Grand Theft Auto IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2930 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamL.
    Aug 12, 2008
    2
    Over hyped. A plain game pagued with framerate issues and bad gore effects. Ohh.
  2. Haroldoldman
    Oct 17, 2008
    1
    If you enjoyed previous GTAs, avoid this game at all costs. Its the complete OPPOSITE of previous GTAs, good graphics, boring storyline, dull characters, no variety in the gameplay,ect.

    I am extremely dissapointed with rockstar, the only reason it scored so high with the critics was because it happened to be the first next-gen sandbox game on the market, GTA4 has failed miserably.
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    0
    (Translate from Portuguese into English) Primeiramente quero deixar claro que sou um grande admirador dessa franquia,uma das melhores que existe,esta no meu top 5 franquias,mas esse jogo é decepcionante,não quero dizer que seja ruim,porque não é,mas esperava muito mais desse jogo e vou explicar o porque,para começar com as missões,muito(Translate from Portuguese into English) Primeiramente quero deixar claro que sou um grande admirador dessa franquia,uma das melhores que existe,esta no meu top 5 franquias,mas esse jogo é decepcionante,não quero dizer que seja ruim,porque não é,mas esperava muito mais desse jogo e vou explicar o porque,para começar com as missões,muito repetitivas,todos GTAs lançados até hoje começam com missões simples e fáceis com o tempo vão ficando mais elaboradas e difíceis,mas em GTA 4 é totalmente diferente,missões muito fáceis do começo ao fim,muito simples e repetitivas ao extremo,você vai se cançar de tantas missões que só se resumem a pegar um carro ir a um ponto determinado e matar o alvo,só isso,isso sem falar de algumas que são absurdas de tão fáceis,todos GTAs tem como ultima missão o ápice,a mais elaborada e muitas vezes a mais difícil,quem não lembra da ultima em GTA SA?a ultima do GTA VC?só pra citar alguns exemplos,mas em GTA 4 nem isso surpreende,você zera o jogo e fica pensando "era só isso?". Quando vejo o Metascore quase perfeito de 98 não acredito,a Rockstar só pode ter comprado as análises da crítica,se GTA SA não existisse GTA 4 não seria decepcionante,é incrível como ele é muito mais limitado que GTA SA. Claro que há evoluções naturais e tecnicas já que é o primeiro GTA da 7° geração,mas de resto ouve um retrocesso absurdo,existem adções bem vindas e legais,como ficar bebado depois de encher a cara,ser arremessado do carro ou moto após uma forte colisão,usar capacete de moto,possibilidade de escolher o programa das prostituras,arrombar carros estacionados,novo sistema de cobertura,adições como boliche,dardos e outros que poderiam nem existir,como seus amigos ligando toda hora são irritantes,são poucas adições se comparadas as que já existiam em jogos anteriores e não existe mais em GTA 4 como: Comprar propriedades e carros,modificar carros,aprender golpes de artes marciais,nem mesmo existe academia,não existe auto escolas,missões secundárias de bombeiros/ambulância,corridas somente de motos,Niko não ganha experiência como em GTA SA que Carl Johnson melhora suas habilidades de tiro e manuseio de armas,aumentar o fôlego,sex appeal,respeito,enfim eram tantos em GTA SA que não lembro de todos,não tem aparência física alterada pelo estilo de vida assim como CJ poderia ser magro,gordo ou musculoso,não existe baladas,não existe exportação de veículos,cortar o cabelo,fazer tatuagens,multiplayer local,Niko nem mesmo sabe mergulhar,são tantas coisas que foram deixadas de lado que com certeza esqueci de algumas.A pior trilha sonora da franquia,músicas muito ruins,enredo muito fraco,personagens chatos que não são cativantes,jogabilidade horrível na configuração normal,mas na configuração clássica é muito boa,não tão boa quanto nos outros jogos mas muito melhor que a normal,sem falar que em um jogo como GTA que passa muito tempo dirigindo,GTA 4 tem uma condução horrível! Gráficos não tenho do que reclamar,acho até que ninguém deveria reclamar já que se trata de um jogo de 2008 e gráfico nunca foi o forte de GTA,só acho que as pessoas poderiam estar melhores,mas acredito que a Rockstar se preocupou tanto em montar um ambiente que lembrasse NY que deixou de lado o mais importante,o que sempre foi o ponto forte da franquia,a liberdade,com ela a diversão,pouquissimas missões secundárias,o jogo praticamente te prende as primárias,jogue e zere GTA SA depois jogue e zere GTA 4 e tenho certeza que concordará que GTA 4 foi uma decepção,quem diz que GTA4 é o melhor jogo já feito ou é louco ou nunca jogou um jogo de verdade (nem mesmo os outros GTAs).Vendo a crítica esperava o melhor GTA já lançado,mas fui enganado,é o pior GTA que já joguei.Mesmo após tantas criticas não acho um jogo ruim,apenas muito abaixo do esperado e principalmente do que a crítica diz ser,esse é sem dúvidas um dos jogos mais superestimados que existe,Metascore de 98?Nunca ¬¬" Expand
  4. May 27, 2013
    4
    So, another boring turd wrapped in pretty graphics. Gone are the fun, arcady driving mechanics, replaced by cars that handle like horizontal freezers on wheels. Gone are the mini-games that provides hours of fun distractions. The fun content in previous incarnations has been replaced by a boring dating sim, and predominately boring shooting missions. The characters are flat outSo, another boring turd wrapped in pretty graphics. Gone are the fun, arcady driving mechanics, replaced by cars that handle like horizontal freezers on wheels. Gone are the mini-games that provides hours of fun distractions. The fun content in previous incarnations has been replaced by a boring dating sim, and predominately boring shooting missions. The characters are flat out obnoxious in my opinion. Tommy Vercetti was friggin' cool, Bellic is a pansy by comparison.
    It's great as a tech demo. I can't fault Rockstar for getting the detail of the city down, but it just feels there's less to do. It's a crazily detailed city, but hell you can't even Vigilante in this one.
    I hope GTA V isn't just another tech demo like this one was.
    Expand
  5. Jul 27, 2013
    2
    +first few missions are fun +its fun to drive, even with the horrible vehiclecontrol -Horrible Vehiclecontrol -Horrible Shootingmechanics -Bad graphics, even for 2008 -Boring Story -Only Hacker/Cheater in Multiplayer -Multiplayer is very bad designed. You need like 10 minutes to get in a game -Bad Police/Crimesystem: Police will come after you, even if they never saw you doing the crime+first few missions are fun +its fun to drive, even with the horrible vehiclecontrol -Horrible Vehiclecontrol -Horrible Shootingmechanics -Bad graphics, even for 2008 -Boring Story -Only Hacker/Cheater in Multiplayer -Multiplayer is very bad designed. You need like 10 minutes to get in a game -Bad Police/Crimesystem: Police will come after you, even if they never saw you doing the crime
    -No other environment than the City.

