Gran Turismo 5 Prologue PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 112 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 112
  2. Negative: 23 out of 112

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ColinD
    Dec 30, 2009
    5
    You really have to be into Gran Turismo to enjoy this limited game, it's definately nothing for casual racers. There are no difficulty settings and only perfect driving will let you win some challenges, which is rather tedious and repetitive than enjoyable.
  2. AnonymousMC
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    I was honestly suprised how much they packed into this not-quite-full-game. The blueline, new ai, and more difficult physics options are all very welcome, and a much larger leap forward than any of the previous games. I bought the Driving Force GT wheel to go with it, and decided to learn to play with a manual gearshift, and have been faced with a much much deeper and more engagingI was honestly suprised how much they packed into this not-quite-full-game. The blueline, new ai, and more difficult physics options are all very welcome, and a much larger leap forward than any of the previous games. I bought the Driving Force GT wheel to go with it, and decided to learn to play with a manual gearshift, and have been faced with a much much deeper and more engaging experience. Unfortunatly I have yet to try out the online racing portion. Expand
  3. ZiggyP.
    Mar 24, 2008
    9
    Although lacking what some other racers can offer, the amount of content and sheer quality for a game less than £20 cannot be ignored. If this is just a small glimpse of things to come then we shouldn't be worried if GT5 will delivery, we should be worried about our eyes popping out of our heads.
  4. Antti
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    Awesome racing simulation. GT5 will so be out of this world when it comes next year.
  5. JohnT.
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Simply breathtaking, especially considering it is only £18.
  6. Ben
    Mar 28, 2008
    9
    An excellent game, more than a prologue and no, thanks to the new update is complete. Great graphics and sound, elegant menus.. well there's no doubt that Sony made a great game!
  7. MasJ.
    Mar 30, 2008
    1
    The cars a pretty and thats why it gets one point. Otherwise its a zero imo. The cars handle so badly even at low speeds its silly, spinouts for no reason, no damage modelling, no physics or feel to the cars, no sense of speed, a technical racer that's not fun to play and limiting tracks with no interaction to the environment. Burnout Paradise is a masterpiece, Motorstorm is great The cars a pretty and thats why it gets one point. Otherwise its a zero imo. The cars handle so badly even at low speeds its silly, spinouts for no reason, no damage modelling, no physics or feel to the cars, no sense of speed, a technical racer that's not fun to play and limiting tracks with no interaction to the environment. Burnout Paradise is a masterpiece, Motorstorm is great fun and neither have pretentions to being a realistic racer despite their cars having perfect feel and handling, this is a mere Ridgeracer clone imo with overly sensitive controls. Rent before you buy. Expand
  8. jggj
    Mar 30, 2008
    3
    bLAH....this is an expansion pack 5 courses? umm...no thanks...
  9. NickS.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    This racing sim continues to strengthen its legacy by focusing on how the cars perform. Each setting in the game could mean a one inch difference between taking home silver or gold. Even though the cars don't get visibly damaged they still get worn down and rugged if you don't keep it in top shape. Remember that racing isn't about crashes, scratches, or any of that This racing sim continues to strengthen its legacy by focusing on how the cars perform. Each setting in the game could mean a one inch difference between taking home silver or gold. Even though the cars don't get visibly damaged they still get worn down and rugged if you don't keep it in top shape. Remember that racing isn't about crashes, scratches, or any of that wreckless stuff. Its about respect and honor; You lose, too bad. You win, congrats. The detail of the cars are nicely rendered and seeing the glare of the sun from every car as they whiz by just makes it more immersive. No one can do it like Polyphony Digital. Can't wait for the full game! Considering its only 40 bux for the prologue it deserves a 9. Expand
  10. ChrisW.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Gorgeous. Anyone who has ever had any interest in cars or driving should try this, it is sublime, The attention to detail is astounding, one of the prettiest interfaces I've ever seen. Awesome
  11. MOQ.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    Brilliant! I haven't stopped playing since I opened it. Its as much fun as you can have with a serious racer. Graphics are ace. Sell your car and buy this game!
  12. kilik21YouTube
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Brilliant glimpse of what is to come. It gets better and better and the online play with up to 16 players will keep you playing for ages, probably until the full GT5 comes out. I would have given this game a 10 if there were more cars and a lot more tracks.
  13. Drac;)
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    Great game, especially for the price.
