Gran Turismo 5 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Gran Turismo 5 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1078 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known for its signature beauty and precision, the highly anticipated racer showcases new jaw-dropping cars, real-life tracks, and diverse racing styles. Gran Turismo promises to deliver exciting advancements to the series in the most comprehensive racing experience ever. [Sony]
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 100
    Kaz Yamauchi's passion for the racing sphere shines through every aspect of the game. The incredibly-detailed cars, the slick presentation, the spot-on physics. Polyphony Digital brought its A-game. Nothing else on the market can come close to the realism and immersion you feel throughout. Gran Turismo 5 is virtual racing at its very best.
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    92
    Uncompromising in design and steeped in car loving snobbery, GT5 is a petrol head's dream. For gamers it's good, for car enthusiasts it's quite brilliant.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    90
    GT5 may have taken a lifetime to release, but it delivers on its promise of being 'the real driving simulator'.
  4. Jan 1, 2011
    85
    I never thought I'd see the day I gave a Gran Turismo game less than a 9. And then GT PSP happened. The disappointment continues, but it's abated by what I can only hope are continued, frequent updates.
  5. Dec 12, 2010
    80
    GT5 lives up to "the real driving simulator" tagline, but in almost every other respect, there lies a sense that the grandaddy has been lapped by the competition.
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Considering the time it took Polyphony to complete what we believed would be a masterpiece, we really can't hide our disappointment. Although the number of cars, events and play modes on offer is surely impressive, Gran Turismo 5 is far from that level of perfection that the development team promised us during the last four years.
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    60
    Gran Turismo 5's core problem is that the broad scope of all these game modes diminishes the polish of the general product. There's no denying the feel of the actual driving, but everything else that makes up the game feels tedious and half-baked.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 379
  1. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    de game if perfect for those tht love cars allot of cars, only 200 of 1000, you can use al the option, but be realistic, i dont think tht ude game if perfect for those tht love cars allot of cars, only 200 of 1000, you can use al the option, but be realistic, i dont think tht u will use all the cars in the game u will at the en using the best car, an for those tht say forza or need for speed, r better, well, forza is forza u can only play that game a the toaster, sorry ;p, i mean xbox 360, and need for speed is a good arcade game, so not is for the same public tht get GT. Grand turismo is a enjoyable game overall. Is not perfect, but is good enough, please dont pay attention tu all of the fanboys of forza, Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    i gave it a 10 simply because its the most realistic racer sim out now.
    this game is a piece of art which will be one of the most underrated
    i gave it a 10 simply because its the most realistic racer sim out now.
    this game is a piece of art which will be one of the most underrated game of this generation
    and the pricing for it is great the game mode are fun to play around with and the tracks are video fun to drive on

    but this game is still the most realistic driving sim ever to be out on the gaming market

    dont look at the ign score because they made ign uk review it and we all know ign uk are xbox fanboy

    this game is an overall great experience and will be around for a long long long time to come and please stop comparing it to that game called forza, forza is a arcade driving game no a racing simulator, GT has better graphic and a more realistc feeling of really being around the steering of a fordGT are a nas car., if you want the full experience buy the game and check it out for yourself
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    This game is EPIC,online is great,just enjoy.its the best out there.
    the damage is really good and the level system is new and defo something
    This game is EPIC,online is great,just enjoy.its the best out there.
    the damage is really good and the level system is new and defo something they should keep.
    This destroys any xbox game by far.
    Expand
  4. May 23, 2011
    9
    The best racing sim on the market. iRacing cant compete with this work of art. Everything on GT5 is perfect: from the awesome graphics to theThe best racing sim on the market. iRacing cant compete with this work of art. Everything on GT5 is perfect: from the awesome graphics to the perfect physics. This game has everything. Every hater can't understand the beauty on this game but every PS3 owner should get this as it is: the best racing game EVER. Expand
  5. Jan 14, 2011
    8
    This is a great game that offers many hours of driving fun. The 200 premium car models are excellent, and most of the 800+ standard modelsThis is a great game that offers many hours of driving fun. The 200 premium car models are excellent, and most of the 800+ standard models are good, if not great. The driving itself is a lot of fun, with good differentiation between cars--in fact, its so good that I broke down and bought a DFGT wheel to fully experience it. PD has been providing new A-Spec events on roughly a weekly basis and I hope this continues. The game is mainly let down by a lack of out-of-the-box A-Spec events and lackluster Special Events such as the Top Gear challenges which are more annoying than fun. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2010
    6
    Ok, so as to not rehash everything written about the game from bad menu's, THE DAMAGE....oh come on where are you, the total lack ofOk, so as to not rehash everything written about the game from bad menu's, THE DAMAGE....oh come on where are you, the total lack of mechanical faults and wear and tear on the cars, or the rubbish AI.

    It is a reasonable driving game non the less. Does it live up to expectations and the HYPE not even close, and i mean they are not even in the same race which is where the blame should rest. With so long in the making everyone expected big things with improvement thats would blow your mind, and if you pay homage to that then of course you could give the game nothing more than a ZERO and im sure so many of the reviews come from that view point.

    If you put all that aside and just look at it from the merit of the game it is then, it has some crisp graphics, moments of a great racing game and feeling of competition but it is so often clouded with the feeling of an imcomplete game that after all this time is still buggy, unpolished and not on par with other games in the genre. All things considered, the sound is the biggest let down by far, with dynamic crashes sounding like nothing more than a plastic coke bottle hit you in the hit, engines that resemble cards stuck on the spokes of your bike ( ah chlld hood memories ) and a sound track that is just a resume for people to find there place in the job que down at the local supermarket.

    I feel disappointed and robbed of the expierence that should have been a great game, but after the hype and constant delays should we have really expected that this would result in something great, as I cant remember a time where something game, movie, tv show, anything was delayed and the final product was worth the extra wait.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I was a huge fan o gt series, but GT5 just sucks hard. The car sounds like a vacuum cleaner, many cars dont have interior view... omg. TheyI was a huge fan o gt series, but GT5 just sucks hard. The car sounds like a vacuum cleaner, many cars dont have interior view... omg. They just arruined the game. Expand

See all 379 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.