Grand Theft Auto IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2927 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best game ever!The best open-world game ever with good graphics quality,plot and city!You will be absolutely enjoy playing this game!Don't miss it! Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2014
    10
    I played this game after I had already beaten GTA V and I have to say that I was not disappointed. GTA IV had a great story (better than 5 in my opinion), and great gameplay and missions. Though I thought the graphics weren't the best, if I had played the game when it originally came out in 2008, I would have been very impressed. I only had a couple of issues with the game. One being thatI played this game after I had already beaten GTA V and I have to say that I was not disappointed. GTA IV had a great story (better than 5 in my opinion), and great gameplay and missions. Though I thought the graphics weren't the best, if I had played the game when it originally came out in 2008, I would have been very impressed. I only had a couple of issues with the game. One being that it was very dark in some missions and even when I adjusted the brightness, it was still hard to see what to do or where to go. Also, there were some glitches and bugs, but none of these issues took away from my overall experience with the game. I spent about 26 hours to beat the game and I would advise that anyone who likes open world, hilariously written, violent and vulgar games, should get this game. It is a masterpiece. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover thatWhat does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover that the reality is very different from the dream in a city that worships money and status, and is heaven for those who have them an a living nightmare for those who don't. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2015
    10
    I can't find the words to say how Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game. Brilliantly and beautifully.

    "We're all looking for that special someone." (Niko Bellic)
  5. May 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A game that I played for many years. Masterpiece.great story.great characters. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it. Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  7. Dec 3, 2015
    10
    This is by no doubt the best game ever made. GTA IV is holding up so well, there are few games that are as good or will ever be as good.

    It is by no doubt it is one of the highest rated games of ALL TIME.
  8. Jul 11, 2015
    10
    This game is so awesome. The gameplay has progressed so much. And the story is so thrilling and interesting with some comedy which touches different people in society but touches on their negative side with a range of moral decisions to make. I was more interested in the story than the gameplay itself as the story is about a Russian who comes to liberty city for revenge and is influencedThis game is so awesome. The gameplay has progressed so much. And the story is so thrilling and interesting with some comedy which touches different people in society but touches on their negative side with a range of moral decisions to make. I was more interested in the story than the gameplay itself as the story is about a Russian who comes to liberty city for revenge and is influenced by the American dream and finds out its just propaganda as he dives into the criminal ranks. Since his cousin has to pay debt to very dangerous people. Expand
  9. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm seeing a lot of dumb comments about people claiming to know "the truth" about gta4...because obviously this is just some big conspiracy by all the game reviewers to trick you into buying a bad game! no, artards gta4 is a great game and you are just incapable of seeing it. even worse though is your attitude that the reviews, all 64 reviews from different magazines websites and newspapers, are somehow rigged. Maybe they all got together and thought as a laugh they would give gta4 great ratings to trick you into buying it. idiots, this game got great ratings cause it deserved it. GTA4 is an amazing game, don't listen to those noobs who downrated it cause they sucked to hard to beat the campaign. Expand
  10. Jul 31, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok, multiplayer is not the best in the world, but the argument of the game is freaking amazing and so cool
    so I give this game a 10 just for the satisfaction of killing Dimitri
    Expand
  11. Oct 12, 2015
    10
    The best grand theft auto game and the story is priceless. There is nothing that I would change its fun and makes you feel emotional for the people in the game.
  12. Dec 29, 2015
    10
    This was the most amazing gta after gta V.But i remember how bad was driving mechanics I always had to call taxi.I still love this game but its getting its age and no longer interests me.
  13. May 22, 2016
    10
    Graphic: 8/10
    Sound: 10/10
    + great story, awesome characters, big soundtrack, big open world, good multiplayer, tons to discover, +100 vehicles - blurry graphic/textures, spongy control of characters Conclusion: As a big fan of the GTA games I can say this is a great masterpiece of a game. The game shows how the eastern immigrants life and have to fight to survive, in a America
    Graphic: 8/10
    Sound: 10/10

    + great story, awesome characters, big soundtrack, big open world, good multiplayer, tons to discover, +100 vehicles

