Grand Theft Auto IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2967 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SteveO
    Jul 3, 2008
    4
    This is a good game for about a week since you have pretty much played this game before. Its the same thing if not less than the other GTA's. The thing is i hear critics raving about the story but the truth is you have heard this story in thousands of other places. You can pretty much predict the ending and you get lost into doing missions you don't give a crap about. The This is a good game for about a week since you have pretty much played this game before. Its the same thing if not less than the other GTA's. The thing is i hear critics raving about the story but the truth is you have heard this story in thousands of other places. You can pretty much predict the ending and you get lost into doing missions you don't give a crap about. The missions are also almost the same in every way. The only thing spectacular about this game is well the voice acting. So unless your a die hard voice acting fan there is absolutaly no reason to pay anything over 30$ for this game. Rockstar please gives a game we havent played before. Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Mar 11, 2009
    4
    this game totally sucks compared to other GTA's. the only thing better about it was the graphics. there's absolutely nothing to do before or after you finish the game, missions are boring and repetitive, and it has the worst story ever. They pretty much took out everything from san andreas that was fun and replaced it with some boring crap like internet or taking friends out.this game totally sucks compared to other GTA's. the only thing better about it was the graphics. there's absolutely nothing to do before or after you finish the game, missions are boring and repetitive, and it has the worst story ever. They pretty much took out everything from san andreas that was fun and replaced it with some boring crap like internet or taking friends out. there's no more planes (one of the biggest problems) which meens no more parachuting, no more tattoos or haircuts, no more gang turf fights, no more jet packs, 4 wheelers, hovercrafts, or bicycles. i was also really dissapointed at how small liberty city feels compared to vast deserts and forests of SA, the only thing that made liberty city seem big were the tons of streets crammed into a little island. on top of everything else, (goes back to bad story) where the big finale at the end. where's my big mansion with a helipad and the feeling that i am in control of the entire city. GTA 4 pretty much just ends, with nothing that you didn't have at the beginning of the game except a measly 4 safehouses and a ton of worthless money. if rockstar plans on making all of the GTA's like this from now on then ill save my 60 bucks and go buy a game thats worth it. Expand
  3. CarlosV.
    Oct 2, 2008
    4
    This game does not deserve a 10/10 and shame on the critics who have done so. This game is not revolutionary, original, or even attractive visually to me in the LEAST! I
  4. D.B.
    May 7, 2008
    4
    More of the same, except many things about San A. that were fun were taken out of this build. All sorts of glitches which make this game far from perfect. And honestly, if you've played the other versions of GTA, it's the same old same old with very little changed other than graphics... which have framerate dips. I know 4 is harsh, but i feel like I have to make it that low to More of the same, except many things about San A. that were fun were taken out of this build. All sorts of glitches which make this game far from perfect. And honestly, if you've played the other versions of GTA, it's the same old same old with very little changed other than graphics... which have framerate dips. I know 4 is harsh, but i feel like I have to make it that low to show these reviewers that gamers are smarter than this to give this game a solid 10. If you are one of those guys who says "360 is the best system eva!" while only owning about 3 games for it, then yes, this is the "best game eva" for you. But anyone who's honestly played games their whole life can think of dozens of games that were more entertaining and more diverse than GTA IV if you are honest with yourself. Expand
  5. AmigaGuruT.
    Jul 9, 2008
    4
    How this game got so many 10's are beyond my imagination, seriously this is the worst GTA in years amd still it scores better than all of them??????? Biased reviews? , why did rockstar go for the realistic approach when that means there ain't anything to do?... also it was the unrealistic stuff that made the other GTA games fun.
  6. AndresFernando
    Sep 7, 2009
    4
    I dont believe the way they destroyed this awesome franchise. Eventough the realism and superb graphics; it has nothing on GTA San Andreas. The story is way tooo repetitive, only go and shoot some guy. The submissions are enough to throw the game away; not like in predecessors where u could do a million different things.