  14. MichaelD.
    Apr 3, 2008
    2
    Why pay $70AUD for a glorified demo??? its been the case with pretty much every GT game, and the graphics don't do enough to justify the price when the driving aids are retarded and the online mode is half-finished. PS3 fans wait for the full thing, dont be tricked by Sony's grab at your hard-earned cash. in the meantime, ill just fire up Forza 2 and PGR4... they've kept me Why pay $70AUD for a glorified demo??? its been the case with pretty much every GT game, and the graphics don't do enough to justify the price when the driving aids are retarded and the online mode is half-finished. PS3 fans wait for the full thing, dont be tricked by Sony's grab at your hard-earned cash. in the meantime, ill just fire up Forza 2 and PGR4... they've kept me going all year :-) Expand
  15. LeeW.
    Apr 3, 2008
    9
    Excellent, Beautiful. Fun.
  16. [anonymous]
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Not one driving game can get close to how real this game is, visually and gameplay wise.
  17. ChristopherS.
    Apr 17, 2008
    8
    Very beautiful game. The cockpit view is one of the best I've seen and overall everything looks close to photo-realistic. The implementation of light and shadow is truly wonderful. Arguably the finest looking racing game ever made and for that alone it is worth the purchase price. The cardboard cutout grandstand spectators is one of the games few graphical shortcomings. The reflected Very beautiful game. The cockpit view is one of the best I've seen and overall everything looks close to photo-realistic. The implementation of light and shadow is truly wonderful. Arguably the finest looking racing game ever made and for that alone it is worth the purchase price. The cardboard cutout grandstand spectators is one of the games few graphical shortcomings. The reflected images in the driver and passenger side-view mirrors are identical and need to be fixed. The physics also need work. The steering is slow and the overall handling is sluggish, unresponsive and imprecise. Does a Mini Cooper really handle like a '73 Cadillac? Also the decision not to include a rally stage is unforgivable. Despite these problems this is still a great piece of work and I wholeheartedly recommend it. Expand
  18. DanW.
    Apr 19, 2008
    5
    Beautiful looking game, amazing car models and the inclusion of an in car cockpit is almost worth the entry fee alone. However, the physics are still left wanting, it's still leagues behind the current console market leader, Forza 2, and I can't see it exceeding it in the future. Sound is typically poor, quite why PD insist on having crappy jazz style music in the menus is Beautiful looking game, amazing car models and the inclusion of an in car cockpit is almost worth the entry fee alone. However, the physics are still left wanting, it's still leagues behind the current console market leader, Forza 2, and I can't see it exceeding it in the future. Sound is typically poor, quite why PD insist on having crappy jazz style music in the menus is beyond me, and the tyre squeal is straight ou of the 90's. Next up, the content, well, we all knew it was a "demo", so we can't really complain about the lack of content, and the single player "career" is sorely lacking, there is nothing to play for, other than the draw of buying new cars, and unlocking the QTS (Quick tune system) which becomes available after clearing C,B & A events. Online is marred by the typical "console kid" racers, no etiquette, just a lot of banging and crashing. In summary, if you want an exceptional looking console racer and not much else, go for it, however if you want something that is deeper than a puddle, look elsewhere. Ultimately disappointing. Expand
  19. ColossiS.
    Apr 20, 2008
    9
    Very exhilarating during the later/faster races, and online. oh man you don't know competition till you race 15 other people in GT style racing.
  20. RavenS.
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    The best racing game yet in the GT series!
  21. MarkW.
    Apr 22, 2008
    9
    Simply put; stunning. There is little point in discussing the graphics as they are groundbreaking and put every other driving/racing sim ever created on the PC or console to shame. This is a true next generation title. Nothing even comes close. What is not getting enough praise is the physics which surpass games like GTR, the best from Papyrus and every Gran Turismo that has came before. Simply put; stunning. There is little point in discussing the graphics as they are groundbreaking and put every other driving/racing sim ever created on the PC or console to shame. This is a true next generation title. Nothing even comes close. What is not getting enough praise is the physics which surpass games like GTR, the best from Papyrus and every Gran Turismo that has came before. Tires chattering under heavy braking, weight transfer that is shockingly realistic, real world acceleration and momentum and so, so much more. To top it off, the presentation stands alone in it's maturity and sophistication. No adult would be embarrassed to have this game running on their television. GT5 Prologue is an uncompromising, adult sim with more than enough content to keep you busy until the full game comes out. An absolute must have. Expand
  22. LenH.
    Apr 24, 2008
    9
    What can I say, I love this game.....buy it now!
