• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 24, 2010
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 976 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    While it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital does the exact opposite. They spend 5 years making one single game that does not involve anything the current videogame industry is obsessed with (zombies, apocalyptic environments, open world gameplay, first-person shooters, etc...) and it does is executed in an extremely classy way. Gran Turismo 5 couldn't feel more refreshing to the gaming-enthusiast, especially when a market is saturated with macho-men titles. Yes it is a blockbuster sequel, but that does not make it feel any less awesome. Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game is EPIC,online is great,just enjoy.its the best out there.
    the damage is really good and the level system is new and defo something they should keep.
    This destroys any xbox game by far.
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    First of all I set out to play GT5 with one thing in mind, is it as realistic as PD claims it to be, unfortunately many gaming sites will review this as a game, it is not, yes it is a piece of software you put into your PS3, but being an automotive engineer and an avid gamer I can assure you that this is as close to realism you will ever get without leaving your living room, I could compare this to Forza 3 but that would not be fair to the Forza series. PD's GT5 stands head and shoulders above anything offered on PC or any other platform for that matter. GT5 starts with beautiful depiction of the evolution of the motor car right up to the final product, Jumping right into the menu for me it could have been a bit more simplified, a complicated interface which can be a bit frustrating at times but not to worry, you do get used to it. It is only when you are behind the wheel in a race when you first realize that GT5 is nothing short of astonishing, apart from the most amazing visuals you will ever see in any game on any platform this gen, it is the physics and feel of the car that is the heart of GT5, unlike Prologue you can actually feel the weight of each car, each having its own feel to, it intensifying the experience especially behind the wheel each of the 200 premium cars. GT5 is the complete racing simulator, if you are looking for a game, then GT5 probably isnt for you but if you are looking for the most realistic experience as close to driving a car you will probably never own then GT5 is the only way to go that being said every PS3 owner should buy GT5 even if it is just to marvel at the visuals, for every true racing fan and petrol head it is a must buy. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    It appears this game is being attacked by Xbox 360 fanboys who can't take the fact that Gran Turismo has always been and continues to be the racing king. This game is brilliant. Ignore these retards who are giving it 0's. Remember this is a driving SIMULATOR, not Need for Speed where you can go from 0-100 in 5 seconds and flip a car over by gently nudging it. Forza 3 has got nothing on this game. The graphics may not seem too special if you are playing on a non HD television, but this is the sort of game that needs HD for it to shows it's true colours.

    On another note, it upsets me to see exclusive games such as this one, attacked by rabid fanboys who are upset that they can't play the game so they give it a 0/10. You people need to get a life.
    Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    It is here.
    GT5 is the driving simulator. you wanna race, you play gt5, amazing game amazing cars amazing visuals amazing everything this is the game you need buy it now
  6. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    ESPuxio
    I,ve benn playing the game for 8 hrs now. The game is Incredible amazing .While it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital does the exact opposite. They spend 5 years making one single game that does not involve anything the current videogame industry is obsessed with (zombies, apocalyptic
    environments, open world gameplay, first-person shooters, etc...) and it does is executed in an extremely classy way. Gran Turismo 5 couldn't feel more refreshing to the gaming-enthusiast, especially when a market is saturated with macho-men titles. Yes it is a blockbuster sequel, but that does not make it feel any less awesome Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    A wonderful racing sim probably the best one for this generation of video game consoles. Graphics are top notch and unrivaled for a racer, each car is highly detailed and wonderfully crafted. 16 cars in a single race has to be one of the best things about this game, take your friends to the track and show them your driving skills. The track editor is easy to use and I have a feeling we are going to see some amazing user made tracks releasing soon. Dynamic weather and night/day cycles are a great new touch for the series and are implemented very well, sadly not all tracks support the feature but enough do so that you get your fill of it. Over-all I'd say if your a hardcore care enthusiast this is the game for you just get yourself a racing wheel and hit the track. Expand
  8. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    This game is the best racing simulator you can find. That doesn't mean it's perfect. I can see some people being let down a little, but that will go away once you dive into this experience that is as deep as you dare let it be. The few flaws and annoyances I found were the slightly slow menus and loading times and while generally the music is great some tracks feel too out of place. The game sounds are superb and so are the graphics, this game will floor you specially if you can play it on a 1080p TV. If you are a fan of past iterations of Gran Turismo or cars in general this game was made for you. Expand
  9. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Not a perfect and flawless game like everyone was waiting for. Yet the game is great and deliver. Nothing come as close as GT5 so far on the PS3. Well back to playing the game!
  10. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Okay, what are some people on about? I've played the s*** out of this game in less than a day, and I can honestly say that this is the biggest and best Gran Turismo in the series. Everything is beautiful and as close as you're going to get to 'real' in a video game, the cars all handle differently depending on what and where you're driving and in order to complete the whole thing I'd say it would take more than a year so you definitely get value for money. I don't get users who question the game's physics/graphics - wait a sec, they all mention Forza 3 on Xbox in their reviews, hidden agenda much? And I don't understand critics who say it's dull - I suppose they're used to reviewing arcade racers by the truckload in the 5 years wait for GT5. Gran Turismo, how I've missed you! Expand
  11. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    this is the true simulator.
    casuals play nfs. fanboys play forza. racing enthusiasts play gran turismo. buy this GAME., go now it is an amazing game great graphics
  12. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    This game is tough to recommend as a great video game--I'm not sure that it is. However, it is a great racing/driving simulator. That may sound weird, but if you are not a serious racing fan, I'm not sure how much you will enjoy Gran Turismo 5. If you ARE a racing fan or just love cars, you will surely be delighted with what Gran Turismo 5 has to offer. If you are just an average gamer looking for an easy to get into racer, you may be better served by an arcade like title, maybe something like the upcoming Dirt 3. This game has a lot of content, as you may have already read. You know the stats: 1000+ cars, 70 track variations/layouts, etc. There are a lot of events, license tests, special events, A-Spec Mode (you are the driver), B-Spec Mode (you are managing a race team)...I could go on, but you get my point, hopefully. The graphics are right on, the sound is good, and the gameplay/physics are the best in the business (in my opinion). Now for my nitpicks and why I deducted a point: The overall game doesn't feel as polished as GTs of the past....I can't put my finger on it, but somehow it just feels uneven in spots. The menus are FAR too cumbersome, they do have some charm in the My Life section, but overall could have been better. The online has some issues, not with the racing, but with how it manages racing with friends, the lobbies, and some issues with setting up race restrictions. I won't go into detail, but if you buy the game, you'll see what I mean. If I'm really nitpicking, some of the track side foliage looks off when compared to the car models, which look incredible. Also, I've seen some inconsistency in shadows. These faults, while mostly small, I feel are enough to deduct a full point. In the end I feel that Gran Turismo is the best non-arcade racing game to date. Gran Turismo 5 will not be leaving my PS3 for the foreseeable future...there is a lot of great racing to be had here, and I am going to enjoy every minute that I can.

    Graphics: 9.5
    Sound: 9.0
    Gameplay/Physics: 9.5
    Content/Replay Value: 9.5
    Menus/Modes: 8.0
    Overall Polish (how polished the finished product feels): 8.5
    Overall: 9.0
    Expand
  13. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Best racing game,ever. That's all you need to know, now do yourself a favor and buy this game, you will not be disappointed. The graphics are freaking amazing, just jaw dropping, the number of cars is freaking huge over ONE THOUSAND! There's also NASCAR,RALLY, and GOKARTS. Then the mind blowing number of feautures, dynamic weather effects, night racing, great looking **** view, realistic damage, over 100 tracks, and a very robust, engaging, and fun mutiplayer and single player mode that will keep you hooked for months, probably years. This is one of the most feature packed games of all time. Expand
  14. Z-U
    Nov 24, 2010
    10
    zxe355, granturfailsmo5, xynta123, zxtole, zircon and perhaps others seem to bee all the same person. Same style of **** writing. I'll place a 10 here to counter his ****
  15. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    It's the most exiting game I have ever seen!He is wonderful it's really the ultimate driving car simulation!
    If you have a PS3 buy it! The gameplay is exceptionally good!(9.9)
  16. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Gran Turismo 5 is a time thief. You will lose your appointments, you will cancel dates, heck, you will probably lose you job trying to explore the magnificent amout of gorgeus content this pretty racing game has to offer.
    The graphics are insanelly beautiful, the gameplay is as true to real life as a videogame can be and the fun factor is mind blowing (online matches are looking perfect).

    Welcome to racing heaven. It is finally time to buy a PS3.
    Expand
  17. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    The racing experience is just what I expected. Racing and winning with skill makes you enjoy playing and the way the cars handle is so much better than Forza's which felt like a semi arcade racer to me. Many games cannot touch GT5 in driving physics and realism. There is a huge amount of content and even 3D support, though the game has some imperfections but it doesn't ruin the core gameplay, which is what this game should be all about. The amount of Forza and X360 fanboys and their behavior is outrageous. Metacritic should remove user scores permanently. The said people above clearly have no life. So hey, everyone that actually has a PS3 blu-ray console, go give this game a 10 because, well you know. Expand
  18. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Wow, only been playing for about 3 hours, but it certainly has the feel of Gran Turismo that i have grown to love...only with really high end shiny graphics. so many haters reviwing this game, now i have heard of fanboys boycotting metacritic to place negative reviews on games that they don't get to play, but this is terrible...and it is blatantly obvious in this case as there are so many 0 out of 10 purely to mark the average score down. i really don't understand why they would waste time doing so, it's gran turismo!!! so where i probably would have given this game about 8.8 out of 10, purely because i have had to wait so long to play it, i'm going to give it a 10 to help give GT the score it deserves. so to all you Xbox Forza fans....be gone with you!! sure Forza is also a great game, i personally had many hours of fun with it but now its GT's turn. if you are a fan of a good racing simulator, you have hears of GT, must play this in full HD for an amazingly lifelike drive. Expand
  19. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    The best racing game,ever. he probado el juego por solo una hora, pero debo decir que aunq no me hayan gustado algunos pequeños detalles, a mi parecer un solocoche premium se ve mejor que todos los coches q el forza tiene. eso si para las colisiones mejor debes comprarte un burnot o un forza porq esos si se abollan, aunq se abollan como en gta. simplemente si eres amante de los autos, no puedes ni dudarlo tantito basta que compres tus ferrari,o lamborghinis y veras q el juego no tiene comparacion con ningun otro juego de coches. simplemente gt5 rullez. Expand
  20. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    If you're looking for racing, there is no substitute for GT5. This game looks real, and the physics mimic the real world. The quality and quantity put into Gran Turismo 5 is unprecedented. I recommend GT5 at the highest level.
  21. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Gran Turismo 5 is a fantastic racing game for PS3. Over 1000 cars, NASCAR, kart racing, head tracking, 3D, and the list goes on. Any racing game fan should definitely pick this game up! Many reviewers are saying that the damage is not realistic and that there is minimal damage hasn't played the enough. As you level up in the game, there is more damage done to the cars, and the AI get smarter. Anyone that's on the fence about getting this game should definitely go pick this up! Expand
  22. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    DO not listen to forza fanboys.
    200 premium cars is still more then any forza or nfs game. and the 800 standard are still MUCH better looking then other racing game. this is THE DRIVING SIM. its here, get used to it
  23. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    The best racing game/sim to date. While some graphics are mediocre other graphics are so good it'll make you wanna smack your momma. 12 hrs. In and I want to keep racing. I loved Forza 3, but GT5 is not about visual modifications to your cars but about making them faster. This is a new pinnacle in racing software. If you own a PS3 then you should own this game.
  24. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    GT5 is the most realistic looking racing game ever. Having played forza3 quite a bit (on my 360) which just gets boring after about 3 seasons of play, not to mention its total lack of a weather system (it just seems to be sunny all the time) and over use of colour. i can honestly say that GT5 kicks forza3's ass in just about every area......big style not only in the graphics department but in the gameplay as well. Anyone that has given GT5 a bad score, obviously haven't played the game at all or are just jealous 360 fanboys. i give GT5 9/10 and i believe that it will sell ps3 consoles by the lorry load. Best racer available on any console. Expand
  25. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    i haven't played this yet but looking at the other user reviews at least 10 of the 0's are the same guy on a bunch of accounts, based on the grammar. so I'll give it a 10
  26. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    It's easy to see that Gran Turismo 5 was over the head most of the people that "officially" reviewed it. Seems that GT5's unprecedented realism didn't hit stride with people who bank on guns- cop chases- sex- or the name forza to recommend a game for the American crowd. Gran Turismo 5 is game aimed at car and race enthusiasts, those have always been the fans of the series- and yet it seems the only thing that is constant in every review (outside of it having outstanding graphics) it that they all say is "Fans of the series will not be disappointed.".... No Sh!t.... Well i'll go ahead and say it, THATS BECAUSE THAT'S WHO THE GAME WAS MADE FOR- car and race nuts that don't require the usual American treatment of sex and violence to be entertained. Don't review a game that you don't fall into the target market of and then turn around and give it average scores because it was to complex and realistic for your taste. This isn't the Xbox 360 crowd that's full of 10-18 year olds wanting to blow something up, it's a Sony crowd that banks on the no frills realism of GT5. Expand
  27. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game is one of the decade defining games. Over 1000 cars, albeit not all them are premium. However, the attention to detail is just overwhelming. A solid and smooth experience. Recommended for everyone interested in driving games and simulators, hell, recommended for everyone owning PS3.
  28. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game is the best racing game period. Do not compare it to arcade racing games like NFS because this game is about precision. I am going to talk about the flaws and how they are not really important and how they totally donâ
  29. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Xbox 360 lowlife scums are attacking this game as we speak. They come here to pretend that they've waited so long, they own a PS3 for this game and praise Forza 3? How low can you get, that's fanboyism at its best. Read, you haven't even tried this game, and you probably don't even own a PS3. Rating a game like GT5 0 out of 10? Are you f*cking stupid? That doesn't even make sense. This game is awesome beyond any racing sims I've tried in my entire life, and trust me, I've tried many.

    It's f*cking sad to see people bash such a great game simply because they think their console is superior. STOP pretending you've been waiting for this game when you're a 360 fanboy, STOP pretending you own a PS3 to make you appear less of a fanboy, AND STOP bashing another game on a serious review site. I've had it.