    - blurry graphic/textures, spongy control of characters

    Conclusion: As a big fan of the GTA games I can say this is a great masterpiece of a game. The game shows how the eastern immigrants life and have to fight to survive, in a America far away from the pleasant life you see in TV. The main character Nico and his cousin and all characters in this masterpiece are well done, the voice actors does it good, the soundtrack with hours of good music is also a big point in this game, especially the east European bands and your pop music is nice to hear. At long last, GTA 4 is a worthy successor with typical strong points of the series and a weak graphic (consoles) compared with a strong PC.
    Expand
  14. Mar 5, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't care about negative comments. I have my opinion. In this game you feel like in criminal life. And I played GTA 5 which was great but something was missing. And I remembered that GTA 5 lacks good story. And until this day I am a big fan of GTA 4, because of atmosphere in this game. Expand
  15. Aug 14, 2016
    10
    Лучшая игра на PS3 (после GTA 5)! Несмотря на сложную архитектуру PlayStation 3 и нераскрытый потенциал консоли - игра получилась достаточно красивой, с долей мрачности и серости Либерти-Сити. Единственный минус - апскейл до HD. Но стоит учитывать, то что игра вышла в начале поколения и все тонкости железа не знали. На этот раз игра стала серьезной, она повзрослела. Теперь сюжет стал болееЛучшая игра на PS3 (после GTA 5)! Несмотря на сложную архитектуру PlayStation 3 и нераскрытый потенциал консоли - игра получилась достаточно красивой, с долей мрачности и серости Либерти-Сити. Единственный минус - апскейл до HD. Но стоит учитывать, то что игра вышла в начале поколения и все тонкости железа не знали. На этот раз игра стала серьезной, она повзрослела. Теперь сюжет стал более драматичным и интересным. И игра действительно показывает, что связавшись с криминалом - ты будешь многое терять. И на этот раз Нико Беллик хотел начать новую жизнь, но всё пошло к черту. Теперь ему предстоит пройти сложный путь со своим кузеном Романом. Ещё интересно, что игра связана с Россией. Много персонажей из русской мафии Либерти-Сити, который срисован с Нью-Йорка. Ещё стиль игры и сюжет очень похож на фильм "Брат-2". Шедеврально. Expand
  16. Jul 12, 2016
    10
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is the best in the series in my opinion and the reason for this is because it's more realistic, it's open world like the other games is great, it has a great story, it has more weapons and it has more vehicles that you can drive in. I just love going around and shooting and running over people (don't worry, i won't do that in real life).
  17. Aug 31, 2016
    10
    This game describes how the crisis of 2008 maked the life of some americans fall down, because all in this game is based on that historical moment, i really enjoyed to play as Niko Bellic, a serbian guy whch comes becuase war destroyed his life, and he arrives a travel to liberty city, the worst city to live in america.
  18. Mar 12, 2017
    10
    One of the best games ever made, it deserves the second place, it have it all, good gameplay, amazing history, good physics, man.. this game and rdr are the master pieces of rockstar. Congrats
  19. PatL.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    It is definitely a great game, but I think that now it's getting overrated by many reviewers. I mean: it's great, but factors like innovations and defects like Framerate and some controls that don't work quite well (aim, for example) have been completely ignored. Of course this doesn't transform it in a bad game. Not at all. But it's not a perfect game at all and It is definitely a great game, but I think that now it's getting overrated by many reviewers. I mean: it's great, but factors like innovations and defects like Framerate and some controls that don't work quite well (aim, for example) have been completely ignored. Of course this doesn't transform it in a bad game. Not at all. But it's not a perfect game at all and it doesn't deserve all that hype. I really ask to reviewers to be more objective in the future, because there are limits to everything. Expand
  20. DexX
    May 8, 2008
    9
    Brilliant, but not perfect. The storyline and characters, especially Niko and his relationships with other denizens of Liberty City, are what make it so compelling. Main flaws are a somewhat dodgy camera and some twitchy vehicle controls. Still one of the best games in ages, though.
  21. DazL
    Jul 8, 2008
    9
    Along with CoD4 and MGS this is a must have game for any PS3 owner. Graphically the game stands out from any of its predecessors and the gameplay as you would expect from the GTA series is superb. There are a few minor glitches in the targeting system, some features taken out from previous versions but the greatness of this game hugely outweigh the flaws and ultimately doesn't stop Along with CoD4 and MGS this is a must have game for any PS3 owner. Graphically the game stands out from any of its predecessors and the gameplay as you would expect from the GTA series is superb. There are a few minor glitches in the targeting system, some features taken out from previous versions but the greatness of this game hugely outweigh the flaws and ultimately doesn't stop this game from being absolute quality. Expand
  22. Tobias
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Brilliant story, great characters, fantastic atmosphere but the RAGE engine definitely has its problems - most notably the framerate is absolutely horrible and IMHO almost never reaches 30 fps. The PS3 version lacks antialiasing (360 has 2xAA) which is compensated by some sort of blur filter which makes everything a little bit too muddy. It's definitely not deserving 100%.
  23. BobM.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    very good wonderful settings and surroundings only let down was the control of the cars. it is extremely hard to steer. apart from that the game is perfect.
  24. EugeneT.
    May 19, 2008
    9
    A lot of people say that this game is a lot like all the other GTA in the series. But I ask you, is that not what all game series are are? From Tomb Raider to Duke Nukem to Fifa. They all follow their preset formats. GTA takes on the form of yet another villain ariving in Liberty City. You get all the things you got before and even more. There's nothing really bad about this game. If A lot of people say that this game is a lot like all the other GTA in the series. But I ask you, is that not what all game series are are? From Tomb Raider to Duke Nukem to Fifa. They all follow their preset formats. GTA takes on the form of yet another villain ariving in Liberty City. You get all the things you got before and even more. There's nothing really bad about this game. If you've played the other GTA games then you have a fair idea what you have to do, if you have never played it before it won't take long to get used to it. What makes this one slightly better than any other titles of the same name, is that it's not based on forming a gang. Remember the last GTA you had to form a gang, and it was all typical sterotypical American Style Gangsters. Well it's not this time around. You are integrated slowly into the Liberty City UnderWorld of corruption. Doing menial tasks to begin with, but with the use of Email and Mobile phone you stay in constant contact for missions. You forge relationships between the characters and even get the choice now and then to eliminate some of them. You make friends, and this allows you a break from the missions by visiting strip clubs, bars (getting drunk), play pool, bowling, darts and many other activities. The shooting and cop chases are totally revamped. The characters are interesting and plausible. Why did I give it a 9? Well here's the thing, every game that I buy there is never any sort of young people, animals or anything in there. No dogs, no cats, no kids, nothing really. It's all the same characters from adults to oap's. Now I'm not saying that you should be able to hurt the dogs, cats, fish, kids etc. it would be nice to see them. Because I've never visited a city that didn't have them. That for me takes the realism from the story and the game play. I know it's petty, but this day and age it can't be that hard to program so alternate characters. In fact you don't see grave yards or anything like. There are freighters parked at the docks you can't steal. Planes at the airport you can't steal. It just seems to me that you're going to build a city then you make all the vehicles accessible. There isn't even any bicycles, skateboards or anything there. You can't walk down a street these days without seeing some kids skateboarding, in any country. So for me, it gets a huge thumbs up, but the environment is a little stale and could use a brushing up of characters, like kids, dogs, cats, fish, a stray bear, and how about some fish in that water, a shark or something would be interesting. Expand
  25. NickU.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    This game has a lot of realism and makes the video game playing community take a real look at the series. Grand Theft Auto IV has become a next-gen game for a next-gen system. There are a lot of buildings that you can walk into like the previous games of the series, however the graphics and the modernization of the city very well makes up for this.
  26. LimanimaL.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    What else is there to be said about this game? This game is just awesome. Taking a cab and enjoying the ride in the back seat, is one of the most realistic things I've ever seen on a video game. Fantastic game.
  27. ShawnF.
    Jun 5, 2008
    9
    Great physics and story. The RAGE engine is beautiful and the city is well designed. However, the gameplay lacked some key GTA elements, such as buying safehouses or businesses. The multiplayer wasn't implemented very well and the removal of ambulance & fire truck missions was very disappointing.
  28. Elwenil
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    While I do not think this is the best game in the series, it is a very good game with an engaging storyline and memorable characters. The radio stations could use a lot of work as they lack a lot of the variety of San Andreas. As a matter of fact, the game lacks many aspects of San Andreas such as the large open world and variety of air vehicles. I found it strange that helicopters play a While I do not think this is the best game in the series, it is a very good game with an engaging storyline and memorable characters. The radio stations could use a lot of work as they lack a lot of the variety of San Andreas. As a matter of fact, the game lacks many aspects of San Andreas such as the large open world and variety of air vehicles. I found it strange that helicopters play a very small role in this game when flight was such an obsession with players in the last few games. Overall the game is very good and a must have for just about any gamer. Expand
  29. JoelS.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    The game is amazing...Initially I was just playing it story wise until my friend got over to my place. He just likes jacking cars and running down people and getting into fights with the police. Did find some cool stuff out about the game from the three hours he did that. Cars take realistic damage when you hit things. When I say realistic I mean it and it is specific to the area hit. Not The game is amazing...Initially I was just playing it story wise until my friend got over to my place. He just likes jacking cars and running down people and getting into fights with the police. Did find some cool stuff out about the game from the three hours he did that. Cars take realistic damage when you hit things. When I say realistic I mean it and it is specific to the area hit. Not just something that says "you got into an accident and the front end of the car was damaged so lets make the front end damaged." I mean more like if you hit a stationary post it will crease the car right where you hit it. Another cool thing is bullet holes stay where bullet holes are made and say you are driving the car and get shot, there will be a blood splatter pattern made on the inside of the windshield. The city is more "alive" than any other game I have ever played. More people walking the streets. More people having random conversations. Once my friend took off finally at 10 I got a good three hours of story mode in. Cinematics and voice acting are top notch. Story keeps you wanting to play the missions. There's only been one downside to the game and I've only experienced it when driving around killing people and running from the cops. Every so often you will get the game to "hang" for a few seconds. I don't know if it is a loading issue or a too many artifacts on the screen and the processor is having a hard time keeping up issue. I do know from what I have heard that the PS3 version of the game runs a lot smoother than the XBox 360 version. Apparently that version has frame rate drops and the whole nine yards. This was noted by video game magazine and online site reviews by actual reviewers and not just fanboys of the PS3. Might be the reason that Microsoft spent 50 some odd million getting it so the 360 version was the only one with downloadable content for a year or so...I'm sure eventually the downloadable content will reach