  23. Cenobia
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    An extremely fun game for GT fans, and racing fans in general. Extreme realism and beautiful graphics really draw you in, and the new inside-the-car view makes you believe that you're there. The multiplayer is very fun. It removes the predictability of AI opponents and throws in aggression. My second race ended in a horrific spin out that blew half the field off the track (triggered An extremely fun game for GT fans, and racing fans in general. Extreme realism and beautiful graphics really draw you in, and the new inside-the-car view makes you believe that you're there. The multiplayer is very fun. It removes the predictability of AI opponents and throws in aggression. My second race ended in a horrific spin out that blew half the field off the track (triggered by a less than friendly tap by an opponent). It is intense, and although human players can sometimes send you into walls and ruin your ranking at the last second, it is a welcome addition to the GT series. You even win money in online matches, which removes the monotony of re-playing challenges to get extra cash. All in all I think this is definitley worth the purchase. It isn't as big an evolution as I would have liked, but damage is coming in a future update which should add even more depth. This will definitely keep me satisfied until GT5 comes out. Expand
  24. AlexG.
    May 5, 2008
    1
    This is the worst game I have ever played. You get bored after 1 hour of playing and it is the most frustrating game in the history of the world. My only advice is DON'T GET IT.
  25. AndrewR
    May 7, 2008
    8
    I am a huge fan of the Gran Turismo series. This prologue is a nice taste of what's to come.
  26. AndrewP
    May 8, 2008
    8
    Stunning graphics and realistic physics make this game shine. It is nothing more then a large demo, but an excellent and large one at that. All though the on-line play is lacking, this is just a taste of things to come. All of the people claiming that the game is short or not worth money are probably not car enthusiasts or GT freaks. All of us die hard GT guys have been begging for Stunning graphics and realistic physics make this game shine. It is nothing more then a large demo, but an excellent and large one at that. All though the on-line play is lacking, this is just a taste of things to come. All of the people claiming that the game is short or not worth money are probably not car enthusiasts or GT freaks. All of us die hard GT guys have been begging for prologue for years and finally have it. I can't wait for the full version of GT5 to be released. I will lose many hours of my life to this game once again. This is a must have for all GT fans and auto enthusiasts. If you are a casual GT fan or car fan, it may be worth a rent until the full game is released. Expand
  27. ShamusM.
    May 17, 2008
    10
    Easily the best and most realistic racing game out there today it makes you feel as if you were in the game driving this is a must have for all the ps3 owners and racing fans.
  28. JordanM
    May 17, 2008
    10
    Fast fun realistic sweet is how this game can be described.
  29. AlanB
    Jun 2, 2008
    10
    This game is AWESOME. The cars look and sound super real. When racing, it feels like you're really driving the car, you can feel the weight and quality of the car, you can feel every little detail about the car.. kinda creepy with this level of detail in a video game. If you like cars, GET THIS GAME.. if you don't care much about cars, but just like fun games with lots of replay This game is AWESOME. The cars look and sound super real. When racing, it feels like you're really driving the car, you can feel the weight and quality of the car, you can feel every little detail about the car.. kinda creepy with this level of detail in a video game. If you like cars, GET THIS GAME.. if you don't care much about cars, but just like fun games with lots of replay value.. GET THIS GAME. Expand
  30. HalS.
    Jun 4, 2008
    0
    First off, this game is well made. After playing it once, I was very disappointed with the results. they start by giving you $35,000 to purchase a car. I purchased the Mazda and was happy with it. But it is not fast enough to win a race, the turning is sloppy on this game. I am not going to return it because I will play it again and try to become better, but for now it totally sucks. They First off, this game is well made. After playing it once, I was very disappointed with the results. they start by giving you $35,000 to purchase a car. I purchased the Mazda and was happy with it. But it is not fast enough to win a race, the turning is sloppy on this game. I am not going to return it because I will play it again and try to become better, but for now it totally sucks. They don't even give you a option to customize it! Gran Turismo 2 was much better then 3 and 4. GRAN TURISMO 5 PROLOGUE SUCKS! Expand
  31. chico
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    This is the sexual game wit naked men with huge penises who are willing too play.
