User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2544 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SteveO
    Jul 3, 2008
    4
    This is a good game for about a week since you have pretty much played this game before. Its the same thing if not less than the other GTA's. The thing is i hear critics raving about the story but the truth is you have heard this story in thousands of other places. You can pretty much predict the ending and you get lost into doing missions you don't give a crap about. The This is a good game for about a week since you have pretty much played this game before. Its the same thing if not less than the other GTA's. The thing is i hear critics raving about the story but the truth is you have heard this story in thousands of other places. You can pretty much predict the ending and you get lost into doing missions you don't give a crap about. The missions are also almost the same in every way. The only thing spectacular about this game is well the voice acting. So unless your a die hard voice acting fan there is absolutaly no reason to pay anything over 30$ for this game. Rockstar please gives a game we havent played before. Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Mar 11, 2009
    4
    this game totally sucks compared to other GTA's. the only thing better about it was the graphics. there's absolutely nothing to do before or after you finish the game, missions are boring and repetitive, and it has the worst story ever. They pretty much took out everything from san andreas that was fun and replaced it with some boring crap like internet or taking friends out.this game totally sucks compared to other GTA's. the only thing better about it was the graphics. there's absolutely nothing to do before or after you finish the game, missions are boring and repetitive, and it has the worst story ever. They pretty much took out everything from san andreas that was fun and replaced it with some boring crap like internet or taking friends out. there's no more planes (one of the biggest problems) which meens no more parachuting, no more tattoos or haircuts, no more gang turf fights, no more jet packs, 4 wheelers, hovercrafts, or bicycles. i was also really dissapointed at how small liberty city feels compared to vast deserts and forests of SA, the only thing that made liberty city seem big were the tons of streets crammed into a little island. on top of everything else, (goes back to bad story) where the big finale at the end. where's my big mansion with a helipad and the feeling that i am in control of the entire city. GTA 4 pretty much just ends, with nothing that you didn't have at the beginning of the game except a measly 4 safehouses and a ton of worthless money. if rockstar plans on making all of the GTA's like this from now on then ill save my 60 bucks and go buy a game thats worth it. Expand
  3. CarlosV.
    Oct 2, 2008
    4
    This game does not deserve a 10/10 and shame on the critics who have done so. This game is not revolutionary, original, or even attractive visually to me in the LEAST! I
  4. D.B.
    May 7, 2008
    4
    More of the same, except many things about San A. that were fun were taken out of this build. All sorts of glitches which make this game far from perfect. And honestly, if you've played the other versions of GTA, it's the same old same old with very little changed other than graphics... which have framerate dips. I know 4 is harsh, but i feel like I have to make it that low to More of the same, except many things about San A. that were fun were taken out of this build. All sorts of glitches which make this game far from perfect. And honestly, if you've played the other versions of GTA, it's the same old same old with very little changed other than graphics... which have framerate dips. I know 4 is harsh, but i feel like I have to make it that low to show these reviewers that gamers are smarter than this to give this game a solid 10. If you are one of those guys who says "360 is the best system eva!" while only owning about 3 games for it, then yes, this is the "best game eva" for you. But anyone who's honestly played games their whole life can think of dozens of games that were more entertaining and more diverse than GTA IV if you are honest with yourself. Expand
  5. AmigaGuruT.
    Jul 9, 2008
    4
    How this game got so many 10's are beyond my imagination, seriously this is the worst GTA in years amd still it scores better than all of them??????? Biased reviews? , why did rockstar go for the realistic approach when that means there ain't anything to do?... also it was the unrealistic stuff that made the other GTA games fun.
  6. AndresFernando
    Sep 7, 2009
    4
    I dont believe the way they destroyed this awesome franchise. Eventough the realism and superb graphics; it has nothing on GTA San Andreas. The story is way tooo repetitive, only go and shoot some guy. The submissions are enough to throw the game away; not like in predecessors where u could do a million different things.
    If San Andreas never had existed, GTA 4 would be a wonderful game;
    I dont believe the way they destroyed this awesome franchise. Eventough the realism and superb graphics; it has nothing on GTA San Andreas. The story is way tooo repetitive, only go and shoot some guy. The submissions are enough to throw the game away; not like in predecessors where u could do a million different things.
    If San Andreas never had existed, GTA 4 would be a wonderful game; but they have to live up to the franchise and this game was a huuuuuge disappointment.

    [Apologies 4 my english... Good luck from Argentina]
    Expand
  7. AndyC.
    Nov 23, 2008
    4
    The most overrated game I've ever seen. Although this game is entertaining every professional review has covered the good parts, so I'm going to dwell on the negatives. It seems like a case of more is less. Liberty City is just too big, while the local environment is too small. When you turn your back, cars are suddenly appearing from behind you that weren't there a second The most overrated game I've ever seen. Although this game is entertaining every professional review has covered the good parts, so I'm going to dwell on the negatives. It seems like a case of more is less. Liberty City is just too big, while the local environment is too small. When you turn your back, cars are suddenly appearing from behind you that weren't there a second ago. And on missions you're often told to go to the other side of the city, which takes too long. Most annoyingly, the controls during gunfights are abysmal. The camera is too slow to find someone shooting from behind before you're killed. As a result, the missions too frequently involve looking at the position of the enemy as you fall down dead, and then the retry is ridiculously easy. Also when I wanted to run from fights, I've found myself unable to hop into a car. My phone has rung and the fire button has answered the phone instead of firing. In the quest for gritty realism, the silly fun bits from GTA 3 have gone or been integrated more closely into the environment. I'm already surrounded by gritty realism - I want a game to be fun. Collapse
  8. JoelR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    4
    Story/Direction: well an amazing accomplishment the game could have been so much more... the ability to play as a good guy for once would be appreciated - a cop maybe with achievement/accomplishments related to doing good while facing down a menace like Niko. Graphics: a much improved graphics quality would have been appreciated as well. It definitely is better than last gen but it Story/Direction: well an amazing accomplishment the game could have been so much more... the ability to play as a good guy for once would be appreciated - a cop maybe with achievement/accomplishments related to doing good while facing down a menace like Niko. Graphics: a much improved graphics quality would have been appreciated as well. It definitely is better than last gen but it doesn't seem to reach the highs of next gen architecture. Sound is excellent Technical Achievement/Quality: amazingly low for such a anticipated game better AA issues and popin and framerate glitchs and moderate loading issues the game is not as engaging as it probably could be. Expand
  9. WolfMan
    May 19, 2008
    4
    Overhyped, Vice City is still the best one. Yes the graphics were pretty, but the storyline lacked depth and believability. I found it difficult to attach to Niko's character as I did with Tommy Vercetti. The language was overdone too, I'm not talking about speaking Ukrainian, I mean every other word is a colorful metaphor, f this, f that, overdone and gratuitous. No decent Overhyped, Vice City is still the best one. Yes the graphics were pretty, but the storyline lacked depth and believability. I found it difficult to attach to Niko's character as I did with Tommy Vercetti. The language was overdone too, I'm not talking about speaking Ukrainian, I mean every other word is a colorful metaphor, f this, f that, overdone and gratuitous. No decent radio tunes either, seriously I was bored with the radio. Not interested in multiplayer. Would suggest for GTA V a move of country, go to Italy or France. So far the lesser of the series. Expand
  10. HGaroldP.
    Aug 12, 2008
    4
    Nothing special with a dissapointing lack of fun features. They tried to make the storyline gritty and it kinda didn't work. Still, at least the critics are pleased.
  11. GrantZ
    Aug 23, 2009
    4
    The first few hours of this game are likely to be the best in your life. Then it all goes downhill, repetitive missions, bland visuals, and there is NO customisation. None at all, i don't count, buying clothes as customisation, not much variation in missions, weapons or characters, and there are too many collectables. It's a letdown, going out with friends is CRAP. Mini-games The first few hours of this game are likely to be the best in your life. Then it all goes downhill, repetitive missions, bland visuals, and there is NO customisation. None at all, i don't count, buying clothes as customisation, not much variation in missions, weapons or characters, and there are too many collectables. It's a letdown, going out with friends is CRAP. Mini-games have the worst physics ever. All-in-all Rokcstar has to improve, as i'm never buying another of their games again. Expand
  12. Sep 17, 2011
    4
    compared to the other GTA games this is boring, dull, depressing, and just plain stupid. knowing that rockstar can make amazing games like LA noire, san andreass, and GTA 3 but they have hit rock bottom with this stinker. Rockstar, you dissapoint me.
  13. Aug 15, 2013
    4
    One of the few PS3 games I just couldn't finish. The storyline didn't grab me at all, and the characters were as dull as dishwater. But the *real* problem I had with this game, ironically enough, is that it was TOO realistic. Travelling from one mission to the next was a time-consuming chore, and one I had to repeat way too often if I failed a mission. Then the minutia of things likeOne of the few PS3 games I just couldn't finish. The storyline didn't grab me at all, and the characters were as dull as dishwater. But the *real* problem I had with this game, ironically enough, is that it was TOO realistic. Travelling from one mission to the next was a time-consuming chore, and one I had to repeat way too often if I failed a mission. Then the minutia of things like dating had me restless. I tried, thinking that it would eventually click for me, but while the environment was technically impressive, I found that the game wasn't the kind of escapist entertainment I play video games for. I even tried the DLC to see if those picked up the pace, and I just flat wasn't having fun.

