Grand Theft Auto IV PlayStation 3

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2940 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GuybrushT.
    Jun 12, 2008
    7
    Way too hyped, and too bugged at launch.
  2. JonathanC.
    Jun 21, 2008
    7
    This game removed so many of the fun elements that were present in the previous installments. No more going to the gym to work out and learn new melee moves, no more barbershops for different haircuts, tattoo parlors, no more vigilante missions, taxi cab missions, fire truck missions, house theft missions. The motor cycles have been nerfed to the point where they are really just This game removed so many of the fun elements that were present in the previous installments. No more going to the gym to work out and learn new melee moves, no more barbershops for different haircuts, tattoo parlors, no more vigilante missions, taxi cab missions, fire truck missions, house theft missions. The motor cycles have been nerfed to the point where they are really just pointless. Overall, granted the driving IS more realistic. However, if I wanted realistic driving physics in a video game I'll play Gran Turismo, not GTA4. The driving simply isn't as fun as it used to be. OK, so blasting through a police barricade at 150 mph and continuing on with barely a scratch wasn't realistic but hey, it was more fun than the overly critical driving controls in this game! Some of the games are downright undriveable and you'll find yourself desperately clutching any fancy, good handling sports car you come across. Speaking of options that have been removed from the series, NO MORE PROPERTIES! What am I accumulating all this money for? I can't own properties of my choosing, I can't buy businesses, what am I supposed to do with this fortune I've amassed. I can't get cool Fresh Prince haircuts, I can't get sweet Motley Crue tattoos, so what am I supposed to do with this money? There are no more gangs. Granted, it did occasionally get annoying having to be shot at whenever you entered a hostile area but I felt it did lend some character to the game. If you've been screwing the Triads over repeatedly throughout the storyline that it's only appropriate that their going to shoot at you when you roam around in their territory. Furthermore, it was always great running into your own gang members and watching them fight for you. No more of this in GTA4. Overall, I feel that the storyline holds up pretty well with the rest of the series. Niko and his brother are solid characters and the voice acting is also strong, although I don't think anyone will ever beat Ray Liotta in Vice City. You'll find yourself running up against some of the big cats in Liberty City and the cast of supporting characters also holds up well with those of the previous series. However, the entire friendship dynamic is implemented in a horrible fashion. You'll find yourself feeling obliged to go man-dates with certain characters just to keep their benefits going, such as postponing that retry of this mission you've been dying to beat so that you can drive halfway across the city to take your potsmoking Jamaican friend to Cluckin Bell so that he'll keep selling you discount weapons. Again, good idea in theory, but severely annoying when implemented in a lengthy game like this. Furthermore, the ability to use the internet and access the police database is really just a tease. Most of the internet sites consist of pointless drivel and you'll often find yourself mysteriously unable to access most of it. Another sadly implemented gimmick. I could go on and on about this game. Just for the record, I BOUGHT THE PS2 TO PLAY GTA. In my opinion each of the previous games had a separate strength, I felt the storyline of GTA3 was the best while the environment and world of Vice City excelled and the sheer scope and amount of various activities in San Andreas was amazing. I don't really see any areas in which GTA4 excels over any of its predecessors. All of those fun, albeit "frivolous" activities in San Andreas have been removed, Liberty City takes itself to seriously to be stir as much entertainment and nostalgia as Vice City and the story of a tough guy immigrant rising to the top still doesn't strike me as much as the silent protagonist of GTA3 battling for and against the Italian Mafia. Definitely a step back in the series. Expand
  3. JohnC.
    Jun 23, 2008
    7
    Graphically this game is leaps and bounds above San Andreas. But boy is this city devoid of anything to do. I had more fun buying property in Godfather's Don Edition. Money is useless in this game. There isn't any gambling, any dirty business with strippers, no racketeering, pimping, extortion (yeah one store with a rock in the window...) Kind of a bland morose city.
