Gran Turismo 6 PlayStation 3

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 696 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Gran Turismo 6 is a comprehensive racing simulator that allows fans to drive a prolific collection of cars on the world's most legendary racetracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Dec 6, 2013
    100
    As ever, the depth of the game is truly breathtaking.
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    90
    Gran Turismo 6 is a beautiful racing simulator that values the art and science of the race over the drama and theatrics that often make racing so appealing. While the game lacks in certain areas, namely in their complete lack of real collision dynamics, the overall racing experience is one of sublime enjoyment.
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    It remains a mammoth achievement because fans can tell, within seconds, just how much TLC has been put into this production. Into every GT production, in truth. That’s what separates this franchise from any other and if you know cars and racing, you’ve been saying this for years. And I’ve got your back.
  4. Dec 6, 2013
    80
    Playing it after experiencing Forza Motorsport 5 makes it feel like, well, going back a console generation. The mechanics and features are as impressive as ever, but now that we’ve seen what cars can look like on the current generation of consoles, it’s hard going back. Still, it’s hard to fault the game for being released too late and it remains another thoughtful, expertly crafted racing experience. - See more at: http://www.hardcoregamer.com/2013/12/06/review-gran-turismo-6/64753/#sthash.bsOa86kF.dpuf
  5. 80
    THE racing package for every PS3 owner. Although there are dips in overall quality, it still offers tons of content and is simply fun to drive. [Issue#238]
  6. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Polyphony's latest may be burdened by familiar shortcomings, but Gran Turismo 6 reaches its greatest heights yet as a driving simulator.
  7. 50
    Gran Turismo 6 feels like a relic of the past and the gameplay hasn't evolved to today's standards. There really isn't anything real about the so called 'real driving simulator', just an old fashioned Japanese game that isn't all that fun to play.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 153
  2. Negative: 34 out of 153
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    I can finally enjoy Gran Turismo. GT6 is FOCUSED. I love the physics...I love the graphics...I love the sound of certain cars....I love thisI can finally enjoy Gran Turismo. GT6 is FOCUSED. I love the physics...I love the graphics...I love the sound of certain cars....I love this game. The body roll is incredible and the way the car reacts is so damn realistic. So many cars and tracks you don't know which one to choose. The new updates only make it better and better. This is the result of real passion for cars. 10/10 Expand
  2. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    Gran Turismo 6 is a worthy addition to the series. It may not be perfect, but at least you don't get cheated out of content like in forzaGran Turismo 6 is a worthy addition to the series. It may not be perfect, but at least you don't get cheated out of content like in forza motorsport 5. The menu is easier to use and the racing is even better. Overall it's a great game and racers will love it. Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    GT6 it's the best racing game in consoles by far. Faster menus, new tyre and suspension physics, more and more content... Forza was aGT6 it's the best racing game in consoles by far. Faster menus, new tyre and suspension physics, more and more content... Forza was a disappointment with the lack of content and abusive dlc (first day dlc and you must to pay for drive a veyron, really?). So if you own a ps3 and you like racing games, this is for you. A lot of improvements since gt5, great job giving us this game at the end of ps3. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Gran Turismo 6 is in no way perfect, but for a racing game it comes relatively close. The new menu interface is sleek and efficient no longerGran Turismo 6 is in no way perfect, but for a racing game it comes relatively close. The new menu interface is sleek and efficient no longer do you have to go to your garage menu to change your car. Now you can do change your car from almost any menu in the game, even from inside the tuning shop, which cuts down on loading times. The graphics are as well done as in GT5 and the physics engine has been improved slightly as well. The number of cars and tracks is vast and diverse like the last game. While the music is still awful, it wasn't a huge problem for me because I had a laptop with Pandora going whenever I was playing. The new race system makes the game a lot easier for beginners, even though you have no choice on your first car. There really aren't any Micro-Transactions unless you go looking for them. All in all it's a great racing game that can only be improved on the PS4. Collapse
  5. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    this is what GT5 should have been. thats alll i want to say because i didnt like that much GT5 but GT6 is what GT5 should have been this isthis is what GT5 should have been. thats alll i want to say because i didnt like that much GT5 but GT6 is what GT5 should have been this is the real driving simulator. Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2013
    7
    Another fine instalment of the Gran Turismo (GT) franchise that rights many of the wrongs that plagued GT5. Better UI, far more polishedAnother fine instalment of the Gran Turismo (GT) franchise that rights many of the wrongs that plagued GT5. Better UI, far more polished standard models and a more linear career mode that brings back the classic licence tests in a briefer form are amongst the most notable changes. To the majority who played GT4 this briefness is probably a good thing as they did tend to drag on but were sorely missed in GT5. The main gripes with this game are those which have dogged all GT games. First and foremost is the lack of meaningful damage, crash into a wall at 400km/h and just pop it in reverse gear and your off again without consequence. For a game that claims to be the real driving simulator bad driving should be punished. Secondly, the cars still sound soulless and dreary, jump into a Pagani Zonda or a Lamborghini Murcielago and they sound muted and lack the visceral, or even unique characteristics the real cars so obviously have.

    It should be noted that the GT series is almost peerless in console gaming when it comes to updates. On the board for just GT6 is a new track creator that utilises GPS data to recreate tracks elevation and scale. IF this eventuates then the score for the game is certainly 8. If the gripes mentioned above were coupled with this update then we would have the perfect console racing simulator.
    Expand
  7. Jan 2, 2015
    0
    In this review I will be expressing my experiences within the game after approximately 6 hours of having it run on my ps3.

    All that has
    In this review I will be expressing my experiences within the game after approximately 6 hours of having it run on my ps3.

    All that has been happening is the game has been updating and installing. Then the PS3 auto turned itself off so I had to start the whole install process again. Thankfully atleast all the updates were installed so I didn't have to go through that process again.

    The game developers can not justify making us wait 6 hours to play there game after putting it into the system.
    The developers treat this game as if its a PC game where they can through out massive 2gb+ patches into the game. Current gen consoles are not designed for this. 100mb- patches should be the max per update for this system.

    So I have not played the game therefore cannot review that game, just my personal experiences.
    Expand

See all 153 User Reviews