the PS3 version. There was a rumor started by who I am guessing is a PS3 fanboy that said something different though. That the only reason the 360 version had downloadable content was because they couldn't fit all of the game onto one disc like they could for the PS3 thanks to the blu-ray discs having more storage space. Like I said though, probably started by some fanboy for the PS3...Seems like there are always going to be people that choose one system over the other. If I had the extra money laying around I'd probably pick up a 360 but I have better things to put my money towards. Oh, forgot to mention that one of the new features with Grand Theft Auto 4 that I don't really care for is the GPS in the game. Kinda takes away the fun when all you have to do is go to the map and place a marker where you want to go and and all you have to do after that is follow the green line on the little circular map on the screen to get to your destination. I do like the addition of the cell phone except for the fact that you will sometimes pop it up when you're trying to switch weapons but I am guessing that will go away once I learn all of the functions of the controller and where everything is located. And just like with the other Grand Theft Auto games you can only access certain areas and if you try to go over a bridge that takes you to a new part of the city you will come across a line of cop cars and cops with their guns pulled ready to fire on you. They at least gave it a better reason why this time around. They went with the more recent war on terror aspect. Something we all know. The area is blocked thanks to a terror alert. They did incorporate the six axis controller into the game fairly effectively but frustratingly as well. Using the six axis to reload weapons, drive motorcycles, drive boats...That's all good and dandy but just wait until you try controlling a helicopter with the six axis controller. Talk about a pain in the behind. After playing the game for awhile you unlock the Six Axis Tutorial which you can access from your cell phone. I tried it like four or five times and when it gets to the point where you're supposed to land the helicopter I fail miserably. I'm sure with a few more tries I'll be able to get it down but if you want to try it out you better have a steady hand. I'm going to be stubborn with this one as well and keep the six axis ability turned on. Of course you can do all the things the six axis does using just the analog sticks but I want to get the six axis function down better so it helps in other games. Overall I would like to be able to give this game a 10 because it's as close to perfection as they come but thanks to the game freezing a few times (it does recover after a few seconds) I can only give it a 9. Graphics = 10 Gameplay = 9 Sound = 10 Cinematics = 10 Over-all fun factor = 10. Expand
  30. B.T.R.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    I think a 100 score is a bit over-zealous and an effort to push the GTA series into the limelight. Bottom line, all of this has been done before, just not in such a large, living city such as Liberty City. The storyline so far (3.5 hours in) is great. There's great action, the AI is right on, the sound is great, but ultimately it's nothing all that ground-breaking to warrant a I think a 100 score is a bit over-zealous and an effort to push the GTA series into the limelight. Bottom line, all of this has been done before, just not in such a large, living city such as Liberty City. The storyline so far (3.5 hours in) is great. There's great action, the AI is right on, the sound is great, but ultimately it's nothing all that ground-breaking to warrant a 100 score. For crying out loud they don't even give Zelda for Wii a 100 and it broke all kinds of ground. Expand
  31. MattS.
    May 23, 2008
    9
    Great game, only a few things that bug me, one being the ragdoll effect when you fly out of a car, but everything else is awesome, online is fun, though it can be laggy.
  32. LimanimaLima
    May 26, 2008
    9
    I give 8.8 to this game. The environment is awsome it makes me think: "wow, how did they manage to build an entire city with so much details?". But the game loses in gameplay. It's way too repetitive. "Go from point A to point B, get your mission, go from point B to point C, kill dude". I'ev played 40% of the game and I'm already tired of it.
  33. RobertV.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    I was extremely excited about this game, only to be slightly disappointed. I've played about two hours up till now and I like it, but I can't say I love it as much as VC or SA. Maybe I've just played GTA too much and gotten bored of it...anyways, graphics are a 10. I am not playing in HD right now and it still looks great; models in general look fantastic, damage looks I was extremely excited about this game, only to be slightly disappointed. I've played about two hours up till now and I like it, but I can't say I love it as much as VC or SA. Maybe I've just played GTA too much and gotten bored of it...anyways, graphics are a 10. I am not playing in HD right now and it still looks great; models in general look fantastic, damage looks great, environment also looks good. Gameplay so far is an 8; like I said, the concept is great, I might've just played the series too much and it seems a bit repetitive. Later on, I'll probably start getting into it more as the story gets more intense and more gameplay is explained; i.e. how the in-game internet works, how to access database in cop cars, etc. For everybody else, please pick this up as it is a fantastic game! Well worth the money. Expand
  34. MarkH.
    May 5, 2008
    9
    Very good, slight graphical glitches at times, nothing serious, but still considerably better than the 360 version (which I owned before taking it abck and swapping it).
  35. SC.
    May 6, 2008
    9
    GTA IV is a good game, sure, but who gives it 100% or 10 out of 10, really? Any game, for that matter. I'll give it a 9, yeah, but it's far from perfect. There are numerous stability issues and the aiming and shooting sequences (in particular) control like a dog.
  36. TaylorP.
    Feb 4, 2009
    9
    This game is awesome. The storyline was amazing. Over 50 hours of side missions and has pretty much anything in it. They should have added a few more things though like paying rent or actually using a bank. But who cares about that, games are ment to be fun. So everyone stop complaining if its not realistic enough. All games are ment to be fun!!!
  37. NikeshPatel
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    The main story is fun but the side missions are too hard to start. But overall this game will give you about 40+ hours of gameplay (if you messed around the world). Niko actually has depth which the protagonist of san andreas didn't have. Overall a game that is better than the other gtas.
  38. HeathB.
    Aug 14, 2009
    9
    Not as jawdropping as I expected but still a 10 because the story reminds me of my favorite crime movies like Heat. The sheer scope of Liberty City is most welcome as it clearly tells you that indeed, the whole city is a one living and breathing giant playground of anarchy and carnage. Siund is a bit of a problem sometimes as it's hard to hear dialogue in cutscenes. The new combat Not as jawdropping as I expected but still a 10 because the story reminds me of my favorite crime movies like Heat. The sheer scope of Liberty City is most welcome as it clearly tells you that indeed, the whole city is a one living and breathing giant playground of anarchy and carnage. Siund is a bit of a problem sometimes as it's hard to hear dialogue in cutscenes. The new combat system sets an example that future Gears of War-like games should follow as well as for the action genre itself. Wish the hand to hand combat levels with Niko's badass standard though. Expand
  39. JoHunter
    Oct 21, 2008
    9
    I love the visuals and the sound effects. I followed and played every 3-D GTA game ever made, Gta3 blew my mind, Vice city blew Gta 3 away and San andreas changed gaming forever. GTA 4 is a great game but the DRIVING MECHANICS ARE REALLY FRUSTRATING, its too realistic. The cars, trucks and bikes spin outta control 2 easy it reminds me of that old British game "The Getaway" when it comes toI love the visuals and the sound effects. I followed and played every 3-D GTA game ever made, Gta3 blew my mind, Vice city blew Gta 3 away and San andreas changed gaming forever. GTA 4 is a great game but the DRIVING MECHANICS ARE REALLY FRUSTRATING, its too realistic. The cars, trucks and bikes spin outta control 2 easy it reminds me of that old British game "The Getaway" when it comes to driving. the missions get a little monotonous, now don't get me wrong I'll probably never get tired of chasing people down and smoking them, but if in almost every mission u have to engage in a high speed chase and kill your target, they could made the vehicles a little easier to maneuver that's my only beef. The targeting still isn't perfect but it got a lot better
    as far as sandbox style games GO Gta4 is 2nd none. love the story and the feel. it'll be a while before another title tops this one (maybe Godfather 2 ? we'll see) Great Game worth playin all day.
    Expand
  40. TomppaW.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    One of the best GTA games to date, if not the best. Also definitely the best videogame of this generation!
  41. FrankS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Great game with only a few minor flaws.
  42. MattB
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Rampant anti-aliasing issues. Someone, I have no idea who, said the PS3 edition suffered less aliasing than the Xbox360 edition. I'd have to play XB edition, because if it's true the game must be borderline unplayable. The HDR levels need severe tweaking, it runs somewhere between "difficult" and "impossible" to navigate dark areas of the city during real life daylight hours. Rampant anti-aliasing issues. Someone, I have no idea who, said the PS3 edition suffered less aliasing than the Xbox360 edition. I'd have to play XB edition, because if it's true the game must be borderline unplayable. The HDR levels need severe tweaking, it runs somewhere between "difficult" and "impossible" to navigate dark areas of the city during real life daylight hours. The screen is simply pitch black, even with the brightness turned up all the way. Gritty? Yes. More realisitic? Yes. Practical? No. The blur effects of anything beyond about 200' from the character make navigation at high speed on the roads a nightmare. It looks like you're playing the entire game [sans cut scenes] through a pair of coke-bottle-bottomed glasses. I would like to note on the positive side that they did a great job with the cut scenes and pulling you into the roll and life of Nikko. The faces during the cut scenes are very emotive and help convey the story line as well as the "humanity" of the characters involved masterfully. Oh yeah, you have to be *RIGHT ON TOP OF THE TV* to read *ANYTHING* that is displayed on your *TINY* dark-grey text on dark-grey background phone. Prepare to become myopic if you play this game for long periods of time. Whoever let that one slide, also: fired. FPS ranging from 15-30, usually in the low 20s I'd guess... The game needed another several months of polishing. Expand
  43. ThomasH.
    Apr 30, 2008
    9
    Nice game with a lot of opportunities. but, but, but.... it got framrate drops, and the graphics are not amazing. Then 10/10 can´t e reached, but 9/10 is also a high rating.
  44. AlexM.
    May 1, 2008
    9
    Good game, but not perfect. This game is the GTA3 for the next gen console, and i cant wait for the next one to improve on this already great formula. San Andreas was a fantastic game, and i believe that in some aspects, is better than GTA4. In some ways, this game feels like a step backwards when compared to previous titles in the same series. Overall, a still great game.
  45. AlexM.
    May 16, 2008
    9
    One of the best games of the genre, it really manages to improve on many issues that plagued the series for quite some time. The story and characters are compelling and interesting, the graphics are very good (but not perfect) and the sound effects and soundtrack are top notch. The new gunplay mechanic works well to make gunfights more interesting and less of a chore, while the realisticOne of the best games of the genre, it really manages to improve on many issues that plagued the series for quite some time. The story and characters are compelling and interesting, the graphics are very good (but not perfect) and the sound effects and soundtrack are top notch. The new gunplay mechanic works well to make gunfights more interesting and less of a chore, while the realistic physics and the phenomenal Euphoria engine give a new like to vehicles and pedestrians alike. The city is probably the best thing about this game, full of details and amazing environmental effects - it truly is the best virtual world ever created for a videogame. GTA IV still has the satire and hilarity that are trademarks of this series, but it tries to get rid of some of the more "arcadey" elements of the past, giving us a grittier story and even eliciting some emotional response from the player. It is not perfect, but it is the best game of this generation so far. Expand
  46. ArthurP.
    May 21, 2008
    9
    Not a revolution, but rather a delivered promise of a refined formula that reveals detail like no other game has. GTA 4 is not without its flaws, but none of them are able to take the spotlight away from the experience as a whole. Special attention goes to the context of the narrative and gameplay that have sobered up since the series' latest title.
  47. NateD.
    May 3, 2008
    9
    Fun, good graphics, great soundtrack, I love how much is going on around you, Like the city is alive.
  48. KitF.
    May 4, 2008
    9
    It's nice to see how the series has finally matured a bit. The camera could be a little higher whilst driving, there could be a few more weapons, and their's a few load issues, otherwise, I have yet to find fault with the game. I'm not a Grand Theft Auto fan in the least, but this story held me captivated, and the online multiplayer kept me having fun. Definitely a must-buy It's nice to see how the series has finally matured a bit. The camera could be a little higher whilst driving, there could be a few more weapons, and their's a few load issues, otherwise, I have yet to find fault with the game. I'm not a Grand Theft Auto fan in the least, but this story held me captivated, and the online multiplayer kept me having fun. Definitely a must-buy for anyone who liked the previous- For that matter, I'd recommend this to anyone who liked the Sopranos as well. Expand
  49. ChrisO.
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    It doesn't seem like that big of a leap over the other GTAs, but why reinvent the wheel?
  50. AlanK.
    Jun 26, 2008
    9
    I would give this game 9.5 This game is great after completing it once and then getting halfway through it again (MGS4 had to be played) I will go back and complete this again, this time around altering my decisions where you let people live or die. Totally makes you want to go back and either kill them again or let them live. I am glad they got rid of the stuff like the gym and the I would give this game 9.5 This game is great after completing it once and then getting halfway through it again (MGS4 had to be played) I will go back and complete this again, this time around altering my decisions where you let people live or die. Totally makes you want to go back and either kill them again or let them live. I am glad they got rid of the stuff like the gym and the swimming, who wants to spend 90 minutes of gameplaying time to build up your underwater swimming abilities. Graphically it is great, the audio once again is a great choice. Driving the cars takes some time getting used to it but it has been made more realistic. The fighting felt to me a bit loose but who buys this game to get into fistfights ? Once again Rockstar have proven themselves to be at the top of the pile. Already looking forward to the next installment wherever or whenever it may be set. Expand
  51. JoeS.
    Jul 19, 2008
    9
    This game is so realistic and life-like. Great work
  52. JonathanL.
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    A gripping experience and the most immersive of the series, but lacks long-term replay value. One of the highest value games on the market with a terrific storyline which puts you in the seat of a gangster in a movie-like experience. The removal of many options that were introduced in previous games of the series holds this game back, and the sketchy multi-player hurts the experience in A gripping experience and the most immersive of the series, but lacks long-term replay value. One of the highest value games on the market with a terrific storyline which puts you in the seat of a gangster in a movie-like experience. The removal of many options that were introduced in previous games of the series holds this game back, and the sketchy multi-player hurts the experience in the long run. A marvelous game with only a short lifespan. Expand
  53. schlittmehr
    Sep 14, 2008
    9
    Solid game, definately the deepest and most entertaining of all the gta series, the increase in graphics to the ps3 level understandably helps, but the gameplay is very good overall, and several of the new features are awesome.
  54. ThorL
    Dec 22, 2009
    9
    Brilliant story, great characters, good looks and did I mention the story? Well, it's not perfect though(who is?) the multi player is a down, the physics some times goes on vacation, and the police could be trying a bit harder(which criminal that have murdered 150 cops would get away with it?). besides those downs though, GTA IV dose deliver and for those of us(at least me) who Brilliant story, great characters, good looks and did I mention the story? Well, it's not perfect though(who is?) the multi player is a down, the physics some times goes on vacation, and the police could be trying a bit harder(which criminal that have murdered 150 cops would get away with it?). besides those downs though, GTA IV dose deliver and for those of us(at least me) who played GTA 3, will remember many of the spots around Liberty City. I personally liked the story because it was very involving, and dose have some nice touches that makes one think that the story could be real(though we all know it isn't, right?). One thing I do miss from the previous GTAs are the ability to fly, yes I know LC is small, but seriously, even GTA 3 had the Dodo! on the pc version graphics is also a little down, the shadows are all dithered, which is annoying and it looks bad, and there is a bit of over-use of shaders here and there. I'd say this game is high up on some of the best games of all times, but it haves it issues, but they don't ruin the game, they are just a tiny bit annoying Expand
  55. DavidA
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    A fantastic game that delivers on every level. The amount of replay value is amazing. This game should belong in any PS3 ownerls library. A true must own.
  56. Ostaf
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    This is quite possibly the best game ever made. But I don't really like it so it gets a 9 out of 10 The story is AMAZING the physics engine is AMAZING graphics are really nice, good replay value, online etc. But they took a lot out. The previous games always added a new feature this game took them all away and replaced it with a cool physics engine. One thing that really bugged me is This is quite possibly the best game ever made. But I don't really like it so it gets a 9 out of 10 The story is AMAZING the physics engine is AMAZING graphics are really nice, good replay value, online etc. But they took a lot out. The previous games always added a new feature this game took them all away and replaced it with a cool physics engine. One thing that really bugged me is how Niko always wanted money (I will only kill because I need the money) but you can have millions of dollars and he still does it. You can spend money on everything every time you pass it and still beat the game with a million dollars. Oh and everyone says this game is just the same thing over and over, well duh, all GTA games are. Expand
  57. LiamH.
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    If I was able to give a percentage for this game, it would be around 92%. Not wanting to repeat common threads of debate i.e. most overrate/best game of all time? I want to submit some points of observation and possible debate: - Firstly, many reviewers (edge in particular) talk about 10 being a summation of a game being of revolutionary status. They highlight how it is the basis from If I was able to give a percentage for this game, it would be around 92%. Not wanting to repeat common threads of debate i.e. most overrate/best game of all time? I want to submit some points of observation and possible debate: - Firstly, many reviewers (edge in particular) talk about 10 being a summation of a game being of revolutionary status. They highlight how it is the basis from which other titles of its genre or type are compared, or a point at which a new direction or scope of possibility is achieived. Personally, GTA III is when this mark was reached, not GTA IV. Secondly- Whilst GTA IV offers a world of pure magical realism, geniune brilliance and relentless sophistication in its scope you cannot deny it's limitations. In terms of gameplay, the repetitive mission structure makes it difficult to sit down and do more than 4- 5 missions at any one time. The missions themselves generally fit the same basic structure. Go to point A, drive to point B and kill someone, drive to point C, collect cash. The side missions are not incorporated but instead become a hindrence and general thumbs down annoyance (sorry packie!) after the first carbaret or game of pool. A game bound by a mission based story development like GTA IV must account for it as an essential part of it's overall rating. It should not be dismissed simply because of the vastness of the world we are given to experience. For example, Oblivion achieves this is a much better way for me. GTA IV is without question a phenomenal game and I praise Rockstar for such an ambitious and daring achievement. But I hope it doesn't win game of the year. That prise has to go to Little Big Planet. Cheers now. Expand
  58. MichaelGuccione
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    When I first started playing this game, I was overwhelmed by how great the gameplay was and the story line. I was hooked. The graphics are in no way the best in a game, but destructions, explosions, and bullet holes make this game that much more intense. What makes this game truly shine is the story. The voice acting is some of the best I have ever heard in a game, ever. The online mode,When I first started playing this game, I was overwhelmed by how great the gameplay was and the story line. I was hooked. The graphics are in no way the best in a game, but destructions, explosions, and bullet holes make this game that much more intense. What makes this game truly shine is the story. The voice acting is some of the best I have ever heard in a game, ever. The online mode, although not the best, is great addition to an already great game. After I beat the game and had played the online mode numerous times, I felt as if there was something missing in this game compared to San Andreas. It was the lack of variety in guns, aircraft, and things to do. It kind of felt a little repetitive and it seemed like there wasn't that much to do after you realize the story is over. For that reason alone, I gave this game a 9. I still consider this to be a great game, one of the best of this generation, but I still thing it was a little overrated. Expand
  59. AndyP.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    The engine and physics are great. Banter between the characters is fun, even changing the next time you play the mission. The story is strong and if you fail to laugh at some part of this game then I
  60. MattA.
    Apr 29, 2008
    9
    Overall, the game is just about the closest thing I've yet experienced to a 'perfectly' virtual reality. I have some minor gripes with some of the controls, but they seem to be a staple of the way Rockstar produces the GTA games. In all, this is totally a win for the video game fan; the game ups the ante of what can and should be expected for adults on their next-gen consoles.
  61. MichaelF.
    May 12, 2008
    9
    9.89 Score from me. One of the best games I've ever played. However, some issues with npc AI especially when in vehicles could be more precise (ie cars too often rear ending each other at stop lights and intersections.) Overall amazing story graphics and gameplay.
  62. DeonM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    This is a great game and will keep everybody busy for quite a while, but with the ps3`s power and potential they could've done a lot more. A lot of the mini games and customization that we had in San Andreas was also taken away which was a letdown. Brilliant nonetheless
  63. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Spectacular game. One of my favorite games in this generation. The amount of freedom in this game is simply astounding...you can literally go anywhere and do anything you can think of. Almost every game has some major limitation that prevents you from doing something, but this game has almost no limitation. You can drive cars, drive motorcycles, drive boats, drive helicopters, jump youSpectacular game. One of my favorite games in this generation. The amount of freedom in this game is simply astounding...you can literally go anywhere and do anything you can think of. Almost every game has some major limitation that prevents you from doing something, but this game has almost no limitation. You can drive cars, drive motorcycles, drive boats, drive helicopters, jump you car off of ramps, run around on foot, shoot whatever you want, and blow up whatever you want...the fact that you can do all of these things in the same game is very impressive. No other game has so much going on in it, and yet Rockstar made all of these things fun and executed them well. Some games struggle to get one of these things right, yet Rockstar does them all well. Not to mention the city is interesting and full of variety, which makes it a great playground to drive around in...I love that the city has a lot of hills and uneven areas - this allows you to gleefully make your car spin out, jump, roll over, or whatever else you want to do with it...and the awesome car physics give your car a great sense of weight, which makes it so satisfying to watch your car soar through the air and come slamming down as the body wobbles from the impact. The car physics alone make this game worth playing. I actually think GTA's driving feels better and actual racing games. After experiencing this game, I can't see how any other game can be placed in the same league - the sheer amount of stuff crammed into this game just can't be matched. Expand
