Grand Theft Auto IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2780 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    5
    The biggest problem with the game is the controls. Could they have made driving not feel like a chore? And because they put the cheat system in the phone, its very difficult to access. San Andreas is better because it had more weapons, better controls, and better cheats. San Andreas has a jetpack and flying cars cheats and other great ones. Does GTA 4 have any of this? No.
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    The foundations for a next-gen GTA are there. Unfortunately, the content simply isn't anywhere near enough in the single player to class this as an open-world action-adventure. It's more of a linear shooter. The biggest failure in GTA history, but not a bad game in itself. Quality is high in all departments. What's there is really top notch - the cars, driving physics, combat system,The foundations for a next-gen GTA are there. Unfortunately, the content simply isn't anywhere near enough in the single player to class this as an open-world action-adventure. It's more of a linear shooter. The biggest failure in GTA history, but not a bad game in itself. Quality is high in all departments. What's there is really top notch - the cars, driving physics, combat system, facial detail, lighting... I could go on. My issue is with the things that are missing - which is variety, side missions, RPG elements, fun factor. I can see why this game has sold well- if you've never played a video game then this is the best place to start. Otherwise it's so repetitive, simple and mundane that you don't really appreciate the frightening attention to detail. All the little things have been rigourosly worked on, but this game has almost no ambition at all. It's basically a generation upgrade from GTA III, nothing more, nothing less. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    Technically this game is very good. The story is good, the ending of the story is one off the most gripping moments ever. But, why is this game gta? Why has this game an open world? There is nothing do do in the open world, not like in the previous gta games. The gameplay has improved a lot over previous installments but if they focused on the story, made this exact game but more linearTechnically this game is very good. The story is good, the ending of the story is one off the most gripping moments ever. But, why is this game gta? Why has this game an open world? There is nothing do do in the open world, not like in the previous gta games. The gameplay has improved a lot over previous installments but if they focused on the story, made this exact game but more linear and focus more on the gameplay it could've been so much better. Such a big and beautiful world and nothing to do in it. It's a shame. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    My honest opinion is that this game is overrated. Everything you expect from GTA is here; guns, police, violence, explosions, cars, gangs. Its good, but no where near as good as Batman Arkham City...
  5. Jan 6, 2016
    7
    Whilst GTA IV had the recipe for one of the greatest games of all time, it couldn't really capture the magic a Grand Theft Auto game would truly need to excel. GTA IV was far too dark, the main character was one dimensional and the game simply lacked the vibrant world it had the potential to produce. Nevertheless, it provided a premise that could perhaps be fulfilled in later instalments.
  6. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    i think this is a pretty good game with obviously a few exceptions. first off the graphics are not all that great but when you look at the size of the city you play in and the fact that there are no loading pauses they are actually good and definatly better than past GTA games.the online is compleate garbage unless you have the game filled up with 15 other people but good luck findingi think this is a pretty good game with obviously a few exceptions. first off the graphics are not all that great but when you look at the size of the city you play in and the fact that there are no loading pauses they are actually good and definatly better than past GTA games.the online is compleate garbage unless you have the game filled up with 15 other people but good luck finding others to play with. the story is pretty good in my opinion and people may say it is boring and all you do is kill but there are a variety of missions (albiet not a very wide range) and you will have fun as long as you have a health cheat because some of the missions are just impossible to do if you dont have cheats enabled and you will just get frustrated. besides the story there is the obvious just go on killing rampages which always put a smile on my face but there are also added things that you could do like call up one of the in game friends and go bowling or see a show (the stand up comedy club is so funny it is just a shame that they did not have more to watch) and you can even go on dates although i am not sure what the point of adding that was. i wish they had kept the ambulance and taxi missions but this is still a great game and you should play it at least once especially since it is only $20 brand new and i dont see another GTA coming out in the near future Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2015
    6
    GTA Vice City and GTA San Andreas on the PS2 were some of the best games ever created. Beautiful graphics, excellent soundtrack, good gameplay...

    GTA IV on the PS3 must be a huge step forward, right? Unfortunately that's wrong, GTA IV took almost all the fun out of previous instalments and replaced it with a boring game with bad controls. Especially the driving sucks big time
    GTA Vice City and GTA San Andreas on the PS2 were some of the best games ever created. Beautiful graphics, excellent soundtrack, good gameplay...

    GTA IV on the PS3 must be a huge step forward, right? Unfortunately that's wrong, GTA IV took almost all the fun out of previous instalments and replaced it with a boring game with bad controls. Especially the driving sucks big time (motorbikes!) and the shooting, which admittedly never was the strong point of GTA, is not much better.

    The main character is uninteresting and the graphics are not colorful and rather bland. Everything looks kinda yellowish.

    Luckily both DLC's (The Lost and Damned, and The Ballad of Gay Tony) are rumored to be much better than the main story of GTA IV.

    But there is now an online feature, that will spice things up considerably, right? Not really, the online gameplay is not very good since the controls are so bad and you have to wait ages to get the game started.

    With GTA IV Rockstar was trying to make their most popular game series more serious and realistic, but it ended up being just ugly and boring. Luckily GTA V (2013) put the series back on track, that game is beautiful and fun and in my opinion the best game on PS3 (although still with a lacking online game mode).

    I rate GTA IV 6 out of 10.
    Expand
  8. Sep 29, 2013
    5
    No me maten, pero en mi opinión personal hubiera podido ser infinitamente mejor, pero cuando digo "infinitamente" significa que obviamente y conociendo a Rockstar hubieran podido hacer algo excesivamente mejor. Un mapa muy pequeño, gráficos que dejan mucho que desear, la jugabilidad es mala, no puedes hacer tanta variedad de cosas como en las anteriores entregas. Pero me diviertoNo me maten, pero en mi opinión personal hubiera podido ser infinitamente mejor, pero cuando digo "infinitamente" significa que obviamente y conociendo a Rockstar hubieran podido hacer algo excesivamente mejor. Un mapa muy pequeño, gráficos que dejan mucho que desear, la jugabilidad es mala, no puedes hacer tanta variedad de cosas como en las anteriores entregas. Pero me divierto atropellando peatones y tirándome desde los techos, pero me hace quedar como idiota, espero que se esfuercen con "Grand Theft Auto V". Expand
  9. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    This game is not impressive. I was pumped when this game came out, but when i played it I simply did not enjoy playing it. Got tired of it very quickly. They took too much of what i loved about san andreas out of this installment.
  10. Dec 31, 2012
    5
    GTA4 has too many issues, too many repetitive missions, and too many downfalls to be considered anything else than over-hyped. The story could have been more addictive, and the missions are either too easy or way-too-hard. There are so few true innovations, and overall it feels like a step backwards, which is a huge disappointment, especially for such masters as Rockstar.
  11. Nov 10, 2010
    5
    This game is the most overrated ever, the gun sounds sound fake, they swear all the time, the game seems a bit goofy, you can hardly enter any buildings and there just isnt much to do. What a bore
  12. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    Although GTA IV makes its debut as a "next-gen" title for the PS3 and Xbox 360, it has fell short in terms of visuals and fun gameplay to introduce a more realistic approach to the series. At best, it can be described as a title in its respective series that improves upon the core elements of any sandbox title to a startling degree: story, firefights, driving/walking physics, open-worldAlthough GTA IV makes its debut as a "next-gen" title for the PS3 and Xbox 360, it has fell short in terms of visuals and fun gameplay to introduce a more realistic approach to the series. At best, it can be described as a title in its respective series that improves upon the core elements of any sandbox title to a startling degree: story, firefights, driving/walking physics, open-world level design, all of which feel more real and authentic. However the most important element in any sandbox title is replay value. So can you honestly tell me that you enjoy getting calls from your cousin to go bowling? It's not the worst game I've ever played but it's not very memorable either. Expand
  13. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    The Graphics and the fact the GTA 4 is massive is fantastic. However GTA 4 is let down big time on the gameplay. It baffles me that critics can give it such a good score while being aware of this. The story isn't very interesting nor is the character very likeable. The mission are very very repetative, and it's usually the duller ones that are the most frustrating. Wondering aroundThe Graphics and the fact the GTA 4 is massive is fantastic. However GTA 4 is let down big time on the gameplay. It baffles me that critics can give it such a good score while being aware of this. The story isn't very interesting nor is the character very likeable. The mission are very very repetative, and it's usually the duller ones that are the most frustrating. Wondering around the game doing your own thing is the most fun you'll get out of this game, as the makers don't seem to understand what variation means. It's generally just Drive from A to B, Kill everyone, Drive to C. Expand
  14. Jun 19, 2013
    6
    First off, I am a HUGE Grand Theft Auto fan (GTA III, Vice City & San Andreas were all amazing). When it came to GTA IV, simply put the characters and story were lacking greatly. You were in a concrete jungle the entire time and could not even get into a helicopter or airplane. Graphics were great, controls were better than average. But not sure what went wrong, but this should haveFirst off, I am a HUGE Grand Theft Auto fan (GTA III, Vice City & San Andreas were all amazing). When it came to GTA IV, simply put the characters and story were lacking greatly. You were in a concrete jungle the entire time and could not even get into a helicopter or airplane. Graphics were great, controls were better than average. But not sure what went wrong, but this should have been so much better. Easily the worst GTA in the series. Thank goodness Rockstar made up for it with Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  15. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    The game has too many annoyances for me to play. I would put it lower, but the game still has a hint of the wacky freedom you see in GTA. But with that said it has an annoying friend mechanic, a story too dark for GTA, and some really annoying missions.
  16. Aug 25, 2011
    6
    I played this game for a week and feel bad that I didn't give it a second chance or anything. But I kind of wanted to play through the game as like a good, good guy and thought that that was kind of difficult. Like I don't enjoy just going around crashing cars and stuff, which I know is the main appeal of this game for a lot of people. There's really not much to do in the city, or at leastI played this game for a week and feel bad that I didn't give it a second chance or anything. But I kind of wanted to play through the game as like a good, good guy and thought that that was kind of difficult. Like I don't enjoy just going around crashing cars and stuff, which I know is the main appeal of this game for a lot of people. There's really not much to do in the city, or at least the beginning. You can't understand a single word the Jamaican guy(s) say(s) so it's best to turn on subtitles for at least those parts. Driving controls kind of blow as in every. single. Rockstar. game. I did like the different camera options you had when driving. I also liked the cell phone, that was kind of cool. The characters were fairly interesting, I just wasn't really into the story being Niko running errands around for the big dogs. Expand
  17. Jan 12, 2015
    6
    While GTA IV had more of a dark story, the overall 'everything' for this game is quite disappointing.

    7 years later, GTA IV is still boring after story completion, and there isn't anything to do afterwards, unless you like killing pigeons across LC. For this game to get a 98, and for GTA V to get a 97 is quite ridiculous. When I played the game in 2008, I still had the same
    While GTA IV had more of a dark story, the overall 'everything' for this game is quite disappointing.

    7 years later, GTA IV is still boring after story completion, and there isn't anything to do afterwards, unless you like killing pigeons across LC.

    For this game to get a 98, and for GTA V to get a 97 is quite ridiculous.

    When I played the game in 2008, I still had the same opinion I have now.

    I give this game a 6.5/10, because the story is the only thing that had me on this game for more.
    Expand
  18. Nov 12, 2014
    6
    Full disclosure: I haven't really been a GTA fan since the first game. I'm not exactly sure why. Maybe it's how easy the games are. Like it's incredibly dumbed down so everyone can skate by with ease.

    GTA IV is no different. They really need a difficulty level option or something. This particular GTA I found somewhat boring. The variety of things you can do is nice, but each
    Full disclosure: I haven't really been a GTA fan since the first game. I'm not exactly sure why. Maybe it's how easy the games are. Like it's incredibly dumbed down so everyone can skate by with ease.

    GTA IV is no different. They really need a difficulty level option or something.

    This particular GTA I found somewhat boring. The variety of things you can do is nice, but each mini-game is even more boring than the main game, which at least has some interesting aspects to it. I find the protagonist bland, and most of the supporting characters highly annoying. The story is lackluster, at least as much of it as I saw. I only got about 10 hours in before I gave up on the game.

    Here's hoping GTA V will hold my interest when it comes out on PC this January!
    Expand
  19. Mar 31, 2012
    7
    2011:
    I loved GTA III, Vice City was one of my favs, I felt that san andreas was losing a little from its sights, and now GTA iv. Well, the game wasn't all that engaging actually after all is said and done. Sure there are some great moments, the story and characters are very well done as always, but for me the game was almost too overwelhming. Things like having a girlfriend, checking
    2011:
    I loved GTA III, Vice City was one of my favs, I felt that san andreas was losing a little from its sights, and now GTA iv. Well, the game wasn't all that engaging actually after all is said and done. Sure there are some great moments, the story and characters are very well done as always, but for me the game was almost too overwelhming. Things like having a girlfriend, checking email, going out, tended to add to much, which luckily it is all optional, but it still feels like your missing out if not doing these things. The car physics were horrid, never could drive it. I miss the old GTA, especially vice city, remember the stolen car lists, the taxi, vigilante, ect. missions. These were the side missions that i thought were good and not a distraction like in Gta iv. I didn't walk away impressed with the game.
    Expand
  20. Mar 17, 2012
    7
    I really don't see why this game has gotten so many perfect scores, it's a great game but it is definitely not perfect. I thought the story was really good, Nico is a really interesting character but there are too many characters. Throughout the game you meet so many people and it makes it hard to follow the story sometimes, however most of these characters are pretty cool. The gameplayI really don't see why this game has gotten so many perfect scores, it's a great game but it is definitely not perfect. I thought the story was really good, Nico is a really interesting character but there are too many characters. Throughout the game you meet so many people and it makes it hard to follow the story sometimes, however most of these characters are pretty cool. The gameplay has been improved but it's still far from perfect, the cover system gets really awkward in tight spaces so its easy to end up dying because of it and the driving, while very enjoyable for the most part, has its problems when you have to chase someone. These flaws could easily be forgiven if there were checkpoints in the missions but for some reason Rockstar have decided that it would be better to have to restart the entire mission every time you fail! When you throw in the flaws with the controls it can get very frustrating! Its not all bad though, if you just want to travel round the city and have fun stealing cars and beating people up, you'll have a great time, the free roam aspect of this game is nailed brilliantly and the amount of things that there are today boggles the mind. The multiplayer, while not extremely addictive, is pretty good as long as you're playing with plenty of people. This game shows its problems when you're trying to play the story line, don't get me wrong its not a bad game, i enjoyed quite alot of it, but there are many problems that I can not over look. Expand
  21. Jan 9, 2013
    5
    most overrated game of all time san andreas is much better overall

    GOOD:graphics r very nice and realistic andd detailed bad: the driving, the map is small, the missions, the characters

    so if only they made the game with different missions and expanded the map this game couldve been the best ever still have ery high hopes for GTA V!
  22. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    Great sandbox game. What makes this game is really the city and how dynamic it feels. The physics are nice and the graphics awesome. Really like the main character too. He is cool. :-D
  23. Aug 18, 2010
    7
    While no one can say that Grand Theft Auto IV is a bad game, there's no denying that a lot of what made the series so fun and addictive in the first place is sorely missing from this entry. Tanks, parachutes, planes, push bikes, and inventive cheats are just some of the omissions, which make the fourth main entry in the series feel incredibly diluted in comparison to the previous behemoth,While no one can say that Grand Theft Auto IV is a bad game, there's no denying that a lot of what made the series so fun and addictive in the first place is sorely missing from this entry. Tanks, parachutes, planes, push bikes, and inventive cheats are just some of the omissions, which make the fourth main entry in the series feel incredibly diluted in comparison to the previous behemoth, San Andreas. The graphics, gameplay, and story have all been improved upon though, and the incredible Euphoria physics engine makes the game a joy to play. If a future entry brings back the inventiveness of San Andreas, improves the graphics further and implements the Euphoria engine, Rockstar may well have the best game of this generation on their hands. Expand
  24. May 4, 2013
    6
    An average story, with actually not that good characters, the graphics are decent, the gameplay is good with a lot of guns and the normal stuff on a GTA game but unfortunately not much else. It's average GTA game, not the best but not the worst either.
  25. Aug 13, 2013
    7
    The game is good I admit but its ower rated.. its not 10/10 game... you ahve a 4 city sandbox game with lot of things to do but the story line, the physics... They ruin stuff
  26. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    This game is not bad, but certainly it isn't a masterpiece i don't know how this is the best game in all metacritic history, i mean San Andreas was a lot better than GTA4 i hope Rockstar make an awesome GTA with the next one.
  27. Sep 16, 2013
    5
    I guess for its time it was good but when other, better Rockstar Games release and they don't have a score close to this, you are going to have a problem. I don't really understand how this boring game got rated so high, games like Red Dead Redemption should have had this score. The DLC made this game 100 times better
  28. May 21, 2011
    6
    Why must i forever be fat Niko? Average gameplay, average story, removal of some key things like the gym. Like no aircrafts at all.

    p.s. this 150 minimum words is really quite annoying.
  29. Aug 23, 2014
    6
    I can understand the "pros" 98% but I fell sorry when some users give a 10 to a boring and repetitive game like this. The multiplayer can be fun and the story aspect of the game is great but the gameplay is absolute trash. Really disappointed with this one Rockstar.
  30. Jun 12, 2014
    7
    It may not be the best gta game but it is one of the best games I have ever played. Its got great graphics, great voice acting, so many memorable characters, good sound track, good realistic driving physics and one of the best stories I have ever seen in a videogame.
    But that doesn't mean the game doesn't have problems. Sometimes the framerate drops when the action gets too explosive, so
    It may not be the best gta game but it is one of the best games I have ever played. Its got great graphics, great voice acting, so many memorable characters, good sound track, good realistic driving physics and one of the best stories I have ever seen in a videogame.
    But that doesn't mean the game doesn't have problems. Sometimes the framerate drops when the action gets too explosive, so many nice features from San Andreas and other previous gta games have been removed, its smaller than San Andreas and once you have finished the game there aren't a lot of fun activities to do but once you are in this situation you can always have fun with your friends using online multiplayer(just check out KYR Speedy's videos on youtube).
    My verdict is that even though its different from previous gta games its still a great game for current gen because of its graphics and physics but don't go into this game expecting it to find features from other gta games just play to experience the thrill of playing a gta game on a new gen of consoles.
    Expand
  31. Apr 14, 2015
    5
    It's 2015, maybe I tried this game too late, but it feel it very outdated from every aspect: graphics, controls, driving model, etc. Maybe GTA V will be way better on PC.
  32. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    Not a bad game, but not one to write home about either. Put aside all the hype and the fact that there is a large amount of game play, what is left is a game that is just slightly above average. Unless you are a completest, I would recommend to play just the main storyline. Everything else is just filler meant to suck away you time from better games.
  33. May 8, 2012
    6
    GTA4 is just more GTA and if that's what ya like more power to ya. Myself on the other hand was looking for maybe something new. I will say that it's better than San andres but still not as good as liberty city. Basically this game was just a big disappointment all the way around.
  34. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    Overrated. I can't believe how high of score this gets, this is the worst GTA game. The world may be huge, but it's uninspired. The characters are dull. The controls are horrible. Even though you can get this for cheap, just pick up San Andreas on PS2 instead.
  35. Jan 4, 2014
    6
    Its a great game but compare to previous GTA, its a huge setback despite the graphics. The story is great for a videogame but not movie standard, the gameplay is a hit or miss, the graphics is great for 2008 but the physic engine is stupid as hell, the driving is realistic but its so annoying and a pain in the ass to drive any vehicle and after you complete all the mission, you got nothingIts a great game but compare to previous GTA, its a huge setback despite the graphics. The story is great for a videogame but not movie standard, the gameplay is a hit or miss, the graphics is great for 2008 but the physic engine is stupid as hell, the driving is realistic but its so annoying and a pain in the ass to drive any vehicle and after you complete all the mission, you got nothing else to do with Singplayer campaign like in San Andreas. Expand
  36. Feb 1, 2013
    7
    GTA 4 is a slight downgrade from the previous games in the series, it is missing many of the elements that made the previous installments of the series amazing games but at the same time adds some cool new stuff also. The biggest negative this game has is it's story missions and side missions, these felt like a repetitive bore rather than a supposed amazing experience that they wereGTA 4 is a slight downgrade from the previous games in the series, it is missing many of the elements that made the previous installments of the series amazing games but at the same time adds some cool new stuff also. The biggest negative this game has is it's story missions and side missions, these felt like a repetitive bore rather than a supposed amazing experience that they were promised to be. Most characters in the game felt boring and uninteresting even the main character of newly settled Liberty city resident Niko Belic, who just acts like a angry and unfunny stereotypical Russian thought the entire game along with his funny and more interesting cousin Roman Belic.

    Another major negative about this game is the decreased map size and lack of vehicles in the game. What made the previous GTA games great is the pure and utter stupidity of them, with over the top vehicles like the hover car or the jet pack and the massive map size with unique and interesting locations to explore like military bases. But GTA 4 falters massively in these categories. It's map size is smaller than previous GTA games like San Andreas and at the same time more uninteresting to explore, with shooting pigeons and playing darts the only to really do. The vehicles in the game are also much more uninspired than previous games, instead of running people down in tanks or causing some chaos in jets, you instead can grab a ride in a taxi and explore the bland area of Liberty city for the insane price of $20 in game dollars. However GTA 4 delivers really well on some features. The multiplayer is a prime example of this, with 14 excellent game modes and a massive 8 players party mode the bland Liberty City can become a hectic and thrilling place. Although there are still some lag and connection problems in the multiplayer. Also worth noting is the visuals of GTA 4 as they are nothing short of amazing and really help make you feel that you are walking around in Liberty city.

    Overall GTA 4 is a great game with many flaws, major and minor, but still delivers well on multiplayer and just overall fun. I recommend anybody should go out and buy this game as it offers much enjoyment and epicness. 7/10-Great.
    Expand
  37. Apr 21, 2016
    7
    Un juego de transición entre GTA San Andreas y GTA V, Cuando se lanzo gráficamente (a mi) me parecía bestial, no tenia la ps3 y la quería por este juego, estaba obsesionado (Ya había jugado a sagas anteriores) El juego en historia es un poco flojo aunque tiene misiones muy divertidas. Y el Multijugador (Aunque no es lo mismo que el GTA V y el Samp de San Andreas) lo disfrute en su épocaUn juego de transición entre GTA San Andreas y GTA V, Cuando se lanzo gráficamente (a mi) me parecía bestial, no tenia la ps3 y la quería por este juego, estaba obsesionado (Ya había jugado a sagas anteriores) El juego en historia es un poco flojo aunque tiene misiones muy divertidas. Y el Multijugador (Aunque no es lo mismo que el GTA V y el Samp de San Andreas) lo disfrute en su época muchísimo, Si quieres este juego solo te lo recomiendo para jugar la campaña y hacer el chorra por Nueva York, Porque para eso ya tienes el GTA V que esta mas pensado para ello. Expand
  38. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    This game does lots of things well, but I
  39. Feb 18, 2012
    6
    Cheesy and boring characters with the same patheitc moral struggles as San Andreas. Mowing down hundreds of pedestrians does not fit with that kind of crap. I need to be mute or a psychopath. Features that got added in every increment since GTA1 have been chopped and you have this barebones gameplay where you can't fly, heavily modify your character, buy properties everywhere etc. etc.Cheesy and boring characters with the same patheitc moral struggles as San Andreas. Mowing down hundreds of pedestrians does not fit with that kind of crap. I need to be mute or a psychopath. Features that got added in every increment since GTA1 have been chopped and you have this barebones gameplay where you can't fly, heavily modify your character, buy properties everywhere etc. etc. Obviously they are setting up the sequels to include these in the hope that it will have the same impact as your first helicopter ride in Vice City. It's an admission that they can't come up with anything new or fresh to add. The cops are way too difficult to shake if you get beyong 3 stars, which is part of the realism but again limits the amount of mass murder you can commit, and makes it more like real life. The cars are not fun to drive, performance is affected too much by crashes and in fact the physics seem less realistic than older games. It feels like tweaking has been done to the handling itself rather than the actual physics to give it an appearance of realism. So do you go for driving simulator or arcade style fun handling? Please pick one and don't half do either style. The music sucks. The story is utterly forgettable, I mean I really didn't care the whole way through. Roman is incredibly annoying, and not funny. Not very much in this game is funny actually. Or fun. Or interesting. Gets 6/10 because it is huge, and better than the alternatives in the same genre. But compared to its predecessors it is way off being a great game. Expand
  40. Nov 27, 2011
    6
    Despite its reputation as a controversial yet excellent game, this game has a good and a bad side. The good side of GTA IV is: (1) the improved graphics from the previous GTA games, (2) its addition of realism, (3) the goofy yet awkward reactions from Liberty City people and the LCPD, (4) The rampages and massacres in LC add the fun to the game, (5) GTA IV has a story with multiple endingsDespite its reputation as a controversial yet excellent game, this game has a good and a bad side. The good side of GTA IV is: (1) the improved graphics from the previous GTA games, (2) its addition of realism, (3) the goofy yet awkward reactions from Liberty City people and the LCPD, (4) The rampages and massacres in LC add the fun to the game, (5) GTA IV has a story with multiple endings and plot twists, and (6), Playing as an immigrant from Yugoslavia is quite unique in the GTA games. However, there is a bad side to GTA IV, and they are: (1) Less weapons unlike in San Andreas, (2) Less appealing automobiles and more mediocre cars, (3) The friend system with the cell phone can get annoying at times, especially when friends abruptly call you while you are still busy orchestrating an epic massacre in LC, (4) Survivng and escaping feuds against police is too easy when compared to previous GTA games, (5) Less accessible buildings than what players had expected, (6) the camera focusing on the player can get awkward sometimes, and (7), the most important drawback to GTA IV is that the campaign missions are repetitive and can get boring as you play the campaign again. This is evidenced by lack of mission uniqueness and missions virtually involve driving to the specific place then kill person A. Despite the drawbacks of the game, I still find GTA IV as fun and decent unlike the previous GTA games. Expand
  41. Feb 9, 2014
    6
    I remember playing this when it first came out and I also picked it up more recently as it was so cheap. I planned to play through and complete the game but unfortunately I have not. The game is by no means bad, lets face it, there are some pretty poor games out there and GTA IV is better than most games. However it just did not get me gripped enough to complete it. It must come down toI remember playing this when it first came out and I also picked it up more recently as it was so cheap. I planned to play through and complete the game but unfortunately I have not. The game is by no means bad, lets face it, there are some pretty poor games out there and GTA IV is better than most games. However it just did not get me gripped enough to complete it. It must come down to the fact that this GTA is much more restrictive and less fun than say GTA San Andreas on the ps2. What I remember of GTA growing up is that I used to just put it on, not to play missions all the time, but just to have a laugh, drive fast, fly planes or whatever. GTA IV kind of lost a lot of that. The story is decent and the missions fine overall. But I don't think there is enough variety to keep me entertained through was it probably quite a long game (at least if you do side missions etc).

    I have decided to leave this now as I cannot bring myself to play it anymore in order to complete it. After all I should not be forcing myself to play it. Maybe I am being slightly harsh as this game is a number of years old now. I have not yet played GTA V and I plan to pick that up - it is clear that there is more to do so hopefully I will have more fun with that.

    GTA IV is a decent game, especially when it was first released, but it did not do enough to keep me hooked on completing the game. Online again seemed ok but I did not play it online so much. For me an open world game like this needs more to do outside of missions. Higher hopes for GTA V.

    Overall I give 6/10.
    Expand
  42. May 12, 2011
    6
    What happened?!? How did this go so wrong??? I was so unbelievably excited about this game, and I thought for the first 5 minutes that it would be as great as I had always hoped... and then it just wasn't. I can't particularly put my finger on an exact reason why... I'm going to blame GTA san andreas, which just set my hopes so high. Sure GTAIV has a great story line, interestingWhat happened?!? How did this go so wrong??? I was so unbelievably excited about this game, and I thought for the first 5 minutes that it would be as great as I had always hoped... and then it just wasn't. I can't particularly put my finger on an exact reason why... I'm going to blame GTA san andreas, which just set my hopes so high. Sure GTAIV has a great story line, interesting characters (If a little stereotypical and annoying) and sometimes fun gameplay... but I've seen it all before and I didn't get sucked into the world in the same way I have in previous iterations. No customisation, a bland city with such a small amount of variety....... How did it go downhill so much from SA??? Overall I think this is a fun game, but one of the most over-rated of all time. Expand
  43. Feb 1, 2014
    6
    Not Going to lie that i had some fun playing this game,dating,blowing stuff up,hang out with friends BUT they removed some of the fun sides of gta san andreas like hairstyle,Not really that big city.They only focused it on the graphics and stuff.But still it has a great storyline
  44. Oct 27, 2010
    6
    I bought this game the day it came out. After played the hell out of San Sndreas, how could I now. The graphics blew me away and the opening scene and music is just awesome. Aiming is great and puts the camera right in the action. Problem with the game?
    After a while the missions are just work. Where is all of the fun? Where are the harrier jets, mustang fighter planes, jet packs, 3' long
    I bought this game the day it came out. After played the hell out of San Sndreas, how could I now. The graphics blew me away and the opening scene and music is just awesome. Aiming is great and puts the camera right in the action. Problem with the game?
    After a while the missions are just work. Where is all of the fun? Where are the harrier jets, mustang fighter planes, jet packs, 3' long **** for weapons, etc...? The best part of San Andreas was the wacky stuff in the game. I havent played the game since the first week. Maybe it gets better, but without a chance of stealing a 777, what's the point.

    Graphics = 10
    Gameplay = 8.5
    FUN = 5
    Expand
  45. Aug 9, 2012
    5
    This game is far from perfect, there is nothing innovative, the characters are not likable, the story is unoriginal, and the game just consist of stealing cars, killing innocent people,. and boring side quests. This game is not anywhere near as good as some of these people say. I liked GTA 3 better, and i don't like GTA that much period.
  46. Sep 20, 2014
    7
    This game is overrated. Reasons? This game has done nothing new for the series as a whole, nor was it too interesting. GTA San Andreas was much better, brought a lot more to this game series and was actually pretty fun because it felt more immersive. I'm actually not sure what feeling of accomplishment or fun that I should be deriving from this game because all you are looking for isThis game is overrated. Reasons? This game has done nothing new for the series as a whole, nor was it too interesting. GTA San Andreas was much better, brought a lot more to this game series and was actually pretty fun because it felt more immersive. I'm actually not sure what feeling of accomplishment or fun that I should be deriving from this game because all you are looking for is either money, weapons, or cars. Not something that big of a deal considering all you are going to do with that is either kill for more money, weapons, or cars and the gameplay is not that great or fun enough to keep one's interest. The one thing that it did good on for the series was perhaps the story, but it wasn't really enough to continue to captivate my interest. Expand
  47. Feb 14, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After playing the outstanding PS2 GTAs I thought that on the PS3, the game would be fantastic.
    When I started the game, I thought it was pretty good, but soon after, I found it wasn't as fun as I had hoped.
    Graphically, the game is great, seeing as it was released in 2008.
    Liberty City is a great setting, the city has great detail and has some cool easter eggs. However, compared to the huge San Andreas, this feels really small and I found myself driving from the airport to the other side in no time.
    The characters are kind of a mixed back, I feel alienated by Nikos views on violence. Many a time would I hear things like "Blah blah I did terrible things at the war, cousin, blah blah." Right after he shot an employer (of sorts) in the head for having an affair with his cousins girlfriend. I do enjoy his random quotes after getting hit by cars or failing a mission.
    The other main characters are ok for the most part. Except for cousin Roman. He is the most annoying
    person in any video game ever. Brucie is kind of annoying but kind of funny. I like Jacob for some reason.

    I can't stand the tone of the game. On the internet, you find news stories that may be related to your actions in the storyline, they're funny but you may not even see them. Mostly the game is all dull and dreary, with a grey feel to everything.

    The gameplay is decent, I love the car control sometimes, but in missions when chasing people (as you will be with the very few unique missions in the game, mostly you just have to hunt someone, chase someone or intercept a drug deal) it gets so annoying. Cars control like a man in dress shoes on an ice rink. Shooting is quite alright.
    The pastimes are so tedious though, quite often you get a call from Roman or one of your other friends asking if you want to go bowling, I think you can disable these but if you do go bowling or whatever, its quite boring and tedious.

    This game had alot of good features and alot of bad ones, neither outweigh eachother.
    Expand
  48. Feb 5, 2015
    6
    I played GTA:San Andreas for PS2 to death. That's why I'm disappointed with this game. I played it without the updates when I had no internet connection so maybe I'm talking about something that has been fixed (but I don't think so). I was strongly hoping that the amazing character that Rockstar created for this title was not going to fall into the same storyline plot of every GTA title.I played GTA:San Andreas for PS2 to death. That's why I'm disappointed with this game. I played it without the updates when I had no internet connection so maybe I'm talking about something that has been fixed (but I don't think so). I was strongly hoping that the amazing character that Rockstar created for this title was not going to fall into the same storyline plot of every GTA title. It wasn't the case. The plot was flat and it lacked thrilling elements. You can make some choices during the story but in no way you can alterate the flow of events, and, let's be honest, it's always the same criminal story featured in every GTA (but San Andreas, there was the "gang war" theme). There are still some fun features like the "get drunk" thing, or the mini games that you play in some locations (like bowling with Roman, you sure heard of that), but they removed all those things that really sticked me to the display for hours when playing San Andreas. Not a bad game after all, but it could have been made better, it's for games like this that people like me leaves a franchise, I have no interest in GTA5 and I will not buy it because of this game, try Sleeping Dogs instead! Expand
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    I like me some GTA. And this is like... next gen GTA. But that's where the fun stops. I dislike this game the more I play it. Niko is unlikeable. He's too shy, never wants to talk about the plot. Someone will say "Hey, Niko! Why did you come to America?" And he'll respond something like, "I don't want to talk about it." Well, **** Now I'm curious. So the story sucks, theI like me some GTA. And this is like... next gen GTA. But that's where the fun stops. I dislike this game the more I play it. Niko is unlikeable. He's too shy, never wants to talk about the plot. Someone will say "Hey, Niko! Why did you come to America?" And he'll respond something like, "I don't want to talk about it." Well, **** Now I'm curious. So the story sucks, the characters are entirely annoying. My favorite was the in-your-face bro, because at least i expected him to be annoying. The NPCs are always bothering you, calling you, talking about stupid stuff. They want to go play mini-games that aren't fun. I don't understand. The gameplay seems to have gone downhill as well. Like, there's a little green line that shows you where to go on the mini-map. It's really helpful if you're, you know, stupid or lazy. I guess people like this one because it has "modern graphics" but I'm not even sure it looks so hot. Motion blur sucks, that's not an opinion. It has a weird grainy quality to it, not a film grain, more like a blurry this-is-the-best-we-could-do quality. Niko leans when he turns, this was the deal breaker for me. Do people tilt back and forth when they walk around corners? I never noticed it before. Seems minor, but you literally have to look at this animation constantly while playing. I'm tired of thinking about this game. Expand
  50. Sep 17, 2012
    6
    A departure from the series. Everything that made GTA memorable was lost, and I mean everything; from the dark, quirky humour, to the popular culture references, to the things we have come to associate with GTA... **** as weapons, jetpacks, miniguns, flamethrowers, gangs, planes, prostitutes, storming mansions. All gone, and in its place we have a very serious, stern and boring experienceA departure from the series. Everything that made GTA memorable was lost, and I mean everything; from the dark, quirky humour, to the popular culture references, to the things we have come to associate with GTA... **** as weapons, jetpacks, miniguns, flamethrowers, gangs, planes, prostitutes, storming mansions. All gone, and in its place we have a very serious, stern and boring experience that tries to prop itself up with good graphics and driving mechanics. This game is not fun. No nostalgia whatsoever. I do not associate this game with Vice City or San Andreas. Niko is the most forgettable video game character of all time. Nothing on Tommy Vercetti. Expand
  51. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    Uhh,really?This is the amazing sequence of the **** awesome game that was San Andreas,srsly,GTA is not a simulator,it's 100% arcade,jump from planes using a parachute falling in a car, destroy it and run with a boxer underwear over here...GTA IV makes you have to make annoying meeting with friends to have a good relationship,is difficult as **** hell and they DIDN'T PUT CHECKPOINTS!!!IUhh,really?This is the amazing sequence of the **** awesome game that was San Andreas,srsly,GTA is not a simulator,it's 100% arcade,jump from planes using a parachute falling in a car, destroy it and run with a boxer underwear over here...GTA IV makes you have to make annoying meeting with friends to have a good relationship,is difficult as **** hell and they DIDN'T PUT CHECKPOINTS!!!I have to retry (and when i say retry i say walk half town,ps - scenarios are **** is not a pretty city,i want rural,casinos,and this kind of things) everytime i lose in a difficult mission,30 hours to beat the game approximately,15 of walking half town.
    But i have to say,taking off the no checkpoints thing,GTA IV would be a great game,if it wasn't GTA,because it completely lose the focus fromthe others.
    And the story?4 parts it have:
    1/4 - You meet Roman,know he talked lies and **** him from Vlad and the mafias.
    2/4 - Get mixed in the mafia with faustin and dimitri,this part is ****
    3/4 - WORST ****G PART,occupates half of the storyline,you meet a bunch of characters that you make 3 or 4 missions with them,making you forget EVERY-DAMN-THING about the main story,and there are so many characters,that you don't even know what the **** are you doing for the guy you're makin a mission for
    4/4 - End of the game,PS - ****ty ending
    Expand
  52. Mar 26, 2013
    5
    The story was boring. Gameplay was boring. However it did have significantly better graphics, just a step down in everything else after gta san andreas. I 'm so glad the next gta isn't in NY.
  53. Jun 6, 2013
    7
    VERY disappointing, glitches, bad art style/graphics, and lower frame rate on PS3 and Xbox 360 versions make this game a cliche'd crime story at best.
  54. Nov 1, 2013
    5
    I regret to say I was swept up in the moment. Jumped on the bandwagon. Became a sheep to the games industry... and I regret it. Looking back now I realise just how austere GTA IV was. Once you had completed the game there was nothing more to do but tedious side missions. the campaign was only just better but the ending was a let down. This game was a large step back from its predecessorI regret to say I was swept up in the moment. Jumped on the bandwagon. Became a sheep to the games industry... and I regret it. Looking back now I realise just how austere GTA IV was. Once you had completed the game there was nothing more to do but tedious side missions. the campaign was only just better but the ending was a let down. This game was a large step back from its predecessor and dare I say it............................... Overrated. I do hate that word.)

    Perhaps I am being to harsh, after all it was an old game on a brand new console back then. No one had played a game like it before on an Xbox or Ps3. however as games got better, you start to realise the flaws in a game you once thought the world of.
    To start of with the story is a bit cliché. some missions are a bit hit and miss. the cover mechanics are clunky and un-polished but the shooting is much like the others so no problems there. Driving is quite a nuisance because all the vehicles are massively heavy and cannot swerve without crashing. Speaking of crashing though, the explosions looked amazing back then and still hold up now. Despite the name of the game you wont want to commit any crimes though. The police apparently see everything and know exactly where you are when hiding. this angers me as it pretty much messes up an iconic part of GTA. exploring the city can be fun at times but I would take a helicopter.( the cheat is 359-555-0100 on Nikos phone).

    But I could forgive that all if it wasn't for your cousin ringing you up every fifteen minutes to do dull activities with him. If you don't then his bond declines with you. Its punishment either way. At least let us say no.
    At the end of the game you have all your money so what do you spend it on... all. There is only a few things you can spend money on. Weapons which you will find anyway and clothes which there is very little choice of.

    My verdict is that this game is not as good as the gleaming glistening reviews it got. But I understand why they gave it those perfect reviews and that's because we all did. Everyone who bought the game at one point, loved it. But time rots everything and surely enough when you want to replay years from now... you will sigh a breath of boredom when dear old cousin rings you up
    Expand
  55. Feb 9, 2016
    5
    GTA4 is nice game for xbox360 and ps3.
    Because pc version have gfwl and pc potting is awful.
    I can't save the game because focking gfwl.
    I played GTA4 with R9 270x, average frame is 55
    So,if you want to play GTA series, do another series
  56. May 7, 2013
    7
    GTA IV is a good game. I enjoy the open-world and non-linear game designs in GTA IV. You are free to jack any vehicle you like and kill anyone you dislike. You are free to complete the missions in any order you want.

    It is a good game. Graphics(7/10), audio(9/10), storyline(8/10) and gameplay(8/10).
  57. May 28, 2013
    6
    Highly stylized environments and characters can't make up for the fact that compared to its predecessor the gameplay is a little dull and unoriginal now. Niko Bellic, while as cool as toast, was not a character I could fall in love with and I found myself not giving a rats for him, his friends or adventures. This was not a bad game by any means, fun for a rampage here and there, butHighly stylized environments and characters can't make up for the fact that compared to its predecessor the gameplay is a little dull and unoriginal now. Niko Bellic, while as cool as toast, was not a character I could fall in love with and I found myself not giving a rats for him, his friends or adventures. This was not a bad game by any means, fun for a rampage here and there, but there's only so much of that that holds my attention before seeking a more immersive and emotive exerience that GTA4 just didn't offer me. Expand
  58. May 26, 2014
    7
    It's really nice story and that car driving in game is so realistic, but graphic is not great, it's like "black and white" sometime...that's the only reason why i don't like GTA IV
  59. Aug 23, 2014
    6
    This game is big and full of glitches. I love GTA but this game is hard to play. The controls and camera angle make this game very frustrating. With a little more focus on the basic game play this game could have been great. Compared to GTA 5 this game sucks. Compared to previous and new GTA games this game is at the bottom. The story and Characters are fine but game play is horrible.
  60. GuybrushT.
    Jun 12, 2008
    7
    Way too hyped, and too bugged at launch.
  61. JonathanC.
    Jun 21, 2008
    7
    This game removed so many of the fun elements that were present in the previous installments. No more going to the gym to work out and learn new melee moves, no more barbershops for different haircuts, tattoo parlors, no more vigilante missions, taxi cab missions, fire truck missions, house theft missions. The motor cycles have been nerfed to the point where they are really just This game removed so many of the fun elements that were present in the previous installments. No more going to the gym to work out and learn new melee moves, no more barbershops for different haircuts, tattoo parlors, no more vigilante missions, taxi cab missions, fire truck missions, house theft missions. The motor cycles have been nerfed to the point where they are really just pointless. Overall, granted the driving IS more realistic. However, if I wanted realistic driving physics in a video game I'll play Gran Turismo, not GTA4. The driving simply isn't as fun as it used to be. OK, so blasting through a police barricade at 150 mph and continuing on with barely a scratch wasn't realistic but hey, it was more fun than the overly critical driving controls in this game! Some of the games are downright undriveable and you'll find yourself desperately clutching any fancy, good handling sports car you come across. Speaking of options that have been removed from the series, NO MORE PROPERTIES! What am I accumulating all this money for? I can't own properties of my choosing, I can't buy businesses, what am I supposed to do with this fortune I've amassed. I can't get cool Fresh Prince haircuts, I can't get sweet Motley Crue tattoos, so what am I supposed to do with this money? There are no more gangs. Granted, it did occasionally get annoying having to be shot at whenever you entered a hostile area but I felt it did lend some character to the game. If you've been screwing the Triads over repeatedly throughout the storyline that it's only appropriate that their going to shoot at you when you roam around in their territory. Furthermore, it was always great running into your own gang members and watching them fight for you. No more of this in GTA4. Overall, I feel that the storyline holds up pretty well with the rest of the series. Niko and his brother are solid characters and the voice acting is also strong, although I don't think anyone will ever beat Ray Liotta in Vice City. You'll find yourself running up against some of the big cats in Liberty City and the cast of supporting characters also holds up well with those of the previous series. However, the entire friendship dynamic is implemented in a horrible fashion. You'll find yourself feeling obliged to go man-dates with certain characters just to keep their benefits going, such as postponing that retry of this mission you've been dying to beat so that you can drive halfway across the city to take your potsmoking Jamaican friend to Cluckin Bell so that he'll keep selling you discount weapons. Again, good idea in theory, but severely annoying when implemented in a lengthy game like this. Furthermore, the ability to use the internet and access the police database is really just a tease. Most of the internet sites consist of pointless drivel and you'll often find yourself mysteriously unable to access most of it. Another sadly implemented gimmick. I could go on and on about this game. Just for the record, I BOUGHT THE PS2 TO PLAY GTA. In my opinion each of the previous games had a separate strength, I felt the storyline of GTA3 was the best while the environment and world of Vice City excelled and the sheer scope and amount of various activities in San Andreas was amazing. I don't really see any areas in which GTA4 excels over any of its predecessors. All of those fun, albeit "frivolous" activities in San Andreas have been removed, Liberty City takes itself to seriously to be stir as much entertainment and nostalgia as Vice City and the story of a tough guy immigrant rising to the top still doesn't strike me as much as the silent protagonist of GTA3 battling for and against the Italian Mafia. Definitely a step back in the series. Expand
  62. JohnC.
    Jun 23, 2008
    7
    Graphically this game is leaps and bounds above San Andreas. But boy is this city devoid of anything to do. I had more fun buying property in Godfather's Don Edition. Money is useless in this game. There isn't any gambling, any dirty business with strippers, no racketeering, pimping, extortion (yeah one store with a rock in the window...) Kind of a bland morose city.
  63. Guardian
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    In short GTA4 is a fun ass ride for sure. Its got some great graphics and a pretty tight story line with plenty to do and see and a huge city to explore. But, and please excuse me for saying this its pretty much a fuller more polished version of the previous outings. Having played all prior version of GTA i thought there could have been just a little more individuality to this one. In short GTA4 is a fun ass ride for sure. Its got some great graphics and a pretty tight story line with plenty to do and see and a huge city to explore. But, and please excuse me for saying this its pretty much a fuller more polished version of the previous outings. Having played all prior version of GTA i thought there could have been just a little more individuality to this one. Fantastic game dont get me wrong, it just felt like i had played this one 3 times b4. Worth the money, worth the time, and would b fantastic if i hadnt played the previous ones is all. Expand
  64. WyattH.
    Jul 3, 2008
    6
    Decent but lacked the extra stuff that makes GTA so fun. I mean I was at like 800k$ when I finished the game because I simply could not find a way to spend it.
  65. RobD.
    Oct 1, 2009
    6
    One of the best games available on PS3 yet I will now contradict myself by saying that this is the most disappointing game I have ever purchased. They concentrated way too hard on the "environment" and forgot about the people who play the game. Driving is now rubbish, would be OK if the brakes worked, missions are all samey totally lacking in imagination, storyline weak and One of the best games available on PS3 yet I will now contradict myself by saying that this is the most disappointing game I have ever purchased. They concentrated way too hard on the "environment" and forgot about the people who play the game. Driving is now rubbish, would be OK if the brakes worked, missions are all samey totally lacking in imagination, storyline weak and anticlimatical, characters annoying rather than funny, radio stations boring and again not funny, music all rubbish, Lazlo as a loser doesn't work, combat improved but still dodgy, keeping your friends amused gets on your nerves and finally it all takes itself far too seriously which for me is everything that Rockstar used to stand against! I will still probably buy the next one but patience is wearing thin (especially with the episodic rubbish that us PS3ers can't get). Also this game's crying out to have multiple cities using the 55Gig capacity of the PS3 to "fly" between them in aeroplanes (like we used to have in the PS2 days) but bet they cop out on that one due to inferior capacity of XBox. Bigger concern is that it's a sign of the times. Manufacturers are all playing it safe and innovation is running dry. My PS1 and PS2 collections outnumber the PS3 stuff by about 5 to 1. Where are the innovative titles like Abe's Oddysee, Incredible Crisis, MGS 1 & 2, Silent Hill 1 & 2, TR 1? The other thing I don't get is how come all of "us" can give this an honest review yet all the "professional" reviewers have been duped by this game? Expand
  66. MaartenR.
    May 14, 2008
    7
    The graphics look good, but the gameplay is nothing i haven't seen before. San Andreas was a bigger step forward than this game is. For me, I regret to say, it's the most overrated game of the century.
  67. DonK.
    May 20, 2008
    7
    Great game but not the best. Some needlessly pain in the butt missions and craptacular foliage and facial renderings make it far from perfect.
  68. JakeS.
    May 30, 2008
    6
    Two giant steps forward, and six gigantic steps back. The physics, graphics, and comedy are top notch, but compared to the last two console incarnations, GTAIV falls flat on its face. The story, controls, and gameplay have become bland and uninteresting. Fun weapons, vehicles, and side missions of the past are non existent this time around. The last few GTA games have been nothing but a Two giant steps forward, and six gigantic steps back. The physics, graphics, and comedy are top notch, but compared to the last two console incarnations, GTAIV falls flat on its face. The story, controls, and gameplay have become bland and uninteresting. Fun weapons, vehicles, and side missions of the past are non existent this time around. The last few GTA games have been nothing but a step above the other, surprising me each and every time, with the latest installment though, it feels although I've been swindled. Expand
  69. JaspJ
    May 3, 2008
    6
    The bad outweighs the good; poor quality graphics (for next-gen), appalling load times, crashes often, corrupts saved games, sludgy car controls, clunky character controls, multiplayer disconnects, and it takes too long to get to any gameplay. I envy the players who got past all that and managed to enjoy this shoddy game.
  70. MichaelB.
    May 3, 2008
    6
    I am surprised that no one has mentioned the tremendous amount of violence, swearing, and immorality that goes on in this game. Parents beware!!!
  71. JW
    May 4, 2008
    6
    This game is almost exactly the same as all the other GTA's just with better graphics.
  72. HarleyH.
    May 5, 2008
    6
    This game does not deserve a 10/10 and shame on the critics who have done so. This game is not revolutionary, original, or even attractive visually to me in the LEAST! I have played the other GTA games and was not impressed before. However, I decided to take the time to try this game before I bashed it to hell. Now, don't get me wrong. I love violence in games, as this game was fun This game does not deserve a 10/10 and shame on the critics who have done so. This game is not revolutionary, original, or even attractive visually to me in the LEAST! I have played the other GTA games and was not impressed before. However, I decided to take the time to try this game before I bashed it to hell. Now, don't get me wrong. I love violence in games, as this game was fun (to an extent, before shit got whole heartedly repetitive) and had plenty of it (Flinging your character out the front window is absolutely a blast) BUT! In no way shape or form can I see this game is that much diffrent from the last, and the last, and the last GTA to come out other than a few tiny changes to the gameplay, graphics, and storyline. The ratings for this game... Have made me question the integrity and honesty of these so called "Critics". Expand
  73. AnonymousMC
    Jun 14, 2008
    7
    This game is my favorite of the GTA series (other than the original top down game). I say this because I didn't get bored right aways. Yes, it's open ended, and yes, you can shoot people for hours, but I could also go play a game where I can shoot people for hours and actually progress. The missions are entertaining, but having to go and pick up your friends all the time isThis game is my favorite of the GTA series (other than the original top down game). I say this because I didn't get bored right aways. Yes, it's open ended, and yes, you can shoot people for hours, but I could also go play a game where I can shoot people for hours and actually progress. The missions are entertaining, but having to go and pick up your friends all the time is annoying. The driving isn't that great, the cars feel like crap. The graphics are decent, but that's like gold in this series. If they were excellent, I think Rockstar would explode and cause a world-wide panic. The online isn't that great, it's been done before, only better. The story is the shining part of this game, it's really well done, and not another overly cliche gangster/gangsta' plot point. So, it's not perfect, but it's good. Sorry I don't think it's God-like because everyone else tells me to. Expand
  74. HarryS.
    Jun 18, 2008
    7
    Sure this game has impeccable presentation, but as much as it has style, it lacks originality. The story itself was mediocre, the missions got boring, and driving around was a bore, thank god for the taxi. Rockstar said they wanted to make more GTA more realistic, which they have done, but this has taken away from GTA what made it so fun: a hyper realistic world full of crazy things to Sure this game has impeccable presentation, but as much as it has style, it lacks originality. The story itself was mediocre, the missions got boring, and driving around was a bore, thank god for the taxi. Rockstar said they wanted to make more GTA more realistic, which they have done, but this has taken away from GTA what made it so fun: a hyper realistic world full of crazy things to do. Its a shame that once you have completed the game there is nothing much left to do apart from look at pretty visuals. The multiplayer is fairly good, although nothing too new or special. Overall, a 7/10, its the same old GTA with better graphics, with a fairly lacklustre storyline and an unimpressive finale, but is merited by the sheer epicness of the game world and its presentation. Expand
  75. AkuytK.
    Jun 2, 2008
    7
    Gameplay and story is what I wanted. I don't care that much about graphics, city-accuracy and varying degrees of realism. Missions are boring, repetitive, and forgettable. It is easy to see how, after playing the game for only 2-3 hrs, critics would give it a high score. However, playing through this game to the end has little reward or depth in play. Poor story and a terrible Gameplay and story is what I wanted. I don't care that much about graphics, city-accuracy and varying degrees of realism. Missions are boring, repetitive, and forgettable. It is easy to see how, after playing the game for only 2-3 hrs, critics would give it a high score. However, playing through this game to the end has little reward or depth in play. Poor story and a terrible ending, not justified by "realism" contribute to a totally underwhelming and unsatisfying gaming experience. I reserve my high scores for truly great games (Zelda:OoT?). You still have to play it for the great things it offers, but don't expect unique gameplay or that feeling of satisfaction when you finish. Expand
  76. PajoolD.
    Jun 21, 2008
    7
    This game is way overrated, i could play San Andraes for 12 hours straight when I got it, this game you easily get sick of, they don't even have offline multiplayer, you can't do up cars there is nothing new added to the game, it's not that great.
  77. ZeeK.
    Jun 26, 2008
    5
    The graphics and animation are terrible, at standard def, they wouldn't be out of place on a last gen system. The storyline/characters were mediocre, the voice acting was great. I found the missions tedious at best. . The majority of the character customization (cosmetic and rpg-style elements from earlier games) are all but missing. I found very little reason to stay in Liberty City The graphics and animation are terrible, at standard def, they wouldn't be out of place on a last gen system. The storyline/characters were mediocre, the voice acting was great. I found the missions tedious at best. . The majority of the character customization (cosmetic and rpg-style elements from earlier games) are all but missing. I found very little reason to stay in Liberty City once I arrived. The story does a decent job of trying to push you from mission to mission, none of which were terribly memorable, and all of which were hampered by a horrible camera system and lacking controls. There is really no excuse for this. Uncharted, Gears of War, other games have far superior cover systems. The most enjoyable aspects of the game were directly lifted from the previous games in the series. I'm not sure that I'll finish this one. A lot of wasted potential here. Expand
  78. LuisF.
    Jul 16, 2008
    6
    It's a really good game but they even removed some features from the others GTAs, and I found the driving WAY less fun because of the physics.
  79. JuanN.
    Jul 20, 2008
    7
    Ok, pretty much the same with better graphics and slightly better controls, except driving seems harder.
  80. JaredH.
    Jul 9, 2008
    6
    this game is average and i don't see how it's one of the best rated games of all time. after you do something once you never really want to do it again. i was really excited for this game when it was released but after playing and beating it i never want to play it again. there's no replay value to me. it's more of been there done that and i've never even owned a this game is average and i don't see how it's one of the best rated games of all time. after you do something once you never really want to do it again. i was really excited for this game when it was released but after playing and beating it i never want to play it again. there's no replay value to me. it's more of been there done that and i've never even owned a gta game before. Expand
  81. VasilH.
    Aug 8, 2008
    5
    Its GTA 3 with better grafics, even the engiene and the game mechanics look the same as the previos games. Nothing new, many of the cool stuff in san andreas is gone.
  82. ChrisC.
    Sep 4, 2008
    5
    Good game, great story Becomes boring really quickly I played Vice City for a year, this is collecting dust after 1 month! Go here, do that, come back then go over there and do something remarkably similar becomes boring very very quickly There is a comment somewhere about being able to play as a cop, that would have added a lot to the game, starting off as a rookie and aiming to get Good game, great story Becomes boring really quickly I played Vice City for a year, this is collecting dust after 1 month! Go here, do that, come back then go over there and do something remarkably similar becomes boring very very quickly There is a comment somewhere about being able to play as a cop, that would have added a lot to the game, starting off as a rookie and aiming to get promoted by wiping out bad guys, having choices to make which decide whether you become a good cop or bad cop (turning down bribes, not shooting people but trying to arrest them etc...) Choosing to play as a rookie cop trying o get promoted, or Niko would have been a great next gen game. this isn't a great next gen game, merely a last gen game which adds nothing new to the table. Expand
  83. GillianS
    Nov 5, 2009
    7
    Personally, critics have been too smooth with that game. Repetitive missions, annoying features such as breaking out the windshield when you collide with something. They should have give it a 85, not 98.
  84. Ethan
    Jan 4, 2009
    5
    Obsessive fanboys a plenty just like Halo 3.
    The problem with Halo 3 and this game.
    They are HORRIDLY OVERRATED. This game was mediocre at best, the clunky controls and I believe a person before me said the go anywhere do anything premise is a nice try. But it just doesn't work. I agree with that. Not only that, they spend so much on little things like the haircut
    Obsessive fanboys a plenty just like Halo 3.
    The problem with Halo 3 and this game.

    They are HORRIDLY OVERRATED.

    This game was mediocre at best, the clunky controls and I believe a person before me said the go anywhere do anything premise is a nice try. But it just doesn't work.

    I agree with that.

    Not only that, they spend so much on little things like the haircut thing and of course the car washing.
    The story wasn't too great neither.

    mediocre at best. Want to go lower? Fine with me.
    Expand
  85. JornS
    May 2, 2009
    7
    I would give it a 7 just because of the fact, that when you beaten the main storyline, the game ends, it just ends there, and there is nothing more to do then driving around and/or go sightseeing, wich by then, you'd propably did already.. good: graphics, (side)missions that are there, less arcade-like driving like vice city has, multiplayer and a big urban envirement. bad: no; I would give it a 7 just because of the fact, that when you beaten the main storyline, the game ends, it just ends there, and there is nothing more to do then driving around and/or go sightseeing, wich by then, you'd propably did already.. good: graphics, (side)missions that are there, less arcade-like driving like vice city has, multiplayer and a big urban envirement. bad: no; planes, tattoos, haircuts, not that much side-missions, kate dies! i'd prefer to see rasta-man die :P, that annoying prick with bad english... worst: the lack of property, buying/owning company's like in vice city. Expand
  86. Jim
    Jun 1, 2009
    7
    I realized the fun was gone in the first car chase where I shot out the guys tires and he kept driving along at full speed, crashing through cars without slowing down, and making all the turns like he was on rails. That's just one of many many examples. It's almost like they tried to remove anything fun that had remained from previous games. Where's the sandbox environment I realized the fun was gone in the first car chase where I shot out the guys tires and he kept driving along at full speed, crashing through cars without slowing down, and making all the turns like he was on rails. That's just one of many many examples. It's almost like they tried to remove anything fun that had remained from previous games. Where's the sandbox environment where anything goes? Where's the fun and mayhem of the past games? I really can't believe that reviewers cited answering a cell phone, and driving people around town and on virtual dates for virtual bowling, as features that made this a better game. Seriously...who paid off who for those reviews? You can see the discrepancy when you look at critical reviews vs. actual gamer reviews. I think a lot of people aren't going to look at the GTA series the same way. I hope Rockstar listens and doesn't believe it's own hype for the next one. It was worth a 7 not a 10. Expand
  87. VanA.
    Jun 24, 2009
    7
    I really tried my best to like GTA4. This is one of my favorite franchises ever. I have fully completed and LOVED every game before it, even the top-down ones. The ridiculous praise it got seemed too good to be true. After forcefully playing for about 15-20 hours, I simply couldn't stand the repetition, inconsistency and overall frustration. My biggest complaint lies with the I really tried my best to like GTA4. This is one of my favorite franchises ever. I have fully completed and LOVED every game before it, even the top-down ones. The ridiculous praise it got seemed too good to be true. After forcefully playing for about 15-20 hours, I simply couldn't stand the repetition, inconsistency and overall frustration. My biggest complaint lies with the physics. It's far too realistic for a GTA game. It gives you a stunningly detailed world with limitless possibilities but mocks you and quickly slaps your wrists if you dare to try anything extraordinary. Driving had an over the top arcade like feel in previous GTA's that made it very fun but 4 went overboard and made it feel like a flat out simulation. Walking and running quickly became notorious due to the countless stops and delays when you nudged something or made a quick turn. The cellphone integration was clunky and needless. Dating and hanging out was forced down your throat and the missions were very repetitive. All in all, I found playing GTA4 to be more of a chore than anything else. The effort and devotion from the talent at Rockstar and the technology at work is certainly impressive but in conclusion, I simply didn't find it fun to play and never touched it again. Expand
  88. YoyoS
    Aug 24, 2009
    7
    1-WAAAAAAY too realisitc. The cops can shoot you through the car windows. If you collide with an object at high speeds you're going out of the windshield which is by far the most annoying feature of the game and REALLY ruins the fun. I'm a huge vice city fan and when you don't want to do missions you can mess with the cops and actually withstand them (unless you slam a 1-WAAAAAAY too realisitc. The cops can shoot you through the car windows. If you collide with an object at high speeds you're going out of the windshield which is by far the most annoying feature of the game and REALLY ruins the fun. I'm a huge vice city fan and when you don't want to do missions you can mess with the cops and actually withstand them (unless you slam a tank), but with GTAIV, try playing around with the police when your wanted level is 4 stars..it's just too much. 2-The controls are CRAPPY 3-very, very limited weapons. Expand
  89. JamesR.
    Jan 29, 2010
    7
    As a game by itself it looks good and plays well and i had some very happy times playing it, as part of the gta series it is however, dissapionting. many things which made vice city and san andreas such good fun are missing and replaced by some very poor mini games , friends that bug the hell out of you to do boring repetitive things with them to keep them happy. It's all a bit of a chore.
  90. CParkin
    Oct 22, 2008
    5
    By far the most over hyped and overrated game i personally have ever seen. GTA has lost its soul in this game and is not San Andreas or even Vice City. The game has many flaws with its substandard online modes and its poor driving sections, definitely not what the critics made it out to be
  91. J.H.
    Apr 28, 2008
    7
    It's just the same, it never changes. Also there are a lot of performance issues. also, a 10 means perfect, this ain't perfect. If your new to the game I would give it a 9, if you played the whole series I would give it a 7. It's just San Andreas in a nextgen case.
  92. HeloD.
    Apr 29, 2008
    6
    Ya. Overrated perfectly describes this game. Majority of the time you are driving people around, playing stupid minigames, going on dates (which are boring), and doing other boring missions such as these. When you get in gunfights the game mechanics are very basic even with the new cover system (which feels very clunky and unpolished). The cars feels like they are on ice and are barely Ya. Overrated perfectly describes this game. Majority of the time you are driving people around, playing stupid minigames, going on dates (which are boring), and doing other boring missions such as these. When you get in gunfights the game mechanics are very basic even with the new cover system (which feels very clunky and unpolished). The cars feels like they are on ice and are barely able to turn unless you heavily brake all the time. In short, the game's concept is good like it has been in every GTA game except it misses the integral ingredient....FUN. If I want to take girls on dates I'll do that in real life....if I want to drive people from one location to another....I'll become a taxi driver. Expand
  93. BillyJ.
    Apr 30, 2008
    6
    If this game get game of the year ill be pretty mad.... I found gta 3 fun when i was like 14 but this game is now kind of immature... This game cannot even compare to Bioshock in any aspect... 100 is a ridiculous score for this Good but not great game. Buy only if you like weak story's, mediocre/repetitive gameplay, and graphics that don't compare to many of todays games.
  94. RobertN.
    May 18, 2008
    7
    Graphics are horrible - why are the GTA games so dark and dismal all the time (except for GTA Vice City)? Looks like the developers spent more time trying to make the wrinkles and scars in people's faces appear realistic than they spent on the character models themselves. The story is good, but you don't play GTA games for the story. I don't want to watch a movie, I want to Graphics are horrible - why are the GTA games so dark and dismal all the time (except for GTA Vice City)? Looks like the developers spent more time trying to make the wrinkles and scars in people's faces appear realistic than they spent on the character models themselves. The story is good, but you don't play GTA games for the story. I don't want to watch a movie, I want to play a game. Not much a fun factor compared to Saints Row (now that was a fun game!). Automatic targeting system is not fun! What good is a shooter if you don't get the targeting system right? What's so hard about making a manual targeting easy and intuitve? Saints Row got it right the first time. GTA still doesn't get it, Although it has made some improvements. Went from horrible to just bad. Too much talking on the radio. The internet surfing is just lame. Composed of a bunch of links. Humor is pathetic - like something a 5th grader would come up with. You can't buy anything off the internet. You can't do anything on the internet except send and receive e-mails. Would have been nice if you could order flowers, books, etc. I could go on, but I won't. Don't know why so many gave it a 10/10. They obviously never played Saints Row, as Rockstar stole many ideas from it. Expand
  95. conailldoherty
    May 21, 2008
    7
    what is all the fuss ,i mean come on.It's just the same thing again exept this time the controls are bad.Everythings bean done before.they copyed the lock and aim from 007 everything or nothing,smathing threw car windows from flatout,cars from driver and most of the missions have been done before in other gtas.It's a great game but completly overrated and fails to deliver
  96. DougS.
    May 2, 2008
    5
    Just a little above average. This is not a perfect game. Graphic shimmers on the PS3 abound. Controls are average including the camera views. All the reviewers who rated this game a 10 were paid by Rock Star. A good rental title, though.
  97. DC
    May 23, 2008
    6
    I used to think IGN were perfect at ratings, until I saw that this title got 100% when Haze only got 45%. This game is by no means bad, but at the same time its not special. The reviewers just look at the name and publisher, then rate it according without even picking up a controller. Or so it would seem. They did the same with Halo 3. I'm tired of big name games getting huge ratings I used to think IGN were perfect at ratings, until I saw that this title got 100% when Haze only got 45%. This game is by no means bad, but at the same time its not special. The reviewers just look at the name and publisher, then rate it according without even picking up a controller. Or so it would seem. They did the same with Halo 3. I'm tired of big name games getting huge ratings primarily because the prequal was good. This game is a 5.5 - 6 and only idiots or teenagers will say its any higher. Expand
  98. Mimo
    May 27, 2008
    7
    They certainly know how to skip on what makes GTA great. The missions are fun but aren't to unique to separate them from each other, you know, kill that guy with this; stuff like that. The voice-acting is excellent, the animations have a nice rehaul, the visuals from day to night are wonderful, and the content goes above and beyond. But it deserves a 7 for not being original and only They certainly know how to skip on what makes GTA great. The missions are fun but aren't to unique to separate them from each other, you know, kill that guy with this; stuff like that. The voice-acting is excellent, the animations have a nice rehaul, the visuals from day to night are wonderful, and the content goes above and beyond. But it deserves a 7 for not being original and only sticking to the close knit formula from the previous titles. (thinking inside the box) The one thing they could have done to save this title would be to include the catches to missions like a speed meter or the car will explode or a new way of playing like rail shooting. Multiplayer is a fun addition but its only fun for a couple sittings. I recommend this only because of the story and the ragdoll physics engine. PERIOD. Expand
  99. BillD.
    May 27, 2008
    5
    I thought that San Andreas was better from a gameplay point of view. The story sucked too, I felt no sympathy for any of the characters. It does look a lot better than previous GTA titles but it seems rushed.
  100. KevoO.
    May 30, 2008
    6
    Good story, fails to push the gameplay aspects though so feels just like any other GTA. seems there are less features than its ps2 predecessor San Andreas which is worrying. Don't believe the hype. that much being said its still a good game, but could have been so much more...multiplayer is good fun and saves this in many ways. 6/10
  101. Oct 16, 2012
    0
    I feel like I'm judging the game too high by giving it an 8.
    The game's no where near to perfect. You'll get bored a couple weeks after buying it and only play it to kill random people and run around the city cause the story and campaign consist of the same boring bull crap missions in the previous games. (drive point A to point B.) or (kill this person).
    Overall it was a pretty damn
    I feel like I'm judging the game too high by giving it an 8.
    The game's no where near to perfect. You'll get bored a couple weeks after buying it and only play it to kill random people and run around the city cause the story and campaign consist of the same boring bull crap missions in the previous games. (drive point A to point B.) or (kill this person).
    Overall it was a pretty damn good game. Lots of customization options, missions and other things to do which is why the game is so charming,
    However being a dedicated fan of the series, I could no way in hell say it's better than San Andreas.
    Also no way in hell could I ever give this game a perfect 10 or rather a 9 for that matter, but it's still very well worth the $20 or $30 you'll pay for a used copy
    Collapse
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]