    2/10

    Sorry, but 98 is just ridicolous. Im a huge GTA fan, but this GTA is not good in my opinion
    Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2013
    0
    How do you morons like this game. It is gloomy and the cars make walking become fun because they suckkkkkkkk. Give this game to someone obese and they will walk to return it.
  7. Jun 7, 2013
    0
    I hate giving 0's but theres something about this game. Its playability is minimal nevermind the concept of replayability. Graphically it's a treat, that aside, it's mediocre.
  8. Aug 15, 2013
    4
    One of the few PS3 games I just couldn't finish. The storyline didn't grab me at all, and the characters were as dull as dishwater. But the *real* problem I had with this game, ironically enough, is that it was TOO realistic. Travelling from one mission to the next was a time-consuming chore, and one I had to repeat way too often if I failed a mission. Then the minutia of things likeOne of the few PS3 games I just couldn't finish. The storyline didn't grab me at all, and the characters were as dull as dishwater. But the *real* problem I had with this game, ironically enough, is that it was TOO realistic. Travelling from one mission to the next was a time-consuming chore, and one I had to repeat way too often if I failed a mission. Then the minutia of things like dating had me restless. I tried, thinking that it would eventually click for me, but while the environment was technically impressive, I found that the game wasn't the kind of escapist entertainment I play video games for. I even tried the DLC to see if those picked up the pace, and I just flat wasn't having fun.

