Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gotham City Impostors is a multiplayer game unlike any other, giving players the opportunity to rebel against conformity as they customize their own characters. Posing as amateur vigilantes or villains, gamers will create their very own Bats and Jokerz characters using unprecedentedGotham City Impostors is a multiplayer game unlike any other, giving players the opportunity to rebel against conformity as they customize their own characters. Posing as amateur vigilantes or villains, gamers will create their very own Bats and Jokerz characters using unprecedented customization options including insane costumes, homebrewed gadgets and a wide range of traditional and imagined weapons. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    This is a $15 download, and it packs more than enough content into its frame to balance out the relatively meager 5 maps and 3 modes. Make no mistake, however, Gotham City Impostors stands head and shoulders with every other big-box multiplayer shooter out there.
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    80
    There's nothing especially original about Gotham City Impostors' mishmash of multiplayer modes and character progression, but the game goes to such absurd lengths to distinguish itself from the vast field of modern-military mediocrity that you can't help but love it at least a little bit.
  3. Feb 10, 2012
    78
    If you don't get sick of the five maps, you will play this one for quite some time as you climb through all 1,000 levels of advancement.
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    70
    A functional shooter with a sense of humor and a Batman license. It's got plenty to unlock, but it's not all that deep. Go, shoot, win. Over and over. If you're looking for a first-person shooter that doesn't take itself seriously, have at it, but don't expect a FPS revolution.
  5. [G]ripes aside, Gotham City Impostors is a surprisingly solid shooter and with the sizeable first DLC drop, Warner Bros. is promising improvements across the board. If they deliver on that, consider upgrading this score to must-buy status, rather than a nice-to-have. [April 2012, p72]
  6. Mar 9, 2012
    70
    Gotham City Impostors is a fun and different first-person shooter with a lot of ambition. It stands out from the crowd, and has enjoyable and casual gameplay. There are some issues with matchmaking that made the experience a bit tedious, but I'm sure these will be sorted out soon.
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    30
    An unfinished game that could have been entertaining if you didn't have to put so much effort to actually enjoy it. If your character didn't have to level up so slowly, you wouldn't need to invest more money into it. If someone had done their work, there wouldn't be need for this incomplete piece of junk. Not even its low price can change its outcome. There's not even a smile on Joker's face and that is always a bad sign.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This game is Awesome! I cant believe there are 1000 levels! I will try my hardest to achieve that level because I don't think this game willThis game is Awesome! I cant believe there are 1000 levels! I will try my hardest to achieve that level because I don't think this game will get old. This was a brilliant idea for a game; I just hope it will be supported throughout the year. This game deserves attention because it is a fantastic game 10/10 Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2012
    10
    This is hands down the best $15 game ever created on psn. With that out of the way, i would like to elaborate on a few things. The patchedThis is hands down the best $15 game ever created on psn. With that out of the way, i would like to elaborate on a few things. The patched fixed most of the matchmaking problems, added a new map, weapons, etc. This game is a breath of fresh air when compared to standard military-issue games that feature the same things year after year after year like cod, bf, etc. Sure it borrowed things from other fps games, but this is a game all on its own. Where else could you fly, dive bomb ppl, freeze ppl, disorient ppl with gas, boomerangs, etc? I play this game for hours a day and it never gets old. Every match i see something fun and interesting i havent saw before. Its one of the most interesting and humorous games out there, and for $15, what you get for the price cant be beat. You dont have to buy dlc, they patched it with new weapons for free. Death comes in a variety of ways. You never know whats around the next corner. Lets go into body types, there are 5 dif bodies, speedy, nimble, tough (default), burly, and mighty. Each one has its advantages/disadvantages so choosing your perfect setup is entirely up to you. Thats the great part of this game. The freedom to customize your character to fit your playing style. Whether you wanna roll on skates for more ground speed, fly thru the air to get to objectives faster, grapple yourself to sniping locations, its just endless the things you can do. The community is great so far, and its steadily picking up. More players like myself are growing tired of the same old fps games that feature the same things over and over, looking at you cod. Seriously, if youre bored of getting killed by ppl tucked in corners, prone