Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 119 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Grand Theft Auto Online is a dynamic and persistent online world for SIXTEEN players that begins by sharing gameplay features, geography and mechanics with Grand Theft Auto V, but continues to expand and evolve with new content created by Rockstar Games and the Grand Theft Auto community. Grand Theft Auto Online takes the fundamental Grand Theft Auto concepts of freedom, ambient activity and mission-based gameplay and makes them available to multiple players in a detailed and responsive online world. In GTA Online, players have the freedom to explore alone or with friends, work cooperatively to complete missions, come together to participate in activities and ambient events, or compete in traditional game modes with the larger community, all with the personality and refined mechanics of Grand Theft Auto V. Players can invest in their character through customizing their appearance, improving their stats, owning customized vehicles, purchasing personal property, and taking part in missions, jobs and activities to earn reputation and cash to open up new opportunities to rise through the criminal ranks. The world of Grand Theft Auto Online will constantly grow and change as new content is added, creating the first ever persistent and dynamic Grand Theft Auto game world. Access to Grand Theft Auto Online is free with every retail copy of Grand Theft Auto V. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    95
    An ambitious project that delivers one of the most compelling and enjoyable online experiences ever. GTA Online is an amusement park at your disposal where the player decides what to do and how to do it. Amazing.
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    91
    Grand Theft Auto Online is very entertaining and it has a lot of variation. Perhaps more than any online action game before. The player collecting routines could be better, though. [Nov 2013]
  3. 76
    A plethora of content plagued by a buggy release that can be ridiculously frustrating.
  4. Oct 23, 2013
    75
    When everything works, it can be a really fun experience. But the character lost bug is inexcusable in a permanent online experience and the stability problems show this was not ready for prime time.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 35
  2. Negative: 18 out of 35
  1. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    everything is up and running compared to the problems at launch. very very addicting and fun. putting bounties on people and putting out hits are only a couple of the things that make gta online so much fun. Collapse
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    it seems all the bad reviews are about the bugs, which were fixed when I was playing and with friends this is fun otherwise its a fragfest but you should be use to that if you play cod or bf, im just glad I can do it in a sports car or golf cart so its fun for me and I really like the level creator for deathmatches and races. so all the neg reviews need to try it again, it is free to play online after all and 1 month after it launched all the bugs were gone, atleast not any when I would play, so they didn't even give the gme a month, you don't need ps plus to play it and no monthly charge, so quit being whiners Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2013
    8
    So after 1 week of issues, I have finally gone to the moment of playing GTA online. Despite network issues, it feels like a good game (with the only issues of going into a session or timing out in a match that is about to begin. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    5
    This is completely and utterly overrated. GTA Online is an online game included with GTA 5. First, the graphics are the same as the ones in GTA 5, which is definitely not a problem. The gameplay is the same as GTA 5, also, not a problem. The online community is absolutely horrible. Everyone just kills you on sight, and then there are some idiots that just steal your car or crash your plane into a mountain. GTA Online lacks about 75% of the realism of GTA 5. However, as you talk, either into a headset or into the PS Eye, your character's mouth will move. GTA Online had tons of glitches at launch, most of them have been removed since, however, some still remain. There are 'jobs' scattered all over Los Santos, which are fine. The deathmatches are part of the annoying community, but they are also fine. Overall, you don't need GTA Online. GTA 5 offers much, much more. GTA 5 has a great story, incredible graphics, interesting characters, incredible gameplay, and no horrible community. In fact, no community at all. Get GTA 5. However, do still try GTA Online. You might enjoy it. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2013
    2
    How rockstar could up the online part of the greatest game this year is beyond me, it seems like they spent all the developing time of GTA online on marketing since the game is in no way as good as it was portrayed to be. One of the biggest reasons for that is the way rockstar talked about performing heists with your friends when the only "heist" you can perform is robbing a liquor store or a 24/7 not robbing banks as they showed in the trailer.
    The worst thing is the community where everyone just shoots everyone on sight because no one uses voice chat, and if you don't want to play on public like me and just with your friends you will have a hard time doing missions and jobs since when you leave a job you will be kicked right back into public instead of private and sometimes you end up in different jobs then your friends after starting a tennis match for example.
    If you expected a multiplayer like rockstar talked about you better have 15 friends that want's to play like you otherwise you mighte wanna wait for something else.
    Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2014
    0
    I would have to agree with Rockstar - GTA:O is a seperate game that comes with GTA V disc. That means I will review this title independently from the thoughts I've had on GTA V which I already gave a review for (review with a lot of praise included).

    I did feel hyped when I started playing GTA Online, just like every child that gets excited by first impressions. Everything looked really promising and entertaining, even though it didn't look ambitious enough at the beginning. Not long after it made me completely bored without a warning.

    Problems:
    -whole game is pretty glitchy and sometimes "holes" in the game are so intense that they can cause immense annoyance
    -making money is pain in the butt. Mission count is rather small and the fact that most pay as little as few thousand $ does not help at all. This is the main reason why players were doing these money glitches and altogether the importance of money seems to be neglected frequently
    -grinding is going slow... very slow. It took me 3 months to reach level 25 so imagine how much more it will take to reach level 120.
    -lots of great single player stuff is missing in Online - animals, heists, properties, etc.
    -I didn't get my stimulus package, especially after not playing for so many months and I guess there are more people like me
    -community is horrible. Chances are, certain players will want to f**k me up for various reasons, e.g. to troll and grief, because I'm a girl, because they don't like my car or simply because my character is inferior to theirs so they can show how powerful they are.

    I know that you shouldn't judge the book by its cover and GTA:O is still not a finished title. However I can only promise that I'll track GTA:O news to the very end. If the game will change for better, I will redo a review, suggesting that "GTA Online Sucks" era should be over. However in current situation, I can't do it.
    Expand
  7. Oct 2, 2013
    0
    Despite the terrible servers, grand theft auto online is basically just a terrible online game. It's like World of Warcraft and Diablo in the sense that you have to grind money to buy things with no actual goals. The game modes jobs, missions or whatever the f*** they are, they are pretty badly made up.

    I'm really disappointed because I was really looking forward to the online. They should of stuck to GTA IV way of doing it. Oh well, rockstar are now with EA in my game developers rank list, that's how low they are.
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews