Gran Turismo 5 Prologue PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Gran Turismo 5 Prologue Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The real driving simulator returns with the highly anticipated precursor to Gran Turismo 5, featuring 50 cars from worldwide auto manufacturers including Ferrari, Ford, and Audi. With all-new interior dash views, online racing, and more, Gran Turismo 5 Prologue unveils revolutionaryThe real driving simulator returns with the highly anticipated precursor to Gran Turismo 5, featuring 50 cars from worldwide auto manufacturers including Ferrari, Ford, and Audi. With all-new interior dash views, online racing, and more, Gran Turismo 5 Prologue unveils revolutionary advancements that blur the distinction between simulation and reality. Fifty cars and five race tracks, including Fuji Speedway, Suzuka Circuit, and for the first time ever, Daytona International Speedway. All-new interior dash view puts you in the driver’s seat like never before. Race online with up to 16 players to prove your skills. New online community features including Gran Turismo TV, featuring worldwide automotive and motorsport programming. Rendered in beautiful 1080p at 60fps with crisp, realistic lighting effects (replays rendered in 1080p 30fps). [Sony] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 95
    The graphics in GT5: Prologue are even better than "Crysis."
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    89
    An excellent racing-game. It's not just a glimpse of the future, although the future looks really bright. [May 2008]
  3. 85
    The other group that should go and buy this game is car enthusiasts because they won't be successful in finding a better simulation car game on the market.
  4. A near photo-realistic racing game with tight controls, a stylish presentation and visuals that'll leave you speechless.
  5. What is without doubt the biggest disappointment of all is the online implementation. It's currently woefully behind what we've got in Forza 2 and PGR4, lacking even basic support for custom races. Support for up to 16 players is excellent, but without a friends list or any proper match making you're left to pick from the 35 events currently listed.
  6. Gran Turismo 5 Prologue may be only a practice lap for the real thing, but it's a beautiful joyride while it lasts.
  7. Still, Gran Turismo 5 Prologue is in a class by itself when it comes to racing simulation. Cars and tracks are re-created immaculately, as are the vehicles' physics and performance.

See all 67 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 48
  2. Negative: 13 out of 48
  1. AndyC.
    Nov 23, 2008
    10
    First up, this is half a game and my score should be read with that in mind. The graphics are brilliant - full 1080p resolution looks First up, this is half a game and my score should be read with that in mind. The graphics are brilliant - full 1080p resolution looks stupendous on a decent TV. The sound of the engines is great but I want to create my own driving soundtracks from MP3s stored on the PS3. The feel of the cars is incredible. The handling is just right and combined with a decent quality racing wheel, this is the best racing game I've ever played. The GT series' hallmark balance between simulation and fun gaming is maintained once again. You can touch the accelerator / brakes / steering in a fast corner a little more than is realistic - I know from experience that if you tried some of the stuff in a road car you end up heading through a wall backwards! But most people aren't after 100% accurate simulation. There's an incredible depth to the game, and even once you can win all the races, there's a real sense of achievement shaving hundredths off your own best lap times. My only criticism is the difficulty. I found classes A, B and C pretty easy, but S jumped to borderline impossible. If this was a full and final game I'd be taking a point off for that reason. Expand
  2. [anonymous]
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Not one driving game can get close to how real this game is, visually and gameplay wise.
  3. Cenobia
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    An extremely fun game for GT fans, and racing fans in general. Extreme realism and beautiful graphics really draw you in, and the new An extremely fun game for GT fans, and racing fans in general. Extreme realism and beautiful graphics really draw you in, and the new inside-the-car view makes you believe that you're there. The multiplayer is very fun. It removes the predictability of AI opponents and throws in aggression. My second race ended in a horrific spin out that blew half the field off the track (triggered by a less than friendly tap by an opponent). It is intense, and although human players can sometimes send you into walls and ruin your ranking at the last second, it is a welcome addition to the GT series. You even win money in online matches, which removes the monotony of re-playing challenges to get extra cash. All in all I think this is definitley worth the purchase. It isn't as big an evolution as I would have liked, but damage is coming in a future update which should add even more depth. This will definitely keep me satisfied until GT5 comes out. Expand
  4. ChristopherS.
    Apr 17, 2008
    8
    Very beautiful game. The cockpit view is one of the best I've seen and overall everything looks close to photo-realistic. The Very beautiful game. The cockpit view is one of the best I've seen and overall everything looks close to photo-realistic. The implementation of light and shadow is truly wonderful. Arguably the finest looking racing game ever made and for that alone it is worth the purchase price. The cardboard cutout grandstand spectators is one of the games few graphical shortcomings. The reflected images in the driver and passenger side-view mirrors are identical and need to be fixed. The physics also need work. The steering is slow and the overall handling is sluggish, unresponsive and imprecise. Does a Mini Cooper really handle like a '73 Cadillac? Also the decision not to include a rally stage is unforgivable. Despite these problems this is still a great piece of work and I wholeheartedly recommend it. Expand
  5. Oct 12, 2010
    8
    a fantastic racing game that in this version though is just a over priced demo that is not worth $40 new . im glad i waited and got this offa fantastic racing game that in this version though is just a over priced demo that is not worth $40 new . im glad i waited and got this off amazon for $10 used which is about what is should have been when it was released . i mean i love Gran Turismo it is my favorite racing game but this was a scam for $40 . you only get less then 1/10th of the cars in GT5P then you will get in the full game and only 6 tracks to race on , and no car tuning . if i paid $40 this would get a 5 but since i didnt and paid what i felt it was worth, it gets a 8. this game is best played with a steering wheel . a controllor works fine but a logitech steering wheel makes it feel and play so much better. the nice thing in to owning this game in advance is your save file with your cars and cash will carry over to the full game in GT5 . so if you want to get a head start in your GT5 game its worth picking this up as long as you get it cheap. Expand
  6. Aug 30, 2015
    3
    Easily the worst game in the Gran Turismo series. It may just be a shortened version of 5, but everything from lack of audio controls toEasily the worst game in the Gran Turismo series. It may just be a shortened version of 5, but everything from lack of audio controls to limited tuning points to a loss for GT. The point system in the tune shop is very inaccurate and makes racing physically unrealistic in the final races. Game will give you about a week of gameplay before beating and becoming tired. Not many tracks or cars at all. Expand
  7. HalS.
    Jun 4, 2008
    0
    First off, this game is well made. After playing it once, I was very disappointed with the results. they start by giving you $35,000 to First off, this game is well made. After playing it once, I was very disappointed with the results. they start by giving you $35,000 to purchase a car. I purchased the Mazda and was happy with it. But it is not fast enough to win a race, the turning is sloppy on this game. I am not going to return it because I will play it again and try to become better, but for now it totally sucks. They don't even give you a option to customize it! Gran Turismo 2 was much better then 3 and 4. GRAN TURISMO 5 PROLOGUE SUCKS! Collapse

See all 48 User Reviews