Grand Theft Auto IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2758 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 12, 2016
    10
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is the best in the series in my opinion and the reason for this is because it's more realistic, it's open world like the other games is great, it has a great story, it has more weapons and it has more vehicles that you can drive in. I just love going around and shooting and running over people (don't worry, i won't do that in real life).
  2. Jul 11, 2016
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV presents new characters, new mechanics, a new setting and a new universe. A serious man with a dark past, Niko Bellic comes to America expecting to live the American dream with his rich cousin, who is actually mired in debt. Niko is then forced to deal with his cousin's problems, but ends up making friends - and enemies - in the way. Ultimately, he discovers theGrand Theft Auto IV presents new characters, new mechanics, a new setting and a new universe. A serious man with a dark past, Niko Bellic comes to America expecting to live the American dream with his rich cousin, who is actually mired in debt. Niko is then forced to deal with his cousin's problems, but ends up making friends - and enemies - in the way. Ultimately, he discovers the American dream has a price. A high price. While it may miss some good features from its predecessors, GTA IV manages to be perfect on its own way. Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2016
    9
    With a great story, sprawling open-world, amazing physics, and better-than-ever gameplay, GTA 4 is a masterpiece. There is so much to do in the freshened Liberty City. The graphics are a huge departure from the PS2 and PSP era GTA games. You can now freely aim your gun, and car damage is surprisingly realistic. I love the story and the characters. It is extremely entertaining and funny.With a great story, sprawling open-world, amazing physics, and better-than-ever gameplay, GTA 4 is a masterpiece. There is so much to do in the freshened Liberty City. The graphics are a huge departure from the PS2 and PSP era GTA games. You can now freely aim your gun, and car damage is surprisingly realistic. I love the story and the characters. It is extremely entertaining and funny. The online mode is good. I always like to play the races. However, it doesn't have a countdown timer, so people will always forget to click the "ready" button and a game could literally NEVER start. The problem with the PS3 version of this game is the framerate. I'm not even kidding, this game runs at an unsteady 20 fps, with the framerate dipping to sub-10fps more than you'd expect. The Xbox 360 version gets a 10/10, but this game is still a must-have PS3 game. Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2016
    8
    Pretty good. There's a lot of detail and effort put into the game, some mechanics may seem outdated, but it lives up to its legacy. The framerate in PS3 might be a problem, but it doesnt break the fun overall.
  5. May 22, 2016
    10
    Graphic: 8/10
    Sound: 10/10
    + great story, awesome characters, big soundtrack, big open world, good multiplayer, tons to discover, +100 vehicles - blurry graphic/textures, spongy control of characters Conclusion: As a big fan of the GTA games I can say this is a great masterpiece of a game. The game shows how the eastern immigrants life and have to fight to survive, in a America
    Graphic: 8/10
    Sound: 10/10

    + great story, awesome characters, big soundtrack, big open world, good multiplayer, tons to discover, +100 vehicles

    - blurry graphic/textures, spongy control of characters

    Conclusion: As a big fan of the GTA games I can say this is a great masterpiece of a game. The game shows how the eastern immigrants life and have to fight to survive, in a America far away from the pleasant life you see in TV. The main character Nico and his cousin and all characters in this masterpiece are well done, the voice actors does it good, the soundtrack with hours of good music is also a big point in this game, especially the east European bands and your pop music is nice to hear. At long last, GTA 4 is a worthy successor with typical strong points of the series and a weak graphic (consoles) compared with a strong PC.
    Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2016
    9
    After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but man does this game deliver. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases.
  7. Mar 5, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't care about negative comments. I have my opinion. In this game you feel like in criminal life. And I played GTA 5 which was great but something was missing. And I remembered that GTA 5 lacks good story. And until this day I am a big fan of GTA 4, because of atmosphere in this game. Expand
  8. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    I was only 9 years old I loved bowling so much,
    I had all the balls and shoes
    I pray to Roman every night before bed thanking him for the life I've been given. Roman is love I say, Roman is life Niko overhears me and calls me a yokel I knew he was just jealous of my devotion for bowling I called him an unloving brother He slaps me and sends me to go to sleep Im crying now, and my
    I was only 9 years old I loved bowling so much,
    I had all the balls and shoes
    I pray to Roman every night before bed thanking him for the life I've been given.
    Roman is love I say, Roman is life
    Niko overhears me and calls me a yokel
    I knew he was just jealous of my devotion for bowling
    I called him an unloving brother
    He slaps me and sends me to go to sleep
    Im crying now, and my face hurts
    I lay in bed and its really cold
    Expand
  9. Jan 15, 2016
    9
    For me as as a GTA fan this is great game.Even now 7 years after release this is must have game.
    Graphic is solid,Game-play is very good.Only minus is vehicle control,specially entering in corner at high speed.Like driving carriage.8.5/10
  10. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    This was the most amazing gta after gta V.But i remember how bad was driving mechanics I always had to call taxi.I still love this game but its getting its age and no longer interests me.
  11. Dec 3, 2015
    10
    This is by no doubt the best game ever made. GTA IV is holding up so well, there are few games that are as good or will ever be as good.

    It is by no doubt it is one of the highest rated games of ALL TIME.
  12. Nov 23, 2015
    8
    Grand Theft Auto VI

    Game-Play:The game-play is a very big improvement from the previous games of the series much better gun play that suits the series very well and now you can point a gun and fire while you are inside the car this last part is not very well executed but I am happy that they put it in the game.Also they put cover in the game that i think it was needed from the Grand
    Grand Theft Auto VI

    Game-Play:The game-play is a very big improvement from the previous games of the series much better gun play that suits the series very well and now you can point a gun and fire while you are inside the car this last part is not very well executed but I am happy that they put it in the game.Also they put cover in the game that i think it was needed from the Grand Theft Auto III .The driving is not that good sometimes it is like driving a boat not a car also the took out planes from the game witch i thing is really bad.Last but not least i would like more weapons in the game especially handguns I found only 2 in the game.

    Story:The story is very simple at times and very complicated in others but it is nothing very special except the final missions which were awesome.But the story in general will be just enough to get you going.The story took me about 25 to 30 hours to finish it.

    Graphics: The graphics are great and big improvement from previous titles in the series.

    Notes:The clothing options were very limited and most of them were not even good but the game is great and I totally recommend to everyone to buy it ,this game worth the full price.
    Expand
  13. Nov 18, 2015
    8
    Rockstar produces a great game. Falls right in line with all the other GTA games. Does have a little bit more of a serious tone to it but that didn't take away from the game at all for me. The only thing in the game I didn't care for was the friends calling up wanting to do something all the time. Love everything else about the game though and have played it several times since beating theRockstar produces a great game. Falls right in line with all the other GTA games. Does have a little bit more of a serious tone to it but that didn't take away from the game at all for me. The only thing in the game I didn't care for was the friends calling up wanting to do something all the time. Love everything else about the game though and have played it several times since beating the story line Expand
  14. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm seeing a lot of dumb comments about people claiming to know "the truth" about gta4...because obviously this is just some big conspiracy by all the game reviewers to trick you into buying a bad game! no, artards gta4 is a great game and you are just incapable of seeing it. even worse though is your attitude that the reviews, all 64 reviews from different magazines websites and newspapers, are somehow rigged. Maybe they all got together and thought as a laugh they would give gta4 great ratings to trick you into buying it. idiots, this game got great ratings cause it deserved it. GTA4 is an amazing game, don't listen to those noobs who downrated it cause they sucked to hard to beat the campaign. Expand
  15. Oct 12, 2015
    10
    The best grand theft auto game and the story is priceless. There is nothing that I would change its fun and makes you feel emotional for the people in the game.
  16. Aug 10, 2015
    8
    A truly masterpiece. The best from the whole series. Deep characters, real life matters, choices, crime, money and all this 'dark city' kind of things. Spend alot of hours with this game like with a proper RPG or some. I am finding this game much more enjoyable and close to my taste than the comic GTA V where story or characters was shallow and spectacular as possible, even drivingA truly masterpiece. The best from the whole series. Deep characters, real life matters, choices, crime, money and all this 'dark city' kind of things. Spend alot of hours with this game like with a proper RPG or some. I am finding this game much more enjoyable and close to my taste than the comic GTA V where story or characters was shallow and spectacular as possible, even driving mechanism is way better in this one. GTA V is good but not in terms of story or realism, it is not serious anymore. GTA 4 is not perfect either, but its mature story rewarding experience make it closer to be perfect, or a game to my taste at least. Expand
  17. Aug 5, 2015
    9
    Great game in general, a good story, many things to do after you finish the game, an awsome online mode with a huge content, a must own for everyone, the online mode will attract you for many hours.
  18. Jul 31, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, multiplayer is not the best in the world, but the argument of the game is freaking amazing and so cool
    so I give this game a 10 just for the satisfaction of killing Dimitri
    Expand
  19. Jul 11, 2015
    10
    This game is so awesome. The gameplay has progressed so much. And the story is so thrilling and interesting with some comedy which touches different people in society but touches on their negative side with a range of moral decisions to make. I was more interested in the story than the gameplay itself as the story is about a Russian who comes to liberty city for revenge and is influencedThis game is so awesome. The gameplay has progressed so much. And the story is so thrilling and interesting with some comedy which touches different people in society but touches on their negative side with a range of moral decisions to make. I was more interested in the story than the gameplay itself as the story is about a Russian who comes to liberty city for revenge and is influenced by the American dream and finds out its just propaganda as he dives into the criminal ranks. Since his cousin has to pay debt to very dangerous people. Expand
  20. Jun 11, 2015
    9
    GTA 4 is great but sometimes boring and awesome in times and the narrative is amazing and the graphic are okay and the game world is large man this game is amazing.
  21. May 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A game that I played for many years. Masterpiece.great story.great characters. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it. Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  23. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    I'll be the first to admit that I don't appreciate the use of drugs and/or sexual content found in the game but Grand Theft Auto IV does thankfully improve over III massively. The open world and narrative are amazing and it seems as though a lot of work was put into designing such an intricate game. Open world is always something I love in games with this one not disappointing one bit. TheI'll be the first to admit that I don't appreciate the use of drugs and/or sexual content found in the game but Grand Theft Auto IV does thankfully improve over III massively. The open world and narrative are amazing and it seems as though a lot of work was put into designing such an intricate game. Open world is always something I love in games with this one not disappointing one bit. The combat's a huge improvement with its fluidity and swift controls. This installment in the GTA franchise isn't to be missed. Expand
  24. Feb 22, 2015
    10
    I can't find the words to say how Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game. Brilliantly and beautifully.