    I know some folks love it, and that's great. It just wasn't the right game for me.
    Expand
  9. Apr 6, 2013
    3
    This game is too over rated.
    98? No... This game, as a GTA, is disappointing. And very much. This game is basic. Yeah, it may have be liked by critics because it was sandbox, but, yeah, nothing more. It has a good amount of bugs and lags, and all the things you can do are bugged. At least on PS3 and PC. I don't know on XBOX360.
    I'm sorry... but as I love GTA:SA, I hate GTA:IV. It is
    This game is too over rated.
    98? No... This game, as a GTA, is disappointing. And very much. This game is basic. Yeah, it may have be liked by critics because it was sandbox, but, yeah, nothing more. It has a good amount of bugs and lags, and all the things you can do are bugged. At least on PS3 and PC. I don't know on XBOX360.

    I'm sorry... but as I love GTA:SA, I hate GTA:IV. It is not GTA. Do we want to talk about the story? It is definitely one of the most boring and lame stories in videogames history. IMO.

    Well, I think that I'm generous giving it a 3.
    Expand
  10. VictorD.
    May 5, 2008
    2
    It's a good game, but the media reviews are totally over blown, it has plenty of flaws, and the aiming mechanics are sloppy. Funnier still is how everyone points this out yet still gives it a perfect score, it's pathetic.
  11. Nov 30, 2011
    0
    This is the most over rated game ever. REALLY 98? User score tells more about this game... This is like every other GTA, boring after few days. Rockstar has paid for those 100 metascore givers.
  12. JohnS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    Graphics could be better. Appeals to children with the need for porn and violence. Appeals to teenagers with the need for porn, violence and cars. Appeals to adults with the need for porn and violence. Grow up.
  13. CarlosV.
    Oct 2, 2008
    4
    This game does not deserve a 10/10 and shame on the critics who have done so. This game is not revolutionary, original, or even attractive visually to me in the LEAST! I
  14. KorwynC.
    Jun 21, 2008
    2
    I'm surprised of how people think of this game. Such a piece of trash. The worst in game driving I've ever played. If it was a game that driving is just a tiny part of it, that would be kinda forgivable. But driving in this game is a big part. The most stupid AI for this gen system I've ever seen. I run the red light in front of a cop and nothing happens. But if I park on a I'm surprised of how people think of this game. Such a piece of trash. The worst in game driving I've ever played. If it was a game that driving is just a tiny part of it, that would be kinda forgivable. But driving in this game is a big part. The most stupid AI for this gen system I've ever seen. I run the red light in front of a cop and nothing happens. But if I park on a side walk the cop will run out and start shooting at me. other drivers drive like they should not pass the driving test at the DMV. Some story line makes no sense at all, people don't forget how to speak their language for living in the US for only 10 years. In fact it's impossible to forget their native language when they still have an accent that strong speaking English. I wish this game was XboX exclusive really, coz this game really fit with their exclusive trash collections. Expand
  15. Ryencoke
    Jul 8, 2008
    0
    Over-rated garbage. The game was appealing for about a week. The game is very linear, and lack extra activities. This is the worst GTA in the series. Also, Seth R. You're a damn moron for your comments.
  16. johnbarros
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    the MOST OVERHYPED OBJECT EVER ON THE FACE OF THIS PLANET. I cant believe all the reviews, im starting to think rockstar paid off every critic. My fave game of all time is gta vice followed by san andreas so you can only imagine my dissapointment after playing this piece of shit. Way too realistic which ruins the all the fun, no real side missions, repetive missions, retarded dating,the MOST OVERHYPED OBJECT EVER ON THE FACE OF THIS PLANET. I cant believe all the reviews, im starting to think rockstar paid off every critic. My fave game of all time is gta vice followed by san andreas so you can only imagine my dissapointment after playing this piece of shit. Way too realistic which ruins the all the fun, no real side missions, repetive missions, retarded dating, boring storyline, uninteresting main charachter, nothing to unlock, no goals to reach, no properties to buy and the list goes on. If the future gta series are like this then theyve lost a fan. its too bad cuz they could have made this game amazing had they not spent 98% of their time on the graphics Expand
  17. FredC.
    May 24, 2008
    1
    This game has poor graphics for a PS3 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  18. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    GTA IV is such an utter disappointment i was just sad as a long time fan of GTA since PS2 days the series is really messed up now just like Metal Gear Solid the only way to fix these problems is to stop making games first of all im really shocked about how it got so many 10/10's for such a sh**ty game rockstar must have bribed these greedy a*****es for these reviews
  19. AndrewS
    May 1, 2008
    0
    Textures much rougher than in 360 version, and with the lighting everything looks somewhat yellow, unlike 360 where it looks more natural. Not the version to get.
  20. D.B.
    May 7, 2008
    4