  4. Guardian
    Jul 18, 2008
    7
    In short GTA4 is a fun ass ride for sure. Its got some great graphics and a pretty tight story line with plenty to do and see and a huge city to explore. But, and please excuse me for saying this its pretty much a fuller more polished version of the previous outings. Having played all prior version of GTA i thought there could have been just a little more individuality to this one. In short GTA4 is a fun ass ride for sure. Its got some great graphics and a pretty tight story line with plenty to do and see and a huge city to explore. But, and please excuse me for saying this its pretty much a fuller more polished version of the previous outings. Having played all prior version of GTA i thought there could have been just a little more individuality to this one. Fantastic game dont get me wrong, it just felt like i had played this one 3 times b4. Worth the money, worth the time, and would b fantastic if i hadnt played the previous ones is all. Expand
  5. MaartenR.
    May 14, 2008
    7
    The graphics look good, but the gameplay is nothing i haven't seen before. San Andreas was a bigger step forward than this game is. For me, I regret to say, it's the most overrated game of the century.
  6. DonK.
    May 20, 2008
    7
    Great game but not the best. Some needlessly pain in the butt missions and craptacular foliage and facial renderings make it far from perfect.
  7. AnonymousMC
    Jun 14, 2008
    7
    This game is my favorite of the GTA series (other than the original top down game). I say this because I didn't get bored right aways. Yes, it's open ended, and yes, you can shoot people for hours, but I could also go play a game where I can shoot people for hours and actually progress. The missions are entertaining, but having to go and pick up your friends all the time isThis game is my favorite of the GTA series (other than the original top down game). I say this because I didn't get bored right aways. Yes, it's open ended, and yes, you can shoot people for hours, but I could also go play a game where I can shoot people for hours and actually progress. The missions are entertaining, but having to go and pick up your friends all the time is annoying. The driving isn't that great, the cars feel like crap. The graphics are decent, but that's like gold in this series. If they were excellent, I think Rockstar would explode and cause a world-wide panic. The online isn't that great, it's been done before, only better. The story is the shining part of this game, it's really well done, and not another overly cliche gangster/gangsta' plot point. So, it's not perfect, but it's good. Sorry I don't think it's God-like because everyone else tells me to. Expand
  8. HarryS.
    Jun 18, 2008
    7
    Sure this game has impeccable presentation, but as much as it has style, it lacks originality. The story itself was mediocre, the missions got boring, and driving around was a bore, thank god for the taxi. Rockstar said they wanted to make more GTA more realistic, which they have done, but this has taken away from GTA what made it so fun: a hyper realistic world full of crazy things to Sure this game has impeccable presentation, but as much as it has style, it lacks originality. The story itself was mediocre, the missions got boring, and driving around was a bore, thank god for the taxi. Rockstar said they wanted to make more GTA more realistic, which they have done, but this has taken away from GTA what made it so fun: a hyper realistic world full of crazy things to do. Its a shame that once you have completed the game there is nothing much left to do apart from look at pretty visuals. The multiplayer is fairly good, although nothing too new or special. Overall, a 7/10, its the same old GTA with better graphics, with a fairly lacklustre storyline and an unimpressive finale, but is merited by the sheer epicness of the game world and its presentation. Expand
  9. AkuytK.
    Jun 2, 2008
    7
    Gameplay and story is what I wanted. I don't care that much about graphics, city-accuracy and varying degrees of realism. Missions are boring, repetitive, and forgettable. It is easy to see how, after playing the game for only 2-3 hrs, critics would give it a high score. However, playing through this game to the end has little reward or depth in play. Poor story and a terrible Gameplay and story is what I wanted. I don't care that much about graphics, city-accuracy and varying degrees of realism. Missions are boring, repetitive, and forgettable. It is easy to see how, after playing the game for only 2-3 hrs, critics would give it a high score. However, playing through this game to the end has little reward or depth in play. Poor story and a terrible ending, not justified by "realism" contribute to a totally underwhelming and unsatisfying gaming experience. I reserve my high scores for truly great games (Zelda:OoT?). You still have to play it for the great things it offers, but don't expect unique gameplay or that feeling of satisfaction when you finish. Expand
  10. PajoolD.
    Jun 21, 2008
    7
    This game is way overrated, i could play San Andraes for 12 hours straight when I got it, this game you easily get sick of, they don't even have offline multiplayer, you can't do up cars there is nothing new added to the game, it's not that great.
  11. JuanN.
    Jul 20, 2008
    7
    Ok, pretty much the same with better graphics and slightly better controls, except driving seems harder.
