• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 24, 2010
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Dec 6, 2010
    85
    A 10/10 simulator wrapped up in a 5/10 game – it's driving is as exhilarating as anything that's gone before, and its slavish obsession with the minutiae of many of its cars ensure it's an encyclopaedia of automotive delights. Its brilliance on the track, however is matched by its sloppiness off of it, and there's a lack of polish that would at one time have seemed sacrilegious to the series.
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    This accessible but realistic driving simulation is both sublime and subpar.
  3. Dec 18, 2010
    65
    The developers seemingly reside within a bubble where no other recent simulation racing games have been released (including, apparently, Gran Turismo 4). Thanks to studios like Codemasters and Turn 10, a revolution may be occurring within the genre, but it has nothing to do with this obsolete franchise.
  4. 96
    Gran Turismo 5 sets the bar high for the genre overall, and with its detailed approach to core mechanics and commitment to creating the best simulation in video games, it's easy to see why Gran Turismo is the gold standard in the automotive genre. Though some missteps were made with some of the modes, the game is a tight package that begs not only to be played, but obsessed over.
  5. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    We've all been waiting what seems like forever for Gran Turismo 5, and now that it's here, I don't expect perfection, but tangible evidence that it was worth the wait. It is. I wasn't blown away by every aspect of the game, but overall it's easy to see the sheer amount of effort and craftsmanship that went into the game. This is a racing experience that racing fans should not miss.
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    A great racing game wrapped in a series of bad design decisions.
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    It's an off-kilter vision of the future, a cumbersome game with odd priorities, certainly. But it's equally a game that heads off in unexpected and exciting directions, makes a few notable improvements, and overflows with love – for cars, for games technology and for its own mad pursuit.
  8. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    There's no denying that GT5 is absolutely incredible, but due to its immense size and complexity, not all its facets are of the same standard, and as a result it's brilliant, but imperfect. For the most part it delivers a 5-star experience. But I do feel compelled to ding it half a star, simply because of the parts of the game that don't. That makes me feel horribly nitpicky and churlish, because despite my criticism I know I love GT5, and I'll be playing it for months, and maybe even years.
  9. Dec 10, 2010
    90
    Though GT 5 screws up a lot of the details, the overall experience remains one of the best in gaming, and Polyphony proves once more that when it comes to realistic racing, it's on a whole different plane than the competition.
  10. Dec 6, 2010
    91
    You're doing yourself a disservice if you have unachievable expectations for GT5. However, if you take certain oversights into consideration when you first boot up the game, you'll probably be more than pleased. GT5 is not perfect, but it gets fairly close.
  11. Dec 6, 2010
    91
    In terms of the tech under GT5's hood, the only fault is the occasional spat of screen tearing. It's not ideal, but everything else looks and sounds so beautiful that it's easily forgivable. Think of it as a beauty mark on an otherwise flawless face.
  12. Dec 6, 2010
    91
    If there's a lesson to be learned from Gran Turismo 5 (the game itself, not its epic journey to stores), it's not about braking zones, exhaust manifolds, and curve apexes -- it's about patience. Because Gran Turismo 5 contains a seemingly unending supply of driving experience to enjoy, if you just allow yourself the time to discover it.
  13. Dec 6, 2010
    89
    Gran Turismo 5 is marked by many highs and lows in every aspect of the game. It looks like Polyphony (what a joke) needed a bit more time to polish everything and put more attention to the online part. But still, the game is so much fun and retain the core gameplay of the series, with an excellent made single player and the smell of the race passion in every bit of the code.
  14. Feb 18, 2011
    79
    We love Gran Turismo dearly but it isn't the game we hoped it would be. [Feb 2011, p.72]
  15. Dec 6, 2010
    70
    Gran Turismo has lost its mojo and become a dinosaur among modern racing games. It still drives brilliantly, but it's also bloated, scrappy, unbalanced and majorly dull for prolonged periods of play.
  16. Dec 6, 2010
    95
    Despite some flaws we would like to see fixed, Gran Turismo 5 offers simulation and many hours of entertainment. Anyone who has enjoyed the series should buy the game; it is not only the number one driving game, but also more complete than previous entries. A machine ready to race.
  17. Jan 5, 2011
    91
    As a pure driving game with neat car collecting and modifying elements, it's simply amazing and the level of passion for the subject on display makes calling it "cold" or "sterile" almost laughable- Forza Motorport 3 is much drier and far less human.
  18. Dec 6, 2010
    70
    But this is a production that feels increasingly aged in the face of modern game design. The creeping and eventually overriding feeling is that this meticulously precise simulation, and its lovingly constructed catalogue of automotive history, deserved a little more game to come along for the ride.
  19. Jan 4, 2011
    90
    There's little to take away from the fact that GT5 is a full, accomplished and insanely deep racing sim of the highest calibre. [Issue#104, p.104]
  20. Dec 6, 2010
    82
    Motor junkies and passionate car collectors will find in Gran Turismo 5 a great add-on to its game compilation. Pure driving gamers may be overwhelmed by its numbers but not exactly pleasantly surprised with the lack of life in its gameplay modes and its disappointing opponent AI.