    More of the same, except many things about San A. that were fun were taken out of this build. All sorts of glitches which make this game far from perfect. And honestly, if you've played the other versions of GTA, it's the same old same old with very little changed other than graphics... which have framerate dips. I know 4 is harsh, but i feel like I have to make it that low to More of the same, except many things about San A. that were fun were taken out of this build. All sorts of glitches which make this game far from perfect. And honestly, if you've played the other versions of GTA, it's the same old same old with very little changed other than graphics... which have framerate dips. I know 4 is harsh, but i feel like I have to make it that low to show these reviewers that gamers are smarter than this to give this game a solid 10. If you are one of those guys who says "360 is the best system eva!" while only owning about 3 games for it, then yes, this is the "best game eva" for you. But anyone who's honestly played games their whole life can think of dozens of games that were more entertaining and more diverse than GTA IV if you are honest with yourself. Expand
  21. PrinceofNessus
    Jun 2, 2008
    1
    The most underwhelming game of the year. Graphically superior to it's predecessors, but in every other category a step backwards. The main storyline is awkwardly shoehorned into the game with spotty voice acting. The phone is a constant annoyance, as it rings at least every 5 minutes. The city is monotonous and boring. The relationship aspect of the game is a time consuming The most underwhelming game of the year. Graphically superior to it's predecessors, but in every other category a step backwards. The main storyline is awkwardly shoehorned into the game with spotty voice acting. The phone is a constant annoyance, as it rings at least every 5 minutes. The city is monotonous and boring. The relationship aspect of the game is a time consuming rewardless waste of time reminescient of a sisyphian task. The combat system is flawed, locking on to targets halfway across the building while ignoring the shotgun toting bad guy who is shooting you in the head. Lastly all the fun and quirky minigames have been taken out. Do you want to collect packages for rewards, buy property or maybe go on a paramedic mission? Too bad 'cause Rockstar decided they have no place in GTA IV. Expand
  22. HGaroldP.
    Aug 12, 2008
    4
    Nothing special with a dissapointing lack of fun features. They tried to make the storyline gritty and it kinda didn't work. Still, at least the critics are pleased.
  23. SalvadorR.
    Feb 16, 2009
    0
    This game is terrible dont let the media confuse you into believing it is that good u will be disappointed when i 1st got this game i was 2 exited that i didn't relize that i wasn't haveing that much fun. I had a way better time playing gta san andraes. once i finished the game i play the crap multiplayer and traded it in for only $15 they said " we have plenty of these used" This game is terrible dont let the media confuse you into believing it is that good u will be disappointed when i 1st got this game i was 2 exited that i didn't relize that i wasn't haveing that much fun. I had a way better time playing gta san andraes. once i finished the game i play the crap multiplayer and traded it in for only $15 they said " we have plenty of these used" and I traded it only a month after it came out alot of people know the TRUTH.! Expand
  24. Aug 27, 2011
    0
    Completely overrated. I stopped playing after two hours because every mission was a variation of "follow me while i talk to and then kill some people I don't like". Also, the game mechanics are crap, because every time I want to shoot someone, the crosshair is automatically pointed at and locked on the nearest person's torso, making headshots and other things impossible to make. InCompletely overrated. I stopped playing after two hours because every mission was a variation of "follow me while i talk to and then kill some people I don't like". Also, the game mechanics are crap, because every time I want to shoot someone, the crosshair is automatically pointed at and locked on the nearest person's torso, making headshots and other things impossible to make. In addition, the story is never fleshed out. Niko is here to find some person, but that is never pursued, and he seems to be trying to be legit, but that never happens. GTA 4 is imbalanced and boring, and is easily one of the worst games I have every played. Expand
  25. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    A sad disappointment in the franchise, after the sheer brilliance of Vice City and thorough playability of San Andreas GTA IV is a bland, grey affair. The main character is as dull as the palette of the game which begs for the neon of Vice City or the rich colours of San Andreas. The attempts to make the driving more realistic sucks the fun out roaring round Liberty City (which lookedA sad disappointment in the franchise, after the sheer brilliance of Vice City and thorough playability of San Andreas GTA IV is a bland, grey affair. The main character is as dull as the palette of the game which begs for the neon of Vice City or the rich colours of San Andreas. The attempts to make the driving more realistic sucks the fun out roaring round Liberty City (which looked better in the original PS2 game) and the pointless online addition brings nothing to the game. Thanks heavens Saints Row picked up the mantle and ran with it Expand
  26. Jul 10, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here is a summary for those who don’t want to read the whole review (the review contains spoilers).
    +Very Strong Opening
    + (At the time it was released) Good Graphics, but that is not worth shouting about as graphics quickly become out of date.
    +Mini games (e.g. bowling) are well pulled off.
    -Very repetitive missions, with next to no variety making the game boring, as you go to a location kill someone/or collect something, 50 times.
    -Virtually no customisation, which makes your character feel no different from start to finish, reducing the level of fun.
    -Very annoying aspects like terrible driving.
    -Boring combat
    -Very average story, with limited variety.