    If San Andreas never had existed, GTA 4 would be a wonderful game;
    I dont believe the way they destroyed this awesome franchise. Eventough the realism and superb graphics; it has nothing on GTA San Andreas. The story is way tooo repetitive, only go and shoot some guy. The submissions are enough to throw the game away; not like in predecessors where u could do a million different things.
    If San Andreas never had existed, GTA 4 would be a wonderful game; but they have to live up to the franchise and this game was a huuuuuge disappointment.

    [Apologies 4 my english... Good luck from Argentina]
    Expand
  7. AndyC.
    Nov 23, 2008
    4
    The most overrated game I've ever seen. Although this game is entertaining every professional review has covered the good parts, so I'm going to dwell on the negatives. It seems like a case of more is less. Liberty City is just too big, while the local environment is too small. When you turn your back, cars are suddenly appearing from behind you that weren't there a second The most overrated game I've ever seen. Although this game is entertaining every professional review has covered the good parts, so I'm going to dwell on the negatives. It seems like a case of more is less. Liberty City is just too big, while the local environment is too small. When you turn your back, cars are suddenly appearing from behind you that weren't there a second ago. And on missions you're often told to go to the other side of the city, which takes too long. Most annoyingly, the controls during gunfights are abysmal. The camera is too slow to find someone shooting from behind before you're killed. As a result, the missions too frequently involve looking at the position of the enemy as you fall down dead, and then the retry is ridiculously easy. Also when I wanted to run from fights, I've found myself unable to hop into a car. My phone has rung and the fire button has answered the phone instead of firing. In the quest for gritty realism, the silly fun bits from GTA 3 have gone or been integrated more closely into the environment. I'm already surrounded by gritty realism - I want a game to be fun. Expand
  8. JoelR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    4
    Story/Direction: well an amazing accomplishment the game could have been so much more... the ability to play as a good guy for once would be appreciated - a cop maybe with achievement/accomplishments related to doing good while facing down a menace like Niko. Graphics: a much improved graphics quality would have been appreciated as well. It definitely is better than last gen but it Story/Direction: well an amazing accomplishment the game could have been so much more... the ability to play as a good guy for once would be appreciated - a cop maybe with achievement/accomplishments related to doing good while facing down a menace like Niko. Graphics: a much improved graphics quality would have been appreciated as well. It definitely is better than last gen but it doesn't seem to reach the highs of next gen architecture. Sound is excellent Technical Achievement/Quality: amazingly low for such a anticipated game better AA issues and popin and framerate glitchs and moderate loading issues the game is not as engaging as it probably could be. Expand
  9. WolfMan
    May 19, 2008
    4
    Overhyped, Vice City is still the best one. Yes the graphics were pretty, but the storyline lacked depth and believability. I found it difficult to attach to Niko's character as I did with Tommy Vercetti. The language was overdone too, I'm not talking about speaking Ukrainian, I mean every other word is a colorful metaphor, f this, f that, overdone and gratuitous. No decent Overhyped, Vice City is still the best one. Yes the graphics were pretty, but the storyline lacked depth and believability. I found it difficult to attach to Niko's character as I did with Tommy Vercetti. The language was overdone too, I'm not talking about speaking Ukrainian, I mean every other word is a colorful metaphor, f this, f that, overdone and gratuitous. No decent radio tunes either, seriously I was bored with the radio. Not interested in multiplayer. Would suggest for GTA V a move of country, go to Italy or France. So far the lesser of the series. Expand
  10. HGaroldP.
    Aug 12, 2008
    4
    Nothing special with a dissapointing lack of fun features. They tried to make the storyline gritty and it kinda didn't work. Still, at least the critics are pleased.
