• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1044 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known for its signature beauty and precision, the highly anticipated racer showcases new jaw-dropping cars, real-life tracks, and diverse racing styles. Gran Turismo promises to deliver exciting advancements to the series in the most comprehensive racing experience ever. [Sony]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 100
    Kaz Yamauchi's passion for the racing sphere shines through every aspect of the game. The incredibly-detailed cars, the slick presentation, the spot-on physics. Polyphony Digital brought its A-game. Nothing else on the market can come close to the realism and immersion you feel throughout. Gran Turismo 5 is virtual racing at its very best.
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    92
    Uncompromising in design and steeped in car loving snobbery, GT5 is a petrol head's dream. For gamers it's good, for car enthusiasts it's quite brilliant.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    90
    GT5 may have taken a lifetime to release, but it delivers on its promise of being 'the real driving simulator'.
  4. Jan 1, 2011
    85
    I never thought I'd see the day I gave a Gran Turismo game less than a 9. And then GT PSP happened. The disappointment continues, but it's abated by what I can only hope are continued, frequent updates.
  5. Dec 12, 2010
    80
    GT5 lives up to "the real driving simulator" tagline, but in almost every other respect, there lies a sense that the grandaddy has been lapped by the competition.
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Considering the time it took Polyphony to complete what we believed would be a masterpiece, we really can't hide our disappointment. Although the number of cars, events and play modes on offer is surely impressive, Gran Turismo 5 is far from that level of perfection that the development team promised us during the last four years.
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    60
    Gran Turismo 5's core problem is that the broad scope of all these game modes diminishes the polish of the general product. There's no denying the feel of the actual driving, but everything else that makes up the game feels tedious and half-baked.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 375
  1. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    The one of a kind racer This is the best Gran Turismo to date. You can't compare GT 5 to any other game. There is just none that are likeThe one of a kind racer This is the best Gran Turismo to date. You can't compare GT 5 to any other game. There is just none that are like it. Some say Forza but it is more of a casual racer than Gran turismo 5. By that I mean Gran turismo 5 doesn't have a rewind button so if you mess up then it is back to the start. This lack of a feature is what makes Gran turismo 5 so good. You have to really work at perfecting your racing lines and shaving off a second or two from your lap time is really gratifying. So as I was saying there really is no other game like it. You get to race carts, rally, nascar and formula 1. Replayability This brings me to my next point replayability. Gran turismo 5 has tonnes of it. Though I have not completed the game yet I have put in a good 200 hours since release and am just 57% done. That does not mean this is a 400 hour game which would be impressive. It starts to take longer and longer to increase your percentage done and I figure when all is said and done this will have been 1000 hours to complete. That doesn't include the time spent online which will add probably a couple hundred more. Stuff that sucks There are some things that aren't so great about Gran turismo 5. For one the shadows are really jaggy. It would have been better had they not included shadows since they are somewhat distracting. But at the same time the reflections on the car are unbelievable. I have not seen anything like it in a racer ever. Some of the models of the cars also look crappy. These are almost always the standard cars, the premium ones are all top notch. The unfortunate thing is that there are only 200 premium vehicles while there are 800 standard cars. B-spec Some of the cars in Gran turismo 5 are very expensive in the millions of dollars range. The races up until level 18 in the expert series of events only give you about 40 000 credits for winning. That kind of sucks if you want a 10 million dollar car. Fortunately there is the B-spec mode. It allows you to command a race team. The nice thing about this is you don't have to do anything except start the race. You buy a fast car soup it up and then let you AI character rake in the money for you. You can go do homework, pleasure your old lady or do house work all while your team is making you money. I haven't got them to the extreme levels yet but right now I get 20 000 credits every 15 minutes and that may not sound like much but when you are doing something else it's all good. Liscences The polyphony digital team has brought the liscence tests back for part 5. This is great because other games don't really teach you how to race you just have to figure it out on your own but then maybe you don't learn something because you're stupid. Well Gran turismo 5 takes all that away (unless you want to not do the tests) and shows you how to be a pro driver. There are even special events where you get to practice the skills you have been taught. What makes this the best Gran Turismo? You're probably asking yourself and maybe have been since my intro well I am going to tell you. The main most noticable thing is obviously the graphics. This is easily the best looking Gran turismo but that is because all the other one were on inferior consoles (i.e. the PS2 and the original playstation). Another thing mostly due to the same reason as above is that the load times are much faster than previous iterations. Another thing is that the online is much better with jumping in to races and also there is less cheating like in Gran turismo Prologue. Finally this is the best gran turismo because it becomes an addiction in ways previouosly unimaginable. Maybe it's because I don't live at home and have to go to bed when my mom says to but I play Gran turismo 5 all night long and have some sleep deprivation going on. I am in some kind of polyphasic sleeping cycles where I fall asleep while by b-spec teams race and then wake up 15 minutes later to start the next race. In summary this is the best game of the year and if you are wanting the most bang for your buck this is it. The single player is at least 1000 hours and the multiplayer is however long you want it to be. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    The king of consoles simulation is back! GT5 is a massive and truly enjoyable game. If you love cars and enjoy racing, you should give GT5 aThe king of consoles simulation is back! GT5 is a massive and truly enjoyable game. If you love cars and enjoy racing, you should give GT5 a try! The graphics are beautiful, the simulation is superb, the GT life mode is huge with tons of things to do and the Gran Turismo feeling is all there. The new online feature is excellent and problem free (racing go karts with people from all over the world around Madrid? Epic) . The only minus is the standard cars, but most of them look better than Forza 3, in my opinion. Racing KING!!! Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    While it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital doesWhile it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital does the exact opposite. They spend 5 years making one single game that does not involve anything the current videogame industry is obsessed with (zombies, apocalyptic environments, open world gameplay, first-person shooters, etc...) and it does is executed in an extremely classy way. Gran Turismo 5 couldn't feel more refreshing to the gaming-enthusiast, especially when a market is saturated with macho-men titles. Yes it is a blockbuster sequel, but that does not make it feel any less awesome. Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    A visually stunning game that achieves every racers dream and fires on all cylinders. I am not a fan of racing games by any means, but thisA visually stunning game that achieves every racers dream and fires on all cylinders. I am not a fan of racing games by any means, but this has converted me. Realism is there and the authenticity of every car can be felt in every car due to the fact that each one handles differently. My only problems with the game is the multiplayer isn't as fleshed out as it should. It feels almost arcadic and it is difficult to play with friends. Lastly, not all 1000 cars are fully detailed. Only 200 of them are fully detailed, but when they do have interiors, boy are they amazing. The inside of cars are individually unique and it is magic when the light cascades across the dash. This game is not a revolution, but as a diving simulator, this game is unparalleled. Expand
  5. Mar 1, 2011
    8
    To make it as plain as possible, GT5 is a great racing game that should've been better. The cars handle well, the physics are great, andTo make it as plain as possible, GT5 is a great racing game that should've been better. The cars handle well, the physics are great, and there's plenty of fun to be had in the special events. The problem is that this game is terribly uneven in itself. On onehand, the city maps and premium cars look stunning. On the other hand, regular terrain maps look generic and even bad at points, and standard cars aren't much better off than the old cars from GT4. Not to mention, even in premium cars, the shadows on the dashboard are extremely choppy. So what you get is a game that from certain angles looks breathtaking, and from others looks.. well.. bad. Another problem that's been brought up quite often is the menu system: the first time you load up GT mode, you'll feel intimidated and lost. Sure, you get used to it, but it was quite a hassle on day 1 trying to figure out how to play with a friend. The lounge music isn't all that bad and I prefer it to the heavy metal we're often littered with, but it doesn't really fit. There are plenty of events in GT5, but only a few "special events". These include things like NASCAR, rally, and kart racing. They're all extremely fun, but have very little in the way of variety. It almost feels like an incomplete DLC at times. My biggest gripe with the game has to be the collisions. Commercials led me to believe that the collisions in GT5 were extremely realistic, and I imagined damaged tires, dended fenders, oil leaks, the lot. Instead, what I get is a little bump to the side and some off-steering for maybe 10 seconds. The standard cars suffer no visible damage, while premium ones can get their hood dented after a couple 100mph crashes into barriers. The actual recoil from hitting another car is minimal. This was extremely disappointing. Some write this off, saying that you shouldn't be crashing to begin with. Maybe so, but in that case this should NOT have been a feature to "hype up".
    I've been focusing on the bads for a while, but there are plenty of goods. The game has a LOT of content, and is a genuinely fun driving experience. It's just that, given the wait/hype/etc., it could and should have been better.
    Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2010
    6
    Ok, so as to not rehash everything written about the game from bad menu's, THE DAMAGE....oh come on where are you, the total lack ofOk, so as to not rehash everything written about the game from bad menu's, THE DAMAGE....oh come on where are you, the total lack of mechanical faults and wear and tear on the cars, or the rubbish AI.

