Gran Turismo 5 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Gran Turismo 5 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1190 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known for its signature beauty and precision, the highly anticipated racer showcases new jaw-dropping cars, real-life tracks, and diverse racing styles. Gran Turismo promises to deliver exciting advancements to the series in the most comprehensive racing experience ever. [Sony]
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Gran Turismo 5 TGS 2010 Trailer - Visual Effects
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 100
    Kaz Yamauchi's passion for the racing sphere shines through every aspect of the game. The incredibly-detailed cars, the slick presentation, the spot-on physics. Polyphony Digital brought its A-game. Nothing else on the market can come close to the realism and immersion you feel throughout. Gran Turismo 5 is virtual racing at its very best.
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    92
    Uncompromising in design and steeped in car loving snobbery, GT5 is a petrol head's dream. For gamers it's good, for car enthusiasts it's quite brilliant.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    90
    GT5 may have taken a lifetime to release, but it delivers on its promise of being 'the real driving simulator'.
  4. Jan 1, 2011
    85
    I never thought I'd see the day I gave a Gran Turismo game less than a 9. And then GT PSP happened. The disappointment continues, but it's abated by what I can only hope are continued, frequent updates.
  5. Dec 12, 2010
    80
    GT5 lives up to "the real driving simulator" tagline, but in almost every other respect, there lies a sense that the grandaddy has been lapped by the competition.
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Considering the time it took Polyphony to complete what we believed would be a masterpiece, we really can't hide our disappointment. Although the number of cars, events and play modes on offer is surely impressive, Gran Turismo 5 is far from that level of perfection that the development team promised us during the last four years.
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    60
    Gran Turismo 5's core problem is that the broad scope of all these game modes diminishes the polish of the general product. There's no denying the feel of the actual driving, but everything else that makes up the game feels tedious and half-baked.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 360
  1. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hello gt5 is the best simulation games I find that the damage
    is not perfect but not an NFS (Need for Speed) play with the G27
    the best experience that Forza Motorsport 3 on Xbox 360 10/10
    Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    10 marshall
    please you need to play the definitive simulator of this gen GT5,dont get influenced by retard webs like IGNorant i dont have any
    10 marshall
    please you need to play the definitive simulator of this gen GT5,dont get influenced by retard webs like IGNorant i dont have any doubt about GT5 is the best racing game on the market,forza 3 is nothing compare GT5 its like compare **** agains pure gold.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game is EPIC,online is great,just enjoy.its the best out there.
    the damage is really good and the level system is new and defo something
    This game is EPIC,online is great,just enjoy.its the best out there.
    the damage is really good and the level system is new and defo something they should keep.
    This destroys any xbox game by far.
    Expand
  4. Apr 18, 2011
    9
    One could say this game is too similar compared to the previous games, however it has so much more depth. It now has NASCAR, rally and goOne could say this game is too similar compared to the previous games, however it has so much more depth. It now has NASCAR, rally and go carts in addition to usual highly polished racing. Forza 3 on xbox 360 has better damage and more modifications for the cars, but has less content overal. Great game. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2011
    8
    This is a great game that offers many hours of driving fun. The 200 premium car models are excellent, and most of the 800+ standard modelsThis is a great game that offers many hours of driving fun. The 200 premium car models are excellent, and most of the 800+ standard models are good, if not great. The driving itself is a lot of fun, with good differentiation between cars--in fact, its so good that I broke down and bought a DFGT wheel to fully experience it. PD has been providing new A-Spec events on roughly a weekly basis and I hope this continues. The game is mainly let down by a lack of out-of-the-box A-Spec events and lackluster Special Events such as the Top Gear challenges which are more annoying than fun. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2011
    6
    Sadly, after 5000 years in development, it wasn't worth the wait.
  7. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I was a huge fan o gt series, but GT5 just sucks hard. The car sounds like a vacuum cleaner, many cars dont have interior view... omg. TheyI was a huge fan o gt series, but GT5 just sucks hard. The car sounds like a vacuum cleaner, many cars dont have interior view... omg. They just arruined the game. Expand

See all 360 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.