    "We're all looking for that special someone." (Niko Bellic)
  25. Jan 18, 2015
    8
    First of all this is a great game in a great serie, no arguying there, but for me it did not feel as alive as some of the others, especially Vice City, which are my favourite. Some of the mission just did not feel that exciting to me, maybe because it is similar to the other gta games and It did not feel fresh anymore.
    I enjoyed it, but the story, the graphics and some of the mission
    First of all this is a great game in a great serie, no arguying there, but for me it did not feel as alive as some of the others, especially Vice City, which are my favourite. Some of the mission just did not feel that exciting to me, maybe because it is similar to the other gta games and It did not feel fresh anymore.
    I enjoyed it, but the story, the graphics and some of the mission where not top notch, so therefore I would give this game a 8/8.5.
    Expand
  26. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover thatWhat does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover that the reality is very different from the dream in a city that worships money and status, and is heaven for those who have them an a living nightmare for those who don't. Expand
  27. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    I played this game after I had already beaten GTA V and I have to say that I was not disappointed. GTA IV had a great story (better than 5 in my opinion), and great gameplay and missions. Though I thought the graphics weren't the best, if I had played the game when it originally came out in 2008, I would have been very impressed. I only had a couple of issues with the game. One being thatI played this game after I had already beaten GTA V and I have to say that I was not disappointed. GTA IV had a great story (better than 5 in my opinion), and great gameplay and missions. Though I thought the graphics weren't the best, if I had played the game when it originally came out in 2008, I would have been very impressed. I only had a couple of issues with the game. One being that it was very dark in some missions and even when I adjusted the brightness, it was still hard to see what to do or where to go. Also, there were some glitches and bugs, but none of these issues took away from my overall experience with the game. I spent about 26 hours to beat the game and I would advise that anyone who likes open world, hilariously written, violent and vulgar games, should get this game. It is a masterpiece. Expand
  28. Sep 10, 2014
    8
    This game is very good if not even excellent but not perfect. Few problems in game are the new physics (Not a big problem, and it is something new so we have to give the slack), and the voice actor. Maybe it is a bigger problem for me because I am from part of the world that the main character is, but I just don't find his "native" language to be good and for me it is an issue, but beyondThis game is very good if not even excellent but not perfect. Few problems in game are the new physics (Not a big problem, and it is something new so we have to give the slack), and the voice actor. Maybe it is a bigger problem for me because I am from part of the world that the main character is, but I just don't find his "native" language to be good and for me it is an issue, but beyond that it is a great game. Expand
  29. Jul 28, 2014
    10
    2014, I played this on 360 upon release. PS3, my 3rd playthrough and this is still one of the best games of last generation consoles. Yes its clunky, the cars handle like ocean liners, the bikes are neigh on impossible to steer and Niko moves like he is wading hip deep through a Florida swamp. But all those little niggles cannot take away from on of my all time favourite games. I love2014, I played this on 360 upon release. PS3, my 3rd playthrough and this is still one of the best games of last generation consoles. Yes its clunky, the cars handle like ocean liners, the bikes are neigh on impossible to steer and Niko moves like he is wading hip deep through a Florida swamp. But all those little niggles cannot take away from on of my all time favourite games. I love the story, the double crosses, the playing for all sides, the characters. I love the grittiness, how they've captured Liberty City in is post 9/11 paranoia. The satire, how RockStar took trends current to the time and predicted what a farce the media, cell-phone culture and political correctness would get in the years since. After playing GTA 5 I can honestly same that GTA 4 is just as good for different reasons. Love it 10/10 Expand
  30. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    What can I say besides the fact that Grand Theft Auto is a great series of games. From the glamorous skirts of Vice city, to the wealthy city of individuals in San Andreas, too the concrete economy ridden streets of Liberty City, all the games made by Rockstar is just amazing. Grand Theft Auto 4 was one of the better games of the city. The game captures the struggling streets of LibertyWhat can I say besides the fact that Grand Theft Auto is a great series of games. From the glamorous skirts of Vice city, to the wealthy city of individuals in San Andreas, too the concrete economy ridden streets of Liberty City, all the games made by Rockstar is just amazing. Grand Theft Auto 4 was one of the better games of the city. The game captures the struggling streets of Liberty City as if it were right in front of me. The game takes place in modern 2008, which in my opinion, had the most unique and creative setting out of all the Grand Theft Auto games! Since I come from where the game takes place, I am able to better understand the struggles of main character Niko Bellic, and the hardships of other pedestrians, begging for spare change. Besides all this however, the game lacks in a few things. The NPC's AI is terrible, in many ways. From running into you, too driving their car furiously into your back bumper at a red light, all pedestrians take the "the city that doesn't sleep" phrase way too seriously. And speaking of cars, the driving mechanics in this game is flat out awful. It's as if your driving a monster truck on ice. A lot of uncalled frustration occurs from these driving mechanics. Also, the storyline sometimes became a major confusion, and often trailed away from my interest in it. But let's not nitpick here, Grand Theft Auto 4 has an enjoyable playlist of music, great characters, good graphics, awesome shooting mechanics... etc. Overall, I love this game, and you should too. Expand
  31. Jul 5, 2014
    9
    Mind Blowing, even for today's standards. Rockstar gave us such a refined and detailed game with realistic characters and a vicious gameplay. And what's more exciting about GTA IV is running from the police, do you know what's like to have dozen of police cars and police choppers chasing you? Shooting at the police cars, while driving a car (or a motocycle), with an AK-47 or a 9mm? It'sMind Blowing, even for today's standards. Rockstar gave us such a refined and detailed game with realistic characters and a vicious gameplay. And what's more exciting about GTA IV is running from the police, do you know what's like to have dozen of police cars and police choppers chasing you? Shooting at the police cars, while driving a car (or a motocycle), with an AK-47 or a 9mm? It's f*cking exciting! The only small problem I had with this game is that after finishing the story, there's not much to do and it becomes boring. Expand
  32. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game ever!The best open-world game ever with good graphics quality,plot and city!You will be absolutely enjoy playing this game!Don't miss it! Expand
  33. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    This game was and is far ahead of its time, it requires subtlety, patience and an attention to detail unlike any other game. First of all, I've put in well over 1500 hours into gta 4 and its two dlc's, so there are few if any gamers with as much experience in Liberty City as me. It's the first game that I played that the mature rating on the back dident just represent that there was bloodThis game was and is far ahead of its time, it requires subtlety, patience and an attention to detail unlike any other game. First of all, I've put in well over 1500 hours into gta 4 and its two dlc's, so there are few if any gamers with as much experience in Liberty City as me. It's the first game that I played that the mature rating on the back dident just represent that there was blood and fowl language, but rather that this form of media is best appriciated by mature individuals. Clearly a large number of you were not ready for a true mature experience based on the 7.5 user score, rather they wanted a San Andreas sequel. If you wanted a San Andreas sequel, PLAY SAINTS ROW, OR SLEEPING DOGS, they were created to occupy the cavity that San Andreas left in the gaming market! Sigh...
    Im a huge driving sim fan, and this is easily my favorite game to drive a car or moterbike in, the driving physics are impeccable. Ive owned every GT(Gran Turismo) and Forza game to date, so I have some experience. WAY too many people complain about the driving physics, saying its "too hard" or "too much body roll", if you drove your car at 100mph in oncoming traffic or around a hairpin turn in real life, you would most likely crash, so WHY should it be any different in a game thats attempting to simulate life as realistically as possible? Try driving at a reasonable speed, if you dont want to because thats "boring" then you should know that your attention span does not meet the required limit of this game, and that should tell you something about yourself, not this game.
    So after complaint after complaint after complaint , Rockstar felt they needed to cut almost every thing that differentiated GTA4 from San Andreas, Sleeping Dogs, and Saints Row. In GTA 5 The driving physics were completely scrapped for an arcade style that you can master in less than a day, catching any air in any vehicle is beyond comical, I literly laughed out loud when I saw that there is a moon gravity cheat, maybe my game is just stuck on moon gravity. The fighting Physics are GONE, ive never experienced a more unenjoyable fighting element in any game, (you square up, then throw right hand haymakers that glitch across 10 feet of open ground and KO the peson in 1 to 2 hits...and the AI can throw the same scripted punch that can glitch across 10 feet). They called it GTA 5(which I beleve it should have been callled San Andreas 2 because GTA 3 brought a major change in the form of 3d graphics, GTA 4 brought a major change in that it was the first on PS3, Xbox 360, and greatly stepped up the graphics from San Andreas. What exactly was the major change GTA5 brought? An ability to switch between 3 protagonists? Graphically speaking it looks great, but the jump from San Andreas to GTA4 was far greater. It seems like Rockstar was saving the numbers for truly ground breaking titles, then got lazy, and now im sure the next GTA will me named GTA 6). I remember arguing with my parent about the negative perception of the grand theft auto games, GTA 4 was the first time I felt I had a valid argument that GTA wasent only about sex, drugs, and ultra violence. You could enjoy the many physics systems interacting with eachother in perfect harmony(at least I could). I can no longer defend the GTA series, because now it seems like the game includes profanity and violence just for the sake of profanity and violence, I mean Niko was an interesting, deep character, while Trevor is just a psycopath who rapes any and everything that moves. My favorite thing about GTA 5 is that its motto or message is "the pursuit of the almighty dollar" its the ultimate joke at the consumes expence, its Rockstar who is pursuing your money, get it?
    In conclusion GTA 4 is the greatst media I have ever experienced, and was so great that I was convinced GTA 5 was going to be the greatest thing ever, I WAS WRONG.
    ps- I GLADLY welcome somebody with opposing beliefs to challenge any of the points I made, (as long as you coherently state your points in a non confrontational manner).
    Expand
  34. May 4, 2014
    10
    No game is perfect but this game is as close as it gets. At the same time this game is not without flaws. Gameplay: no checkpoints during missions whatsoever. Sound: in-car dialogues are kinda inaudible (good thing there are subtitles), also most radio stations are uninteresting. Graphics: low framerate, and actually one issue of this game is that it's literally too dark. Navigating atNo game is perfect but this game is as close as it gets. At the same time this game is not without flaws. Gameplay: no checkpoints during missions whatsoever. Sound: in-car dialogues are kinda inaudible (good thing there are subtitles), also most radio stations are uninteresting. Graphics: low framerate, and actually one issue of this game is that it's literally too dark. Navigating at night is pretty hard sometimes even at the highest brightness setting. Yet this game is the best PS3 game I've ever played (if not the best game overall) and is much superior to GTA V. Don't believe the negative reviews on this site. Unless your favourite game is Crazy Taxi you're gonna love driving in GTA IV compared to driving in GTA 5. This game is probably the best game I've ever played and it's well worth its fame. Expand
  35. May 1, 2014
    8
    This game was great. But I would honestly rate it a 7.85
    1.I loved the driving even though it was boaty.
    2. The shootouts were intense. 3. The story line was tough. 4. The map... since I'm form new york, I would rate it 7.25 5. The annoying calls from roman I didn't like. 6. The graphics were great, for it's time. 7. The online was good at first, but it got so boring. 8.The fact
    This game was great. But I would honestly rate it a 7.85
    1.I loved the driving even though it was boaty.
    2. The shootouts were intense.
    3. The story line was tough.
    4. The map... since I'm form new york, I would rate it 7.25
    5. The annoying calls from roman I didn't like.
    6. The graphics were great, for it's time.
    7. The online was good at first, but it got so boring.
    8.The fact that I needed to buy the DLC's to use more things did get on my nerves.
    9. The ending was great.
    10 The overall single player when the missions were done was boring.