    In short buy Saints Row 2, Sleeping Dogs or even Gta San Andreas, these games are far superior, and are more fun. Gta 4 is worth a rental at most.

    Full Review
    The start of the game is very strong, as you become immersed in wanting to find out about Niko Bellic and how he struggles to find the “American Dream”. The graphics (at the time it was released) were of good quality, giving the game the look of a next generation grand theft auto game.

    However you quickly realise that the game falls flat on nearly every level.

    One of the annoyances of the game you will notice very quickly is the driving, which while fun at first, proves to be a dump on your front door step. This is because all vehicles feel very similar and under steer like or if you apply too much throttle over steer like they were on ice. The use of toll gates and crashing every five seconds resulting in you falling out the windscreen, only serve as the bits of sweet corn in the dump on your door step. Such a terrible driving system, further serves as a reminder of how much Rockstar have removed from San Andreas, because the driving in that was insane and FUN.

    Another annoyance is how there is nothing to spend your money making it pointless. Unlike in previous games where you could buy property and businesses making you feel like a bad ass overlord, in Gta 4, you can buy clothes, a few guns (less than you could get in Gta San Andreas) and food. This is something you will notice as it adds to the lack of depth in Niko, as his primary motive is money, yet he can’t spend it on anything so what is the point, in him risking his arse every 5 seconds.

