Grand Theft Auto IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2744 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 12, 2011
    6
    What happened?!? How did this go so wrong??? I was so unbelievably excited about this game, and I thought for the first 5 minutes that it would be as great as I had always hoped... and then it just wasn't. I can't particularly put my finger on an exact reason why... I'm going to blame GTA san andreas, which just set my hopes so high. Sure GTAIV has a great story line, interestingWhat happened?!? How did this go so wrong??? I was so unbelievably excited about this game, and I thought for the first 5 minutes that it would be as great as I had always hoped... and then it just wasn't. I can't particularly put my finger on an exact reason why... I'm going to blame GTA san andreas, which just set my hopes so high. Sure GTAIV has a great story line, interesting characters (If a little stereotypical and annoying) and sometimes fun gameplay... but I've seen it all before and I didn't get sucked into the world in the same way I have in previous iterations. No customisation, a bland city with such a small amount of variety....... How did it go downhill so much from SA??? Overall I think this is a fun game, but one of the most over-rated of all time. Collapse
  2. Nov 10, 2010
    5
    This game is the most overrated ever, the gun sounds sound fake, they swear all the time, the game seems a bit goofy, you can hardly enter any buildings and there just isnt much to do. What a bore
  3. Nov 27, 2011
    6
    Despite its reputation as a controversial yet excellent game, this game has a good and a bad side. The good side of GTA IV is: (1) the improved graphics from the previous GTA games, (2) its addition of realism, (3) the goofy yet awkward reactions from Liberty City people and the LCPD, (4) The rampages and massacres in LC add the fun to the game, (5) GTA IV has a story with multiple endingsDespite its reputation as a controversial yet excellent game, this game has a good and a bad side. The good side of GTA IV is: (1) the improved graphics from the previous GTA games, (2) its addition of realism, (3) the goofy yet awkward reactions from Liberty City people and the LCPD, (4) The rampages and massacres in LC add the fun to the game, (5) GTA IV has a story with multiple endings and plot twists, and (6), Playing as an immigrant from Yugoslavia is quite unique in the GTA games. However, there is a bad side to GTA IV, and they are: (1) Less weapons unlike in San Andreas, (2) Less appealing automobiles and more mediocre cars, (3) The friend system with the cell phone can get annoying at times, especially when friends abruptly call you while you are still busy orchestrating an epic massacre in LC, (4) Survivng and escaping feuds against police is too easy when compared to previous GTA games, (5) Less accessible buildings than what players had expected, (6) the camera focusing on the player can get awkward sometimes, and (7), the most important drawback to GTA IV is that the campaign missions are repetitive and can get boring as you play the campaign again. This is evidenced by lack of mission uniqueness and missions virtually involve driving to the specific place then kill person A. Despite the drawbacks of the game, I still find GTA IV as fun and decent unlike the previous GTA games. Expand
  4. May 4, 2013
    6
    An average story, with actually not that good characters, the graphics are decent, the gameplay is good with a lot of guns and the normal stuff on a GTA game but unfortunately not much else. It's average GTA game, not the best but not the worst either.
  5. Mar 31, 2012
    7
    2011:
    I loved GTA III, Vice City was one of my favs, I felt that san andreas was losing a little from its sights, and now GTA iv. Well, the game wasn't all that engaging actually after all is said and done. Sure there are some great moments, the story and characters are very well done as always, but for me the game was almost too overwelhming. Things like having a girlfriend, checking
    2011:
    I loved GTA III, Vice City was one of my favs, I felt that san andreas was losing a little from its sights, and now GTA iv. Well, the game wasn't all that engaging actually after all is said and done. Sure there are some great moments, the story and characters are very well done as always, but for me the game was almost too overwelhming. Things like having a girlfriend, checking email, going out, tended to add to much, which luckily it is all optional, but it still feels like your missing out if not doing these things. The car physics were horrid, never could drive it. I miss the old GTA, especially vice city, remember the stolen car lists, the taxi, vigilante, ect. missions. These were the side missions that i thought were good and not a distraction like in Gta iv. I didn't walk away impressed with the game.
