Grand Theft Auto IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2977 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Joey
    Jun 5, 2008
    8
    This Game is overrated by the press. Of course tt's very good and funny, but the missions are always the same. 100% is ridiculous.
  2. ArashR.
    Jul 25, 2008
    10
    This game had a great story and gameplay, but after it is done there really isn't much to do. You could do the side missions but lets face it they are there just to make getting 100% harder. This game got a 10 because of the online play. It has some issues on the ps3 version but when it works it is one of the best online games ever made.
  3. Anthony
    Aug 1, 2008
    10
    An incredible game, I don't see how you can bash the graphics, they are not great, but have the series graphics always been great, other than that incredible, a must buy.
  4. PranilT
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    The best GTA game ever withe great graphics & more than expectedly good gameplay.
  5. AndyF.
    Aug 30, 2008
    8
    Definitely a strong addition to the series and a quantum leap in terms of city design and visuals. For those of you obessed with framerates et al, perhaps not quite the Crytek-fest you were hoping for, but the open-ended feel of the city more than makes up for this (besides, I think it looks just peachy). The combat is vastly improved (Gears of War has a lot to answer for), and missions Definitely a strong addition to the series and a quantum leap in terms of city design and visuals. For those of you obessed with framerates et al, perhaps not quite the Crytek-fest you were hoping for, but the open-ended feel of the city more than makes up for this (besides, I think it looks just peachy). The combat is vastly improved (Gears of War has a lot to answer for), and missions don't feel as random as before; I actually relished a fire-fight this time, whereas in San Andreas I prepared myself for being hosed down by an enemy I couldn't even target. I can't quite put my finger on it though, but *something* is missing now; some spark of tongue-in-cheek, a hint of cheekiness noticeably absent. Being able to get a taxi anywhere you want removes the tedium of having to drive halfway across the city to pick up your buddy, but isn't driving everywhere what this game is about? I finished the storyline in a few days, and just thought "Oh, is that it?". Though I didn't want to see Nico stealing jet-packs from Area 51 or parachuting onto a dam to blow up generators again, I did sort of miss that vein of silliness, just a little bit. SMile, Rockstar, it's only a game. Expand
  6. AndyE.
    Aug 30, 2008
    10
    At no point did I become bored with this game. The entire engine is fantastic with every single thing thought into it. If you want a chain link fence out of the way, or run down a park bench, or chuck a grenade under a car, the engine is prepared for any instance you can think of. The story is a bit questionable and the framerate was very confusing to me given the sixth-gen graphics At no point did I become bored with this game. The entire engine is fantastic with every single thing thought into it. If you want a chain link fence out of the way, or run down a park bench, or chuck a grenade under a car, the engine is prepared for any instance you can think of. The story is a bit questionable and the framerate was very confusing to me given the sixth-gen graphics instead of seventh-gen graphics, but every other aspect blew me away on this game. I did spend most of the time on multiplayer as that was quite a great inclusion. This was my first GTA game ever, and I'm glad I picked it up. I don't care who you are, if you are 17 or older, this game is beyond manditory. Expand
  7. PierroL.
    Aug 4, 2008
    8
    A very good games but its not so fun as GTA san andreas !!
  8. PaulD.
    Aug 7, 2008
    8
    Of course it's a decent game; the graphical design is top notch for its genre, shooting works great, so does cover and online is awesome. Though still, it doesn't give me that classic overdone GTA feel that you've come to expect after all these years. And then there's all the extras around GTA IV. I have to admit that they are well balanced and worked out, but to be Of course it's a decent game; the graphical design is top notch for its genre, shooting works great, so does cover and online is awesome. Though still, it doesn't give me that classic overdone GTA feel that you've come to expect after all these years. And then there's all the extras around GTA IV. I have to admit that they are well balanced and worked out, but to be honest I'd rather hijack a private jet or tune a car than go bowling with a friend. And I really miss dancing and lowrider challenges from the previous installment, GTA San Andreas. The story was much more compelling and discribing, telling the tale of a man rising up from the ghetto, and making a name through various activities and assignments, whereas GTA IV describes practicly the SAME thing, only slimmed down to fit two endings. Of course, Euphoria is great, and the physics practiced on vehicles is well done too. I hope Rockstar has learned from the mistakes they made with this and previous installments, and that the next GTA will be something in San Andreas, or even better, in Vice City. Expand
  9. Kjell-andersM.
    Aug 9, 2008
    10
    This game is the most realistic game i have ever played or seen before :D
  10. dons
    Oct 7, 2009
    8
    Honestly, the truth is that this game got so many 100s becauuse its a "Grand Theft Auto game". If any other sandbox game was twicw as good, it wouln't get nearly as half perfect scores. Furthemore, the game is really repetitve...its always go and kill this guy, go and kill that guy!!! Although you can enjoy the realism and the variety coz there are a lot of things to do in liberty Honestly, the truth is that this game got so many 100s becauuse its a "Grand Theft Auto game". If any other sandbox game was twicw as good, it wouln't get nearly as half perfect scores. Furthemore, the game is really repetitve...its always go and kill this guy, go and kill that guy!!! Although you can enjoy the realism and the variety coz there are a lot of things to do in liberty city..plus it takes a really long time to complete. Expand
  11. TaylorP.
    Feb 4, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome. The storyline was amazing. Over 50 hours of side missions and has pretty much anything in it. They should have added a few more things though like paying rent or actually using a bank. But who cares about that, games are ment to be fun. So everyone stop complaining if its not realistic enough. All games are ment to be fun!!!
  12. NikeshPatel
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    The main story is fun but the side missions are too hard to start. But overall this game will give you about 40+ hours of gameplay (if you messed around the world). Niko actually has depth which the protagonist of san andreas didn't have. Overall a game that is better than the other gtas.
  13. HeathB.
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    Not as jawdropping as I expected but still a 10 because the story reminds me of my favorite crime movies like Heat. The sheer scope of Liberty City is most welcome as it clearly tells you that indeed, the whole city is a one living and breathing giant playground of anarchy and carnage. Siund is a bit of a problem sometimes as it's hard to hear dialogue in cutscenes. The new combat Not as jawdropping as I expected but still a 10 because the story reminds me of my favorite crime movies like Heat. The sheer scope of Liberty City is most welcome as it clearly tells you that indeed, the whole city is a one living and breathing giant playground of anarchy and carnage. Siund is a bit of a problem sometimes as it's hard to hear dialogue in cutscenes. The new combat system sets an example that future Gears of War-like games should follow as well as for the action genre itself. Wish the hand to hand combat levels with Niko's badass standard though. Expand
  14. AnonymousMC
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    I don't know why people have to bash on this game. Can't you guys accept a game which deserves the high scores it gets? Totally loved this game. Bought a PS3 just for this game and I have to say I'm not disappointed. Repetetive? No. What do you think Rockstar should do? They can't come up with new types of crime all of a sudden! Every mission is awesome. When theI don't know why people have to bash on this game. Can't you guys accept a game which deserves the high scores it gets? Totally loved this game. Bought a PS3 just for this game and I have to say I'm not disappointed. Repetetive? No. What do you think Rockstar should do? They can't come up with new types of crime all of a sudden! Every mission is awesome. When the credits started rolling after the last mission I got goosebumps. Such an epic game. And the multiplayer is great too, it will keep me busy for a while. Expand
  15. WilliamS
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    I love this game and can't find a fault, a great storyline, good missions although people may find it repetitive i think every mission is unique in its own way. Trophy system works well to keep people playing.