  64. Aug 15, 2010
    9
    Grand Theft Auto 4 is a great game however, it does have its flaws.For example, missions can get repetitive, the online mode does not have a well paced leveling system, and it also makes it very easy for people to spawn camp, although this mainly only happens when the spawn distance is set to near i think that the developers should have made the game so that it can sense when this may beGrand Theft Auto 4 is a great game however, it does have its flaws.For example, missions can get repetitive, the online mode does not have a well paced leveling system, and it also makes it very easy for people to spawn camp, although this mainly only happens when the spawn distance is set to near i think that the developers should have made the game so that it can sense when this may be happening and spawn you somewhere else automatically. So to wrap it all up very little is wrong with this game and only has minor problems. Expand
  65. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    i have loved all of the GTA game sand this is no let down, provides hours of fun whether you follow the story line or go off and cause mayhem in the city..... the multi-player also adds another layer of fun whether your in the mood for a free for all or playing missions......
  66. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game with a couple of irritating faults. Firstly, the world of Liberty City is quite drab and bland compared to the likes of San Andreas. In the same vein, the craziness of the series has been reeled in and sacrifices a lot of fun for realism. The game is also FAR too long. It just keeps going and going and going... If you want to see the end of the game,Grand Theft Auto IV is a great game with a couple of irritating faults. Firstly, the world of Liberty City is quite drab and bland compared to the likes of San Andreas. In the same vein, the craziness of the series has been reeled in and sacrifices a lot of fun for realism. The game is also FAR too long. It just keeps going and going and going... If you want to see the end of the game, prepare to lose a huge chunk of your life in doing so! But all of these complaints ultimately mean nothing because GTAIV gives you much more good than bad. First and foremost, GTA is still the devil's playground. Want to blow off some steam? Roll a grenade into the hospital waiting room, baseball bat some policemen to death or stab a bunch of homeless people in the central park toilets. It's really sick and twisted but unbelievably hilarious. It's would be shocking if it wasn't so damn silly and glib. The multiplayer (particularly the racing) is also great and has very long legs, with people still playing online to this day. So yeah, There are certainly some quibbles but in the end GTAIV is a fantastic game. Expand
  67. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    San Adreas was a much better game. That being said, this has far better graphics and AI, and it separates itself from the other games by moving in a direction that's different. The map is a bit too small, and there's not many easter eggs... but it's still fun to drive around shooting at stuff and then launching your character out of windshields for hours on end.
  68. May 8, 2011
    9
    Very good open world sandbox game. The story is engaging and so is the lead character. 1 point off for graphics but it still gets a great 9 rating from me.
  69. Jul 19, 2011
    9
    This game is one of the best sandbox games ever. Not the best, but one of the best. Grand Theft Auto IV is fun. Just fun. Pure fun. Though sometimes you may get bored, there still is a billion things to do. The city is so alive and the graphics are great, the car damage is one of the best in any sandbox video game. The handling of the cars, I admit, is not so great. They're just so hard toThis game is one of the best sandbox games ever. Not the best, but one of the best. Grand Theft Auto IV is fun. Just fun. Pure fun. Though sometimes you may get bored, there still is a billion things to do. The city is so alive and the graphics are great, the car damage is one of the best in any sandbox video game. The handling of the cars, I admit, is not so great. They're just so hard to control, they sway left and right and it sometimes it's incredibly frustrating. The other vehicles besides motorbikes are fine, the main problem is the cars and bikes. The characters and kooky and the is a lot of vulgar language but the story and characters are very interesting. The game is flawed, it isn't perfect but there is tonnes of fun to be had in Liberty City. Expand
  70. Mar 23, 2014
    9
    This is the first GTA game I've ever played for myself. Other times, I played GTA games at a friend's house and we would do random funny stuff and try escape the cops. I borrowed this game from a friend and I was able to play the story. Man, I enjoyed it. You play as Niko Bellic, a Slavic man who travels to the US in search for a better life. But then he has to confront his past when heThis is the first GTA game I've ever played for myself. Other times, I played GTA games at a friend's house and we would do random funny stuff and try escape the cops. I borrowed this game from a friend and I was able to play the story. Man, I enjoyed it. You play as Niko Bellic, a Slavic man who travels to the US in search for a better life. But then he has to confront his past when he was a soldier in the Yugoslav Wars and then you want to see how things turn out. I heard that Niko is the most humane GTA protagonist, and that the protagonists in GTA V are just jerks, but I'd like to see for myself. There's lots to do and hilarious stuff does happen. You should get this game if you haven't already, even if its 6 years old. Stay tuned for my review of GTA V (if I ever should hehe). Expand
  71. Nov 16, 2011
    9
    Good grafics, great story-telling, great characters, nice drivng physics and the gratest game-city Liberty City, Baby! Negative: drive-by shooting a bit difficult, car-brakes, missions are a bit monoton. All in all for me as an big gta fan, it's one of the best GTA Games. 9/10
  72. Jan 4, 2012
    9
    GTA IV is a massive, fun, addictive, incredible game. It has a fantastic storyline which kept me hooked for hours on end. But in the end that was the only thing that kept me hooked. I was never bothered to explore Liberty City and destroy the entire place. I finished the story and felt satisfied. But I didn't bother doing anything else afterwards. There just isn't enough in this game toGTA IV is a massive, fun, addictive, incredible game. It has a fantastic storyline which kept me hooked for hours on end. But in the end that was the only thing that kept me hooked. I was never bothered to explore Liberty City and destroy the entire place. I finished the story and felt satisfied. But I didn't bother doing anything else afterwards. There just isn't enough in this game to keep me playing. The fact that this game is more realistic isn't a problem. In fact it's one of the best things about GTA IV. You aren't some guy who just runs around the city wreaking havoc, destroying vehicles, using wacky weapons and vehicles etc. Instead you feel like a member of Liberty City. You don't feel like a superhuman who can take tonnes of bullet damage and someone who can just toy around with the city, you are a citizen. A citizen who gets tied up with drug dealers, gangs, the police and a lot more bad people. This is one of the best things about GTA IV. However there are just too many problems for it to be a 10. Bad vehicle handling, absolutely god awful helicopter controls, wonky cover mechanics, annoying auto- aim system that barely ever let's you switch targets without having to change to free aim, then go to auto aim again. It has incredibly annoying difficulty spikes that leave me punching the couch and yelling at the TV, and the stupid system where you have to hand out with your friends for them to like you. But there are still a lot of great things about this game, the sheer size of the city, the fantastic story filled with a great cast of memorable characters, good gameplay, incredible graphics ( even to this day), and a lot of things to do. Unfortunately, it just doesn't have that lasting appeal that so many people say that the GTA games do. GTA IV disappointed me a bit. But that little bit is so small, that this game is still so incredible. This was the first GTA game I ever played, and I only bought this early last year, and I can really see why the critics raved about this game. This is a must buy for people who still haven't played this masterpiece. Expand
  73. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Having played all of Rockstars games that have been released on the various PlayStation systems, GTA stands out as my favorite series. GTA IV is right up there with the previous editions. Loved the graphics, loved the sound, loved the mini games, the only real dissappointment for me was the friendship part of the game. It was a hassle to me, to have to go and leave what i was wanting toHaving played all of Rockstars games that have been released on the various PlayStation systems, GTA stands out as my favorite series. GTA IV is right up there with the previous editions. Loved the graphics, loved the sound, loved the mini games, the only real dissappointment for me was the friendship part of the game. It was a hassle to me, to have to go and leave what i was wanting to do, to go and hang out and bowl, or play pool, or darts. I hope this is not implemented in any new versions of GTA. Other than the friendship part I thought everything else was pretty much what I expected. I didn't mind the more serious tone of this game, but it also wasn't a selling point for me either. Expand
  74. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    Grand Theft Auto IV is a game for the ages, one that is obviously included in gaming halls of fame and remembered fondly by everyone who was there to play it when it was released. We would never have thought that that by retreading the same patch of ground a studio could leave us feeling like we have just played one of the best videogames of all time. Yes, there's still the freedom toGrand Theft Auto IV is a game for the ages, one that is obviously included in gaming halls of fame and remembered fondly by everyone who was there to play it when it was released. We would never have thought that that by retreading the same patch of ground a studio could leave us feeling like we have just played one of the best videogames of all time. Yes, there's still the freedom to cause havoc, and inevitably you do; the difference is that you're no longer impelled to toy with GTA IV's world in quite the same sadistic way - you live in it. After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but this game really delivers. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases. It of course comes with it's flaws though; The driving has become rubbish, mainly because of the brakes not working, And the framerate is a little choppy. Expand
  75. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    The first GTA game that I was interested enough to play-through. This game is an instant classic in my opinion. From the fun missions to the unforgettable finale it was definitely a experience I'll not soon forget.
  76. Mar 15, 2012
    9
    I've never been a fan of the GTA series, but after playing GTAIV it totally changed my mind. This game is entertaining in so many ways. Multiplayer can be really addicting when you play with friends. Nothing is more fun than shooting your way out of the cops way while your car is on fire.
  77. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    Rockstar has delivered another amazing game. It's got everything you could ask for in a video game. Though some people say the graphics are dull, it's a realistic city and I got blown away at the look of buildings, vehicles and the environment. The gameplay is fun, the missions feel and look creative and the characters are believable. After travelling the city and playing the missions forRockstar has delivered another amazing game. It's got everything you could ask for in a video game. Though some people say the graphics are dull, it's a realistic city and I got blown away at the look of buildings, vehicles and the environment. The gameplay is fun, the missions feel and look creative and the characters are believable. After travelling the city and playing the missions for several hours this game can get you hooked in...but the game is short from perfect. GTA IV has it's problems like frame rate issues and a good amount of glitches. The driving mechanics aren't perfect and combat is improved but could be better. Though I must point out that the cover and shoot mechanics won't dissapoint. This game will take a while to complete and the online multiplayer is a blast. GTA IV may not feel and/or look the same as previous GTA games like San Andreas or Vice City but it's a must buy for GTA fans or if you just want to have a fun time. Expand
  78. May 25, 2012
    9
    Strong story, strong game, not my genre of gaming but still really enjoyed playing through this.