    Expand
  6. RobD.
    Oct 1, 2009
    6
    One of the best games available on PS3 yet I will now contradict myself by saying that this is the most disappointing game I have ever purchased. They concentrated way too hard on the "environment" and forgot about the people who play the game. Driving is now rubbish, would be OK if the brakes worked, missions are all samey totally lacking in imagination, storyline weak and One of the best games available on PS3 yet I will now contradict myself by saying that this is the most disappointing game I have ever purchased. They concentrated way too hard on the "environment" and forgot about the people who play the game. Driving is now rubbish, would be OK if the brakes worked, missions are all samey totally lacking in imagination, storyline weak and anticlimatical, characters annoying rather than funny, radio stations boring and again not funny, music all rubbish, Lazlo as a loser doesn't work, combat improved but still dodgy, keeping your friends amused gets on your nerves and finally it all takes itself far too seriously which for me is everything that Rockstar used to stand against! I will still probably buy the next one but patience is wearing thin (especially with the episodic rubbish that us PS3ers can't get). Also this game's crying out to have multiple cities using the 55Gig capacity of the PS3 to "fly" between them in aeroplanes (like we used to have in the PS2 days) but bet they cop out on that one due to inferior capacity of XBox. Bigger concern is that it's a sign of the times. Manufacturers are all playing it safe and innovation is running dry. My PS1 and PS2 collections outnumber the PS3 stuff by about 5 to 1. Where are the innovative titles like Abe's Oddysee, Incredible Crisis, MGS 1 & 2, Silent Hill 1 & 2, TR 1? The other thing I don't get is how come all of "us" can give this an honest review yet all the "professional" reviewers have been duped by this game? Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2012
    7
    I really don't see why this game has gotten so many perfect scores, it's a great game but it is definitely not perfect. I thought the story was really good, Nico is a really interesting character but there are too many characters. Throughout the game you meet so many people and it makes it hard to follow the story sometimes, however most of these characters are pretty cool. The gameplayI really don't see why this game has gotten so many perfect scores, it's a great game but it is definitely not perfect. I thought the story was really good, Nico is a really interesting character but there are too many characters. Throughout the game you meet so many people and it makes it hard to follow the story sometimes, however most of these characters are pretty cool. The gameplay has been improved but it's still far from perfect, the cover system gets really awkward in tight spaces so its easy to end up dying because of it and the driving, while very enjoyable for the most part, has its problems when you have to chase someone. These flaws could easily be forgiven if there were checkpoints in the missions but for some reason Rockstar have decided that it would be better to have to restart the entire mission every time you fail! When you throw in the flaws with the controls it can get very frustrating! Its not all bad though, if you just want to travel round the city and have fun stealing cars and beating people up, you'll have a great time, the free roam aspect of this game is nailed brilliantly and the amount of things that there are today boggles the mind. The multiplayer, while not extremely addictive, is pretty good as long as you're playing with plenty of people. This game shows its problems when you're trying to play the story line, don't get me wrong its not a bad game, i enjoyed quite alot of it, but there are many problems that I can not over look. Expand
  8. Nov 9, 2011
    6
    Overrated. I can't believe how high of score this gets, this is the worst GTA game. The world may be huge, but it's uninspired. The characters are dull. The controls are horrible. Even though you can get this for cheap, just pick up San Andreas on PS2 instead.
  9. Mark
    Jun 20, 2008
    5
    This is game is a jump backward when compared to previous GTA games. I'm really disappointed with the repetitive missions, uninteresting relationship system, broken multiplayer and controls. Driving in this game is impossible, you always crash into something. At least it looks better than other GTA games, but glitches found in this game are unacceptable. Definitely not worth 60 dollars.
