games and can be compared with ps3 games.If u play them u will understand some new reasons why Kratos is so upset and angry with the Gods Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2013
    9
    This is a great collection of games, two of the best PSP games remastered in high definition and both get trophies with a plantinum. This isThis is a great collection of games, two of the best PSP games remastered in high definition and both get trophies with a plantinum. This is the best way to play these two great games Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    It's still fantastic package for this serie fans, but few things should be made better. First of all - checkpoint system. It's atrocious inIt's still fantastic package for this serie fans, but few things should be made better. First of all - checkpoint system. It's atrocious in CoO and mediocre in GoS. Remastered versions shouldn't have technical problems like this. Graphics might be better, but it's little cons. The most inmportant thing - Kratos has still power to give you many hours of intensive fun. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews