Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    78
    If you don't get sick of the five maps, you will play this one for quite some time as you climb through all 1,000 levels of advancement.
  2. Mar 7, 2012
    75
    For all intents and purposes, the game is technically crude and boasts mild fun at best, in terms of gameplay, but shrewd design decisions save it from the abyss of mediocrity.
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    80
    A few technical limitations aside, it's time to become the impostor and spend an endless amount of hours mindlessly addicted to the high flying, Batman-less action at stake, or the joke's on you for missing out.
  4. 80
    Gotham City Impostors is a fantastic downloadable game for those in love with Team Fortress 2, or those addicted to Call of Duty's leveling system. Even though a lot has been borrowed from other games, Impostors forges an identity all its own.
  5. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    Cheeky, scrappy, and rough around the edges, Gotham City Impostors entertains, often in spite of itself. Anyone who likes multiplayer shooters, but finds the more popular ones too intense for their liking should give this one a look.
  6. Feb 13, 2012
    75
    Gotham City Impostors is frantic fun for shooter fans who want something a little different.
  7. Feb 11, 2012
    80
    There's nothing especially original about Gotham City Impostors' mishmash of multiplayer modes and character progression, but the game goes to such absurd lengths to distinguish itself from the vast field of modern-military mediocrity that you can't help but love it at least a little bit.
  8. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    This is a $15 download, and it packs more than enough content into its frame to balance out the relatively meager 5 maps and 3 modes. Make no mistake, however, Gotham City Impostors stands head and shoulders with every other big-box multiplayer shooter out there.
  9. Feb 10, 2012
    75
    A Call of Duty for the craziest fans of Batman and Joker. Characters flying, hooks, jumps, explosions ... A fun game with lots of humor, that if you know how to stay alive, you can succeed.
  10. Feb 8, 2012
    80
    While some gamers may be turned off by the hundreds of dollars worth of day-one DLC, I felt that the $15 download easily offered a full experience on its own. The large majority of DLC is cosmetic, except for the ability to purchase double-XP time for yourself or your team. It's hard to argue the value included with this title, as it contains a substantial shooter experience, unique weapons and gadgets, and more than enough incentive to keep playing. FPS fans that have tired of the typical shooter formula should find plenty to like about this high-flying, slapstick-heavy download.
  11. Play UK
    Mar 28, 2012
    78
    A thoroughly pointless game when looked at objectively, but that doesn't detract from the fast that Gotham City Imposters is good fun. [Issue#216, p.85]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This game is Awesome! I cant believe there are 1000 levels! I will try my hardest to achieve that level because I don't think this game willThis game is Awesome! I cant believe there are 1000 levels! I will try my hardest to achieve that level because I don't think this game will get old. This was a brilliant idea for a game; I just hope it will be supported throughout the year. This game deserves attention because it is a fantastic game 10/10 Full Review »
  2. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    I really enjoy this game. For 15 bucks this one is a no brainer. It may not be near as deep as cod or bf3, but in my opinion its a awesomeI really enjoy this game. For 15 bucks this one is a no brainer. It may not be near as deep as cod or bf3, but in my opinion its a awesome break from both those games. The controls feel tight, the ability to choose your own gadgets and attire. True the 200 bucks worth of dlc is a bit weird on day 1, but they aren't forcing you to buy it and it in no way makes the 15 dollars worth of game you get any less enjoyable. For price and amount of time i have enjoyed it thus far i would give it a 9/10. Full Review »
  3. Jul 7, 2012
    8
    They fixed the matchmaking. Fun mechanics, original gameplay, definitely worth $30 but it is only $15. Grappling hooks, roller skates, glideThey fixed the matchmaking. Fun mechanics, original gameplay, definitely worth $30 but it is only $15. Grappling hooks, roller skates, glide bombers, trampolines, ice guns, all implemented well with the whole package. Must buy. Full Review »