User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2180 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 12, 2011
    6
    What happened?!? How did this go so wrong??? I was so unbelievably excited about this game, and I thought for the first 5 minutes that it would be as great as I had always hoped... and then it just wasn't. I can't particularly put my finger on an exact reason why... I'm going to blame GTA san andreas, which just set my hopes so high. Sure GTAIV has a great story line, interesting characters (If a little stereotypical and annoying) and sometimes fun gameplay... but I've seen it all before and I didn't get sucked into the world in the same way I have in previous iterations. No customisation, a bland city with such a small amount of variety....... How did it go downhill so much from SA??? Overall I think this is a fun game, but one of the most over-rated of all time. Expand
  2. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but man does this game deliver. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases.
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    Overrated. I can't believe how high of score this gets, this is the worst GTA game. The world may be huge, but it's uninspired. The characters are dull. The controls are horrible. Even though you can get this for cheap, just pick up San Andreas on PS2 instead.
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    0
    This is the most over rated game ever. REALLY 98? User score tells more about this game... This is like every other GTA, boring after few days. Rockstar has paid for those 100 metascore givers.
  5. Mar 31, 2012
    7
    2011:
    I loved GTA III, Vice City was one of my favs, I felt that san andreas was losing a little from its sights, and now GTA iv. Well, the game wasn't all that engaging actually after all is said and done. Sure there are some great moments, the story and characters are very well done as always, but for me the game was almost too overwelhming. Things like having a girlfriend, checking
    email, going out, tended to add to much, which luckily it is all optional, but it still feels like your missing out if not doing these things. The car physics were horrid, never could drive it. I miss the old GTA, especially vice city, remember the stolen car lists, the taxi, vigilante, ect. missions. These were the side missions that i thought were good and not a distraction like in Gta iv. I didn't walk away impressed with the game. Expand
  6. May 18, 2011
    0
    Why is this game rated the best PS3 game ever? Are you serious? This game deserves max 3, but I give it 0 to counter all those pointless 10's. I do not reccomned this game at all, unless you need some sandbox game to drive around and screw some stuff, if you want a story, it's not a good game.
  7. Apr 3, 2011
    3
    Overrated. Annoying characters, clunky gameplay (did the developers ever try driving a real car?!), did I say annoying characters? So glad I got it second hand and cheap--still a waste of money.
  8. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    When I first played Gta IV I was instantly hooked. The atmosphere in the game was amazing. Missions were addictive, story was nice. there were many memorable characters and funny laughs. I rented this at first and played it for 22 hour then re-rented it and played it for 24 more hours and beat the game. This game is my 2nd favourite sandbox of all time and this game is awesome. The flaws I had with the game were the predictable missions. But none the less, an awesome game 9/10 Expand
  9. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    The first time I played GTA was at the age of seven when GTA was released back in 1997. In my humble opinion GTA IV is a huge step forward, but in another view, a step back. + More mature and interesting storyline + Drastically improved driving physics and vehicle damage + A living, breathing city + Huge city - Repetitive and sometimes uninspired mission design (Go to A, shoot 10 people, go to B)
    - To much blur and an awfull blue tint
    - Lack of interesting features outside of the storyline (clubs, barbershops, car dealerships etc.)
    - Lack of safehouses

    While some of these missing features was added i TBoGT many of them should have been in the game in the first place. I like the serious tone GTA IV story has, but the problem is, that outside of the story, the game often becomes repetetive and dull. There is simply not enough features; clubs, more races, drug deals, golf etc. Mission design is quite poor and the creativity (not talking about over-the-top action in TbOGT) is somehow diluted, and the game almost have the same mission design as in GTA III: Go there, kill a few people, go back.
    Expand
  10. Apr 6, 2013
    3
    This game is too over rated.
    98? No... This game, as a GTA, is disappointing. And very much. This game is basic. Yeah, it may have be liked by critics because it was sandbox, but, yeah, nothing more. It has a good amount of bugs and lags, and all the things you can do are bugged. At least on PS3 and PC. I don't know on XBOX360.

    I'm sorry... but as I love GTA:SA, I hate GTA:IV. It is
    not GTA. Do we want to talk about the story? It is definitely one of the most boring and lame stories in videogames history. IMO.

    Well, I think that I'm generous giving it a 3.
    Expand
  11. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    A boring game-as-art experience. It's an accomplishment to create such a giant city, but a shame not to build a functioning game. All forms of gameplay are poor and clunky, inferior to the champions of each genre. Driving doesn't feel as good as a racing game, bowling doesn't feel as good as a bowling game, etc. Every experience offered in GTA IV can be found elsewhere, and in FUN form. Strip it down and it's a compilation of half-ass mini-games separated by a gigantic, but hollow, hub world. Expand
  12. Aug 15, 2013
    4
    One of the few PS3 games I just couldn't finish. The storyline didn't grab me at all, and the characters were as dull as dishwater. But the *real* problem I had with this game, ironically enough, is that it was TOO realistic. Travelling from one mission to the next was a time-consuming chore, and one I had to repeat way too often if I failed a mission. Then the minutia of things like dating had me restless. I tried, thinking that it would eventually click for me, but while the environment was technically impressive, I found that the game wasn't the kind of escapist entertainment I play video games for. I even tried the DLC to see if those picked up the pace, and I just flat wasn't having fun.

    I know some folks love it, and that's great. It just wasn't the right game for me.
    Expand
  13. Jun 7, 2013
    0
    I hate giving 0's but theres something about this game. Its playability is minimal nevermind the concept of replayability. Graphically it's a treat, that aside, it's mediocre.
  14. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    This game is not impressive. I was pumped when this game came out, but when i played it I simply did not enjoy playing it. Got tired of it very quickly. They took too much of what i loved about san andreas out of this installment.
  15. Mar 17, 2012
    7
    I really don't see why this game has gotten so many perfect scores, it's a great game but it is definitely not perfect. I thought the story was really good, Nico is a really interesting character but there are too many characters. Throughout the game you meet so many people and it makes it hard to follow the story sometimes, however most of these characters are pretty cool. The gameplay has been improved but it's still far from perfect, the cover system gets really awkward in tight spaces so its easy to end up dying because of it and the driving, while very enjoyable for the most part, has its problems when you have to chase someone. These flaws could easily be forgiven if there were checkpoints in the missions but for some reason Rockstar have decided that it would be better to have to restart the entire mission every time you fail! When you throw in the flaws with the controls it can get very frustrating! Its not all bad though, if you just want to travel round the city and have fun stealing cars and beating people up, you'll have a great time, the free roam aspect of this game is nailed brilliantly and the amount of things that there are today boggles the mind. The multiplayer, while not extremely addictive, is pretty good as long as you're playing with plenty of people. This game shows its problems when you're trying to play the story line, don't get me wrong its not a bad game, i enjoyed quite alot of it, but there are many problems that I can not over look. Expand
  16. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    GTA 4 это действительно такая игра которая не может провалиться, потому что на её создание тратились миллионы из бюджета Rockstar, над ней работало огромное количество выдающихся и талантливых создателей "отцов" и еще ни одна игра не представляла такой размах действия, что играть в это должен каждый, хотя бы до выхода Grand Theft Auto V . Expand
  17. May 24, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GAMEPLAY:

    Grand Theft Auto is renowned for having a sandbox, complete with a plethora of distractions like socializing and dating, going to clubs, bars, strip-clubs and just having a good time in game. You will definitely find a hard time getting bored in Liberty City, which is a whole different story. The city itself is huge, and at any glance no matter what burrow looks like Rockstar’s imagining of NYC but in their own GTA world.
    Combat at first glance may seem to be tricky but eventually you will get a handle on the combat system. The melee system consists of several different attacks that when used in different combinations can prove to be effective against the opponent. Gunfights can be a little boring but when in a large skirmish with the cops or online against waves of enemies will make lasting memories.

    Perhaps the finest points of combat in the game though is in the cars. There is nothing in the game that compares to doing a drive-by shooting or firing at the cops during a high-speed chase. Vehicular combat was fine-tuned perfectly that allows the player(s) to engage in awesome shoot outs on the road, no matter what the vehicle is... from a moped to an armored truck.
    Driving is easy, with basic controls for ALL vehicles though it may be hard to grasp the comfort of driving boats and aircraft. Perhaps the hardest vehicle to drive though are the motorcycles, they have a very high speed, horrible handling, and will pretty much launch you if you hit ANYTHING at a high velocity. Just another taste of reality but don’t expect to be a pro motorcyclist or pilot right off.

    SOUND/MUSIC:

    The game’s radio soundtrack is very unique and a lot of the songs fit well in not just the game but the story. Players can choose from an array of music like rock, hip-hop, rap, techno, and even talk shows. The citizens of liberty city all have very different personalities, and voices, Rockstar did a good job making the non-essential NPC’s seem unique.
    Other than the radio stations in the cars in the game, the game doesn’t have an “epic score” or an everlasting soundtrack that will have you streaming the web to listen to. But overall the sound quality of the guns, the people, the cars, and even the ambience really polish this game up and show how Rockstar games tried to make this game as realistic as possible.

    STORY:
    You play as Niko Bellic an eastern-european (it is never really made clear where Nikos is from) who just moved from his homeland to Liberty City. The game takes off with you joining your cousin Roman who has made himself a nice little taxi business that he calls the beginning of the “american dream”. Over the course of the game Niko has to fight bikers, russians, gangsters, and cops... when suddenly his past catches up with him.
    The plot spans from Niko going “from the streets of Liberty City to the skyline of wealth”. As the player helps different factions and crime lords, Niko himself finds out that America is no different than the very war and the troubling past he has suffered.

    ENGINE:

    Grand Theft Auto 4’s engine isn’t special by “today’s standards”. There are few bugs, but even the ones in game can turn out to be quite funny or amusing. Online gameplay is really great, and unique. Until Grand Theft Auto 5 comes out, Grand Theft Auto 4’s engine alongside Red Dead Redemption HAVE TO BE Rockstar’s finest works.
    Expand
  18. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    GTA IV is such an utter disappointment i was just sad as a long time fan of GTA since PS2 days the series is really messed up now just like Metal Gear Solid the only way to fix these problems is to stop making games first of all im really shocked about how it got so many 10/10's for such a sh**ty game rockstar must have bribed these greedy a*****es for these reviews
  19. Jul 27, 2013
    2
    +first few missions are fun +its fun to drive, even with the horrible vehiclecontrol -Horrible Vehiclecontrol -Horrible Shootingmechanics -Bad graphics, even for 2008 -Boring Story -Only Hacker/Cheater in Multiplayer -Multiplayer is very bad designed. You need like 10 minutes to get in a game -Bad Police/Crimesystem: Police will come after you, even if they never saw you doing the crime
    -No other environment than the City.

    2/10

    Sorry, but 98 is just ridicolous. Im a huge GTA fan, but this GTA is not good in my opinion
    Expand
  20. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Don't get the hype, there is nothing "revolutionary" about this game. All I experienced was an extremely dull game with often repetitive missions and monotonous combat.
  21. Mar 27, 2011
    1
    At first, the game is fun and the story gets pretty simple. But when you get further, it gets boring, the characters get annoying, and the story is so difficult. When you lose and have to start over everytime, you'll be hitting your head against the wall, turn it off, and break it in half. The driving controlls suck, it feels like it has a mind of it own that I will be flying out of the windshield again and again. I really hate the characters, they think their cool and badass, but MY GOD their so annoying I mute the TV. The multiplayer is boring, I turn it off and play "Uncharted 2". I have know idea why so many people love this game so much, they say "Its so amazing, its Grand Theft Auto!" I now know why they love and defnd it. They defend it because it has "Grand Theft Auto" written on the cover, and they think any game that is titled "Grand Theft Auto" means its a great game. Its a horrible game and I want my money back! Expand
  22. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    This game is not bad, but certainly it isn't a masterpiece i don't know how this is the best game in all metacritic history, i mean San Andreas was a lot better than GTA4 i hope Rockstar make an awesome GTA with the next one.
  23. Aug 27, 2011
    0
    Completely overrated. I stopped playing after two hours because every mission was a variation of "follow me while i talk to and then kill some people I don't like". Also, the game mechanics are crap, because every time I want to shoot someone, the crosshair is automatically pointed at and locked on the nearest person's torso, making headshots and other things impossible to make. In addition, the story is never fleshed out. Niko is here to find some person, but that is never pursued, and he seems to be trying to be legit, but that never happens. GTA 4 is imbalanced and boring, and is easily one of the worst games I have every played. Expand
  24. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    The foundations for a next-gen GTA are there. Unfortunately, the content simply isn't anywhere near enough in the single player to class this as an open-world action-adventure. It's more of a linear shooter. The biggest failure in GTA history, but not a bad game in itself. Quality is high in all departments. What's there is really top notch - the cars, driving physics, combat system, facial detail, lighting... I could go on. My issue is with the things that are missing - which is variety, side missions, RPG elements, fun factor. I can see why this game has sold well- if you've never played a video game then this is the best place to start. Otherwise it's so repetitive, simple and mundane that you don't really appreciate the frightening attention to detail. All the little things have been rigourosly worked on, but this game has almost no ambition at all. It's basically a generation upgrade from GTA III, nothing more, nothing less. Expand
  25. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    As with previous GTA games, this one is packed with hours of action adventure fun in a sandbox that you can call yours. Shoot an old lady, blow up a helicopter, have complete fun causing a mini apocalypse. Make sure you buy the add ons for even more fun. Lost and damned and Ballads of gay tony. This game is yes, a step back from GTA SA, like no planes, no realistic clothing changing, no getting fat, no swimming underwater, etc, but its uber fun. Do you play online? This game is online and is SUPER fun. Wreck havoc on complete random strangers. Got a PSN? Add me: ccrogers15 Expand
  26. Nov 27, 2011
    6
    Despite its reputation as a controversial yet excellent game, this game has a good and a bad side. The good side of GTA IV is: (1) the improved graphics from the previous GTA games, (2) its addition of realism, (3) the goofy yet awkward reactions from Liberty City people and the LCPD, (4) The rampages and massacres in LC add the fun to the game, (5) GTA IV has a story with multiple endings and plot twists, and (6), Playing as an immigrant from Yugoslavia is quite unique in the GTA games. However, there is a bad side to GTA IV, and they are: (1) Less weapons unlike in San Andreas, (2) Less appealing automobiles and more mediocre cars, (3) The friend system with the cell phone can get annoying at times, especially when friends abruptly call you while you are still busy orchestrating an epic massacre in LC, (4) Survivng and escaping feuds against police is too easy when compared to previous GTA games, (5) Less accessible buildings than what players had expected, (6) the camera focusing on the player can get awkward sometimes, and (7), the most important drawback to GTA IV is that the campaign missions are repetitive and can get boring as you play the campaign again. This is evidenced by lack of mission uniqueness and missions virtually involve driving to the specific place then kill person A. Despite the drawbacks of the game, I still find GTA IV as fun and decent unlike the previous GTA games. Expand
  27. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    I've been playing this game on and off right since I got it in early 2011. This has the best controls I've ever used for driving in an action game. The lock-on shooting mechanics work surprisingly well and result in quick, satisfying shoot-outs, and the story, though hard to follow for twenty hours, is unbelievably good for a video game. A point off for some uneven texture sharpness. In cutscenes, it's very noticeable when the foreground is rather sharp and well animated, but the background settings seem so soft that they look like they're being viewed through wax paper. There's some pretty bad aliasing too (jagged edges that should be curved), and it's a pain to have to tap X or A to run. However, those gripes aside, this is consistently the most fun game I've ever played. Expand
  28. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Didnt like it. It was good at first, but playing other Huge title games, it didnt stand out to me, they are focused on too much graphics! Bring San Andreas back!!
  29. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    My honest opinion is that this game is overrated. Everything you expect from GTA is here; guns, police, violence, explosions, cars, gangs. Its good, but no where near as good as Batman Arkham City...
  30. Sep 17, 2012
    6
    A departure from the series. Everything that made GTA memorable was lost, and I mean everything; from the dark, quirky humour, to the popular culture references, to the things we have come to associate with GTA... **** as weapons, jetpacks, miniguns, flamethrowers, gangs, planes, prostitutes, storming mansions. All gone, and in its place we have a very serious, stern and boring experience that tries to prop itself up with good graphics and driving mechanics. This game is not fun. No nostalgia whatsoever. I do not associate this game with Vice City or San Andreas. Niko is the most forgettable video game character of all time. Nothing on Tommy Vercetti. Expand
  31. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    GTA IV is more than a game. It's an experience that goes way beyond button bashing your controller. The story is magnificent but no surprises here. Everyone knows that Rockstar usually nails in this department. Technically the game is flawless for the common gamer (if there's any glitch didn't see it). Not a fan of the Multiplayer though. Other than this GTA IV will remain in gamers memory as a reference and it will be benchmarked by everyone. Expand
  32. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I love this game is perfect everything is just awesome in every department the story the graphics, the gameplay is just perfect the general vibe that the game ends up giving you all together with the freedom it deserves a ten cause it's perfect
  33. May 4, 2013
    6
    An average story, with actually not that good characters, the graphics are decent, the gameplay is good with a lot of guns and the normal stuff on a GTA game but unfortunately not much else. It's average GTA game, not the best but not the worst either.
  34. May 27, 2013
    4
    So, another boring turd wrapped in pretty graphics. Gone are the fun, arcady driving mechanics, replaced by cars that handle like horizontal freezers on wheels. Gone are the mini-games that provides hours of fun distractions. The fun content in previous incarnations has been replaced by a boring dating sim, and predominately boring shooting missions. The characters are flat out obnoxious in my opinion. Tommy Vercetti was friggin' cool, Bellic is a pansy by comparison.
    It's great as a tech demo. I can't fault Rockstar for getting the detail of the city down, but it just feels there's less to do. It's a crazily detailed city, but hell you can't even Vigilante in this one.
    I hope GTA V isn't just another tech demo like this one was.
    Expand
  35. Jul 10, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here is a summary for those who don’t want to read the whole review (the review contains spoilers).
    +Very Strong Opening
    + (At the time it was released) Good Graphics, but that is not worth shouting about as graphics quickly become out of date.
    +Mini games (e.g. bowling) are well pulled off.
    -Very repetitive missions, with next to no variety making the game boring, as you go to a location kill someone/or collect something, 50 times.
    -Virtually no customisation, which makes your character feel no different from start to finish, reducing the level of fun.
    -Very annoying aspects like terrible driving.
    -Boring combat
    -Very average story, with limited variety.

    In short buy Saints Row 2, Sleeping Dogs or even Gta San Andreas, these games are far superior, and are more fun. Gta 4 is worth a rental at most.

    Full Review
    The start of the game is very strong, as you become immersed in wanting to find out about Niko Bellic and how he struggles to find the “American Dream”. The graphics (at the time it was released) were of good quality, giving the game the look of a next generation grand theft auto game.

    However you quickly realise that the game falls flat on nearly every level.

    One of the annoyances of the game you will notice very quickly is the driving, which while fun at first, proves to be a dump on your front door step. This is because all vehicles feel very similar and under steer like or if you apply too much throttle over steer like they were on ice. The use of toll gates and crashing every five seconds resulting in you falling out the windscreen, only serve as the bits of sweet corn in the dump on your door step. Such a terrible driving system, further serves as a reminder of how much Rockstar have removed from San Andreas, because the driving in that was insane and FUN.

    Another annoyance is how there is nothing to spend your money making it pointless. Unlike in previous games where you could buy property and businesses making you feel like a bad ass overlord, in Gta 4, you can buy clothes, a few guns (less than you could get in Gta San Andreas) and food. This is something you will notice as it adds to the lack of depth in Niko, as his primary motive is money, yet he can’t spend it on anything so what is the point, in him risking his arse every 5 seconds.

    Another of the many annoyances is the character interaction. Your uncle (Roman) is one the most annoying characters in gaming history, constantly being a little Jacob is a walking, talking serotype as is Packie, (and his whole family). However the worst character (unfortunately) is the one you play as (Niko). He is basically a black stale, and while Rockstar tried to add depth to his character by revealing his story of being a former army solider gradually, ultimately it amounts to nothing of interest, demonstrating a lack of depth to his character.

    With regards to the story, there is nothing ground breaking here, as it is your standard revenge story, nothing as gripping as Sleeping Dogs which was predictable was still enjoyable. The only really noticeable moment of the story is the choice at the end (Spoiler alert) where you get to choice if Roman dies or Kate dies by undergoing one of two missions prior to the event. However it falls flat, as you want to kill off Roman, but if you do Kate disappeared, making it better to keep the annoying prick (Roman) alive over the only decent character in the story (Kate). Furthermore the choice has no impact on the actually ending, making it rather pointless. I can see where they were going, trying to make it a dark and quite depressing story, but honestly with all the annoyances of Niko, I couldn’t care less about what happens to him. This ultimately means that the story, like the game on the whole, falls flat.

    However possible the main problem with the game is how there is NO variety in anything. This can be seen by how in the following areas GTA 4, has limited variety, Missions (in Gta4 you virtual go from location to location killing people, with minimal challenge as the Enemy A.I have a tendency to just peek out of cover exposing their heads making for easy head shots or suicide charge; and no build up. In San Andreas there while Enemy A.I is retarded the variety of missions make up for it), Customisation (in San Andreas and Saints Row 2 you could get tattoos, haircuts, and tons of clothes; in Gta4 you can only buy a limited number of clothes), Vehicles (in San Andreas and Saints Row 2 you had tons of vehicles and planes, in Gta4 there is only like 3 helis and no planes). This lack of variety makes it so it feels that Rockstar removed all of what made San Andreas so great, and replaced it with mediocrity dullness.

    All these mind-numbing elements ultimately make the game annoying without enough irritations to make you turn it off. This, from a studio that gave us games like Max Payne 3, Bully etc., amounts to a great disappointment.
    Expand
  36. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    It's a great game overall. Maybe it's a little bit too realistic. I wanted to see a little bit of unrealism in it. I also think that the game is overrated. Like I said, it's a great game, but previous GTA games were better in some ways. So, 8/10
  37. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    10 out of 10.

    Excellent story. Unbelievable variation. Hilarious ragdoll physics. Incredible design. Amazing graphics. What else can I say? Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any hype and brings on more of that open-world chaos that we love and hold dearly about the Grand Theft Auto series.

    But I do have some complaints... Firstly, some missions can feel repetitive. It's constantly about
    stealing things, killing targets and escaping whoever is chasing you. Of course it's fun, but it's bit too much a times. Also, in many missions, you are told to kill the person you're chasing, but you cant because you have to reach a cutscene or a certain point before they can actually take damage. That is misleading, quite annoying and just a waste of bullets.

    But over-all, such small gripes are, of course, nothing that can pull down this game from a perfect 10 out of 10 score, thanks to the things mentioned on the first row.
    Expand
  38. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments
    are bland, all of which combines to make it difficult to see where you are and where you’re going.

    Second: they jacked up the driving physics of the game so now it feels like everything is moving underwater. Turns that used to be simple now send you sliding into walls, which gets frustrating given the large number of slow, crappy cars you seem to be forced to drive in this game.

    Third: the stale mission-structured gameplay is exactly the same as it was over 10 years ago. It’s so tedious now. You get a mission giver, you have to drive across town to start the mission, then you have to drive to your mission destination, then back to your house if you want to keep your car. Fail the mission and you have to start the commute again. They have even added in “features” like toll booths now, which create traffic on bridges that honestly make you feel like you are commuting to work because if you charge through them you get an automatic wanted rating.

    Oh, and did I mention something about keeping a car you want available? Well, in this game they decided to do away with garages for some reason. You know: the places you used to be able to store vehicles. Now your various pads with have one or two parallel parking spaces out in the middle of the AI-trafficked street and if you park a car there *perfectly* it will be saved. However, if it’s a big car or if the AI traffic knocks it slightly out of place, it will be gone when you reload.

    Possibly the most annoying new “feature” of this series is the dating mini-games. You can hang out with certain people to increase their affection toward you, which reaps you certain benefits, but then ALL of them CONSTANTLY call you to hang out, even if you’re in the middle of a mission getting chased by the cops, or in the middle of commuting to do your next mission, or commuting home from your last mission. Whatever. And if you tell them no, even if it’s your own cousin asking you to go bowling again, though you just went bowling with him two days ago, he will get upset and you’ll lose affection. You can’t tell them no.

    Also, Liberty City is big but incredibly empty. You will not be rewarded for exploring b/c there is simply not much out there. Instead of secret packages to collect, this time around you have to kill special pigeons, which are very frustrating to find even with the help of a guide. I got to about 20 or so before I asked myself why the hell I was doing it, because I wasn’t having any fun.

    Finally, the “story” I keep seeing so many positive reviews refer to is stupid & nonsensical. You’re an illegal alien who begins a career as a professional criminal as soon as you step off the boat. Not much different from any other GTA protagonist aside from not already being a US citizen, right? Except now you’re Borat. AMAZING! There IS NO story! You’re a criminal who makes friends with other criminals throughout the game and then commits criminal acts. *spoiler*

    Furthermore, while there may well be 20 hours’ worth of cutscenes (which tend to go on forever) & dialogue (which also never ends during your mission commutes with NPCs), it seems like it was all written by a 10-year old boy. Penis & fart jokes, characters needlessly dropping f-bombs twice a sentence to be “edgy” (I guess), and all-around lame humor in general that makes you roll your eyes and want to skip through every cutscene you come across. Unless you are a 10-year old boy, in which case I guess you’d be in heaven. Maybe that’s the targeted demographic now?

    But Rockstar will keep making the same game as long as sheep keep buying it. Anyone who wants to see what an improvement in this genre looks like, I’d direct you toward Saints Row the Third. Not the best game ever, but one that is actually, you know, “fun” to play. Something Rockstar left out of GTA4.
    Expand
  39. Oct 24, 2013
    0
    How do you morons like this game. It is gloomy and the cars make walking become fun because they suckkkkkkkk. Give this game to someone obese and they will walk to return it.
  40. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Spectacular game. One of my favorite games in this generation. The amount of freedom in this game is simply astounding...you can literally go anywhere and do anything you can think of. Almost every game has some major limitation that prevents you from doing something, but this game has almost no limitation. You can drive cars, drive motorcycles, drive boats, drive helicopters, jump you car off of ramps, run around on foot, shoot whatever you want, and blow up whatever you want...the fact that you can do all of these things in the same game is very impressive. No other game has so much going on in it, and yet Rockstar made all of these things fun and executed them well. Some games struggle to get one of these things right, yet Rockstar does them all well. Not to mention the city is interesting and full of variety, which makes it a great playground to drive around in...I love that the city has a lot of hills and uneven areas - this allows you to gleefully make your car spin out, jump, roll over, or whatever else you want to do with it...and the awesome car physics give your car a great sense of weight, which makes it so satisfying to watch your car soar through the air and come slamming down as the body wobbles from the impact. The car physics alone make this game worth playing. I actually think GTA's driving feels better and actual racing games. After experiencing this game, I can't see how any other game can be placed in the same league - the sheer amount of stuff crammed into this game just can't be matched. Expand
  41. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is a great game however, it does have its flaws.For example, missions can get repetitive, the online mode does not have a well paced leveling system, and it also makes it very easy for people to spawn camp, although this mainly only happens when the spawn distance is set to near i think that the developers should have made the game so that it can sense when this may be happening and spawn you somewhere else automatically. So to wrap it all up very little is wrong with this game and only has minor problems. Expand
  42. Aug 18, 2010
    7
    While no one can say that Grand Theft Auto IV is a bad game, there's no denying that a lot of what made the series so fun and addictive in the first place is sorely missing from this entry. Tanks, parachutes, planes, push bikes, and inventive cheats are just some of the omissions, which make the fourth main entry in the series feel incredibly diluted in comparison to the previous behemoth, San Andreas. The graphics, gameplay, and story have all been improved upon though, and the incredible Euphoria physics engine makes the game a joy to play. If a future entry brings back the inventiveness of San Andreas, improves the graphics further and implements the Euphoria engine, Rockstar may well have the best game of this generation on their hands. Expand
  43. Oct 28, 2010
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this game right from the day i got it and to this day i still enjoy playing it. The story is very well written and does its best to give players the freedom of choice from time to time. The multi player is good it has a lot of variety to it which makes it very enjoyable for players
  44. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    Despite all the hype, GTA is not the best game released in 2008, nor is it the best Grand Theft Auto available. San Andreas is still much better than IV. GTA IV is still a very good game, but vastly overrated. I had fun with this, but the game got so boring so fast after the storyline is finished, it's not even funny. There's only so many times when you can go to a comedy club and watch Ricky Gervais or Katt Williams recycle the same three acts and over and over again.

    The graphics are fantastic, the cars handle realistically, which I like. Sure, I wrecked the car the first couple of times I tried to drive, but the driving gets easy real fast.

    The shooting is okay, not bad, but not CoD-level. I hate auto-aim in this game, it's just so terrible.

    Overall, this is a really good game, just not as good as the mainstream reviews said it was.
    Expand
  45. Oct 6, 2010
    8
    Technically, GTAIV triumphs. The engine is strong and Liberty City is rich, diverse and alive. However, it's a step down from the previous generation of GTAs in terms of story, gameplay and, most importantly, fun. Niko Bellic bored me; I didn't care about him, I didn't care about his friends, and I didn't care about his enemies. GTAIV suffers from that prevalent yet unworthy trend among games - the quest for realism. Perhaps the physics, story and [most of] the missions are more 'realistic', but parachuting on top of gang leaders and stealing fighter jets is fun, and visually Liberty City appears as though viewed through a scratched, dirty pair of sunglasses. It lacks the cartoonish colour and vibrancy of previous GTA games. Sometimes - in fact, often - realism does not make for a better game. GTAIV is the first in the series that I left half-way through and returned to at a later date. I didn't think much of it at the time, but in hindsight the game obviously didn't pull me in and entertain me.

    Of course, this isn't to say it's not a very good game; rather, it suffers from over-hype and exaggerated critical appraisal which, in light of the accusations leveled at Rockstar over their Red Dead Redemption PR, leaves a fairly bitter taste. Very good game, but it is certainly not anywhere near perfection have some reviews would have you believe. The Saints Row games feel more â
    Expand
  46. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    Not a bad game, but not one to write home about either. Put aside all the hype and the fact that there is a large amount of game play, what is left is a game that is just slightly above average. Unless you are a completest, I would recommend to play just the main storyline. Everything else is just filler meant to suck away you time from better games.
  47. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    Quite simply, the most engrossing Sandbox game available for consoles. It may have lost the hilarity of San Andreas and the style of Vice City, but as a story, it shoves both of the previous two games down a hill. Moving, emotional, funny, sad and with a bitter/sweet ending, this game is definately worth the 25+ hours you can sink into it.
  48. Dec 13, 2010
    8
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is a decent action-sandbox game which on a technological scale is one the best games out there. The graphics are really realistic: Character models are rendered beautifully as well as facial features and the lip-syncing is accurate most of the time. Liberty City looks awesome and the textures of the alleyways, the road and buildings really enhance the realistic feel of the city. The cut scenes have a cinematic feel to them and help you to get sucked into the lengthy and interesting story. The game play is also great just like any Grand Theft Auto game I played and also improved with the introduction of a cover system which makes the combat a lot smoother and easier. The cars handle with a kind of weighty feel which is a good change from the more twitchier and floaty feel of the cars in Saints Row 2. A great feature of this game is that Niko can socialise with other characters. The various characters that you meet while you complete the story mode may - while in free roam - call you up and ask you whether you want to go on an activity with them. These can range from getting food at a diner to playing bowling. Some of these activities such as bowling and playing darts make up for some simple but somewhat enjoyable mini games. The amount of stuff that you can do is mind boggling. Even after you finish the story mode, there are still lots of side missions to do like vigilante missions, taxi missions and much more. The dialog is well written and due to the huge wealth of dialog in the game like general conversations, the dialog doesn't get tedious very quickly. What makes this game a little bit less frustrating than previous Grand Theft Auto games is that if you die or fail a mission, you receive a text message and you have a choice to restart the mission instead of driving (or walking/running) back to the start marker for that mission to try again like previous Grand Theft Auto games. The graphics maybe ultra realistic but at times it can be too dark. For value for money, this game is phenomenal. Even Rockstar North added a neat multiplayer mode to extend the lifespan even more although I wished you could play through the whole story in co-op mode with a friend. The realistic feel and attention to detail will appeal to some gamers but some of the fun has been sucked out because of this. Don't get me wrong, this is a really good, solid sandbox game and probably one of the best games I've played and captures reality really well but this game does take it a bit too seriously like the fact you can have a relationship with a girlfriend and play bowling, darts and even watch TV! This may sound great but come on. It's a lot better to just play bowling, play darts or socialise with actual people in real life. I mean why we would want to do it in a video game I don't know. Doing these activities in real life gets you more involved. The lunacy and humorous atmosphere that Saints Row 2 has just makes it more fun and enjoyable despite its inferior graphics. Saints Row 2 is a game that like I mentioned in the game review for that game, is a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Don't let this put you off Grand Theft Auto 4 though as it is a great sandbox game with great depth to its game play and deserves a place in any gamer's action collection. Expand
  49. Sep 14, 2010
    3
    So um... where should i start. Oh yes Graphs are pretty decent with full hd screen.
    and....... that was probably all the good stuff. OH YES you can drive over people that's fun :D
    OK where should i start. 1. story was not that good you come in and when you think this is the middle of the game BANG the game ends. 2. controls. I know they wanted to make a realistic game but they failed at
    it. running is irritating as **** driving sucks now days and you wont die. like you wont die in 300 Km/h you crash to the wall and.... nothing happens. and that is probably all the main here.... OH YES There is yet another good reason to play GTA 4 after all. When you play it for 20 minutes, you just want to play more and more and more of the older gta games :D Expand
  50. Jan 2, 2011
    8
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is the biggest disapointment in the franchise history. The Good: The controls for driving any vichicle are easy (except for the helicopters). Both weapon and melee combat are satifying as it is esay to pick up and play. The first half of the game story is simply perfect in character devolpment and telling great stories through every character you work for. The variety in this game is unbeliveable because it has minigames from arcade puzzles to racing it makes you wounder if anyone working on this has a life. The cut-scenes are both well done and entertaining even though the second is not great in terms of story. The missions are well made and natural that I forget that it designed in a certain way. The online for this game can be much because the variety in games mode are addicting that it will put any Call of Duty game online to shame. The Bad: The second have of the game story falls flat as every game in the franchise has this problem. The game set up is not but it getting old and will be predictable for anyone who ever this franchise. The city size is smaller and lacks in variety and originality. The grapics as usual are not even close to decent. The lack of weapon variety. Recomendation: If you like a well made game that fun both online and offline this is it. If you like a great story look else where becuase this game doesn`t have that. Expand
  51. Sep 27, 2010
    10
    Ahh, GTA IV....my personal favorite on my small library of games. I think the storyline is surprisingly interesting, with the plot twists and everything. I love the vast expanses of the newly rendered Liberty City. It looks much like NYC, so they have that down pat.
  52. Nov 10, 2010
    5
    This game is the most overrated ever, the gun sounds sound fake, they swear all the time, the game seems a bit goofy, you can hardly enter any buildings and there just isnt much to do. What a bore
  53. Oct 14, 2010
    8
    GTA IV is decent and fun, also more realistic than previous GTA releases. Did it's controversial formula got old or gamers never gonna get bored in killing innocent virtual pedestrians? STORY: Niko Belic is a Serbian illegal emigrant in America who met again with his cousin Roman and wants to start again his life in, the gloriously described by his cousin, Liberty City (New York) where he will soon realise that it isn't exactly as described. Niko will get involved in situations that aren't that legal "kinda smoothly"but that until he gets his hands dirty, afterwards he gets deeper into the crime scene. Niko's story has a lot of variation and "flavors", he will meet new friends (and some old too), new enemies and a lot of wacky personalities. He will get trusted and betrayed, loved and hated and maybe in the heart breaked.

    GAMEPLAY: GTA IV runs on the rails of the previous releases. Niko steals cars, bikes, trucks, choppers etc.He kills innocents with no reason, runs from the cops and gets to work for some not that much of innocent guys. Theres a bunch of cool mission on the basic storyline with drug dealing, car chases, executions and many more which won't let you get bored and will take you about 30 hours to complete. There are also a lot of side missions which can be enter via a PC in an internet cafe, but they get boring soon since the most of them involve stealing and delivering specific vehicles. Another familiar gameplay element are the minigames such as darts, bowling and pool (snooker) and also the options of going on dates, on strip clubs, bars, and banging hookers in your car (no hot coffee). Driving aroun Liberty City is really fun but not flawless, the armory includes a lot of nice weapons and the cover system is pretty good. Of course I have tell you that Nko carries around a mobile phone which won't stop ringing.

    GRAPHICS: Well..... they could be better but they are not bad either. Sure, you will find your self trying to set the display options since brightness and saturatiion need fixing but that's not that much of disturbance. The cars look ok but they could have a bit more textures on them, the bikes on the other hand are nicely done. Framerate is steady but rarely will "tremble" a bit (not much of a serious problem). The huge map of Liberty City is filled with nice skyscrappers and big buildings, the streets look good and especially the most of the alleys. The majority of the main characters are nicelly scrapped with decent facial expressions. but the designs of the overall varation of city's populations lacks in number.

    SOUND: Music didn't draw me in, mostly because its biggest part is heard through a car installed radio with some fake radio stations which always repeat the same playlist of 4-5 tracks for each one of them.
    Though the music in some action scenes is good. The sound effects are there too with the most of the guns sound pretty much the same and pedestrian screams all over the place and the car sounds aren't that much of a treat either. But the real deal in GTA IV's sound design is the voice acting, it is really great. Niko has the appropriet voice and Roman too, the accents are exactly as they should and the acting makes the characters more believable. Another great thing is that in a multi-ethnicity game like this we get to hear the real languages [Serbian, Albanian, Russian, Greek (taxi drivers), Spanish(Mexican) etc.]

    VERDICT: GTA IV is a worth byuing for core-gamers and a must buy for all the GTA fans.
    Sure, it has it's flaws but they all get over-shadowed by the fun gameplay.
    Expand
  54. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Grand Theft Auto Iv this game is very realistic but not that realistic i have got this and have played it twice nearly completed it for a second time but after a bit you do get bored of as you`v played it for long and you know everywhere but something still amaze me such as the quality`s of the cars and how fast they go this game does have very good graphics the graphics are amazing also from start to last the game does impress youv got alot of diffrent choices to choose from as which person to kill first and you get suprises from each of them .The first hand shooting on this game is actally quite amazing but the bad thing is when you aere going so fast in your car the tv will glitch adn freez the glitches on this are quite good as you can go online and you have to go to the secound islnd their is a swing there which if you keep hitting your car at it it flings you so far in the sky .This game would be my secound choice if i had it on a list even though it is good its not that good if you keep playing it and you get use to everything themusic on the game is quite intresting the radio i like is BEATS 87.2 this one has alot of rap on the radio.This game does amaze you some points as i bet you didnt know that you can give tramps money and also you have got alot of challeneges to complete in the game you have to shoot pigions to unlock something also you can ramp off ramps and fly and this will give you suprises i would appreiacte for looking Thanks for looking. Expand
  55. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    Great sandbox game. What makes this game is really the city and how dynamic it feels. The physics are nice and the graphics awesome. Really like the main character too. He is cool. :-D
  56. Nov 16, 2010
    10
    Grab a beer and wonder at the city lights and skylines that ooze of atmosphere. Atmoshere for me is what sets GTA apart from it's wannabees and clones. Just to peruse the city in a taxi is a joy in itself. The virtual world laid out before you is staggering. If the game had no plot and was just a free sprawling city that would be enough for me. Not surprisingly there is a plot and a damned good one. The game has few flaws in my book, the only flaw would be that previous incarnations may have taken a tiny amount of shine off this version , but even then not much. Great fun online and just as good chilling by yourself with a Scotch overlooking the statue of liberty. Expand
  57. Oct 27, 2010
    6
    I bought this game the day it came out. After played the hell out of San Sndreas, how could I now. The graphics blew me away and the opening scene and music is just awesome. Aiming is great and puts the camera right in the action. Problem with the game?
    After a while the missions are just work. Where is all of the fun? Where are the harrier jets, mustang fighter planes, jet packs, 3' long
    **** for weapons, etc...? The best part of San Andreas was the wacky stuff in the game. I havent played the game since the first week. Maybe it gets better, but without a chance of stealing a 777, what's the point.

    Graphics = 10
    Gameplay = 8.5
    FUN = 5
    Expand
  58. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    A perfect game. Liberty city is absolutely beautiful. The story is absorbing. I could not put the controller down. The missions are varied and fewer time limited missions, which was a frustrating factor in previous games is a welcome change. The addition of the other minigames, a friend system, girlfriend system, etc., all contribute to this masterpiece. There are so many good things for this I don't even know what to say. Just buy it and play for yourself. Expand
  59. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    i have loved all of the GTA game sand this is no let down, provides hours of fun whether you follow the story line or go off and cause mayhem in the city..... the multi-player also adds another layer of fun whether your in the mood for a free for all or playing missions......
  60. Dec 7, 2010
    10
    Ive been playing GTA IV for over 20 years now its amazing ive been able to jump off the empire state building only to slide down the pyramids and land in amsterdam there i smoked weed
  61. Dec 16, 2010
    10
    THAT'S IT!THE BEST GTA EVER!Man this game is so good that is the best GTA game and best Xbox 360/PS3 game!This game is really good!No joke!The action BLAZES a lot!The perfect GTA game!
  62. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game with a couple of irritating faults. Firstly, the world of Liberty City is quite drab and bland compared to the likes of San Andreas. In the same vein, the craziness of the series has been reeled in and sacrifices a lot of fun for realism. The game is also FAR too long. It just keeps going and going and going... If you want to see the end of the game, prepare to lose a huge chunk of your life in doing so! But all of these complaints ultimately mean nothing because GTAIV gives you much more good than bad. First and foremost, GTA is still the devil's playground. Want to blow off some steam? Roll a grenade into the hospital waiting room, baseball bat some policemen to death or stab a bunch of homeless people in the central park toilets. It's really sick and twisted but unbelievably hilarious. It's would be shocking if it wasn't so damn silly and glib. The multiplayer (particularly the racing) is also great and has very long legs, with people still playing online to this day. So yeah, There are certainly some quibbles but in the end GTAIV is a fantastic game. Expand
  63. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    Truly the best game I have ever played by a mile.
  64. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Possibly the finest open world game ever created, and easily the best social satire ever concieved. A world were people live and breathe the lives of every one of us. From flipping open cell phones and chatting, going for coffee, having trouble parallel parking, hobo's at the bus stop, GTA4 is the single most immersive game world I have ever seen. Combine a lengthy campaign with a fantastic story, brilliant dialogue, amazing graphics, great music, unthinkable scale (the buildings loom over you as drive through the downtown and its a beauty to behold), and hundreds of hours worth of stuff to do... oh and how about all of that WITH 8 players online? GTA4 is a modern masterpiece. When I first played it in 2008 my jaw was floored. Now in 2011 after playing it all again with the two (also incredible) DLC campaigns, I can say my stance is virtualy unaltered, if not improved. You are not allowed to claim to be a gammer without experiencing GTA4. In my top 3 games of all time. Expand
  65. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    These games just get better and better. Captivating story, great graphics, fun gameplay and some humour. Quite simply the best game around. New York or should i say liberty city is brilliantly realised.
  66. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    i think this is a pretty good game with obviously a few exceptions. first off the graphics are not all that great but when you look at the size of the city you play in and the fact that there are no loading pauses they are actually good and definatly better than past GTA games.the online is compleate garbage unless you have the game filled up with 15 other people but good luck finding others to play with. the story is pretty good in my opinion and people may say it is boring and all you do is kill but there are a variety of missions (albiet not a very wide range) and you will have fun as long as you have a health cheat because some of the missions are just impossible to do if you dont have cheats enabled and you will just get frustrated. besides the story there is the obvious just go on killing rampages which always put a smile on my face but there are also added things that you could do like call up one of the in game friends and go bowling or see a show (the stand up comedy club is so funny it is just a shame that they did not have more to watch) and you can even go on dates although i am not sure what the point of adding that was. i wish they had kept the ambulance and taxi missions but this is still a great game and you should play it at least once especially since it is only $20 brand new and i dont see another GTA coming out in the near future Expand
  67. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    This game is great, but it was my first GTA, and I ended a little disappointed with it, the main reason was that you can do whatever with no action of the police! Just an example: If you cross a red traffic light in front of a police car...nothing happens! these kind of little mistakes prevent me to get involved int the story, which I may say is quite good. So, not an AAA, but a funny game to play.

