• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 679 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gran Turismo 6 is a comprehensive racing simulator that allows fans to drive a prolific collection of cars on the world's most legendary racetracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    100
    As ever, the depth of the game is truly breathtaking.
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    90
    Gran Turismo 6 is a beautiful racing simulator that values the art and science of the race over the drama and theatrics that often make racing so appealing. While the game lacks in certain areas, namely in their complete lack of real collision dynamics, the overall racing experience is one of sublime enjoyment.
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    It remains a mammoth achievement because fans can tell, within seconds, just how much TLC has been put into this production. Into every GT production, in truth. That’s what separates this franchise from any other and if you know cars and racing, you’ve been saying this for years. And I’ve got your back.
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    80
    Playing it after experiencing Forza Motorsport 5 makes it feel like, well, going back a console generation. The mechanics and features are as impressive as ever, but now that we’ve seen what cars can look like on the current generation of consoles, it’s hard going back. Still, it’s hard to fault the game for being released too late and it remains another thoughtful, expertly crafted racing experience. - See more at: http://www.hardcoregamer.com/2013/12/06/review-gran-turismo-6/64753/#sthash.bsOa86kF.dpuf
  5. 80
    THE racing package for every PS3 owner. Although there are dips in overall quality, it still offers tons of content and is simply fun to drive. [Issue#238]
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Polyphony's latest may be burdened by familiar shortcomings, but Gran Turismo 6 reaches its greatest heights yet as a driving simulator.
  7. 50
    Gran Turismo 6 feels like a relic of the past and the gameplay hasn't evolved to today's standards. There really isn't anything real about the so called 'real driving simulator', just an old fashioned Japanese game that isn't all that fun to play.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 149
  1. ATS
    Dec 8, 2013
    10
    Gran Turismo 6 is the best Gran Turismo ever.Cars,tracks,gameplay,graphic,weather and time simulation-everything is amazing.If you love GranGran Turismo 6 is the best Gran Turismo ever.Cars,tracks,gameplay,graphic,weather and time simulation-everything is amazing.If you love Gran Turismo you should buy it and don't listen to the people who says that Gran Turismo 6 is bad beause that's wrong.See you on tracks Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gran Turismo 6 improves on many things on it's predecessor like better visuals on the cars and background, lighting/shadows, tracks, better UI, physics, weather effects. It does has some minor drawbacks which i believe will be fixed with a patch in the near future like the engine sound and maybe the damage that the cars take..GT6 it's the best racing game in console Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    GT6 it's the best racing game in consoles by far. Faster menus, new tyre and suspension physics, more and more content... Forza was aGT6 it's the best racing game in consoles by far. Faster menus, new tyre and suspension physics, more and more content... Forza was a disappointment with the lack of content and abusive dlc (first day dlc and you must to pay for drive a veyron, really?). So if you own a ps3 and you like racing games, this is for you. A lot of improvements since gt5, great job giving us this game at the end of ps3. Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    I used to play every Gt game since GT1 and every time Polyphony do its best to deliver the best game quality and experience and its not aI used to play every Gt game since GT1 and every time Polyphony do its best to deliver the best game quality and experience and its not a exception with GT6 , great graphics new music tracks , the original Menu music any GT fan will love it instantly , BUT BUT BUT , i dont know if im a good driver or what bcz i play in professional mode i mean assistance at all , MT ... and seems like u can finish the race without going out track , hope its not scripted too bcz Simulation # scripting . Expand
  5. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    GT6 has a lot more depth than a lot of people realise this time around, that's not to say that its not without its faults but we'll get toGT6 has a lot more depth than a lot of people realise this time around, that's not to say that its not without its faults but we'll get to that later. The menus are simpler to navigate and straightforward although certain options are unclear like the stockyard for instance, unless you check the manual you'll not truly know what rts purpose is unless you get 500+ cars and find your garage can't hold anymore hence why the stocklyard is there to chuck up 9999 cars in. With the racing everybody is commenting on the new physics engine but unless you turn everything off ie traction control and skid recovery others may not truly experience or understand what all the fuss is about, this time round polyphony has taken the clever step of putting tyre and pp restrictions on the career events and at first glance it can seem frustrating but its a smart idea to get you to grips with the other types and options when it comes to how you approach a race. The progression unlock system is nothing new but its not something that gt has used to till now, it is better than the xp system in gt5 although the rewards are fewer than before meaning you need to grind more unless you choose to purchase money via microtransactions. A couple of features that did not cross over to gt6 were the cumulative money bonus and the ability to view your friends profile/progress and borrow cars, whether these are to be patched in or not is unclear which is a shame because it was handy feature although I can see the idea behind it that they want you to work for it. The dreaded license tests are back have been halved which does make the game more accessible as for the graphics they've been cleaned up and sharpened slightly but there's nothing to make it stand out really apart from when you race at night which does make a significant difference to the way you drive. The track selection is better this time around with more real life locations such as brands hatch, silverstone, willow springs to name but a few as well as some interesting new and old tracks meanwhile photo mode and replay mode have also had some nice interesting tweaks as well. Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    I've been playing this game non stop for almost a week now and I have mixed feelings about it. The tracks are beautiful and fun to drive on,I've been playing this game non stop for almost a week now and I have mixed feelings about it. The tracks are beautiful and fun to drive on, especially newer tracks like Bathurst and Silverstone. Even older tracks like Apricot Hill and Deep Forest are still fun, but less so. The newer tracks are definitely the highlight of GT6 so far. The selection of cars is as massive as ever, but while some of the cars look fantastic, there's still too many cars that look like they're left over from the PS2 days. The handling and driving physics are the best they've ever been; cars handle and control like their real world counterparts. People complain about starting with a crappy car and few credits and working your way up to better cars, but that's what GT has always been about, so people who don't like this should be playing arcade racing games, not sim racing games. The menu system is much easier and simpler to navigate than GT5, not GT5's menu system was that complex.

    The problems that GT6 has are the same that have plagued it for 15 years now. The driver AI, while better than before, is still pretty dumb as cars drive in a straight line like robots. There's still limited car damage. There are far too many useless cars in the game. And some of the older tracks need a facelift. While the game is still loads of fun, it feels like the same old stuff over and over again. Polyphony needs to innovate more with GT, cuz games like Forza have caught up and even surpassed GT in some respects.
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2015
    0
    In this review I will be expressing my experiences within the game after approximately 6 hours of having it run on my ps3.

    All that has
    In this review I will be expressing my experiences within the game after approximately 6 hours of having it run on my ps3.

    All that has been happening is the game has been updating and installing. Then the PS3 auto turned itself off so I had to start the whole install process again. Thankfully atleast all the updates were installed so I didn't have to go through that process again.

    The game developers can not justify making us wait 6 hours to play there game after putting it into the system.
    The developers treat this game as if its a PC game where they can through out massive 2gb+ patches into the game. Current gen consoles are not designed for this. 100mb- patches should be the max per update for this system.

    So I have not played the game therefore cannot review that game, just my personal experiences.
    Expand

See all 149 User Reviews