    Another of the many annoyances is the character interaction. Your uncle (Roman) is one the most annoying characters in gaming history, constantly being a little Jacob is a walking, talking serotype as is Packie, (and his whole family). However the worst character (unfortunately) is the one you play as (Niko). He is basically a black stale, and while Rockstar tried to add depth to his character by revealing his story of being a former army solider gradually, ultimately it amounts to nothing of interest, demonstrating a lack of depth to his character.

    With regards to the story, there is nothing ground breaking here, as it is your standard revenge story, nothing as gripping as Sleeping Dogs which was predictable was still enjoyable. The only really noticeable moment of the story is the choice at the end (Spoiler alert) where you get to choice if Roman dies or Kate dies by undergoing one of two missions prior to the event. However it falls flat, as you want to kill off Roman, but if you do Kate disappeared, making it better to keep the annoying prick (Roman) alive over the only decent character in the story (Kate). Furthermore the choice has no impact on the actually ending, making it rather pointless. I can see where they were going, trying to make it a dark and quite depressing story, but honestly with all the annoyances of Niko, I couldn’t care less about what happens to him. This ultimately means that the story, like the game on the whole, falls flat.

    However possible the main problem with the game is how there is NO variety in anything. This can be seen by how in the following areas GTA 4, has limited variety, Missions (in Gta4 you virtual go from location to location killing people, with minimal challenge as the Enemy A.I have a tendency to just peek out of cover exposing their heads making for easy head shots or suicide charge; and no build up. In San Andreas there while Enemy A.I is retarded the variety of missions make up for it), Customisation (in San Andreas and Saints Row 2 you could get tattoos, haircuts, and tons of clothes; in Gta4 you can only buy a limited number of clothes), Vehicles (in San Andreas and Saints Row 2 you had tons of vehicles and planes, in Gta4 there is only like 3 helis and no planes). This lack of variety makes it so it feels that Rockstar removed all of what made San Andreas so great, and replaced it with mediocrity dullness.

    All these mind-numbing elements ultimately make the game annoying without enough irritations to make you turn it off. This, from a studio that gave us games like Max Payne 3, Bully etc., amounts to a great disappointment.
    Expand
  27. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments are bland, all of which combines to make it difficult to see where you are and where you’re going.

    Second: they jacked up the driving physics of the game so now it feels like everything is moving underwater. Turns that used to be simple now send you sliding into walls, which gets frustrating given the large number of slow, crappy cars you seem to be forced to drive in this game.

    Third: the stale mission-structured gameplay is exactly the same as it was over 10 years ago. It’s so tedious now. You get a mission giver, you have to drive across town to start the mission, then you have to drive to your mission destination, then back to your house if you want to keep your car. Fail the mission and you have to start the commute again. They have even added in “features” like toll booths now, which create traffic on bridges that honestly make you feel like you are commuting to work because if you charge through them you get an automatic wanted rating.

    Oh, and did I mention something about keeping a car you want available? Well, in this game they decided to do away with garages for some reason. You know: the places you used to be able to store vehicles. Now your various pads with have one or two parallel parking spaces out in the middle of the AI-trafficked street and if you park a car there *perfectly* it will be saved. However, if it’s a big car or if the AI traffic knocks it slightly out of place, it will be gone when you reload.

    Possibly the most annoying new “feature” of this series is the dating mini-games. You can hang out with certain people to increase their affection toward you, which reaps you certain benefits, but then ALL of them CONSTANTLY call you to hang out, even if you’re in the middle of a mission getting chased by the cops, or in the middle of commuting to do your next mission, or commuting home from your last mission. Whatever. And if you tell them no, even if it’s your own cousin asking you to go bowling again, though you just went bowling with him two days ago, he will get upset and you’ll lose affection. You can’t tell them no.