  10. GuybrushT.
    Jun 12, 2008
    7
    Way too hyped, and too bugged at launch.
  11. conailldoherty
    May 21, 2008
    7
    what is all the fuss ,i mean come on.It's just the same thing again exept this time the controls are bad.Everythings bean done before.they copyed the lock and aim from 007 everything or nothing,smathing threw car windows from flatout,cars from driver and most of the missions have been done before in other gtas.It's a great game but completly overrated and fails to deliver
  12. JohnF
    Oct 19, 2009
    6
    GRAPHICS: For the sheer size of the game, the graphics are very impressive and set a great backdrop for the story. However, the orange-tint common in contemporary games is also here. It's a shame that such a pretty game is bogged down with such an ordinary after-effect. GAMEPLAY: You can do a lot, and most of the controls are very good. Though in the end, controlling Niko feels more GRAPHICS: For the sheer size of the game, the graphics are very impressive and set a great backdrop for the story. However, the orange-tint common in contemporary games is also here. It's a shame that such a pretty game is bogged down with such an ordinary after-effect. GAMEPLAY: You can do a lot, and most of the controls are very good. Though in the end, controlling Niko feels more like work than work. PRESENTATION: High production values are here, though the pacing of the story, the sometimes-awkward controls and abundance of tedious missions makes progressing through the game feel like a chore. The self-aware sense of humor with the PS2 GTA games feels absent here. If you've got 50+ hours to spend on a game and are suffering from OCD, this game is right down your alley. There's no arguing-- this game has a lot crammed into it, but in the end, it's just not very fun. Expand
  13. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    The foundations for a next-gen GTA are there. Unfortunately, the content simply isn't anywhere near enough in the single player to class this as an open-world action-adventure. It's more of a linear shooter. The biggest failure in GTA history, but not a bad game in itself. Quality is high in all departments. What's there is really top notch - the cars, driving physics, combat system,The foundations for a next-gen GTA are there. Unfortunately, the content simply isn't anywhere near enough in the single player to class this as an open-world action-adventure. It's more of a linear shooter. The biggest failure in GTA history, but not a bad game in itself. Quality is high in all departments. What's there is really top notch - the cars, driving physics, combat system, facial detail, lighting... I could go on. My issue is with the things that are missing - which is variety, side missions, RPG elements, fun factor. I can see why this game has sold well- if you've never played a video game then this is the best place to start. Otherwise it's so repetitive, simple and mundane that you don't really appreciate the frightening attention to detail. All the little things have been rigourosly worked on, but this game has almost no ambition at all. It's basically a generation upgrade from GTA III, nothing more, nothing less. Expand
  14. Sep 17, 2012
    6
    A departure from the series. Everything that made GTA memorable was lost, and I mean everything; from the dark, quirky humour, to the popular culture references, to the things we have come to associate with GTA... **** as weapons, jetpacks, miniguns, flamethrowers, gangs, planes, prostitutes, storming mansions. All gone, and in its place we have a very serious, stern and boring experienceA departure from the series. Everything that made GTA memorable was lost, and I mean everything; from the dark, quirky humour, to the popular culture references, to the things we have come to associate with GTA... **** as weapons, jetpacks, miniguns, flamethrowers, gangs, planes, prostitutes, storming mansions. All gone, and in its place we have a very serious, stern and boring experience that tries to prop itself up with good graphics and driving mechanics. This game is not fun. No nostalgia whatsoever. I do not associate this game with Vice City or San Andreas. Niko is the most forgettable video game character of all time. Nothing on Tommy Vercetti. Expand
  15. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    This game is not impressive. I was pumped when this game came out, but when i played it I simply did not enjoy playing it. Got tired of it very quickly. They took too much of what i loved about san andreas out of this installment.
