Gran Turismo 6 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Gran Turismo 6 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 745 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gran Turismo 6 is a comprehensive racing simulator that allows fans to drive a prolific collection of cars on the world's most legendary racetracks.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    100
    As ever, the depth of the game is truly breathtaking.
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    90
    Gran Turismo 6 is a beautiful racing simulator that values the art and science of the race over the drama and theatrics that often make racing so appealing. While the game lacks in certain areas, namely in their complete lack of real collision dynamics, the overall racing experience is one of sublime enjoyment.
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    It remains a mammoth achievement because fans can tell, within seconds, just how much TLC has been put into this production. Into every GT production, in truth. That’s what separates this franchise from any other and if you know cars and racing, you’ve been saying this for years. And I’ve got your back.
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    80
    Playing it after experiencing Forza Motorsport 5 makes it feel like, well, going back a console generation. The mechanics and features are as impressive as ever, but now that we’ve seen what cars can look like on the current generation of consoles, it’s hard going back. Still, it’s hard to fault the game for being released too late and it remains another thoughtful, expertly crafted racing experience. - See more at: http://www.hardcoregamer.com/2013/12/06/review-gran-turismo-6/64753/#sthash.bsOa86kF.dpuf
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 23, 2014
    80
    THE racing package for every PS3 owner. Although there are dips in overall quality, it still offers tons of content and is simply fun to drive. [Issue#238]
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Polyphony's latest may be burdened by familiar shortcomings, but Gran Turismo 6 reaches its greatest heights yet as a driving simulator.
  7. 50
    Gran Turismo 6 feels like a relic of the past and the gameplay hasn't evolved to today's standards. There really isn't anything real about the so called 'real driving simulator', just an old fashioned Japanese game that isn't all that fun to play.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 158
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I can finally enjoy Gran Turismo. GT6 is FOCUSED. I love the physics...I love the graphics...I love the sound of certain cars....I love thisI can finally enjoy Gran Turismo. GT6 is FOCUSED. I love the physics...I love the graphics...I love the sound of certain cars....I love this game. The body roll is incredible and the way the car reacts is so damn realistic. So many cars and tracks you don't know which one to choose. The new updates only make it better and better. This is the result of real passion for cars. 10/10 Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Gran Turismo 6 is a worthy addition to the series. It may not be perfect, but at least you don't get cheated out of content like in forzaGran Turismo 6 is a worthy addition to the series. It may not be perfect, but at least you don't get cheated out of content like in forza motorsport 5. The menu is easier to use and the racing is even better. Overall it's a great game and racers will love it. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    GT6 it's the best racing game in consoles by far. Faster menus, new tyre and suspension physics, more and more content... Forza was aGT6 it's the best racing game in consoles by far. Faster menus, new tyre and suspension physics, more and more content... Forza was a disappointment with the lack of content and abusive dlc (first day dlc and you must to pay for drive a veyron, really?). So if you own a ps3 and you like racing games, this is for you. A lot of improvements since gt5, great job giving us this game at the end of ps3. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Gran Turismo 6 is in no way perfect, but for a racing game it comes relatively close. The new menu interface is sleek and efficient no longerGran Turismo 6 is in no way perfect, but for a racing game it comes relatively close. The new menu interface is sleek and efficient no longer do you have to go to your garage menu to change your car. Now you can do change your car from almost any menu in the game, even from inside the tuning shop, which cuts down on loading times. The graphics are as well done as in GT5 and the physics engine has been improved slightly as well. The number of cars and tracks is vast and diverse like the last game. While the music is still awful, it wasn't a huge problem for me because I had a laptop with Pandora going whenever I was playing. The new race system makes the game a lot easier for beginners, even though you have no choice on your first car. There really aren't any Micro-Transactions unless you go looking for them. All in all it's a great racing game that can only be improved on the PS4. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    this is what GT5 should have been. thats alll i want to say because i didnt like that much GT5 but GT6 is what GT5 should have been this isthis is what GT5 should have been. thats alll i want to say because i didnt like that much GT5 but GT6 is what GT5 should have been this is the real driving simulator. Expand
  6. Dec 7, 2013
    7
    The ultimate driving simulator? For Playstation 3 owners at least, this is basically as good as simulation racing gets. It is an incrementalThe ultimate driving simulator? For Playstation 3 owners at least, this is basically as good as simulation racing gets. It is an incremental improvement over prior versions, so GT fans need not fear too much, this is still the GT you grew up with. A huge selection of cars and tracks is sure to keep car fans busy for a while. The driving physics seem close, though the grip modelling doesn't quite feel perfect to me. The driving lines are good enough looking and adjust reasonably to changes in car speed.

    The user interface is great, you can tell they put some work into it, and the on screen HUD during races is very informative while staying out of the way and letting you focus on the track as well. The fonts are all very readable at a glance with good shadowing and contrast, I find myself liking the look of the RPM meter in 3rd person despite it being horizontal. I find 3rd person a lot easier to drive in and get better track awareness so I can't really comment much about the 1st person interface. Also, speaking about 3rd person, there is unfortunately no way to get the 360 degree free rotation out of the right stick, which really should be allowed in my opinion.

    The most disappointing thing so far is the lack of an actual simulation damage model. They will let the car look bashed up if you want, but it's only a visual, cars will drive the same after very aggressive driving compared with not. So don't worry, you won't be held accountable for driving people off the road every chance you get. I think this is one feature that really should have been considered for this title, at least for the player to optionally decide to use. Although we also don't see a rewind feature being added either, which is the thing that makes simulation damage not so frustrating to have on.

    Another flaw which many have mentioned is the engine noise, and I find myself questioning this as well. They just don't really sound quite like real cars. It does distract a bit from the whole immersion experience to hear something which might be a toy car driving down the road. Maybe cranking up the bass would help a little in this case, but shouldn't be necessary, the cars should just sound right with balanced settings.

    The loading times are impressive actually, I think this is the fastest loading racing game I've played. I do have an SSD installed in my PS3, which could account for some of the speed up in loading, so it might not really be a software issue either way. The frame rate is totally solid, I don't ever observe any drops in performance, it's completely smooth through every race, which is basically a must have for any game like this anyway. The car models are alright and rendering is pretty good, though it does feel like they could have pushed things a little higher in the graphic fidelity.

    On the default setting, the AI is not too offensive, it will make some technical errors and create passing opportunities even for similarly performing cars. The AI setting can optionally be tweaked to be more aggressive

    Overall the feel I get from this racing simulator is one to really kick back with, relax, and enjoy some Motorsport just for the fun of it. It might not meet all my simulation top criteria, but the experience of driving in this game is unique and enjoyable.
    Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2016
    0
    I bought this game from PSN and have not played it yet. Because it is still installing!!! The download took about 3-4 hours. Then the installI bought this game from PSN and have not played it yet. Because it is still installing!!! The download took about 3-4 hours. Then the install took about 15 hours!! Followed by an update screen that took 3 hours! And AGAIN followed by another install screen that has taken over 2 hours till now and is still telling me it has only got about 5 minutes left, with the bar less than a third of the way full!
    Fix your god damn **** Polyphony!!
    Expand

See all 158 User Reviews