  11. GrantZ
    Aug 23, 2009
    4
    The first few hours of this game are likely to be the best in your life. Then it all goes downhill, repetitive missions, bland visuals, and there is NO customisation. None at all, i don't count, buying clothes as customisation, not much variation in missions, weapons or characters, and there are too many collectables. It's a letdown, going out with friends is CRAP. Mini-games The first few hours of this game are likely to be the best in your life. Then it all goes downhill, repetitive missions, bland visuals, and there is NO customisation. None at all, i don't count, buying clothes as customisation, not much variation in missions, weapons or characters, and there are too many collectables. It's a letdown, going out with friends is CRAP. Mini-games have the worst physics ever. All-in-all Rokcstar has to improve, as i'm never buying another of their games again. Expand
  12. Sep 17, 2011
    4
    compared to the other GTA games this is boring, dull, depressing, and just plain stupid. knowing that rockstar can make amazing games like LA noire, san andreass, and GTA 3 but they have hit rock bottom with this stinker. Rockstar, you dissapoint me.
  13. Aug 15, 2013
    4
    One of the few PS3 games I just couldn't finish. The storyline didn't grab me at all, and the characters were as dull as dishwater. But the *real* problem I had with this game, ironically enough, is that it was TOO realistic. Travelling from one mission to the next was a time-consuming chore, and one I had to repeat way too often if I failed a mission. Then the minutia of things likeOne of the few PS3 games I just couldn't finish. The storyline didn't grab me at all, and the characters were as dull as dishwater. But the *real* problem I had with this game, ironically enough, is that it was TOO realistic. Travelling from one mission to the next was a time-consuming chore, and one I had to repeat way too often if I failed a mission. Then the minutia of things like dating had me restless. I tried, thinking that it would eventually click for me, but while the environment was technically impressive, I found that the game wasn't the kind of escapist entertainment I play video games for. I even tried the DLC to see if those picked up the pace, and I just flat wasn't having fun.

    I know some folks love it, and that's great. It just wasn't the right game for me.
    Expand
  14. Feb 10, 2012
    4
    A sad disappointment in the franchise, after the sheer brilliance of Vice City and thorough playability of San Andreas GTA IV is a bland, grey affair. The main character is as dull as the palette of the game which begs for the neon of Vice City or the rich colours of San Andreas. The attempts to make the driving more realistic sucks the fun out roaring round Liberty City (which lookedA sad disappointment in the franchise, after the sheer brilliance of Vice City and thorough playability of San Andreas GTA IV is a bland, grey affair. The main character is as dull as the palette of the game which begs for the neon of Vice City or the rich colours of San Andreas. The attempts to make the driving more realistic sucks the fun out roaring round Liberty City (which looked better in the original PS2 game) and the pointless online addition brings nothing to the game. Thanks heavens Saints Row picked up the mantle and ran with it Expand
  15. May 27, 2013
    4
    So, another boring turd wrapped in pretty graphics. Gone are the fun, arcady driving mechanics, replaced by cars that handle like horizontal freezers on wheels. Gone are the mini-games that provides hours of fun distractions. The fun content in previous incarnations has been replaced by a boring dating sim, and predominately boring shooting missions. The characters are flat outSo, another boring turd wrapped in pretty graphics. Gone are the fun, arcady driving mechanics, replaced by cars that handle like horizontal freezers on wheels. Gone are the mini-games that provides hours of fun distractions. The fun content in previous incarnations has been replaced by a boring dating sim, and predominately boring shooting missions. The characters are flat out obnoxious in my opinion. Tommy Vercetti was friggin' cool, Bellic is a pansy by comparison.
    It's great as a tech demo. I can't fault Rockstar for getting the detail of the city down, but it just feels there's less to do. It's a crazily detailed city, but hell you can't even Vigilante in this one.
    I hope GTA V isn't just another tech demo like this one was.