    I know some folks love it, and that's great. It just wasn't the right game for me.
    Expand
  14. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    A sad disappointment in the franchise, after the sheer brilliance of Vice City and thorough playability of San Andreas GTA IV is a bland, grey affair. The main character is as dull as the palette of the game which begs for the neon of Vice City or the rich colours of San Andreas. The attempts to make the driving more realistic sucks the fun out roaring round Liberty City (which lookedA sad disappointment in the franchise, after the sheer brilliance of Vice City and thorough playability of San Andreas GTA IV is a bland, grey affair. The main character is as dull as the palette of the game which begs for the neon of Vice City or the rich colours of San Andreas. The attempts to make the driving more realistic sucks the fun out roaring round Liberty City (which looked better in the original PS2 game) and the pointless online addition brings nothing to the game. Thanks heavens Saints Row picked up the mantle and ran with it Expand
  15. May 27, 2013
    4
    So, another boring turd wrapped in pretty graphics. Gone are the fun, arcady driving mechanics, replaced by cars that handle like horizontal freezers on wheels. Gone are the mini-games that provides hours of fun distractions. The fun content in previous incarnations has been replaced by a boring dating sim, and predominately boring shooting missions. The characters are flat outSo, another boring turd wrapped in pretty graphics. Gone are the fun, arcady driving mechanics, replaced by cars that handle like horizontal freezers on wheels. Gone are the mini-games that provides hours of fun distractions. The fun content in previous incarnations has been replaced by a boring dating sim, and predominately boring shooting missions. The characters are flat out obnoxious in my opinion. Tommy Vercetti was friggin' cool, Bellic is a pansy by comparison.
    It's great as a tech demo. I can't fault Rockstar for getting the detail of the city down, but it just feels there's less to do. It's a crazily detailed city, but hell you can't even Vigilante in this one.
    I hope GTA V isn't just another tech demo like this one was.
    Expand
  16. Oct 26, 2013
    4
    It's simply a not enough game. Never understand why this game got such score like 98. The graphics may look improved, but the gameplay elements are horrid. There is nothing but pure randomness in storyline. I shouldn't have bought this.
  17. Feb 16, 2014
    4
    I cannot understand how this game is universally acclaimed. For starters, it has way too many flaws. The story is good, but that's the point - the game's all story and no gameplay, to the point that you have to create the gameplay yourself by going and smashing stuff up, diverging from the plot. And as a story gamer, that is something I simply can't do - Early in the game it destroysI cannot understand how this game is universally acclaimed. For starters, it has way too many flaws. The story is good, but that's the point - the game's all story and no gameplay, to the point that you have to create the gameplay yourself by going and smashing stuff up, diverging from the plot. And as a story gamer, that is something I simply can't do - Early in the game it destroys Nico's character. In addition, the car controls are awful - it feels like I'm driving on a black-ice rink. The missions are boring too - it's just "go drive somewhere and wach a cutscene" or ""take this girl out on a date". In a game like GTA, I want ACTION, not boring stuff like this. I bought this game, expecting something amazing. But what I got was something very, very boring. Grand Theft Auto IV is thoroughly boring and hideously overrated. I might as well play Saints Row, it's the same gamee but done right! Expand
  18. Feb 25, 2014
    4
    This the most over rated game to recent memory. I couldn't even finish the damn game it was so **** boring. I mean seriously wtf happened San Andreas and Vice City were so epic funny and awesome. Lets start with the Posatives. the world feels alive and realistic probably the most acurate adaptation of New York City. Plus it has that good American Dream story. Negatives. The Graphics areThis the most over rated game to recent memory. I couldn't even finish the damn game it was so **** boring. I mean seriously wtf happened San Andreas and Vice City were so epic funny and awesome. Lets start with the Posatives. the world feels alive and realistic probably the most acurate adaptation of New York City. Plus it has that good American Dream story. Negatives. The Graphics are awful Resident Evil 4 had better graphics and that was on the PS2. Niko is so **** boring Johnny Gat is a way more interesting and fun character. It has a terrible cover system and a god awful shooting mechanic. And last but not least these radio stations suck complete ass I mean wtf happened SA and VC had way better stations. Saints Row 2 has better stations too. As i began with this review this is the most over rated game to date. Expand
  19. Oct 28, 2014
    4
    while there is nothing really wrong with the game from a technical point and its fun to shoot things and drive around it doesn't stop the 30 hour campaign from being absolutely boring and this has to be the blandest looking game i have seen for a while its definitely the blandest gta ever i would highly recommend the Ballard of gay tony over this or gta v of course because both of thosewhile there is nothing really wrong with the game from a technical point and its fun to shoot things and drive around it doesn't stop the 30 hour campaign from being absolutely boring and this has to be the blandest looking game i have seen for a while its definitely the blandest gta ever i would highly recommend the Ballard of gay tony over this or gta v of course because both of those provide a pretty good story with humor with gta IV has non of. Expand
  20. StephenM
    Jan 25, 2009
    3
    As soon as you load the tape into the Ps3, you know you have probably stumbled across the finest RPG since that Chinese dudes game:- Zone of Enders! The color, shadow arrays and costumes have to be seen to believed, words can't describe the emotional attatchmnent you will encouter with Zenny, the games main female protaganist. The only slight niggle I had with Killzone 2 (or THAT As soon as you load the tape into the Ps3, you know you have probably stumbled across the finest RPG since that Chinese dudes game:- Zone of Enders! The color, shadow arrays and costumes have to be seen to believed, words can't describe the emotional attatchmnent you will encouter with Zenny, the games main female protaganist. The only slight niggle I had with Killzone 2 (or THAT GAME as myself and my wife have come to call it) is its lack of fish, you never get to see any fish. I don't know if this is a deliberate choice made by the developers or an oversight. But be warned if you are looking for fish, you ain't gonna' find them here. All said and done - fantastic game, well done devs (developers). Expand
  21. MaximusA.
    Jan 26, 2009
    3
    This game is simply not fun. In fact i'd go so far as to say it's disgrace to the GTA series. I am a massive GTA fan and I was beyond disappointed to find out they traded in all the quirky, fun aspects of the previous games for realism. Personally, I much enjoyed being able to hop on a car and snipe people while the driver drove around in a panicked frenzy. But now as soon as This game is simply not fun. In fact i'd go so far as to say it's disgrace to the GTA series. I am a massive GTA fan and I was beyond disappointed to find out they traded in all the quirky, fun aspects of the previous games for realism. Personally, I much enjoyed being able to hop on a car and snipe people while the driver drove around in a panicked frenzy. But now as soon as the car starts moving, Niko falls off, as he most likely would in the real world, and I sigh as another one of my once numerous tiny joys in the GTA world dies. By applying realistic driving physics Rockstar has taken away one of the best aspects of the game, the unrealistic but insanely awesome driving. No more property to buy means the money you earn is essentially useless. Buying property was one of the best aspects of Vice City and San Andreas because you felt like you were taking over the city. Once upon a time our characters wanted to do something with their lives, become something, take over. Instead we're given nihilistic Niko, who we have absolutely no attachment to to begin with. In fact his history is purposely presented as a mystery, leaving us with this sarcastic ghost of a character. The missions are menotenous and boring. The relationships are the worst thing to ever happen to the GTA series. It is NOT fun having to go on stupid dates with your cousin, especially after the 5th or 6th time. It's like this. I get home from work and I want to escape to an awesome world of freedom and adventure. Instead I have an annoying cast of fools badgering me to go to a cabaret show and if I don't feel like going they get offended, and take away their taxi service. Not fun. At all. Expand
  22. AnonymousMC
    Mar 9, 2009
    3
    i,ve never been more dissapointed with a game in my life! rockstar took out everything that i loved about gta san andreas. no more buying property, no more jet packs or 4 wheelers or PLANES! all of the missions are boring and from point A to point B and then back to point A. niko bellic is the worst character ever with no likeability at all and to top it off, wheres the mansion at the endi,ve never been more dissapointed with a game in my life! rockstar took out everything that i loved about gta san andreas. no more buying property, no more jet packs or 4 wheelers or PLANES! all of the missions are boring and from point A to point B and then back to point A. niko bellic is the worst character ever with no likeability at all and to top it off, wheres the mansion at the end with the helipad? wheres the great ending where you are in control of the city, or any ending at all. it just simply ends. theres no good side missions and absolutely nothing to do once you beat the game. DO NOT WASTE THE MONEY ON THIS GAME! your better off buying a ps2 and getting gta san andreas. rockstar has completly ruined the gta series, mainly by making it too realistic, and i think they have lost a life long fan of grand theft auto. Expand
  23. MattD.
    Jun 1, 2008
    3
    The mission structure and game mechanics are far too flawed for this to be enjoyable on any level. It's sooo monotonous.
  24. Sep 14, 2010
    3
    So um... where should i start. Oh yes Graphs are pretty decent with full hd screen.
    and....... that was probably all the good stuff. OH YES you can drive over people that's fun :D
    OK where should i start. 1. story was not that good you come in and when you think this is the middle of the game BANG the game ends. 2. controls. I know they wanted to make a realistic game but they failed at
    So um... where should i start. Oh yes Graphs are pretty decent with full hd screen.
    and....... that was probably all the good stuff. OH YES you can drive over people that's fun :D
    OK where should i start. 1. story was not that good you come in and when you think this is the middle of the game BANG the game ends. 2. controls. I know they wanted to make a realistic game but they failed at it. running is irritating as **** driving sucks now days and you wont die. like you wont die in 300 Km/h you crash to the wall and.... nothing happens. and that is probably all the main here.... OH YES There is yet another good reason to play GTA 4 after all. When you play it for 20 minutes, you just want to play more and more and more of the older gta games :D
    Expand
  25. Apr 3, 2011
    3
    Overrated. Annoying characters, clunky gameplay (did the developers ever try driving a real car?!), did I say annoying characters? So glad I got it second hand and cheap--still a waste of money.
  26. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    A boring game-as-art experience. It's an accomplishment to create such a giant city, but a shame not to build a functioning game. All forms of gameplay are poor and clunky, inferior to the champions of each genre. Driving doesn't feel as good as a racing game, bowling doesn't feel as good as a bowling game, etc. Every experience offered in GTA IV can be found elsewhere, and in FUN form.A boring game-as-art experience. It's an accomplishment to create such a giant city, but a shame not to build a functioning game. All forms of gameplay are poor and clunky, inferior to the champions of each genre. Driving doesn't feel as good as a racing game, bowling doesn't feel as good as a bowling game, etc. Every experience offered in GTA IV can be found elsewhere, and in FUN form. Strip it down and it's a compilation of half-ass mini-games separated by a gigantic, but hollow, hub world. Expand
  27. Jun 28, 2012
    3
    I don't understand how this game is so high on gamerankings.com. Sure it's impressive visually and its got online modes. However, those are the only two good factors. This game is overrated. It feels like a beta. The controls a clunky and the character moves sluggishly. The storyline is decent and the voice acting is GTA quality. This isn't my favorite GTA. I have a feeling GTA5 willI don't understand how this game is so high on gamerankings.com. Sure it's impressive visually and its got online modes. However, those are the only two good factors. This game is overrated. It feels like a beta. The controls a clunky and the character moves sluggishly. The storyline is decent and the voice acting is GTA quality. This isn't my favorite GTA. I have a feeling GTA5 will improve a lot! Expand
  28. Apr 6, 2013
    3
    This game is too over rated.
    98? No... This game, as a GTA, is disappointing. And very much. This game is basic. Yeah, it may have be liked by critics because it was sandbox, but, yeah, nothing more. It has a good amount of bugs and lags, and all the things you can do are bugged. At least on PS3 and PC. I don't know on XBOX360.
    I'm sorry... but as I love GTA:SA, I hate GTA:IV. It is
    This game is too over rated.
    98? No... This game, as a GTA, is disappointing. And very much. This game is basic. Yeah, it may have be liked by critics because it was sandbox, but, yeah, nothing more. It has a good amount of bugs and lags, and all the things you can do are bugged. At least on PS3 and PC. I don't know on XBOX360.

    I'm sorry... but as I love GTA:SA, I hate GTA:IV. It is not GTA. Do we want to talk about the story? It is definitely one of the most boring and lame stories in videogames history. IMO.

    Well, I think that I'm generous giving it a 3.
    Expand
  29. May 10, 2013
    3
    Just another perfect example of great games coming onto next-gen and then they suddenly change it by making it so realistic (not as in graphics but gameplay). You can't get tanks, you can't buy safe houses, no vehicle customization, no aeroplanes or jets, no food options, so many things you can in the other GTA games but not in this, probably because the fact you can't do them in reality,Just another perfect example of great games coming onto next-gen and then they suddenly change it by making it so realistic (not as in graphics but gameplay). You can't get tanks, you can't buy safe houses, no vehicle customization, no aeroplanes or jets, no food options, so many things you can in the other GTA games but not in this, probably because the fact you can't do them in reality, still no checkpoints in missions, the missions are unimaginative and boring, nothing really unrealistic, no robbing, no other things, how bland and boring is that? no raiding things, or big ship missions and no other things as well and non that include starting a big firefight, other than that bank mission in this game. This game takes itself way too seriously and way too much like reality, you can't simply start a massive fight with the cops and army and have fun with it and do other fun things. You can't simply do things to earn lots of money, but then again why do I bother? Not much things to spend on. Not even garages to store your vehicles. Having to hang out and play about with friends in this games gets very repetitive and boring, not much clothes to get from store, no gambling. This games gets very boring and I have many other reasons for hating this game as well but lost track of. As for the weapons, NO chainsaw, no flamethrower, no sword, and other missing weapons. I don't understand what's so good about this game and HOW is it better than the rest? Yes, this is my opinion but you got to agree that Rockstar has changed and become like typical developers who wants their game so much like reality. Don't you agree that Rockstar has stripped away so much with GTA IV from the previous games? You probably do really like this game, but there is no way you can consider this the best GTA game. Expand
  30. Feb 8, 2014
    3
    I can not actually write a proper review addressing the game content because I could not reach the mission destination due to the terribly awful driving system of the game
  31. Mar 21, 2014
    3
    This game has the worst controls. I was terribly disappointed with the vehicle dynamics and controls. If any mission involves a vehicle chase, i just keep cursing the game controls and show a lot of misplaced anger towards my controller. Missions with bike chases are even more dreadful. I have given a 'three' rating for the exciting game-world with a lot happening around. The randomThis game has the worst controls. I was terribly disappointed with the vehicle dynamics and controls. If any mission involves a vehicle chase, i just keep cursing the game controls and show a lot of misplaced anger towards my controller. Missions with bike chases are even more dreadful. I have given a 'three' rating for the exciting game-world with a lot happening around. The random characters and side-missions are pretty good, even though i miss the taxi/ambulance/firefighting missions. The story-line is pretty bland and so are most of the characters. The nature of missions are also somewhat boring, repetitive and monotonous. This in no way comes close to the quality and excitement of vice city and san andreas missions. The 'Friendship' and 'Dating' activities were interesting at the start but became too irritating as we get more indulged with the missions. Expand
  32. nickc
    Jun 4, 2009
    2
    What a useless piece of crap...was enjoyable for about 5missions! you can't by properties, vehicles are fairly limited over all and they mostly feel like you're driving the same thing.Graphics were crap.Sounds were crap. San Andreas was way better. Dont know why the critics thought it was so awesome.something tells me i won't be believing the "critics" anymore.
  33. Grid
    May 1, 2008
    2
    Online on PS3? Nope...haven't been able to get online since the release and my game keeps crashing. Why do PS3 games always screw up when they are first released. I am so annoyed i want to trade this thing in for a 360 or wii...
  34. TomE.
    May 3, 2008
    2
    I am an avid gamer, 37K gamerscore.... But I can't roll with a game that revolves around cop killing and prostitution.
  35. VictorD.
    May 5, 2008
    2
    It's a good game, but the media reviews are totally over blown, it has plenty of flaws, and the aiming mechanics are sloppy. Funnier still is how everyone points this out yet still gives it a perfect score, it's pathetic.
  36. MattS
    Feb 11, 2010
    2
    I actually liked the driving. It's cool how the old junk cars (i.e. Roman's Taxi) can't handle worth a damn and the wheels lock up when you brake traveling at high speeds and the fancier cars (i.e. Coquette, Comet, Infernus) handle like a dream and seem to have ABS. I also liked how varied the buildings are. If you take the time to look at them there aren't very many I actually liked the driving. It's cool how the old junk cars (i.e. Roman's Taxi) can't handle worth a damn and the wheels lock up when you brake traveling at high speeds and the fancier cars (i.e. Coquette, Comet, Infernus) handle like a dream and seem to have ABS. I also liked how varied the buildings are. If you take the time to look at them there aren't very many that are identical, and little things like graffiti add to the atmosphere. But where is the comedy? Where are the properties? With such a massive variety of buildings, why can't I enter the vast majority of them? Where is the sprawling landscape? Where is the national guard? Where is the mission variety (you can either "drive here" or "drive here and kill this guy" or MAYBE "follow this guy then kill him and his friends")? Why are there clothes stores from San Andreas that I'm not allowed to enter? Why do these stores have online shops I can't buy things from? Why don't I get unlimited ammo after I beat the game (I mean, 8 rockets, seriously)? What's with the ending? Did I put up with all that monotony just to lose? Why can't I take over Pegorino's house after he dies, with the two garages and and a house with a helipad right around the corner? Why do I have to spend time taking my 6 friends to one of 7 or 8 generic tasks just so they'll like me enough to help me out (if Rockstar was shooting for realism, saving Roman's ass probably would have been enough reason for him to give you free taxis, same with Little Jacob for the cheap guns)? In San Andreas, there were 3 unique cities with a massive country landscape to fly over/drive through in between. In GTA 3 and Vice City, you were confined to a city but the atmosphere was so light and fun that you felt like you could do anything. GTA 4 restricts you to three identical-feeling islands, covered in high-rises and skyscrapers, and once you get over how fun the ragdoll effect of running over people is, you begin to feel absolutely limited to what you can do. I waited the entire game to get an option of something to do other than the safehouse, a date, or a mission. I never got it. If you've never played a GTA game before this title will absolutely blow your mind, but anyone who has played either third-person game in the franchise will be left feeling ripped off and disappointed due to the complete lack of new features (or even old features for that matter). Long story short: if you have a backwards compatible ps3, get the GTA trilogy. If you don't, get a used ps2 and get the GTA trilogy. Each title in this set offers hundreds more hours of enjoyment than GTA 4. Expand
  37. KorwynC.
    Jun 21, 2008
    2
    I'm surprised of how people think of this game. Such a piece of trash. The worst in game driving I've ever played. If it was a game that driving is just a tiny part of it, that would be kinda forgivable. But driving in this game is a big part. The most stupid AI for this gen system I've ever seen. I run the red light in front of a cop and nothing happens. But if I park on a I'm surprised of how people think of this game. Such a piece of trash. The worst in game driving I've ever played. If it was a game that driving is just a tiny part of it, that would be kinda forgivable. But driving in this game is a big part. The most stupid AI for this gen system I've ever seen. I run the red light in front of a cop and nothing happens. But if I park on a side walk the cop will run out and start shooting at me. other drivers drive like they should not pass the driving test at the DMV. Some story line makes no sense at all, people don't forget how to speak their language for living in the US for only 10 years. In fact it's impossible to forget their native language when they still have an accent that strong speaking English. I wish this game was XboX exclusive really, coz this game really fit with their exclusive trash collections. Expand
  38. SamL.
    Aug 12, 2008
    2
    Over hyped. A plain game pagued with framerate issues and bad gore effects. Ohh.
  39. Jan 21, 2012
    2
    Are you guys kidding me saying this is one of the best games ever for one the game is wayyyyy too dark and yes i have adjusted the settings I do not understand why everyone wants open world all the time yes i enjoy some open world games but this one blew i enjoyed saints row and dead island a thousand times more
  40. Jun 13, 2013
    2
    I don't find this entertaining and fun. I don't mind the ability to steal cars and stuff but I don't know why it got 98/100 that is just ridiculous. But a game to keep in mind is....................WATCH DOGS!!! you can steal cars and hack and control literally anything! The game isn't out yet but it is definantly going to be better than this!
  41. Jul 27, 2013
    2
    +first few missions are fun +its fun to drive, even with the horrible vehiclecontrol -Horrible Vehiclecontrol -Horrible Shootingmechanics -Bad graphics, even for 2008 -Boring Story -Only Hacker/Cheater in Multiplayer -Multiplayer is very bad designed. You need like 10 minutes to get in a game -Bad Police/Crimesystem: Police will come after you, even if they never saw you doing the crime+first few missions are fun +its fun to drive, even with the horrible vehiclecontrol -Horrible Vehiclecontrol -Horrible Shootingmechanics -Bad graphics, even for 2008 -Boring Story -Only Hacker/Cheater in Multiplayer -Multiplayer is very bad designed. You need like 10 minutes to get in a game -Bad Police/Crimesystem: Police will come after you, even if they never saw you doing the crime
    -No other environment than the City.

    2/10

    Sorry, but 98 is just ridicolous. Im a huge GTA fan, but this GTA is not good in my opinion
    Expand
  42. Jul 10, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here is a summary for those who don’t want to read the whole review (the review contains spoilers).
    +Very Strong Opening
    + (At the time it was released) Good Graphics, but that is not worth shouting about as graphics quickly become out of date.
    +Mini games (e.g. bowling) are well pulled off.
    -Very repetitive missions, with next to no variety making the game boring, as you go to a location kill someone/or collect something, 50 times.
    -Virtually no customisation, which makes your character feel no different from start to finish, reducing the level of fun.
    -Very annoying aspects like terrible driving.
    -Boring combat
    -Very average story, with limited variety.

    In short buy Saints Row 2, Sleeping Dogs or even Gta San Andreas, these games are far superior, and are more fun. Gta 4 is worth a rental at most.

    Full Review
    The start of the game is very strong, as you become immersed in wanting to find out about Niko Bellic and how he struggles to find the “American Dream”. The graphics (at the time it was released) were of good quality, giving the game the look of a next generation grand theft auto game.

    However you quickly realise that the game falls flat on nearly every level.

    One of the annoyances of the game you will notice very quickly is the driving, which while fun at first, proves to be a dump on your front door step. This is because all vehicles feel very similar and under steer like or if you apply too much throttle over steer like they were on ice. The use of toll gates and crashing every five seconds resulting in you falling out the windscreen, only serve as the bits of sweet corn in the dump on your door step. Such a terrible driving system, further serves as a reminder of how much Rockstar have removed from San Andreas, because the driving in that was insane and FUN.

    Another annoyance is how there is nothing to spend your money making it pointless. Unlike in previous games where you could buy property and businesses making you feel like a bad ass overlord, in Gta 4, you can buy clothes, a few guns (less than you could get in Gta San Andreas) and food. This is something you will notice as it adds to the lack of depth in Niko, as his primary motive is money, yet he can’t spend it on anything so what is the point, in him risking his arse every 5 seconds.

    Another of the many annoyances is the character interaction. Your uncle (Roman) is one the most annoying characters in gaming history, constantly being a little Jacob is a walking, talking serotype as is Packie, (and his whole family). However the worst character (unfortunately) is the one you play as (Niko). He is basically a black stale, and while Rockstar tried to add depth to his character by revealing his story of being a former army solider gradually, ultimately it amounts to nothing of interest, demonstrating a lack of depth to his character.

    With regards to the story, there is nothing ground breaking here, as it is your standard revenge story, nothing as gripping as Sleeping Dogs which was predictable was still enjoyable. The only really noticeable moment of the story is the choice at the end (Spoiler alert) where you get to choice if Roman dies or Kate dies by undergoing one of two missions prior to the event. However it falls flat, as you want to kill off Roman, but if you do Kate disappeared, making it better to keep the annoying prick (Roman) alive over the only decent character in the story (Kate). Furthermore the choice has no impact on the actually ending, making it rather pointless. I can see where they were going, trying to make it a dark and quite depressing story, but honestly with all the annoyances of Niko, I couldn’t care less about what happens to him. This ultimately means that the story, like the game on the whole, falls flat.

    However possible the main problem with the game is how there is NO variety in anything. This can be seen by how in the following areas GTA 4, has limited variety, Missions (in Gta4 you virtual go from location to location killing people, with minimal challenge as the Enemy A.I have a tendency to just peek out of cover exposing their heads making for easy head shots or suicide charge; and no build up. In San Andreas there while Enemy A.I is retarded the variety of missions make up for it), Customisation (in San Andreas and Saints Row 2 you could get tattoos, haircuts, and tons of clothes; in Gta4 you can only buy a limited number of clothes), Vehicles (in San Andreas and Saints Row 2 you had tons of vehicles and planes, in Gta4 there is only like 3 helis and no planes). This lack of variety makes it so it feels that Rockstar removed all of what made San Andreas so great, and replaced it with mediocrity dullness.

    All these mind-numbing elements ultimately make the game annoying without enough irritations to make you turn it off. This, from a studio that gave us games like Max Payne 3, Bully etc., amounts to a great disappointment.
    Expand
  43. FredC.
    Apr 27, 2008
    1
    This game has poor graphics for a PS3 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  44. SandraB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    Filth! Filth! Filth! Nothing but a filthy game for heathens! Anyone that plays this game will go hell and burn for eternity. Let Jesus Christ into your lives while there is still time. Shame on you for buying this game and shame on the people that made it... It is this kind of smut that is leading to the downfall of humanity. Repent now before it is too late.
  45. ChetT.
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    Too violent. Bad graphics
  46. JohnS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    Graphics could be better. Appeals to children with the need for porn and violence. Appeals to teenagers with the need for porn, violence and cars. Appeals to adults with the need for porn and violence. Grow up.
  47. DiscoStu
    Sep 13, 2008
    1
    The firsat hour or so is a ten out of ten. But after playing for a while you realise how many things are wrong with this game. Awful shooting--- they said it would be like uncharted or Gears of War, what we got was clumsy controls and mediocre gunplay. Repetitive--- Drive here, shoot this guy, drive back repeat x 50 ti win the game Frustrating--- Some missions were quite lenghty, having The firsat hour or so is a ten out of ten. But after playing for a while you realise how many things are wrong with this game. Awful shooting--- they said it would be like uncharted or Gears of War, what we got was clumsy controls and mediocre gunplay. Repetitive--- Drive here, shoot this guy, drive back repeat x 50 ti win the game Frustrating--- Some missions were quite lenghty, having many objectives and spanning avross multiple locations, however if you were to fail a mission halfway through or right near the end, you get no checkpionts, you have to start all over again, making this game dangerously unplayable Expand
  48. Haroldoldman
    Oct 17, 2008
    1
    If you enjoyed previous GTAs, avoid this game at all costs. Its the complete OPPOSITE of previous GTAs, good graphics, boring storyline, dull characters, no variety in the gameplay,ect.