    My score: 8.0
    Expand
  68. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    San Adreas was a much better game. That being said, this has far better graphics and AI, and it separates itself from the other games by moving in a direction that's different. The map is a bit too small, and there's not many easter eggs... but it's still fun to drive around shooting at stuff and then launching your character out of windshields for hours on end.
  69. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This game is a mindless package of your wildest fantasies of death, destruction, shooting, sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll and fast cars. The 4th generation in the hugely popular Grand Theft Auto franchise sees you as Niko Bellic, an Eastern European immigrant who comes to Liberty City to see his cousin Roman, who is supposedly rich and famous. The truth is that all Roman has is a seedy apartment, a small taxi company and is also thousands of dollars in debt to some unfriendly gangsters. So, typical GTA story; you need to work your way to the top of the ladder but to do so you must complete missions for various mob bosses, drug dealers and corrupt cops. The missions are genuinely fun and each one is perfect length. However, the real star of the show is Liberty City itself. The map is split into about five different islands, the main one being Manhattan or Algonquin as it is known in the game. The city is based off of New York City, and you will see plenty of iconic landmarks such as the Empire State Building, Chrysler Building and even the Statue of Liberty! My one complaint is that the huge size of the map is both a blessing and a curse, because to complete certain missions, you need to drive all the way back to them if you die or get arrested. The gameplay is fast and furious, and you will handle many different weapons throughout. My favorite is the combat shotgun. The cars are good too, and apart from cars you can steal bikes, trucks, police cruisers, ambulances, garbage trucks and even some helicopters are thrown in there, but sadly the BMX from San Andreas does not return. All these cars and open ended gameplay are enough to keep anyone occupied even without doing any missions. Overall, GTA IV is a roller coaster ride that demands your full commitment and it is simply the best action game on the PS3, bar Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  70. May 8, 2011
    9
    Very good open world sandbox game. The story is engaging and so is the lead character. 1 point off for graphics but it still gets a great 9 rating from me.
  71. May 21, 2011
    6
    Why must i forever be fat Niko? Average gameplay, average story, removal of some key things like the gym. Like no aircrafts at all.

    p.s. this 150 minimum words is really quite annoying.
  72. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Rockstar has done it again. This is the best GTA ive played. Also, give Rockstar some credit at least for creating Liberty City. It may not be as big as San Andreas but its big enough.
  73. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    In my opinion this is a masterpiece of a game and is still running in my ps3 thanks to the multiplayer and great gameplay.This game was one of my reasons why I even bought the ps3. Sure the other GTA:s (like Vice City and San Andreas) had more stuff in them but this is the first gta in this generation, so it makes it like GTA 3, which was the first gta of the previous generation (and loved it too). Cant wait for the next GTA. [HATERS GONNA HATE] Expand
  74. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    Take everything you loved about the old GTA games, revamp them with a new engine and you've got GTAIV in a nutshell. Niko is such a surprisingly endearing character and there's always a new host of characters to keep you entertained. Superbly written and paced like a perfect television drama, there's just so much to enjoy about GTAIV.
  75. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best sandbox games ever. Not the best, but one of the best. Grand Theft Auto IV is fun. Just fun. Pure fun. Though sometimes you may get bored, there still is a billion things to do. The city is so alive and the graphics are great, the car damage is one of the best in any sandbox video game. The handling of the cars, I admit, is not so great. They're just so hard to control, they sway left and right and it sometimes it's incredibly frustrating. The other vehicles besides motorbikes are fine, the main problem is the cars and bikes. The characters and kooky and the is a lot of vulgar language but the story and characters are very interesting. The game is flawed, it isn't perfect but there is tonnes of fun to be had in Liberty City. Expand
  76. Oct 15, 2011
    10
    an amazing game which highlights the superiority of the GTA series against other mediocre sandbox games. It improves upon previous GTA'S in every aspect and is a must own.
  77. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This is the first GTA game I've ever played for myself. Other times, I played GTA games at a friend's house and we would do random funny stuff and try escape the cops. I borrowed this game from a friend and I was able to play the story. Man, I enjoyed it. You play as Niko Bellic, a Slavic man who travels to the US in search for a better life. But then he has to confront his past when he was a soldier in the Yugoslav Wars and then you want to see how things turn out. I heard that Niko is the most humane GTA protagonist, and that the protagonists in GTA V are just jerks, but I'd like to see for myself. There's lots to do and hilarious stuff does happen. You should get this game if you haven't already, even if its 6 years old. Stay tuned for my review of GTA V (if I ever should hehe). Expand
  78. Feb 9, 2014
    5
    Great graphics and soundtrack but the driving aspect of the game is average to say the least and the less said the better about 3rd person shooter and melee side. I wouldn't have this down as the greatest game of all time and i think the professional reviewers just get taken over by the hype.
  79. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    I feel like I'm judging the game too high by giving it an 8.
    The game's no where near to perfect. You'll get bored a couple weeks after buying it and only play it to kill random people and run around the city cause the story and campaign consist of the same boring bull crap missions in the previous games. (drive point A to point B.) or (kill this person).
    Overall it was a pretty damn
    good game. Lots of customization options, missions and other things to do which is why the game is so charming,
    However being a dedicated fan of the series, I could no way in hell say it's better than San Andreas.
    Also no way in hell could I ever give this game a perfect 10 or rather a 9 for that matter, but it's still very well worth the $20 or $30 you'll pay for a used copy
    Expand
  80. Aug 25, 2011
    6
    I played this game for a week and feel bad that I didn't give it a second chance or anything. But I kind of wanted to play through the game as like a good, good guy and thought that that was kind of difficult. Like I don't enjoy just going around crashing cars and stuff, which I know is the main appeal of this game for a lot of people. There's really not much to do in the city, or at least the beginning. You can't understand a single word the Jamaican guy(s) say(s) so it's best to turn on subtitles for at least those parts. Driving controls kind of blow as in every. single. Rockstar. game. I did like the different camera options you had when driving. I also liked the cell phone, that was kind of cool. The characters were fairly interesting, I just wasn't really into the story being Niko running errands around for the big dogs. Expand
  81. Dec 31, 2012
    5
    GTA4 has too many issues, too many repetitive missions, and too many downfalls to be considered anything else than over-hyped. The story could have been more addictive, and the missions are either too easy or way-too-hard. There are so few true innovations, and overall it feels like a step backwards, which is a huge disappointment, especially for such masters as Rockstar.
  82. Sep 17, 2011
    4
    compared to the other GTA games this is boring, dull, depressing, and just plain stupid. knowing that rockstar can make amazing games like LA noire, san andreass, and GTA 3 but they have hit rock bottom with this stinker. Rockstar, you dissapoint me.
  83. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    Although GTA IV makes its debut as a "next-gen" title for the PS3 and Xbox 360, it has fell short in terms of visuals and fun gameplay to introduce a more realistic approach to the series. At best, it can be described as a title in its respective series that improves upon the core elements of any sandbox title to a startling degree: story, firefights, driving/walking physics, open-world level design, all of which feel more real and authentic. However the most important element in any sandbox title is replay value. So can you honestly tell me that you enjoy getting calls from your cousin to go bowling? It's not the worst game I've ever played but it's not very memorable either. Expand
  84. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    This game does lots of things well, but I
  85. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    Technically this game is very good. The story is good, the ending of the story is one off the most gripping moments ever. But, why is this game gta? Why has this game an open world? There is nothing do do in the open world, not like in the previous gta games. The gameplay has improved a lot over previous installments but if they focused on the story, made this exact game but more linear and focus more on the gameplay it could've been so much better. Such a big and beautiful world and nothing to do in it. It's a shame. Expand
  86. Mar 10, 2012
    0
    Horrible. Just COMPLETELY HORRIBLE. Who Would Buy This Don't. Just buy It for Xbox. It is MUCH MUCH WAY WAY BETTER. The Version For Xbox 360 Is Completly Better. Im Telling You That Right Now. Get It For Xbox Not PS. Your Just Wasting Your Money If You Buy It For PS. Get it For Xbox 360
  87. Oct 29, 2011
    0
    This game is a piece of **** I bet all of the reviewers were paid to give GTA 4 a 10. "Overrated. Annoying characters, clunky gameplay (did the developers ever try driving a real car?!), did I say annoying characters? So glad I got it second hand and cheap--still a waste of money." I AGREE WITH YOU http://www.metacritic.com/user/ElectricPhase "This game is too repetitive. You go and talk with one man, he want to kill someone. You kill the guy, and ok it's done. The game is always this. Graphics aren't the best, playstation have better graphics to offer. Some crashes around the game made me put this game away, I sold it 5$. Really bad game". ALSO AGREE WITH Horrendously boring. It was fun for like 5 minutes! Just like the rest of the GTA games. The story i found boring and the online is terrible! Worst online expierience ive ever had. Worst 40 quid I have ever spent. Wish I gave this one a pass and just bought MGS4 on its own instead Expand
  88. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Great game.. I think its the best one in the series since San Andreas, the graphics are amazing, the combat is geat , and the game is better than other open world games, i dont know about peole but think its an amazing game.