  16. CParkin
    Oct 22, 2008
    5
    By far the most over hyped and overrated game i personally have ever seen. GTA has lost its soul in this game and is not San Andreas or even Vice City. The game has many flaws with its substandard online modes and its poor driving sections, definitely not what the critics made it out to be
  17. Feb 18, 2012
    6
    Cheesy and boring characters with the same patheitc moral struggles as San Andreas. Mowing down hundreds of pedestrians does not fit with that kind of crap. I need to be mute or a psychopath. Features that got added in every increment since GTA1 have been chopped and you have this barebones gameplay where you can't fly, heavily modify your character, buy properties everywhere etc. etc.Cheesy and boring characters with the same patheitc moral struggles as San Andreas. Mowing down hundreds of pedestrians does not fit with that kind of crap. I need to be mute or a psychopath. Features that got added in every increment since GTA1 have been chopped and you have this barebones gameplay where you can't fly, heavily modify your character, buy properties everywhere etc. etc. Obviously they are setting up the sequels to include these in the hope that it will have the same impact as your first helicopter ride in Vice City. It's an admission that they can't come up with anything new or fresh to add. The cops are way too difficult to shake if you get beyong 3 stars, which is part of the realism but again limits the amount of mass murder you can commit, and makes it more like real life. The cars are not fun to drive, performance is affected too much by crashes and in fact the physics seem less realistic than older games. It feels like tweaking has been done to the handling itself rather than the actual physics to give it an appearance of realism. So do you go for driving simulator or arcade style fun handling? Please pick one and don't half do either style. The music sucks. The story is utterly forgettable, I mean I really didn't care the whole way through. Roman is incredibly annoying, and not funny. Not very much in this game is funny actually. Or fun. Or interesting. Gets 6/10 because it is huge, and better than the alternatives in the same genre. But compared to its predecessors it is way off being a great game. Expand
  18. GasperG
    Feb 25, 2010
    7
    The 4th generation of the gta franchise takes you back to Liberty City where you play as Niko Belic whose come to seek the american dream due to his cousins wild emails and a special person the gameplay is youre clasic gta with an improved one on one combat mechanic, a new cower sistem and the lack of vehicles, weapons, mini games, etc. all of witch used to apear in previous gta gamesThe 4th generation of the gta franchise takes you back to Liberty City where you play as Niko Belic whose come to seek the american dream due to his cousins wild emails and a special person the gameplay is youre clasic gta with an improved one on one combat mechanic, a new cower sistem and the lack of vehicles, weapons, mini games, etc. all of witch used to apear in previous gta games luckily it has a good multiplayer that makes the missing content fell less depressive this is a very good game, however you do not get the full game in a copy of gta4 alone, if you want the full game you have to buy a copy and then all the gta dlc avalable that is why i give the disc version a very good 7. Expand
  19. Mar 25, 2013
    6
    This game is not bad, but certainly it isn't a masterpiece i don't know how this is the best game in all metacritic history, i mean San Andreas was a lot better than GTA4 i hope Rockstar make an awesome GTA with the next one.
  20. May 8, 2012
    6
    GTA4 is just more GTA and if that's what ya like more power to ya. Myself on the other hand was looking for maybe something new. I will say that it's better than San andres but still not as good as liberty city. Basically this game was just a big disappointment all the way around.
  21. Jun 19, 2013
    6
    First off, I am a HUGE Grand Theft Auto fan (GTA III, Vice City & San Andreas were all amazing). When it came to GTA IV, simply put the characters and story were lacking greatly. You were in a concrete jungle the entire time and could not even get into a helicopter or airplane. Graphics were great, controls were better than average. But not sure what went wrong, but this should haveFirst off, I am a HUGE Grand Theft Auto fan (GTA III, Vice City & San Andreas were all amazing). When it came to GTA IV, simply put the characters and story were lacking greatly. You were in a concrete jungle the entire time and could not even get into a helicopter or airplane. Graphics were great, controls were better than average. But not sure what went wrong, but this should have been so much better. Easily the worst GTA in the series. Thank goodness Rockstar made up for it with Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  22. Dec 8, 2012
    6
    My honest opinion is that this game is overrated. Everything you expect from GTA is here; guns, police, violence, explosions, cars, gangs. Its good, but no where near as good as Batman Arkham City...