    I am extremely dissapointed with rockstar, the only reason it scored so high with the critics was because it happened to be the first next-gen sandbox game on the market, GTA4 has failed miserably.
  49. MatthewB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    1
    it's a shame this is getting such good reviews. it's gta3 with very slightly better graphics. it doesn't look next-gen and it doesn't feel next-gen. with so much development time the city looks ok but people look like legos. this can't be the best game ever. all these "exclusive" reviews are doing it making people think it's good and even after they play it it's a shame this is getting such good reviews. it's gta3 with very slightly better graphics. it doesn't look next-gen and it doesn't feel next-gen. with so much development time the city looks ok but people look like legos. this can't be the best game ever. all these "exclusive" reviews are doing it making people think it's good and even after they play it they think it is b/c someone told them it was. it doesn't bring anything new to the table. steal a car, go here and kill this guy, go there and steal this and kill that guy. rockstar simply gave the people what they wanted... and it worked. it's the same reason madden sells every year. give it a new roster and fresh coat of paint and call it next-gen! stupid people will buy stupid games. go out and buy something good instead like okami, the world ends with you or lost odyssey. Expand
  50. RyanH.
    May 2, 2008
    1
    Real poor graphics as the other guys said for the ps3 and also it would be better if they continued the san andreas story like Cj's step brother would be good if the graphics were in san andreas, would be a great game.
  51. PrinceofNessus
    Jun 2, 2008
    1
    The most underwhelming game of the year. Graphically superior to it's predecessors, but in every other category a step backwards. The main storyline is awkwardly shoehorned into the game with spotty voice acting. The phone is a constant annoyance, as it rings at least every 5 minutes. The city is monotonous and boring. The relationship aspect of the game is a time consuming The most underwhelming game of the year. Graphically superior to it's predecessors, but in every other category a step backwards. The main storyline is awkwardly shoehorned into the game with spotty voice acting. The phone is a constant annoyance, as it rings at least every 5 minutes. The city is monotonous and boring. The relationship aspect of the game is a time consuming rewardless waste of time reminescient of a sisyphian task. The combat system is flawed, locking on to targets halfway across the building while ignoring the shotgun toting bad guy who is shooting you in the head. Lastly all the fun and quirky minigames have been taken out. Do you want to collect packages for rewards, buy property or maybe go on a paramedic mission? Too bad 'cause Rockstar decided they have no place in GTA IV. Expand
  52. FredC.
    May 24, 2008
    1
    This game has poor graphics for a PS3 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  53. AlexH.
    Sep 14, 2008
    1
    It's pretty fun to run around and run people over. Then when you realize that's the only fun part of the game, you probably with you had waited until Saints Row 2. This game is a shell. There is none of the variety of the previous GTA games. The story is really, really bad (I even prefer my PSP's GTA: Vice City Stories this one). The missions are awful (every mission is "go It's pretty fun to run around and run people over. Then when you realize that's the only fun part of the game, you probably with you had waited until Saints Row 2. This game is a shell. There is none of the variety of the previous GTA games. The story is really, really bad (I even prefer my PSP's GTA: Vice City Stories this one). The missions are awful (every mission is "go kill this guy. You killed him? Ok, now go kill this guy". Remember that hilarious dialogue and characters the previous GTA's had? Well kiss them goodbye, because this game has worse dialogue than a bad porno. I have never wanted to nuke everyone from "Eastern Europe" more in my life. Niko's annoying Russian accent (as well as all of his annoying Russian friends) make you realize why the US doesn't like Russia. Only buy this game if you plan on running over pedestrians for 100 hours. Otherwise, save your money for Saints Row 2. Expand
  54. Mar 27, 2011
    1
    At first, the game is fun and the story gets pretty simple. But when you get further, it gets boring, the characters get annoying, and the story is so difficult. When you lose and have to start over everytime, you'll be hitting your head against the wall, turn it off, and break it in half. The driving controlls suck, it feels like it has a mind of it own that I will be flying out of theAt first, the game is fun and the story gets pretty simple. But when you get further, it gets boring, the characters get annoying, and the story is so difficult. When you lose and have to start over everytime, you'll be hitting your head against the wall, turn it off, and break it in half. The driving controlls suck, it feels like it has a mind of it own that I will be flying out of the windshield again and again. I really hate the characters, they think their cool and badass, but MY GOD their so annoying I mute the TV. The multiplayer is boring, I turn it off and play "Uncharted 2". I have know idea why so many people love this game so much, they say "Its so amazing, its Grand Theft Auto!" I now know why they love and defnd it. They defend it because it has "Grand Theft Auto" written on the cover, and they think any game that is titled "Grand Theft Auto" means its a great game. Its a horrible game and I want my money back! Expand
  55. Aug 28, 2013
    1
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments
    Rockstar has been making the exact same game ever since GTA3 came out on PS2. Why are people acting like GTA4 is something different? It’s not, except for two things: it’s on a new generation of consoles and is actually worse than GTA3.

    First off: anyone praising the graphics is blind or has never played a video game before this one. Textures are muddled, colors are drab, environments are bland, all of which combines to make it difficult to see where you are and where you’re going.

    Second: they jacked up the driving physics of the game so now it feels like everything is moving underwater. Turns that used to be simple now send you sliding into walls, which gets frustrating given the large number of slow, crappy cars you seem to be forced to drive in this game.

    Third: the stale mission-structured gameplay is exactly the same as it was over 10 years ago. It’s so tedious now. You get a mission giver, you have to drive across town to start the mission, then you have to drive to your mission destination, then back to your house if you want to keep your car. Fail the mission and you have to start the commute again. They have even added in “features” like toll booths now, which create traffic on bridges that honestly make you feel like you are commuting to work because if you charge through them you get an automatic wanted rating.

    Oh, and did I mention something about keeping a car you want available? Well, in this game they decided to do away with garages for some reason. You know: the places you used to be able to store vehicles. Now your various pads with have one or two parallel parking spaces out in the middle of the AI-trafficked street and if you park a car there *perfectly* it will be saved. However, if it’s a big car or if the AI traffic knocks it slightly out of place, it will be gone when you reload.

    Possibly the most annoying new “feature” of this series is the dating mini-games. You can hang out with certain people to increase their affection toward you, which reaps you certain benefits, but then ALL of them CONSTANTLY call you to hang out, even if you’re in the middle of a mission getting chased by the cops, or in the middle of commuting to do your next mission, or commuting home from your last mission. Whatever. And if you tell them no, even if it’s your own cousin asking you to go bowling again, though you just went bowling with him two days ago, he will get upset and you’ll lose affection. You can’t tell them no.

    Also, Liberty City is big but incredibly empty. You will not be rewarded for exploring b/c there is simply not much out there. Instead of secret packages to collect, this time around you have to kill special pigeons, which are very frustrating to find even with the help of a guide. I got to about 20 or so before I asked myself why the hell I was doing it, because I wasn’t having any fun.

    Finally, the “story” I keep seeing so many positive reviews refer to is stupid & nonsensical. You’re an illegal alien who begins a career as a professional criminal as soon as you step off the boat. Not much different from any other GTA protagonist aside from not already being a US citizen, right? Except now you’re Borat. AMAZING! There IS NO story! You’re a criminal who makes friends with other criminals throughout the game and then commits criminal acts. *spoiler*

    Furthermore, while there may well be 20 hours’ worth of cutscenes (which tend to go on forever) & dialogue (which also never ends during your mission commutes with NPCs), it seems like it was all written by a 10-year old boy. Penis & fart jokes, characters needlessly dropping f-bombs twice a sentence to be “edgy” (I guess), and all-around lame humor in general that makes you roll your eyes and want to skip through every cutscene you come across. Unless you are a 10-year old boy, in which case I guess you’d be in heaven. Maybe that’s the targeted demographic now?