    I'm gonna rate this game with honesty, like any other game it has flaws, but they're extremely small, I would have rated it 9 out of 10, but because lowlife fanboy scums are rating it low, I'm giving it 10 out of 10 simply for being the best racing sim game ever made in history.
    Expand
  30. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    What the **** is everyone whining about. Yes the loading times between menus is a little too long and the AI is a little sterile (what game isnt really, and if it is they are random and can **** you up). This is a master piece, the driving simulation is epic (yes its been on pc for a while, but the in car effects and feeling of being in the **** is unrivalled adding to it). we dont even need to speak about the graphics, amazing, and the night racing, effects, special stages(epic!), all the added extras like top gear track, , so ****ing much. yes the terrain is a little bland, but you are pushing serious **** with those premium cars. and **** you if you think the non-premium cars ruin the game, they can hardly model them all, 2018 release. and they are ok anyway. I havnt done much online, i hear its a bit dodgy, but as long as i can get a race and its not laggy (prologue was fine) im all good. If you a driving fan, shut up, get a ps3, this game, a G25 or G27, a nice tv, and enjoy the best driving game ever made Expand
  31. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Gran Turismo 5 is simply the best racing game of this generation bar none. I can tell you I have played a lot of both great arcade racers (Need for Speed:Shift, Forza Motorsports 3) and simulators this generation and Gran Turismo 5 outshines all others in every aspect!
    Graphically this game destroys the competition, earning the title of best raccing game graphics on any platform. That's
    right, there's no game even on PC that looks better, boasting 500,000 polygons per car versus, for example, forza 3's 170,000 and Need for Speed Shift's (when maxed out on the PC) 200,000.
    It is not only the new benchmark in graphics for a racing game, it also has one of the best physics systems in any game in recent years. The realistic rollover, stalling, tyre wear based on humidity and pressure in the air, real time damage, backfiring, engine and mechanical damage all help to make it the most realistic true-to-life handling racing game of this generation (It's definitely up there tied with iRacing and beating out Live For Speed) Not only that but the sounds are incredible too! There's been a massive improvement over Prologue, with each individual vehicle emitting its own respective grunt and transmission whine which, when you tune the car, changes the engine note completely just as in real life.
    As far as gameplay is concerned... Almost 70 tracks including Top gear test track, Nurburgring, Monza, track editor, day/night cycle, weather cycle, lifelike and complex AI, 1037 cars including appearances from Nascar, F1, F2, karting and more, Special drivers appearing in stages like Top Gear's Stig, Joey Logano, F1 champion Vettel, Sebastian Loeb and more. Not to mention split screen, 16 player online, extensive photomode (up to 8mp pictures) replays instantly uploadable to youtube in glorious HD, B spec career mode (much like a racing manager) A spec career mode (a gruelling series of challenges, will definitely take you a while to complete this one!) GT life community, car museum, car tuning, car painting and there's probably even things I've missed out ;)
    The game is overwhelming in content and quality, far surpassing any racing game or simulator this generation. A must buy for anyone even remotely interested in cars.
    Expand
  32. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Most of the reviewers on here cannot even speak English, So get off the site and go to one in your language. The others are either people who haven't even played it and are just here to bash it. None of you have even played through 24 hours of the game. What a complete joke this review system is. Basically, It's just 13 year olds with unrestricted access to their computers complaining how "technical" and "slow" the game is. Go buy Need for Speed Fake Pursuit or Call of Duty Bandwagon Ops..That's if mommy can get off of work early to drive you to Gamestop. Expand
  33. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    GT5 is the real deal, there is no competition. Everything about this game is just pure perfection. The driving is incredible, the music is incredible, the graphics are incredible... The pace is just right for beginners because you don't start with the damage system right away so you'll have time to adapt before being punished with your car breaking down. The damage system greatly affects your car's driving and considering the game itself it's pretty hard for a beginner to start with the damage system would be overkill so, PD did right into incorporating it depending on your driving level.

    The add to the equation the weathernsystem, day/night transitions, snow, rally, Nascar and you'll see that this game is the complete package and that there's no game that offers more for you 60 dollars.
    Expand
  34. Jio
    Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I love this game!!! People who love forza will love this game. Gran turismo 5 is the best racing game of this generation. It may not be the revolutionary game everyone was expecting, but it stayed true to its origins. More is along the way as Yamouchi said that he will keep adding more like better damage, and patches which means that the game will have long replay value and will keep getting better. A must have for any racing fan. Expand
  35. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Mission accomplished Kazunori Yamauchi! A brilliant game not selling out to western type "arcade" race games and sticking to your guns to make one of the best race games this gen! Can Metacritic please filter out the fake hate reviews here? Grow up people.... If you own a ps3 or thinking on getting one go pick this one up! 10/10
  36. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    the game game really lived up to the hype, you can see clearly here that only the haters rated it low, no wonder they are all 0 scores, so damn obvious
  37. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Simplemente el mejor simulador de carreras si es verdad que los coches standart no están tan bien como deberían igual que el online (cosa que no se pueda solucionar)pero los coches premium son un lujo a la vista y en los niveles más altos es un autentico reto con un buen implemento de los daños que alteran la mecánica una novedad en la saga, las opciones son de lujo igual que los menús muy bien diseñados, las cargas si es verdad que son lentas pero para nada empaña la gran obra maestra de yamaguchi, simplemente un gran homenaje a los apasionados del motor,gracias poliphony. Expand
  38. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    It's a real shame that metacritic is full of bull**** reviews, mainly on PS3 games. All the B.S comes from xbox 360 fanboys who are mad that they don't have a PS3. Its hilarious really. That they are so sad and angry with there xbox, that they give epic games, such as Gran Turismo 5, a terrible review.

    Forza 3 is a racing simulator, and to say that Forza 3 is better than Gran Turismo 5 is
    a complete joke. Not a funny one either, it just shows how ignorant people can be. I'm not going to go into too much detail about how great this game is, but just know that all the bad reviews are a load of bull, though you should still read the bad reviews, as they are funny. One of them said that "Grand Theft Auto 4" was a 360 exclusive. LMAO. Haha ok, now onto the short review.

    Graphics, 10/10, this is the BEST looking game I have ever seen. IT beats Uncharted 2, Killzone 2, and God Of War 3 in terms of graphics. You will basically be asking yourself if this is real car footage, or if its a game. ITs not real, but it sure as hell looks like it.

    Gameplay 10/10, the game feels amazing, as if you are really driving a car. I recommend picking up the "Logitech G27 steering wheel" which makes the game even more realistic. Sounds, there amazing, what all can I say? It sounds like your in the car, it sounds like other cars are around you, going at the top speeds. Even better, theres a song list in the game with 100+ songs, and if you don't like any of those songs (trust me you will like them) Then you can listen to music off your own hard drive.
    Sounds are a 10/10