  23. CodyB
    Mar 17, 2009
    6
    I'm just giving this game the score I feel is right. The only reason almost every critic in the gaming community has given this game perfect scores is because it has so much to offer and it is based on the real world ("this game is a work of fiction" my ass). Libery city in gta 3 and liberty city stories look more New York than in this game (the manhatten-based island in gta 4 is I'm just giving this game the score I feel is right. The only reason almost every critic in the gaming community has given this game perfect scores is because it has so much to offer and it is based on the real world ("this game is a work of fiction" my ass). Libery city in gta 3 and liberty city stories look more New York than in this game (the manhatten-based island in gta 4 is about the only place that actually looks like New York in this game), there's a lot in this game that has been done before in previous gta games, and a little too much repetitiveness can get in the way of a good time. Idk how critics (this is the one of the only mistakes game informer has ever made, and their the ultimate video game professionals) can be brainwashed by this real-life simulator, this game will NEVER be the epic experience that san andreas was and always will be!!! That doesn't mean gta 4 wasn't good, I'm just saying it wasn't worth all the hype and didn't deserve all those game of the year awards such as best 360 game (which should have been left 4 dead), best ps3 game (which should have been metal gear solid 4), best action game (which should have been fallout 3) or over-all game of the year (which should have been either metal gear solid 4 or fallout 3). Don't get me wrong, it's good but not that good (not like san andreas or a whole lot of games out there). Expand
  24. Apr 15, 2011
    7
    i think this is a pretty good game with obviously a few exceptions. first off the graphics are not all that great but when you look at the size of the city you play in and the fact that there are no loading pauses they are actually good and definatly better than past GTA games.the online is compleate garbage unless you have the game filled up with 15 other people but good luck findingi think this is a pretty good game with obviously a few exceptions. first off the graphics are not all that great but when you look at the size of the city you play in and the fact that there are no loading pauses they are actually good and definatly better than past GTA games.the online is compleate garbage unless you have the game filled up with 15 other people but good luck finding others to play with. the story is pretty good in my opinion and people may say it is boring and all you do is kill but there are a variety of missions (albiet not a very wide range) and you will have fun as long as you have a health cheat because some of the missions are just impossible to do if you dont have cheats enabled and you will just get frustrated. besides the story there is the obvious just go on killing rampages which always put a smile on my face but there are also added things that you could do like call up one of the in game friends and go bowling or see a show (the stand up comedy club is so funny it is just a shame that they did not have more to watch) and you can even go on dates although i am not sure what the point of adding that was. i wish they had kept the ambulance and taxi missions but this is still a great game and you should play it at least once especially since it is only $20 brand new and i dont see another GTA coming out in the near future Expand
  25. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    This game does lots of things well, but I
  26. Jan 5, 2013
    5
    Uhh,really?This is the amazing sequence of the **** awesome game that was San Andreas,srsly,GTA is not a simulator,it's 100% arcade,jump from planes using a parachute falling in a car, destroy it and run with a boxer underwear over here...GTA IV makes you have to make annoying meeting with friends to have a good relationship,is difficult as **** hell and they DIDN'T PUT CHECKPOINTS!!!IUhh,really?This is the amazing sequence of the **** awesome game that was San Andreas,srsly,GTA is not a simulator,it's 100% arcade,jump from planes using a parachute falling in a car, destroy it and run with a boxer underwear over here...GTA IV makes you have to make annoying meeting with friends to have a good relationship,is difficult as **** hell and they DIDN'T PUT CHECKPOINTS!!!I have to retry (and when i say retry i say walk half town,ps - scenarios are **** is not a pretty city,i want rural,casinos,and this kind of things) everytime i lose in a difficult mission,30 hours to beat the game approximately,15 of walking half town.
