• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 998 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Known for its signature beauty and precision, the highly anticipated racer showcases new jaw-dropping cars, real-life tracks, and diverse racing styles. Gran Turismo promises to deliver exciting advancements to the series in the most comprehensive racing experience ever. [Sony]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. 100
    Kaz Yamauchi's passion for the racing sphere shines through every aspect of the game. The incredibly-detailed cars, the slick presentation, the spot-on physics. Polyphony Digital brought its A-game. Nothing else on the market can come close to the realism and immersion you feel throughout. Gran Turismo 5 is virtual racing at its very best.
  2. Dec 6, 2010
    92
    Uncompromising in design and steeped in car loving snobbery, GT5 is a petrol head's dream. For gamers it's good, for car enthusiasts it's quite brilliant.
  3. Jan 2, 2011
    90
    GT5 may have taken a lifetime to release, but it delivers on its promise of being 'the real driving simulator'.
  4. Jan 1, 2011
    85
    I never thought I'd see the day I gave a Gran Turismo game less than a 9. And then GT PSP happened. The disappointment continues, but it's abated by what I can only hope are continued, frequent updates.
  5. Dec 12, 2010
    80
    GT5 lives up to "the real driving simulator" tagline, but in almost every other respect, there lies a sense that the grandaddy has been lapped by the competition.
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    80
    Considering the time it took Polyphony to complete what we believed would be a masterpiece, we really can't hide our disappointment. Although the number of cars, events and play modes on offer is surely impressive, Gran Turismo 5 is far from that level of perfection that the development team promised us during the last four years.
  7. Dec 6, 2010
    60
    Gran Turismo 5's core problem is that the broad scope of all these game modes diminishes the polish of the general product. There's no denying the feel of the actual driving, but everything else that makes up the game feels tedious and half-baked.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 371
  1. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gran cantidad de vehiculos, online, editor de pistas.....excelentes gráficos....es un excelente juego aunque esperaba un poco más. Lástima que personas profesionales y falta de sentido común utilicen este importante sitio para demeritar sin fundamento.... Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Simply the best driving simulator ever! It wasn't meant to be like a Burnout or NFS style game. If u like simplified arcadey-style gameplay then by all means play those titles and stop knocking GT5. However, if u consider yourself a petrolhead, a motoring enthusiast or even a fan of the series, then you will definitely love this game. Everything has been majorly improved and expanded upon from the previous GT titles. The game continuously tests you, makes you think, sweat, and then rewards you. For the sheer amount of days or weeks of enticing gameplay contained within, GT5 is already worth your money. And when you want to take a break from the serious battles versus the sometimes relentless A.I, there's Karting, the Top Gear track, racing online with your mates (which I've played for hours against a friend thousands of miles away and, since the latest patch, it's flawless). There's also a photo mode for a change of scenery and GT TV for the die-hard petrolheads. I doubt that any of the negative reviewers ( twitch-gaming kids? lame-brained twits? Xbot trolls? etc) have even unlocked the rally races on GT mode. The rally cars handle superbly and the rallies play better than the rally game Dirt (and that's a bold claim!) The game has a few minor issues like occasional tearing and sometimes odd A.I, but the promise of regular patches based on the opinions of people who play the game via the PS blogs online, means that GT5 will continue to improve and EVOLVE. There's also a ton of FREE DLC coming our way!
    All in all I'm extremely happy with my purchase, GT5 is a great game to enjoyably pass the time when it's too cold to move outside in the bitter weather.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    While it is easy for developers to create a game surrounded around sex and violence simply to cash out on a quick buck, Polyphony Digital does the exact opposite. They spend 5 years making one single game that does not involve anything the current videogame industry is obsessed with (zombies, apocalyptic environments, open world gameplay, first-person shooters, etc...) and it does is executed in an extremely classy way. Gran Turismo 5 couldn't feel more refreshing to the gaming-enthusiast, especially when a market is saturated with macho-men titles. Yes it is a blockbuster sequel, but that does not make it feel any less awesome. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    I mean oh my! This game is beyond my expectations. After playing it for a few months, I am addicted still. GT is the only racing series that has constantly given me epic experiences in hundreds of vehicles. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2011
    8
    From someone who is not really into racing games or cars in general this game has sparked interest for me. The sheer amount of cars and the amount of tuning I can do with them, building a garage of cars that I put some oil and tears into is really addictive. Cars are separated into Premium and Standard cars, Premium being the only ones that look truly next gen HD, and they look beautiful. The standard cars make up 75 % (of the 1000+ cars) and while they look fine they pale in comparison to the premium cars which is a small grip that I have. Single player races can get a little repetitive if you want to grind for cash but online races make up for that. B-Spec mode where you control a team of drivers is nice when you want to multi task something else while you play.

    Overall if you like realistic driving sims you can't really do much better than GT5.
    Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2011
    6
    I was once an amateur street racer and sometimes autocrosser. The problem with racing games is that they're too realistic and not forgiving enough. When I'm on the street I can hear my tires squealing when they're reaching the limit, I can feel my back end getting loose in the corner which encourages me to mash the gas. Without the car telling me these things I feel blind, but the excellent physics of the game demands I respond to this information that, if it's giving it to me, I don't understand. The tires squeal all the time, I can't ever look into turns to see where I'm going, and the mod prices and custom options are ridiculous - the same for every car. If you want a good racing game there is still no game better than Need for Speed: Porsche Unleashed. If you have a panoramic TV a racing simulation pod, this is probably one of the better racing games on the planet . . . if you don't it's merely a fairly interesting romp through flash cars and bad ass tracks. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2010
    0
    I love Sony and all its franchises, but i waited too long for this game, had dreams making LOVE with GT5... And... For what? I've been fooled... But you may say "it's still a good racing game", right? Yes, it's, but nothing near with expectations and Sony's promises. I'm really disappointed. Expand

See all 371 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.