  12. GillianS
    Nov 5, 2009
    7
    Personally, critics have been too smooth with that game. Repetitive missions, annoying features such as breaking out the windshield when you collide with something. They should have give it a 85, not 98.
  13. JornS
    May 2, 2009
    7
    I would give it a 7 just because of the fact, that when you beaten the main storyline, the game ends, it just ends there, and there is nothing more to do then driving around and/or go sightseeing, wich by then, you'd propably did already.. good: graphics, (side)missions that are there, less arcade-like driving like vice city has, multiplayer and a big urban envirement. bad: no; I would give it a 7 just because of the fact, that when you beaten the main storyline, the game ends, it just ends there, and there is nothing more to do then driving around and/or go sightseeing, wich by then, you'd propably did already.. good: graphics, (side)missions that are there, less arcade-like driving like vice city has, multiplayer and a big urban envirement. bad: no; planes, tattoos, haircuts, not that much side-missions, kate dies! i'd prefer to see rasta-man die :P, that annoying prick with bad english... worst: the lack of property, buying/owning company's like in vice city. Expand
  14. Jim
    Jun 1, 2009
    7
    I realized the fun was gone in the first car chase where I shot out the guys tires and he kept driving along at full speed, crashing through cars without slowing down, and making all the turns like he was on rails. That's just one of many many examples. It's almost like they tried to remove anything fun that had remained from previous games. Where's the sandbox environment I realized the fun was gone in the first car chase where I shot out the guys tires and he kept driving along at full speed, crashing through cars without slowing down, and making all the turns like he was on rails. That's just one of many many examples. It's almost like they tried to remove anything fun that had remained from previous games. Where's the sandbox environment where anything goes? Where's the fun and mayhem of the past games? I really can't believe that reviewers cited answering a cell phone, and driving people around town and on virtual dates for virtual bowling, as features that made this a better game. Seriously...who paid off who for those reviews? You can see the discrepancy when you look at critical reviews vs. actual gamer reviews. I think a lot of people aren't going to look at the GTA series the same way. I hope Rockstar listens and doesn't believe it's own hype for the next one. It was worth a 7 not a 10. Expand
  15. VanA.
    Jun 24, 2009
    7
    I really tried my best to like GTA4. This is one of my favorite franchises ever. I have fully completed and LOVED every game before it, even the top-down ones. The ridiculous praise it got seemed too good to be true. After forcefully playing for about 15-20 hours, I simply couldn't stand the repetition, inconsistency and overall frustration. My biggest complaint lies with the I really tried my best to like GTA4. This is one of my favorite franchises ever. I have fully completed and LOVED every game before it, even the top-down ones. The ridiculous praise it got seemed too good to be true. After forcefully playing for about 15-20 hours, I simply couldn't stand the repetition, inconsistency and overall frustration. My biggest complaint lies with the physics. It's far too realistic for a GTA game. It gives you a stunningly detailed world with limitless possibilities but mocks you and quickly slaps your wrists if you dare to try anything extraordinary. Driving had an over the top arcade like feel in previous GTA's that made it very fun but 4 went overboard and made it feel like a flat out simulation. Walking and running quickly became notorious due to the countless stops and delays when you nudged something or made a quick turn. The cellphone integration was clunky and needless. Dating and hanging out was forced down your throat and the missions were very repetitive. All in all, I found playing GTA4 to be more of a chore than anything else. The effort and devotion from the talent at Rockstar and the technology at work is certainly impressive but in conclusion, I simply didn't find it fun to play and never touched it again. Expand
  16. YoyoS
    Aug 24, 2009
    7
    1-WAAAAAAY too realisitc. The cops can shoot you through the car windows. If you collide with an object at high speeds you're going out of the windshield which is by far the most annoying feature of the game and REALLY ruins the fun. I'm a huge vice city fan and when you don't want to do missions you can mess with the cops and actually withstand them (unless you slam a 1-WAAAAAAY too realisitc. The cops can shoot you through the car windows. If you collide with an object at high speeds you're going out of the windshield which is by far the most annoying feature of the game and REALLY ruins the fun. I'm a huge vice city fan and when you don't want to do missions you can mess with the cops and actually withstand them (unless you slam a tank), but with GTAIV, try playing around with the police when your wanted level is 4 stars..it's just too much. 2-The controls are CRAPPY 3-very, very limited weapons. Expand
  17. JamesR.
    Jan 29, 2010
    7
    As a game by itself it looks good and plays well and i had some very happy times playing it, as part of the gta series it is however, dissapionting. many things which made vice city and san andreas such good fun are missing and replaced by some very poor mini games , friends that bug the hell out of you to do boring repetitive things with them to keep them happy. It's all a bit of a chore.