    I would like to put more detail into this game, but I am sorry that I don't have the time! I need to go play my copy of Gran Turismo 5. All you need to know is that I give this game a 10/10, thanks for reading, enjoy the best racing simulator ever released, Gran Turismo 5! (fanboys can ATTEMPT to enjoy Forza 3, but we all know they'll Dreaming that it is really GT5)
    Expand
  39. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    This game is really good, it's not perfect but its no way that bad as some stupid people claims. What are these people thinking? The sheer content of these game already deserve an 8. Giving game a zero is just plain stupid. Even if its as bad and as dumb as your useless mind, there's no way you should give a game a rating of 0. You should at least give credit to the developers for creating game for us gamers. But as i can see these people are just xbot fanboy or just plain stupid. To all the haters of the game out there, go enjoy talking trash about GT5 while we enjoy playing it, you pieces of trash. Expand
  40. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This is, quite simply, the most stunning racer of this generation by far. In terms of graphics, sound, physics and content, GT5 DESTROYS the competition. It leaves games like Race Driver: GRID, Forza Motorsports: 3 and Need For Speed Shift looking and playing like last generation Playstation 2 games. GT5 has set the bar extremely high and it's very doubtful sh*tty companies like turn 10 or EA will ever reach that level. Expand
  41. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    O melhor em sua categoria, imbativel! Pena ter tanto SONY hater aqui akAKAKkAk São cegos que nem querem enxergar o obvio, GT é o melhor e é um fato.
    Ainda não peguei o meu, mais com certeza passarei muitas horas jogando esta obra de arte.
  42. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    5 hours in. Best GT yet in my opinion. they've brought alot of the things from the psone versions back and then added more. i think it goes without saying this game is getting trolled pretty bad so the user score here doesn't do it justice. if you like gt 1 -4, you'll love gt5.
  43. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    Amazing Game everything I expect from a Gran Turismo game. Physics are amazing, Has drafting, Nascar feels right. premium cars look fantastic. Loads of modding option. Just a great all around game
  44. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    I have waited so long for this game as with every one else and all i can say is that this game is incredible... the graphics and the sheer amount of things in GT5 is brilliant. i cant understand why people are comparing this to need for speed, they are tottaly different racing games... GT5 is for the petrol head out there. if you dont like and have never liked GT then its not going to change your opinion of the series, but if you love GT and cars then this is your heaven. 1000 cars may seem abit extreame but more is better and the cars look amazing...the game has a nice bit of humour too..(the car wash) and being able to race your car round the Top Gear test track is a brilliant touch.. This will keep you entertained well into next year... Expand
  45. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Really am disappointed all the xbox flamers are trying to lower the reviews. All in all the game is awesome. The only complaint I have is that shadows could have been done better. The loading times are long (however i saw last night they expect that to be due to online overload even for single player as it is still connected to the online servers). Those are really my only complaints. The single player is basically right out of GT3/4 with many, many added tracks and cars. The graphics (besides shadows) are awesome. Physics are A+ as well. I really do not know what people are complaining about. Heck the online is even good (which I expected to be horrible ala GT5P). If you are a fan of racing or a fan of any of the previous GT games this is a must buy 10/10. Expand
  46. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Simply the best driving simulator ever! It wasn't meant to be like a Burnout or NFS style game. If u like simplified arcadey-style gameplay then by all means play those titles and stop knocking GT5. However, if u consider yourself a petrolhead, a motoring enthusiast or even a fan of the series, then you will definitely love this game. Everything has been majorly improved and expanded upon from the previous GT titles. The game continuously tests you, makes you think, sweat, and then rewards you. For the sheer amount of days or weeks of enticing gameplay contained within, GT5 is already worth your money. And when you want to take a break from the serious battles versus the sometimes relentless A.I, there's Karting, the Top Gear track, racing online with your mates (which I've played for hours against a friend thousands of miles away and, since the latest patch, it's flawless). There's also a photo mode for a change of scenery and GT TV for the die-hard petrolheads. I doubt that any of the negative reviewers ( twitch-gaming kids? lame-brained twits? Xbot trolls? etc) have even unlocked the rally races on GT mode. The rally cars handle superbly and the rallies play better than the rally game Dirt (and that's a bold claim!) The game has a few minor issues like occasional tearing and sometimes odd A.I, but the promise of regular patches based on the opinions of people who play the game via the PS blogs online, means that GT5 will continue to improve and EVOLVE. There's also a ton of FREE DLC coming our way!
    All in all I'm extremely happy with my purchase, GT5 is a great game to enjoyably pass the time when it's too cold to move outside in the bitter weather.
    Expand
  47. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    I'm currently at level 23, 70+ cars on garage and passed "the first half of the game". For someone who doesn't know a thing about cars (I don't have any in "real world") and even don't know how to drive a real one this game totally caught me. For someone who wants a driving simulator, this game is perfect. If someone starts to nag about the static crowd in the landscapes, or low res textures, then you haven't understand what is a simulator is, as we are not playing a virtual reality game, just a game who can make you feel and actual physics while racing and can make you love cars even if you don't know a thing about it, like me.

    The graphics are amazing, the sound impressive, the experience and the FREE dlc that PD have been given to us demonstrates that this is not a earn-money franchise like Call of Duty, but a good product oriented on one thing: Satisfy the gamer.

    10 points for Yamauchi and PD, they really act and not just promise.
    Expand
  48. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    i gave it a 10 simply because its the most realistic racer sim out now. this game is a piece of art which will be one of the most underrated game of this generation and the pricing for it is great the game mode are fun to play around with and the tracks are video fun to drive on but this game is still the most realistic driving sim ever to be out on the gaming market dont look at the ign score because they made ign uk review it and we all know ign uk are xbox fanboy