  16. Si
    May 1, 2010
    8
    There is no denying GTA4 is an awesome game, well worth playing and contains a lot of gameplay to boot. Visually its great and the entire city is amazing in its detail. The missions are plentyful if not a bit of just the same old thing. Unfortunately what is otherwise an amazing game is let down by some absolutely awful driving controls. Considering this is primarily a game which revolves There is no denying GTA4 is an awesome game, well worth playing and contains a lot of gameplay to boot. Visually its great and the entire city is amazing in its detail. The missions are plentyful if not a bit of just the same old thing. Unfortunately what is otherwise an amazing game is let down by some absolutely awful driving controls. Considering this is primarily a game which revolves around driving, its mind blowing how badly the cars drive and the irrotating camera angles used when driving. Its made 100 times worse when driving a motorbike, and attempting to use a helicoptor is beyond belief!! This then bleeds into certain missions which require you to chase people down in cars, or on bike/mo-ped and its beyond frustrating. Those can be a nightmare. Then we have the issue of Missions... if you fail one, you have to restart the ENTIRE thing again from where you begin. Meaning you have to once again find a car, drive to another location (which may be a long distance off) then begin the actual mission. And if you loose your health or your bullet proof vest, you also have to eat and buy a new one, and new ammo BEFORE doing all of that. It would have been better if it respawned you nearer to where the action starts in the mission, and with all the health, ammo and armor you had at that pointt. But instead your health is down, your armor gone and you have to travel there AGAIN. It can cause a lot of shouting and screaming at the TV. But aside from those two big issues... its a great game. Expand
  17. JoHunter
    Oct 21, 2008
    9
    I love the visuals and the sound effects. I followed and played every 3-D GTA game ever made, Gta3 blew my mind, Vice city blew Gta 3 away and San andreas changed gaming forever. GTA 4 is a great game but the DRIVING MECHANICS ARE REALLY FRUSTRATING, its too realistic. The cars, trucks and bikes spin outta control 2 easy it reminds me of that old British game "The Getaway" when it comes toI love the visuals and the sound effects. I followed and played every 3-D GTA game ever made, Gta3 blew my mind, Vice city blew Gta 3 away and San andreas changed gaming forever. GTA 4 is a great game but the DRIVING MECHANICS ARE REALLY FRUSTRATING, its too realistic. The cars, trucks and bikes spin outta control 2 easy it reminds me of that old British game "The Getaway" when it comes to driving. the missions get a little monotonous, now don't get me wrong I'll probably never get tired of chasing people down and smoking them, but if in almost every mission u have to engage in a high speed chase and kill your target, they could made the vehicles a little easier to maneuver that's my only beef. The targeting still isn't perfect but it got a lot better
    as far as sandbox style games GO Gta4 is 2nd none. love the story and the feel. it'll be a while before another title tops this one (maybe Godfather 2 ? we'll see) Great Game worth playin all day.
    Expand
  18. JamesK.
    Apr 27, 2008
    10
    Best Game Ever
  19. TomppaW.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    One of the best GTA games to date, if not the best. Also definitely the best videogame of this generation!
  20. FrankS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Great game with only a few minor flaws.
  21. TonyG.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Greatest game I've ever played its better than Halo 3. PERIOD.
  22. AlexB.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    The plot was interesting I thought, i cared more about this character than the other GTA characters. The graphics are not the same as you would find shooter with a linear path that you are supposed to follow, but that is to be expected. The game really shines when you get into the relationships with other characters and the feeling that the world is real. It's much more immersive The plot was interesting I thought, i cared more about this character than the other GTA characters. The graphics are not the same as you would find shooter with a linear path that you are supposed to follow, but that is to be expected. The game really shines when you get into the relationships with other characters and the feeling that the world is real. It's much more immersive than previous GTAs, even the people on the street. The way they react to situations is much more realistic, stopping getting out of their car, going around you if you stopped as a few examples. The vehicle controls, to me at least, are great. They represent the control of each individual car and what it's capable of. Overall, this was probably one of the best games i've purchased for my PS3 and will remain in my system for a very long time. The replay value is enormous, with different dialogue even for each mission if you replay it. Expand
  23. Herbuin
    May 12, 2008
    10
    Superb graphics, twisted stories, fun environments, control easy to use. A must have, the best GTA of the series. Very addictive.
  24. DanG-ham
    May 12, 2008
    10
    best game I have ever played graphics are awesome story line is great. I have this game and I strongly recommend it.
  25. JasonH.
    May 15, 2008
    10
    Sure, another 10, who'd have thunk it. After recently completing the SP story and spending a good chunk of time in the MP, I truly think this game deserves it. Let's face it, it isn't without flaws, but at this stage in the game GTA4 is THE MOST IMPORTANT game right now. Halo3, Bioshock, CoD4... they've all had they're day in the sun, but its time for the old Sure, another 10, who'd have thunk it. After recently completing the SP story and spending a good chunk of time in the MP, I truly think this game deserves it. Let's face it, it isn't without flaws, but at this stage in the game GTA4 is THE MOST IMPORTANT game right now. Halo3, Bioshock, CoD4... they've all had they're day in the sun, but its time for the old kings to recognize the new ruler. There will always be haters out there, citing everything from "more of the same" to "the cars are too hard to drive". I think gamers indeed wanted more of the same, thats why they bought a sequel (you didn't see the "IV" on the box?) and if you have problems taking corners at 75 mph, i suggest you try it in real life and get back to me. Good game, great buy and its worth ten times its weight in entertainment value. Expand
  26. ScottD.
    May 19, 2008
    8
    GTA3 on steroids. They made some improvements on a great game, but the bar was high and they didn't raise it much. It's a must buy, but nothing mind blowing.
  27. JN
    May 19, 2008
    8
    Nice game. Online is a welcome addition. The plot is good and no more rewards for senseless violence like the older versions (apart from the once required by the missions).
  28. JitoM.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Your going to need "Hot Coffee" because this game will keep you sleep deprived for weeks. 10 outta 10 breda !!!!
  29. DanielH.
    May 21, 2008
    10
    It has been the best game I have played on and it looks really good on blue ray disc. Then a normal crappy Xbox disc.
  30. ArthurP.
    May 21, 2008
    9
    Not a revolution, but rather a delivered promise of a refined formula that reveals detail like no other game has. GTA 4 is not without its flaws, but none of them are able to take the spotlight away from the experience as a whole. Special attention goes to the context of the narrative and gameplay that have sobered up since the series' latest title.
  31. TylerG.
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Astounding in every respect, this is the complete and total GTA experience with online muiliplayer. There isn't a game out there and that can match the sheer quality (or quantity) that GTA IV offers. For anyone who likes games or hates Jack Thompson, buy this game immediately.
  32. ChrisW.
    May 24, 2008
    10
    Too good to be true. though it may be missing a few things that were crammed into San Andreas, it gives you the feeling that you are so much apart of its environment. Bloody awesome.
  33. TonyHaze
    May 25, 2008
    8
    Overall amazing reproduction of a modern metropolis. The city doenst feel like a CGI playground, as much as it feels like a city that Breathes....my complaints are minor, the graphics are not consistent sometimes, especially in cut scenes or in people's stores, apartments, etc, and the resolution was horrible...too many jaggies. but hey its a great game regardeless
  34. JakeM.
    May 26, 2008
    10
    A great all around game, but I was a little disappointed with the lack of ability to enter most buildings.
  35. JC
    May 26, 2008
    10
    Amazing game. Missing a few little things such as bycicles and stuff, but its still worth the 10.
  36. NateD.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Fun, good graphics, great soundtrack, I love how much is going on around you, Like the city is alive.