  18. J.H.
    Apr 28, 2008
    7
    It's just the same, it never changes. Also there are a lot of performance issues. also, a 10 means perfect, this ain't perfect. If your new to the game I would give it a 9, if you played the whole series I would give it a 7. It's just San Andreas in a nextgen case.
  19. RobertN.
    May 18, 2008
    7
    Graphics are horrible - why are the GTA games so dark and dismal all the time (except for GTA Vice City)? Looks like the developers spent more time trying to make the wrinkles and scars in people's faces appear realistic than they spent on the character models themselves. The story is good, but you don't play GTA games for the story. I don't want to watch a movie, I want to Graphics are horrible - why are the GTA games so dark and dismal all the time (except for GTA Vice City)? Looks like the developers spent more time trying to make the wrinkles and scars in people's faces appear realistic than they spent on the character models themselves. The story is good, but you don't play GTA games for the story. I don't want to watch a movie, I want to play a game. Not much a fun factor compared to Saints Row (now that was a fun game!). Automatic targeting system is not fun! What good is a shooter if you don't get the targeting system right? What's so hard about making a manual targeting easy and intuitve? Saints Row got it right the first time. GTA still doesn't get it, Although it has made some improvements. Went from horrible to just bad. Too much talking on the radio. The internet surfing is just lame. Composed of a bunch of links. Humor is pathetic - like something a 5th grader would come up with. You can't buy anything off the internet. You can't do anything on the internet except send and receive e-mails. Would have been nice if you could order flowers, books, etc. I could go on, but I won't. Don't know why so many gave it a 10/10. They obviously never played Saints Row, as Rockstar stole many ideas from it. Expand
  20. conailldoherty
    May 21, 2008
    7
    what is all the fuss ,i mean come on.It's just the same thing again exept this time the controls are bad.Everythings bean done before.they copyed the lock and aim from 007 everything or nothing,smathing threw car windows from flatout,cars from driver and most of the missions have been done before in other gtas.It's a great game but completly overrated and fails to deliver
  21. Mimo
    May 27, 2008
    7
    They certainly know how to skip on what makes GTA great. The missions are fun but aren't to unique to separate them from each other, you know, kill that guy with this; stuff like that. The voice-acting is excellent, the animations have a nice rehaul, the visuals from day to night are wonderful, and the content goes above and beyond. But it deserves a 7 for not being original and only They certainly know how to skip on what makes GTA great. The missions are fun but aren't to unique to separate them from each other, you know, kill that guy with this; stuff like that. The voice-acting is excellent, the animations have a nice rehaul, the visuals from day to night are wonderful, and the content goes above and beyond. But it deserves a 7 for not being original and only sticking to the close knit formula from the previous titles. (thinking inside the box) The one thing they could have done to save this title would be to include the catches to missions like a speed meter or the car will explode or a new way of playing like rail shooting. Multiplayer is a fun addition but its only fun for a couple sittings. I recommend this only because of the story and the ragdoll physics engine. PERIOD. Expand
  22. Jerm
    May 3, 2008
    7
    You can't have a 100 average when each score isn't 100. It's impossible. Humph.
  23. TimA.
    Jun 13, 2008
    7
    This is massively overhyped as much as it pains me to say it. I have found with all of the previous GTA games that they can take a bit of getting into as they teach you new skills or simply set the story up for you, I thought initially that was what was happening here but alas no. Versus it's predecessors there is a distinct lack of originality here. It's the same stuff from This is massively overhyped as much as it pains me to say it. I have found with all of the previous GTA games that they can take a bit of getting into as they teach you new skills or simply set the story up for you, I thought initially that was what was happening here but alas no. Versus it's predecessors there is a distinct lack of originality here. It's the same stuff from before. The presentation is undeniably fantastic but it is a case of style over substance. They should not have done Liberty city again - I think everyone is bored with the American crime scene setting - the obvisou choice was London - they could have taken the same main character and used him there as there is a known eastern european crime scene in London. Very disssapointing and shame on everyone who gave it high marks just because it's GTA. Expand
  24. VictorM.
    Aug 17, 2008
    7
    It was a great game and the most refined outing so far, but the ending was... strange, the missions were unoriginal(shoot, shoot and shoot more), there was nothing to do after you finished the story, no way to make money and sometimes it was boring.Not the best GTA game, but a nice game.There are many more games which are alot better.