    this game is an overall great experience and will be around for a long long long time to come and please stop comparing it to that game called forza, forza is a arcade driving game no a racing simulator, GT has better graphic and a more realistc feeling of really being around the steering of a fordGT are a nas car., if you want the full experience buy the game and check it out for yourself
    Expand
  49. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This game gives you so much in depth and hours of game play. Nascar included in the game, so many cars and online play. Just amazing!! The game has lived up to it's hype
  50. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    The king of consoles simulation is back! GT5 is a massive and truly enjoyable game. If you love cars and enjoy racing, you should give GT5 a try! The graphics are beautiful, the simulation is superb, the GT life mode is huge with tons of things to do and the Gran Turismo feeling is all there. The new online feature is excellent and problem free (racing go karts with people from all over the world around Madrid? Epic) . The only minus is the standard cars, but most of them look better than Forza 3, in my opinion. Racing KING!!! Expand
  51. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    10 marshall
    please you need to play the definitive simulator of this gen GT5,dont get influenced by retard webs like IGNorant i dont have any doubt about GT5 is the best racing game on the market,forza 3 is nothing compare GT5 its like compare **** agains pure gold.
  52. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    4 years of wait and it's finally here. Did the wait been worth it for those who waited, YES. Is it the best looking game ever made on a console, NO. Does it simulate as near as possible the reality, YES. To be honest three months ago I've never played any GT games, only heard of 'em as a difficult game and as the KING of racing simulation game because they wasn't like any other games in witch you can take a ''U'' turn at 300 km/h without any braking. I pre-ordered it and then I bought GT3 and GT4 to be more familiar with the handling, and man that was so addicting that I just played 2 hours of my COD blackOPS. As a mechanical engineer I loved every aspect of customization of those two games and with every thing I seen and heard of GT5 on the web, I was sure that GT5 will be The GOD of racing, well that's true but for 19,32% of the game (witch means 200 out of1035 cars). Don't take me wrong here, what I said is for 20% of the cars every thing (graphics, physics, tuning, handling) is the best with compared to any other racing or car simulating game and that easily over Forza and PGR4 (for the blind xbox fanboys I have to say I really love my Forza as a Game not as a simulator). For the 80% left, well I have to say I'm a little bit disappointed cause the day b4 the game came out I was playing GT4, and when I play for the first time GT5 with my very first STANDARD car (a Subaru IMPREZA Sedan WRX STi '94, my favorite car from GT4), the first thing I noticed and didn't want to believe, but my sister, who has any interest in gaming and graphics, made me realize by saying : why are you still playing GT4 didn't you just bought GT5. Man that was ridiculous, I mean waiting 4 years for a game witch costs over 60 million $ to make, and they put a HD version of PS2 cars. Man what was Yamauchi doing all these years, was he taking a cup of vine with Ferrari's directors on red carpets. Did all of the 60 million budget go to the publicity campaigns. Personally I take that as an insult to my intelligence and to my love for this series. Now that the little crisis is past lets back to those 800 cars and some tracks that PD acknowledged that they take 'em from GT4 and polished 'em. For me graphics are important, cause I'm very visual and I don't think I'm the only one here, and knowing that to have my premium car with graphic's power of PS3 I have to be level 30 when I'm just level 10, it's a little bit annoying. But for those purists, and I think there is a lot of 'em too, that the game-play is more important than the graphics, those 800 cars are fabulous, because it's not that they are ugly, no not at all, they just don't have textures and they suffer from some aliasing, but the physics, handling an tuning are as realist as their Premium brothers. For the simulation part, I have anything to say, except : WOOOOOOOOOOOW. As I said as an engineer I can feel every little tuning that I did. Every car has its own and unique characteristics : sounds, weighs and handling. And for that I really think that GT5 deserve its : THE REAL SIMULATION. The menus aren't difficult, their just different from other games, but that's not a deal barker, cause you'll be used to understand it really quick. A last thing about graphics, I hear a lot a people complain about it is damages, GT series never had it and that not prevent GT to be the KING. I mean think about it one second, what happen in other games when you crash... nothing, you wait a little and your car flash and spawns back like it had nothing. What are you complaining about people, this is a SIMULATION not a game. If you want damages or destruction in simulation, well guess what, you have to pay a lot of money to repair it from ground because that's is the real thing, the same in real life when you crash you have to repair it or to buy another one. That's not funny in real life and I don't think you want to pay extra-credits, witch's not easy to earn, to re-buy your Ferrari enzo that cost you 1,5 million credits. Any way in this game you don't have to touch any other car, that's why you disqualify instantly when you hit other cars when trying to earn your license. So calm down people and if you want to see your car crashes, well go buy BurnOut and have fun. To finish this I have to say that this is again the KING of racing genres, because this is 5 game in one : F1, NASCAR, Regular races in town, kart and dirt. So every PS3 owner should have this, cause this is not vulgar racing car, this is a culture, this is a religion this is the REAL SIMULATION. P.S. My score is a 8.5 but as others I gave it 10 for those insignificant 0's. Expand
  53. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    First of, all you xbox/forza 3 freaks get lost. Second this game is awesome as it should be. Especially with the G27 steering wheel. A 9 is in place here but a 10 is needed for al the haters who criticize the game out of jealousy.
  54. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I have played all the forza's to death dirt, dirt 2, and just about evry other great racing game. this game beats them by far. This game is massive and I am only on level 7. the game is so in depth you will need easily over hours into this game. This is a must buy and i recommend playing it with a steering wheel.
  55. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    I don't think enough critics properly took into account the size of this game. It is definitely not as polished as we would have liked but the amount of content and the gameplay(which is still the best simulation of actual driving) more than make up for its shortcomings.
  56. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I have never played a Gran Turismo game before Gran Turismo 5, but I own both Forza 2 and 3 and enjoyed them both thoroughly. I decided to pick up GT5 yesterday morning when my GameStop opened, despite IGN's rather lackluster review. I have to say that after playing it all day, only stopping now at 2am to write this comment, it is the best racing game I've ever played. I am a snobby PC gamer that owns a 360 and PS3 for console exclusives only, so I recognize good graphics from bad easily. The Standard cars do not look too different in quality from the Premium, as a matter of fact I would say the Standard cars are about the same quality as anything I've seen in both Forza games I own. The Premium cars truly do blow me away though. Aside from the graphics, the gameplay is just incredible. If you care about racing, this is THE racing game for you, without question. I've dumped 16 hours of gameplay into it, playing nonstop so far. I don't even own a racing wheel yet, it is truly that enjoyable. The menu system that many reviewers seem to be complaining about is not slow and clunky, I think it is rather attractive and intuitive. I have not even installed the game to my hard drive yet, and I do not feel like the loading screens are long at all, contrary to some reviews. And I'm used to PC load times, where games load instantly or just don't have a loading screen at all. So, coming from a PC fanboy, a graphics whore, and a proud owner of Forza 2 and 3, suppress your fanboy nerd rage for just a moment and give Gran Turismo 5 a try. Ignore the reviews for just a moment. You don't have to buy it, rent it first, or try it at a friend's house. It is truly the greatest racing game I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. Expand
  57. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    I will give this game a 9 honoring Mr. Yamauchi. He wouldn't like a 10. That's why he's already thinking in GT 6. They have created an amaaaaaaaaazing racing simulator, but GT is a long distance race (no jokes ;-)).I must admit that I found GT (original) boring when I started to play with it. As I started to progress though the game, it blossom, and I started to fall in love with the game and got interested in cars. I'm not a car fanatic nor an expert driver, I just delivered a sense of admiration about them. All GTs till today, and this one is not the exception, provided me with a sense of OWNERSHIP of my 2/3 most preferred cars. When I see MY car racing in the replays, perfectly tuned to my -poor ;-)-driving skills I really love it. I repeat, I'm not a mechanics expert so the available tuning options are more than enough for me. I like this game because it teaches you about cars, and it provided me with the satisfaction that every successful learning provides with. I have Forza 3 too and I love it. But, I couldn't tell you what the difference is, but It's not the same. It doesn't FEEL like GT. Colder? Couldn't tell. I don't feel these are my cars. Right now I feel a little disappointed with the "bumpy" car crashes and the damage system. Not too much because I don't like to smash cars in GT, I play Burnout Paradise for that (ruining a real shining Italian racing car in GT makes me feel guilty). Actually, I like to race alone against the clock so every time I crash I use to start again (in Forza too). I've read that both the damage system and the AI will become more realistic as you keep progressing though the game. So I'm confident that this GT will blossom as well. Thanks Yamauchi for including Madrid in the game, that's my childhood neighborhood. It looks awesome! Expand
  58. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    A fantastic game that delivers everything in one package. With the amount of content jam packed in a single blue-ray disc it was worth the wait. Everything from physics to graphics and to sound was right on track and gorgeous to the eyes. Only thing I dislike is the difficulty it'll take to acquire the platinum trophy.
  59. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This the closed you'll get to drive a real car on a console. There is nothing close to it. Its beautiful and fast and all in 3D, if your poor ass can afford a 3D-TV..
  60. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This game is simply the best racing game ever. It has dynamic weather, lots of tracks, passing of time, over 1000 cars, an excellent handling for all of them, fantastic damage deformation, a track creator, an awesome and challenging career mode and a carefully designed online mode. Even if we leave the superior graphics aside, it's clearly the best. It has no competitors.
  61. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    GT5 is beautiful and has all the things a great racing game should have which is large amount of quality cars. I'm happy I could download my 20 cars from my PSP version of GT. The weather levels leaves me speechless.
  62. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    The majesty and attention to detail is incomprehensible in this game. Been playing it for about 12 hours in total now, gotta say, this game didn't let me down at all, unlike what most people say, it far exceeded my expectations of what it should be. It just looks real and the steering and engine sounds are the best of the generation, just the feel of the steering is unmatched and won't be matched until GT6. It's not perfect (the crowd suck) but I couldn't care less about that because the driving is almost up to Godly standard, and it's well over 95/100 so it has to be a 10. Seriously, you can't miss this. You just can't. Expand
  63. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Gran Turismo 5 easily makes this year's Game of the Year for us here at GamerLinks. The engaging user interface makes everthing easy to understand and still have extra features for the more advanced users. We love how you can tell a difference in every car in the game and how much detail Polyphony Digital put into each and every car. You will regret not playing this simulator.
  64. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Incredibly deep, easy on the eyes, months of gameplay, incredibly accurate driving model and handling physics. Special events are great fun and with over 1000 vehicles with their own unique character there's plenty of fun to be had. Just keep in mind that this isn't a perfectly polished game, it's a deep racing sim that just so happens to be alot of fun, there are even ways to keep yourself busy when you don't feel like racing, you can hire a driver to race and earn you credits in B-Spec Mode, you can check out the museum and car demos, or you can play around in photo mode to make some gorgeous wallpapers. All in all a very enjoyable game. -pro tip- Play with a wheel. Expand
  65. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    Excellent racing simulation! Blows Forza out of the water. Truly superb. Every single negetive review is an X-Box Fan boy. The graphics, sound, gameply, presentation are all first rate, and it's a true simulation.
  66. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    I don't really get those hater scores.
    About GT5 - best real driving simulator I ever played, it's very specific game but if you want to find NFS or arcade options in this title you'll be disappointed, if you want real driving simulator with over 1000+ cars, nice graphics and tons of addictive challenging races this game is just for you!
  67. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    The REAL DRIVER SIMULATOR. While it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital does the exact opposite. They spend 5 years making one single game that does not involve anything the current videogame industry is obsessed with (zombies, apocalyptic environments, open world gameplay, first-person shooters, etc...) and it does is executed in an extremely classy way. Gran Turismo 5 couldn't feel more refreshing to the gaming-enthusiast, especially when a market is saturated with macho-men titles. Yes it is a blockbuster sequel, but that does not make it feel any less awesome. Expand
  68. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gran cantidad de vehiculos, online, editor de pistas.....excelentes gráficos....es un excelente juego aunque esperaba un poco más. Lástima que personas profesionales y falta de sentido común utilicen este importante sitio para demeritar sin fundamento.... Expand
  69. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    The game is great. It's not what it was hyped up to be, but it is still great. Now, I haven't seen it in 3D yet, nor have I seen it run in 1080P at 120hz. I also haven't heard it in Doby 7.1 yet either. Stating that, I will tell you that this game starts off as A-Spec with better graphics and ends up being more like Forza and (enter Rally game here). I thought the adverse weather and daytime stages we're the best. Online so far is a little broken so I will reserve opinion there. Also, from what I have read, the dude who created this game said, it will be a constant canvas for upgrades, changes, additions, and improvements. Be encouraged, that this game will not be the same game 6 months from now. I can't wait to see what it becomes. Expand
  70. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    If you're a fan of the series ... nothing can hold you back from this purchase, it's a perfect part 5!
    On the other hand, if you expect a Need4Speed or ModNationRacers kind of experience .... you are at the wrong address ...
    This is a "Real Driving Simulator" and it does what it promisses to be ....
    Perfect gameplay and prefect graphics in the replays !
    Just ... Enjoy the ride!
  71. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    This game is really good. The negative reviews here are only from Xbox360 jealous people and they don't have even played the game yet. My real note is 8, but I give a 10 because of those 360 people wrong reviews with false arguments. They spend 5 years making one single game that does not involve anything the current videogame industry is obsessed with (zombies, apocalyptic environments, open world gameplay, first-person shooters, etc...) and it does is executed in an extremely classy way. Gran Turismo 5 couldn't feel more refreshing to the gaming-enthusiast, especially when a market is saturated with macho-men titles. Yes it is a blockbuster sequel, but that does not make it feel any less awesome. This game is the best racing simulator you can find. That doesn't mean it's perfect. I can see some people being let down a little, but that will go away once you dive into this experience that is as deep as you dare let it be. The few flaws and annoyances I found were the slightly slow menus and loading times and while generally the music is great some tracks feel too out of place. AWSOME phisics and graphiscs. The premium cars are insane and the city tracks are unbelieveble. In the other side we didnà Expand
  72. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    This game is a slow burn and a tough sell for someone looking for a novelty arcade racer. Get into a premium car with a track with day/night cycles or rain and you're in driving nirvana. The driving/physics/damage (if you put in the time to get to the high enough level) is perfect. If you want the best sim on the market look no further. Hopefully you understand what a real sim is though... Cartoony Michael Bay crashes will not be found, no rewind features in competitions, no stickers to muck up your quarter million dollar vehicle, no blue turtle shells on the karting, the auto steering actually turns off when you turn it off... just pure driving. Expand
  73. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    The only thing keeping me from giving GT5 a perfect score is the lack of online game modes.
    There should me more online race types. I really hope PD will change this in a future update.
    The physics in the game are just fabulous, you just "feel" the weight shifting steering, accelerating or braking. Changes in setup are very noticable.