    This is a great GTA. But is it better than GTA V or GTA SA no.
    Expand
  36. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Although GTA IV has nothing to do in the massive world, but its missions, story, planning for heists, these stuffs to do combine the fragments that builds up GTA IV from nothing to everything. To be more than really satisfied playing this game, "Don't put it in your mind, that I want every single store to be available" that wish tries to threaten your whole experience. Amazing, I see.
  37. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV ticks all the right boxes to be a great game, and it is still a great game even that GTA V came out less than a year ago. The story is brilliant, the voice actors and the characters.
  38. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This is the first GTA game I've ever played for myself. Other times, I played GTA games at a friend's house and we would do random funny stuff and try escape the cops. I borrowed this game from a friend and I was able to play the story. Man, I enjoyed it. You play as Niko Bellic, a Slavic man who travels to the US in search for a better life. But then he has to confront his past when heThis is the first GTA game I've ever played for myself. Other times, I played GTA games at a friend's house and we would do random funny stuff and try escape the cops. I borrowed this game from a friend and I was able to play the story. Man, I enjoyed it. You play as Niko Bellic, a Slavic man who travels to the US in search for a better life. But then he has to confront his past when he was a soldier in the Yugoslav Wars and then you want to see how things turn out. I heard that Niko is the most humane GTA protagonist, and that the protagonists in GTA V are just jerks, but I'd like to see for myself. There's lots to do and hilarious stuff does happen. You should get this game if you haven't already, even if its 6 years old. Stay tuned for my review of GTA V (if I ever should hehe). Expand
  39. Mar 17, 2014
    8
    Grand Theft Auto is a series that is hard to review, simply because there's just as much wrong as there is right. However, this game is one that revives the old series. San Andreas became an instant classic, but there's no point in playing it anymore, and there wasn't another GTA game until this. GTA V is superior in every way, but when this released, Rockstar proved that they were capableGrand Theft Auto is a series that is hard to review, simply because there's just as much wrong as there is right. However, this game is one that revives the old series. San Andreas became an instant classic, but there's no point in playing it anymore, and there wasn't another GTA game until this. GTA V is superior in every way, but when this released, Rockstar proved that they were capable of making incredible games unlike any others. This game isn't perfect, but it was what Rockstar needed, and what fans wanted.
    Pros: -Story (this game actually has a decently involving and deep story, with some emotional and intense scenes)
    - Voice acting (Niko Bellic's voice actor did a stellar job in creating a Russian immigrant)
    - Open World (This game has a massive world, and every square inch can be explored)
    - Content (from races to sports, from collectibles to online mode, this game is a completionists dream come true)
    - Gameplay (Running into things to propel yourself out the window has never been so fun, as well as some great shooting controls)
    Cons: -Repetitive (The story and Side missions become repetitive, and trying to do them all becomes a chore. The majority of the quests involve killing a bunch of people, chasing someone down, or picking up an item and delivering it. They're manageable at first, but they become very bland)
    -Too much to do (seems like a pro, but is actually a con. There's too much stuff to keep on top of, from maintaining relationships with irritating characters to having to check emails at a coffee shop)
    - Glitches/bugs (The game is littered with glitches that hinder the experience, and even some major freezing issues that occurred more than once during my play time)
    Overall, the game was, and is, a fun adventure. However, it quickly becomes bland and irritating, and you're likely to move on to another game in a few weeks.
    Expand
  40. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Despite the public opinion about violence in the GTA series, one can say this game is worthy of many praises. Firstly, it does not show a power-hungry as the protagonist, but a troubled man, disillusioned by corruption in society, despite his involvement in it. This makes the game much deeper and emotionally involving than the previous installment, GTA San Andreas. Although the designs ofDespite the public opinion about violence in the GTA series, one can say this game is worthy of many praises. Firstly, it does not show a power-hungry as the protagonist, but a troubled man, disillusioned by corruption in society, despite his involvement in it. This makes the game much deeper and emotionally involving than the previous installment, GTA San Andreas. Although the designs of the buildings and vehicles are lackluster and mundane, the personalities of the characters fill the void left by the lack of any creative design in the game. The character-driven plot of this installment is a gem among all of the other installments in the GTA series. Expand
  41. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    This is simply the best GTA storyline i have ever played, even better than Grand Theft Auto V, the graphics are pretty nice for 2008 and the gameplay it's quite awesome, well the negative part is that the game abuse of the "Blur" technique and you don't got many personalization options for Niko.
  42. Oct 20, 2013
    8
    'Grand Theft Auto IV' is, lets face it, a great game.