    PS: i had to give this game a perfect 10 to counter all those trolls one the forums that said they will rate this game 0 , my real score is 9/10
  89. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    GTA IV (along with uncharted 2,3) is by far the best game this gen! I dont why people hat it.. its an AMAZING game, The story and graphics are top-notch... i gave it 10/10
  90. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    GTA has been one of the world's biggest video game franchises, and GTA IV just helped the game get bigger. After i played GTASA i thought Rockstar Games woudn't be able to make a better GTA, well... they proved me wrong, GTA IV is worth all your money and time so if you love video games either your familiar with GTA or this is the first time you buy a video game of this type. YOU WON'T REGRET IT.
  91. Nov 9, 2012
    5
    The biggest problem with the game is the controls. Could they have made driving not feel like a chore? And because they put the cheat system in the phone, its very difficult to access. San Andreas is better because it had more weapons, better controls, and better cheats. San Andreas has a jetpack and flying cars cheats and other great ones. Does GTA 4 have any of this? No.
  92. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I like me some GTA. And this is like... next gen GTA. But that's where the fun stops. I dislike this game the more I play it. Niko is unlikeable. He's too shy, never wants to talk about the plot. Someone will say "Hey, Niko! Why did you come to America?" And he'll respond something like, "I don't want to talk about it." Well, **** Now I'm curious. So the story sucks, the characters are entirely annoying. My favorite was the in-your-face bro, because at least i expected him to be annoying. The NPCs are always bothering you, calling you, talking about stupid stuff. They want to go play mini-games that aren't fun. I don't understand. The gameplay seems to have gone downhill as well. Like, there's a little green line that shows you where to go on the mini-map. It's really helpful if you're, you know, stupid or lazy. I guess people like this one because it has "modern graphics" but I'm not even sure it looks so hot. Motion blur sucks, that's not an opinion. It has a weird grainy quality to it, not a film grain, more like a blurry this-is-the-best-we-could-do quality. Niko leans when he turns, this was the deal breaker for me. Do people tilt back and forth when they walk around corners? I never noticed it before. Seems minor, but you literally have to look at this animation constantly while playing. I'm tired of thinking about this game. Expand
  93. Feb 18, 2012
    6
    Cheesy and boring characters with the same patheitc moral struggles as San Andreas. Mowing down hundreds of pedestrians does not fit with that kind of crap. I need to be mute or a psychopath. Features that got added in every increment since GTA1 have been chopped and you have this barebones gameplay where you can't fly, heavily modify your character, buy properties everywhere etc. etc. Obviously they are setting up the sequels to include these in the hope that it will have the same impact as your first helicopter ride in Vice City. It's an admission that they can't come up with anything new or fresh to add. The cops are way too difficult to shake if you get beyong 3 stars, which is part of the realism but again limits the amount of mass murder you can commit, and makes it more like real life. The cars are not fun to drive, performance is affected too much by crashes and in fact the physics seem less realistic than older games. It feels like tweaking has been done to the handling itself rather than the actual physics to give it an appearance of realism. So do you go for driving simulator or arcade style fun handling? Please pick one and don't half do either style. The music sucks. The story is utterly forgettable, I mean I really didn't care the whole way through. Roman is incredibly annoying, and not funny. Not very much in this game is funny actually. Or fun. Or interesting. Gets 6/10 because it is huge, and better than the alternatives in the same genre. But compared to its predecessors it is way off being a great game. Expand
  94. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Good grafics, great story-telling, great characters, nice drivng physics and the gratest game-city Liberty City, Baby! Negative: drive-by shooting a bit difficult, car-brakes, missions are a bit monoton. All in all for me as an big gta fan, it's one of the best GTA Games. 9/10
  95. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    The Graphics and the fact the GTA 4 is massive is fantastic. However GTA 4 is let down big time on the gameplay. It baffles me that critics can give it such a good score while being aware of this. The story isn't very interesting nor is the character very likeable. The mission are very very repetative, and it's usually the duller ones that are the most frustrating. Wondering around the game doing your own thing is the most fun you'll get out of this game, as the makers don't seem to understand what variation means. It's generally just Drive from A to B, Kill everyone, Drive to C. Expand
  96. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Where should i start, GTA IV is one of the best games i have played in a while, after all it was GTA that turned me into a gamer. Play as Niko Bellic and hlep him confront in problems of loan sharks, the mob, and the cops. GTA IV really makes you feel for your character, you will start to grow on Niko and his family members as you play on, but it doesnt end, GTA IV introduces a new Multiplayer, wreck havoc in Liberty City with your friends online together, there are many modes availabe such as team deathmatch,etc. This game is amazing, Rockstar really nailed it this time, but then again, how often does rockstar fail? Expand
  97. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    An absolutely amazing game. The story is deep, and compelling; on multiple occasions, the game prompts you with a "moral choice", if you will, and in no other game have I been so stumped, and thought so hard on the repercussions of my actions. The characters in this game are also really impressive, each individual expressive, and characterized out the ass (note: this is a good thing). Gun play is responsive and fun, especially since your enemies react to each bullet differently, depending what gun you use, where you shoot them, and where you shot them before. Cars handle hyper-realistically, and when you hit stuff, your vehicle deforms in ways I've never seen in a game.

    Grand Theft Auto IV easily ranks in my top 3 games of all time, sharing the honor with Half-Life and Skyward Sword.

    Bravo, Rockstar; you are an incredibly mature, and intelligent developer, and I can't **** wait for Grand Theft Auto V.
    Expand
  98. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    This game is just a game that will go in the history of gaming. You can keep playing it for years.
    The Quality is high (enough), the missions will keep you busy for more than 20 houres, the story is really great and the free options are endless. Online needs improvement. It beats GTA SA at most points.
    I am already waiting for GTA V. If the V is as good as the IV and the producers do as
    good work as with this game, it will be in my hands the day when it comes out. Expand
  99. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    It was hard to imagine what more could Rockstar deliver after the near-perfect PS2 ''not-trilogy'' of GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas; and the news that Grand Theft Auto IV would return to Liberty City and embrace a more serious style of story and gameplay made many people worry. Well, Rockstar did it once again, and I dare to say this is the best game of the series to date. GTA IV delivers a perfect combination of solid gameplay, compelling story and stunning graphics. Characters are more real and charismatic than ever, to the point where you find yourself saying that the new thieving/murderous protagonist Niko Bellic is a good person. All characters shine, from the most important ones to the ones that give you just a couple of missions; and this is powered up by great dialogue and voice acting. For the first time in the series the city fells alive, and at every turn you find a new, interesting area to explore. For those who expected the crime havoc of the previous installments, a little disappointment will come: GTA IV really is a lot more realistic than its predecessors. But give it a chance, enjoy the great graphics and soundtrack and you will find yourself enjoying this great game in no time. Expand
  100. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    after having so much fun playing vice city stories and liberty city stories gta 4 makes them too look like your average game better graphics more fun and much more graphics and extra realism makes this the best gta ever fact.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]