• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 621 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gran Turismo 6 is a comprehensive racing simulator that allows fans to drive a prolific collection of cars on the world's most legendary racetracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    100
    As ever, the depth of the game is truly breathtaking.
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    90
    Gran Turismo 6 is a beautiful racing simulator that values the art and science of the race over the drama and theatrics that often make racing so appealing. While the game lacks in certain areas, namely in their complete lack of real collision dynamics, the overall racing experience is one of sublime enjoyment.
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    It remains a mammoth achievement because fans can tell, within seconds, just how much TLC has been put into this production. Into every GT production, in truth. That’s what separates this franchise from any other and if you know cars and racing, you’ve been saying this for years. And I’ve got your back.
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    80
    Playing it after experiencing Forza Motorsport 5 makes it feel like, well, going back a console generation. The mechanics and features are as impressive as ever, but now that we’ve seen what cars can look like on the current generation of consoles, it’s hard going back. Still, it’s hard to fault the game for being released too late and it remains another thoughtful, expertly crafted racing experience. - See more at: http://www.hardcoregamer.com/2013/12/06/review-gran-turismo-6/64753/#sthash.bsOa86kF.dpuf
  5. 80
    THE racing package for every PS3 owner. Although there are dips in overall quality, it still offers tons of content and is simply fun to drive. [Issue#238]
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Polyphony's latest may be burdened by familiar shortcomings, but Gran Turismo 6 reaches its greatest heights yet as a driving simulator.
  7. 50
    Gran Turismo 6 feels like a relic of the past and the gameplay hasn't evolved to today's standards. There really isn't anything real about the so called 'real driving simulator', just an old fashioned Japanese game that isn't all that fun to play.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 138
  2. Negative: 31 out of 138
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    A very good racing simulator with a huge number of cars (about 1200), good racing mechanics, weather system, proper career mode and a real selection of tracks! this is in stark contrast to the meagre forza 5 which which only has 200 cars, no weather system, no night racing, a very small number of tracks and is an arcade racer. Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    GT6 Is an amazing game. The new physics engine is really polished and even though there is a learning curve, anyone that has played at least a few racing games before will learn it without any trouble. Nice to see previously 'standard' cars have been touched up to make them more attractive and pleasing to use in racing. The Premium vehicles look outstanding and looking at your glittering car on a sunset light race track is pretty close to gaming euphoria. I highly recommend this game to anyone faithful to the GT series or looking for a fresh racing game that is about a lot more than 'simulation' Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    GT6 it's the best racing game in consoles by far. Faster menus, new tyre and suspension physics, more and more content... Forza was a disappointment with the lack of content and abusive dlc (first day dlc and you must to pay for drive a veyron, really?). So if you own a ps3 and you like racing games, this is for you. A lot of improvements since gt5, great job giving us this game at the end of ps3. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    GT6 best racing game in consoles 2013 year. This Is Game best!!!!!!! And Good Graphics, Good Soundtrack, but unfortunately does not have a 3D mode. Best Exclusive for PS3 Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    8
    I can score this game in two ways. As a driving game, I would score it 9.5. Its driving model is incredible and the sheer joy of driving cars round the many excellent tracks is second to none. GT6 has by far the best driving model out there on consoles and I love it for it (I have not played Shift 2 and Forza 5). If all cars would have had detailed views and the sound of the engine would have been better, GT6 would have been perfect as a driving game. As a racing game, however, I would score it 7.5. It loses points for insisting on rolling starts and the associated AI restrictions (the other drivers are noticeably worse than you, because otherwise you would never be able to pass them after the royal head start they get), as well as for the absence of an effective damage model (including the infamous thumping sound when you hit other cars and barriers; I do appreciate the small dents and paint scratches that result from minor exchanges with other cars). In the racing department, Forza Horizon still holds the crown to me (again, I have not played Shift 2 or Forza 5). So whether you will love GT6 (like I absolutely do) or will be all "meh" about it, depends largely on what you enjoy the most in a driving/racing game. I am a sucker for the realistic and fun driving experience and fell in love with GT6 in minutes, so much so that as soon as I could I took some of my cars for a free drive around the Nurburgring and Laguna Seca, just to explore the cars and tracks, while trying to set a good lap time. GT6 is the only driving/racing game that can make me do such things voluntarily and make me love every second of it. And for that reason, I think it's the best driving/racing game out there, by a large margin. Disclaimer: I have spent four hours with the game thus far and hope my excitement will stay at the high level it is at right now (so far the game has done a good job introducing new fun and exciting things/options frequently, so I have a feeling my love for the game will stay). Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    I've been playing this game non stop for almost a week now and I have mixed feelings about it. The tracks are beautiful and fun to drive on, especially newer tracks like Bathurst and Silverstone. Even older tracks like Apricot Hill and Deep Forest are still fun, but less so. The newer tracks are definitely the highlight of GT6 so far. The selection of cars is as massive as ever, but while some of the cars look fantastic, there's still too many cars that look like they're left over from the PS2 days. The handling and driving physics are the best they've ever been; cars handle and control like their real world counterparts. People complain about starting with a crappy car and few credits and working your way up to better cars, but that's what GT has always been about, so people who don't like this should be playing arcade racing games, not sim racing games. The menu system is much easier and simpler to navigate than GT5, not GT5's menu system was that complex.

    The problems that GT6 has are the same that have plagued it for 15 years now. The driver AI, while better than before, is still pretty dumb as cars drive in a straight line like robots. There's still limited car damage. There are far too many useless cars in the game. And some of the older tracks need a facelift. While the game is still loads of fun, it feels like the same old stuff over and over again. Polyphony needs to innovate more with GT, cuz games like Forza have caught up and even surpassed GT in some respects.
    Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    0
    Jogo muito ruim...nunca vi nada tão escroto, ainda parece playstation 2 .
    Jogo nunca melhora em nada, fisica zoada...não sei pq esse game
    ainda existe! Expand

See all 138 User Reviews