    After playing for two days GT, for me, is again the
    only racing game worth it's money, it really is the only game coming close to a driving simulation. Expand
  74. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Wow, to think that some retards give a 0/10 for this amazing game, just sad. It shouldn't even be allowed, these lowly creatures should get banned.

    I haven't gotten very far yet, played about 12 hours with my brand new G27, GT5 offers some serious racing. Some of the car-models aren't up to par but as a package this game is awesome. Feeling of driving is unsurpassed with a good wheel like
    the G27. Any serious racing fan should give this a try, it will keep you busy for years. Expand
  75. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    The best console driving simulation ever made. Simple as that. Get a racing wheel and go through a fast but furious driving learning session. The reward will be all the better.
  76. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    El mejor juego de conducción de la historia. La simulación de conducción es fantástica y el detalle de los coches premium roza lo enfermizo. Si eres amante de los coches, es un juego imprescindible. Pero puede no ser un juego para todos los públicos, ya que los jugadores más "arcades" pueden perder la paciencia.
  77. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Despite only having certain cars that get damage modeling, the physics is spot on to real life. After all, the physics is the forte of 5. You really could train to drive professionally from this game.
  78. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This is the best race game ever 10/10. Everyting in the game is just perfect. Only the shadow is a little bit bad. But thats the only bad point in the game.
  79. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Best racing game of all time and is in my opinion the most value for $60 you'll ever get in a game. It puts all its competitors to shame and at the end of the day you won't find a better value for your money. This is racing enthusiast simulation not an arcade racer charading as such (forza 3 for example) like the other games in this class. If you want one heck of an experience pick this game up. But if you aren't prepared to sink time in improving your driving, tweaking your vehicles and upgrading your cars then skip it and pick up need for speed shift. The king has returned. Expand
  80. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Well, I gotta say, after playing this game for 10 hours the only thing that frustrates me is the menu. Other than that, I have no idea why there are so many negative critics out there. Probably, 1) x-box fans, or 2) non-racing fans. Trust me, if you didn't like the previous gran turismos, you won't like this one. Don't waste your money and give it a bad review just because you don't like the genre.

    For the rest of us, the game is beautiful. Licenses are challenging, races are fun, and the game is all around everything I hoped it would be. Yes, some of the shadows are glitchy, blah blah- but the simple fact that I'll be playing this for hundreds of hours is enough for me to warrant a 10.
    Expand
  81. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    GT5 is without a doubt one of the greatest, most immersive simulations racers I've ever played. Never has there been a simulation racer on console with the same amount of painstaking detail and care given to its physics engine. The graphics are quite stunning as well, though there are some spots that look a little out-of-place in such a good-looking game. There is quite a ridiculous amount of content as well, since I've been playing this for the past 7 hours just in A-Spec mode alone, not having even touched Arcade, NASCAR, Go-karts, or online. Also, if you're worried about there being a massive difference between Premium and Standard cars, you can feel relieved, as I'm happy to say that the Standards look great. All in all, if you're a fan of simulation racers, or just cars in general, get GT5. It's definitely worth your money. Now, if you're an arcade racer type of person, then tread carefully. GT5 will not be friendly to you. Expand
  82. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    GT5 is more than I hoped for. A truly excellent experience, especially considering it costs £40. Word of warning though - this game was meant to be used with a wheel and the £80 Logitech Driving Force GT is good for the job.