  37. KitF.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    It's nice to see how the series has finally matured a bit. The camera could be a little higher whilst driving, there could be a few more weapons, and their's a few load issues, otherwise, I have yet to find fault with the game. I'm not a Grand Theft Auto fan in the least, but this story held me captivated, and the online multiplayer kept me having fun. Definitely a must-buy It's nice to see how the series has finally matured a bit. The camera could be a little higher whilst driving, there could be a few more weapons, and their's a few load issues, otherwise, I have yet to find fault with the game. I'm not a Grand Theft Auto fan in the least, but this story held me captivated, and the online multiplayer kept me having fun. Definitely a must-buy for anyone who liked the previous- For that matter, I'd recommend this to anyone who liked the Sopranos as well. Expand
  38. NeinW.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Been a gamer since the Atari days.. this is by far the best, most complete video game I've ever played.
  39. FranciscoM.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    It's a wonderful game with a very good story.
  40. ThomasD.
    May 8, 2008
    10
    The First Great Game To Come Out For The PS3... Its About TIme.
  41. BenT.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    You know the saying you can't please everybody. Rockstar must be wondering what they did wrong, because nearly all the reviews on the internet I've read have missed the point. The gameplay is leaps ahead of SA, the graphics are good, not perfect, but good enough that you find yourself immersed in the city. Most of all, the detail in the game makes it worthy of a 10, and the You know the saying you can't please everybody. Rockstar must be wondering what they did wrong, because nearly all the reviews on the internet I've read have missed the point. The gameplay is leaps ahead of SA, the graphics are good, not perfect, but good enough that you find yourself immersed in the city. Most of all, the detail in the game makes it worthy of a 10, and the missions can be truly inventive on some occasions allowing you, in some, to approach it in different ways. Expand
  42. TonLoc
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    So so game... better than the X360 version.
  43. ChrisO.
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    It doesn't seem like that big of a leap over the other GTAs, but why reinvent the wheel?
  44. MalcolmJ.
    Jun 22, 2008
    8
    Quite honestly not all that different from previous GTA's but the graphics were better and the plot was very good. Missed the country drives of San Andreas and the various side-missions but on the whole still a very good game although I wouldn't say mind-blowing.
  45. VortexTrickster
    Jun 24, 2008
    8
    TOOOOOTALY overrated. but still awesome and must-to-play!
  46. AlanK.
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    I would give this game 9.5 This game is great after completing it once and then getting halfway through it again (MGS4 had to be played) I will go back and complete this again, this time around altering my decisions where you let people live or die. Totally makes you want to go back and either kill them again or let them live. I am glad they got rid of the stuff like the gym and the I would give this game 9.5 This game is great after completing it once and then getting halfway through it again (MGS4 had to be played) I will go back and complete this again, this time around altering my decisions where you let people live or die. Totally makes you want to go back and either kill them again or let them live. I am glad they got rid of the stuff like the gym and the swimming, who wants to spend 90 minutes of gameplaying time to build up your underwater swimming abilities. Graphically it is great, the audio once again is a great choice. Driving the cars takes some time getting used to it but it has been made more realistic. The fighting felt to me a bit loose but who buys this game to get into fistfights ? Once again Rockstar have proven themselves to be at the top of the pile. Already looking forward to the next installment wherever or whenever it may be set. Expand
  47. Smq
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    Not as good as San Andreas or vice city because its too realistic, the storyline is also quite dull which is why i can believe why I don't wanna play it again.
  48. JoeS.
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    This game is so realistic and life-like. Great work
  49. SimonV.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    There were too many expectations , and the game is as we can see the best game ever for PS3 and Xbox360 with fantastic graphics, great story, great sound. We may even say that this is the most original game of the GTA series and that completely turns around this series. Is a different game comparing with San Andreas, and inovates in very things, so this game is exacly waht the fans were There were too many expectations , and the game is as we can see the best game ever for PS3 and Xbox360 with fantastic graphics, great story, great sound. We may even say that this is the most original game of the GTA series and that completely turns around this series. Is a different game comparing with San Andreas, and inovates in very things, so this game is exacly waht the fans were expecting. Expand
  50. JonathanL.
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    A gripping experience and the most immersive of the series, but lacks long-term replay value. One of the highest value games on the market with a terrific storyline which puts you in the seat of a gangster in a movie-like experience. The removal of many options that were introduced in previous games of the series holds this game back, and the sketchy multi-player hurts the experience in A gripping experience and the most immersive of the series, but lacks long-term replay value. One of the highest value games on the market with a terrific storyline which puts you in the seat of a gangster in a movie-like experience. The removal of many options that were introduced in previous games of the series holds this game back, and the sketchy multi-player hurts the experience in the long run. A marvelous game with only a short lifespan. Expand
  51. GregP
    Aug 10, 2008
    8
    It certainly is a great game, but it doesn't wow you like the others did. GTA3 blew me and everyone I know away, Vice was only babysteps above 3 in gameplay and presentation, but had a pretty stellar story line and added a fair few new features we all wanted from 3. San Andreas was leaps and bounds above those two, in regards to the sheer amount of activities and cool characters. 4 It certainly is a great game, but it doesn't wow you like the others did. GTA3 blew me and everyone I know away, Vice was only babysteps above 3 in gameplay and presentation, but had a pretty stellar story line and added a fair few new features we all wanted from 3. San Andreas was leaps and bounds above those two, in regards to the sheer amount of activities and cool characters. 4 is good, but I can't help but feel that everything new it brings to the table, they should have gone that 1 step further. The sheer number of radio stations is brilliant, but none of them have as much depth as the smaller number in the previous titles. The friends system is brilliant, but you run out of activities to do with them all pretty quickly and it becomes a chore. The stand up is hilarious, but it doesn't take many visits to exhaust it all. The tv stations are great fun, but only 2 means you'll burn through it all pretty quickly. Multiplayer is great fun though and a very welcome addition. I don't mind the step up in realism, I prefer it. It's what made San Andreas so far ahead of the others. It also makes police chases so much more intense when your vehicle handles and damages realistically. I would 100% recommend buying the game, but don't be too worried about waiting until November for the PC release. If you want it for a console, I recommend the x360 version over the PS3 version because with the x360's better triggers, aiming is quite a bit easier. Ultimately though if you have both consoles, or are looking to buy a console, get it for whatever system your friends have, as bashing around with a group of mates online is fantastic fun. Expand
  52. James
    Sep 1, 2008
    8
    Both 360 and ps3 versions are good. i gave a 8 to the ps3 version because the 360 will have exclusive downloadable content. i highly recomend 360 version, but i can see that the ps3 version is less laggy.
  53. schlittmehr
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    Solid game, definately the deepest and most entertaining of all the gta series, the increase in graphics to the ps3 level understandably helps, but the gameplay is very good overall, and several of the new features are awesome.
  54. ThorL
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    Brilliant story, great characters, good looks and did I mention the story? Well, it's not perfect though(who is?) the multi player is a down, the physics some times goes on vacation, and the police could be trying a bit harder(which criminal that have murdered 150 cops would get away with it?). besides those downs though, GTA IV dose deliver and for those of us(at least me) who Brilliant story, great characters, good looks and did I mention the story? Well, it's not perfect though(who is?) the multi player is a down, the physics some times goes on vacation, and the police could be trying a bit harder(which criminal that have murdered 150 cops would get away with it?). besides those downs though, GTA IV dose deliver and for those of us(at least me) who played GTA 3, will remember many of the spots around Liberty City. I personally liked the story because it was very involving, and dose have some nice touches that makes one think that the story could be real(though we all know it isn't, right?). One thing I do miss from the previous GTAs are the ability to fly, yes I know LC is small, but seriously, even GTA 3 had the Dodo! on the pc version graphics is also a little down, the shadows are all dithered, which is annoying and it looks bad, and there is a bit of over-use of shaders here and there. I'd say this game is high up on some of the best games of all times, but it haves it issues, but they don't ruin the game, they are just a tiny bit annoying Expand
  55. DavidA
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    A fantastic game that delivers on every level. The amount of replay value is amazing. This game should belong in any PS3 ownerls library. A true must own.
  56. IanG
    Feb 2, 2009
    8
    An accurate rating for this game would be between the intervals of 80 - 90%. This is for several basic and complex reasons. The graphics represent reality well. Actions and simulated actions such as driving follow more realistic coding which allows for accurate motions and sensitivity applications during game play. Moreover, the story and sub-stories in this epic mid-genre action An accurate rating for this game would be between the intervals of 80 - 90%. This is for several basic and complex reasons. The graphics represent reality well. Actions and simulated actions such as driving follow more realistic coding which allows for accurate motions and sensitivity applications during game play. Moreover, the story and sub-stories in this epic mid-genre action first-person become critical in the game's score and level of sophistication. Overall, smooth design and online capabilities...far superior to any other GTA titles?! Excellent and fun to abuse title with endless potential for dirty imaginations. Expand
  57. SuleimanM.
    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    While not nearly as superior as it is acclaimed to be, GTA IV is a solid title nonetheless. If you go into it forgetting the hype, you'll emerge from the experience quite satisfied. With a riveting storyline, an enjoyable single player campaign, and a multiplayer mode to lean back on once the single player portion is complete, you can't go wrong with GTA IV. Also, I While not nearly as superior as it is acclaimed to be, GTA IV is a solid title nonetheless. If you go into it forgetting the hype, you'll emerge from the experience quite satisfied. With a riveting storyline, an enjoyable single player campaign, and a multiplayer mode to lean back on once the single player portion is complete, you can't go wrong with GTA IV. Also, I couldn't ignore the comment below me. Sean, if you're going to voice your opinion on certain aspects of the game, attempt to maintain a spoiler free review. Upon reading his poor review, I noticed an important aspect to the alternate ending in the game. Moreover, a 0? Absolutely retarded. Expand
  58. BrentA.
    Aug 13, 2009
    8
    This game IS good but it does NOT deserve all of these 100's. These reviews were based off of hype. The game is very fun, but it lacks the replayability of other GTA's. It seems like you do the same missions over and over. You go to a blip on the map, talk to a drug dealer, drive to another blip, kill a few people, get the cops off of you, rinse, and repeat. The multiplayer was This game IS good but it does NOT deserve all of these 100's. These reviews were based off of hype. The game is very fun, but it lacks the replayability of other GTA's. It seems like you do the same missions over and over. You go to a blip on the map, talk to a drug dealer, drive to another blip, kill a few people, get the cops off of you, rinse, and repeat. The multiplayer was the worst part for me though. Free play with friends is really fun but every other game mode is bad IMO. Go do yourself a favor and buy inFamous. Expand
  59. EoinF.
    Jan 19, 2010
    10
    Gripping Story, fantastic realistic gameplay and a living environment really does make GTA IV the best free world game out there. Now to those people who say its bad because it's not like the old GTAs, I'm sorry but we're not all 10 year olds who want boom boom kapowy games, we want a game that, in my opinion, IS the video game equivelant of The Godfather, it's just Gripping Story, fantastic realistic gameplay and a living environment really does make GTA IV the best free world game out there. Now to those people who say its bad because it's not like the old GTAs, I'm sorry but we're not all 10 year olds who want boom boom kapowy games, we want a game that, in my opinion, IS the video game equivelant of The Godfather, it's just pure video game excellence. Expand
  60. LiamH.
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    If I was able to give a percentage for this game, it would be around 92%. Not wanting to repeat common threads of debate i.e. most overrate/best game of all time? I want to submit some points of observation and possible debate: - Firstly, many reviewers (edge in particular) talk about 10 being a summation of a game being of revolutionary status. They highlight how it is the basis from If I was able to give a percentage for this game, it would be around 92%. Not wanting to repeat common threads of debate i.e. most overrate/best game of all time? I want to submit some points of observation and possible debate: - Firstly, many reviewers (edge in particular) talk about 10 being a summation of a game being of revolutionary status. They highlight how it is the basis from which other titles of its genre or type are compared, or a point at which a new direction or scope of possibility is achieived. Personally, GTA III is when this mark was reached, not GTA IV. Secondly- Whilst GTA IV offers a world of pure magical realism, geniune brilliance and relentless sophistication in its scope you cannot deny it's limitations. In terms of gameplay, the repetitive mission structure makes it difficult to sit down and do more than 4- 5 missions at any one time. The missions themselves generally fit the same basic structure. Go to point A, drive to point B and kill someone, drive to point C, collect cash. The side missions are not incorporated but instead become a hindrence and general thumbs down annoyance (sorry packie!) after the first carbaret or game of pool. A game bound by a mission based story development like GTA IV must account for it as an essential part of it's overall rating. It should not be dismissed simply because of the vastness of the world we are given to experience. For example, Oblivion achieves this is a much better way for me. GTA IV is without question a phenomenal game and I praise Rockstar for such an ambitious and daring achievement. But I hope it doesn't win game of the year. That prise has to go to Little Big Planet. Cheers now. Expand
  61. MichaelGuccione
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    When I first started playing this game, I was overwhelmed by how great the gameplay was and the story line. I was hooked. The graphics are in no way the best in a game, but destructions, explosions, and bullet holes make this game that much more intense. What makes this game truly shine is the story. The voice acting is some of the best I have ever heard in a game, ever. The online mode,When I first started playing this game, I was overwhelmed by how great the gameplay was and the story line. I was hooked. The graphics are in no way the best in a game, but destructions, explosions, and bullet holes make this game that much more intense. What makes this game truly shine is the story. The voice acting is some of the best I have ever heard in a game, ever. The online mode, although not the best, is great addition to an already great game. After I beat the game and had played the online mode numerous times, I felt as if there was something missing in this game compared to San Andreas. It was the lack of variety in guns, aircraft, and things to do. It kind of felt a little repetitive and it seemed like there wasn't that much to do after you realize the story is over. For that reason alone, I gave this game a 9. I still consider this to be a great game, one of the best of this generation, but I still thing it was a little overrated. Expand
  62. AndyP.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    The engine and physics are great. Banter between the characters is fun, even changing the next time you play the mission. The story is strong and if you fail to laugh at some part of this game then I
  63. MattA.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Overall, the game is just about the closest thing I've yet experienced to a 'perfectly' virtual reality. I have some minor gripes with some of the controls, but they seem to be a staple of the way Rockstar produces the GTA games. In all, this is totally a win for the video game fan; the game ups the ante of what can and should be expected for adults on their next-gen consoles.
  64. [Anonymous]
    Apr 29, 2008
    8
    This is and example of how flawed Humanity is: Reviewers, throwing away 10/10'slike they were 5 cent coins (AUD) and because Rockstar advitised so thoroughly the Lead Developer personally gave head to each reviewer. AlsoFollowing in Halo 3's footsteps, all the reviews are full of Bias*. NO game is 100% NO GAME. Perfection is only a concept. 100/100 is a prime example of how the This is and example of how flawed Humanity is: Reviewers, throwing away 10/10'slike they were 5 cent coins (AUD) and because Rockstar advitised so thoroughly the Lead Developer personally gave head to each reviewer. AlsoFollowing in Halo 3's footsteps, all the reviews are full of Bias*. NO game is 100% NO GAME. Perfection is only a concept. 100/100 is a prime example of how the bandwagon rules and the bias it spews forth. However this game is definately one of the best, But it is not perfect and until everyone grows to realise that maybe reviews with balance will show themselves. *Admittely, not all of the reviews are biased, just anything over a 85 is. Halo 3 brought nothing to anything, it may have good multiplayer but its definately not as great as its made out to be. Expand
  65. MichaelF.
    May 12, 2008
    9
    9.89 Score from me. One of the best games I've ever played. However, some issues with npc AI especially when in vehicles could be more precise (ie cars too often rear ending each other at stop lights and intersections.) Overall amazing story graphics and gameplay.
  66. JonahN.
    May 13, 2008
    10
    Excellent game. LC is a spot on representation of NYC. The streets are alive and bustling with people. It is very immersing. The gameplay works much better than in past GTAs, as targeting now isn't a hassle. Love the storyline. Great game, worth every penny.
  67. MrMyagi
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    I think I got suckered into the hype media machine. Apart from an upgrade in graphics it's the same old stuff as 1, 2 & 3. Which means if you're willing to take a call at place A and then move to place B, grab a vehicle, run people over, escape a cop, again and again then it's great. Personally the monotony set in. It's good but I still haven't completed, unlike I think I got suckered into the hype media machine. Apart from an upgrade in graphics it's the same old stuff as 1, 2 & 3. Which means if you're willing to take a call at place A and then move to place B, grab a vehicle, run people over, escape a cop, again and again then it's great. Personally the monotony set in. It's good but I still haven't completed, unlike COD4, Uncharted, Gears of War, etc. No game deserves 100% unless a majority of people are willing to complete a game. Expand
  68. AlanZ.
    Jun 17, 2008
    8
    Good story, graphics, and gameplay. Definitely worth buying.
  69. DeonM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    This is a great game and will keep everybody busy for quite a while, but with the ps3`s power and potential they could've done a lot more. A lot of the mini games and customization that we had in San Andreas was also taken away which was a letdown. Brilliant nonetheless
  70. ChristianV
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    This game is incredible. Possibly the best video game I have ever played. Can't wait for GTA 5
  71. RyanL
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    This is truly a masterpiece, Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any of its predecessors such as GTA: San Andreas. The graphics are amazing, it really takes you into the game. The campaign is very long and will definitely keep you hooked from start to finish! Multiplayer is ok, theres no real problems its just that I dont want to be playing countless hours to get to the last level. Its all This is truly a masterpiece, Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any of its predecessors such as GTA: San Andreas. The graphics are amazing, it really takes you into the game. The campaign is very long and will definitely keep you hooked from start to finish! Multiplayer is ok, theres no real problems its just that I dont want to be playing countless hours to get to the last level. Its all about the singleplayer here. One thing is though that there are not enough guns! I loved San Andreas because of your weapon arsenal! Heatseeking rocket launchers, harriers, they had it all! I really wish that exclusive DLC for the xbox (eg Ballad of Gay Tony) came to the PS3 because it really looks like San Andreas mixed with GTA IV!! Expand
  72. Dec 13, 2010
    8
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is a decent action-sandbox game which on a technological scale is one the best games out there. The graphics are really realistic: Character models are rendered beautifully as well as facial features and the lip-syncing is accurate most of the time. Liberty City looks awesome and the textures of the alleyways, the road and buildings really enhance the realistic feel ofGrand Theft Auto 4 is a decent action-sandbox game which on a technological scale is one the best games out there. The graphics are really realistic: Character models are rendered beautifully as well as facial features and the lip-syncing is accurate most of the time. Liberty City looks awesome and the textures of the alleyways, the road and buildings really enhance the realistic feel of the city. The cut scenes have a cinematic feel to them and help you to get sucked into the lengthy and interesting story. The game play is also great just like any Grand Theft Auto game I played and also improved with the introduction of a cover system which makes the combat a lot smoother and easier. The cars handle with a kind of weighty feel which is a good change from the more twitchier and floaty feel of the cars in Saints Row 2. A great feature of this game is that Niko can socialise with other characters. The various characters that you meet while you complete the story mode may - while in free roam - call you up and ask you whether you want to go on an activity with them. These can range from getting food at a diner to playing bowling. Some of these activities such as bowling and playing darts make up for some simple but somewhat enjoyable mini games. The amount of stuff that you can do is mind boggling. Even after you finish the story mode, there are still lots of side missions to do like vigilante missions, taxi missions and much more. The dialog is well written and due to the huge wealth of dialog in the game like general conversations, the dialog doesn't get tedious very quickly. What makes this game a little bit less frustrating than previous Grand Theft Auto games is that if you die or fail a mission, you receive a text message and you have a choice to restart the mission instead of driving (or walking/running) back to the start marker for that mission to try again like previous Grand Theft Auto games. The graphics maybe ultra realistic but at times it can be too dark. For value for money, this game is phenomenal. Even Rockstar North added a neat multiplayer mode to extend the lifespan even more although I wished you could play through the whole story in co-op mode with a friend. The realistic feel and attention to detail will appeal to some gamers but some of the fun has been sucked out because of this. Don't get me wrong, this is a really good, solid sandbox game and probably one of the best games I've played and captures reality really well but this game does take it a bit too seriously like the fact you can have a relationship with a girlfriend and play bowling, darts and even watch TV! This may sound great but come on. It's a lot better to just play bowling, play darts or socialise with actual people in real life. I mean why we would want to do it in a video game I don't know. Doing these activities in real life gets you more involved. The lunacy and humorous atmosphere that Saints Row 2 has just makes it more fun and enjoyable despite its inferior graphics. Saints Row 2 is a game that like I mentioned in the game review for that game, is a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. Don't let this put you off Grand Theft Auto 4 though as it is a great sandbox game with great depth to its game play and deserves a place in any gamer's action collection. Expand
  73. Jan 2, 2011
    8
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is the biggest disapointment in the franchise history. The Good: The controls for driving any vichicle are easy (except for the helicopters). Both weapon and melee combat are satifying as it is esay to pick up and play. The first half of the game story is simply perfect in character devolpment and telling great stories through every character you work for. The variety inGrand Theft Auto 4 is the biggest disapointment in the franchise history. The Good: The controls for driving any vichicle are easy (except for the helicopters). Both weapon and melee combat are satifying as it is esay to pick up and play. The first half of the game story is simply perfect in character devolpment and telling great stories through every character you work for. The variety in this game is unbeliveable because it has minigames from arcade puzzles to racing it makes you wounder if anyone working on this has a life. The cut-scenes are both well done and entertaining even though the second is not great in terms of story. The missions are well made and natural that I forget that it designed in a certain way. The online for this game can be much because the variety in games mode are addicting that it will put any Call of Duty game online to shame. The Bad: The second have of the game story falls flat as every game in the franchise has this problem. The game set up is not but it getting old and will be predictable for anyone who ever this franchise. The city size is smaller and lacks in variety and originality. The grapics as usual are not even close to decent. The lack of weapon variety. Recomendation: If you like a well made game that fun both online and offline this is it. If you like a great story look else where becuase this game doesn`t have that. Expand
  74. Oct 14, 2010
    8
    GTA IV is decent and fun, also more realistic than previous GTA releases. Did it's controversial formula got old or gamers never gonna get bored in killing innocent virtual pedestrians? STORY: Niko Belic is a Serbian illegal emigrant in America who met again with his cousin Roman and wants to start again his life in, the gloriously described by his cousin, Liberty City (New York) whereGTA IV is decent and fun, also more realistic than previous GTA releases. Did it's controversial formula got old or gamers never gonna get bored in killing innocent virtual pedestrians? STORY: Niko Belic is a Serbian illegal emigrant in America who met again with his cousin Roman and wants to start again his life in, the gloriously described by his cousin, Liberty City (New York) where he will soon realise that it isn't exactly as described. Niko will get involved in situations that aren't that legal "kinda smoothly"but that until he gets his hands dirty, afterwards he gets deeper into the crime scene. Niko's story has a lot of variation and "flavors", he will meet new friends (and some old too), new enemies and a lot of wacky personalities. He will get trusted and betrayed, loved and hated and maybe in the heart breaked.

    GAMEPLAY: GTA IV runs on the rails of the previous releases. Niko steals cars, bikes, trucks, choppers etc.He kills innocents with no reason, runs from the cops and gets to work for some not that much of innocent guys. Theres a bunch of cool mission on the basic storyline with drug dealing, car chases, executions and many more which won't let you get bored and will take you about 30 hours to complete. There are also a lot of side missions which can be enter via a PC in an internet cafe, but they get boring soon since the most of them involve stealing and delivering specific vehicles. Another familiar gameplay element are the minigames such as darts, bowling and pool (snooker) and also the options of going on dates, on strip clubs, bars, and banging hookers in your car (no hot coffee). Driving aroun Liberty City is really fun but not flawless, the armory includes a lot of nice weapons and the cover system is pretty good. Of course I have tell you that Nko carries around a mobile phone which won't stop ringing.

    GRAPHICS: Well..... they could be better but they are not bad either. Sure, you will find your self trying to set the display options since brightness and saturatiion need fixing but that's not that much of disturbance. The cars look ok but they could have a bit more textures on them, the bikes on the other hand are nicely done. Framerate is steady but rarely will "tremble" a bit (not much of a serious problem). The huge map of Liberty City is filled with nice skyscrappers and big buildings, the streets look good and especially the most of the alleys. The majority of the main characters are nicelly scrapped with decent facial expressions. but the designs of the overall varation of city's populations lacks in number.

    SOUND: Music didn't draw me in, mostly because its biggest part is heard through a car installed radio with some fake radio stations which always repeat the same playlist of 4-5 tracks for each one of them.
    Though the music in some action scenes is good. The sound effects are there too with the most of the guns sound pretty much the same and pedestrian screams all over the place and the car sounds aren't that much of a treat either. But the real deal in GTA IV's sound design is the voice acting, it is really great. Niko has the appropriet voice and Roman too, the accents are exactly as they should and the acting makes the characters more believable. Another great thing is that in a multi-ethnicity game like this we get to hear the real languages [Serbian, Albanian, Russian, Greek (taxi drivers), Spanish(Mexican) etc.]

    VERDICT: GTA IV is a worth byuing for core-gamers and a must buy for all the GTA fans.
    Sure, it has it's flaws but they all get over-shadowed by the fun gameplay.
    Expand
  75. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    i have loved all of the GTA game sand this is no let down, provides hours of fun whether you follow the story line or go off and cause mayhem in the city..... the multi-player also adds another layer of fun whether your in the mood for a free for all or playing missions......
  76. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game with a couple of irritating faults. Firstly, the world of Liberty City is quite drab and bland compared to the likes of San Andreas. In the same vein, the craziness of the series has been reeled in and sacrifices a lot of fun for realism. The game is also FAR too long. It just keeps going and going and going... If you want to see the end of the game,Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game with a couple of irritating faults. Firstly, the world of Liberty City is quite drab and bland compared to the likes of San Andreas. In the same vein, the craziness of the series has been reeled in and sacrifices a lot of fun for realism. The game is also FAR too long. It just keeps going and going and going... If you want to see the end of the game, prepare to lose a huge chunk of your life in doing so! But all of these complaints ultimately mean nothing because GTAIV gives you much more good than bad. First and foremost, GTA is still the devil's playground. Want to blow off some steam? Roll a grenade into the hospital waiting room, baseball bat some policemen to death or stab a bunch of homeless people in the central park toilets. It's really sick and twisted but unbelievably hilarious. It's would be shocking if it wasn't so damn silly and glib. The multiplayer (particularly the racing) is also great and has very long legs, with people still playing online to this day. So yeah, There are certainly some quibbles but in the end GTAIV is a fantastic game. Expand
  77. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    This game is great, but it was my first GTA, and I ended a little disappointed with it, the main reason was that you can do whatever with no action of the police! Just an example: If you cross a red traffic light in front of a police car...nothing happens! these kind of little mistakes prevent me to get involved int the story, which I may say is quite good. So, not an AAA, but a funny gameThis game is great, but it was my first GTA, and I ended a little disappointed with it, the main reason was that you can do whatever with no action of the police! Just an example: If you cross a red traffic light in front of a police car...nothing happens! these kind of little mistakes prevent me to get involved int the story, which I may say is quite good. So, not an AAA, but a funny game to play.

    My score: 8.0
    Expand
  78. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    San Adreas was a much better game. That being said, this has far better graphics and AI, and it separates itself from the other games by moving in a direction that's different. The map is a bit too small, and there's not many easter eggs... but it's still fun to drive around shooting at stuff and then launching your character out of windshields for hours on end.
  79. Apr 2, 2011
    10
    This game is a mindless package of your wildest fantasies of death, destruction, shooting, sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll and fast cars. The 4th generation in the hugely popular Grand Theft Auto franchise sees you as Niko Bellic, an Eastern European immigrant who comes to Liberty City to see his cousin Roman, who is supposedly rich and famous. The truth is that all Roman has is a seedyThis game is a mindless package of your wildest fantasies of death, destruction, shooting, sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll and fast cars. The 4th generation in the hugely popular Grand Theft Auto franchise sees you as Niko Bellic, an Eastern European immigrant who comes to Liberty City to see his cousin Roman, who is supposedly rich and famous. The truth is that all Roman has is a seedy apartment, a small taxi company and is also thousands of dollars in debt to some unfriendly gangsters. So, typical GTA story; you need to work your way to the top of the ladder but to do so you must complete missions for various mob bosses, drug dealers and corrupt cops. The missions are genuinely fun and each one is perfect length. However, the real star of the show is Liberty City itself. The map is split into about five different islands, the main one being Manhattan or Algonquin as it is known in the game. The city is based off of New York City, and you will see plenty of iconic landmarks such as the Empire State Building, Chrysler Building and even the Statue of Liberty! My one complaint is that the huge size of the map is both a blessing and a curse, because to complete certain missions, you need to drive all the way back to them if you die or get arrested. The gameplay is fast and furious, and you will handle many different weapons throughout. My favorite is the combat shotgun. The cars are good too, and apart from cars you can steal bikes, trucks, police cruisers, ambulances, garbage trucks and even some helicopters are thrown in there, but sadly the BMX from San Andreas does not return. All these cars and open ended gameplay are enough to keep anyone occupied even without doing any missions. Overall, GTA IV is a roller coaster ride that demands your full commitment and it is simply the best action game on the PS3, bar Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  80. May 8, 2011
    9
    Very good open world sandbox game. The story is engaging and so is the lead character. 1 point off for graphics but it still gets a great 9 rating from me.
  81. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    Rockstar has done it again. This is the best GTA ive played. Also, give Rockstar some credit at least for creating Liberty City. It may not be as big as San Andreas but its big enough.
  82. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    In my opinion this is a masterpiece of a game and is still running in my ps3 thanks to the multiplayer and great gameplay.This game was one of my reasons why I even bought the ps3. Sure the other GTA:s (like Vice City and San Andreas) had more stuff in them but this is the first gta in this generation, so it makes it like GTA 3, which was the first gta of the previous generation (and lovedIn my opinion this is a masterpiece of a game and is still running in my ps3 thanks to the multiplayer and great gameplay.This game was one of my reasons why I even bought the ps3. Sure the other GTA:s (like Vice City and San Andreas) had more stuff in them but this is the first gta in this generation, so it makes it like GTA 3, which was the first gta of the previous generation (and loved it too). Cant wait for the next GTA. [HATERS GONNA HATE] Expand
  83. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    Take everything you loved about the old GTA games, revamp them with a new engine and you've got GTAIV in a nutshell. Niko is such a surprisingly endearing character and there's always a new host of characters to keep you entertained. Superbly written and paced like a perfect television drama, there's just so much to enjoy about GTAIV.
  84. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This is the first GTA game I've ever played for myself. Other times, I played GTA games at a friend's house and we would do random funny stuff and try escape the cops. I borrowed this game from a friend and I was able to play the story. Man, I enjoyed it. You play as Niko Bellic, a Slavic man who travels to the US in search for a better life. But then he has to confront his past when heThis is the first GTA game I've ever played for myself. Other times, I played GTA games at a friend's house and we would do random funny stuff and try escape the cops. I borrowed this game from a friend and I was able to play the story. Man, I enjoyed it. You play as Niko Bellic, a Slavic man who travels to the US in search for a better life. But then he has to confront his past when he was a soldier in the Yugoslav Wars and then you want to see how things turn out. I heard that Niko is the most humane GTA protagonist, and that the protagonists in GTA V are just jerks, but I'd like to see for myself. There's lots to do and hilarious stuff does happen. You should get this game if you haven't already, even if its 6 years old. Stay tuned for my review of GTA V (if I ever should hehe). Expand
  85. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    I feel like I'm judging the game too high by giving it an 8.
    The game's no where near to perfect. You'll get bored a couple weeks after buying it and only play it to kill random people and run around the city cause the story and campaign consist of the same boring bull crap missions in the previous games. (drive point A to point B.) or (kill this person).
    Overall it was a pretty damn
    I feel like I'm judging the game too high by giving it an 8.
    The game's no where near to perfect. You'll get bored a couple weeks after buying it and only play it to kill random people and run around the city cause the story and campaign consist of the same boring bull crap missions in the previous games. (drive point A to point B.) or (kill this person).
    Overall it was a pretty damn good game. Lots of customization options, missions and other things to do which is why the game is so charming,
    However being a dedicated fan of the series, I could no way in hell say it's better than San Andreas.
    Also no way in hell could I ever give this game a perfect 10 or rather a 9 for that matter, but it's still very well worth the $20 or $30 you'll pay for a used copy
    Expand
  86. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    GTA IV (along with uncharted 2,3) is by far the best game this gen! I dont why people hat it.. its an AMAZING game, The story and graphics are top-notch... i gave it 10/10
  87. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    GTA has been one of the world's biggest video game franchises, and GTA IV just helped the game get bigger. After i played GTASA i thought Rockstar Games woudn't be able to make a better GTA, well... they proved me wrong, GTA IV is worth all your money and time so if you love video games either your familiar with GTA or this is the first time you buy a video game of this type. YOU WON'T REGRET IT.
  88. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Good grafics, great story-telling, great characters, nice drivng physics and the gratest game-city Liberty City, Baby! Negative: drive-by shooting a bit difficult, car-brakes, missions are a bit monoton. All in all for me as an big gta fan, it's one of the best GTA Games. 9/10
  89. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Where should i start, GTA IV is one of the best games i have played in a while, after all it was GTA that turned me into a gamer. Play as Niko Bellic and hlep him confront in problems of loan sharks, the mob, and the cops. GTA IV really makes you feel for your character, you will start to grow on Niko and his family members as you play on, but it doesnt end, GTA IV introduces a newWhere should i start, GTA IV is one of the best games i have played in a while, after all it was GTA that turned me into a gamer. Play as Niko Bellic and hlep him confront in problems of loan sharks, the mob, and the cops. GTA IV really makes you feel for your character, you will start to grow on Niko and his family members as you play on, but it doesnt end, GTA IV introduces a new Multiplayer, wreck havoc in Liberty City with your friends online together, there are many modes availabe such as team deathmatch,etc. This game is amazing, Rockstar really nailed it this time, but then again, how often does rockstar fail? Expand
  90. Dec 1, 2011
    10
    An absolutely amazing game. The story is deep, and compelling; on multiple occasions, the game prompts you with a "moral choice", if you will, and in no other game have I been so stumped, and thought so hard on the repercussions of my actions. The characters in this game are also really impressive, each individual expressive, and characterized out the ass (note: this is a good thing). GunAn absolutely amazing game. The story is deep, and compelling; on multiple occasions, the game prompts you with a "moral choice", if you will, and in no other game have I been so stumped, and thought so hard on the repercussions of my actions. The characters in this game are also really impressive, each individual expressive, and characterized out the ass (note: this is a good thing). Gun play is responsive and fun, especially since your enemies react to each bullet differently, depending what gun you use, where you shoot them, and where you shot them before. Cars handle hyper-realistically, and when you hit stuff, your vehicle deforms in ways I've never seen in a game.

    Grand Theft Auto IV easily ranks in my top 3 games of all time, sharing the honor with Half-Life and Skyward Sword.

    Bravo, Rockstar; you are an incredibly mature, and intelligent developer, and I can't **** wait for Grand Theft Auto V.
    Expand
  91. Dec 7, 2011
    8
    This game is just a game that will go in the history of gaming. You can keep playing it for years.
    The Quality is high (enough), the missions will keep you busy for more than 20 houres, the story is really great and the free options are endless. Online needs improvement. It beats GTA SA at most points.
    I am already waiting for GTA V. If the V is as good as the IV and the producers do as
    This game is just a game that will go in the history of gaming. You can keep playing it for years.
    The Quality is high (enough), the missions will keep you busy for more than 20 houres, the story is really great and the free options are endless. Online needs improvement. It beats GTA SA at most points.
    I am already waiting for GTA V. If the V is as good as the IV and the producers do as good work as with this game, it will be in my hands the day when it comes out.
    Expand
  92. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    It was hard to imagine what more could Rockstar deliver after the near-perfect PS2 ''not-trilogy'' of GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas; and the news that Grand Theft Auto IV would return to Liberty City and embrace a more serious style of story and gameplay made many people worry. Well, Rockstar did it once again, and I dare to say this is the best game of the series to date. GTA IVIt was hard to imagine what more could Rockstar deliver after the near-perfect PS2 ''not-trilogy'' of GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas; and the news that Grand Theft Auto IV would return to Liberty City and embrace a more serious style of story and gameplay made many people worry. Well, Rockstar did it once again, and I dare to say this is the best game of the series to date. GTA IV delivers a perfect combination of solid gameplay, compelling story and stunning graphics. Characters are more real and charismatic than ever, to the point where you find yourself saying that the new thieving/murderous protagonist Niko Bellic is a good person. All characters shine, from the most important ones to the ones that give you just a couple of missions; and this is powered up by great dialogue and voice acting. For the first time in the series the city fells alive, and at every turn you find a new, interesting area to explore. For those who expected the crime havoc of the previous installments, a little disappointment will come: GTA IV really is a lot more realistic than its predecessors. But give it a chance, enjoy the great graphics and soundtrack and you will find yourself enjoying this great game in no time. Expand
  93. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    after having so much fun playing vice city stories and liberty city stories gta 4 makes them too look like your average game better graphics more fun and much more graphics and extra realism makes this the best gta ever fact.
  94. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    GTA IV is a massive, fun, addictive, incredible game. It has a fantastic storyline which kept me hooked for hours on end. But in the end that was the only thing that kept me hooked. I was never bothered to explore Liberty City and destroy the entire place. I finished the story and felt satisfied. But I didn't bother doing anything else afterwards. There just isn't enough in this game toGTA IV is a massive, fun, addictive, incredible game. It has a fantastic storyline which kept me hooked for hours on end. But in the end that was the only thing that kept me hooked. I was never bothered to explore Liberty City and destroy the entire place. I finished the story and felt satisfied. But I didn't bother doing anything else afterwards. There just isn't enough in this game to keep me playing. The fact that this game is more realistic isn't a problem. In fact it's one of the best things about GTA IV. You aren't some guy who just runs around the city wreaking havoc, destroying vehicles, using wacky weapons and vehicles etc. Instead you feel like a member of Liberty City. You don't feel like a superhuman who can take tonnes of bullet damage and someone who can just toy around with the city, you are a citizen. A citizen who gets tied up with drug dealers, gangs, the police and a lot more bad people. This is one of the best things about GTA IV. However there are just too many problems for it to be a 10. Bad vehicle handling, absolutely god awful helicopter controls, wonky cover mechanics, annoying auto- aim system that barely ever let's you switch targets without having to change to free aim, then go to auto aim again. It has incredibly annoying difficulty spikes that leave me punching the couch and yelling at the TV, and the stupid system where you have to hand out with your friends for them to like you. But there are still a lot of great things about this game, the sheer size of the city, the fantastic story filled with a great cast of memorable characters, good gameplay, incredible graphics ( even to this day), and a lot of things to do. Unfortunately, it just doesn't have that lasting appeal that so many people say that the GTA games do. GTA IV disappointed me a bit. But that little bit is so small, that this game is still so incredible. This was the first GTA game I ever played, and I only bought this early last year, and I can really see why the critics raved about this game. This is a must buy for people who still haven't played this masterpiece. Expand
  95. Jan 30, 2012
    8
    This is definitely the most beautiful Grand Theft Auto game to date; the physics and visual effects are amazing. I can somewhat understand why so many people give this game a low rating; the missions are quite repetitive, the driving is not perfect, and there are a few glitches and frame rate issues. However, it is a video game. The driving does not have to be exactly like that of realThis is definitely the most beautiful Grand Theft Auto game to date; the physics and visual effects are amazing. I can somewhat understand why so many people give this game a low rating; the missions are quite repetitive, the driving is not perfect, and there are a few glitches and frame rate issues. However, it is a video game. The driving does not have to be exactly like that of real life. It is a huge game, of course there are going to be a few glitches and issues. If you don't like it, don't play it. If you're like me, the most entertaining part of the game is that which takes place outside of the missions. The game is soooo much more than the missions. It is a fun game, one of my most favorite ever, and I cannot wait to see what improvements and changes are brought with GTA 5. Expand
  96. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Having played all of Rockstars games that have been released on the various PlayStation systems, GTA stands out as my favorite series. GTA IV is right up there with the previous editions. Loved the graphics, loved the sound, loved the mini games, the only real dissappointment for me was the friendship part of the game. It was a hassle to me, to have to go and leave what i was wanting toHaving played all of Rockstars games that have been released on the various PlayStation systems, GTA stands out as my favorite series. GTA IV is right up there with the previous editions. Loved the graphics, loved the sound, loved the mini games, the only real dissappointment for me was the friendship part of the game. It was a hassle to me, to have to go and leave what i was wanting to do, to go and hang out and bowl, or play pool, or darts. I hope this is not implemented in any new versions of GTA. Other than the friendship part I thought everything else was pretty much what I expected. I didn't mind the more serious tone of this game, but it also wasn't a selling point for me either. Expand
  97. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a game for the ages, one that is obviously included in gaming halls of fame and remembered fondly by everyone who was there to play it when it was released. We would never have thought that that by retreading the same patch of ground a studio could leave us feeling like we have just played one of the best videogames of all time. Yes, there's still the freedom toGrand Theft Auto IV is a game for the ages, one that is obviously included in gaming halls of fame and remembered fondly by everyone who was there to play it when it was released. We would never have thought that that by retreading the same patch of ground a studio could leave us feeling like we have just played one of the best videogames of all time. Yes, there's still the freedom to cause havoc, and inevitably you do; the difference is that you're no longer impelled to toy with GTA IV's world in quite the same sadistic way - you live in it. After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but this game really delivers. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases. It of course comes with it's flaws though; The driving has become rubbish, mainly because of the brakes not working, And the framerate is a little choppy. Expand
  98. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    GTA IV is another prime example of perfection in video games. It's not the greatest game of all time, but it's one of the only games that I can say surpassed my own expectations. It's perfect in the way that it does everything that it wants to do, and nothing more. Where most games in this generation focus most on features, this game focuses on core gameplay, story, and physics. From theGTA IV is another prime example of perfection in video games. It's not the greatest game of all time, but it's one of the only games that I can say surpassed my own expectations. It's perfect in the way that it does everything that it wants to do, and nothing more. Where most games in this generation focus most on features, this game focuses on core gameplay, story, and physics. From the driving, to the shooting, to the movements, everything is flawless. This being the first GTA on the 7th generation of consoles, it's quite bleak regarding what you can and can't do, but as I said that's not the point. The feature's will come in the next installation. This time around Rockstar focused on creating the best game engine they could possibly make, and they really out-did themselves here. The time and painstaking attention to detail is what makes this game such a masterpiece. Rockstar take gaming and turn it into an artform. You will not be customizing your character in outrageous clothing, nor will you be customizing your ride into an ultimate pimp mobile. What you will be doing is having a blast shooting up the streets of Liberty City, drifting around town in your choice of car, and marveling at the utter beauty of it all. It sounds simple, and it is, but it's perfect. It feels perfect and it plays perfect. You can take this experience online as well. You can run around the streets of Liberty City with 16 player multiplayer, stretched across a plethora of game modes. Some of the greatest multiplayer is to be found here. The story is as well fantastic. You play an immigrant coming to America on a promise of your cousin's that it's a high life of women and money. Come to find out your cousin is full of **** you'll be working from the ground up doing just about every criminal activity you can imagine. Though the main reason to travel the journey is in finding and killing someone that had ruined your life. The story takes dips and turns with every encounter, and the characters you meet along the way are all equally entertaining and interesting. This game was more than what I anticipated in that it focuses on what it should be focusing on unlike most games. A game is nothing without it's core gameplay, and Rockstar's knowledge of that earns them praise by most every critic. The game might not allow you to do this and it might not allow you to do that, but what you can do, you can't do better anywhere else in gaming. And that is what makes this game such a masterpiece. Expand
  99. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    The first GTA game that I was interested enough to play-through. This game is an instant classic in my opinion. From the fun missions to the unforgettable finale it was definitely a experience I'll not soon forget.
  100. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    I've never been a fan of the GTA series, but after playing GTAIV it totally changed my mind. This game is entertaining in so many ways. Multiplayer can be really addicting when you play with friends. Nothing is more fun than shooting your way out of the cops way while your car is on fire.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]