Gran Turismo 5 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Gran Turismo 5 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known for its signature beauty and precision, the highly anticipated racer showcases new jaw-dropping cars, real-life tracks, and diverse racing styles. Gran Turismo promises to deliver exciting advancements to the series in the most comprehensive racing experience ever. [Sony]
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 100
    Kaz Yamauchi's passion for the racing sphere shines through every aspect of the game. The incredibly-detailed cars, the slick presentation, the spot-on physics. Polyphony Digital brought its A-game. Nothing else on the market can come close to the realism and immersion you feel throughout. Gran Turismo 5 is virtual racing at its very best.
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    92
    Uncompromising in design and steeped in car loving snobbery, GT5 is a petrol head's dream. For gamers it's good, for car enthusiasts it's quite brilliant.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    90
    GT5 may have taken a lifetime to release, but it delivers on its promise of being 'the real driving simulator'.
  4. Jan 1, 2011
    85
    I never thought I'd see the day I gave a Gran Turismo game less than a 9. And then GT PSP happened. The disappointment continues, but it's abated by what I can only hope are continued, frequent updates.
  5. Dec 12, 2010
    80
    GT5 lives up to "the real driving simulator" tagline, but in almost every other respect, there lies a sense that the grandaddy has been lapped by the competition.
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Considering the time it took Polyphony to complete what we believed would be a masterpiece, we really can't hide our disappointment. Although the number of cars, events and play modes on offer is surely impressive, Gran Turismo 5 is far from that level of perfection that the development team promised us during the last four years.
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    60
    Gran Turismo 5's core problem is that the broad scope of all these game modes diminishes the polish of the general product. There's no denying the feel of the actual driving, but everything else that makes up the game feels tedious and half-baked.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 358
  1. Nov 29, 2010
    10
    GT5 is the best simulation game in PS3. At first you cannot realize the massive size of the game, give it some time and GT5 will start toGT5 is the best simulation game in PS3. At first you cannot realize the massive size of the game, give it some time and GT5 will start to surprise you in every new race you drive. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    This game is simply amazing, not usually into driving sims however this time i am onto a winner, amazing depth, and physics etc. Buy it, loveThis game is simply amazing, not usually into driving sims however this time i am onto a winner, amazing depth, and physics etc. Buy it, love it, live the experience. Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game is EPIC,online is great,just enjoy.its the best out there.
    the damage is really good and the level system is new and defo something
    This game is EPIC,online is great,just enjoy.its the best out there.
    the damage is really good and the level system is new and defo something they should keep.
    This destroys any xbox game by far.
    Expand
  4. May 23, 2011
    9
    The best racing sim on the market. iRacing cant compete with this work of art. Everything on GT5 is perfect: from the awesome graphics to theThe best racing sim on the market. iRacing cant compete with this work of art. Everything on GT5 is perfect: from the awesome graphics to the perfect physics. This game has everything. Every hater can't understand the beauty on this game but every PS3 owner should get this as it is: the best racing game EVER. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    To make it as plain as possible, GT5 is a great racing game that should've been better. The cars handle well, the physics are great, andTo make it as plain as possible, GT5 is a great racing game that should've been better. The cars handle well, the physics are great, and there's plenty of fun to be had in the special events. The problem is that this game is terribly uneven in itself. On onehand, the city maps and premium cars look stunning. On the other hand, regular terrain maps look generic and even bad at points, and standard cars aren't much better off than the old cars from GT4. Not to mention, even in premium cars, the shadows on the dashboard are extremely choppy. So what you get is a game that from certain angles looks breathtaking, and from others looks.. well.. bad. Another problem that's been brought up quite often is the menu system: the first time you load up GT mode, you'll feel intimidated and lost. Sure, you get used to it, but it was quite a hassle on day 1 trying to figure out how to play with a friend. The lounge music isn't all that bad and I prefer it to the heavy metal we're often littered with, but it doesn't really fit. There are plenty of events in GT5, but only a few "special events". These include things like NASCAR, rally, and kart racing. They're all extremely fun, but have very little in the way of variety. It almost feels like an incomplete DLC at times. My biggest gripe with the game has to be the collisions. Commercials led me to believe that the collisions in GT5 were extremely realistic, and I imagined damaged tires, dended fenders, oil leaks, the lot. Instead, what I get is a little bump to the side and some off-steering for maybe 10 seconds. The standard cars suffer no visible damage, while premium ones can get their hood dented after a couple 100mph crashes into barriers. The actual recoil from hitting another car is minimal. This was extremely disappointing. Some write this off, saying that you shouldn't be crashing to begin with. Maybe so, but in that case this should NOT have been a feature to "hype up".
    I've been focusing on the bads for a while, but there are plenty of goods. The game has a LOT of content, and is a genuinely fun driving experience. It's just that, given the wait/hype/etc., it could and should have been better.
    Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2010
    6
    I'm a car guy that grew up in the NES days with only a handful racing games, and none were even close to being a sim. The GT series came outI'm a car guy that grew up in the NES days with only a handful racing games, and none were even close to being a sim. The GT series came out and quickly became my favorite series. After GT4 released other devellopers stepped up and improved on the formula. With six year of devellopment, I got to play a Gran Trismo with rehashed AI (yes, even the unlocked 'smarter' AI is quite terrible), rehashed wobbly physics and 800 rehashed GT4 cars. Even the premium models aren't as consistent as the fanboys imagine, but that's just a small part of the game.