    But Rockstar will keep making the same game as long as sheep keep buying it. Anyone who wants to see what an improvement in this genre looks like, I’d direct you toward Saints Row the Third. Not the best game ever, but one that is actually, you know, “fun” to play. Something Rockstar left out of GTA4.
    Expand
  56. Oct 11, 2013
    1
    This game is completely and utterly terrible. Its boring and repetitive and ridiculously frustrating. The only thing I liked was the city. Liberty City breathes and feels real, That's the only thing I like about this game, other then that, it's simply terrible and a waste of money. Even the textures are terrible for its time.
  57. Aug 8, 2014
    1
    Worst game in the Franchises history. I was having fun for about the first 12 hours and then I got bored. I had to force myself to pick it back up just to beat it. NOTHING to do after the story mode, ZERO replay value.
  58. Jan 20, 2015
    1
    I cannot believe the 98 meta score. Ridiculous. Probably the worst GTA there is. Boring repetitive missions, boring characters except maybe for brucie. Driving and getting around just feels tedious. Gameplay = clunky and unintutitive. might not be a bad game if all you want to do is run around shooting random people and crashing cars ignoring the characters, plot, missions etc. Even thenI cannot believe the 98 meta score. Ridiculous. Probably the worst GTA there is. Boring repetitive missions, boring characters except maybe for brucie. Driving and getting around just feels tedious. Gameplay = clunky and unintutitive. might not be a bad game if all you want to do is run around shooting random people and crashing cars ignoring the characters, plot, missions etc. Even then it's only mediocre and not much different than previous GTAs. Bad game, horribly overrated. Expand
  59. FredC.
    May 4, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a PS3 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  60. AnonymousMC
    May 20, 2009
    0
    This overated piece of crap isn't worth you're money or your time. It doesn't deserve to be the highest rated game this generation (that spot should be reserved for Mario Galaxy!) and it definetely doesn't deserve a 98.

    IT IS NOT THE BEST THING SINCE OCARINA OF TIME!!! Don't listen to some reviewers who say it is. If you want a good sandbox game on the PS3 get
    This overated piece of crap isn't worth you're money or your time. It doesn't deserve to be the highest rated game this generation (that spot should be reserved for Mario Galaxy!) and it definetely doesn't deserve a 98.