    Well worth the time invested if you haven't done so already.
  79. May 22, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best GTA games for one simple thing. Niko Bellic is the greatest character ever in an open world game. The way his life's story is told, and how they treat the character like a human and not a video game character is really nice. All of the characters in this game are through the roof. For gameplay the one gripe I have is how Niko handles a bike, it's garbage. And theThis is one of the best GTA games for one simple thing. Niko Bellic is the greatest character ever in an open world game. The way his life's story is told, and how they treat the character like a human and not a video game character is really nice. All of the characters in this game are through the roof. For gameplay the one gripe I have is how Niko handles a bike, it's garbage. And the radio commercials are great, but the music they chose is debatable. Besides these two small things, this is one of the best games this generation, I've actually played through the story 7 times now. Expand
  80. Jul 20, 2012
    9
    I Love GTA's, I started from GTA:London in childhood, i loved it! I skipped GTA 3 but then my uncle did show me Gta Vice:City I WAS AMAZED oh my god, cars breaking and stuff. GTA:SA was my absolute favorite + online was amazing but GTA IV, IT looked epic, graphics and all. but something was missing.. where was the awsome planes and country? :( Story was with good sense of humor andI Love GTA's, I started from GTA:London in childhood, i loved it! I skipped GTA 3 but then my uncle did show me Gta Vice:City I WAS AMAZED oh my god, cars breaking and stuff. GTA:SA was my absolute favorite + online was amazing but GTA IV, IT looked epic, graphics and all. but something was missing.. where was the awsome planes and country? :( Story was with good sense of humor and enjoyable. Good game! 9/10 Expand
  81. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    The brilliant gangster epic enthusiastic across the board. Starting with the very realistic graphics with impressive light effects, to use exciting and rich story that draws you from the start in its spell.
  82. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    GTA IV is more than a game. It's an experience that goes way beyond button bashing your controller. The story is magnificent but no surprises here. Everyone knows that Rockstar usually nails in this department. Technically the game is flawless for the common gamer (if there's any glitch didn't see it). Not a fan of the Multiplayer though. Other than this GTA IV will remain in gamersGTA IV is more than a game. It's an experience that goes way beyond button bashing your controller. The story is magnificent but no surprises here. Everyone knows that Rockstar usually nails in this department. Technically the game is flawless for the common gamer (if there's any glitch didn't see it). Not a fan of the Multiplayer though. Other than this GTA IV will remain in gamers memory as a reference and it will be benchmarked by everyone. Expand
  83. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    When this game first came out, I would have given it a 10. Being that I'm playing this in 2012, I have to rate it slightly lower. Don't get me wrong - the graphics still hold up, the game is fun, and the storyline is great. But there is one major complaint that I have that has been rectified in recent games - the controls. It is frustrating to fight in this game and the drivingWhen this game first came out, I would have given it a 10. Being that I'm playing this in 2012, I have to rate it slightly lower. Don't get me wrong - the graphics still hold up, the game is fun, and the storyline is great. But there is one major complaint that I have that has been rectified in recent games - the controls. It is frustrating to fight in this game and the driving mechanics are... odd. If these two issues are addressed in GTA V, the game will be solid. Expand
  84. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    Grand Theft Auto bringing back a much larger world with a more for the story game unlike san andreas where you probably spent most of your time beating up hookers, hobos and the police and nato force. GTA4 brings you a wonderful cast of characters where you go in and fight for your American dreams.
  85. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    Great game! Loved the story, kept me interested in the game for a long time. The multiplayer could have been a bit better and more exciting. Also would have liked to see a bicycles and more cars in the game.
    But overall it's definitely worth buying
  86. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    When I first played Gta IV I was instantly hooked. The atmosphere in the game was amazing. Missions were addictive, story was nice. there were many memorable characters and funny laughs. I rented this at first and played it for 22 hour then re-rented it and played it for 24 more hours and beat the game. This game is my 2nd favourite sandbox of all time and this game is awesome. The flaws IWhen I first played Gta IV I was instantly hooked. The atmosphere in the game was amazing. Missions were addictive, story was nice. there were many memorable characters and funny laughs. I rented this at first and played it for 22 hour then re-rented it and played it for 24 more hours and beat the game. This game is my 2nd favourite sandbox of all time and this game is awesome. The flaws I had with the game were the predictable missions. But none the less, an awesome game 9/10 Expand
  87. May 24, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GAMEPLAY:

