• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 24, 2010
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    If you like racing games you must own this. Yes, there are things that can be improved like the online mode or strange stuff like the decision to use 800 car models of lower quality, but this GT5 is just pure love for motor racing.
  2. The list of faults we've found during our time with GT5 is surprisingly long. And yet, we just keep playing it, and playing it. For all its foibles the profoundly realistic handling keeps drawing us back. The desire to tune up competitive cars from old pusbuckets keeps us fiddling with air filters and extractors. We'll criticise the final product, but that doesn't stop us drooling over the supersexeriffic premium car models, lavished with the kind a detail that we just did not anticipate seeing this generation. [February 2011 p72]
  3. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    Is it still awesome? Is it still the best racing sim ever? Absolutely and absolutely. For many that ends the conversation. But taking a step back and just looking at it as a game, I have to say that in many ways it falls short.
  4. Dec 12, 2010
    92
    In conclusion, Gran Turismo 5 is a very engaging game that will leave craving for more.
  5. Dec 6, 2010
    70
    Started in 2008 with Gran Turismo 5 Prologue, the High Definition corner for Gran Turismo ends in a somewhat chaotic way with a Gran Turismo 5 disappointing at almost every level, moreover proving that Polyphony Digital didn't put itself in question.
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    92
    Uncompromising in design and steeped in car loving snobbery, GT5 is a petrol head's dream. For gamers it's good, for car enthusiasts it's quite brilliant.
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    If you're one of those car nuts I mentioned earlier, here's your game. Have fun, we'll see you in a year when you finally leave the house. If you're not in that group -- you like, even love racing games, but care less about tuning and more about the thrill of the race -- GT5 is like walking in on a group of physicists discussing string theory and asking who wants to go toss around a ball for a bit. You're looking to have fun; they're only interested in studying the math behind how it bounces.
  8. 70
    Gran Turismo 5 feels old and confused. There are glimpses of amazing stuff hidden under the muddy menus, but there are also some truly bad design choices. Give it time and it will open up. But perhaps not as much as you had hoped for.
  9. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    Gran Turismo 5 is in many ways a fantastic racing game, but it suffers from relatively severe deficiencies. The damage model is unforgivably weak, 800 of the 1000 cars are of low quality and the sound is too cheap. The handling is impeccable, however.
  10. Dec 12, 2010
    80
    GT5 lives up to "the real driving simulator" tagline, but in almost every other respect, there lies a sense that the grandaddy has been lapped by the competition.
  11. Jan 2, 2011
    90
    GT5 may have taken a lifetime to release, but it delivers on its promise of being 'the real driving simulator'.
  12. 90
    While GT5 could have done with more time, incredibly, to iron out a few of the kinks, there's so much quality on the track and so much to do off it that you'll easily forgive its shortcomings and revel in its successes -- of which there are many.
  13. Dec 6, 2010
    85
    During my first trials, I was shocked: how could it be that GT 5 is suffering from tearing and lags, after five years of development? A few days ago, I was admiring Yamauchi, but now I just feel sorry for him. Over the full-hd-graphics and the photorealistic car models, he lost his sense of the other parts that matter. A good damage model belongs to a racing simulation, just as a cockpit-view for all (!) cars. What remains are the best controls and the most beautiful cars in the whole genre. Anyway, Gran Turismo 5 is the best racing simulation on PS3.
  14. 100
    Kaz Yamauchi's passion for the racing sphere shines through every aspect of the game. The incredibly-detailed cars, the slick presentation, the spot-on physics. Polyphony Digital brought its A-game. Nothing else on the market can come close to the realism and immersion you feel throughout. Gran Turismo 5 is virtual racing at its very best.
  15. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    So, if you've already sat through an excruciating wait for your next fix of this hugely popular franchise then strap yourself in and prepare to play long into the coming year. For everyone else, there's always Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit.
  16. Dec 6, 2010
    87
    Polyphony Digital delivers one hell of a game with Gran Turismo 5. It contains lots of cars and tracks and new features like the special section are great. The gameplay however didn't change, so that means you have to race all the well known cups and championships. Still a great game, but it's a shame the AI is way too bad for a PlayStation 3 game.