    If you love cars and enjoy racing games, GT5 is a must buy.
  83. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This is a Very good game, especially good with a wheel.
    Theres a few little niggles that look like they are going to be patched soon.

    If you liked the other GT's you should damn well like this!
  84. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Epic racing! What else can you expect of a racing simulation? It has got it all: massive amount of cars, plentiful different tracks, NASCAR license, rallies, karts,... On top of that i think that the graphics are beautiful for what its worth. It may be true that the shadows are not top notch and the standard cars lack in visual quality compared to the premium ones - but hey: they still look really great!
    So 10/10 for enormous content and a perfect race feeling!
    Expand
  85. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Solid 9. I'd give it a 10 if some technical aspects were better implemented, but it's obvious the development of this game was problematic even more if we stop for a minute and think about the epic size of this title...
    Hopefully it will be patched in the near future, as the developer claimed.
    The rest is... well, is Gran Turismo. Bigger and better. Glourious car porn.
    Great audio, great
    graphics, great physics... A must have for every car fan and enthusiast.

    And no, no Forza 3 comparison. :)

    Note: So a 10 it is. Metacritic won't allow a 9??
    Expand
  86. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This is truly the best driving simulation yet. The precision of the physics is nearly spot on but still an enormous achievement for the hardware available to the developers. Everything feels so professionally done whereas all other driving games appear to cater to children with overly simplisitic and cartoon style user interfaces.

    GT5 has more features than virtually all other current
    rivals combined, there are so many things you can and even had full intergrations with a video area showcasing real life racing events which is updated. The cars look breathtaking and the scenery is top notch. The city tracks especially are unmatched in quality not only driving games but any type of game before it, while the sounds of the multitude of different engines sound amazing and massively diverse. The career mode appears to be a wonderous exploration of what skills you as driver have, from the early and very easy races that will provide success for even the rookie gamers... to the higher levels that are challenge even the hardcore GT enthusiats. You have to pick the right cars to win these races and a small mistake and you might find yourself at the back of the pack which understandably... is what happens in real races on TV!!!

    There are over 1,000 different cars you can own. Over 200 of these are what are deemed Premium cars which have exquisit detail and fully furnished interior **** views, each of the 200+ cars are designed to look as how the real thing is down to even the radio player if it has one in the first place. The further you go into the game, bringing up your level, the more the damage becomes apparent... so unlike arcade racing games like Forza 3 you are eventually punished for your mistakes which only goes on to make you a better driver. This game seperates the boys from men, arcade junkies need not apply here!

    There is an online world in GT5 and you can pit every car in your garage against others over the internet, there will be intense competition across of levels of driving skill with races accustomed to differing classes as well a private parties if you want to have laugh, and garner bragging rights, with your friends.

    I have heard reports of performance issues, such as screen tearing claimed on the website lens of truth, however I encourage you to visit this site and seek out that comparison for GT5 and try to spot the screen tear in the screenshots... I'll be honest I haven't seen them and studying their pictures leads me no closer to seeing them neither.

    I have not discovered all this game has to offer, I haven't played a single NASCAR or WRC race yet, nor have I ventured into the Go-Karting arena... and yet I have to say this game offers more than any rival to date. There is nothing else out there on the scale of GT5, and nothing else delivers anything that comes close to it's quality of graphical, audio and physical accuracy.

    GT5 is quite simply the perfect game and you can see why this has taken so long to make. I have played it since launched date, longer than the likes of IGN and other so called review website and I feel I have yet to scratch the surface so it is mind boggling how those sites managed to see everything in much less time... or, they could simply have not seen the game in it's entirety and pushed for the "earliest" reviews for acclaim and web hits.

    For me, this is the first ever 10/10 game. Are you a real driver... or are you someone who wouldn't last two laps in Doncaster in real life. If you are the first, you will excel in GT5... if you are the second, stick to Forza, Shift and Need for Speed because GT5 is not for kids!
    Expand
  87. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    There is nothing I can say about GT5 that you wouldn't expect. Right off the bat you're going to be blown away by the graphics, they are absolutely breathtaking. I've been a fan of the GT series since its inception, and I've got to say they're only getting better and better. There's a HUGE selection of cars, the Kart racing is absolutely FUN, and there's an optional installation which makes the gaming expedrience even smoother. If you have played the GT series in the past, this game is a must have. If you havent played the GT games in the past, this game is a must have. If you dont like racing tgames, this game is a must have, haha. Because I dont like racing games, but I for some reason cant put down the remote when playing GT5. Pick it up and enjoy! Expand
  88. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    The problem with this game is Polyphony Digital did not aim this title at everyone. The driving is amazing, the cars all look fantastic, the modifications (for the most part) keep the possibilities endless. The only let down for me was the hyped damage engine... it is almost non existent. When I crashed for the first time in a premium car i was disappointed, but as a long time fan of the series once i got into my Gran Turismo grove it was barley noticeable. Other racing Sim's can claim more advanced damage but none come close to the realism of driving that this title offers, or the beautiful pieces of art they call cars. As I stated earlier this game is not for everyone, i would not buy this game for a child or someone who has limited knowledge of cars, and how they function. Other racing games give you little icons or bars to let you know what the top speed of the car is, how well it handles, or how quickly it accelerates... etc. With this game (and all other GT games) you have to know that a that power to weight ratio determines how fast the car will accelerate, or that the weight of the car is and the tires are the main factors in how the car handles, the game does not give you little icons and bars to let you know these things. As far as the standard compared to premium cars is concerned, it is almost unnoticeable to me (the biggest noticeable difference is standard cars lack interior views) , as long as the car isn't already a highend racing machine when you buy it it will be able to take almost all modifications. Some exceptions are, not all cars can receive turbo chargers or super chargers (just like real life), on standard cars you cannot change wheels color or ad some spoilers (although almost all cars can receive a rear spoiler). Overall it is a fantastic racing game/simulator, it lacks some polish within the menus and some of the loading times are longer than i would have hoped (I want to get back to the racing, damnit!), but if you don't need to be entertained by fancy crashes or exploding flaming tires every five minutes, and care more about expanding you knowledge of all cars and how to drive them, this is the racing game for you. Prepare to be overwhelmed by the shear number of cars, if you require little icons or info bars to figure out how good of a car you are going to purchase is the game can be intimidating. Expand
  89. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    It's incredible. I have always loved the GT series, and this lives up to the hype. Worth every minute of the wait.

    It totally blows Forza3 out the water by a VERY long margin. Forza looks very dated by comparison, both graphically and physically.

    Doing Nurburgring Nordschleife in the rain with fading daylight in a AMG Merc is an amazing experience.
  90. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Having read some of the reviews for this Game (IGN in particular) I was a bit unsure about getting this game. I bit the bullet and got it anyway, and damn pleased I am too.
    Most of the things that the reviews have issues with are the menu system and the difference in details of the tracks! Firstly, how long do you spend in the menu system of a game? 5% percent of the time maybe, even less!
    And with regard to the tracks then how exactly do reviewers expect the tracks to look? If the designers are replicating and real track, like Top Gear for example, then they have to make it look like the real thing. They can't just stick some nice tress at the side of the track or have sand dunes peppering the horizon as those things are not at the original site!!!

    I have been playing this game since Friday and have loved every moment. I have always been a fan of the GT series and I think this the best without doubt.

    My only griped would be the lack of quality in-race music. In the previous games there has always been a really good mix of tracks, by great bands and DJ's. GT5 has really, really bad music (saved only by Queens of the Stone Age!!!), but like somebody else pointed out, you can switch it off.