    The environments, what I actually look at from inside my car in a race, don't match the cars at all. While the new city based tracks are gorgeous for the most part, they don't capture detail like Project Gotham Racing 4, which is three years old. The real tracks like Laguna Seca, Suzuka and Curcuit de la Sarthe are not only hard to look at but in some cases don't even resemble the actual location beyond basic layout..

    Tuning and customization are next to non-existant. In the years since GT4, other devellopers have introduced high levels of tuneability and modification. I'm not just referring to the ability to toss a Ghostbusters logo on a car either. Other titles in the genre let me change everything from wheels/tires, to aero parts, cam profiles, to the fuel system used. It's all just a change in numbers to the physcs equation, but the point is if I want to drive a modded VW Golf in a race against a Z06, I now have that option. GT5 removes these option, essentially moving backwards in a genre GT created on consoles.

    The visuals are terrible. To clarify, indeed they are at times gorgeous, the photo mode turns out fantastic shots and the dedicated bullshot generator (photo travel) means I will never have to buy another car magazine, at least not for pictures of the 200 cars it allows me to take pictures of. The environments I went over, but the smoke effects, weather effects, and general cobbled-together look of this game is absolutely terrible at times. Never have I seen such a pretty game look so ugly 5 seconds later. The worst offender is the frame rate and screen tearing, which actually affects the gameplay (London) The AI drivers are all idiots. I kept hearing "oh but they get smarter when you level up!" I'm not seeing it. I did notice one AI car swerve to avoid me after I clipped a wall, but the next 6 all piled into me and each other. They just kind of sat there pushing me into the wall (litterally, my car was partially in the wall) while the other cars continued the race. Sadly this isn't an isolated case in my game. I also noticed I'm still allowed to plow into AI cars and use them as a guardrail at will with no consequence.

    Physics and control. This to me is the absolute most important part of any 'simulator' above everything else. These are not new physics, these are still a step below what we had in GT3 before it was dumbed down for GT4 to make room for all the extra visuals. With such a supposedly impressive physics engine running, where is my telemetry data? I get to watch my tires turn red or green, that's about it. I can't read tire pressure/temps/wear/friction etc like in other games not to mention look at what part on my car is taking wear. This information is important so I can tune it to fix those issues before my next race... Oh that's right it would be useless to me anyways since I can't actually do anything to change my car's handling. This genre and the physics engines driving them have evolved since GT4, but apparently Polyphony has been too busy flying around the world playing with cars on Sony's dime to bother making a video game. Granted this is a console 'sim' like Forza and thus I do not expect infinite points of customization, but I would at least expect the game to offer a fraction of what Forza 3 brought to the table(or even Forza 1 for that matter) What an absolute shame.

    The extras destroy the game. Kart racing is both watered-down and the tracks created for them are among the worst looking things I've seen on the PS3. The weather effects could have been great (like in PGR4 again) but they offer no real substance and frankly look just rotten. The track editor is not worth typing about, and finally the damage modeling. We have different variations in the game, some have to be unlocked for some reason. The cars aren't actually damaged though, they simply deform or have parts fall off. No downshifting early and blowing the motor, no failing brakes, etc.

    I really want to give this game a 5 as I truly believe it is just that, completely average. I gave it a 6 just for all the content and the fact that there is a somewhat solid game under the garbage that got dumped on it at the last second before they shovelled it out onto store shelves before Xmas. This game was a mistake that took Polyphony SIX years to make. I'll always remember GT fondly, up until this release.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I was a huge fan o gt series, but GT5 just sucks hard. The car sounds like a vacuum cleaner, many cars dont have interior view... omg. TheyI was a huge fan o gt series, but GT5 just sucks hard. The car sounds like a vacuum cleaner, many cars dont have interior view... omg. They just arruined the game. Expand

See all 358 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.