    Also, Liberty City is big but incredibly empty. You will not be rewarded for exploring b/c there is simply not much out there. Instead of secret packages to collect, this time around you have to kill special pigeons, which are very frustrating to find even with the help of a guide. I got to about 20 or so before I asked myself why the hell I was doing it, because I wasn’t having any fun.

    Finally, the “story” I keep seeing so many positive reviews refer to is stupid & nonsensical. You’re an illegal alien who begins a career as a professional criminal as soon as you step off the boat. Not much different from any other GTA protagonist aside from not already being a US citizen, right? Except now you’re Borat. AMAZING! There IS NO story! You’re a criminal who makes friends with other criminals throughout the game and then commits criminal acts. *spoiler*

    Furthermore, while there may well be 20 hours’ worth of cutscenes (which tend to go on forever) & dialogue (which also never ends during your mission commutes with NPCs), it seems like it was all written by a 10-year old boy. Penis & fart jokes, characters needlessly dropping f-bombs twice a sentence to be “edgy” (I guess), and all-around lame humor in general that makes you roll your eyes and want to skip through every cutscene you come across. Unless you are a 10-year old boy, in which case I guess you’d be in heaven. Maybe that’s the targeted demographic now?

    But Rockstar will keep making the same game as long as sheep keep buying it. Anyone who wants to see what an improvement in this genre looks like, I’d direct you toward Saints Row the Third. Not the best game ever, but one that is actually, you know, “fun” to play. Something Rockstar left out of GTA4.
    Expand
  28. Oct 11, 2013
    1
    This game is completely and utterly terrible. Its boring and repetitive and ridiculously frustrating. The only thing I liked was the city. Liberty City breathes and feels real, That's the only thing I like about this game, other then that, it's simply terrible and a waste of money. Even the textures are terrible for its time.
  29. Feb 16, 2014
    4
    I cannot understand how this game is universally acclaimed. For starters, it has way too many flaws. The story is good, but that's the point - the game's all story and no gameplay, to the point that you have to create the gameplay yourself by going and smashing stuff up, diverging from the plot. And as a story gamer, that is something I simply can't do - Early in the game it destroysI cannot understand how this game is universally acclaimed. For starters, it has way too many flaws. The story is good, but that's the point - the game's all story and no gameplay, to the point that you have to create the gameplay yourself by going and smashing stuff up, diverging from the plot. And as a story gamer, that is something I simply can't do - Early in the game it destroys Nico's character. In addition, the car controls are awful - it feels like I'm driving on a black-ice rink. The missions are boring too - it's just "go drive somewhere and wach a cutscene" or ""take this girl out on a date". In a game like GTA, I want ACTION, not boring stuff like this. I bought this game, expecting something amazing. But what I got was something very, very boring. Grand Theft Auto IV is thoroughly boring and hideously overrated. I might as well play Saints Row, it's the same gamee but done right! Expand
  30. Feb 25, 2014
    4
    This the most over rated game to recent memory. I couldn't even finish the damn game it was so **** boring. I mean seriously wtf happened San Andreas and Vice City were so epic funny and awesome. Lets start with the Posatives. the world feels alive and realistic probably the most acurate adaptation of New York City. Plus it has that good American Dream story. Negatives. The Graphics areThis the most over rated game to recent memory. I couldn't even finish the damn game it was so **** boring. I mean seriously wtf happened San Andreas and Vice City were so epic funny and awesome. Lets start with the Posatives. the world feels alive and realistic probably the most acurate adaptation of New York City. Plus it has that good American Dream story. Negatives. The Graphics are awful Resident Evil 4 had better graphics and that was on the PS2. Niko is so **** boring Johnny Gat is a way more interesting and fun character. It has a terrible cover system and a god awful shooting mechanic. And last but not least these radio stations suck complete ass I mean wtf happened SA and VC had way better stations. Saints Row 2 has better stations too. As i began with this review this is the most over rated game to date. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]