    Expand
  16. Feb 16, 2014
    4
    I cannot understand how this game is universally acclaimed. For starters, it has way too many flaws. The story is good, but that's the point - the game's all story and no gameplay, to the point that you have to create the gameplay yourself by going and smashing stuff up, diverging from the plot. And as a story gamer, that is something I simply can't do - Early in the game it destroysI cannot understand how this game is universally acclaimed. For starters, it has way too many flaws. The story is good, but that's the point - the game's all story and no gameplay, to the point that you have to create the gameplay yourself by going and smashing stuff up, diverging from the plot. And as a story gamer, that is something I simply can't do - Early in the game it destroys Nico's character. In addition, the car controls are awful - it feels like I'm driving on a black-ice rink. The missions are boring too - it's just "go drive somewhere and wach a cutscene" or ""take this girl out on a date". In a game like GTA, I want ACTION, not boring stuff like this. I bought this game, expecting something amazing. But what I got was something very, very boring. Grand Theft Auto IV is thoroughly boring and hideously overrated. I might as well play Saints Row, it's the same gamee but done right! Expand
  17. Feb 25, 2014
    4
    This the most over rated game to recent memory. I couldn't even finish the damn game it was so **** boring. I mean seriously wtf happened San Andreas and Vice City were so epic funny and awesome. Lets start with the Posatives. the world feels alive and realistic probably the most acurate adaptation of New York City. Plus it has that good American Dream story. Negatives. The Graphics areThis the most over rated game to recent memory. I couldn't even finish the damn game it was so **** boring. I mean seriously wtf happened San Andreas and Vice City were so epic funny and awesome. Lets start with the Posatives. the world feels alive and realistic probably the most acurate adaptation of New York City. Plus it has that good American Dream story. Negatives. The Graphics are awful Resident Evil 4 had better graphics and that was on the PS2. Niko is so **** boring Johnny Gat is a way more interesting and fun character. It has a terrible cover system and a god awful shooting mechanic. And last but not least these radio stations suck complete ass I mean wtf happened SA and VC had way better stations. Saints Row 2 has better stations too. As i began with this review this is the most over rated game to date. Expand
  18. Oct 28, 2014
    4
    while there is nothing really wrong with the game from a technical point and its fun to shoot things and drive around it doesn't stop the 30 hour campaign from being absolutely boring and this has to be the blandest looking game i have seen for a while its definitely the blandest gta ever i would highly recommend the Ballard of gay tony over this or gta v of course because both of thosewhile there is nothing really wrong with the game from a technical point and its fun to shoot things and drive around it doesn't stop the 30 hour campaign from being absolutely boring and this has to be the blandest looking game i have seen for a while its definitely the blandest gta ever i would highly recommend the Ballard of gay tony over this or gta v of course because both of those provide a pretty good story with humor with gta IV has non of. Expand
  19. Nov 20, 2015
    4
    Twice i Have tried to play through this game and both times i have never finished it.
    This is one of those games that is just highly overrated and did not really leave me with much feelings besides negative towards it!
    The story was pretty well as far as i played but almost every other aspect to the game was just so uncaptivating messy and needed improvement. Driving - was murky and
    Twice i Have tried to play through this game and both times i have never finished it.
    This is one of those games that is just highly overrated and did not really leave me with much feelings besides negative towards it!

    The story was pretty well as far as i played but almost every other aspect to the game was just so uncaptivating messy and needed improvement.

    Driving - was murky and shallow really not as fun as most open world driving games.

    Shooting - One of the biggest problems in the game aim was terrible the aim assist was always either good or extremely bad i mean its soo hard to free aim if you wanted to.

    Customization - Besides cars and clothing theres not really too much or at least anything really worth considering customizable

    Gameplay - I found missions to be mostly boring and a little too difficult (because of aiming) to be really enjoyable.

    My recommendation is if you have a ps3 still just get GTA V you dont need to suffer through GTA IV to play V
    Expand
  20. StephenM
    Jan 25, 2009
    3
    As soon as you load the tape into the Ps3, you know you have probably stumbled across the finest RPG since that Chinese dudes game:- Zone of Enders! The color, shadow arrays and costumes have to be seen to believed, words can't describe the emotional attatchmnent you will encouter with Zenny, the games main female protaganist. The only slight niggle I had with Killzone 2 (or THAT As soon as you load the tape into the Ps3, you know you have probably stumbled across the finest RPG since that Chinese dudes game:- Zone of Enders! The color, shadow arrays and costumes have to be seen to believed, words can't describe the emotional attatchmnent you will encouter with Zenny, the games main female protaganist. The only slight niggle I had with Killzone 2 (or THAT GAME as myself and my wife have come to call it) is its lack of fish, you never get to see any fish. I don't know if this is a deliberate choice made by the developers or an oversight. But be warned if you are looking for fish, you ain't gonna' find them here. All said and done - fantastic game, well done devs (developers). Expand