    Grand Theft Auto is renowned for having a sandbox, complete with a plethora of distractions like socializing and dating, going to clubs, bars, strip-clubs and just having a good time in game. You will definitely find a hard time getting bored in Liberty City, which is a whole different story. The city itself is huge, and at any glance no matter what burrow looks like Rockstar’s imagining of NYC but in their own GTA world.
    Combat at first glance may seem to be tricky but eventually you will get a handle on the combat system. The melee system consists of several different attacks that when used in different combinations can prove to be effective against the opponent. Gunfights can be a little boring but when in a large skirmish with the cops or online against waves of enemies will make lasting memories.

    Perhaps the finest points of combat in the game though is in the cars. There is nothing in the game that compares to doing a drive-by shooting or firing at the cops during a high-speed chase. Vehicular combat was fine-tuned perfectly that allows the player(s) to engage in awesome shoot outs on the road, no matter what the vehicle is... from a moped to an armored truck.
    Driving is easy, with basic controls for ALL vehicles though it may be hard to grasp the comfort of driving boats and aircraft. Perhaps the hardest vehicle to drive though are the motorcycles, they have a very high speed, horrible handling, and will pretty much launch you if you hit ANYTHING at a high velocity. Just another taste of reality but don’t expect to be a pro motorcyclist or pilot right off.

    SOUND/MUSIC:

    The game’s radio soundtrack is very unique and a lot of the songs fit well in not just the game but the story. Players can choose from an array of music like rock, hip-hop, rap, techno, and even talk shows. The citizens of liberty city all have very different personalities, and voices, Rockstar did a good job making the non-essential NPC’s seem unique.
    Other than the radio stations in the cars in the game, the game doesn’t have an “epic score” or an everlasting soundtrack that will have you streaming the web to listen to. But overall the sound quality of the guns, the people, the cars, and even the ambience really polish this game up and show how Rockstar games tried to make this game as realistic as possible.

    STORY:
    You play as Niko Bellic an eastern-european (it is never really made clear where Nikos is from) who just moved from his homeland to Liberty City. The game takes off with you joining your cousin Roman who has made himself a nice little taxi business that he calls the beginning of the “american dream”. Over the course of the game Niko has to fight bikers, russians, gangsters, and cops... when suddenly his past catches up with him.
    The plot spans from Niko going “from the streets of Liberty City to the skyline of wealth”. As the player helps different factions and crime lords, Niko himself finds out that America is no different than the very war and the troubling past he has suffered.