    The other area that reviewers have complained about is the online, but, as I am not a fan of online gaming I cant really comment. My experience of online gaming consists of getting on line, getting shot by some 14 year old inbred moron who hasn't seen the light of day for 14 days and doesn't beleive in the female species and then trying again and failing. With GT5 I got online, joined a race and lost. But it seemed to work pretty well.

    So far I can only say that my GT5 experience has been a very good one and I hope it stays that way. This is a huuuuge game and there is no way that anybody has seen all that it can deliver. With more patches and updates being delivered on a monthly basis I can only see it getting better and better.

    If you like driving games and like details and rewards for driving well, then get this game. If you want to drive a car at 200mph, jump off a bridge, do a 360 spin and build your boost bar then get Burnout or some other arcade type racer. This game needs and deserves your attention and in reward you will get a fantastic driving game!!!!
    Expand
  91. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    It sure does have it's flaws like the loading/waiting style menu system (straight from the 80's) which has quite a complex and deep(ish) hierarchy, but when the race starts it's awesome and all is forgiven. Loads of usability glitches with a sweet racing simulation do give the impression that Polyphony Digital does not understand how people work, unless they are turning a wheel.

    There are
    other very nice things in GT5 besides the race. GTTV seems to have started with high quality HD content and the complex and deep(ish) hierarchy provides loads, loads and loads of things to discover, nice special events, car collecting, tuning, leveling, ...

    The waiting and not very intuative menu system ticks off 1 point from the score, but it's still a 9+ and I'm hoping for the frequent(ish) updates (4 days, 2 updates already) to fix things.
    Expand
  92. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    Not a perfect and flawless game like everyone was waiting for. Yet the game is great and deliver. Nothing come as close as GT5 so far on the PS3. Well back to playing the game!
  93. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    GT5 gets a straight 10 easy. GT5 is definitely the best racing game and possibly the best game this year. The reason why you should spend your money on this game is ofcourse it's replayability and features. There is so much detail, events, vehicles. track etc. put into the game which makes it unbelievable and worth every cent. The one thing I love about the game is that it's challenging as it makes me want to come back and attempt to get gold medals. Games these days are not challenging at all and I find GT5 to be one of the most difficult game I have played yet. I must say the tracks are amazing and I have been playing for over 15 hours now and have not raced the same track twice in A-spec mode. Expand
  94. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    Well,simply put,would you take your ride to the track to crash it or to drive it?It feels like most of the users think more about damage or pushing opponents off the road while they forget that the game wants you to drive your car as good as you would in the real world.You enjoy the car and the track if you re a grown up.
    I never wrote a single word on the internet in my life before
    today,when I decided to open this account because I can t stand the critics thrown at this game anymore.It s the biggest simulator you can find on the market and if you really want to crash cars I guess you better look for some arcade racer. Expand
  95. Dec 17, 2010
    9
    This game is very intresting and has great graphics its realistic and a very good racing game. i have a ps3 and the graphics on mostly every game is fantastic. This game isnt bad if your a car fan this game is very enjoyable. It has mostly every car you can think of. It is good on career mode because you can play onlinie with other mates and have races. The game it self isnt bad its a supuerb game from my point of view. If you have ever played a Gt game you should know what you are going to expect from it. Between Forza 3 this game is way better. The online gameing is limited so thats the bad thing and you cant customize your lobby because that is also limited. The visulas are amazing the car customizing is good too. But unfortunatly crashing a supercar into a wall at 200mph results in no damage at all, its like kicking a cardboard box and not even been hit.Gt5 is a lengendry game since the 1st gt5 came out everyone has been looking forward for gt5 and the game has been extreamly good. Expand
  96. Nov 28, 2010
    9
    Not perfect, but a superb game. This game has mind blowing features, with so much depth you'll never really finish it. The multiplayer is still in its infancy, but a patch will fix it soon. Great graphics, music and user interface. Extremely recommended for racing fans.
  97. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    What a game is what we're all saying,in a good way or a bad way or both.For me it's both first off I bought this game on the day of release and I've been playing it non stop so I came up with this,it's an incredible game to the point of the Gran Turismo games and the best in the series of course but not 5 years worth.It's really got an unlimited amount of replay value and most of it is grade A.When it comes to straight up racing,it has nothing on Forza 3 but these are completely different games so it's hard to compare in a lot of ways.I love both games but this game has a better lasting appeal.This game feels old though even with upgraded graphics and other updates they provided.I went back to all of the Gran turismo's and I just don't see that there there all together with making you wait for so long when the other guy's make games every 2 years.It comes down to what you like most in a racing game basically.By the time part 6 comes out there will be a part 4,5 and 6 for Forza and if Gran turismo was out of this world good then it would be worth the wait but I'll just play this game and enjoy it all I can because i do love this game it's just not all that i expected and I'm sure just about everyone agrees with me except the people that don't know what true racing is in a whole package and this doesn't make it over the finish line like Forza 3 did. Expand
  98. Nov 26, 2010
    9
    Pros - Gorgeous. There is no better looking racing game over all. Sorry Forza Content. There's so many different racing modes, tracks, cars, challenges, that you'd be hard pressed to find something you don't like Online and Community functions. Comprehensive, well thought out and intuitive. Control and physics. Works good with dual analog, but meant to be played with a wheel. Get one. Do it. You'll thank me later. GTPSP to PS3 GT5 connectivity. I transferred 50 of my best cars over for use in the arcade mode. I wish I could transfer more but the current option is welcome.

    Music and presentation. Top notch. Gear heads wet dream. Car lovers early Christmas present. Bible for novice racing gamers that want to get serious and learn. Music selection is great, custom soundtrack support is better. Engine sounds/sound fx are very well done.

    Cons.

    All 1000+ cars aren't as detailed as the 200 or so premium cars. Lazy development or lack of time? You tell me because I sure as hell don't know.

    No interior view for every car. This sucks particularly bad because PSP cars had interior views (not detailed views but at least the attempt was there) but on Ps3 they don't have any at all. Multiple delays and every car can't have an interior view? That's just lazy development.

    Real-time damage comes later in the game and isn't as extensive as it should be.

    No motion control for dual shock 3. This is nitpicking but I mention it because I watched my girlfriend play GT5 for a few hours and she kept trying to physically steer with a DS3. Why Sony/Polyphony didn't include this...I don't know. Maybe the DS3 isn't accurate enough....?

    No custom decals or custom paint shop mode for bought cars. Even with the cons I still give GT5 a 9. It's been a long six years to release but what some seem to not want to acknowledge is GT5 is simply the most content rich, detailed racing game we've seen. We've been graced with great racing games from Criterion and Bizarre Creations as well as Codemasters but Polyphony has gone above and beyond with GT5. It's not perfect, but then what game is but the attention to detail and the wealth of content is awe-inspiring. The only aspect of racing I'd like to have seen in GT5 is Drag Racing. Wait...is that in GT5? I'm not sure, there's so much content in there maybe I missed it.
    Expand
  99. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    This game is simply amazing, not usually into driving sims however this time i am onto a winner, amazing depth, and physics etc. Buy it, love it, live the experience.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Feb 18, 2011
    79
    We love Gran Turismo dearly but it isn't the game we hoped it would be. [Feb 2011, p.72]
  2. An unusually complex driving game that demands real dedication and only fully reveals its true power once you've put the mileage in. [Jan 2011, p.108]
  3. Feb 7, 2011
    91
    GT5 is pretty much exactly what everybody expected it to be. Overhyped maybe because of the unprecedented delay in its release, but spot on with its goals.