  21. MaximusA.
    Jan 26, 2009
    3
    This game is simply not fun. In fact i'd go so far as to say it's disgrace to the GTA series. I am a massive GTA fan and I was beyond disappointed to find out they traded in all the quirky, fun aspects of the previous games for realism. Personally, I much enjoyed being able to hop on a car and snipe people while the driver drove around in a panicked frenzy. But now as soon as This game is simply not fun. In fact i'd go so far as to say it's disgrace to the GTA series. I am a massive GTA fan and I was beyond disappointed to find out they traded in all the quirky, fun aspects of the previous games for realism. Personally, I much enjoyed being able to hop on a car and snipe people while the driver drove around in a panicked frenzy. But now as soon as the car starts moving, Niko falls off, as he most likely would in the real world, and I sigh as another one of my once numerous tiny joys in the GTA world dies. By applying realistic driving physics Rockstar has taken away one of the best aspects of the game, the unrealistic but insanely awesome driving. No more property to buy means the money you earn is essentially useless. Buying property was one of the best aspects of Vice City and San Andreas because you felt like you were taking over the city. Once upon a time our characters wanted to do something with their lives, become something, take over. Instead we're given nihilistic Niko, who we have absolutely no attachment to to begin with. In fact his history is purposely presented as a mystery, leaving us with this sarcastic ghost of a character. The missions are menotenous and boring. The relationships are the worst thing to ever happen to the GTA series. It is NOT fun having to go on stupid dates with your cousin, especially after the 5th or 6th time. It's like this. I get home from work and I want to escape to an awesome world of freedom and adventure. Instead I have an annoying cast of fools badgering me to go to a cabaret show and if I don't feel like going they get offended, and take away their taxi service. Not fun. At all. Expand
  22. AnonymousMC
    Mar 9, 2009
    3
    i,ve never been more dissapointed with a game in my life! rockstar took out everything that i loved about gta san andreas. no more buying property, no more jet packs or 4 wheelers or PLANES! all of the missions are boring and from point A to point B and then back to point A. niko bellic is the worst character ever with no likeability at all and to top it off, wheres the mansion at the endi,ve never been more dissapointed with a game in my life! rockstar took out everything that i loved about gta san andreas. no more buying property, no more jet packs or 4 wheelers or PLANES! all of the missions are boring and from point A to point B and then back to point A. niko bellic is the worst character ever with no likeability at all and to top it off, wheres the mansion at the end with the helipad? wheres the great ending where you are in control of the city, or any ending at all. it just simply ends. theres no good side missions and absolutely nothing to do once you beat the game. DO NOT WASTE THE MONEY ON THIS GAME! your better off buying a ps2 and getting gta san andreas. rockstar has completly ruined the gta series, mainly by making it too realistic, and i think they have lost a life long fan of grand theft auto. Expand
  23. MattD.
    Jun 1, 2008
    3
    The mission structure and game mechanics are far too flawed for this to be enjoyable on any level. It's sooo monotonous.
  24. Sep 14, 2010
    3
    So um... where should i start. Oh yes Graphs are pretty decent with full hd screen.
    and....... that was probably all the good stuff. OH YES you can drive over people that's fun :D
    OK where should i start. 1. story was not that good you come in and when you think this is the middle of the game BANG the game ends. 2. controls. I know they wanted to make a realistic game but they failed at
    So um... where should i start. Oh yes Graphs are pretty decent with full hd screen.
    and....... that was probably all the good stuff. OH YES you can drive over people that's fun :D
    OK where should i start. 1. story was not that good you come in and when you think this is the middle of the game BANG the game ends. 2. controls. I know they wanted to make a realistic game but they failed at it. running is irritating as **** driving sucks now days and you wont die. like you wont die in 300 Km/h you crash to the wall and.... nothing happens. and that is probably all the main here.... OH YES There is yet another good reason to play GTA 4 after all. When you play it for 20 minutes, you just want to play more and more and more of the older gta games :D
    Expand
  25. Apr 3, 2011
    3
    Overrated. Annoying characters, clunky gameplay (did the developers ever try driving a real car?!), did I say annoying characters? So glad I got it second hand and cheap--still a waste of money.