shots, or any of the other nonsense, look no further. You will soon forget the sad memories as theres no prone shots, and the tools they give you in this game makes camping seem like a joke. You could have much more fun with this than you might expect for $15 i highlyyy recommend this game. Join our online community and see what has been created. A game that is fun. After all, isnt that what games are supposed to be. Dont buy cod just cuz all of your friends have it lol be yourself and buy your own games, and dont worry about anybody but yourself. Cod is the same game year after year. Its a camping festival and boring as hell to play. Even mw3 used the same engine as mw2, yet they charge u $60 lol what a joke. This game, while borrowing (obviously) some things from other fps, differentiates itself as soon as you join a match. Every weapon, gadget, support item has a counter to it. So anything you see happening to you, can be countered. Theres a learning curve no doubt before you could stay alive and not die cheaply. Once you figure these out though, it feels fresh, and you realize how much time has been put in to this relatively cheap game. I would suggest playing fumigation over psych warfare or team deathmatch as you will spare yourself a lot of cheap deaths. And capturing objectives and working together as a team is much more enjoyable than just firing helping yourself. Anyway, download the game. Dont listen to your friends or family. This is an original game that simply cannot be missed.. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2012
    10
    This game is fantastic! I could play it all day, I remember the old days of Countes Strike, because it is fun and easy to play, the variety ofThis game is fantastic! I could play it all day, I remember the old days of Countes Strike, because it is fun and easy to play, the variety of weapons is not very big, but the items that makes the game more fun, and abilities that only contains some characters. I advise you to buy very very cheap price for this game. I live in a place where many online games have lag because I was playing against opponents across the world, but this game has no lag at all, a super bright spot for it! Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2012
    8
    Small matchmaking issues and long load times are minor issues when compared to the amount of fun that can be had with this game. It's a blastSmall matchmaking issues and long load times are minor issues when compared to the amount of fun that can be had with this game. It's a blast to play, customization is great (And you can still get great gear without buying the $100's worth of DLC) , and I can't wait to jump back in and play soon. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2012
    8
    They fixed the matchmaking. Fun mechanics, original gameplay, definitely worth $30 but it is only $15. Grappling hooks, roller skates, glideThey fixed the matchmaking. Fun mechanics, original gameplay, definitely worth $30 but it is only $15. Grappling hooks, roller skates, glide bombers, trampolines, ice guns, all implemented well with the whole package. Must buy. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2014
    5
    This game is F2P on consoles and Steam. It has the best FPS gameplay I've personally seen because it's fun, innovative and cool. I can alsoThis game is F2P on consoles and Steam. It has the best FPS gameplay I've personally seen because it's fun, innovative and cool. I can also honestly say this is the funniest game I've ever played. It lacks a theater mode like Black Ops has, which means people can (and will) lagswitch/invisibility/inf ammo hack you. The game has a paywall, there's a gun called the Witch Doctor which a fairly large amount of people use, it costs $5 and guarantees your team an automatic victory, if you want to combat that you need to pay the $5 to buy a Witch Doctor. Lag is another severe issue, the game lags so severely that you can't tell if someone is lag switching or if it's Monolith's fault for piss poor programming. If the game were $60 I'd have to give it a 1 instead of 5 because of it's near gamebreaking negatives, I've actually deleted the game because of it's lack of theater, paywall and lag and bought Black Ops. GCI does have similar gameplay to Black Ops but it's original and 100% worth owning if you don't have Black Ops and you like character customization, the character customization in this is AAA, that alone is what makes this game so special, 5 may seem like a very low score but a Theater mode is a must for any type of shooter so you gain the ability to exploit lagswitchers/hackers, it's only possible to do via a shooter's Theater mode. If this had a Theater mode I would give the review an 8 which is deserving. Expand
  7. Jul 7, 2012
    0
    I've spent around 30 minutes total trying to play this game and yet not only have I not been able to play, but I haven't seen another playerI've spent around 30 minutes total trying to play this game and yet not only have I not been able to play, but I haven't seen another player online. Since this was released free on the PSN I doubt there's nobody playing it.

    Listen up, Warner Brothers. It doesn't matter how good your game is IF NOBODY CAN PLAY IT!

    Don't waste your time or, god forbid, your money.
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews