Grand Theft Auto IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2849 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2012
    5
    The biggest problem with the game is the controls. Could they have made driving not feel like a chore? And because they put the cheat system in the phone, its very difficult to access. San Andreas is better because it had more weapons, better controls, and better cheats. San Andreas has a jetpack and flying cars cheats and other great ones. Does GTA 4 have any of this? No.
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    The foundations for a next-gen GTA are there. Unfortunately, the content simply isn't anywhere near enough in the single player to class this as an open-world action-adventure. It's more of a linear shooter. The biggest failure in GTA history, but not a bad game in itself. Quality is high in all departments. What's there is really top notch - the cars, driving physics, combat system,The foundations for a next-gen GTA are there. Unfortunately, the content simply isn't anywhere near enough in the single player to class this as an open-world action-adventure. It's more of a linear shooter. The biggest failure in GTA history, but not a bad game in itself. Quality is high in all departments. What's there is really top notch - the cars, driving physics, combat system, facial detail, lighting... I could go on. My issue is with the things that are missing - which is variety, side missions, RPG elements, fun factor. I can see why this game has sold well- if you've never played a video game then this is the best place to start. Otherwise it's so repetitive, simple and mundane that you don't really appreciate the frightening attention to detail. All the little things have been rigourosly worked on, but this game has almost no ambition at all. It's basically a generation upgrade from GTA III, nothing more, nothing less. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    7
    Technically this game is very good. The story is good, the ending of the story is one off the most gripping moments ever. But, why is this game gta? Why has this game an open world? There is nothing do do in the open world, not like in the previous gta games. The gameplay has improved a lot over previous installments but if they focused on the story, made this exact game but more linearTechnically this game is very good. The story is good, the ending of the story is one off the most gripping moments ever. But, why is this game gta? Why has this game an open world? There is nothing do do in the open world, not like in the previous gta games. The gameplay has improved a lot over previous installments but if they focused on the story, made this exact game but more linear and focus more on the gameplay it could've been so much better. Such a big and beautiful world and nothing to do in it. It's a shame. Expand
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    My honest opinion is that this game is overrated. Everything you expect from GTA is here; guns, police, violence, explosions, cars, gangs. Its good, but no where near as good as Batman Arkham City...
  5. Jan 6, 2016
    7
    Whilst GTA IV had the recipe for one of the greatest games of all time, it couldn't really capture the magic a Grand Theft Auto game would truly need to excel. GTA IV was far too dark, the main character was one dimensional and the game simply lacked the vibrant world it had the potential to produce. Nevertheless, it provided a premise that could perhaps be fulfilled in later instalments.
  6. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    i think this is a pretty good game with obviously a few exceptions. first off the graphics are not all that great but when you look at the size of the city you play in and the fact that there are no loading pauses they are actually good and definatly better than past GTA games.the online is compleate garbage unless you have the game filled up with 15 other people but good luck findingi think this is a pretty good game with obviously a few exceptions. first off the graphics are not all that great but when you look at the size of the city you play in and the fact that there are no loading pauses they are actually good and definatly better than past GTA games.the online is compleate garbage unless you have the game filled up with 15 other people but good luck finding others to play with. the story is pretty good in my opinion and people may say it is boring and all you do is kill but there are a variety of missions (albiet not a very wide range) and you will have fun as long as you have a health cheat because some of the missions are just impossible to do if you dont have cheats enabled and you will just get frustrated. besides the story there is the obvious just go on killing rampages which always put a smile on my face but there are also added things that you could do like call up one of the in game friends and go bowling or see a show (the stand up comedy club is so funny it is just a shame that they did not have more to watch) and you can even go on dates although i am not sure what the point of adding that was. i wish they had kept the ambulance and taxi missions but this is still a great game and you should play it at least once especially since it is only $20 brand new and i dont see another GTA coming out in the near future Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2015
    6
    GTA Vice City and GTA San Andreas on the PS2 were some of the best games ever created. Beautiful graphics, excellent soundtrack, good gameplay...

    GTA IV on the PS3 must be a huge step forward, right? Unfortunately that's wrong, GTA IV took almost all the fun out of previous instalments and replaced it with a boring game with bad controls. Especially the driving sucks big time
    GTA Vice City and GTA San Andreas on the PS2 were some of the best games ever created. Beautiful graphics, excellent soundtrack, good gameplay...

    GTA IV on the PS3 must be a huge step forward, right? Unfortunately that's wrong, GTA IV took almost all the fun out of previous instalments and replaced it with a boring game with bad controls. Especially the driving sucks big time (motorbikes!) and the shooting, which admittedly never was the strong point of GTA, is not much better.

    The main character is uninteresting and the graphics are not colorful and rather bland. Everything looks kinda yellowish.

    Luckily both DLC's (The Lost and Damned, and The Ballad of Gay Tony) are rumored to be much better than the main story of GTA IV.

    But there is now an online feature, that will spice things up considerably, right? Not really, the online gameplay is not very good since the controls are so bad and you have to wait ages to get the game started.

    With GTA IV Rockstar was trying to make their most popular game series more serious and realistic, but it ended up being just ugly and boring. Luckily GTA V (2013) put the series back on track, that game is beautiful and fun and in my opinion the best game on PS3 (although still with a lacking online game mode).

    I rate GTA IV 6 out of 10.
    Expand
  8. Sep 29, 2013
    5
    No me maten, pero en mi opinión personal hubiera podido ser infinitamente mejor, pero cuando digo "infinitamente" significa que obviamente y conociendo a Rockstar hubieran podido hacer algo excesivamente mejor. Un mapa muy pequeño, gráficos que dejan mucho que desear, la jugabilidad es mala, no puedes hacer tanta variedad de cosas como en las anteriores entregas. Pero me diviertoNo me maten, pero en mi opinión personal hubiera podido ser infinitamente mejor, pero cuando digo "infinitamente" significa que obviamente y conociendo a Rockstar hubieran podido hacer algo excesivamente mejor. Un mapa muy pequeño, gráficos que dejan mucho que desear, la jugabilidad es mala, no puedes hacer tanta variedad de cosas como en las anteriores entregas. Pero me divierto atropellando peatones y tirándome desde los techos, pero me hace quedar como idiota, espero que se esfuercen con "Grand Theft Auto V". Expand
  9. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    This game is not impressive. I was pumped when this game came out, but when i played it I simply did not enjoy playing it. Got tired of it very quickly. They took too much of what i loved about san andreas out of this installment.
  10. Dec 31, 2012
    5
    GTA4 has too many issues, too many repetitive missions, and too many downfalls to be considered anything else than over-hyped. The story could have been more addictive, and the missions are either too easy or way-too-hard. There are so few true innovations, and overall it feels like a step backwards, which is a huge disappointment, especially for such masters as Rockstar.
  11. Dec 28, 2011
    7
    The Graphics and the fact the GTA 4 is massive is fantastic. However GTA 4 is let down big time on the gameplay. It baffles me that critics can give it such a good score while being aware of this. The story isn't very interesting nor is the character very likeable. The mission are very very repetative, and it's usually the duller ones that are the most frustrating. Wondering aroundThe Graphics and the fact the GTA 4 is massive is fantastic. However GTA 4 is let down big time on the gameplay. It baffles me that critics can give it such a good score while being aware of this. The story isn't very interesting nor is the character very likeable. The mission are very very repetative, and it's usually the duller ones that are the most frustrating. Wondering around the game doing your own thing is the most fun you'll get out of this game, as the makers don't seem to understand what variation means. It's generally just Drive from A to B, Kill everyone, Drive to C. Expand
  12. Nov 10, 2010
    5
    This game is the most overrated ever, the gun sounds sound fake, they swear all the time, the game seems a bit goofy, you can hardly enter any buildings and there just isnt much to do. What a bore
  13. Oct 6, 2011
    7
    Although GTA IV makes its debut as a "next-gen" title for the PS3 and Xbox 360, it has fell short in terms of visuals and fun gameplay to introduce a more realistic approach to the series. At best, it can be described as a title in its respective series that improves upon the core elements of any sandbox title to a startling degree: story, firefights, driving/walking physics, open-worldAlthough GTA IV makes its debut as a "next-gen" title for the PS3 and Xbox 360, it has fell short in terms of visuals and fun gameplay to introduce a more realistic approach to the series. At best, it can be described as a title in its respective series that improves upon the core elements of any sandbox title to a startling degree: story, firefights, driving/walking physics, open-world level design, all of which feel more real and authentic. However the most important element in any sandbox title is replay value. So can you honestly tell me that you enjoy getting calls from your cousin to go bowling? It's not the worst game I've ever played but it's not very memorable either. Expand
  14. Nov 12, 2014
    6
    Full disclosure: I haven't really been a GTA fan since the first game. I'm not exactly sure why. Maybe it's how easy the games are. Like it's incredibly dumbed down so everyone can skate by with ease.

    GTA IV is no different. They really need a difficulty level option or something. This particular GTA I found somewhat boring. The variety of things you can do is nice, but each
    Full disclosure: I haven't really been a GTA fan since the first game. I'm not exactly sure why. Maybe it's how easy the games are. Like it's incredibly dumbed down so everyone can skate by with ease.

    GTA IV is no different. They really need a difficulty level option or something.

    This particular GTA I found somewhat boring. The variety of things you can do is nice, but each mini-game is even more boring than the main game, which at least has some interesting aspects to it. I find the protagonist bland, and most of the supporting characters highly annoying. The story is lackluster, at least as much of it as I saw. I only got about 10 hours in before I gave up on the game.

    Here's hoping GTA V will hold my interest when it comes out on PC this January!
    Expand
  15. Jun 19, 2013
    6
    First off, I am a HUGE Grand Theft Auto fan (GTA III, Vice City & San Andreas were all amazing). When it came to GTA IV, simply put the characters and story were lacking greatly. You were in a concrete jungle the entire time and could not even get into a helicopter or airplane. Graphics were great, controls were better than average. But not sure what went wrong, but this should haveFirst off, I am a HUGE Grand Theft Auto fan (GTA III, Vice City & San Andreas were all amazing). When it came to GTA IV, simply put the characters and story were lacking greatly. You were in a concrete jungle the entire time and could not even get into a helicopter or airplane. Graphics were great, controls were better than average. But not sure what went wrong, but this should have been so much better. Easily the worst GTA in the series. Thank goodness Rockstar made up for it with Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  16. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    The game has too many annoyances for me to play. I would put it lower, but the game still has a hint of the wacky freedom you see in GTA. But with that said it has an annoying friend mechanic, a story too dark for GTA, and some really annoying missions.
  17. Aug 25, 2011
    6
    I played this game for a week and feel bad that I didn't give it a second chance or anything. But I kind of wanted to play through the game as like a good, good guy and thought that that was kind of difficult. Like I don't enjoy just going around crashing cars and stuff, which I know is the main appeal of this game for a lot of people. There's really not much to do in the city, or at leastI played this game for a week and feel bad that I didn't give it a second chance or anything. But I kind of wanted to play through the game as like a good, good guy and thought that that was kind of difficult. Like I don't enjoy just going around crashing cars and stuff, which I know is the main appeal of this game for a lot of people. There's really not much to do in the city, or at least the beginning. You can't understand a single word the Jamaican guy(s) say(s) so it's best to turn on subtitles for at least those parts. Driving controls kind of blow as in every. single. Rockstar. game. I did like the different camera options you had when driving. I also liked the cell phone, that was kind of cool. The characters were fairly interesting, I just wasn't really into the story being Niko running errands around for the big dogs. Expand
  18. Jan 12, 2015
    6
    While GTA IV had more of a dark story, the overall 'everything' for this game is quite disappointing.

    7 years later, GTA IV is still boring after story completion, and there isn't anything to do afterwards, unless you like killing pigeons across LC. For this game to get a 98, and for GTA V to get a 97 is quite ridiculous. When I played the game in 2008, I still had the same
    While GTA IV had more of a dark story, the overall 'everything' for this game is quite disappointing.

    7 years later, GTA IV is still boring after story completion, and there isn't anything to do afterwards, unless you like killing pigeons across LC.

    For this game to get a 98, and for GTA V to get a 97 is quite ridiculous.

    When I played the game in 2008, I still had the same opinion I have now.

    I give this game a 6.5/10, because the story is the only thing that had me on this game for more.
    Expand
  19. Mar 31, 2012
    7
    2011:
    I loved GTA III, Vice City was one of my favs, I felt that san andreas was losing a little from its sights, and now GTA iv. Well, the game wasn't all that engaging actually after all is said and done. Sure there are some great moments, the story and characters are very well done as always, but for me the game was almost too overwelhming. Things like having a girlfriend, checking
    2011:
    I loved GTA III, Vice City was one of my favs, I felt that san andreas was losing a little from its sights, and now GTA iv. Well, the game wasn't all that engaging actually after all is said and done. Sure there are some great moments, the story and characters are very well done as always, but for me the game was almost too overwelhming. Things like having a girlfriend, checking email, going out, tended to add to much, which luckily it is all optional, but it still feels like your missing out if not doing these things. The car physics were horrid, never could drive it. I miss the old GTA, especially vice city, remember the stolen car lists, the taxi, vigilante, ect. missions. These were the side missions that i thought were good and not a distraction like in Gta iv. I didn't walk away impressed with the game.
    Expand
  20. Mar 17, 2012
    7
    I really don't see why this game has gotten so many perfect scores, it's a great game but it is definitely not perfect. I thought the story was really good, Nico is a really interesting character but there are too many characters. Throughout the game you meet so many people and it makes it hard to follow the story sometimes, however most of these characters are pretty cool. The gameplayI really don't see why this game has gotten so many perfect scores, it's a great game but it is definitely not perfect. I thought the story was really good, Nico is a really interesting character but there are too many characters. Throughout the game you meet so many people and it makes it hard to follow the story sometimes, however most of these characters are pretty cool. The gameplay has been improved but it's still far from perfect, the cover system gets really awkward in tight spaces so its easy to end up dying because of it and the driving, while very enjoyable for the most part, has its problems when you have to chase someone. These flaws could easily be forgiven if there were checkpoints in the missions but for some reason Rockstar have decided that it would be better to have to restart the entire mission every time you fail! When you throw in the flaws with the controls it can get very frustrating! Its not all bad though, if you just want to travel round the city and have fun stealing cars and beating people up, you'll have a great time, the free roam aspect of this game is nailed brilliantly and the amount of things that there are today boggles the mind. The multiplayer, while not extremely addictive, is pretty good as long as you're playing with plenty of people. This game shows its problems when you're trying to play the story line, don't get me wrong its not a bad game, i enjoyed quite alot of it, but there are many problems that I can not over look. Expand
  21. Jan 9, 2013
    5
    most overrated game of all time san andreas is much better overall

    GOOD:graphics r very nice and realistic andd detailed bad: the driving, the map is small, the missions, the characters

    so if only they made the game with different missions and expanded the map this game couldve been the best ever still have ery high hopes for GTA V!
  22. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    Great sandbox game. What makes this game is really the city and how dynamic it feels. The physics are nice and the graphics awesome. Really like the main character too. He is cool. :-D
  23. Aug 18, 2010
    7
    While no one can say that Grand Theft Auto IV is a bad game, there's no denying that a lot of what made the series so fun and addictive in the first place is sorely missing from this entry. Tanks, parachutes, planes, push bikes, and inventive cheats are just some of the omissions, which make the fourth main entry in the series feel incredibly diluted in comparison to the previous behemoth,While no one can say that Grand Theft Auto IV is a bad game, there's no denying that a lot of what made the series so fun and addictive in the first place is sorely missing from this entry. Tanks, parachutes, planes, push bikes, and inventive cheats are just some of the omissions, which make the fourth main entry in the series feel incredibly diluted in comparison to the previous behemoth, San Andreas. The graphics, gameplay, and story have all been improved upon though, and the incredible Euphoria physics engine makes the game a joy to play. If a future entry brings back the inventiveness of San Andreas, improves the graphics further and implements the Euphoria engine, Rockstar may well have the best game of this generation on their hands. Expand
  24. Dec 1, 2016
    7
    Very dull and uninspired for a Grand Theft Auto game. Rockstar's attempts to make the game more serious don't work very well because seriousness doesn't contrast well against Grand Theft Auto's formula. Grand Theft Auto IV isn't a bad game by any means, it's just a very underwhelming one.
  25. Jan 13, 2017
    7
    Can't remember a lot because it was many years ago, but sure it was fun, and San Andreas put the level so high so it had a hard task to surpass it. Most probably the GTA I played the less hours because besides bowling and a few sidequests, there's not much else to do but the missions, some of them interesting. This one made a high jump when it comes to quality, but maybe lacked some charmCan't remember a lot because it was many years ago, but sure it was fun, and San Andreas put the level so high so it had a hard task to surpass it. Most probably the GTA I played the less hours because besides bowling and a few sidequests, there's not much else to do but the missions, some of them interesting. This one made a high jump when it comes to quality, but maybe lacked some charm and charisma. Let's go play some bowling cousin, and play with the swing! (that was truly hilarious and glad that Rockstar didn't fix that bug) Expand
  26. May 4, 2013
    6
    An average story, with actually not that good characters, the graphics are decent, the gameplay is good with a lot of guns and the normal stuff on a GTA game but unfortunately not much else. It's average GTA game, not the best but not the worst either.
  27. Aug 13, 2013
    7
    The game is good I admit but its ower rated.. its not 10/10 game... you ahve a 4 city sandbox game with lot of things to do but the story line, the physics... They ruin stuff
  28. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    This game is not bad, but certainly it isn't a masterpiece i don't know how this is the best game in all metacritic history, i mean San Andreas was a lot better than GTA4 i hope Rockstar make an awesome GTA with the next one.
  29. Sep 16, 2013
    5
    I guess for its time it was good but when other, better Rockstar Games release and they don't have a score close to this, you are going to have a problem. I don't really understand how this boring game got rated so high, games like Red Dead Redemption should have had this score. The DLC made this game 100 times better
  30. Jun 12, 2014
    7
    It may not be the best gta game but it is one of the best games I have ever played. Its got great graphics, great voice acting, so many memorable characters, good sound track, good realistic driving physics and one of the best stories I have ever seen in a videogame.
    But that doesn't mean the game doesn't have problems. Sometimes the framerate drops when the action gets too explosive, so
    It may not be the best gta game but it is one of the best games I have ever played. Its got great graphics, great voice acting, so many memorable characters, good sound track, good realistic driving physics and one of the best stories I have ever seen in a videogame.
    But that doesn't mean the game doesn't have problems. Sometimes the framerate drops when the action gets too explosive, so many nice features from San Andreas and other previous gta games have been removed, its smaller than San Andreas and once you have finished the game there aren't a lot of fun activities to do but once you are in this situation you can always have fun with your friends using online multiplayer(just check out KYR Speedy's videos on youtube).
    My verdict is that even though its different from previous gta games its still a great game for current gen because of its graphics and physics but don't go into this game expecting it to find features from other gta games just play to experience the thrill of playing a gta game on a new gen of consoles.
    Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]