• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 24, 2010
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Dec 6, 2010
    91
    If there's a lesson to be learned from Gran Turismo 5 (the game itself, not its epic journey to stores), it's not about braking zones, exhaust manifolds, and curve apexes -- it's about patience. Because Gran Turismo 5 contains a seemingly unending supply of driving experience to enjoy, if you just allow yourself the time to discover it.
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    82
    Motor junkies and passionate car collectors will find in Gran Turismo 5 a great add-on to its game compilation. Pure driving gamers may be overwhelmed by its numbers but not exactly pleasantly surprised with the lack of life in its gameplay modes and its disappointing opponent AI.
  3. Dec 13, 2010
    78
    The arcade version/part of the game offers more cars than I've ever seen in an arcade racing game ever, although you probably won't giggle like you did when you crashed while playing Burnout.
  4. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    It'll probably be years again before Polyphony Digital delivers another Gran Turismo, but I think it's pretty clear what they need to work on: treat all the cars with equal love, give players more options to fine-tune the AI, make driving something to be enjoyed rather than endured, improve all aspects of the online functionality, and re-prioritize all those features into something more focused on fun than a back-of-the-box list.
  5. 70
    It requires a significant investment of time before players will begin to enjoy themselves. It has loading times which are pretty bad at best and unacceptable at worst. Oh and for a lot of the game the only thing you'll be racing is your own PB time.
  6. 96
    Gran Turismo 5 sets the bar high for the genre overall, and with its detailed approach to core mechanics and commitment to creating the best simulation in video games, it's easy to see why Gran Turismo is the gold standard in the automotive genre. Though some missteps were made with some of the modes, the game is a tight package that begs not only to be played, but obsessed over.
  7. 80
    Too much of GT5 relies on past glories, building on the success of the series without shaking free of the design quirks that are holding the series back. High expectations are justified when a game has been in development so long and GT5 has more than a faint whiff of disappointment about it.
  8. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Gran Turismo 5 is without doubt a superlative driving simulator and there is so much within the game to do that it could easily take up as much as a hundred hours of your gaming schedule.
  9. Dec 6, 2010
    85
    During my first trials, I was shocked: how could it be that GT 5 is suffering from tearing and lags, after five years of development? A few days ago, I was admiring Yamauchi, but now I just feel sorry for him. Over the full-hd-graphics and the photorealistic car models, he lost his sense of the other parts that matter. A good damage model belongs to a racing simulation, just as a cockpit-view for all (!) cars. What remains are the best controls and the most beautiful cars in the whole genre. Anyway, Gran Turismo 5 is the best racing simulation on PS3.
  10. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    So, if you've already sat through an excruciating wait for your next fix of this hugely popular franchise then strap yourself in and prepare to play long into the coming year. For everyone else, there's always Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit.
  11. Dec 19, 2010
    89
    When looking at this game, you have to look at the game itself, and leave the hype behind. When you do that, you find a great sim-racing game, with an amazing amount of single player goodness and a real learning experience that most of us will never experience in real life.
  12. Dec 6, 2010
    100
    The level of care taken by the people at Polyphony Digital shines in every aspect of this title, and this makes for a racing game that truly has no parallel. Gran Turismo 5 is a massive love letter to those that love cars. This is their dream videogame.
  13. Dec 8, 2010
    90
    Gran Turismo 5 operates under an identical premise; the core experience provides a racing simulation of unmatched fidelity, one where every thread unravels in dozens of different directions and grants its own unique sense of satisfaction.
  14. Dec 6, 2010
    70
    But this is a production that feels increasingly aged in the face of modern game design. The creeping and eventually overriding feeling is that this meticulously precise simulation, and its lovingly constructed catalogue of automotive history, deserved a little more game to come along for the ride.
  15. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    It's an off-kilter vision of the future, a cumbersome game with odd priorities, certainly. But it's equally a game that heads off in unexpected and exciting directions, makes a few notable improvements, and overflows with love – for cars, for games technology and for its own mad pursuit.
  16. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Considering the time it took Polyphony to complete what we believed would be a masterpiece, we really can't hide our disappointment. Although the number of cars, events and play modes on offer is surely impressive, Gran Turismo 5 is far from that level of perfection that the development team promised us during the last four years.
  17. 90
    Gran Turismo 5 is a solid title and a rare certificate of quality in the automobile world.
  18. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    If you like racing games you must own this. Yes, there are things that can be improved like the online mode or strange stuff like the decision to use 800 car models of lower quality, but this GT5 is just pure love for motor racing.
  19. Dec 6, 2010
    87
    GT 5 is definitely the best Driving Simulator on PS3. But because of some technical issues and an unclear structure, it does not set new standards.
  20. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    We've all been waiting what seems like forever for Gran Turismo 5, and now that it's here, I don't expect perfection, but tangible evidence that it was worth the wait. It is. I wasn't blown away by every aspect of the game, but overall it's easy to see the sheer amount of effort and craftsmanship that went into the game. This is a racing experience that racing fans should not miss.
  21. Dec 6, 2010
    91
    In terms of the tech under GT5's hood, the only fault is the occasional spat of screen tearing. It's not ideal, but everything else looks and sounds so beautiful that it's easily forgivable. Think of it as a beauty mark on an otherwise flawless face.