  32. GeorgeM
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    This game was made for the fans and if you're one of those then plunking down $40 for this is NOT a problem. The game offers a good handful of cars, a handful of tracks, online play for the first time in a GT game, and the excellent "inside the car" view that made PGR3 so much fun to play. There are racing games out there that cost $60 that don't offer as much as this This game was made for the fans and if you're one of those then plunking down $40 for this is NOT a problem. The game offers a good handful of cars, a handful of tracks, online play for the first time in a GT game, and the excellent "inside the car" view that made PGR3 so much fun to play. There are racing games out there that cost $60 that don't offer as much as this game.....so $40 really isn't that much when you take THAT into account. The graphics are AMAZING and once again push the envelope for "photo-realism" to new heights, easily one of the most visually stunning console games to date. The music is sub-par but certainly not horrible and the sound-effects are more than adequate with the sounds of the cars rumbling through the speakers. The cars handle beautifully but you can't really tweak them in Prologue so we'll probably have to wait until GT5 drops before we can really test the handling of the cars when tuning is involved. Like i said.....if your a fan of the Gran Turismo games then GO GET THIS......no reason for fans to be disappointed with this, especially with the online play which is a monumental addition to the series. Expand
  33. Notafanboy
    Jul 9, 2008
    5
    Strictly for fans that are still getting over the first one. If you aren't, you will see through the pretty graphics and realise that games like PGR4 are miles ahead of this. If you are and are willing to defend this piece of garbage's limited cars and tracks, go ahead and buy it. Prepare to be dissapointed.
  34. GP
    Aug 6, 2008
    3
    This gets a 3 because I had to pay for it. It could have been a 10 if it was Free. It's just not worth the AU$60. With the limited, and expensive cars, and VERY limited tracks, you'll find that this game is nothing but a big grind sandwich. Do race after race on the same tracks in one car, to get enough money to do race after race on the same tracks again in a different car and This gets a 3 because I had to pay for it. It could have been a 10 if it was Free. It's just not worth the AU$60. With the limited, and expensive cars, and VERY limited tracks, you'll find that this game is nothing but a big grind sandwich. Do race after race on the same tracks in one car, to get enough money to do race after race on the same tracks again in a different car and repeat. Theres no variety, theres no fun. If you're a fan of the series, and still have your copy of GT4 lying around, play that instead. It is a far better game. This is rubbish. AU$60 for a poor demo. Very dissapointed. Expand
  35. MarkW
    Aug 28, 2008
    8
    GOOD: Solid gameplay, great graphics, good replay value. BAD: The online play, which IMO is the games bread and butter, can be frustrating on the Intermediate setting. The Beginners setting is fun... no penalties, dumbed down physics, crashes a-plenty. The Advanced setting is challenging forcing the player to drive in control and concentrate on the track rather than other racers. GOOD: Solid gameplay, great graphics, good replay value. BAD: The online play, which IMO is the games bread and butter, can be frustrating on the Intermediate setting. The Beginners setting is fun... no penalties, dumbed down physics, crashes a-plenty. The Advanced setting is challenging forcing the player to drive in control and concentrate on the track rather than other racers. Intermediate is a pretty good compromise: Challenging but fun physics, more contact with the other vehicles. My problem with Intermediate mode is that it's too easy to cheat on some tracks. Being beaten by drivers who regularly use the guardrails to aid cornering can be frustrating. Also, the colission penalties will usually favor the drivers out of control and ramming into those concentrating on driving well. Still some work to be done here. Also, in the online games where tuning is allowed, there are only around 3 cars per track that are truly competative. Racing against the same 3 cars again and again makes the game feel more generic. Expand
  36. FilS
    Nov 8, 2008
    2
    Graphics is beautiful and the game is fun. yet 5 tracks are not enough. It is disappointing that you can not use any kind of strategy while playing and that, if you get stuck with a single race to win, no help is available and the game can not continue in any way. The game is over for me. I use PS3 to relax myself, not to get more and more stressed. Don't buy it !
  37. Youcef
    Nov 10, 2008
    9
    I drive with my Logitech Driving Force GT steering wheel and it's quite realistic providing hours of fun but if I did not have the the steering wheel I would rate it 5, using it without the steering wheel is just plain boring.