    But i have to say,taking off the no checkpoints thing,GTA IV would be a great game,if it wasn't GTA,because it completely lose the focus fromthe others.
    And the story?4 parts it have:
    1/4 - You meet Roman,know he talked lies and **** him from Vlad and the mafias.
    2/4 - Get mixed in the mafia with faustin and dimitri,this part is ****
    3/4 - WORST ****G PART,occupates half of the storyline,you meet a bunch of characters that you make 3 or 4 missions with them,making you forget EVERY-DAMN-THING about the main story,and there are so many characters,that you don't even know what the **** are you doing for the guy you're makin a mission for
    4/4 - End of the game,PS - ****ty ending
    Expand
  27. Jan 9, 2013
    5
    most overrated game of all time san andreas is much better overall

    GOOD:graphics r very nice and realistic andd detailed bad: the driving, the map is small, the missions, the characters

    so if only they made the game with different missions and expanded the map this game couldve been the best ever still have ery high hopes for GTA V!
  28. Nov 25, 2013
    6
    The game has too many annoyances for me to play. I would put it lower, but the game still has a hint of the wacky freedom you see in GTA. But with that said it has an annoying friend mechanic, a story too dark for GTA, and some really annoying missions.
  29. Jan 4, 2014
    6
    Its a great game but compare to previous GTA, its a huge setback despite the graphics. The story is great for a videogame but not movie standard, the gameplay is a hit or miss, the graphics is great for 2008 but the physic engine is stupid as hell, the driving is realistic but its so annoying and a pain in the ass to drive any vehicle and after you complete all the mission, you got nothingIts a great game but compare to previous GTA, its a huge setback despite the graphics. The story is great for a videogame but not movie standard, the gameplay is a hit or miss, the graphics is great for 2008 but the physic engine is stupid as hell, the driving is realistic but its so annoying and a pain in the ass to drive any vehicle and after you complete all the mission, you got nothing else to do with Singplayer campaign like in San Andreas. Expand
  30. May 28, 2013
    6
    Highly stylized environments and characters can't make up for the fact that compared to its predecessor the gameplay is a little dull and unoriginal now. Niko Bellic, while as cool as toast, was not a character I could fall in love with and I found myself not giving a rats for him, his friends or adventures. This was not a bad game by any means, fun for a rampage here and there, butHighly stylized environments and characters can't make up for the fact that compared to its predecessor the gameplay is a little dull and unoriginal now. Niko Bellic, while as cool as toast, was not a character I could fall in love with and I found myself not giving a rats for him, his friends or adventures. This was not a bad game by any means, fun for a rampage here and there, but there's only so much of that that holds my attention before seeking a more immersive and emotive exerience that GTA4 just didn't offer me. Expand
  31. May 12, 2011
    0
    What happened?!? How did this go so wrong??? I was so unbelievably excited about this game, and I thought for the first 5 minutes that it would be as great as I had always hoped... and then it just wasn't. I can't particularly put my finger on an exact reason why... I'm going to blame GTA san andreas, which just set my hopes so high. Sure GTAIV has a great story line, interestingWhat happened?!? How did this go so wrong??? I was so unbelievably excited about this game, and I thought for the first 5 minutes that it would be as great as I had always hoped... and then it just wasn't. I can't particularly put my finger on an exact reason why... I'm going to blame GTA san andreas, which just set my hopes so high. Sure GTAIV has a great story line, interesting characters (If a little stereotypical and annoying) and sometimes fun gameplay... but I've seen it all before and I didn't get sucked into the world in the same way I have in previous iterations. No customisation, a bland city with such a small amount of variety....... How did it go downhill so much from SA??? Overall I think this is a fun game, but one of the most over-rated of all time. Collapse
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]