  17. Jan 1, 2011
    80
    I, like many gamers had high expectations for Gran Turismo 5 but it seems that these have not been meet, mainly by a need to get the game on the shelves in time for the busy Christmas period and whilst GT5 does still provide an excellent driving experience with probably some of the best vehicle performance and handling to grace a videogame, certain aspects simply don't feel like a Gran Turismo game should, which may leave some feeling a little disappointed.
  18. Jan 5, 2011
    70
    Ultimately, fans of GT4 are going to find a great deal of value in GT5. Just don't expect to see the same advances that have been made in racing games over the last three years.
  19. 70
    It requires a significant investment of time before players will begin to enjoy themselves. It has loading times which are pretty bad at best and unacceptable at worst. Oh and for a lot of the game the only thing you'll be racing is your own PB time.
  20. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    But it has a sheer appreciation, and love, for cars and driving that is difficult to resist. At times it feels less like playing a game and more like indulging in a hobby.
  21. 85
    A lot of beautiful cars and tracks were made for Gran Turismo 5. The driving physics are really good but somehow Gran Turismo 5 could not stand up to its previous hype in general. Some recycled tracks and the environments are not looking good. Weather effects and the changes of daytime are looking awesome but they are only available on some tracks.
  22. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    What PD have delivered is unquestionably a phenomenal achievement and will represent countless lost hours for petrolheads the world over, but the GT series is no longer the gold standard for driving games. If it takes Yamauchi and his team another five years (or more) to better GT5, the brand runs the risk of being left in the past.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 976 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 370
  1. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    Firstly I'll set my stall out - I'm no X-box fan never owned one or played on one, but I've played on all versions of the GT series. Most gripes have been covered already, the menus are cumbersome, the in-game music is shocking (thankfully you can turn it off!) and the 'standard' cars are annoyingly sub-standard. The premiums are so nicely rendered with care that it feels such a let down with the rest. Then the 'premiums' - why, oh why, do we need a Suzuki Cappuccino '05 AND an '07 version?? They are exactly the same, even the trim is identical! Not sure how many other duplicate 'premiums' are about (no doubt the usual glut of skylines). Now, I suppose we should know what to expect from this series, going through licenses and repeating the Sunday cup until you have enough for a decent motor but come on its the 5th main installment and its lacking the excitement of recent next gen games, such as nfs shift. Not saying that was perfect but I had great fun playing that, and playing GT5 just feels stale in comparison. This just doesn't sit right with me (especially as i forked out on the signature edition!). Why does a game 6yr or so in development feel incomplete, rushed and so disjointed? It even has one of my most annoying bugbears - trophy design... couldn't they show some imagination and design individual icons? Not asking for much there surely, in all that time. Its double standards - saying they wanted the perfect sim, going into so much detail, yet so many things are not. I still have my doubts the physics are that realistic too, it drives well for the most part but some challenges (mainly on the top gear events) seem unnatural. I'm hoping a bit more time and perseverance will open up more challenging and exciting racing but at the moment I feel a bit let down. Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    4
    If you've ever played a GT game before you know what to expect. But unfortunately things haven't changed with the times. The AI is BAD it will just try and plow through you! For the most part all you have to do it upgrade the car with limited upgrades available to beat the competition. There is no mechanical damage and very little cosmetic so this game will make you a sloppy driver because there is no punishment for driving like a madman. The online seems tacked on, there is no leader board and no classes to keep the races even and no credits to earn for single player. The visuals are ok, not as good as the screen shots made them out to be. There are bad shadows and some of the older tracks look strait from the ps2. And the sounds are hit or miss, but you can use custom BMG if you want.
    I have no idea what PD has been doing for this long but this game almost feels 5 years old. Try before you buy!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    While it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital does the exact opposite. They spend 5 years making one single game that does not involve anything the current videogame industry is obsessed with (zombies, apocalyptic environments, open world gameplay, first-person shooters, etc...) and it does is executed in an extremely classy way. Gran Turismo 5 couldn't feel more refreshing to the gaming-enthusiast, especially when a market is saturated with macho-men titles. Yes it is a blockbuster sequel, but that does not make it feel any less awesome. Full Review »