  38. AndyC.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    First up, this is half a game and my score should be read with that in mind. The graphics are brilliant - full 1080p resolution looks stupendous on a decent TV. The sound of the engines is great but I want to create my own driving soundtracks from MP3s stored on the PS3. The feel of the cars is incredible. The handling is just right and combined with a decent quality racing wheel, this is First up, this is half a game and my score should be read with that in mind. The graphics are brilliant - full 1080p resolution looks stupendous on a decent TV. The sound of the engines is great but I want to create my own driving soundtracks from MP3s stored on the PS3. The feel of the cars is incredible. The handling is just right and combined with a decent quality racing wheel, this is the best racing game I've ever played. The GT series' hallmark balance between simulation and fun gaming is maintained once again. You can touch the accelerator / brakes / steering in a fast corner a little more than is realistic - I know from experience that if you tried some of the stuff in a road car you end up heading through a wall backwards! But most people aren't after 100% accurate simulation. There's an incredible depth to the game, and even once you can win all the races, there's a real sense of achievement shaving hundredths off your own best lap times. My only criticism is the difficulty. I found classes A, B and C pretty easy, but S jumped to borderline impossible. If this was a full and final game I'd be taking a point off for that reason. Expand
  39. MichaelD
    May 10, 2009
    8
    Gran Turismo 5 Prologue may be just a huge demo but at 40 bucks its still worth it and fun the only bad thing about it is that it is just too short
  40. LeeW
    Sep 20, 2009
    0
    Worst vehicle controls ever in a game.
  41. joshk
    Oct 26, 2009
    0
    another addition to the most pathetic boring stupid pointless idiotic lame unimaginative uninnovative overrated piece of shit franchise ever developed outside of madden.
  42. Flotche
    Nov 2, 2009
    8
    This game with G25 its perfect. The immersion is total, you can"feel" the difference between a Ferrari F430 & Ferrari 599
  43. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    a fantastic racing game that in this version though is just a over priced demo that is not worth $40 new . im glad i waited and got this off amazon for $10 used which is about what is should have been when it was released . i mean i love Gran Turismo it is my favorite racing game but this was a scam for $40 . you only get less then 1/10th of the cars in GT5P then you will get in the fulla fantastic racing game that in this version though is just a over priced demo that is not worth $40 new . im glad i waited and got this off amazon for $10 used which is about what is should have been when it was released . i mean i love Gran Turismo it is my favorite racing game but this was a scam for $40 . you only get less then 1/10th of the cars in GT5P then you will get in the full game and only 6 tracks to race on , and no car tuning . if i paid $40 this would get a 5 but since i didnt and paid what i felt it was worth, it gets a 8. this game is best played with a steering wheel . a controllor works fine but a logitech steering wheel makes it feel and play so much better. the nice thing in to owning this game in advance is your save file with your cars and cash will carry over to the full game in GT5 . so if you want to get a head start in your GT5 game its worth picking this up as long as you get it cheap. Expand
  44. Nov 30, 2010
    1
    Complete dissapointment- half a decade to make- 80percent of cars dont have interior view and are of low quality textures- unrealistic damage- UNFINISHED GAME!!
  45. Dec 6, 2010
    1
    This isn't a real game, it's basically a £20 demo. How PD get away with making so many awful demos I'll never know. It's very arcade like and not realistic. AVOID.
  46. Dec 13, 2011
    4
    GT5 Prologue is a short game which have some good elements. Couple of things to even the bigger GT5 title can learn. But other than that it hasn't got much to offer. Short campaign which has a few races, you will do it in couple of hours, split-screen with a friend on a few tracks. It will get old very very fast. Also the game is really "not to buy" after Gran Turismo 5 was published. AlsoGT5 Prologue is a short game which have some good elements. Couple of things to even the bigger GT5 title can learn. But other than that it hasn't got much to offer. Short campaign which has a few races, you will do it in couple of hours, split-screen with a friend on a few tracks. It will get old very very fast. Also the game is really "not to buy" after Gran Turismo 5 was published. Also the servers are down now, no online anymore. So don't buy it anymore if you are not a game collector (or Gran Turismo collector). It was a decent game back then but also it was collecting money business from Polyphony Digital. Expand
  47. Nov 3, 2012
    7
    Prologue barely touched on all the content which made the full 5 great. But the cheap price, fun which can be had and the fact that it still has that solid driving which made the Gran Turismo series great comes together to make a decent game.
  48. Aug 30, 2015
    3
    Easily the worst game in the Gran Turismo series. It may just be a shortened version of 5, but everything from lack of audio controls to limited tuning points to a loss for GT. The point system in the tune shop is very inaccurate and makes racing physically unrealistic in the final races. Game will give you about a week of gameplay before beating and becoming tired. Not many tracks or cars at all.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. The game's relentlessly narrow focus frustrates as much as the repetitious grind of the racing. [May 2008, p.98]
  2. The attention to detail is staggering and it handles like a dream. A true technical showcase. [May 2008, p.74]
  3. Needs to make serious progress if 'Gran' isn't to become an indication of age. [June 2008, p.87]