    ENGINE:

    Grand Theft Auto 4’s engine isn’t special by “today’s standards”. There are few bugs, but even the ones in game can turn out to be quite funny or amusing. Online gameplay is really great, and unique. Until Grand Theft Auto 5 comes out, Grand Theft Auto 4’s engine alongside Red Dead Redemption HAVE TO BE Rockstar’s finest works.
    Expand
  88. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    I have never been a fan of the Grand Theft auto series due to the large maps and the ever increasing amount of rubbish you can do on them (get a hircut get tattoos and bunny hop over lampposts on bicycles). However i reluctantly agreed to purchase this game as a joint buy with my brother. Firstly i would like to say that the graphics have always lacked on these games due to the small discI have never been a fan of the Grand Theft auto series due to the large maps and the ever increasing amount of rubbish you can do on them (get a hircut get tattoos and bunny hop over lampposts on bicycles). However i reluctantly agreed to purchase this game as a joint buy with my brother. Firstly i would like to say that the graphics have always lacked on these games due to the small disc sizes and the large maps and information needed to be stored. With the blueray discs though the huge maps and information is still great but there is a hell of a lot more memory on the discs to produce some of the greatest graphics you will see.

    The storyline is by far the best on any GTA game that has preceeded this one. And the gameplay is so amazing that even when you run people down in your car, they never ever fell the same way twice.

    The reason i gave this game 4 and not 5 stars was purely because i didnt think the online multiplayer was good enough, the lobby system was poor and you are left hanging around for long.

    If you want this game as an online multiplayer then i can suggest some which are much better. For a one player arcade game however. look no further! It is amazing.
    Expand
  89. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    I will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made ​​a faithfulI will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made ​​a faithful representation NY. I found no reason to play multiplayer because the single player did everything I was hoping for. Not the best game in the series, but it does many things right. Like the story, characters, graphics and an open world to explore. Expand
  90. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    I will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made a faithfulI will not give a perfect score, because the graphics are amazing, the world is believable, the characters are perfect, but there are some problems with the game, such as driving, is a bit difficult to drive in this game, and once we got to the end of the game there are no activities to do. But the story is perfect, the voice acting is superb, and once again, rockstar made a faithful representation of NY. I found no reason to play multiplayer because the single player did everything I was hoping for. Not the best game in the series, but it does many things right. Like the story, characters, graphics and an open world to explore. Expand
  91. Jul 12, 2013
    9
    I started playing GTA when it still was in 2D and I tried all GTA game. This one is a great one with still lot of freedom, lot of possibilities ,good story (the player have to take some choice)...a great game i had pleasure to finish 2 or 3 times!
  92. Apr 11, 2016
    9
    After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but man does this game deliver. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases.
  93. Nov 25, 2013
    9
    This is simply the best GTA storyline i have ever played, even better than Grand Theft Auto V, the graphics are pretty nice for 2008 and the gameplay it's quite awesome, well the negative part is that the game abuse of the "Blur" technique and you don't got many personalization options for Niko.
  94. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    Despite the public opinion about violence in the GTA series, one can say this game is worthy of many praises. Firstly, it does not show a power-hungry as the protagonist, but a troubled man, disillusioned by corruption in society, despite his involvement in it. This makes the game much deeper and emotionally involving than the previous installment, GTA San Andreas. Although the designs ofDespite the public opinion about violence in the GTA series, one can say this game is worthy of many praises. Firstly, it does not show a power-hungry as the protagonist, but a troubled man, disillusioned by corruption in society, despite his involvement in it. This makes the game much deeper and emotionally involving than the previous installment, GTA San Andreas. Although the designs of the buildings and vehicles are lackluster and mundane, the personalities of the characters fill the void left by the lack of any creative design in the game. The character-driven plot of this installment is a gem among all of the other installments in the GTA series. Expand
  95. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Although GTA IV has nothing to do in the massive world, but its missions, story, planning for heists, these stuffs to do combine the fragments that builds up GTA IV from nothing to everything. To be more than really satisfied playing this game, "Don't put it in your mind, that I want every single store to be available" that wish tries to threaten your whole experience. Amazing, I see.
  96. Jul 5, 2014
    9
    Mind Blowing, even for today's standards. Rockstar gave us such a refined and detailed game with realistic characters and a vicious gameplay. And what's more exciting about GTA IV is running from the police, do you know what's like to have dozen of police cars and police choppers chasing you? Shooting at the police cars, while driving a car (or a motocycle), with an AK-47 or a 9mm? It'sMind Blowing, even for today's standards. Rockstar gave us such a refined and detailed game with realistic characters and a vicious gameplay. And what's more exciting about GTA IV is running from the police, do you know what's like to have dozen of police cars and police choppers chasing you? Shooting at the police cars, while driving a car (or a motocycle), with an AK-47 or a 9mm? It's f*cking exciting! The only small problem I had with this game is that after finishing the story, there's not much to do and it becomes boring. Expand
  97. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    What can I say besides the fact that Grand Theft Auto is a great series of games. From the glamorous skirts of Vice city, to the wealthy city of individuals in San Andreas, too the concrete economy ridden streets of Liberty City, all the games made by Rockstar is just amazing. Grand Theft Auto 4 was one of the better games of the city. The game captures the struggling streets of LibertyWhat can I say besides the fact that Grand Theft Auto is a great series of games. From the glamorous skirts of Vice city, to the wealthy city of individuals in San Andreas, too the concrete economy ridden streets of Liberty City, all the games made by Rockstar is just amazing. Grand Theft Auto 4 was one of the better games of the city. The game captures the struggling streets of Liberty City as if it were right in front of me. The game takes place in modern 2008, which in my opinion, had the most unique and creative setting out of all the Grand Theft Auto games! Since I come from where the game takes place, I am able to better understand the struggles of main character Niko Bellic, and the hardships of other pedestrians, begging for spare change. Besides all this however, the game lacks in a few things. The NPC's AI is terrible, in many ways. From running into you, too driving their car furiously into your back bumper at a red light, all pedestrians take the "the city that doesn't sleep" phrase way too seriously. And speaking of cars, the driving mechanics in this game is flat out awful. It's as if your driving a monster truck on ice. A lot of uncalled frustration occurs from these driving mechanics. Also, the storyline sometimes became a major confusion, and often trailed away from my interest in it. But let's not nitpick here, Grand Theft Auto 4 has an enjoyable playlist of music, great characters, good graphics, awesome shooting mechanics... etc. Overall, I love this game, and you should too. Expand
  98. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    I'll be the first to admit that I don't appreciate the use of drugs and/or sexual content found in the game but Grand Theft Auto IV does thankfully improve over III massively. The open world and narrative are amazing and it seems as though a lot of work was put into designing such an intricate game. Open world is always something I love in games with this one not disappointing one bit. TheI'll be the first to admit that I don't appreciate the use of drugs and/or sexual content found in the game but Grand Theft Auto IV does thankfully improve over III massively. The open world and narrative are amazing and it seems as though a lot of work was put into designing such an intricate game. Open world is always something I love in games with this one not disappointing one bit. The combat's a huge improvement with its fluidity and swift controls. This installment in the GTA franchise isn't to be missed. Expand
  99. Jun 11, 2015
    9
    GTA 4 is great but sometimes boring and awesome in times and the narrative is amazing and the graphic are okay and the game world is large man this game is amazing.
  100. Aug 5, 2015
    9
    Great game in general, a good story, many things to do after you finish the game, an awsome online mode with a huge content, a must own for everyone, the online mode will attract you for many hours.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]