• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 15, 2008
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 110
  2. Negative: 22 out of 110

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MasJ.
    Mar 30, 2008
    1
    The cars a pretty and thats why it gets one point. Otherwise its a zero imo. The cars handle so badly even at low speeds its silly, spinouts for no reason, no damage modelling, no physics or feel to the cars, no sense of speed, a technical racer that's not fun to play and limiting tracks with no interaction to the environment. Burnout Paradise is a masterpiece, Motorstorm is great The cars a pretty and thats why it gets one point. Otherwise its a zero imo. The cars handle so badly even at low speeds its silly, spinouts for no reason, no damage modelling, no physics or feel to the cars, no sense of speed, a technical racer that's not fun to play and limiting tracks with no interaction to the environment. Burnout Paradise is a masterpiece, Motorstorm is great fun and neither have pretentions to being a realistic racer despite their cars having perfect feel and handling, this is a mere Ridgeracer clone imo with overly sensitive controls. Rent before you buy. Expand
  2. jggj
    Mar 30, 2008
    3
    bLAH....this is an expansion pack 5 courses? umm...no thanks...
  3. MichaelD.
    Apr 3, 2008
    2
    Why pay $70AUD for a glorified demo??? its been the case with pretty much every GT game, and the graphics don't do enough to justify the price when the driving aids are retarded and the online mode is half-finished. PS3 fans wait for the full thing, dont be tricked by Sony's grab at your hard-earned cash. in the meantime, ill just fire up Forza 2 and PGR4... they've kept me Why pay $70AUD for a glorified demo??? its been the case with pretty much every GT game, and the graphics don't do enough to justify the price when the driving aids are retarded and the online mode is half-finished. PS3 fans wait for the full thing, dont be tricked by Sony's grab at your hard-earned cash. in the meantime, ill just fire up Forza 2 and PGR4... they've kept me going all year :-) Expand
  4. AlexG.
    May 5, 2008
    1
    This is the worst game I have ever played. You get bored after 1 hour of playing and it is the most frustrating game in the history of the world. My only advice is DON'T GET IT.
  5. HalS.
    Jun 4, 2008
    0
    First off, this game is well made. After playing it once, I was very disappointed with the results. they start by giving you $35,000 to purchase a car. I purchased the Mazda and was happy with it. But it is not fast enough to win a race, the turning is sloppy on this game. I am not going to return it because I will play it again and try to become better, but for now it totally sucks. They First off, this game is well made. After playing it once, I was very disappointed with the results. they start by giving you $35,000 to purchase a car. I purchased the Mazda and was happy with it. But it is not fast enough to win a race, the turning is sloppy on this game. I am not going to return it because I will play it again and try to become better, but for now it totally sucks. They don't even give you a option to customize it! Gran Turismo 2 was much better then 3 and 4. GRAN TURISMO 5 PROLOGUE SUCKS! Expand
  6. GP
    Aug 6, 2008
    3
    This gets a 3 because I had to pay for it. It could have been a 10 if it was Free. It's just not worth the AU$60. With the limited, and expensive cars, and VERY limited tracks, you'll find that this game is nothing but a big grind sandwich. Do race after race on the same tracks in one car, to get enough money to do race after race on the same tracks again in a different car and This gets a 3 because I had to pay for it. It could have been a 10 if it was Free. It's just not worth the AU$60. With the limited, and expensive cars, and VERY limited tracks, you'll find that this game is nothing but a big grind sandwich. Do race after race on the same tracks in one car, to get enough money to do race after race on the same tracks again in a different car and repeat. Theres no variety, theres no fun. If you're a fan of the series, and still have your copy of GT4 lying around, play that instead. It is a far better game. This is rubbish. AU$60 for a poor demo. Very dissapointed. Expand
  7. FilS
    Nov 8, 2008
    2
    Graphics is beautiful and the game is fun. yet 5 tracks are not enough. It is disappointing that you can not use any kind of strategy while playing and that, if you get stuck with a single race to win, no help is available and the game can not continue in any way. The game is over for me. I use PS3 to relax myself, not to get more and more stressed. Don't buy it !
  8. LeeW
    Sep 20, 2009
    0
    Worst vehicle controls ever in a game.
  9. joshk
    Oct 26, 2009
    0
    another addition to the most pathetic boring stupid pointless idiotic lame unimaginative uninnovative overrated piece of shit franchise ever developed outside of madden.
  10. Nov 30, 2010
    1
    Complete dissapointment- half a decade to make- 80percent of cars dont have interior view and are of low quality textures- unrealistic damage- UNFINISHED GAME!!
  11. Dec 6, 2010
    1
    This isn't a real game, it's basically a £20 demo. How PD get away with making so many awful demos I'll never know. It's very arcade like and not realistic. AVOID.
  12. Dec 13, 2011
    4
    GT5 Prologue is a short game which have some good elements. Couple of things to even the bigger GT5 title can learn. But other than that it hasn't got much to offer. Short campaign which has a few races, you will do it in couple of hours, split-screen with a friend on a few tracks. It will get old very very fast. Also the game is really "not to buy" after Gran Turismo 5 was published. AlsoGT5 Prologue is a short game which have some good elements. Couple of things to even the bigger GT5 title can learn. But other than that it hasn't got much to offer. Short campaign which has a few races, you will do it in couple of hours, split-screen with a friend on a few tracks. It will get old very very fast. Also the game is really "not to buy" after Gran Turismo 5 was published. Also the servers are down now, no online anymore. So don't buy it anymore if you are not a game collector (or Gran Turismo collector). It was a decent game back then but also it was collecting money business from Polyphony Digital. Collapse
  13. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    GT5 Prologue is a short game which have some good elements. Couple of things to even the bigger GT5 title can learn. But other than that it hasn't got much to offer. Short campaign which has a few races, you will do it in couple of hours, split-screen with a friend on a few tracks. It will get old very very fast. Also the game is really "not to buy" after Gran Turismo 5 was published. AlsoGT5 Prologue is a short game which have some good elements. Couple of things to even the bigger GT5 title can learn. But other than that it hasn't got much to offer. Short campaign which has a few races, you will do it in couple of hours, split-screen with a friend on a few tracks. It will get old very very fast. Also the game is really "not to buy" after Gran Turismo 5 was published. Also the servers are down now, no online anymore. So don't buy it anymore if you are not a game collector (or Gran Turismo collector). It was a decent game back then but also it was collecting money business from Polyphony Digital. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. The game's relentlessly narrow focus frustrates as much as the repetitious grind of the racing. [May 2008, p.98]
  2. The attention to detail is staggering and it handles like a dream. A true technical showcase. [May 2008, p.74]
  3. Needs to make serious progress if 'Gran' isn't to become an indication of age. [June 2008, p.87]