  25. GasperG
    Feb 25, 2010
    7
    The 4th generation of the gta franchise takes you back to Liberty City where you play as Niko Belic whose come to seek the american dream due to his cousins wild emails and a special person the gameplay is youre clasic gta with an improved one on one combat mechanic, a new cower sistem and the lack of vehicles, weapons, mini games, etc. all of witch used to apear in previous gta gamesThe 4th generation of the gta franchise takes you back to Liberty City where you play as Niko Belic whose come to seek the american dream due to his cousins wild emails and a special person the gameplay is youre clasic gta with an improved one on one combat mechanic, a new cower sistem and the lack of vehicles, weapons, mini games, etc. all of witch used to apear in previous gta games luckily it has a good multiplayer that makes the missing content fell less depressive this is a very good game, however you do not get the full game in a copy of gta4 alone, if you want the full game you have to buy a copy and then all the gta dlc avalable that is why i give the disc version a very good 7. Expand
  26. JakT
    Nov 15, 2008
    7
    GTA 4 was the game that clearly proved that there is something very rotten inside the game review industry. I, by no means support the notion that no game deserve a round 100, but the huge 100 tidal wave is simply ridiculous. The game is basically an improved version of 3, while ignoring the large majority of additions its sequels provided. I have to wonder since when highly repetitive GTA 4 was the game that clearly proved that there is something very rotten inside the game review industry. I, by no means support the notion that no game deserve a round 100, but the huge 100 tidal wave is simply ridiculous. The game is basically an improved version of 3, while ignoring the large majority of additions its sequels provided. I have to wonder since when highly repetitive missions, horrible framerate and bad controls (driving a car in GTA used to be fun). Answering the whims and chores of your cousin and contacts is not an interesting feature in any way. The game is overall fun in small doses but it doesn't match with the previous titles. The only redeeming factor was the online gameplay which is quick, versatile, and while not perfect, it's very fun. looking at the scores given by professional sites is simply annoying and disappointing, these sites should help the gamer, not the game. GTA IV gets a nice average 7. Game reviews website gets a 3. Expand
  27. TravisB.
    May 11, 2008
    7
    No gang wars, no airplanes, no buying property, no jet pack, other than multiplayer nothing new was added that wasnt in san andreas. A great game, but also dissapointing, im not sure why rockstar wouldnt have made it better.
  28. PJ
    May 17, 2008
    7
    very much over-hyped, and not nearly as good as I thought it would be...It's a great game but theres so much disappointment. You should have to not have to unlock freeroaming, cops should not be so easy to escape, and some missions are a bit too lame. The multiplayer is awsome, but other than that the game feels like it could have been better. I think I had more fun playing Vice City very much over-hyped, and not nearly as good as I thought it would be...It's a great game but theres so much disappointment. You should have to not have to unlock freeroaming, cops should not be so easy to escape, and some missions are a bit too lame. The multiplayer is awsome, but other than that the game feels like it could have been better. I think I had more fun playing Vice City when it first came out.... Expand
  29. TheWatcher
    May 17, 2008
    7
    Shallow, repetitive, poor frame rates, bad controls, and virtual girlfriends - it's a spotty teenager's dream.
  30. Vidman
    May 26, 2008
    7
    Other than better graphics and a slightly better story, GTA4 is inferior to San Andreas. You spend 30+ hours of doing the same thing we've been doing for the last 3 GTAs. Absolutely nothing new to speak of.
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. But GTA IV will never get old, or start repeating itself. It will always offer anyone who turns it on an experience to savour.
  3. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    100
    GTA4 is a traditional crime story through and through, with a script that rarely strays from its purpose, a pitch-perfect supporting cast, and an expert combination of in-game storytelling and crafted cut-scenes. [June 2008, p.80]