    IT IS NOT THE BEST THING SINCE OCARINA OF TIME!!! Don't listen to some reviewers who say it is. If you want a good sandbox game on the PS3 get inFamous. If you want a good sandbox on the 360 get...ummm...just get Halo 3. And if you REALLY want to play a GTA game, then get a PS2 and buy Vice City,
    Expand
  61. AdamS
    Feb 26, 2010
    0
    A Really really REALLY OVERRATED Why not make yourself pick were you live and play the way you want but you cant you play as Niko Belic a VERY very sad man with a lot of problems making his dream in the USA WHY!?! the Game is made by Rockstar North a UK developer this game is NOT the best game on the PS3/360 its a OK game but its got nothing new! its just the same as all the other A Really really REALLY OVERRATED Why not make yourself pick were you live and play the way you want but you cant you play as Niko Belic a VERY very sad man with a lot of problems making his dream in the USA WHY!?! the Game is made by Rockstar North a UK developer this game is NOT the best game on the PS3/360 its a OK game but its got nothing new! its just the same as all the other GTA's and in most ways not as good tbh! Anything with GTA on it all ways gets 10/10 WHY!!! Expand
  62. oranges
    Oct 1, 2008
    0
    How can the critics give a 10 to a game like this? the shooting is a joke, u might as well throw rocks at the enemys - all it is driving around your gay cousin or somthing so he doesnt get killed - complete wast of money and time for this game.
  63. JamesM.
    Apr 30, 2008
    0
    It's a joke that people have rated this when it only came out yesterday. Unless you've completed the game u really don't have any place to rate it. (hypocrisy noted)
  64. JohnB.
    Apr 30, 2008
    0
    come get me stalkers!
  65. AndrewS
    May 1, 2008
    0
    Textures much rougher than in 360 version, and with the lighting everything looks somewhat yellow, unlike 360 where it looks more natural. Not the version to get.
  66. NickH.
    Oct 3, 2009
    0
    Don't count my vote. It was there to mimimize the 10s. Anyway my real score for this game is 7. The graphics are good, the music is medium quality but the problem is the gameplay. The missions are the same thing over and over. Go , kill. The first time you play the game you don't realize this but when you play it for the second time you clearly see it. It gets a bit boring. But Don't count my vote. It was there to mimimize the 10s. Anyway my real score for this game is 7. The graphics are good, the music is medium quality but the problem is the gameplay. The missions are the same thing over and over. Go , kill. The first time you play the game you don't realize this but when you play it for the second time you clearly see it. It gets a bit boring. But another bad thing about the game is that its TOO realistic and not fun like San andreas. You don't feel free in this game. While in san andreas you where riding your motorbike in woods, hearing to music and relaxing, here you always go to missions because you want to get over with the game and because you can't do what i told you before. The critics where either bribed or where to exhilirated by the new minigames , cellphone options e.t.c . Still my point is : It's a good game worth buying but doesn't deserve all these 10s and it isn't in the top list of the gta series. Expand
  67. SteveM
    Jul 22, 2009
    0
    This game is too repetitive. You go and talk with one man, he want to kill someone. You kill the guy, and ok it's done. The game is always this. Graphics aren't the best, playstation have better graphics to offer. Some crashes around the game made me put this game away, I sold it 5$. Really bad game.
  68. ZerpyBoy
    Feb 17, 2010
    0
    Just another offsetting the 10's. This game does nothing but bow down to the majority of the human race, that being braindead violence hungry war mongers. There is such a game without guns. Those that say RPG's are stale are just naive biased gun crazed so and so's. This game is just as stale, if not more than all the other games out there. Same stories, same missions same Just another offsetting the 10's. This game does nothing but bow down to the majority of the human race, that being braindead violence hungry war mongers. There is such a game without guns. Those that say RPG's are stale are just naive biased gun crazed so and so's. This game is just as stale, if not more than all the other games out there. Same stories, same missions same simple game play. Nothing new here. I was a fan of the series until the franchise went hyper popular and gained nothing but simple minded followers that wanted guns violence, sex and more guns. Poor form everyone. Expand
  69. JoshS.
    Oct 4, 2008
    0
    Firstly, a warning: Many of the engine sounds contained within this game are unrealistic and downright exaggerated. As a car enthusiast, I have to be able to recognise a car by the tone and distinctive pitch emitted by each engine. However, in GTA, this was not possible, due to the dreadful engine sounds. Many members of my family were upset by this game, including my sister, Evie. All in Firstly, a warning: Many of the engine sounds contained within this game are unrealistic and downright exaggerated. As a car enthusiast, I have to be able to recognise a car by the tone and distinctive pitch emitted by each engine. However, in GTA, this was not possible, due to the dreadful engine sounds. Many members of my family were upset by this game, including my sister, Evie. All in all, a great game. 8 out of 10. Expand
  70. KoriR.
    May 22, 2008
    0
    Best game ever.
  71. MichaelReinheimer
    May 7, 2008
    0
    GTA IV is a great game, but the PS3 version is by far the inferior version of the game. It has much worse graphics and lighting, a less stable framerate, no achievements, worse online play, and no DLC coming out for it, compared to the 360 version. It's only benefit is the Sixaxis motion sensing feature. Oh, wait a minute, that's crap too. If you are picking up GTA IV,GTA IV is a great game, but the PS3 version is by far the inferior version of the game. It has much worse graphics and lighting, a less stable framerate, no achievements, worse online play, and no DLC coming out for it, compared to the 360 version. It's only benefit is the Sixaxis motion sensing feature. Oh, wait a minute, that's crap too. If you are picking up GTA IV, definitely go for the 360 version for the full experience. Expand
  72. Ryencoke
    Jul 8, 2008
    0
    Over-rated garbage. The game was appealing for about a week. The game is very linear, and lack extra activities. This is the worst GTA in the series. Also, Seth R. You're a damn moron for your comments.
  73. Sean
    Jun 22, 2009
    0
    This game didn't deserve a 10. I think an accurate vote would be around a 7. My zero exists merely to offset the undeserved praise lauded on the game by drooling fanbois. GTAIV is a game that wants to be an oscar winning movie. That' just not going to happen. The plot is great for a game, but doesn't measure up to the meanest B-grade movie. The relationship with kate for This game didn't deserve a 10. I think an accurate vote would be around a 7. My zero exists merely to offset the undeserved praise lauded on the game by drooling fanbois. GTAIV is a game that wants to be an oscar winning movie. That' just not going to happen. The plot is great for a game, but doesn't measure up to the meanest B-grade movie. The relationship with kate for instance doesn't even seem like a relationship until she dies and you realize that Nikko was supposed to love her. The most ridiculous aspects of the game are glossed over by gta iv apologists who will tell you that if you want to do vigilante missions or fire missions or the like you have to "use your imagination". It's a video game, if I have to use my imagination to have fun in a video game I think the game has missed the point. Expand
