Grand Theft Auto IV Image
Metascore
98

Universal acclaim - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2540 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Metacritic's 2008 PS3 Game of the Year; Also known as "GTA IV"] What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City,[Metacritic's 2008 PS3 Game of the Year; Also known as "GTA IV"] What does the American Dream mean today? For Niko Belic, fresh off the boat from Europe. It's the hope he can escape his past. For his cousin, Roman, it is the vision that together they can find fortune in Liberty City, gateway to the land of opportunity. As they slip into debt and are dragged into a criminal underworld by a series of shysters, thieves and sociopaths, they discover that the reality is very different from the dream in a city that worships money and status, and is heaven for those who have them an a living nightmare for those who don't. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 64
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 64
  3. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Grand Theft Auto IV is not a perfect game, but it is fantastic through and through, from start to finish and beyond. It is so massive, vast and impressive that it is almost mind-boggling to imagine how much work must have gone into the game to come up with so much detail.
  2. 100
    I could go on for another couple thousand words about the amazing experience that is GTA IV, but what's most important for you to know is that this game is an absolute masterpiece.
  3. 100
    The single-player game, which you can still play long after you complete the story, is the series' best by far, and the multiplayer features are good enough that you'll likely have no problem finding people to play with for many months to come.
  4. There is one thing that did stand out at all times: the story, which is undeniably one of the most fun rides you'll ever have in gaming, and one of the most compelling cast of characters to go along with it.
  5. Grand Theft Auto IV is simply the must have game for all mature gamers with a gaming console. Either on the Xbox 360 or PS3 you will be blown away with the vast impressive world Rockstar games has concocted in the unique-cool style that only Rockstar games can provide.
  6. Imperfect, but the most focused, compelling GTA ever takes 'last -gen' gaming to next-gen highs. [June 2008, p.64]
  7. The nature of the open-ended gameplay still makes for memorable random and not-so-random occurrences you'll repetitiously be reciting to friends, but for the most part it's nothing we haven't seen before.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 92 out of 570
  1. DanteM.
    Feb 22, 2009
    10
    I think this is probably the best Playstation game ever. It has amazing graphics, a verry good gameplay, nice controlls. You can just keep I think this is probably the best Playstation game ever. It has amazing graphics, a verry good gameplay, nice controlls. You can just keep playing this game forever, and you will never get tired off it. The blur for far away building is a bit disturbing, but that really is the only thing that isn't perfect in this game. Expand
  2. May 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A game that I played for many years. Masterpiece.great story.great characters. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it. Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    After playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but man does this gameAfter playing GTA III, Vice City and San Andreas it was hard to imagine being swept away again by another GTA game but man does this game deliver. The story, the characters, the setting and the game world are so well crafted and put together it's nice to see some developers still take time to prepare their works and not just milk a franchise with yearly releases. Expand
  4. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    The first time I played GTA was at the age of seven when GTA was released back in 1997. In my humble opinion GTA IV is a huge step forward,The first time I played GTA was at the age of seven when GTA was released back in 1997. In my humble opinion GTA IV is a huge step forward, but in another view, a step back.

    + More mature and interesting storyline
    + Drastically improved driving physics and vehicle damage
    + A living, breathing city
    + Huge city

    - Repetitive and sometimes uninspired mission design (Go to A, shoot 10 people, go to B)
    - To much blur and an awfull blue tint
    - Lack of interesting features outside of the storyline (clubs, barbershops, car dealerships etc.)
    - Lack of safehouses

    While some of these missing features was added i TBoGT many of them should have been in the game in the first place. I like the serious tone GTA IV story has, but the problem is, that outside of the story, the game often becomes repetetive and dull. There is simply not enough features; clubs, more races, drug deals, golf etc. Mission design is quite poor and the creativity (not talking about over-the-top action in TbOGT) is somehow diluted, and the game almost have the same mission design as in GTA III: Go there, kill a few people, go back.
    Expand
  5. GuybrushT.
    Jun 12, 2008
    7
    Way too hyped, and too bugged at launch.
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    6
    First off, I am a HUGE Grand Theft Auto fan (GTA III, Vice City & San Andreas were all amazing). When it came to GTA IV, simply put theFirst off, I am a HUGE Grand Theft Auto fan (GTA III, Vice City & San Andreas were all amazing). When it came to GTA IV, simply put the characters and story were lacking greatly. You were in a concrete jungle the entire time and could not even get into a helicopter or airplane. Graphics were great, controls were better than average. But not sure what went wrong, but this should have been so much better. Easily the worst GTA in the series. Thank goodness Rockstar made up for it with Red Dead Redemption. Expand
  7. ZerpyBoy
    Feb 17, 2010
    0
    Just another offsetting the 10's. This game does nothing but bow down to the majority of the human race, that being braindead violence Just another offsetting the 10's. This game does nothing but bow down to the majority of the human race, that being braindead violence hungry war mongers. There is such a game without guns. Those that say RPG's are stale are just naive biased gun crazed so and so's. This game is just as stale, if not more than all the other games out there. Same stories, same missions same simple game play. Nothing new here. I was a fan of the series until the franchise went hyper popular and gained nothing but simple minded followers that wanted guns violence, sex and more guns. Poor form everyone. Expand

See all 570 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games

    Quarterly Report: The 25 Best PlayStation 3 Games Image
    Published: March 31, 2015
    Our Quarterly Reports provide a handy list of the 25 best games for each platform, both for the current year so far and for all time. Here are the best games available for the PS3.