  26. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    A boring game-as-art experience. It's an accomplishment to create such a giant city, but a shame not to build a functioning game. All forms of gameplay are poor and clunky, inferior to the champions of each genre. Driving doesn't feel as good as a racing game, bowling doesn't feel as good as a bowling game, etc. Every experience offered in GTA IV can be found elsewhere, and in FUN form.A boring game-as-art experience. It's an accomplishment to create such a giant city, but a shame not to build a functioning game. All forms of gameplay are poor and clunky, inferior to the champions of each genre. Driving doesn't feel as good as a racing game, bowling doesn't feel as good as a bowling game, etc. Every experience offered in GTA IV can be found elsewhere, and in FUN form. Strip it down and it's a compilation of half-ass mini-games separated by a gigantic, but hollow, hub world. Expand
  27. Jun 28, 2012
    3
    I don't understand how this game is so high on gamerankings.com. Sure it's impressive visually and its got online modes. However, those are the only two good factors. This game is overrated. It feels like a beta. The controls a clunky and the character moves sluggishly. The storyline is decent and the voice acting is GTA quality. This isn't my favorite GTA. I have a feeling GTA5 willI don't understand how this game is so high on gamerankings.com. Sure it's impressive visually and its got online modes. However, those are the only two good factors. This game is overrated. It feels like a beta. The controls a clunky and the character moves sluggishly. The storyline is decent and the voice acting is GTA quality. This isn't my favorite GTA. I have a feeling GTA5 will improve a lot! Expand
  28. Apr 6, 2013
    3
    This game is too over rated.
    98? No... This game, as a GTA, is disappointing. And very much. This game is basic. Yeah, it may have be liked by critics because it was sandbox, but, yeah, nothing more. It has a good amount of bugs and lags, and all the things you can do are bugged. At least on PS3 and PC. I don't know on XBOX360.
    I'm sorry... but as I love GTA:SA, I hate GTA:IV. It is
    This game is too over rated.
    98? No... This game, as a GTA, is disappointing. And very much. This game is basic. Yeah, it may have be liked by critics because it was sandbox, but, yeah, nothing more. It has a good amount of bugs and lags, and all the things you can do are bugged. At least on PS3 and PC. I don't know on XBOX360.

    I'm sorry... but as I love GTA:SA, I hate GTA:IV. It is not GTA. Do we want to talk about the story? It is definitely one of the most boring and lame stories in videogames history. IMO.

    Well, I think that I'm generous giving it a 3.
    Expand
  29. Feb 8, 2014
    3
    I can not actually write a proper review addressing the game content because I could not reach the mission destination due to the terribly awful driving system of the game
  30. Mar 21, 2014
    3
    This game has the worst controls. I was terribly disappointed with the vehicle dynamics and controls. If any mission involves a vehicle chase, i just keep cursing the game controls and show a lot of misplaced anger towards my controller. Missions with bike chases are even more dreadful. I have given a 'three' rating for the exciting game-world with a lot happening around. The randomThis game has the worst controls. I was terribly disappointed with the vehicle dynamics and controls. If any mission involves a vehicle chase, i just keep cursing the game controls and show a lot of misplaced anger towards my controller. Missions with bike chases are even more dreadful. I have given a 'three' rating for the exciting game-world with a lot happening around. The random characters and side-missions are pretty good, even though i miss the taxi/ambulance/firefighting missions. The story-line is pretty bland and so are most of the characters. The nature of missions are also somewhat boring, repetitive and monotonous. This in no way comes close to the quality and excitement of vice city and san andreas missions. The 'Friendship' and 'Dating' activities were interesting at the start but became too irritating as we get more indulged with the missions. Expand
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]