    I found GTA IV to be so fulfilling, so deep, so interesting. The story based around Niko Bellic is a great one, possibly one of the best in the series. But, this great, beautiful game has a lot of drawbacks that for me lowered the score. The first; is that it isn't fun. Yes, GTA has always been fun, but, I feel that Rockstar
    'Grand Theft Auto IV' is, lets face it, a great game.

    I found GTA IV to be so fulfilling, so deep, so interesting. The story based around Niko Bellic is a great one, possibly one of the best in the series.
    But, this great, beautiful game has a lot of drawbacks that for me lowered the score.

    The first; is that it isn't fun. Yes, GTA has always been fun, but, I feel that Rockstar wanted to create a dramatic, serious film-like game where we just sit back and watch. I did mission after mission, because I couldn't find fun stuff to do in the spare time between missions.
    The atmosphere in Liberty City also makes the game seem boring, drab, and bland. Everything is colourless, grey, and just has an overall sad feel to it.

    The second; is that your friends will constantly call you whilst you're doing something important. I can't count how many times I've heard Roman (Niko's Cousin) ask me if I wanted to go 'bowling' with him. This may not seem like a major issue, but, I warn you that it will get very annoying when your cousin constantly interrupts your daily shoot-out with the police, or a very important part of a mission.

    Other than these issues, I found 'GTA IV' to be enjoyable. But, I have to say that I didn't enjoy it as much as I did its predecessors. Overall, I recommend 'IV' for a hardcore fan of the series, but, I must warn you that although 'IV' is similar to its predecessors, it lacks a lot of traits that made the previous installments so amazing!
    Expand
  43. Oct 6, 2013
    8
    GTA IV is quality. The expanded game world and other additional features enhance game-play, and its undeniably long storyline fails to become un-exciting, even after hours. The new Liberty City is memorable, and provides the perfect backdrop for GTA IV's story to take place.
  44. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    EN: Grand Theft Auto IV doesn't only presents the player to the most charismatic protagonist of the whole series, but is emotionally deep, viscerally addictive and takes place at an amazingly built Liberty City. The handbreak is s*** and makes the car slide everywhere like a godd*** ski, and some missions like the pingeons one may be a pain in the a** for some, but overall, Grand TheftEN: Grand Theft Auto IV doesn't only presents the player to the most charismatic protagonist of the whole series, but is emotionally deep, viscerally addictive and takes place at an amazingly built Liberty City. The handbreak is s*** and makes the car slide everywhere like a godd*** ski, and some missions like the pingeons one may be a pain in the a** for some, but overall, Grand Theft Auto IV is a masterpiece.

    PT-BR: Grand Theft Auto IV não só apresenta o jogador ao protagonista mais carismático de toda a série, mas emocionalmente profundo, visceralmente viciante e se passa em uma Liberty City incrivelmente construída. O handbreak não funciona e faz o carro deslizar em todos os lugares como um maldito ski, e algumas missões secundárias, como a dos pigeons, podem ser um pé no saco para alguns, mas no geral, Grand Theft Auto IV uma obra-prima.
    Expand
  45. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Pay absolute no attention to the ignorant buffoons that gave this masterpiece of a video game a negative score. Crybabies that no nothing about what makes a game playable and fun. This game is just that: playable and fun. The story, albeit dark, is brilliantly told, (there is one mission in particular that is absolute genius) the set of characters are the more colorful and engaging of anyPay absolute no attention to the ignorant buffoons that gave this masterpiece of a video game a negative score. Crybabies that no nothing about what makes a game playable and fun. This game is just that: playable and fun. The story, albeit dark, is brilliantly told, (there is one mission in particular that is absolute genius) the set of characters are the more colorful and engaging of any GTA game so far and the gameplay is polished. Oh, and the graphics are not bad at all. The effect used to make a rainy day look bleak and depressing is phenomenal. Make no mistake. This game deserves the hype. Expand
  46. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    10 out of 10.

    Excellent story. Unbelievable variation. Hilarious ragdoll physics. Incredible design. Amazing graphics. What else can I say? Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any hype and brings on more of that open-world chaos that we love and hold dearly about the Grand Theft Auto series. But I do have some complaints... Firstly, some missions can feel repetitive. It's constantly about
    10 out of 10.

    Excellent story. Unbelievable variation. Hilarious ragdoll physics. Incredible design. Amazing graphics. What else can I say? Grand Theft Auto IV surpasses any hype and brings on more of that open-world chaos that we love and hold dearly about the Grand Theft Auto series.

    But I do have some complaints... Firstly, some missions can feel repetitive. It's constantly about stealing things, killing targets and escaping whoever is chasing you. Of course it's fun, but it's bit too much a times. Also, in many missions, you are told to kill the person you're chasing, but you cant because you have to reach a cutscene or a certain point before they can actually take damage. That is misleading, quite annoying and just a waste of bullets.

    But over-all, such small gripes are, of course, nothing that can pull down this game from a perfect 10 out of 10 score, thanks to the things mentioned on the first row.
    Expand
  47. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    Reviews for this are probably a little too high mainly, because this is one of the first few great games to come out on the ps3. Although this game will keep playing for due to its compelling storymode in single player with several side missions and its online multiplayer has many different modes to keep you glued to the game. Also in first person story mode you can still roam around doingReviews for this are probably a little too high mainly, because this is one of the first few great games to come out on the ps3. Although this game will keep playing for due to its compelling storymode in single player with several side missions and its online multiplayer has many different modes to keep you glued to the game. Also in first person story mode you can still roam around doing whatever you want but the wanted level is more realistic seems tougher. The game does have glitches and cops have tried catching me after they hit my back bumper like I did something... Plus I had my police sirens on and was trying to catch someone and th police cars wouldn't get out of the way and I hit them and my car exploded. The busses in multiplayer are also glitchy and sometimes you could trapped under the map. Other than that everything was fine in the game to me. The critics grade should be more like a 91. Expand
  48. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    this game is epic i'm excited for gta v for those who thing this isn't that great,gta v is gonna blow your mind away. People says it has bad framerate? its your computer that is the problem get a decent one and it would work flawlessly the storyline is great actually
  49. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    It's a great game overall. Maybe it's a little bit too realistic. I wanted to see a little bit of unrealism in it. I also think that the game is overrated. Like I said, it's a great game, but previous GTA games were better in some ways. So, 8/10
  50. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto bringing back a much larger world with a more for the story game unlike san andreas where you probably spent most of your time beating up hookers, hobos and the police and nato force. GTA4 brings you a wonderful cast of characters where you go in and fight for your American dreams.
  51. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    I started playing GTA when it still was in 2D and I tried all GTA game. This one is a great one with still lot of freedom, lot of possibilities ,good story (the player have to take some choice)...a great game i had pleasure to finish 2 or 3 times!
  52. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    The review score for this game is an embarrassment and testament to what is happening to video gaming. The 10's given to this game by "professional" reviewers are clearly not just about the quality of the game. The reviewers have clearly been influenced by other factors. Gaming review scores in general have clearly become favors to the game developers, and this is an example of that takenThe review score for this game is an embarrassment and testament to what is happening to video gaming. The 10's given to this game by "professional" reviewers are clearly not just about the quality of the game. The reviewers have clearly been influenced by other factors. Gaming review scores in general have clearly become favors to the game developers, and this is an example of that taken to extremes.

    Now, having said that, I am not saying this is a bad game. In fact, it is actually a very good game, but to call it perfect or near perfect is absurd. It's also very odd that a lot of "professional" reviewers are indicating that they are scoring the game higher because it is newer and has better graphics, etc. Since when did we start doing this? If this is how we are going to look at games then all of the new games are all better than older games. I guess "Alone in the Dark: The New Nightmare" is way better than the original "Alone in the Dark" because it is so much newer and has graphics that are far more advanced. No, that can't be right because "Alone in the Dark: The New Nightmare" was almost universally declared a piece of garbage, while "Alone in the Dark" is frequently listed as one of the best games of all time. (It's worth mentioning that the game developer for the newer game threatened reviewers with a lawsuit over their reviews of the game when it came out.)

    Getting back to GTA IV, there are far too many flaws for it to be considered near perfect. This one is obviously subjective to some extent, but the music and radio is very disappointing when compared with previous versions. I'll allow this to not even count since it is so subjective, but I'm sure I'm not the only one who feels this way. I quickly turned off the radio and left it off. I never did that in any of the previous versions. Still, this is one of the great features of the GTA series that makes it standout from other games that do not even have this feature so I won't count this.

    This may also be subjective to some extent, but the story and characters are boring with a capital B. The characters look and sound boring. We went from actors like Ray Liotta as the main character in "GTA: Vice City" to the crap in GTA IV? I'm curious if anyone out there cares about Nikko and his cousin at all. Even the other hoods that give you your jobs are boring. While watching and listening to the video in the game for the first time I wanted to just skip over it. For me, the music, story, and characters alone make this game far less entertaining than all previous versions of the GTA series. This version of GTA is also too serious. I always thought some of the negative things (violence, sex, etc.) said about the GTA series in the media were a bit ridiculous because it was hard to see how anyone could take the games that seriously, but with this version I can see their point a little, (Just a little!) because it's too serious. One last thing, the game seems much less creative in it's content than previous iterations.

    I am not going to go over the good or great facets of this game because that has been done to death. I just wanted to post a review to comment on how overrated the game is, even though it is still an excellent game.
    Expand
  53. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    I will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made a faithfulI will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made a faithful representation of NY. I found no reason to play multiplayer because the single player did everything I was hoping for. Not the best game in the series, but it does many things right. Like the story, characters, graphics and an open world to explore. Expand
  54. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    I will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made ​​a faithfulI will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made ​​a faithful representation NY. I found no reason to play multiplayer because the single player did everything I was hoping for. Not the best game in the series, but it does many things right. Like the story, characters, graphics and an open world to explore. Expand
  55. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Story: The story is really good on the 2nd and 3rd act, but takes it's time on the 1st act. The story can also be a little too long for most people stretching in around 25-30 hours without doing any side activities. The voice acting and writing are both great with some clever and funny dialogues to make you laugh a bit, and I actually liked some of the characters in this game.
    Graphics:
    Story: The story is really good on the 2nd and 3rd act, but takes it's time on the 1st act. The story can also be a little too long for most people stretching in around 25-30 hours without doing any side activities. The voice acting and writing are both great with some clever and funny dialogues to make you laugh a bit, and I actually liked some of the characters in this game.
    Graphics: Right now, GTA IV's visuals are nothing special, but back in 2008, I'm sure the graphics were innovative. Facial models are above average, but the one place GTA IV excels at is the world design. Liberty City was suppose to be Rockstar's version of NY, and even to this day, LC still looks great (especially at night). The atmosphere is great, and each pedestrian I meet looks different from the last.
    Gameplay: One innovation added in GTA IV is a cover system which is not bad, but I've seen better in Gears of War and Uncharted, the hand-to-hand combat felt awkward, and the shooting still works (auto-aim can get annoying since it sometimes aims at civilians instead of enemies). The vehicles are fun to drive, but the brakes take a second or 2 to work. Since the story is long, there are going to be a lot of missions to complete (94 in total). The biggest problem I had with this game is that the mission variety is low.(Shootouts, Running from the cops, a few heli missions, and vehicle chases). I really hated the motorcycle chases since I kept falling off the cycle, and the guy I'm chasing can handle 30 SMG rounds and not fall off the bike. This meant I had to RESTART THE MISSION since there's NO CHECKPOINT in missions there are checkpoints in the episodes however). I was also disappointed by the short number of cheats in the game.
    Multiplayer: Even though more people are playing on the episodic multiplayers, the main game's multiplayer is still fun to play. You got your standard deathmatches, races, and story CO-OP missions, but you also got free roam which is a blast to play online with others.
    Overall: GTA IV is starting to feel outdated with all the new sandbox games coming out, but that doesn't mean it's not fun to play. With a good story, funny dialogues, and crazy multiplayer, GTA IV is definitely worth $20 Rating: 8
    Expand
  56. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    What happens when you've crammed excellent physics, a really engaging plot line, hilarity, crime, and decent graphics into 1 video game? Grand Theft Auto IV. This game is nothing BUT fantastic, and if you actually have a real sense of humour, you would laugh at the flying cars blowing up in mid air while rotating in circles. It may not sound that great when you just read it from here, butWhat happens when you've crammed excellent physics, a really engaging plot line, hilarity, crime, and decent graphics into 1 video game? Grand Theft Auto IV. This game is nothing BUT fantastic, and if you actually have a real sense of humour, you would laugh at the flying cars blowing up in mid air while rotating in circles. It may not sound that great when you just read it from here, but believe me, you have GOT to try this game for yourself if you want any kind of fun. Expand
  57. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best GTA in the series for sure. The same good action, same good fun, same good shootings in the street with the police and the gangs. This is what i call a good and interesting stories. I felt so bad in the ending because of the Niko girlfriend's death (don't remember the name right now, played the game one or two years ago) and i love games that make me really feel the story that i almost cried like in the Red Dead Redemption ending. One of the best third shooter games i played and one of the top games on this generation. Perfect 10 in this game, perfect story, great gameplay, funny characters and cruel characters made this game so good! GTA San Andreas, GTA IV and Vice City stories are the best! Expand
  58. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    This game is no doubt awesome. The story is fairly good, but who plays GTA for the story? I love to just drive around, picking up prostitutes and shooting cops. Whip out the phone, enter some cheats and you have infinite amounts of fun.

    The story was good though. Niko is an interesting character and likewise for his brother (Roman). I played through once and then got half way through a
    This game is no doubt awesome. The story is fairly good, but who plays GTA for the story? I love to just drive around, picking up prostitutes and shooting cops. Whip out the phone, enter some cheats and you have infinite amounts of fun.

    The story was good though. Niko is an interesting character and likewise for his brother (Roman). I played through once and then got half way through a second time. It was fairly engaging and enjoyable. But does offer limited scope for imagination.

    Driving around the city and doing your own thing is where the main fun of GTA:IV lies. If only I could without being called every five minutes. Bowling anyone?
    Expand
  59. Jun 11, 2013
    8
    This is a great game! However, the frustrating save system and some boring missions that feel like they were just added as filler to make the game longer hold this back from being the instant classic that it could have been! but this is still a great game that anybody who is a fan of crime/ mobster movies should definitely check out!
  60. Jun 5, 2013
    8
    Its good, its fun, its great. its big. but its not perfect. The driving feels very heavy. Great game overall though. I Like how the game has so many different types of missions~
  61. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    This game was why I joined the site. Just to be able to take back all the bad things I said about GTA 4. There is no good excuse to not like this game. You could not like games like this, you could not like games at all, even in these situations, you have to admit GTA is impressive. I never found GTA fun before. I would play San Andres for 20 minutes, cause havoc, get bored, say howThis game was why I joined the site. Just to be able to take back all the bad things I said about GTA 4. There is no good excuse to not like this game. You could not like games like this, you could not like games at all, even in these situations, you have to admit GTA is impressive. I never found GTA fun before. I would play San Andres for 20 minutes, cause havoc, get bored, say how do people do this all day? GTA 4 is special. It gets boring still, but those twenty minutes are spectacular. They don't feel cheap, they feel like the perfect mix of simulator, mixed with arcade, mixed with art, and when it's over you can quit for the day, or you can play the story. Once I allowed myself to get immersed into the game, instead of playing out of spite because he wasn't Italian, didn't look like me, didn't like how he dressed, whatever I didn't feel like giving a chance at that point. Once you start to get a feel for the story it's just an obvious masterpiece in every way. If you're not into adult, Soprano-esk violence, you might be uncomfortable through some missions, but just to see how spectacularly realized this living, breathing, city is, I'd pick it up for the 10 bucks I'm sure it now costs. When I first played it I was annoyed at the driving, because I couldn't pick it up and be immediately and be good at it, because I had forgotten how games used to be. The game is not easy, it offers a challenge, usually a fair one, like all games should. And the driving, it grows on you, and I don't think they could have done a better job with it. I really don't. Expand
  62. May 24, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GAMEPLAY:

    Grand Theft Auto is renowned for having a sandbox, complete with a plethora of distractions like socializing and dating, going to clubs, bars, strip-clubs and just having a good time in game. You will definitely find a hard time getting bored in Liberty City, which is a whole different story. The city itself is huge, and at any glance no matter what burrow looks like Rockstar’s imagining of NYC but in their own GTA world.
    Combat at first glance may seem to be tricky but eventually you will get a handle on the combat system. The melee system consists of several different attacks that when used in different combinations can prove to be effective against the opponent. Gunfights can be a little boring but when in a large skirmish with the cops or online against waves of enemies will make lasting memories.

    Perhaps the finest points of combat in the game though is in the cars. There is nothing in the game that compares to doing a drive-by shooting or firing at the cops during a high-speed chase. Vehicular combat was fine-tuned perfectly that allows the player(s) to engage in awesome shoot outs on the road, no matter what the vehicle is... from a moped to an armored truck.
    Driving is easy, with basic controls for ALL vehicles though it may be hard to grasp the comfort of driving boats and aircraft. Perhaps the hardest vehicle to drive though are the motorcycles, they have a very high speed, horrible handling, and will pretty much launch you if you hit ANYTHING at a high velocity. Just another taste of reality but don’t expect to be a pro motorcyclist or pilot right off.

    SOUND/MUSIC:

    The game’s radio soundtrack is very unique and a lot of the songs fit well in not just the game but the story. Players can choose from an array of music like rock, hip-hop, rap, techno, and even talk shows. The citizens of liberty city all have very different personalities, and voices, Rockstar did a good job making the non-essential NPC’s seem unique.
    Other than the radio stations in the cars in the game, the game doesn’t have an “epic score” or an everlasting soundtrack that will have you streaming the web to listen to. But overall the sound quality of the guns, the people, the cars, and even the ambience really polish this game up and show how Rockstar games tried to make this game as realistic as possible.

    STORY:
    You play as Niko Bellic an eastern-european (it is never really made clear where Nikos is from) who just moved from his homeland to Liberty City. The game takes off with you joining your cousin Roman who has made himself a nice little taxi business that he calls the beginning of the “american dream”. Over the course of the game Niko has to fight bikers, russians, gangsters, and cops... when suddenly his past catches up with him.
    The plot spans from Niko going “from the streets of Liberty City to the skyline of wealth”. As the player helps different factions and crime lords, Niko himself finds out that America is no different than the very war and the troubling past he has suffered.

    ENGINE:

    Grand Theft Auto 4’s engine isn’t special by “today’s standards”. There are few bugs, but even the ones in game can turn out to be quite funny or amusing. Online gameplay is really great, and unique. Until Grand Theft Auto 5 comes out, Grand Theft Auto 4’s engine alongside Red Dead Redemption HAVE TO BE Rockstar’s finest works.
    Expand
  63. May 5, 2013
    10
    Perhaps the greatest game of this generation. Not much else to said really. GTA is a phenomenal series. Not just because it sells billions of dollars worth of games but because the quality of Rockstars gaming giant is just simply outstanding. If you've been living under a rock of the last 5 or so years and haven't played GTA 4, the all I gotta say is. Play the sh!t outta this masterpiecePerhaps the greatest game of this generation. Not much else to said really. GTA is a phenomenal series. Not just because it sells billions of dollars worth of games but because the quality of Rockstars gaming giant is just simply outstanding. If you've been living under a rock of the last 5 or so years and haven't played GTA 4, the all I gotta say is. Play the sh!t outta this masterpiece of pixellated awesomeness. It's that good. Play it. Go. Expand
  64. Apr 30, 2013
    10
    Loved it i have played it multiple times since launch day and it is still the highlight of my gaming collection.
    It features a great story once you get past the 20 odd tutorial missions and a huge open high def world that rivals most open worlds to this date in terms of detail put into the world.

    The characters are very well developed and the sounds are great.
  65. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. The graphics look amazing. The story line is great, the characters are amazing and the missions are awesome.
  66. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    I have never been a fan of the Grand Theft auto series due to the large maps and the ever increasing amount of rubbish you can do on them (get a hircut get tattoos and bunny hop over lampposts on bicycles). However i reluctantly agreed to purchase this game as a joint buy with my brother. Firstly i would like to say that the graphics have always lacked on these games due to the small discI have never been a fan of the Grand Theft auto series due to the large maps and the ever increasing amount of rubbish you can do on them (get a hircut get tattoos and bunny hop over lampposts on bicycles). However i reluctantly agreed to purchase this game as a joint buy with my brother. Firstly i would like to say that the graphics have always lacked on these games due to the small disc sizes and the large maps and information needed to be stored. With the blueray discs though the huge maps and information is still great but there is a hell of a lot more memory on the discs to produce some of the greatest graphics you will see.

    The storyline is by far the best on any GTA game that has preceeded this one. And the gameplay is so amazing that even when you run people down in your car, they never ever fell the same way twice.

    The reason i gave this game 4 and not 5 stars was purely because i didnt think the online multiplayer was good enough, the lobby system was poor and you are left hanging around for long.

    If you want this game as an online multiplayer then i can suggest some which are much better. For a one player arcade game however. look no further! It is amazing.
    Expand
  67. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    GTA IV is very nice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  68. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I love this game is perfect everything is just awesome in every department the story the graphics, the gameplay is just perfect the general vibe that the game ends up giving you all together with the freedom it deserves a ten cause it's perfect
  69. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Still my favorite game for the PS3 with the upgrade in car physics and fantastic storyline I have to give this game a 10 out of 10. for the past 6 years I been playing GTAIV over, and over, again beating it 100% three times and unlocking every trophy making it one of my first platinum trophy's for the PS3 my recommendation (Get it).
  70. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Best game out there so far, I mean the graphics and physics does still own some of the new games coming out. The game is filled with action and the free roam aspect is the best of all the free roam games out there. If you haven't played this game yet, then you have missed something big in your life.
  71. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    R* never fail to disappoint. While the map is limited compared to San Andreas, you can't help but feel attached to the characters and adore the weapons within the game. There's a bigger element of realism to GTA IV compared to all the previous games... but this makes it interesting to see progression unravel throughout the entire story. While the cars feel kind of cubic driving around inR* never fail to disappoint. While the map is limited compared to San Andreas, you can't help but feel attached to the characters and adore the weapons within the game. There's a bigger element of realism to GTA IV compared to all the previous games... but this makes it interesting to see progression unravel throughout the entire story. While the cars feel kind of cubic driving around in the new controls are much better than before. If you haven't played it before you do before V comes out. Expand
  72. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    This is currently the greatest videogame of all time imo. There's too many fans stuck in 2004. Ak47 and M4 in this game is even damn better than cod when you get use to them. At first I always thought that the GTA3 era was a better franchise but this **** just keeps growing and growing on you. The only downpoint in this game is friendships, dating and could have done better with the radioThis is currently the greatest videogame of all time imo. There's too many fans stuck in 2004. Ak47 and M4 in this game is even damn better than cod when you get use to them. At first I always thought that the GTA3 era was a better franchise but this **** just keeps growing and growing on you. The only downpoint in this game is friendships, dating and could have done better with the radio stations. Weapons:10/10. Driving: 9/10. Liberty City: 10/10. Characters:10/10. Soundtrack: 8/10. 100% Completion:10/10. Expand
  73. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    A good game as all the GTA series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  74. Jan 5, 2013
    10
    Bence GTA4 kadar derin bir hikayeye sahip oyun yoktur.Rockstar Games işini yapmayı biliyor.Ancak oyun ilk haliyle bir bug yuvası son sürüm patch'i yükelemeden asla oynamayın derim.İyi Oyunlar
  75. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is easily the best game I have ever played. The adaption of New York in this game is phenomenal, and the storyline is the most exciting and interesting I have ever experienced. Rockstar did an amazing job on this game, and I don't think it will ever be topped.
  76. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    Grand Theft Auto IV! So many things to say about this game! Rockstar's epic is simply amazing, and that is the reason it is the highest rated game on Metacritic. The story is amazing, it is fantastic throughout, and you can feel that a lot of work has been placed into it by the developer. Niko as a character is very well developed, a soldier coming into Liberty City, to the land ofGrand Theft Auto IV! So many things to say about this game! Rockstar's epic is simply amazing, and that is the reason it is the highest rated game on Metacritic. The story is amazing, it is fantastic throughout, and you can feel that a lot of work has been placed into it by the developer. Niko as a character is very well developed, a soldier coming into Liberty City, to the land of opportunity, to start a new life with his cousin Roman, but to also uncover some of the secrets of his past. This story will not be forgotten, and I find myself still knowing what Niko says throughout specific cut scenes. This story you will play again and again and you will never get bored of it. The real star of the game is Rockstar's imagination of New York City, Liberty City. So detailed and so closely related to NYC, so it is impossible not to love it! Also the cars, so realistic.
    This is one of my favorite video games ever, as it combines the fun combination of Grand Theft Auto into a more serious story, in a city where money is the key.
    This game should be in every gamer's collection, along with the 2 expansion packs of the game (especially The Ballad of Gay Tony.)
    Rockstar has simply done it again with this beautiful game, and pushes the bar even higher on open world games. The leap to the High Definition era is so big, and you will notice it just by comparing it to San Andreas. Of course, the game does not contain all the crazy things that San Andreas had like jet packs and planes, but it is beautiful in its own unique way. A must have!
    Expand
  77. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    When I first played Gta IV I was instantly hooked. The atmosphere in the game was amazing. Missions were addictive, story was nice. there were many memorable characters and funny laughs. I rented this at first and played it for 22 hour then re-rented it and played it for 24 more hours and beat the game. This game is my 2nd favourite sandbox of all time and this game is awesome. The flaws IWhen I first played Gta IV I was instantly hooked. The atmosphere in the game was amazing. Missions were addictive, story was nice. there were many memorable characters and funny laughs. I rented this at first and played it for 22 hour then re-rented it and played it for 24 more hours and beat the game. This game is my 2nd favourite sandbox of all time and this game is awesome. The flaws I had with the game were the predictable missions. But none the less, an awesome game 9/10 Expand
  78. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    There is not a single technical flaw with this game, however, that doesn't stop it from being under review of its entertainment factor. The only thing though is that it's just as fun. The script and dialogue is better than one would see in a high budget movie, all game mechanics are top notch, it plays smoothly, so much attention to detail you could waste time not even doing anything. "GTAThere is not a single technical flaw with this game, however, that doesn't stop it from being under review of its entertainment factor. The only thing though is that it's just as fun. The script and dialogue is better than one would see in a high budget movie, all game mechanics are top notch, it plays smoothly, so much attention to detail you could waste time not even doing anything. "GTA IV" is a definite no-brainer and should be a part of any gamer's collection. Expand
  79. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Great game! Loved the story, kept me interested in the game for a long time. The multiplayer could have been a bit better and more exciting. Also would have liked to see a bicycles and more cars in the game.
    But overall it's definitely worth buying
  80. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    It is impossible to accurately express the dazzling heights of game-making Rockstar reached in creating GTA IV. A game so immersive it became philosophical, GTA IV is the pinnacle of the series so far. Niko Bellic is a truly-likeable protagonist, turning the series away from Saints Row-esque stupidity in favour of more realism and true meaning. Congratulations Rockstar, you've conquered.
  81. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I keep good memories from this videogame. It was the first PS3 game I bought, the first I finished... It was made in 2008, and the graphics are still gorgeous nowadays. The best GTA talking about the story. Perhaps, a little bit more weird or absurd would make this game funnier. But, with his serious argument, this game is amazing.
  82. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    When this game first came out, I would have given it a 10. Being that I'm playing this in 2012, I have to rate it slightly lower. Don't get me wrong - the graphics still hold up, the game is fun, and the storyline is great. But there is one major complaint that I have that has been rectified in recent games - the controls. It is frustrating to fight in this game and the drivingWhen this game first came out, I would have given it a 10. Being that I'm playing this in 2012, I have to rate it slightly lower. Don't get me wrong - the graphics still hold up, the game is fun, and the storyline is great. But there is one major complaint that I have that has been rectified in recent games - the controls. It is frustrating to fight in this game and the driving mechanics are... odd. If these two issues are addressed in GTA V, the game will be solid. Expand
  83. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, I don't even have any words to describe it. Even in 2012 it is still one of the most revolutionary and graphically spectacular games. It exceeds many of the free-roam game today. Cant wait for GTAV
  84. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    The first time I played GTA was at the age of seven when GTA was released back in 1997. In my humble opinion GTA IV is a huge step forward, but in another view, a step back.

    + More mature and interesting storyline + Drastically improved driving physics and vehicle damage + A living, breathing city + Huge city - Repetitive and sometimes uninspired mission design (Go to A, shoot 10
    The first time I played GTA was at the age of seven when GTA was released back in 1997. In my humble opinion GTA IV is a huge step forward, but in another view, a step back.

    + More mature and interesting storyline
    + Drastically improved driving physics and vehicle damage
    + A living, breathing city
    + Huge city

    - Repetitive and sometimes uninspired mission design (Go to A, shoot 10 people, go to B)
    - To much blur and an awfull blue tint
    - Lack of interesting features outside of the storyline (clubs, barbershops, car dealerships etc.)
    - Lack of safehouses

    While some of these missing features was added i TBoGT many of them should have been in the game in the first place. I like the serious tone GTA IV story has, but the problem is, that outside of the story, the game often becomes repetetive and dull. There is simply not enough features; clubs, more races, drug deals, golf etc. Mission design is quite poor and the creativity (not talking about over-the-top action in TbOGT) is somehow diluted, and the game almost have the same mission design as in GTA III: Go there, kill a few people, go back.
    Expand
  85. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    GTA IV is one of the greatest experiences I've ever had. It is a must have for PS3 & 360 owners. It offers amazing graphics and game play. This game is huge its fun exploring the city and you can finally go in buildings it so fun having a massacre at the hospital. Even better than GTA 3 this game is the best in the series
  86. Oct 16, 2012
    8
    I feel like I'm judging the game too high by giving it an 8.
    The game's no where near to perfect. You'll get bored a couple weeks after buying it and only play it to kill random people and run around the city cause the story and campaign consist of the same boring bull crap missions in the previous games. (drive point A to point B.) or (kill this person).
    Overall it was a pretty damn
    I feel like I'm judging the game too high by giving it an 8.
    The game's no where near to perfect. You'll get bored a couple weeks after buying it and only play it to kill random people and run around the city cause the story and campaign consist of the same boring bull crap missions in the previous games. (drive point A to point B.) or (kill this person).
    Overall it was a pretty damn good game. Lots of customization options, missions and other things to do which is why the game is so charming,
    However being a dedicated fan of the series, I could no way in hell say it's better than San Andreas.
    Also no way in hell could I ever give this game a perfect 10 or rather a 9 for that matter, but it's still very well worth the $20 or $30 you'll pay for a used copy
    Expand
  87. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    GTA IV is more than a game. It's an experience that goes way beyond button bashing your controller. The story is magnificent but no surprises here. Everyone knows that Rockstar usually nails in this department. Technically the game is flawless for the common gamer (if there's any glitch didn't see it). Not a fan of the Multiplayer though. Other than this GTA IV will remain in gamersGTA IV is more than a game. It's an experience that goes way beyond button bashing your controller. The story is magnificent but no surprises here. Everyone knows that Rockstar usually nails in this department. Technically the game is flawless for the common gamer (if there's any glitch didn't see it). Not a fan of the Multiplayer though. Other than this GTA IV will remain in gamers memory as a reference and it will be benchmarked by everyone. Expand
  88. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Best game ever. Such a deep storyline and a few jaw dropping moments. Gameplay and driving is unreal realistic. And the characters are deadly. This game is the best GTA yet
  89. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    The brilliant gangster epic enthusiastic across the board. Starting with the very realistic graphics with impressive light effects, to use exciting and rich story that draws you from the start in its spell.
  90. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    GTA IV. a Masterpiece from Rockstar Games. don't listen to others its a GOOD GAME, STORY, everything. dont complain about the frame rate, its a 2008 game.
  91. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    Análisis por leandrogamer para metacritic, This review is in spanish!!!! Este análisis es en español!!!
    Grand theft auto IV: jugabilidad: un diez cerrado, los controles son cómodos y muy buenos, fácil de adaptarse a estos.
    historia: grandiosa historia, es emocionante y llena de personajes muy carismáticos, un ejemplo de estos es Roman bellic , un
    Análisis por leandrogamer para metacritic, This review is in spanish!!!! Este análisis es en español!!!
    Grand theft auto IV: jugabilidad: un diez cerrado, los controles son cómodos y muy buenos, fácil de adaptarse a estos.
    historia: grandiosa historia, es emocionante y llena de personajes muy carismáticos, un ejemplo de estos es Roman bellic , un grandioso personaje que a la vez de ser gracioso se mete fácilmente en líos. Pero el verdadero personaje que llega hasta los extremos en carisma es little jacob... no en realidad es NIKO BELLIC, su historia, su pasado, su vida todo en el esta bien hecho.
    gráficos: Aquí en este aspecto podemos decir aunque este análisis es del 2012 que este juego tiene de los mejores gráficos de las consolas de esta generación... no puede compararse con un skyrim ni con uncharted 3 pues estos son de estos años pero comparado con lo visto en el 2008 (año en el que salio) podemos decir que los chicos de rockstar se lucieron!!! un 10 tecnología: impresionantes las físicas del juego, el uso de euphoria y RAGE es fenomenal, los choques y los movimientos ultra naturales le valen a este juego un 10 en tecnología.
    sonido: grandioso un 10 cerrado, la cantidad de acentos que tiene este juego no se compara con ninguno, las radios hasta la lluvia están muy bien, mejor dicho excelentes a nivel sonoro, repito un 10 bien merecido.
    innovación: innova mucho, el uso del celular, del Internet, un multiplayer sin tener que recurrir al equipo SAMP, este juego innova y mucho!!!!! no se podría mencionar todo lo que innovo pero lo justifico con este 10.
    Finalmente podemos decir dos cosas malas de GTA IV:
    1) Puede que halla unos ligeros pero casi no notorios problemas en las físicas del juego pero no perjudican el resultado final de tecnología ni del juego 2)Que no dispongas el tiempo para poder jugar este grandioso juego
    Lo mejor: La historia, te atrapa ademas de que cuenta la posibilidad de elegir el destino de algunos personajes y los DLC !!!
    Espero que les haya gustado este análisis, lo hice para que haya un análisis que no tenga que ser traducido.
    Expand
  92. Jul 21, 2012
    10
    A phenomenal game which is perhaps the best game to come out on the PS3 so far. I have played the other GTAs and I felt that GTA 3 and Vice City were the best of the series with San Andreas not quite delivering up to the standards that we expect from such a great gaming franchise. The developers at Rockstar must have had a similar thinking process as they stepped up their efforts toA phenomenal game which is perhaps the best game to come out on the PS3 so far. I have played the other GTAs and I felt that GTA 3 and Vice City were the best of the series with San Andreas not quite delivering up to the standards that we expect from such a great gaming franchise. The developers at Rockstar must have had a similar thinking process as they stepped up their efforts to produce a game which delivers in every aspect. Expand
  93. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    I Love GTA's, I started from GTA:London in childhood, i loved it! I skipped GTA 3 but then my uncle did show me Gta Vice:City I WAS AMAZED oh my god, cars breaking and stuff. GTA:SA was my absolute favorite + online was amazing but GTA IV, IT looked epic, graphics and all. but something was missing.. where was the awsome planes and country? :( Story was with good sense of humor andI Love GTA's, I started from GTA:London in childhood, i loved it! I skipped GTA 3 but then my uncle did show me Gta Vice:City I WAS AMAZED oh my god, cars breaking and stuff. GTA:SA was my absolute favorite + online was amazing but GTA IV, IT looked epic, graphics and all. but something was missing.. where was the awsome planes and country? :( Story was with good sense of humor and enjoyable. Good game! 9/10 Expand
  94. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    The 2nd Best sandbox game, after GTA San Andreas. If only the adding some of the stuff CJ could with Niko Bellic. More custom mods for the cars and motor bikes. One item I miss, is the bmx bike, i hope they will put in the new GTA V game.
  95. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Spectacular game. One of my favorite games in this generation. The amount of freedom in this game is simply astounding...you can literally go anywhere and do anything you can think of. Almost every game has some major limitation that prevents you from doing something, but this game has almost no limitation. You can drive cars, drive motorcycles, drive boats, drive helicopters, jump youSpectacular game. One of my favorite games in this generation. The amount of freedom in this game is simply astounding...you can literally go anywhere and do anything you can think of. Almost every game has some major limitation that prevents you from doing something, but this game has almost no limitation. You can drive cars, drive motorcycles, drive boats, drive helicopters, jump you car off of ramps, run around on foot, shoot whatever you want, and blow up whatever you want...the fact that you can do all of these things in the same game is very impressive. No other game has so much going on in it, and yet Rockstar made all of these things fun and executed them well. Some games struggle to get one of these things right, yet Rockstar does them all well. Not to mention the city is interesting and full of variety, which makes it a great playground to drive around in...I love that the city has a lot of hills and uneven areas - this allows you to gleefully make your car spin out, jump, roll over, or whatever else you want to do with it...and the awesome car physics give your car a great sense of weight, which makes it so satisfying to watch your car soar through the air and come slamming down as the body wobbles from the impact. The car physics alone make this game worth playing. I actually think GTA's driving feels better and actual racing games. After experiencing this game, I can't see how any other game can be placed in the same league - the sheer amount of stuff crammed into this game just can't be matched. Expand
  96. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    The story could be much better. I felt bored for the story at the middle of the game somehow. Overall, the game is good and i like it. Graphic is great. The gameplay is great.
  97. May 25, 2012
    9
    Strong story, strong game, not my genre of gaming but still really enjoyed playing through this.

    Well worth the time invested if you haven't done so already.
  98. May 22, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best GTA games for one simple thing. Niko Bellic is the greatest character ever in an open world game. The way his life's story is told, and how they treat the character like a human and not a video game character is really nice. All of the characters in this game are through the roof. For gameplay the one gripe I have is how Niko handles a bike, it's garbage. And theThis is one of the best GTA games for one simple thing. Niko Bellic is the greatest character ever in an open world game. The way his life's story is told, and how they treat the character like a human and not a video game character is really nice. All of the characters in this game are through the roof. For gameplay the one gripe I have is how Niko handles a bike, it's garbage. And the radio commercials are great, but the music they chose is debatable. Besides these two small things, this is one of the best games this generation, I've actually played through the story 7 times now. Expand
  99. May 18, 2012
    10
    probably the best open world action-adventure video game made to date. There is so much to do and explore, even after you're done with the 20+ hour amazing storyline. Everything is beautiful and realistic in this game. And the online is suprisingly entertaining, a place where I can mess around for fun.
  100. May 12, 2012
    10
    Just ignore the trolls and naysayers this is the best game ever at this point you don't even need to do any missions since you would be wasting hours beating and pushing people off cliffs in other cars or train tracks.
  101. Apr 19, 2012
    0
    It was hard to imagine what more could Rockstar deliver after the near-perfect PS2 ''not-trilogy'' of GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas; and the news that Grand Theft Auto IV would return to Liberty City and embrace a more serious style of story and gameplay made many people worry. Well, Rockstar did it once again, and I dare to say this is the best game of the series to date. GTA IVIt was hard to imagine what more could Rockstar deliver after the near-perfect PS2 ''not-trilogy'' of GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas; and the news that Grand Theft Auto IV would return to Liberty City and embrace a more serious style of story and gameplay made many people worry. Well, Rockstar did it once again, and I dare to say this is the best game of the series to date. GTA IV delivers a perfect combination of solid gameplay, compelling story and stunning graphics. Characters are more real and charismatic than ever, to the point where you find yourself saying that the new thieving/murderous protagonist Niko Bellic is a good person. All characters shine, from the most important ones to the ones that give you just a couple of missions; and this is powered up by great dialogue and voice acting. For the first time in the series the city fells alive, and at every turn you find a new, interesting area to explore. For those who expected the crime havoc of the previous installments, a little disappointment will come: GTA IV really is a lot more realistic than its predecessors. But give it a chance, enjoy the great graphics and soundtrack and you will find yourself enjoying this great game in no time. Collapse
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]