  22. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    GT5 pushes the realism of the race even further and has very, very rich content, with classic races and also new additions like Karting and NASCAR. We also warmly welcome the cockpit views, the new race circuits and all the 1.000 cars. But above all, whether with the wheel or the controller, the driving sensations are really, really fantastic. Unfortunately, some stuff remains committed to values that could be described as "outdated", particularly in terms of AI, sound effects, collisions and damages. We would also have expected much better weather effects, and we regret that only 200 Premium models feature cockpit views and high poly-count. Frustrating. Graphically uneven, GT5 seems to have been finished in a hurry (same with the online mode). Of course it remains a safe bet that it would be a shame to ignore, but as early as now... we can't wait to play GT6!
  23. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    For those who have been playing GT games since the PS1, Gran Turismo 5 will make them shed tears of joy. It may even make them feel like marrying the Blu-Ray disk. The incredible amount of content packed in is certainly what makes this title a must-see and not because it revolutionizes the genre.
  24. Dec 6, 2010
    70
    Started in 2008 with Gran Turismo 5 Prologue, the High Definition corner for Gran Turismo ends in a somewhat chaotic way with a Gran Turismo 5 disappointing at almost every level, moreover proving that Polyphony Digital didn't put itself in question.
  25. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    The game is a triumph for pure racing aficionados, and is without doubt the best racing simulator available on the PS3. The only real disappointment is that we knew it would be, and hoped that the wealth of new features long touted by Polyphony would be produced with the same level of dedication and perfection shown in the heart of the game.
  26. Dec 6, 2010
    90
    There's no denying that GT5 is absolutely incredible, but due to its immense size and complexity, not all its facets are of the same standard, and as a result it's brilliant, but imperfect. For the most part it delivers a 5-star experience. But I do feel compelled to ding it half a star, simply because of the parts of the game that don't. That makes me feel horribly nitpicky and churlish, because despite my criticism I know I love GT5, and I'll be playing it for months, and maybe even years.
  27. Dec 12, 2010
    80
    GT5 lives up to "the real driving simulator" tagline, but in almost every other respect, there lies a sense that the grandaddy has been lapped by the competition.
  28. Jan 6, 2011
    70
    Gran Turismo 5 is like a restored classic car: beautiful on the outside and it drives like a dream, but in time you'll miss the modern parts that new cars have.
  29. Jan 11, 2011
    70
    Gran Turismo 5 is in many ways a fantastic racing game, but it suffers from relatively severe deficiencies. The damage model is unforgivably weak, 800 of the 1000 cars are of low quality and the sound is too cheap. The handling is impeccable, however.
  30. 70
    Gran Turismo 5 feels old and confused. There are glimpses of amazing stuff hidden under the muddy menus, but there are also some truly bad design choices. Give it time and it will open up. But perhaps not as much as you had hoped for.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1009 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 373
  1. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    Firstly I'll set my stall out - I'm no X-box fan never owned one or played on one, but I've played on all versions of the GT series. Most gripes have been covered already, the menus are cumbersome, the in-game music is shocking (thankfully you can turn it off!) and the 'standard' cars are annoyingly sub-standard. The premiums are so nicely rendered with care that it feels such a let down with the rest. Then the 'premiums' - why, oh why, do we need a Suzuki Cappuccino '05 AND an '07 version?? They are exactly the same, even the trim is identical! Not sure how many other duplicate 'premiums' are about (no doubt the usual glut of skylines). Now, I suppose we should know what to expect from this series, going through licenses and repeating the Sunday cup until you have enough for a decent motor but come on its the 5th main installment and its lacking the excitement of recent next gen games, such as nfs shift. Not saying that was perfect but I had great fun playing that, and playing GT5 just feels stale in comparison. This just doesn't sit right with me (especially as i forked out on the signature edition!). Why does a game 6yr or so in development feel incomplete, rushed and so disjointed? It even has one of my most annoying bugbears - trophy design... couldn't they show some imagination and design individual icons? Not asking for much there surely, in all that time. Its double standards - saying they wanted the perfect sim, going into so much detail, yet so many things are not. I still have my doubts the physics are that realistic too, it drives well for the most part but some challenges (mainly on the top gear events) seem unnatural. I'm hoping a bit more time and perseverance will open up more challenging and exciting racing but at the moment I feel a bit let down. Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    4
    If you've ever played a GT game before you know what to expect. But unfortunately things haven't changed with the times. The AI is BAD it will just try and plow through you! For the most part all you have to do it upgrade the car with limited upgrades available to beat the competition. There is no mechanical damage and very little cosmetic so this game will make you a sloppy driver because there is no punishment for driving like a madman. The online seems tacked on, there is no leader board and no classes to keep the races even and no credits to earn for single player. The visuals are ok, not as good as the screen shots made them out to be. There are bad shadows and some of the older tracks look strait from the ps2. And the sounds are hit or miss, but you can use custom BMG if you want.
    I have no idea what PD has been doing for this long but this game almost feels 5 years old. Try before you buy!
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    While it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital does the exact opposite. They spend 5 years making one single game that does not involve anything the current videogame industry is obsessed with (zombies, apocalyptic environments, open world gameplay, first-person shooters, etc...) and it does is executed in an extremely classy way. Gran Turismo 5 couldn't feel more refreshing to the gaming-enthusiast, especially when a market is saturated with macho-men titles. Yes it is a blockbuster sequel, but that does not make it feel any less awesome. Full Review »