  74. johnbarros
    Jul 12, 2009
    0
    the MOST OVERHYPED OBJECT EVER ON THE FACE OF THIS PLANET. I cant believe all the reviews, im starting to think rockstar paid off every critic. My fave game of all time is gta vice followed by san andreas so you can only imagine my dissapointment after playing this piece of shit. Way too realistic which ruins the all the fun, no real side missions, repetive missions, retarded dating,the MOST OVERHYPED OBJECT EVER ON THE FACE OF THIS PLANET. I cant believe all the reviews, im starting to think rockstar paid off every critic. My fave game of all time is gta vice followed by san andreas so you can only imagine my dissapointment after playing this piece of shit. Way too realistic which ruins the all the fun, no real side missions, repetive missions, retarded dating, boring storyline, uninteresting main charachter, nothing to unlock, no goals to reach, no properties to buy and the list goes on. If the future gta series are like this then theyve lost a fan. its too bad cuz they could have made this game amazing had they not spent 98% of their time on the graphics Expand
  75. ScottC
    Dec 26, 2008
    0
    It was fun for like 5 minutes! Just like the rest of the GTA games. The story i found boring and the online is terrible! Worst online expierience ive ever had. Worst 40 quid I have ever spent. Wish I gave this one a pass and just bought MGS4 on its own instead.
  76. JoeR.
    Aug 16, 2008
    0
    Horrendously boring.
  77. SalvadorR.
    Feb 16, 2009
    0
    This game is terrible dont let the media confuse you into believing it is that good u will be disappointed when i 1st got this game i was 2 exited that i didn't relize that i wasn't haveing that much fun. I had a way better time playing gta san andraes. once i finished the game i play the crap multiplayer and traded it in for only $15 they said " we have plenty of these used" This game is terrible dont let the media confuse you into believing it is that good u will be disappointed when i 1st got this game i was 2 exited that i didn't relize that i wasn't haveing that much fun. I had a way better time playing gta san andraes. once i finished the game i play the crap multiplayer and traded it in for only $15 they said " we have plenty of these used" and I traded it only a month after it came out alot of people know the TRUTH.! Expand
  78. Dec 29, 2012
    0
    Don't get the hype, there is nothing "revolutionary" about this game. All I experienced was an extremely dull game with often repetitive missions and monotonous combat.
  79. May 18, 2011
    0
    Why is this game rated the best PS3 game ever? Are you serious? This game deserves max 3, but I give it 0 to counter all those pointless 10's. I do not reccomned this game at all, unless you need some sandbox game to drive around and screw some stuff, if you want a story, it's not a good game.
  80. Aug 27, 2011
    0
    Completely overrated. I stopped playing after two hours because every mission was a variation of "follow me while i talk to and then kill some people I don't like". Also, the game mechanics are crap, because every time I want to shoot someone, the crosshair is automatically pointed at and locked on the nearest person's torso, making headshots and other things impossible to make. InCompletely overrated. I stopped playing after two hours because every mission was a variation of "follow me while i talk to and then kill some people I don't like". Also, the game mechanics are crap, because every time I want to shoot someone, the crosshair is automatically pointed at and locked on the nearest person's torso, making headshots and other things impossible to make. In addition, the story is never fleshed out. Niko is here to find some person, but that is never pursued, and he seems to be trying to be legit, but that never happens. GTA 4 is imbalanced and boring, and is easily one of the worst games I have every played. Expand
  81. Oct 29, 2011
    0
    This game is a piece of **** I bet all of the reviewers were paid to give GTA 4 a 10. "Overrated. Annoying characters, clunky gameplay (did the developers ever try driving a real car?!), did I say annoying characters? So glad I got it second hand and cheap--still a waste of money." I AGREE WITH YOU http://www.metacritic.com/user/ElectricPhase "This game is too repetitive. You go and talkThis game is a piece of **** I bet all of the reviewers were paid to give GTA 4 a 10. "Overrated. Annoying characters, clunky gameplay (did the developers ever try driving a real car?!), did I say annoying characters? So glad I got it second hand and cheap--still a waste of money." I AGREE WITH YOU http://www.metacritic.com/user/ElectricPhase "This game is too repetitive. You go and talk with one man, he want to kill someone. You kill the guy, and ok it's done. The game is always this. Graphics aren't the best, playstation have better graphics to offer. Some crashes around the game made me put this game away, I sold it 5$. Really bad game". ALSO AGREE WITH Horrendously boring. It was fun for like 5 minutes! Just like the rest of the GTA games. The story i found boring and the online is terrible! Worst online expierience ive ever had. Worst 40 quid I have ever spent. Wish I gave this one a pass and just bought MGS4 on its own instead Expand
  82. Jun 7, 2013
    0
    I hate giving 0's but theres something about this game. Its playability is minimal nevermind the concept of replayability. Graphically it's a treat, that aside, it's mediocre.
  83. Nov 30, 2011
    0
    This is the most over rated game ever. REALLY 98? User score tells more about this game... This is like every other GTA, boring after few days. Rockstar has paid for those 100 metascore givers.
  84. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    GTA IV is such an utter disappointment i was just sad as a long time fan of GTA since PS2 days the series is really messed up now just like Metal Gear Solid the only way to fix these problems is to stop making games first of all im really shocked about how it got so many 10/10's for such a sh**ty game rockstar must have bribed these greedy a*****es for these reviews
  85. Oct 24, 2013
    0
    How do you morons like this game. It is gloomy and the cars make walking become fun because they suckkkkkkkk. Give this game to someone obese and they will walk to return it.
  86. Jun 2, 2014
    0
    Genuine proof that Metacritic is bought and paid. How the hell did they earn this kind of rating for a GTA game? Not to mention this is undoubtedly the worst in a series that reached its peak with GTA 2.
  87. Oct 7, 2014
    0
    Most overrated game of all time. How can this be highest rated game on PS3? This game sucks hard Grand Theft Auto San Andreas is 5 times batter the only improvement are graphics.
  88. Feb 16, 2015
    0
    Overrated piece of **** just like Ocarina of Time, worst GTA of them all....................................................................................................................
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]