  21. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Judged purely on how good the driving is, GT5 is top class, perhaps even king - but as a game it could and should have been a whole lot better.
  22. Dec 6, 2010
    88
    Gran Turismo 5 is, at the same time, a great game and an incredible disappointment. Many simulation fans will get all they are looking for, yet it's simply unacceptable that after 5 chapters we don't get to see a decent collision system, essential to reproduce what happens on a real track. Add to this the 800 standard cars, way below the rest of the graphics, a disappointing online, and what you get is a paradox. If you loved the series, you'll surely have fun with it. If you're looking for the next step in driving simulation, keep waiting.
  23. Dec 6, 2010
    100
    The level of care taken by the people at Polyphony Digital shines in every aspect of this title, and this makes for a racing game that truly has no parallel. Gran Turismo 5 is a massive love letter to those that love cars. This is their dream videogame.
  24. Dec 6, 2010
    87
    GT 5 is definitely the best Driving Simulator on PS3. But because of some technical issues and an unclear structure, it does not set new standards.
  25. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Considering the time it took Polyphony to complete what we believed would be a masterpiece, we really can't hide our disappointment. Although the number of cars, events and play modes on offer is surely impressive, Gran Turismo 5 is far from that level of perfection that the development team promised us during the last four years.
  26. Dec 23, 2010
    93
    Gran Turismo 5 is an extremely realistic racing game that has a lot of options. Polyphony Digital made us wait a very long time, but it was definitely worth it!
  27. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    Light meets shadow, but the good points outweigh the flaws by far. It's not the ultimate real driving simulator it claims to be, but it's probably the best racing game out on the market.
  28. Dec 18, 2010
    85
    Gran Turismo 5 mostly delivers on its promise of an all-encompassing, incredibly accurate and challenging racing simulator, and is by all means a treat for car fans and racing game fans alike.
  29. Jan 6, 2011
    70
    Gran Turismo 5 is like a restored classic car: beautiful on the outside and it drives like a dream, but in time you'll miss the modern parts that new cars have.
  30. 80
    Fans are unlikely to be too disappointed, and the developer's automotive obsession is always evident, but this is definitely a refinement not a revolution.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1049 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 376
  1. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    Firstly I'll set my stall out - I'm no X-box fan never owned one or played on one, but I've played on all versions of the GT series. MostFirstly I'll set my stall out - I'm no X-box fan never owned one or played on one, but I've played on all versions of the GT series. Most gripes have been covered already, the menus are cumbersome, the in-game music is shocking (thankfully you can turn it off!) and the 'standard' cars are annoyingly sub-standard. The premiums are so nicely rendered with care that it feels such a let down with the rest. Then the 'premiums' - why, oh why, do we need a Suzuki Cappuccino '05 AND an '07 version?? They are exactly the same, even the trim is identical! Not sure how many other duplicate 'premiums' are about (no doubt the usual glut of skylines). Now, I suppose we should know what to expect from this series, going through licenses and repeating the Sunday cup until you have enough for a decent motor but come on its the 5th main installment and its lacking the excitement of recent next gen games, such as nfs shift. Not saying that was perfect but I had great fun playing that, and playing GT5 just feels stale in comparison. This just doesn't sit right with me (especially as i forked out on the signature edition!). Why does a game 6yr or so in development feel incomplete, rushed and so disjointed? It even has one of my most annoying bugbears - trophy design... couldn't they show some imagination and design individual icons? Not asking for much there surely, in all that time. Its double standards - saying they wanted the perfect sim, going into so much detail, yet so many things are not. I still have my doubts the physics are that realistic too, it drives well for the most part but some challenges (mainly on the top gear events) seem unnatural. I'm hoping a bit more time and perseverance will open up more challenging and exciting racing but at the moment I feel a bit let down. Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    4
    If you've ever played a GT game before you know what to expect. But unfortunately things haven't changed with the times. The AI is BAD it willIf you've ever played a GT game before you know what to expect. But unfortunately things haven't changed with the times. The AI is BAD it will just try and plow through you! For the most part all you have to do it upgrade the car with limited upgrades available to beat the competition. There is no mechanical damage and very little cosmetic so this game will make you a sloppy driver because there is no punishment for driving like a madman. The online seems tacked on, there is no leader board and no classes to keep the races even and no credits to earn for single player. The visuals are ok, not as good as the screen shots made them out to be. There are bad shadows and some of the older tracks look strait from the ps2. And the sounds are hit or miss, but you can use custom BMG if you want.
    I have no idea what PD has been doing for this long but this game almost feels 5 years old. Try before you buy!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    While it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital doesWhile it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital does the exact opposite. They spend 5 years making one single game that does not involve anything the current videogame industry is obsessed with (zombies, apocalyptic environments, open world gameplay, first-person shooters, etc...) and it does is executed in an extremely classy way. Gran Turismo 5 couldn't feel more refreshing to the gaming-enthusiast, especially when a market is saturated with macho-men titles. Yes it is a blockbuster sequel, but that does not make it feel any less awesome. Full Review »