    It is a reasonable driving game non the less. Does it live up to expectations and the HYPE not even close, and i mean they are not even in the same race which is where the blame should rest. With so long in the making everyone expected big things with improvement thats would blow your mind, and if you pay homage to that then of course you could give the game nothing more than a ZERO and im sure so many of the reviews come from that view point.

    If you put all that aside and just look at it from the merit of the game it is then, it has some crisp graphics, moments of a great racing game and feeling of competition but it is so often clouded with the feeling of an imcomplete game that after all this time is still buggy, unpolished and not on par with other games in the genre. All things considered, the sound is the biggest let down by far, with dynamic crashes sounding like nothing more than a plastic coke bottle hit you in the hit, engines that resemble cards stuck on the spokes of your bike ( ah chlld hood memories ) and a sound track that is just a resume for people to find there place in the job que down at the local supermarket.

    I feel disappointed and robbed of the expierence that should have been a great game, but after the hype and constant delays should we have really expected that this would result in something great, as I cant remember a time where something game, movie, tv show, anything was delayed and the final product was worth the extra wait.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    I was a huge fan o gt series, but GT5 just sucks hard. The car sounds like a vacuum cleaner, many cars dont have interior view... omg. TheyI was a huge fan o gt series, but GT5 just sucks hard. The car sounds like a vacuum cleaner, many cars dont have interior view... omg. They just arruined the game. Expand

See all 375 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.